Gov. Rick Snyder makes initial appointments to the Municipal Stability Board

Thursday, April 26, 2018

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Daryl Delabbio of Grand Rapids, Barry Howard of West Bloomfield and Eric Scorsone of Dewitt to the Municipal Stability Board.

Pursuant to Public Act 202 of 2017, also known as the Protecting Local Government Retirement and Benefits Act, the Municipal Stability Board is housed within the Michigan Department of Treasury. The budgeting, procurement, and related management functions of the board must be performed under the direction and supervision of the State Treasurer. The board is comprised of three members appointed by the Governor: one resident of this state representing state officials, one resident of this state representing local officials, and one resident of this state representing employees and retirees.

"I thank these individuals for their commitment to this board and ensuring local governments continue to support retirees and improve their financial stability,” Snyder said.

Delabbio retired as the former county administrator for Kent County in 2017 and served in the role of assistant county administrator since 1995. He holds a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in management from Aquinas College, a master’s degree of public administration from Wayne State University, and a Ph.D. from Western Michigan University. He will represent local officials.

Howard is currently on counsel to the law firm of Lipson, Neilson, Cole Seltzer & Garin, P.C. He was appointed in 1989 to the Oakland County Circuit Court and appointed as Chief Judge in 1999. Howard holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Michigan and a law degree from the University of Detroit School of Law. He will represent employees and retirees.

Scorsone is the deputy state treasurer overseeing the Bureau of Local Government and School Services, Bureau of State and Authority Finance and the Student Financial Services Bureau. Scorsone holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Loyola University of Chicago, a master’s degree from Michigan State University, and a Ph.D. from Colorado State University. He will represent state officials. 

Delabbio will serve an initial three-year term to expire May 1, 2021, Howard will serve an initial two-year term to expire May 1, 2020, and Scorsone will serve an initial four-year term to expire May 1, 2022. Members will serve four-year terms after their initial appointments.