Municipal Stability Board Minutes

Wednesday, December 19, 2018 at 10:30 a.m.
Richard H. Austin Building
State Treasurer's Boardroom
430 W. Allegan Street
Lansing, MI 48922

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Eric Scorsone called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m.

ROLL CALL

Members Present: Three
Eric Scorsone
Daryl Delabbio
Barry Howard

Let the record show that three Board members eligible to vote were present. A quorum was present.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion was made to approve the minutes regarding the November 14, 2018 board meeting.

Motion moved by Barry Howard and supported by Daryl Delabbio, the Board unanimously approved the November 14, 2018 meeting minutes. 3 ayes, 0 nays.

PUBLIC COMMENT

No public comment.

CORRESPONDENCE

- Rod Taylor and chairman Eric Scorsone thanked Kevin Kubacki for his service to the Board and the Department of Treasury and presented him with a Governor's Leadership Coin.
- Dan Horn reintroduced Nick Brousseau to the Board and stated that he would be taking over Kevin Kubacki's role.
- Dan Horn introduced newly hired Departmental Analyst, Veronica Miller to the Board.
- Treasury presented PA 202 updates and status tables to the Board.

NEW BUSINESS

APPROVALS AND DISAPPROVALS OF CORRECTIVE ACTION PLAN EXTENSION REQUESTS

Kevin Kubacki provided the Board with the following two Local Units' Corrective Action Plan Extension Requests:

- Pathways Community Mental Health Authority (2 systems) (Approved)
- City of Taylor (Approved)

Motion was made to approve the two Local Units' Corrective Action Plan Extension Requests.

Motion moved by Daryl Delabbio and supported by Barry Howard, the Board unanimously approved the Corrective Action Plan Extension Requests. 3 ayes. 0 nays.

RECEIPT OF CORRECTIVE ACTION PLANS

Kevin Kubacki provided the Board with the following 21 Local Units' Corrective Action Plans:

- Newaygo County Road Commission
- City of Lincoln Park (3 systems)
- Ypsilanti Community Utilities Authority
- City of Warren (2 systems)
- Luce County Road Commission (2 systems)
- St. Clair County Road Commission
- City of Milan
- City of Davison (2 systems)
- Mackinac County Road Commission
- City of Oak Park (5 systems)
- Charter Township of Redford (2 systems)
- City of Wayne (2 systems)
- Flint Charter Township
- City of Wyandotte
- City of Hastings
- City of Highland Park (3 systems)
- City of Woodhaven
- Cadillac Housing Commission
- Village of Union City
- Interurban Transit Partnership (2 systems)
- City of New Baltimore

Motion was made to receive the 21 Local Units' Corrective Action Plans.

Motion moved by Barry Howard and supported by Daryl Delabbio, the Board unanimously received the Corrective Action Plans. 3 ayes. 0 nays.

<u>APPROVALS AND DISAPPROVALS OF CORRECTIVE ACTION PLANS</u> (RESOLUTION 2018-18)

Kevin Kubacki and Nick Brousseau were asked to review the 52 Treasury recommendations for approval or disapproval of the Corrective Action Plans (Resolution 2018-18) with the Board. Mr. Brousseau highlighted the local units that Treasury felt partially met the Board's criteria as well as local units that did not meet the Board's criteria. Mr. Kubacki addressed questions from the Board.

- L'Anse (Approved)
- Bay City (Approved)
- Marshall (Denied)
- Dowagiac (Approved)
- Sault Ste. Marie (Approved)
- Crawford County Road Commission (Approved)
- City of Gladstone (Approved)
- City of Iron Mountain (2 systems) (Approved)
- City of Norway (Approved)
- City of Eaton Rapids (2 systems) (Approved)
- Richfield Township (Approved)
- City of Burton (Approved)
- City of Flushing (2 systems) (Approved)
- City of Ironwood (Approved)
- Traverse City Light and Power Authority (Approved)
- City of Lansing (3 systems) (Approved)
- Capital Region Airport Authority (Approved)
- Tawas Police Authority (Approved)
- City of Jackson (Approved)
- Vicksburg District Library (Approved)
- City of Center Line (2 systems) (Approved)
- City of St. Clair Shores (2 systems) (Approved)
- Village of Romeo (Denied)
- State of Michigan 41B District Court (Approved)
- City of Midland (Approved)
- City of Norton Shores (Approved)
- Charter Township of Bloomfield (Denied)
- City of Berkley (Approved)
- City of Clawson (Approved)
- City of Hazel Park (2 systems) (Approved)
- City of Madison Heights (3 systems) (Approved)
- City of Pontiac (Approved)
- Village of Holly (Approved)
- Ogemaw County Road Commission (Approved)
- City of Rogers City (Approved)

- City of Saginaw (2 systems) (Approved)
- City of Marine City (Approved)
- City of Marysville (Approved)
- City of Port Huron (Approved)
- City of Manistique (Approved)
- City of Allen Park (Approved)
- City of Dearborn (Approved)
- City of Gibraltar (Denied)
- City of Grosse Pointe Farms (2 systems) (Approved)
- City of Grosse Ponte Woods (Denied)
- City of Hamtramck (Approved)
- City of Rockwood (Denied)
- City of Romulus (Approved)
- City of Southgate (2 systems) (Approved)
- City of Trenton (Approved)
- City of Westland (2 systems) (Approved)
- Grosse Pointes-Clinton Refuse Disposal Authority (Denied)

Barry Howard had concerns over denying the Charter Township of Bloomfield because they are spending money for consulting to eventually get a plan in place. Mr. Howard felt it should be approved with possible denial during the monitoring period. Due to this, he requested the Charter Township of Bloomfield be removed from the Resolution 2018-18 and discussed separately from the other Treasury recommendations found in Appendix A.

A motion was made to remove the Charter Township of Bloomfield from Appendix A.

Motion moved by Barry Howard and supported by Daryl Delabbio, the Board unanimously approved the removal of the Charter Township of Bloomfield from Appendix A. 3 ayes. 0 nays.

A motion was made to approve the Approvals and Denials of Corrective Action Plans (Resolution 2018-18) after removing the Charter Township of Bloomfield.

Motion made by Barry Howard and supported by Daryl Delabbio, the Board unanimously approved the Approvals and Denials of Corrective Action Plans (Resolution 2018-18) after the removal of the Charter Township of Bloomfield.

A motion was made to discuss the Charter Township of Bloomfield's Corrective Action Plan and Treasury's recommendation of denial.

Motion was moved by Barry Howard and supported by Daryl Delabbio, the Board unanimously approved to discuss the Charter Township of Bloomfield's Corrective Action Plan and Treasury's recommendation of denial. 3 ayes. 0 nays.

The Board discussed the Charter Township of Bloomfield's Corrective Action Plan.

A motion was made to vote to deny the Charter Township of Bloomfield's Corrective Action Plan consistent with Treasury's recommendation.

Motion made by Barry Howard and supported by Daryl Delabbio, the Board denied the Charter Township of Bloomfield's Corrective Action Plan. A voice vote was made with 2 ayes from Eric Scorsone and Daryl Delabbio and 1 nay from Barry Howard.

PUBLIC COMMENT

One Public Comment was received:

• Karl Kramer, the Genesee County Road Commission

BOARD COMMENT

Daryl Delabbio and Barry Howard thanked Mr. Kubacki for his service.

NEXT MEETING

Next regular meeting will be on January 16, 2019 at 10:00am.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion made to adjourn. Motion moved by Daryl Delabbio, supported by Barry Howard, the Board unanimously approved the motion to adjourn. 3 ayes. 0 nays,

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:14 a.m.