
INDEX 04206  Michigan Department of 

Treasury STC PPE (9-16) 

State Tax Commission Application for Personal Property (PPE) Self-Study 
Course Material
This form is issued under the authority of the General Property Tax Act, PA 206 of 1893. Filing is mandatory.

Instructions: PPE self-study course material is available to individuals who work in a local unit or county in electronic format, free of 
charge. To obtain the material, the following must be submitted to the State Tax Commission: 1) a fully completed application, 
2) a signed PPE Non-Disclosure Agreement, 3) the $50 examination fee, and 4) a written statement from each local unit/county
supervisor verifying employment. PPE exams are held on the State Tax Commission quarterly exam dates.  Checks are to be made 
payable to the State of Michigan.  Please allow two to four weeks for processing.

Submit your request to:

State Tax Commission 
PO Box 30471 
Lansing, MI  48909

PART 1: APPLICANT INFORMATION
Name (First, Middle Initial, Last)

Street Address Daytime Telephone Number

City State ZIP Code E-mail Address

PART 2: PERSONAL PROPERTY EXAMINER (PPE) EXAMINATION
Choose the date and location you wish to take the PPE exam.

January 27, 2017                        April 28, 2017  July 28, 2017

Okemos Site Marquette Site

PART 3: CERTIFICATION

The following certification statements must be completed in order for your application to be considered complete.

Have you ever been convicted of a felony, or a misdemeanor involving any violent act, use or possession of a weapon, or act of 
dishonesty for which the record has not been sealed or expunged?

No Yes (If yes, explain in the space below.)

I hereby certify that all the information contained within, and attached to, this application is true and accurate to the best of my 
knowledge, information and belief.
Signature Date

Please Note:  In order to plan accordingly, applicants must indicate the date and location in which they will take the exam. 
Rescheduling of exams will only by granted for documented emergencies.  Exam registration closes 30 days prior to an exam date.



August 2016 

State Tax Commission 
Personal Property Examiner Non-Disclosure Agreement 

The State Tax Commission’s course material and examination for Personal Property Examiner 
(PPE) Certification, including the content and wording of the written text and examination questions, 

constitutes State Tax Commission confidential information and is protected by intellectual property 

laws.  An individual (Candidate) completing the PPE course and PPE examination must agree and accept 
the Non-Disclosure Agreement (NDA) by signing below which obligates that the Candidate maintain the 

confidentiality of the PPE course material and the PPE examination.   

This NDA is made and entered into by and between the State Tax Commission (STC) and the 

Candidate.  The PPE course material and PPE examination is made available to the Candidate solely for 

the purpose of demonstrating competency in the content area.  This NDA is required to be signed by the 
Candidate prior to receiving the PPE course material.  

1. Confidential Information: The entire content of the PPE course material and PPE
examination is considered STC confidential information.  The Candidate is expressly

prohibited from disclosing, publishing, reproducing, copying, selling, posting, downloading or

transmitting any Confidential Information, in whole or in part, in any form or by any means; oral

or written, electronic or mechanical, for any purpose.  Any disclosure of the confidential
information is a violation of this NDA.

2. Certification Revocation:  The Candidate acknowledges and agrees that his/her PPE certification

may be jeopardized and/or revoked by the STC if this NDA is violated in any manner.

By signing below, the Candidate acknowledges the full right and authority to enter into this NDA and 

accepts and agrees to be bound by the terms and conditions as outlined within the NDA.  This NDA is 

effective as of the date below and remains in effect indefinitely.  

AGREED AND ACCEPTED BY:  

Candidate: 

Signature:____________________________  

Date:_______________________________  

State Tax Commission Representative: 

Signature:__________________________ 

Date: _____________________________   
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