Gov. Engler and Members of Michigan Congressional Delegation Announce Eastern District Committee to Aid President Bush in Filling Judicial Appointments

Contact: John Truscott (517) 335-6397

Governor John Engler and members of Michigan's Republican congressional delegation today released names of those selected to assist President George W. Bush's administration in filling law enforcement and judicial appointments for the Eastern District Court, which serves Michigan residents.

Newly appointed members of the Eastern District Court Committee will review qualified applicants for the positions of U.S. Attorney and Federal District Judge.

Congressmen Fred Upton, (R- St. Joseph) senior member of the Michigan delegation; Dave Camp, (R- Midland) Joseph Knollenberg, (R- Bloomfield Hills) Nick Smith, (R- Addison) and Mike Rogers, (R- Brighton) along with Engler, have tapped experts in Michigan's judicial and law enforcement communities to serve on the Eastern District Committee.

Bloomfield Hills resident Rodger Young, founding partner of Young & Susser, will chairs the Eastern District Committee. 

Detroit resident Taylor Segue, a partner at Butzel Long, serves as committee vice chair.

Other people from across the state who were appointed to the Eastern District Committee, include:
  • Marge Basile of Detroit
  • Gregory Burkhart of Detroit
  • Rick Caretti of Bloomfield Hills
  • Gilbert Cox of Troy
  • Bernard Dobranski of Ann Arbor
  • Mary Douglass of Okemos
  • Richard Germond of Adrian
  • Robert Hallmark of Huntington Woods
  • Bill Hampton of Farmington Hills
  • Steve Hantler of Auburn Hills
  • Elizabeth Hardy of Birmingham
  • Gregory Meter of Bay City
  • Neal Nielsen of Brighton
  • L. Brooks Patterson of Pontiac
  • Marsha Rabiteau of Midland
  • David Reader of Howell
  • Scott Romney of Detroit
  • Harriet Rotter of Franklin
  • Lucille Taylor of Lansing
  • Philip Van Dam of Midland
  • Margaret Van Houten of Detroit

Committee members will rate judicial applicants as part of a process through which the governor and congressional delegation will make final recommendations to the Bush administration.