How To Pay
Driver Responsibility Fees must be paid to the Michigan Department of Treasury within 30 days of your notice unless you have entered into an approved Installment Agreement .
Please contact the Michigan Department of Treasury, 1-800-950-6227, for payment plan options. Once entered into a payment plan, individuals that have no additional license actions pending may be eligible to reinstate their driver’s license without paying a reinstatement fee*, March 31 through December 31, 2018. Some individuals may qualify for participation in a Workforce Development Program in lieu of payment.
Eligible drivers can contact the Michigan Secretary of State’s Office for additional information regarding reinstating driving privileges at 1-888-767-6424.
Driver Responsibility fee payments cannot be accepted by the courts or at Secretary of State branch offices.
If you would like to make payment for another person (including minors and spouses) please make payment with a check or money order following the "Making Your Payment" instructions given below. Individuals calling on behalf of another party (including minors and spouses) by law will not be provided with information or be permitted to make payment arrangements unless an Authorized Representative (Form 151) is on file with the Michigan Department of Treasury. The completed form may be faxed to the Collection Division at 517-272-5561.
Only individuals with Driver Responsibility Fees due to the following offenses have the opportunity to participate in the Workforce Development Program.
- Allowed A Suspended/Revoked Person to Operate (1341)
- Allowed A Suspended/Revoked Person to Operate Causing Serious Injury (1342)
- Allowed A Suspended/Revoked Person to Operate Causing Death (1343)
- Drove While Unlicensed or License Not Valid (3010)
- Drove while License Suspended/Revoked/Denied (3011)
- Drove w/o Proper License/Endorsement/Vehicle Group Designator (3020)
- No proof of Insurance (3100)
- No Insurance (3106)
- No Insurance Under The Insurance Code (3108)
- Drove While License Suspended/Revoked/Denied (DWLS) (3200)
- Drove While License Expired (3220)
- Drove Commercial Motor Vehicle While Disqualified (3230)
- DWLS Causing Death (3235)
- DWLS Causing Serious Injury (3245)
- Immobilization – Violations (9130)
Michigan Department of Treasury and Michigan Secretary of State are partnering with local workforce development agencies to eliminate Driver Responsibility Fees before October 1, 2018 for individuals who participate in a qualifying workforce development training program.
Individuals with qualifying offenses who are already participating in existing programs have been identified in order to eliminate their Driver Responsibility Fees and will be notified by mail throughout May.
There are a number of qualifying programs available to the public to eliminate Driver Responsibility Fees and local workforce development agencies will assist individuals with enrollment.
If you have a qualifying offense resulting in a Driver Responsibility Fee and you are interested in participating in at least 10-hours of workforce development training instead of making payment before October 1, 2018, please complete the Intent of Participation for Workforce Development Program (Driver Responsibility Fee Waiver) (Form 5593) and submit to Michigan Department of Treasury.
Important Note: Your qualifying Driver Responsibility Fees will be eliminated provided you complete the following within 45 days from the date you submit the Form 5593
- Visit a workforce development agency
- Enroll in a qualifying program
- Complete 10 hours of workforce development training
- Submit the approved Verification of Participation for Workforce Development Program (Driver Responsibility Fee Waiver) (Form 5586) to Michigan Department of Treasury
Individuals have one (1) attempt to complete a qualifying workforce development program to have their Driver Responsibility Fees eliminated.
- Make your check, cashier's check or money order payable to "State of Michigan-SAC" for the amount due.
- Write your assessment number on the check. The assessment number can be found in the upper right hand corner of your notice, and on the payment coupon. See Example of Notice.
- Include the payment coupon from the bottom of the notice.
- Please allow 14 business days for mailing and processing.
- Mail to: Collection Division
Michigan Department of Treasury
P.O. Box 30199
Lansing, MI 48909-7699.
Our e-Services site will allow you to make an Automated Clearing House (ACH) payment from your checking or savings account. Please have your financial institution account number and that institutions 9-digit routing number available when you access Collections e-service.
Credit Card and Debit Card payments: The Michigan Department of Treasury does not accept payment by credit or debit card.
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) payments: EFT is an electronic payment method that you may use to pay your Driver Responsibility Fee. Instead of writing a check for the amount due you instruct your financial institution to transfer the funds from your account to ours by completing the EFT form provided on this Web site. We then apply the transferred amount to your liability. EFT is a safe and efficient process for making your payment. All transactions are governed by strict, nationally established rules, regulations and security procedures and occur between financial institutions only at your request.
Installment Agreements: The Michigan Department of Treasury may enter into an Installment Agreement for up to 24 months with a driver who has been assessed Driver Responsibility Fees.
Individuals calling on behalf of another party (including minors and spouses) by law will not be provided with information, or be permitted to make payment arrangements unless an Authorized Representative Form is on file with the Michigan Department of Treasury.
- Individuals who have received an Order of Action (Form DI-174 Suspension Notification) from the Michigan Department of State should contact the Michigan Accounts Receivable Collection System ( MARCS) at 800-950-6227 to make payment on their account.
For help regarding payment issues, contact the Michigan Department of Treasury Driver Responsibility Fee Information Line at 800-950-6227.