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Treasury Issues Guidance Regarding
Adult-Use (Recreational) Marihuana

Recreational or adult-use marihuana was legalized in Michigan by the
voter-initiated Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act
(“MRTMA”) (MCL 333.27951 et seq.).The MRTMA became effective

on December 6,2018; however, the statute requires the Department

of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (“LARA”) to take many diverse
actions, including the promulgation of multiple administrative rules,

prior to issuing operating licenses to marihuana retailers and marihuana
microbusinesses. The MRTMA imposes an excise tax on licensed
marihuana retailers and marihuana microbusinesses at the rate of 10
percent of the “sales price” of adult-use marihuana sold or otherwise
transferred to anyone other than a “marihuana establishment.” LARA has
issued the first licenses in November and is expected to issue several
more over the next few weeks. Accordingly, the imposition of the excise
tax has commenced. Treasury is issuing guidance to taxpayers, including a
Revenue Administrative Bulletin (“RAB”) and several new administrative
rules, to coincide with the commencement of retail sales of adult-use
marihuana.

RAB 2019-17 was recently published and it (i) explains the excise tax
imposed on sales of marihuana under the MRTMA, (ii) discusses the sales
and use tax treatment of such marihuana sales, (iii) addresses certain
other issues arising under the MRTMA, and (iv) sets forth the tax return
and remittance requirements and procedures that taxpayers subject to
the MRTMA must follow.

With respect to the new excise tax, the RAB defines the term “sales
price” (the measure upon which the excise tax is imposed) as the
total amount of consideration, including cash, credit, property, services,
or any other valuable consideration given in exchange for marihuana.
This definition is consistent with the definition of “sales price” in the
General Sales Tax Act. The RAB also addresses the sale of marihuana
to customers for a set price that includes the excise tax, as well as the
treatment of non-sale business uses of small amounts of marihuana
inventory. The MRTMA prohibits marihuana from being sold in a single-
mixed or “bundled” transaction together with property or services
other than marihuana.The RAB clarifies the meaning of a “bundled
transaction” in this context, and explains that, if property or services

other than marihuana are bundled and sold in a single transaction
continued on page 2
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despite the statute’s prohibition against such transactions, the excise tax
must be imposed on the entire sales price of the transaction, including
the non-marihuana property or services.The RAB provides examples to
further clarify what does and does not constitute a prohibited “bundled
transaction.”

Regarding the sales and use tax treatment of marihuana sales, the RAB
clarifies that, in addition to the |0 percent excise tax and absent a

valid claim of exemption, retail sales of adult-use marihuana under the
MRTMA are also subject to Michigan’s 6 percent sales tax, while the

use, storage, and consumption of adult-use marihuana in Michigan are
similarly subject to Michigan’s 6 percent use tax. The RAB also addresses
whether sales of adult-use marihuana are potentially eligible for certain
sales and use tax exemptions.

Further, the RAB provides guidance to taxpayers regarding the scope of
the deduction from Michigan income tax for the “ordinary and necessary
expenses” of marihuana establishments that are provided under the
MRTMA.The RAB also clarifies that the MRTMA does not repeal or
replace either the Marihuana Facilities Act or the Medical Marihuana Act,
except that the 3 percent excise tax on medical marihuana provisioning
centers imposed by the Marihuana Facilities Act was repealed as of
March 6,2019.The RAB also addresses issues with respect to dual
licensing as both a “provisioning center” under the Marihuana Facilities
Act and a marihuana retailer or microbusiness under the MRTMA.

Finally, the RAB discusses requirements and procedures that taxpayers
must follow regarding the filing of returns and the remittance to
Treasury of both the 10 percent excise tax and the 6 percent sales or
use tax.

In addition to the RAB, Treasury is completing the promulgation of three
new administrative rules regarding sales of adult-use or recreational
marihuana. One of the new Taxation of Adult-Use (Recreational)
Marihuana Rules defines the term “sales price” while the other defines
a “bundled transaction” and clarifies the tax result of engaging in a
prohibited bundled transaction.The single new Sales and Use Tax Rule
clarifies that the sales tax is levied in addition to the excise tax, that
the taxable “sales price” for purposes of the sales tax includes the 10
percent excise tax, and that retail sales of marihuana in any form are
not exempt from taxation as food or prescription drugs.The pending
rules are published on the Michigan government website at http://www.
michigan.gov/moahr and were also published in the September 15,2019
issue of the Michigan Register. Treasury anticipates final promulgation of
these rules by the end of the year.
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Medicaid Waiver for Home Care
Providers

Many Michiganders provide services to individuals that are homebound.
There are many State and federal programs that provide funding for
care providers. Some payments to care providers are tax-exempt while
others are taxable.The care providers and their tax preparers are

not always sure of the program that funds the service.To add to the
confusion, employers of the care provider may issue a W-2 that includes
exempt income.

Some care providers are unsure if their payments were received for
services under the Medicaid Home and Community Based Services
waiver authorized under section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act.
Under the waiver, a provider lives with and cares for a recipient
who otherwise would require care in a hospital, nursing facility, or
intermediate care facility. The payments are for “difficulty of care”
services and are exempt from federal tax under section 131 of the
Internal Revenue Code. See IRS Notice 2014-7.The payments are
exempt from Michigan tax but are included in the total household
income of the provider.

Although the payments are exempt from federal and Michigan tax,

a provider may receive a W-2 that includes the income. If aW-2 is
received, the income should be claimed as wages on the federal return
and the exempt portion should be subtracted as “Other income.” There
is no information on the face of a W-2 that identifies the source as a
Medicaid waiver. If the taxpayer is unsure of the waiver status, a tax
preparer may assume that W-2s issued to home care providers by the
following Michigan employers are Medicaid waiver payments and are not
taxable.

Medicaid Waiver Section 1915(c) Agency Home Based Services for:

Mi Choice Area Agency on Aging Elderly & Disabled

i Choice-MC (managed care) Area Agency on Aging Elderly & Disabled

Aetna Better Health of

MI HealthLink Michigan, Inc. Elderly & Disabled
AmeriHealth Caritas VIP
Care Plus Elderly & Disabled

Michigan Complete Health | Elderly & Disabled

HAP Midwest Health Link Elderly & Disabled

Meridian Complete Elderly & Disabled

Molina Healthcare, Inc. Elderly & Disabled

UP Health Plan Ml

HealthLink Elderly & Disabled

Children's Waiver Program Community Mental Health | Children under age 21

Children with Serious Emational

Disturbances Community Mental Health | Children under age 21

Children's Home & Community

Based Services Community Mental Health | Children under age 18

Beneficiaries with Dew.

Habilitation Supports Waiver Community Mental Health | Disabilities

About Treasury
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Statement of
Acquiescence/Non-
Acquiescence Regarding
Certain Court Decisions

In each issue of the quarterly
Treasury Update, Treasury will
publish a list of final (unappealed),
non-binding, adverse decisions issued
by the Court of Appeals, the Court of
Claims and the Michigan Tax Tribunal,
and state its acquiescence or non-
acquiescence with respect to each.
"Acquiescence” means that Treasury
accepts the holding of the court in
that case and will follow it in similar
cases with the same controlling
facts. However, "acquiescence” does
not necessarily indicate Treasury’s
approval of the reasoning used by
the court in that decision. “Non-
acquiescence” means that Treasury
disagrees with the holding of the
court and will not follow the decision
in similar matters involving other
taxpayers.

ACQUIESCENCE:
No cases this quarter

NON-ACQUIESCENCE:
No cases this quarter
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Are You Required to Collect and
Remit Sales Tax in Other States? Help
is Available!

Did you know that although your business may only be physically located
in Michigan, if you ship your products to customers in other states, you
may also be required to collect and/or remit sales or use taxes to those
other states?

For decades, U.S. Supreme Court precedent required an out-of-state
(or remote) seller to have physical presence in a state before that

state could require the seller to collect, pay, or remit sales tax on sales
into that state. However, on June 21,2018, the U.S. Supreme Court
overturned those precedents in South Dakota v Wayfair, holding that
physical presence is no longer required. Specifically, the Court concluded
that South Dakota’s law, which mandates the collection and remittance
of sales tax if the seller had sales exceeding $100,000 or 200 or more
transactions with South Dakota purchasers in the prior calendar year, is
constitutional. In other words, the Court upheld “economic presence”
nexus for sales tax.

Michigan and many other states enacted legislation similar to South
Dakota’s shortly after the Wayfair decision was issued. State laws vary
widely regarding the amount of the thresholds and how to calculate
them.Therefore, it is critical that Michigan-based sellers review state
law for all states into which they are making sales to determine if they
are required to collect and/or remit those states’ sales tax. Failure to
register and remit tax in other states may result in tax assessments,
including penalties and interest.

Michigan, along with 23 other states, is a member of the Streamlined
Sales and Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA).The other SSUTA states are
Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, lowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska,
Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma,
Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah,Vermont, Washington, West Virginia,
Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Tennessee is an associate member of SSUTA.
Under the SSUTA these states have:

* Developed a central registration system that allows businesses to
register with any or all of the 24 streamlined states by completing
one simple online application.There is no cost to complete and
submit this registration for any of the streamlined states. Once
you are registered in a state, you are expected to collect and
remit the appropriate sales or use taxes for that state and file the
required returns.

continued on page 5
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* Entered into contracts with certified service providers (CSPs)
and agreed to compensate the CSPs for the streamlined states
in which you are a “volunteer seller” to handle your sales and
use tax collection, reporting and remittance requirements. Under
these contracts, the CSPs will provide the software and services
necessary to (i) set-up and integrate their tax calculation software
with the businesses system, (ii) calculate the amount of tax due
on a transaction at the time of the sale, (iii) generate and file
the required sales and use tax returns for each of these states,
(iv) make the required remittances to each of the states, (v)
respond to notices and audits and (vi) protect the privacy of your
information. CSPs will also provide these services for a fee to the
business if the business is not a volunteer seller in a state.

* Completed a taxability matrix that helps determine the taxability
of various categories of products in their state.

* Developed rate and jurisdiction databases that identify the state
and local tax rates that apply to an address based on the street
address, 9-digit zip code and 5-digit zip code.

* Adopted a uniform Sales and Use Tax Exemption Certificate that
can be used to claim applicable exemptions from sales tax in the
streamlined states.

If you have questions regarding the tools available through streamlined,
please visit its website at https://www.streamlinedsalestax.org/, or
contact the Streamlined Sales Tax Governing Board.The Governing
Board also maintains a list of all states’ (SSUTA and non-SSUTA)
economic nexus standards, available at https://www.streamlinedsalestax.
org/for-businesses/remote-seller-fags/remote-seller-state-guidance. If you
have questions regarding a particular state’s requirements, please contact
that state directly.

Non-SSUTA states have not undertaken these measures. Businesses
making sales into non-SSUTA states should review those states’ laws and
contact them directly if they have any questions regarding their laws.

Monitor Your Account
to Ensure Tax Payments
Were Properly Remitted

Over 4 million Michigan taxpayers
choose to e-file an annual Michigan
Individual Income Tax Return. E-filed
returns are processed faster than
paper returns, typically in about 14
days. Paper filed returns may take eight
weeks or longer to process. E-filing
eliminates many of the errors that
lengthen processing times of returns.

A Michigan Individual Income

Tax filer has the option of making
electronic payments when their e-filed
return resulted in a tax due. Paying
electronically is easy, fast,and secure.
A direct debit payment may be made
at the same time that the tax return is
e-filed. Payments from a checking or
savings account can be accomplished
using direct debit. There is no fee for
direct debit payments. Check with
your financial institution to obtain the
correct Routing Transit Number (RTN)
and account number for your account.
If you have used the same preparation
software in prior years and your
information is automatically populated
into the current year’s form, be sure
that your direct debit information is
correct.

Michigan income tax returns for
the 2019 tax year must be filed and
payments for tax due remitted by
April 15,2020. Taxpayers who use
direct debit to pay tax due should
monitor their account to ensure that
the withdrawal was timely remitted.
Treasury has noted that some taxpayers
have failed to monitor their accounts to
be certain that their tax payment was
timely remitted to the State of Michigan,
many of whom received assesments
for taxes due. It is incumbent on the
taxpayer to make the payment by the
deadline. If your RTN or account
number is incorrect, your payment
may not be accepted, resulting in a tax
deficiency. Penalty and interest will
accrue on any tax due that has not
been paid by the deadline.
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All Things Advocate - Benefits of
Michigan Treasury Online (MTO)
Round 2

MTO Frequently Asked
Questions

Which taxes and tax years are
available on MTO?

* SUW returns and payments
are available on MTO for
tax years 2015 and beyond.

* ESA statements and
payments are available on
MTO for tax years 2016
and beyond.

» SBT payments are available
on MTO through 201 1.

* MBT payments are available
on MTO for tax years 2012
and beyond.

* Medical Marihuana Facilities
tax returns and payments
are available on MTO
for tax years 2018 and

beyond.
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In the November 2017 issue of Treasury Update, Treasury shared the
benefits of using MTO. If you are still not using MTO or if your client(s)
are reluctant to use MTO, we encourage you to reread the article

on page 7 at the following link: https://www.michigan.gov/documents/
treasury/Treasury Update November 2017 606900 7.pdf

In addition, check out the “Resources/Guides” tab on the MTO home
page to view 10 NEW tutorial videos and 12 NEWV guides to help even
the most apprehensive taxpayers achieve MTO success.

Need more proof? Here are the top tax professional SUW question,
error, and issue the Advocate office received in 2019.

Top Question: Why did my client receive this bill/assessment?

Using MTO allows the client and tax professional to see the returns
filed and not filed and the payments submitted and not submitted, which
helps determine why an assessment was received.

Top Error: My client keeps receiving assessments for tax types they
have never filed for in the past.

MTO only allows taxpayers to file for the taxes for which they have
registered. This eliminates the errors of filing of sales tax as use tax,
or vice versa, and subtotaling on the incorrect line that can lead to
assessments on tax for which the client never previously filed.

Top Issue: Not knowing when to file returns according to a client’s
filing frequency. MTO clearly indicates a client’s filing frequency and due
dates. Returns should be filed according to the filing frequency assigned
by Treasury.

The biggest benefit of MTO is still the same — it provides real time
access 24/7, 365 days a year — anytime, anywhere.
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