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Claiming Underemployment Benefits in Michigan 
 
Underemployment is a situation in which a worker is employed, but his/her work hours and/or wages have been 
reduced or changed for reasons other than the worker’s request.  However, under certain circumstances unemployment 
benefits may be available. 

“Earnings” can include the following: a payment of a wage; room, board or other living expenses; vacation or holiday 
pay; or a payment made by an employer to a separated worker in lieu of notice of a discharge or layoff. 

If you are claiming benefits while underemployed you are required to: 
• Report gross earnings per week (Sunday through Saturday) when certifying with MARVIN. 
• Actively seek full-time work. 

You are required by law to report your total gross earnings from all services performed. 

How to report earnings for each week 

You must report your total gross earnings, not just your take-home pay, for the week in which you actually performed 
the work, NOT the week in which you received the pay.  Be sure to answer “yes” when MARVIN asks you if you worked 
during a specific week.  Then report your total earnings (gross pay) before deductions. 

How to calculate your earnings 

Multiply your hourly rate of pay by the number of hours you worked during the week (Sunday through Saturday).  Then 
add any other payments received during that week, such as cash payments, vacation pay, holiday pay, severance pay or 
other wage continuation pay.  Report the total earnings to MARVIN. 

 
How earnings affect your weekly benefit amount (WBA) 

UIA Form 1541, Weekly Earnings Calculation Worksheet, is available to unemployed workers through the UIA website at 
www.michigan.gov/uia.  Please refer to your UIA 1901 (Green Booklet), Unemployment Benefits in Michigan, for further 
information.  Failure to properly report earnings may result in severe penalties if fraud is detected. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

Earnings equal or exceed 1.5 times your 
Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA) 

A.  WBA = $362.00 
B.  Total Earnings = $600.00 
C. $362 x 1.5 = $543.00 
D.  If B is more than C, then you will not 
     receive a benefit payment for this  
     week. 

Earnings are less than 1.5 times your WBA, 
but greater than your WBA, total earnings 
are subtracted from 1.5 times your WBA. 

A.  WBA = $362.00 
B.  Total Earnings of $420.00 
C.  $362 x 1.5 = $543.00 
D.  If B is more than A, then subtract  
     earnings from C.   
     $543.00 - $420.00 = $123.00 

Earnings are equal to or less than your 
WBA, 0.5 times your earnings are 
subtracted from your WBA. 

A.  WBA = $362.00 
B.  Total earnings of $101.00 
C.  If B is less than A, see the calculation  
      below 
      $101 x .5 = $50.50 
      WBA $362 - $50.50 = $311.50 
      You receive $312.00 

 

http://www.michigan.gov/uia
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How underemployment affects your account 

If the unemployed worker earned wages with an employer within the past 18 months and work hours were reduced 
based on reasons other than the worker’s request, the unemployed worker may be entitled to benefits.  When the 
employer is paying more than the maximum charge per week the employer is entitled to an excess earnings credit. 

The unemployed worker is required to report gross earnings (including lost earning) each week (Sunday through 
Saturday) when certifying with MARVIN.  Also, the worker must be able, available and seeking full-time work.  Therefore, 
report any loss of earnings by a worker during any week resulting from any cause other than the failure of the employer 
to offer hours.  This is considered lost earnings. 

How excess earnings affect your account 

A contributing employer may receive a credit for any week(s) the underemployed worker claimed benefits that were 
charged to that employer’s account.  To receive the credit, the earnings the employer paid an underemployed worker 
must equal or exceed the employer’s weekly maximum potential benefit charge for that worker. 

How to calculate your maximum potential charge per week 

A. Locate your maximum charge located on Form UIA 1575, Monetary Determination 
B. Divide the maximum charge by the number of weeks to which the unemployed worker is entitled 
C. The result of the calculation is the maximum potential charge the employer’s account may be charged per week. 

 
 

EXAMPLE  
Maximum amount = $2,925.00 
Maximum weeks = 20 
$2,925 / 20 = $146.25 maximum 
charge per week 

If the claimant earns $146.25 or more 
from your place of business in any week 
that your business is charged you are 
entitled to a credit. 

 


