Skip to main content

Boiler Permit

The Bureau of Construction Codes, Boiler Division of the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs issues


Boiler Permit


Boiler Act of 1965, 1965 PA 290


Boiler Code Rules


 1.  Applicability (activities that require the permit)

The Boiler Law

The purpose of the boiler law is to mandate safe construction, installation, repair, and inspection standards to insure public safety. Within the scope of this purpose individuals working on boilers must be licensed and must apply for a permit for the work to be accomplished.

What is the Boiler Code?

A boiler is the fired pressure vessel used to produce steam or hot water. The boiler code regulates the use, construction, installation, and repair of boilers in all locations other than residential. In addition, the boiler code regulates the design, installation and repair of piping associated with high pressure boilers. The boiler code consists of P.A. 290 of 1965, as amended, the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel codes, 2004 edition with addenda, and the National Board Inspection Code, 2004 edition with addenda.

Are boiler permits required?

Before the installation, alteration, or repair of a boiler or its piping may proceed, an individual properly licensed for the work to be performed must apply for a permit from the State of Michigan, Boiler Division. The permit application must be submitted in triplicate with detailed plans and specifications for review by the Boiler Division. The installation, alteration, or repair may not proceed prior to the issuance of a permit approved by the Boiler Division.

 2.  Pre-Application Requirements

INSTALLATIONS: Provide a drawing showing clearance dimensions around boiler on the back side of this application and/or an attached sketch.

REPAIRS: Describe in detail the repair and/or provide a sketch of repair on the back side of this application.

 3.  Application Submission Requirements

Installation and repairs of boiler and high pressure piping may be done only by those persons having a license from the Boiler Division to do so. Permits will not be issued to unlicensed persons. A license may be obtained by meeting the required educational and experiential criteria and successfully passing an examination given by the boiler division.

Boiler Permit Application

 4.  Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval

Permits are normally issued within 5 business days of receipt of complete application by the Boiler Division.

 5.  Operational Requirements

R 408.4051 Inspection of certain boilers required.

Rule 51. Upon completion of the installation, all boilers shall be inspected by the chief inspector or a deputy inspector.

All certificate inspections shall be conducted in accordance with the NBIC and these rules by an inspector who is properly licensed to inspect boilers in this state and in accordance with the schedule as set in R 408.4057 [1].

 6.  Fees

Permit Fee:

Low Pressure/Alteration/Repair = $75.00 (Nonrefundable)

High Pressure = $120.00 + .05 Per Foot of Piping (Nonrefundable)

 7.  Appeal Process
 8.  Public Input Opportunities

Comments and Complaints:

Bureau of Construction Codes Web-site:

E. Contact Information:

Contact Us


Revised: 6/2017