## Michigan Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ) Septage Waste Program Continuing Septage Education (CSE) Credit Requirements and Guidance

The following information concerns the education requirements for septage waste business owners who are either getting licensed for the first time or renewing their septage waste license. This information can be found in Part 117, Septage Waste Servicers, of the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, 1994 PA 451, as amended (NREPA):

324.11703 Septage waste servicing license; application; eligibility; records.

Sec. 11703.

- (1) An application for a septage waste servicing license shall include all of the following:
  - (f) Written proof of satisfaction of the continuing education requirements of subsection (2), if applicable.
- (2) Beginning January 1, 2007, a person is not eligible for an initial servicing license unless the person has successfully completed not less than 10 hours of continuing education during the 2-year period before applying for the license. Beginning January 1, 2007 and until December 31, 2009, a person is not eligible to renew a servicing license unless the person has successfully completed not less than 10 hours of continuing education during the 2-year period preceding the issuance of the license. Beginning January 1, 2010, a person is not eligible to renew a servicing license unless the person has successfully completed not less than 30 hours of continuing education during the 5-year period preceding the issuance of the license.
- (3) Before offering or conducting a course of study represented to meet the educational requirements of subsection (2), a person shall obtain approval from the department. The department may suspend or revoke the approval of a person to offer or conduct a course of study to meet the requirements of subsection (2) for a violation of this part or of the rules promulgated under this part.

324.11717 Septage waste site contingency fund; creation; authorization of expenditures.

Sec. 11717.

- (1) There is created in the state treasury a septage waste site contingency fund. Interest earned by the septage waste contingency fund shall remain in the septage waste contingency fund unless expended as provided in subsection (2).
- (2) The department shall expend money from the septage waste contingency fund, upon appropriation, only to defray costs of the continuing education courses under section 11703 that would otherwise be paid by persons taking the courses.

The septage waste program posts the MDEQ-approved CSE courses on its webpage. A business that cleans, removes, transports, or disposes, by application to land or otherwise, of septage waste in the state of Michigan is required to be licensed as mandated by Part 117. In order to be licensed the business must first designate a responsible agent who must successfully complete a minimum of 10 credit hours of MDEQ-approved CSE.

It is the responsibility of the student, when taking CSE courses offered by a third party provider, to ensure that the courses and credit hour(s) offered by the provider match those approved and posted by the septage waste program (Program).

## **Program Course/Class Review Requirements**

- The Program requests that those entities seeking approval for CSE credits from the Program for proposed classes/courses shall do the following:
  - Submit the MDEQ Septage Waste Education and Training Programs Approval Application (EQP5898) at least 60 days prior to a proposed course being offered.
  - > EQP5898 is posted on the Program website.
- All new submissions are required to provide:
  - > The name of the course;
  - A syllabus detailing specifics about the proposed course being offered;
  - > Course materials provided to the student;
  - > The name of the instructor;
  - > The instructor's credential:
  - > The date, time and location of the course;
  - The number of CSE credits being requested;
  - > The classroom time to teach/complete the course:
  - Course cost:
  - The list of items the student will need to bring to the class (if applicable);
  - > Any additional information pertinent to this policy as required by the Program; and,
  - Copy of certificate that will be issued to the student after successfully attending the seminar/class.
- Applicants with incomplete information will be contacted and given the opportunity to provide the missing information.
- After reviewing and approving the class/course the Program will post the approved course on its webpage.

## **Basic Program CSE Guidance**

The following information is provided to help expedite the review and approval process and to ensure that all applicants for CSE class/course approval are treated equally.

- Each class/course shall be submitted to the program for review.
- Existing, approved courses shall not be modified, improved, expanded or changed in any manner, unless:
  - ➤ The course provider submits the DEQ Septage Waste Education and Training Programs Approval Application (EQP5898) for review and approval;

- A detailed explanation as to what was modified is provided and how it is an improvement to the existing class/course; and,
- Any modifications or changes to an existing, approved course must be reviewed and approved by the Program before being offered for CSE credit hours.
- The class/course must be relevant to the Michigan licensed septage waste business owner and his/her employees.
- The class/course must be relevant to the content found in Part 117, Septage Waste Servicers, of the NREPA.
- The MDEQ will post approved courses on the Program website. The Program will not
  include links to third party provider websites unless that party is under contract with the
  Program. The MDEQ will post third party provider contact information that includes the name
  of the contact person and that person's phone/fax number and/or e-mail address.
- The course provider will issue a certificate of completion to each attendee that includes:
  - The name of the business for which the student is employed;
  - > The name of the student; and,
  - > The number of CSE credit hours for which the class was approved.
- The MDEQ will include language on EQP5898 stating that "Changes made to approved courses without prior MDEQ Septage Waste Program approval shall result in the approval for that course to be immediately revoked."
- As provided in Sec. 11703(3) of Part 117, the Program reserves the right to revoke or suspend the approval for an existing class/course if the guidelines have been violated.
- Approval shall be immediately revoked for courses that have been changed or modified in anyway without the Program's knowledge or approval.
- When approval has been revoked or suspended the provider will immediately be contacted by the Program either by phone or e-mail and the course removed from the Program webpage.
- If course approval has been revoked by the Program, it is the provider's responsibility to contact students impacted by the revocation.