MICHIGAN LIMITED REAL ESTATE APPRAISER LICENSING GUIDE

OVERVIEW:

The limited real estate appraiser license is for the purpose of appraising properties under the supervision of a state certified real estate appraiser.

NOTE: The content contained below is a general overview of licensing requirements. Links to access the Occupational Code and Administrative Rules for this profession can be found at the end of this guide.

	LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS CHECKLIST		
APPLICATION AND FEES			
	Online Application for a Michigan Limited Real Estate Appraiser License - Complete all fields, answer all questions, and upload any supporting documentation.		
	Online applications can be completed by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus		
	2 year license fee: (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover credit or debit card)		
	Michigan Limited Real Estate Appraiser Application: \$285.00		
	THE FOLLOWING REQUIREMENTS APPLY TO ALL APPLICANTS		
	Good Moral Character Questions – I have the ability and will serve the public in a fair, honest, and open manner. If I have had a judgement of guilt in a criminal proceeding or a civil action against me, I am rehabilitated, or the substance of my former offense is not reasonably related to the occupation or profession for which I am seeking a license.		
	Social Security Number (SSN) – An individual applying for a permit is required to provide his or her social security number at the time of application. If exempt under law from obtaining an SSN or you do not have an SSN, the SSN affidavit form will be required to be uploaded at the time the application is submitted.		
ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENT FOR LICENSURE (This is in addition to the requirements stated above that apply to ALL Applicants)			
	Qualifying Education – Proof of completion of 75 hours of approved prelicensure appraiser education plus 4 hours of a Supervisor-Trainee Course		

MICHIGAN LIMITED REAL ESTATE APPRAISER LICENSING GUIDE

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR THOSE APPLYING FOR RELICENSURE (These are in addition to the requirements stated above that apply to All Applicants) Online Application can be completed by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus and selecting MiPLUS Login. Once logged in, click on the "Licenses" tab, select "Modification" next to your license number and then select "Relicensure." 2 year Application Fee: (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, American Express or Discover credit or debit Michigan Limited Real Estate Appraiser Relicensure: \$305.00 Continuing Education – Submit proof to the department of having earned 14 hours of approved continuing education for each year and partial year missed to date, including the most recent edition of a 7-Hour National USPAP course and a 2-hour Michigan Law course, which must be completed within the two years immediately preceding the date of application. All other courses can be completed from the day after the last renewal of the lapsed license to present. Consent to Service of Process - Non-Michigan residents must submit a completed Consent to Service of Process Form. RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS CHECKLIST Online Application for Michigan Limited Real Estate Appraiser Renewal – Must be completed by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus. Limited Real Estate Appraiser Renewal Application Fee – \$250.00 (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, American Express or Discover credit or debit card.) Renewal Cycle: 2 years Continuing Education – You MUST complete the continuing education requirements BEFORE completing the online renewal application. You must have completed 28 hours of continuing education that was completed during the 24 months immediately preceding the license expiration date. Continuing education must be in activities that are in accordance with the current administrative rules. **HELPFUL RESOURCES AND FORMS** By visiting www.michigan.gov/occupationallicense and clicking on the Appraisers, Real Estate link you can access the following helpful resources and forms:

MICHIGAN LIMITED REAL ESTATE APPRAISER LICENSING GUIDE

Resources:		
	Michigan Occupational Code Administrative Rules for Real Estate Appraisers	
Forms:		
	Consent to Service of Process	
with	ck continuing education using CE broker – The Bureau of Professional Licensing (BPL) has partnered CE Broker to help licensed professionals keep track of their continuing education (CE) credits. litional information can be found on our website.	