
P.O BOX 30471 • LANSING, MICHIGAN 48909-7971 
www.michigan.gov/statetaxcommission • (517) 335-3429 

RICK SNYDER 
GOVERNOR  

 
STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY 
LANSING  

NICK A. KHOURI 
STATE TREASURER 

 
Bulletin 18 of 2017 

October 30, 2017 
Recalculating Taxable Values 

  
TO:   Assessors, Equalization Directors and Interested Parties 
 
FROM: State Tax Commission 
 
SUBJECT:  Recalculating Taxable Value for the Assessment Years Which Follow the Years 

Changed by an Order of the Michigan Tax Tribunal 
 
Bulletin No. 6 of 1999 is rescinded. 
 
The State Tax Commission directs that, whenever an order for a change in Taxable Value is 
received by an assessor from the Michigan Tax Tribunal (MTT), the assessor shall also 
recalculate Taxable Values for the year(s) following the year(s) specifically included in the 
order.  This recalculation for the following years shall be based on the Taxable Value ordered by 
the MTT for the most recent year of the order.   
 
The State Tax Commission has established the following procedures which shall be used by 
assessors when the recalculation of Taxable Value is required after an MTT order is issued. 
 
1) Upon receiving an MTT order for a change in Taxable Value, the assessor shall 

immediately recalculate Taxable Value(s) for the year(s) following the most recent year 
contained in the order.   
 

2) The assessor shall immediately correct the assessment roll(s) and tax roll(s) for the 
appropriate year(s) by entering the recalculated Taxable Value(s) on the roll(s).  The 
assessor shall also, within 30 days, file an affidavit with the proper officials who are 
involved with the assessment figures, rate of taxation, or mathematical calculations and 
all official records shall be corrected.  Assessors should use Form 3452 Assessor 
Affidavit Regarding the Recalculation of Taxable Value Following an MTT Order for a 
Prior Year.  

 
3) For each tax year in which the tax roll is corrected, a corrected tax bill shall be issued by 

the local tax collecting unit if the local tax collecting unit has possession of the tax roll or 
by the county treasurer if the county has possession of the tax roll.   

 
The Tax Tribunal Act (MCL 205.735(2)) allows a property owner to appeal the recalculated 
Taxable Value to the Michigan Tax Tribunal within 60 days after mailing of the tax bill by the 
treasurer.  Any appeal under this section is limited “to correcting arithmetic errors or mistakes 
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and shall not be a basis of appeal as to disputes of valuation of the property, its exempt status, or 
the equalized value . . . .” 
 
The change in Taxable Value will result in either a rebate of taxes already paid or a bill for 
additional taxes due.  The State Tax Commission advises that it seems appropriate that the same 
law (MCL 205.737) which applies to interest rates on Tax Tribunal orders should also apply to 
recalculated Taxable Values for the years following a Tax Tribunal order. 

 
If an update in Taxable Value required by this bulletin is for the current year and the tax 
bill has not yet been sent, then the REBATE or the ADDITIONAL TAXES due are treated 
the same as current year’s taxes. 
 
IMPORTANT NOTE: The process of recalculating Taxable Values after an MTT order is 
issued does not apply to Assessed Value.  Therefore, in the example below, the assessor is not 
authorized to change the 2017 assessed value of $125,000 because the example assumes an MTT 
order date of April 30, 2017 which means that there is no authority to change assessed value 
because the 2017 March Board of Review has already closed. 
 
Example:  
 
The original Assessed Value and Taxable Value established by the Board of Review for the 2016 
tax year was $120,000. The property owner filed an appeal of these values with the MTT. 
 
For the 2017 tax year, the Board of Review established an Assessed Value of $125,000 and a 
Taxable Value of $121,080.  
 
An MTT final decision for the 2016 tax year appeal was issued on April 30, 2017, which 
directed that the 2016 Assessed Value and Taxable Value of parcel A should be changed to 
$110,000. 
 
The assessor CANNOT change the 2017 Assessed Value of $125,000. However, the assessor 
MUST recalculate the 2017 Taxable Value because the $121,080 Taxable Value was calculated 
based on $120,000 being the prior year’s Taxable Value, not the revised Taxable Value of 
$110,000 set by the MTT final decision. (Assume there were no additions or losses in the 2017 
assessment). 
 
The 2017 Taxable Value would be recalculated as follows:  
 
2017 Taxable Value is the LESSER of: 
 

1) 2017 Capped Value 
 

OR  
 

2) 2017 State Equalized Value 
 
2017 Capped Value =  
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Prior Year’s Taxable Value MINUS Losses X 2017 Inflation Multiplier + Additions 
  
 = $110,000 X 1.009 
 

 = $110,990 
  
 2017 State Equalized Value = $125,000 (assuming and equalization factor of 1.0000) 
 
 The recalculated 2017 Taxable Value is therefore $110,990 because that value is lower 
 Than the 2017 State Equalized Value of $125,000. 
 
 
 


