EGLE awards 14 grants to collect and recycle electronics

September 10, 2019
Steve Noble, Electronics Program Coordinator,, 517-449-6153 
Jill Greenberg, EGLE Public Information Officer,, 517-897-4965

The Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE) announced today it has awarded $269,540 in grants to 14 applicants during the second round of the Rural Electronics Recycling Grants. 

The grants will fund 18 community electronics drop-off locations and multiple community collection events in rural communities across the state. Community events provide affordable and convenient electronics recycling opportunities to residents, and using properly registered recyclers assures that the electronics are properly managed through their end-of-life. 

Grant recipients and proposed uses include:

  • Superior Watershed Partnership – Alger County: Supports the purchase of storage buildings for two permanent collection locations in the county and multiple electronics collection events in Munising and surrounding communities.
  • Schoolcraft Conservation District: Supports the establishment of permanent electronics collection locations in Manistique and at the Hiawatha Shores Landfill; and community education and a series of electronics community collection events in 2020 and 2021.
  • Bay Mills Indian Community: Supports the establishment of a permanent collection location in Brimley.
  • Keweenaw Bay Indian Community: Allows for physical upgrades to the solid waste facility to accommodate the collection of electronics.
  • Northeast Michigan Council of Governments (NEMCOG): Supports establishment of six secure storage locations within the counties that NEMCOG serves; allows the upgrade of one facility to support year-around collection activities; allows repurchase of on-site handling equipment; supports multiple electronics collection events; and expands education and outreach activities to residents in the eight-county region.
  • Iron Baraga Conservation District: Supports the establishment of a permanent collection site and an electronics collection event.
  • Mackinac Island Department of Public Works: Supports the establishment of a collection location and the proper recycling of electronics from the island.
  • Antrim County Conservation District: Supports the establishment of a permanent electronics collection location.
  • Comprenew-Otsego County: Supports the establishment of two permanent collection locations in the county, e-waste events, and the purchase of storage containers to more efficiently service collection locations in the Northern Lower Peninsula.
  • Isabella County Conservation District: Establishes a permanent drop off site for the county and supports e-waste events prior to creating a drop off location.
  • Montcalm County Conservation District: Establishes a permanent electronics collection site in the county, e-waste collection events in remote parts of the county, and increased education and outreach.
  • Shiawassee County Conservation District: Establishes two collection locations in Shiawassee County; expands the recycling education and outreach program; and helps to control collection costs for the residents.
  • City of Bay City: Supports the establishment of a permanent drop off site at the transfer station and allows for e-waste events in rural areas of the county using collection trailers.
  • Goodwill Southeast Michigan: Establishes six permanent collection sites in Lenawee and surrounding counties and supports the purchase of a box truck to transport electronics from Goodwill retail locations to a consolidation location.

Improperly recycled electronics pose environmental hazards associated with the heavy metals contained in certain equipment. Recycling electronics creates jobs, assures personal information and data-containing devices are properly managed, and reduces the need for obtaining precious and rare-earth metals through energy intensive means.  

The full list of grantees and the funding amount for the second round includes:




Superior Watershed Partnership



Schoolcraft County Conservation District



Bay Mills Indian Community



Northeast Michigan Council of Governments

Alcona, Alpena, Cheboygan, Crawford, Montmorency, Oscoda, Otsego, and Presque Isle Counties


Keweenaw Bay Indian Community



Iron Baraga Conservation District



Mackinac Island Department of Public Works



Antrim County Conservation District



Comprenew – Gaylord



Isabella county Conservation District



Montcalm County Conservation District



Shiawassee County Conservation District



City of Bay City



Goodwill Industries of Southeastern Michigan

Lenawee, Monroe, Washtenaw





For more information, call EGLE’s Environmental Assistance Center at 800-662-9278, or visit Michigan’s Electronics Recycling Program at

To stay up to date on other EGLE news, follow

# # #