
Application for Journey Plumber Examination & License 
Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs  

Bureau of Construction Codes / Licensing Section  
P.O. Box 30255, Lansing, MI 48909  

517-241-9316
lara-bcc-licensing@michigan.gov Agency Use Only

Au t hor i t y
:  Pen a l t y :  

2016 PA 407 
Failure to provide information may request in denial of your request. 

LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable accommodations 
are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 

Effective December 15, 2021, application for Journey Plumber will be for BOTH a written examination and practical skills 
examination.  You must pass both parts to achieve licensure. 
General Instructions: 

• Apply and pay online at https://aca3.accela.com/lara/ OR
• Mail this completed application, required documents, and license fee to the address listed above.
• If you require an accommodation to take the examination, please submit written documentation from a professional
(educational professional, doctor, psychologist, psychiatrist)

IF SUBMITTING A PAPER APPLICATION, IT MUST BE SIGNED ON PAGE 2 

**** Any documentation submitted with your application becomes property of the State of Michigan and will not be returned.**** 
Applicant Information 

NAME (First, Middle, Last) I AM AT LEAST 18 YEARS OF AGE 

□ Yes □ 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

ADDRESS APPRENTICE REGISTRATION OR JOURNEY 
LICENSE NUMBER 

CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY TELEPHONE NUMBER (Include Area Code) 

E-MAIL ADDRESS

FEE PAYMENT INFORMATION FOR OFFICE USE ONLY - VALIDATION 
You will be notified by the third-party testing agency (PSI) with 
instructions on how to schedule your written examination. The 
examination fee will be paid to PSI at that time. 

Pursuant to statute, the license fee must be paid at time of application: 

JOURNEY PLUMBER LICENSE $ 40.00 (96) 
□ Military/Uniform Services fee exemption.
Note: The application fee is waived if the applicant is actively serving, a 
veteran honorably discharged, or a dependent of an active member or 
veteran and provides proof.  See more on page 2. 

Make your check or money order payable to: 

STATE OF MICHIGAN – BCC mail to address above 
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No

mailto:lara-bcc-licensing@michigan.gov
https://aca3.accela.com/lara/


Experience Requirements 
All applicants must not be less than 18 years of age and must attach a notarized letter(s) from your current and former employers 
documenting your experience. 

Journey applicants must provide, with this application, documentation verifying the applicant has not less than 6,000 hours of experi-
ence gained over a period of at least 3 years as an apprentice plumber in the practical installation of plumbing under the supervision 
of a master plumber. 

See MCL 339.6115 of 2016 PA 407 for journey applicants wishing to use military service towards requirements for licensing. 

MILITARY/UNIFORM SERVICE WAIVERS 
Fee waiver: 

To waive the application fee, you must submit, with the application, proof of active service (i.e.: military ID) OR Proof of dependency 
(i.e., parent or spouse military ID and birth certificate or marriage certificate & military member papers,) 

Examination waiver: 
Licensure without examination is possible IF the applicant: 

Provides proof that the applicant is A member of the armed forces or uniformed services, A veteran, or A dependent of a member of the 
armed forces, a member of the uniformed services, or a veteran  AND has an active, valid plumbing license in at least 1 other state of 
the United States.  

To meet this waiver please complete the MILITARY/UNIFORMED SERVICES EXAMINATION WAIVER FORM (MILITARY 
EXAMINATION WAIVER PROCEDURE) and attach that to this application. 

Certification and Signature 

I certify that I understand I must pass both the written and practical skills examinations and that I meet all the requirements of 2016 PA 407 for the Journey 
Plumber examination for which I am applying and that the statements in this application are true and correct. I am aware that obtaining a license 
fraudulently is grounds for disciplinary action. 

APPLICANT SIGNATURE DATE 
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