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Presenter
Presentation Notes
In this presentation we will provide a basic overview of tax rates and further detail the most recent legislative changes, and how that affects employers. 



How is My Tax Rate Calculated? 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
In addition to today’s information, more reference material is available.  The tax rate schedules are found in Section 19 of the MES Act, and you have a rate table and sample rate notice in your packet. You can also view webcasts for the tax rate calculation on the UIA website at www.michigan.gov/uia.



Michigan’s Unemployment System 
Michigan has an experience-rated tax system that uses 
an employer’s: 
 

– Past unemployment benefit claims 
– Payroll Size 
– Years of Experience 

to determine an employer’s annual tax rate. 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Federal law requires that the ‘experience’ of all employers be measured over the same period of time by uniform methods.  



Michigan’s Unemployment System 
Factors that will cause the tax rate to increase: 
• Benefits paid 
• Unpaid/underpaid taxes, and 
• Increasing payroll 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Of course, the reverse of these factors will cause the rate to decrease. 



Tax Rate Components 
Employer Tax rates are calculated by using the following 
three components: 

• Chargeable Benefits Component  (CBC) 
• Account Building Component  (ABC) 
• Non-Chargeable Benefits Component  (NBC) 

 
 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Each component is calculated separately and added together to compute the tax rate. 



Experience Components 
The Chargeable Benefits Component (CBC) and the 
Account Building Component (ABC) are affected by the 
employer’s payroll, the unemployment benefit charges to 
their account, and the tax payments received.  Since these 
components reflect each company’s own experience, 
they are known as the experience components. 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
A Michigan employer’s tax rate closely reflects the employer’s own actual unemployment experience.  The experience components are the CBC and ABC.  They are impacted by:  An employer’s payroll, benefit charges and tax payments.



Chargeable Benefits Component 
This component takes into consideration the amount of 
unemployment benefits charged to an employer's 
account over a 36-month (3-year) period, ending the 
previous June 30.   
 

                   36 months of benefits paid 
                   36 months of taxable payroll 
 

The result is rounded to the next higher 0.1% 
 

CBC =  

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Benefit charges impact the CBC.
 (Read slide)
The formula uses: Three years of benefits paid divided three years of taxable payroll ending the prior June 30th. For new employers who do not have 36-months of experience, the total months liable through the most recent ended June 30th is used. The maximum CBC set by Michigan law is 6.3%, even though it may compute to a higher percentage.  
  
Before 2012, a 5-year period was used.  For employers who became liable in 2012, a 4-year CBC was used.  For those employers who became liable prior to 2012, they will still have 5 years to become fully liable.  However, their CBC was calculated using 4 years in 2012 and 3 years in 2013 and thereafter.  The end result is for all employers to be fully liable in 3 years and to have only a 3-year look-back to compute their CBC.  




Chargeable Benefits Component 
 Rounding: 
 
 .0601  =  .0601   = .0610  = 6.1% 

 
  .0600 = 6.0 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Tax rate components are calculated to four decimal places and are rounded to the next higher 0.1% if the number in the 4th decimal place is any number higher than zero.  For example, if the decimal calculation of the CBC was .0601, it would be rounded to 6.1%.  If the decimal calculation of the CBC was .0600, it would stay as 6.0%.





Account Building Component 
 The Account Building Component compares the 

balance in an employer’s UIA employer account (actual 
reserve) with a calculated optimal balance for the 
employer (required reserve). 
 

 The calculation uses each employer’s total payroll for 
the 12-month period ending the previous June 30th 

 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
The Account Building Component is the ABC.  (Read slide)

Do not go over formula here.  Go over on next slide. 



Account Building Component 

Required Reserve = Employers total (gross) payroll 
for the 12 months ending the previous June 30th  
multiplied by 3.75% 
 
Actual Reserve = All monies paid in UI taxes since 
the business began, minus all benefit charges that 
have been charged since the business began. 
(Includes predecessor reserve.)  

ABC =   [(Required Reserve) – (Actual Reserve)] X 0.5 12 months of total payroll 

*The result is rounded up to the next higher one tenth of one percent 
(0.1%) 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
First, let’s define Required Reserve and Actual Reserve.  
(Read definitions)
For the formula, the “Actual Reserve” is subtracted from the “Required Reserve”, multiplied by 0.5 and divided by the total (gross) payroll for the computation period ending the previous June 30th.

The ABC is the “net amount” in an employer’s UIA account and may be either positive or negative.  If negative, the employer is known as a negative balance employer and generally has a higher tax rate.

The maximum ABC under Michigan law is 3.0% although it may compute higher.  This component is rounded to the next higher 0.1% just like the CBC.

If anyone asks:  The 3.75% is the cost criterion determined by the Agency, in Section 18 (2)(e)(1) of the Act. It is developed by using a ratio of benefits paid during the 12 months to the aggregate amount of payrolls paid by employers within the most recent calendar year completed before the start of the 12-month period. 

Also, voluntary payments impact the ABC.  VP’s can be made through MiWAM and can bring the ABC to zero.
  



Nonchargeable Benefits Component 
 This component is the only one of the three that 

does not entirely reflect an employer’s own 
experience.  

 

 This component is generally a flat 1.0% for all fully-
experienced employers with benefit charges. 
 

 Effective 1-1-2013, new employers will have 1% NBC 
in 3rd year and become fully experienced.   

 

 For employers with no, or very few, benefit 
charges, the NBC can range from 0.5% to as low as 
0.06%. 
 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
The 3rd component is the NBC, (Read slide) 

For employers who do not have full experience the NBC is 0.0%.  



Computation Period 
 For the 2016 tax rate, these are the quarters that are used in the 

computation: 
 

9/30/2014  
12/31/2014 
3/31/2015 
6/30/2015 

 
 For 2015, these are the quarters that were used in the computation: 
 

9/30/2013  
12/31/2013 
3/31/2014 
6/30/2014 

Benefits charged today 
affect future tax rates! 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
The ABC computation period begins July 1st of one year and ends the June 30th of the following year, and uses 4 quarters that make up that period.  The financial information that falls in this “period” is used to determine the unemployment tax rate for the next calendar year.  So as we see from this slide (Read slide).

Rates are date sensitive, so the system will only use payments received during a certain period. Any monies received after 06/30/2014 through 07/31/2014 are included in the 2015 tax rate.  For 2016, any monies received through 7/31/2015 will be included in the calculation of the 2016 tax rate.




Effects of Missing Tax Reports 
 If any of the tax reports needed for the computation period are 

missing (not filed), the employer will receive a computed tax rate 
plus a 3.0% non-reporting penalty added to their tax rate.   

 If none of the required tax reports are filed, the rate will be set at the 
highest rate applicable for the number of years in business plus a 
3.0% non-reporting penalty. 

 For fully experienced employers, the rate could be 10.3% plus 3.0% = 
13.3%. (not including the OA) 

 If the missing reports are filed within 30 days of the tax rate 
determination, the non-reporting penalty is removed. 

 Beyond the 30 days but up to one year, the non-reporting penalty 
can be reduced to 2.0%. 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Missing tax reports can impact your tax rate by adding a 3.0% non-reporting penalty.  
This is covered in Section 18(d)(2) of the Michigan Employment Security Act. 
(Read slide)
Rate protests must be in writing or submitted through MiWAM.  If the employer can establish good cause for filing late, the 2.0% non-reporting penalty can be removed.  But good cause cannot be considered after 1 year has passed.  However, if all of the missing tax reports are filed within 3 years of the mail date of the tax rate determination, the tax rate will be redetermined but the 3.0% non-reporting penalty will remain.  



Rate Year 2013 and After  
 Year 1 – 2.7% + 1/3 CBC 
 Year 2 – 2.7%  + 2/3 CBC 
 Year 3 – CBC  + ABC+ NBC 

 
     36 months = fully experienced 

Tax Rates for Newly Liable  Employers 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
This slide refers to Tables A-2 & B-2 for new employers established 1-1-2013 or after.  

Here the CBC kicks in in Year 1 for employers who began liability in 2013.  These employers become liable in 3 years—which is the change in the Public Act (PA 269 of 2011).  

So after 2013, all newly liable employers will use this rate computation.  



Acquisition of a Business 
 If a new or existing business acquires the 

organization, trade, business or 75% or more of the 
assets of an existing business, there is a mandatory 
transfer of the unemployment experience account 
of the predecessor employer.  This is termed 
“successorship.” 

 If the taxable payroll attributable to the 
transferred portion of the business is less than 
100%, then the transfer of experience is termed a 
partial transfer. 
 For additional information, please refer to Section 22(a) of the MES Act. 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
The main thing you need to know is that if you acquire an existing business that is liable for unemployment taxes, you will not start off at 2.7%, but you will inherit the predecessor’s tax rate, or a portion of the rate.  This can be good or bad.  If the business acquired has a low tax rate, you may receive that low rate.  If they have a high tax rate, you may also receive that rate, or a portion of the rate.  It’s important to request a clearance of account from the Tax office when you are purchasing an existing business.  The new law under Section 21 (a) also provides that UIA begin sending the benefit notification form (UIA 5213) to a successor account for predecessor charges.  This will allow a successor employer to act more quickly to review any benefit charges and protest if needed. 




Acquisition of Business 
with same Controlling 
Interest 

If an employer transfers its trade or business, in full 
or in part, to another employer and there is common 
ownership, management or control of the two 
employers at the time of the transfer, there is a 
mandatory transfer of unemployment experience. 

 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
You may not have acquired 100% of assets or employees of another business, but when an employer transfers its trade or business, in full or in part, to another employer and there is common ownership, management or control of the two employers at the time of the transfer, this is also considered a mandatory transfer of unemployment experience.  
If anyone asks, this is covered under Section 22(c).



Bonding Obligation Assessment 

Public Acts  
267 and 268,   

December 19, 2011 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
On December 19, 2011 Public Acts 267 and 268, were signed into law. 



Bonding/Obligation Assessment 
In 2011, the State of Michigan issued bonds to repay 
federal loans for unemployment benefits and restore 
solvency to the Unemployment Trust Fund.  These 
bonds will be repaid through an Obligation 
Assessment (OA) issued to employers.  

Presenter
Presentation Notes
At the end of 2011 the UIA was approximately $3.3 billion in debt to the federal government with an estimated interest liability of over $200 million.  In order to finance the debt, bonds had to be obtained.  The bonds have to be repaid. Starting in 2012, all contributing employers are assessed for the bond premium in the form of an obligation assessment that has been added to the yearly Tax Rate notices.  It doesn’t matter if an employer is newly liable, fully experienced, or have a positive or negative reserve balance.  All contributing employers are impacted.



Facts about the OA 
 The OA is assessed on all contributing employers 

until the bonds are repaid. 
 The bonds are scheduled to take seven years to 

repay.  
 The OA portion of the rate will be determined 

yearly and included on the annual Tax Rate 
Determination (UIA 1771).  

 The OA cannot be protested.   

Presenter
Presentation Notes
The OA Bond Assessment cannot be protested or appealed, because it is part of the law. It is a statutory amendment to the Michigan Employment Security (MES) Act.  
Because of the OA there is no solvency tax, and this will end the FUTA credit reduction.





OAR (OA Ratio) 
Principal, interest, and administrative expenses due on 2015 bonds  
Anticipated regular UI revenue from contributing employers due in 2015 

 
  OA ratio for 2015 = .168337 

= OA Ratio 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
The OA Ratio is used to calculate the experience based cost of the Obligation Assessment Rate.  (Read formula from slide).  Each year, the Obligation Assessment Ratio will be set on or before November 20 by the State Treasurer and Director of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) for the next year.  



Tax Rates w/Obligation Assessment 
Rate Year 2014  
 Year 1 – 2.7% + 1/3 CBC + OA 
 Year 2 – 2.7%  + 2/3 CBC + OA 
 Year 3 – CBC + ABC + NBC  + OA 
     
 36 months = fully experienced 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
If we reference the New Tax Rate Tables Chart, you can see how the Obligation Assessment will add to the tax rate for each year. So because of the OA, new employers will start off with higher than a 2.7% rate.  New employers will actually start off at 3.78%.  (2.7% + 1.12 = 3.82%) 



OA On-Line Calculator 
Further instructions on the OA calculation can be 
found on the UIA website at: 
  http:www.michigan.gov/uia 
Under Employers 
                  Taxes and Tax Credits 
                                 Bonding 
                                         2015 OA Rate Calculator 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
To verify your OA amount, enter the tax rate from “Your Computed Rate” on the 2015 Tax Rate Determination, and follow the instructions, and the on-line tool will show you how to calculate your OA amount. For more information refer to Fact Sheet #146.

Remember, OA is replacing the Solvency Tax and the FUTA Credit. 



Public Act 241 of 2014 
 PA 241 excluded wages for certain J1 Visa & H-2B Visa 

holders  from UI coverage, effective 8-26-14. 
 These wages are not used to calculate computed tax 

rate. They are used to determine the OA. 
 However, these wages are reported through MiWAM 

on the Visa Wages Tab. 
 These wages are included in the taxable wages for the 

quarterly OA total calculation.   
 See Fact Sheet #164 for more details. 

 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Review types of J1 Visa Holders that are excluded:  International visitors, government visitors, camp counselors and au pairs.
All H-2B Visa Holders are excluded.

As the effective date for PA 241 falls within the 3rd Quarter of 2014, it will impact the 2016 tax rates.



SSN Reporting Issues 
 Invalid/incorrect SSN’s generate Error Report and 

penalties if not corrected in 14 days. 
 Form I-9, Employment Eligibility Verification or W-4, 

Employees Withholding Allowance Certificate can be 
submitted to stop penalties. 

 Employee may be able to be contacted for correct SSN. 
 Notarized affidavit may be needed to stop additional 

penalties. 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Please see Fact Sheet #159.  



Providing SSNs to the Agency 
 The SSN Privacy Act of 2005 requires that 

complete SSNs are not provided in emails over the 
internet.  

 Use the Claim Number, Case Number, Letter ID 
and Claimant Name in email and fax 
correspondence to the Agency. 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Please clarify to the employers that this is in regard to email correspondence regarding claimants.  Employers are required to provide complete SSN’s through MiWAM when the quarterly 1028’s are filed. 



Public Act 269 Changes 
 Employers quarterly tax due amount must be 

rounded to the nearest whole dollar. 
 A contribution payment amount that is not an even 

dollar amount shall be credited to the employer’s 
account in an amount equal to the next lower dollar 
amount if under 50 cents and in an amount equal 
to the next higher dollar amount if 50 cents or 
more. 

 The Obligation Assessment is not rounded. 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Among the changes in Public Act 269 that affect the filing of the new combined form is under Section 13 (1) an employer’s quarterly tax due amount must be rounded to the nearest whole dollar.  This law change was effective beginning with the first Quarter 2012 report filing.

 



Public Act 269 Changes 
• Section 13(2) Involves on-Line filing of Quarterly 

Reports.  By 2015 all employers will be required to 
file on-line.  

• Section 13(3) Allows employers with 25 or fewer 
employees with 50% or more of taxes in first 
quarter of the previous year to equally distribute 
the first quarter taxes over the 4 quarters. 

• Section 15a(1) If an employer elects to pay 1st quarter 
tax liability in 4 equal payments, interest will not 
be charged.  



Section 13(3)Apportionment 
2014 Tax Due   
• 1st Qtr taxes= $2,000.00    
  
• 2nd Qtr taxes= $750.00 

  
• 3rd Qtr taxes= $500.00 

  
• 4th Qtr taxes= $0.00 

For 2015: 
• 1st Qtr taxes= $2,000.00     
 Pay $500.00 - 1st Qtr 
• 2nd Qtr Taxes = $750.00 
 Pay $750.00 +500.00 
• 3rd Qtr taxes= $500.00 

 Pay $500.00 + $500.00  
• 4th Qtr taxes= $0.00 
 Pay $500.00 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Apportionment is for employers with 25 or fewer employees only.  As you can see the 1st quarter tax liability for 1st qtr 2014 was more than 50% of the total taxes due.  So in 2015 you can divide the first quarter tax due into four payments payable over the 4 quarters. 

To avoid interest and penalty, the employer would have to notify UIA of the election to make apportioned payments with the 1st quarter’s payment, and then timely file each quarter’s payments. 



Public Act 269 Changes 
Increased penalties under Section 54(c)(2) 
• $50.00 for late reporting if not received within 30 

days of the report due date.  
• Additional $250.00 penalty if still not received by 

the next quarter due date, and $250.00 for each 
quarter it is not received.  

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Under Public Act 269 the penalties in connection to quarterly filings have increased. 
These changes became effective with the 3rd quarter 2012 report filing.   
(Read slide.)



Wage Penalties 54(c)(2)  
The same penalties apply if an incomplete or 
erroneous report is filed.   
If the UIA discovers an error in a report that was filed, 
the Agency provides written notification on UIA 1107, 
Error Report.  Penalties will not apply if a corrected 
report is filed within 14  calendar days after 
notification of the error if original report was filed 
timely.  



Missing Form UIA 1028 
 UIA 1430, Notice of Delinquent Tax Report, is sent 45 

days after quarter end date. 
 UIA 1093, Determination of Willful Neglect, is sent 

with UIA 1772, Discontinuance, if UIA 1028 not 
received within 10 days after UIA 1430 sent. 

 UIA 5223, Notice of Estimated Tax Liability, is sent & 
posted to account if UIA 1028 not received within 30 
days. 

 UIA 1448, Notice of Assessment, is sent 5 days after 
estimated UIA 1028 posts.  



Basic Collections Steps 
 UIA 1448, Notice of Assessment, notifies employers of 

delinquencies. 
 UIA 1494, (Lien) Collection Notice, is sent if 

delinquency is not paid. 
 UIA 1492, Notice to Withhold, is sent to bank if 

delinquency is not paid. 
 At the same time, UIA 1449, UIA Tax Lien, is sent to 

county for recording. 
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Contact Information 
 Tax Status: liability, transfer of business 
  Phone: 313.456.2080 
  FAX: 313.456.2131 

Email: EmployerLiability@michigan.gov 
 

 Tax Maintenance: tax rates, missing tax reports 
  Phone: 313.456.2010 
  FAX: 313.456.2131 
  Email: TaxSupport@michigan.gov 

34 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Section C of the Employer Handbook also provides a detailed explanation of how to compute your rate in easy to understand language.  An electronic version of the Employer Handbook is available for free through MiWAM.

mailto:EmployerLiability@michigan.gov
mailto:TaxSupport@michigan.gov
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