Gov. Rick Snyder makes appointment, reappointments to Michigan Travel Commission

Thursday, Oct. 4, 2018

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointment of Marsha Quebbeman of East Lansing and the reappointments of Charles Burns of Novi, John Madigan of Munising and Sally Laukitis of Holland to the Michigan Travel Commission.

The commission collaborates with destination marketing associations, nonprofit corporations and organizations to develop, promote and enhance Michigan’s travel and tourism industry. It also provides the Michigan Economic Development Corporation with input and advice regarding activities related to tourism in the state.

“This commission is key in promoting Pure Michigan and all of the incredible places and features our great state has to offer," Snyder said.

Quebbeman currently serves as the director of administration in the Executive Office of Governor Rick Snyder. She previously served as the department manager of financial services and procurement with the Department of Technology, Management and Budget. Quebbeman earned a bachelor’s degree from Central Michigan University and will fill a vacancy created by the resignation of Christian Overland.

Burns serves as the regional security manager for Uber, where he is responsible for physical security for all offices, personnel and incidents in Central/Eastern United States. Previously, he served as general manager of the Chevrolet Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix. Burns received his bachelor’s degree from Purdue University.

Madigan is an owner and general manager of Pictured Rocks Cruises Inc. and an owner of the Munising Hardware Co. He is president of Superior Insurance Agency in Sault Ste. Marie, Mullet Lake Marina in Cheboygan and Apostle Island Cruises in Bayfield, Wisconsin. Madigan earned a bachelor’s degree from Northern Michigan University.

Laukitis is executive director of the Holland Area Convention & Visitors Bureau, working in the tourism industry for more than 20 years. She worked as sales director and guide coordinator for the bureau and as a flight attendant for Eastern Airlines. Laukitis is founder and chairperson of the Visitor Planning Initiative, past president of the Michigan Association of Convention & Visitors Bureau and past president of the the Tourism Industry Coalition of Michigan. Laukitis earned a bachelor’s degree from DePauw University.

Quebbeman will serve the remainder of a four-year term expiring August 20, 2021. Burns, Madigan and Laukitis will serve four-year terms expiring August 20, 2022.Their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.