MDEQ awards nearly $64 million to 80 communities for sewer planning

Agency: Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy

December 18, 2017

Sonya Butler, Drinking Water and Municipal Assistance Division,, 517-284-5433
Tiffany Brown, MDEQ Public Information Officer,, 517-284-6716

Grants to help protect Michigan waters

LANSING, Mich.  The Michigan Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ) today announced the award of nearly $64 million to 80 municipalities to assist with costs of planning for their sewer system maintenance needs from the Stormwater, Asset Management, and Wastewater (SAW) program.

The SAW program provides grant assistance for the development of asset management plans for wastewater and stormwater, stormwater management planning, stormwater and wastewater project planning and design, and testing and demonstration of innovative technology.

This is the fifth round of SAW grant awards and is further progress toward funding the complete list of 579 SAW grant applicants. This most recent achievement now brings the total number of SAW grant applicants to be awarded funding to 558 and the total dollar amount of SAW grant funding awarded to approximately $450 million.

Municipalities applied for SAW grants to the MDEQ in 2013, and approved applications were posted in their funding order per a lottery process in March 2014. No new SAW applications are being accepted by the MDEQ as the total dollar amount of the approved applications exceeds the $450 million available for the SAW program. It is anticipated in future years that any unused moneys will be folded back into the program to fund any remaining communities in the queue.

The Michigan Department of Treasury will issue general obligation debt to fund the SAW grants as authorized in the Great Lakes Water Quality Bond. The SAW program was signed into law in 2013 to support water pollution control efforts in Michigan in conjunction with the previously established State Revolving Fund and Strategic Water Quality Initiatives Fund loan programs.

For more information, visit the DEQ’s SAW Program highlight page at,4561,7-135-3307_3515_4143-294952--,00.html.  

For more information on the SRF/SWQIF loan programs, visit the MDEQ’s Clean Water State Revolving Fund page at


*In alphabetical order

Grant Recipient

Amount Awarded

Allegan County Drain Commissioner


Big Creek/Mentor Utility Authority


Charter Township of Augusta


Charter Township of Brighton


Charter Township of Grand Blanc


Charter Township of Hampton


Charter Township of Kinross


Charter Township of Oakland


Charter Township of Oshtemo


Charter Township of Royal Oak


Charter Township of Texas


Charter Township of Union


Charter Township of Van Buren


City of Ann Arbor


City of Big Rapids


City of Farmington Hills


City of Fenton


City of Ferrysburg


City of Gladstone


City of Harbor Beach


City of Harper Woods


City of Highland Park


City of Hudsonville


City of Jackson


City of Kalamazoo


City of Ludington


City of Luna Pier


City of Marlette


City of Negaunee


City of New Baltimore


City of Niles


City of North Muskegon


City of Ovid


City of Parchment


City of Plainwell


City of Portland


City of Reed City


City of Romulus


City of Utica


City of Warren


City of Woodhaven


City of Wyandotte


Clinton Oakland Sewage Disposal System


County of Livingston


County of St. Clair


Eastern Michigan University


Edwards Relief Drain Drainage District


Harbor Springs Area Sewage Disposal Authority


Lakes Area Sewer Authority


L’Anse Creuse Public Schools


North Houghton County Water & Sewer Authority


Schoenherr Relief Drain Drainage District


South County Water and Sewer Authority


Southgate Wyandotte Relief Drains Drainage District


Tawas Utility Authority


Township of Carp Lake


Township of Elba


Township of Kawkawlin


Township of Laketon


Township of Northfield


Township of Onekama


Township of Richland


Township of Watersmeet


Village of Berrien Springs


Village of Burr Oak


Village of Casnovia


Village of Elk Rapids


Village of Farwell


Village of Kingsley


Village of Lennon


Village of Lyons


Village of Marcellus


Village of Mattawan


Village of Milford


Village of Newberry


Village of North Branch


Village of Northport


Village of Pierson


Village of Westphalia


Washtenaw County Road Commission





The MDEQ is dedicated to respect for Michigan's citizens, stewardship of the environment, and support for a sustainable economy.