

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY LANSING

GOVERNOR

November 27, 2017

TO:

DATE:

RICK SNYDER

Keith Creagh

Director, Department of Natural Resources

FROM:

Nick Khouri

State Treasurer

SUBJECT: Calendar Year 2018 Non Resident State Park Fees: Inflation Adjustments

MCL 324.74117, as amended by Public Act 81 of 2013, governs the manner in which Non Resident Park fee rates are calculated. The calculation uses the Detroit-Ann Arbor-Flint MI – all items – all urban consumers consumer price index (Detroit CPI-U). MCL 324.74117, Section 9 specifies:

For each calendar year, the state treasurer shall adjust the amounts set forth in subsections (2) to (4) [base permit fee amounts] by an amount determined by the state treasurer to reflect the cumulative percentage change in the consumer price index from October 1, 2010 to the October 1 immediately preceding that calendar year, using the most recent data available and rounded to the nearest dollar.

Thus, the inflation adjustment for a given calendar year equals the Detroit CPI-U value for the October directly prior to the calendar year divided by the Detroit CPI-U value for October 2010 minus one. The inflation adjustment is applied to the following base permit fee rates to determine the calendar year's fee rates: Annual Motor Vehicle Permit: \$29; Daily Motor Vehicle Permit: \$8; Daily Commercial Vehicle Permit: \$15; Towed Second Motor Vehicle, Duration of Camping Stay: \$6.

The Detroit CPI-U value for October 2010 is 205.824 and the Detroit CPI-U for October 2017 is 228.779. Thus, for calendar year 2018, the inflation adjustment percentage equals 11.2 percent. Increasing each of the base fee rates by 11.2 percent and rounding to the nearest dollar yields the following fee rates for calendar year 2018:

Annual Motor Vehicle Permit	\$32.00
Daily Motor Vehicle Permit	\$9.00
Daily Commercial Vehicle Permit	\$17.00(*)
Towed Second Motor Vehicle,	

Duration of Camping Stay \$7.00

Note: (*) denotes change from CY 2017 level. Please call Eric Bussis (373-2148) or me (241-2624) if you have any questions.

cc: Ruth Johnson, Secretary of State William O'Neill, Natural Resources Deputy, DNR Mark Hoffman, Chief Administrative Officer, DNR Ron Olson, DNR

Chay Linseman, Treasury

Jacklin Blodgett, DNR
Erik Eklund, DNR
Sharon Schafer, DNR
Jason Crandall, DNR
Thomas Patchak-Schuster, Treasury

NICK A. KHOURI

STATE TREASURER