Skip to main content

Introduction to the State Administrative Board

Per P.A. 2 of 1921 , the State Administrative Board has general supervisory control over the administrative activities of all state departments and agencies, including, but not limited to, the approval of contracts and leases, oversight of the state capital outlay process and the settlement of claims against the State under $1,000.00. The State Administrative Board functions through three standing committees that make recommendations to the Board.

The State Administrative Board members are the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Attorney General, State Treasurer, Superintendent of Public Instruction and the Director of the Department of Transportation. The Department of Technology, Management and Budget (DTMB) designates a Secretary to the State Administrative Board and provides staff support.

The State Administrative Board meetings are held approximately twice a month per resolution of the State Administrative Board.

For meeting dates, time, and locations, see Current Calendar. NOTE: If you plan on attending one of these meetings, please arrive early to find a parking space and get to the meeting room because these meetings usually last no more than five minutes.

The three Board committees are Finance and Claims Committee, Building Committee, and Transportation and Natural Resources Committee.

Contact Information: Email the Secretary of the Board at and or write to the Secretary of the Board at State Administrative Board, Constitution Hall. P.O. Box 30026, Lansing, MI 48909