Gov. Rick Snyder makes appointment, reappointments to State Teacher Tenure Commission

Thursday, Oct. 11, 2018

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointment of Jeffrey Sewick of East Lansing and the reappointments of Nancy Danhof of East Lansing and David Campbell of Kalamazoo to the State Teacher Tenure Commission.

Pursuant to Public Act 4 of 1937, the State Teacher Tenure Commission was created as a board of review for all teacher tenure cases appealed from the decision of a controlling board. The commission is comprised of five members appointed by the governor who serve five-year terms.

“These individuals have strong backgrounds in education, and I thank them for t ensuring Michigan’s teacher tenure cases are properly reviewed,” Snyder said.

Sewick is an elementary school teacher at Grand Ledge Public School. He holds a bachelor’s degrees in elementary education and finance and a master’s degree in literacy instruction from Michigan State University. He will represent classroom instructors and replace Patrick McKennon.

Danhof is the executive director of the Todd Martin Development Fund and previously served as director of the Michigan Foundation for Education Leadership, as a private education consultant, and on the State Board of Education. Danhof holds a bachelor’s degree in social science and secondary education from Michigan State University. She will continue to represent the general public.

Campbell is superintendent of the Kalamazoo Regional Service Agency and previously served as superintendent for the Livingston County Educational Service Agency and Olivet Community Schools. Campbell was Michigan’s 2010 State Superintendent of the Year and has more than 20 years of experience as a school administrator. He holds a bachelor’s degree in education from the University of Wisconsin at Whitewater, a master’s degree in educational administration from Illinois State University, and completed post-master’s graduate courses in educational leadership and administration at Western Michigan University. He will continue to represent superintendents of schools.

Members will serve five-year terms to expire Aug. 31, 2023.