Engler Announces Winners of Golden Apple and Governor's Cup Awards

Contact: Susan Shafer (517) 335-6397

Governor John Engler today announced the 2002 winners of the Golden Apple Award, a cash award that rewards Michigan's hard-working teachers and principals at both Michigan's high achieving and most improved elementary schools.


Engler also presented the Governor's Cup, an award that is given to the high schools in classes A, B, C and D that had the most Merit Award winners in the class of 2002, as well as the high schools that led the state's 73 athletic conferences.


"Students who are successful in their elementary years build on that learning in their middle school and high school years," said Governor John Engler. "So, it is important to recognize academic achievement in these early years. That's the purpose behind the Golden Apple Award. It's an incentive that recognizes that when we reward success, more success will follow."


To qualify for a Golden Apple Award, elementary schools with 50 or more students enrolled must have at least 90 percent of their students take the MEAP tests, and meet one or both of the following criteria:

  • Composite student scores for Mathematics, Science, Reading, and Writing (in 4th and 5th grades) must have increased by at least 60 points over the past three academic years; or
  • The students' test scores are among the highest in the state for that school year.


Picking up their awards in person were representatives from the top "high achieving" and "most improved" schools:

  • Top "High Achieving" Golden Apple winners: Eastern Elementary of the Traverse City Area Public Schools; Lakeside Elementary School of the East Grand Rapids Public Schools; Midland Academy of Advanced and Creative Studies, a public school academy chartered by Central Michigan University; and North Elementary of the Iron Mountain City School District.
  • Top "Most Improved" Golden Apple winners: Fleming Elementary, of the Detroit School District; Honey Creek Community School, a public school academy chartered by the Washtenaw ISD; and Linsday Elementary, of the Bay City School District.


Governor's Cup winners were: Ann Arbor Pioneer High School (Class A); East Grand Rapids High School (Class B); Houghton High School (Class C); and Oakland Christian High School (Class D).


Engler noted that Ann Arbor Pioneer High School is a "three-peat" winner of the Governor's Cup, adding that the number of students winning the award is steadily climbing, and schools are breaking their own records as well in the number of award winners. In 2002, 374 Pioneer students earned the award, compared to 344 students last year. Students from Pioneer High School alone have earned nearly $1 million. In addition, the Class B winner - East Grand Rapids High School -- is a repeat winner. This year, 189 students there earned the award, compared to 177 last year. Students from East Grand Rapids High School alone have earned nearly $500,000.


The Governor added that he is pleased with the increasing number of Merit Award winners statewide, noting that a record 51,733 students in the class of 2002 earned the awards. For 2003, the Department of Treasury is projecting that another 58,000 students will earn the award.


"Of course, if Proposal 4 passes, funding for the Michigan Merit Award would be slashed," Engler said. "That would deal a major blow to young people who work hard and do well on the MEAP test. Passage of Proposal 4 would mean 250,000 students, who earned this scholarship, could go empty handed. That's something to think about as we head to the polls."


A complete list of the winners is available by clicking the links below.

Golden Apple Award Winners

Governor's Cup Award Winners