Gov. Rick Snyder makes appointments, reappointments

Snyder makes appointments, reappointments to four boards and commissions

Thursday, Dec. 13, 2018

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced seven appointments and reappointments to multiple boards and commissions.

“I thank these individuals for their commitment to bettering the lives of Michiganders for years to come,” Snyder said.

Mackinac Straits Corridor Authority


James (J.R.) Richardson, of Ontonagon, is the vice president of PM Power Group. He currently serves as vice chair of the Natural Resources Commission with a term expiring Dec. 31, 2018 and was recently named 2018 Outstanding Conservationist by The Upper Peninsula Sportsmen’s Alliance. Richardson holds a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from Michigan Technological University. He will represent Republicans and fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Geno Alessandrini.

Richardson will serve a six-year term expiring December 12, 2024 and is subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

State Teacher Tenure Commission


Michelle Richard, of Dewitt, is the senior consultant and vice president at Public Sector Consultants where she is responsible for implementing a comprehensive consulting strategy for early childhood and K-12 initiatives. Previously, she served as an AmeriCorps volunteer in New Orleans to help rebuild the educational system in New Orleans as part of the post-Hurricane Katrina reconstruction effort. Richard earned her bachelor’s degree in elementary education and early childhood education from Saginaw Valley State University and Ed.M. in educational policy and management from Harvard Graduate School of Education.

Richard will serve the remainder of a five-year term expiring Aug. 31, 2023.

Detroit-Wayne County Port Authority


Andy Doctoroff, of Huntington Woods, is a senior special projects advisor for Gov. Rick Snyder. Previously he served as an equity partner at Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn in Detroit. Doctoroff earned his bachelor’s degree in government from Harvard College and his law degree from the University of Michigan Law School. He will replace Fred Hoffman.

Doctoroff will serve a four-year term expiring Sept. 30, 2022.

Autism Council


Krista Boe, of Traverse City, is the chief clinical officer at Acorn Health of Michigan, LLC. Previously, she served as clinical director of Northern Michigan Operations at Glenwood Resource Center. Boe earned her bachelor’s degree in psychology and biology from Central Michigan University and master’s degree in behavior analysis with an emphasis in autism spectrum disorder and organizational behavior management from Western Michigan University. She will represent certified behavior analysts

Kent Rehmann, of Lansing, is the owner, operator, and rights director for Rights Consulting Services, LLC. He previously served as Recipient Rights Specialist at LifeWays Community Mental Health of Jackson & Hillsdale Counties. Rehmann earned his bachelor’s degree in journalism and criminal justice from Michigan State University. He will represent Recipient Rights.

Jenny Piatt, of Chelsea, is the bureau administrator/division director for the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. She serves as an adjunct faculty member at Siena Heights University in the Graduate Counseling Education Program. In addition, she serves as a member of the National Industry Liaison Group and American Counseling Association. Piatt earned her bachelor’s degree in biology from Wayne State University and master’s degree in rehabilitation counseling from Michigan State University. She will represent Michigan Rehabilitation Services and employment services.

Brian DeBano, of Laingsburg, is the licensing division director for the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. Prior to this role, he served as the president and CEO of the Michigan Restaurant Association. DeBano earned his bachelor’s degree in international relations from Michigan State University and master’s in public administration from Western Michigan University. He will serve as the designee of the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA).

Appointees will serve an initial term expiring Sept. 30, 2021.