
LARA/BCC-3919-Preliminary Determination (Rev. 02/2024) 

 

Request for Preliminary Determination 
Occupational Code/Skilled Trades Regulation Act 

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs  

Bureau of Construction Codes/Licensing Section  

P.O. Box 30255, Lansing, MI 48909  

517-241-9316  

lara-bcc-licensing@michigan.gov 

 

Authority: 299 PA 1980/2016 PA 407 

Penalty: Failure to provide information may result in denial of your request. 

 
General Instructions: 
 Submit a $75.00 fee and form, along with any additional documentation and mail to address above.  Make checks or money order 

payable to State of Michigan. 
 Any documentation submitted with your application becomes property of the State of Michigan and will not be returned. 

 
Legal Government Name (First, Middle Initial, Last) 
 

 
 
Street Address 

 
 
City 

 
State 

 
 

Zip Code 

 

Telephone Number (including area code) 

 
 
 

Email Address  

List any other name or alias by which you have ever been known, including maiden name if applicable:  

 
 
 

CHECK THE LICENSE/OBTAINED BY METHOD FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

□   Preliminary Determination- Builder                     $75.00 
□   Preliminary Determination- Mechanical              $75.00 
 
Your check or money order, drawn from a U.S financial institution and 
made payable to the State of Michigan, must accompany this request. 
DO NOT SEND CASH. Fees are non-refundable.  

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Preliminary determinations are only applicable to those individuals seeking licensure as a: Residential 
Builder, Maintenance & Alteration Contractor, or Mechanical Contractor. 

 
MCL 339.202a of the Occupational Code and MCL 339.5202 of the Skilled Trades Regulation Act allows 
for an individual to obtain a preliminary determination from the Department concerning whether any court 
judgments against him or her would likely result in a denial of a license or registration for failing to meet 
the Good Moral Character requirement for that license or registration. A preliminary determination under 
this section that is adverse to an individual does not prevent the individual from subsequently applying for 
a license or registration in the future. The Department or a Board is not bound by a preliminary 
determination under this section if the individual applies for a license or registration under this act. An 
individual shall not request more than 1 preliminary determination in any 120-day period. 

 

mailto:lara-bcc-licensing@michigan.gov


LARA/BCC-3919-Preliminary Determination (Rev. 02/2024) 

In evaluating Good Moral Character for licenses issued under these statutes, the Department requests 
certification of the following statements: 

1. I have the ability and will serve the public in a fair, honest, and open manner.
2. If I had a judgment of guilt in a criminal proceeding or a civil action against me; I am
rehabilitated, or the substance of my former offense is not reasonably related to the occupation or
profession for which I am seeking a license.

If you do not believe you can answer “YES” to these statements and would like the Department to make a 
nonbinding preliminary determination concerning whether any court judgments against you would likely 
result in a denial of license or registration for failing to meet the Good Moral Character requirement for that 
license or registration, please submit a detailed description of the offense(s), including an explanation of 
what took place and date(s) of occurrence(s), along with this request form. 

To ensure that the preliminary determination made by the department is an accurate prediction of 
whether you will meet the Good Moral Character requirements when applying for a license, you may 
wish to submit additional supporting documentation with this request, including: court documents and 
other documentation, if any, that shows at the current time you have the ability and are likely to serve the 
public in a fair, honest, and open manner; that you are rehabilitated; or that the substance of the former 
offense is not reasonably related to the occupation or skilled trade for which you may be seeking 
licensure. 

Preliminary determinations are based solely upon the information provided and documents submitted with 
your request. 

CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE 

I understand that the Department or a Board is not bound by a preliminary determination issued if I apply 
for a license or registration under this act. The issuance of a preliminary determination under this section 
does not limit the authority of the Department to review applications for a license or registration, or to issue 
or deny a license or registration. 

I certify that the statements in this application are true and complete. I understand that any omitted 
statement, misrepresentation, or fraud may be cause for denial of my application, disciplinary action, or 
may be punishable by law. 

Printed Name of Requestor:  Date: 

Signature of Requestor: 


	Legal Government Name First Middle Initial Last: 
	Street Address: 
	City: 
	State: 
	Zip Code: 
	Telephone Number including area code: 
	Email Address: 
	List any other name or alias by which you have ever been known including maiden name if applicable: 
	Preliminary DeterminationBuilder: Off
	Preliminary DeterminationMechanical: Off
	Text1: 
	Text2: 
	Text3: 


