
 

 

 
 

 
 

          

Michigan Department of Treasury L-4400 LH4093 (Rev. 10-19) THIS IS NOT A TAX BILL 
Notice of Assessment, Taxable Valuation 
(Including Leasehold Improvements) and Property Classification 
This form is issued under the authority of Public Act 206 of 1893, Sec. 211.24c, as amended. This is a model assessment notice to be used by the local assessor. 

FROM: PARCEL IDENTIFICATION: 

PARCEL CODE NUMBER: 

PROPERTY ADDRESS: 

NAME AND ADDRESS OF OWNER OR PERSON NAMED ON ASSESSMENT ROLL: PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE EXEMPTION 
% Exempt As “Homeowner’s Principal Residence”: .00% 

% Exempt As “Qualified Agricultural Property”: .00% 

% Exempt As “MBT Industrial Personal”: .00% 

% Exempt As “MBT Commercial Personal:” .00% 

Exempt As “Qualified Forest Property”: Yes No 

Exempt As “Development Property”: Yes No 

THIS PROPERTY IS CLASSIFIED AS: 
PRIOR YEAR’S CLASSIFICATION IF DIFFERENT: 

The change in taxable value will increase/decrease your tax bill for this year by 
approximately: 

PRIOR AMOUNT 
YEAR: 2019 

CURRENT 
TENTATIVE AMOUNT 

YEAR: 2020 

CHANGE FROM 
PRIOR YEAR TO 
CURRENT YEAR 

1. TAXABLE VALUE: 
2. ASSESSED VALUE: 
3. TENTATIVE EQUALIZATION FACTOR: 
4. STATE EQUALIZED VALUE: 
5. There WAS or WAS NOT a Transfer of Ownership on this property in 2019: 
The 2020 Inflation Rate Multiplier is: 1.019 

The Taxable Value, the Assessed Value, the State Equalized Value, the Property Classification, or the Transfer of Ownership may be appealed by filing a protest 
with the Local Board of Review. Protests are made to the Board of Review by completing a Board of Review Petition Form. A Petition Form may be obtained directly 
from the local unit or from the State Tax Commission at www.michigan.gov/taxes. Click on the “Property Taxes” box, select “Forms and Instructions,” then click 
on “Board of Review” to obtain a “Petition to the Board of Review,” Form 618 (L-4035). 
The Board of Review will meet at: (enter dates and times and place) 

Not less than 14 days before the meeting of the Board of Review, the assessment notice shall be mailed to the property owner. 
Property taxes are calculated on the Taxable Value (see line 1 above). The Taxable Value number entered in the “Change from Prior Year to Current Year” column, 
does not indicate a change in your taxes. This number indicates the change in the Taxable Value. 
State Equalized Value is the Assessed Value multiplied by the Equalization Factor, if any. State Equalized Value must approximate 50% of market value. 
IF THERE WAS A TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP on your property in 2019, your 2020 Taxable Value will be the same as your 2020 State Equalized Value. 
IF THERE WAS NOT A TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP on your property in 2019, your 2020 Taxable Value is calculated by multiplying your 2019 Taxable Value 
by 1.019 (Inflation Rate Multiplier for the current year). Physical changes in your property may also increase or decrease your Taxable Value. Your 2020 Taxable 
Value cannot be higher than your 2020 State Equalized Value. 
The denial of an exemption from the local school operating tax for “qualified agricultural properties” may be appealed to the local Board of Review. The denial of 
an exemption from the local school operating tax for a “homeowner’s principal residence” may be appealed to the Michigan Tax Tribunal by the filing of a petition 
within 35 days of issuance of this notice. The petition must be a Michigan tax Tribunal form or a form approved by the Michigan Tax Tribunal. Michigan Tax Tribunal 
forms are available at www.michigan.gov/taxtrib. 
Filing a protest with the Board of Review is necessary to protect your right to further appeal valuation and exemption disputes to the Michigan Tax Tribunal and 
classification appeals to the State Tax Commission. Properties classified Commercial Real, Industrial Real or Developmental Real may be appealed to the regular 
March Board of Review or to the Michigan Tax Tribunal by filing a petition by May 31. Commercial Personal, Industrial Personal, or Utility Personal Property 
may be appealed to the regular March Board of Review or to the Michigan Tax Tribunal by filing a petition by May 31 if a personal property statement was filed 
with the local unit prior to the commencement of the Board of Review as provided by MCL 211.19, except as otherwise provided in Sections 211.9m, 211.9n 
and 211.9o. The petition must be a Michigan Tax Tribunal form or a form approved by the Michigan Tax Tribunal. Michigan Tax Tribunal forms are available at 
www.michigan.gov/taxtrib. 
Leasehold Improvement Information: If this notice form is for the personal property of a tenant who has installed leasehold improvements, the following are the 
2020 Taxable Value (TV) and the 2020 State Equalized Value (SEV) of the leasehold improvement portion of the total property: 

2020 TV 2020 SEV 

PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE AFFIDAVIT INFORMATION REQUIRED BY PA 114 OF 2012: To claim the Principal Residence Exemption, if you have not already 
done so, you are required to file Principal Residence Exemption (PRE) Affidavit, Form 2368, by June 1 for the immediately succeeding summer tax levy and all 
subsequent tax levies or by November 1 for the immediately succeeding winter tax levy and all subsequent tax levies. 

www.michigan.gov/taxtrib
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