

Bureau of Professional Licensing PO Box 30670 ● Lansing, MI 48909 Telephone: (517) 335-0918 www.michigan.gov/bpl BPLHelp@michigan.gov

Barber Demonstrator Permit for Individuals who are not Licensed in Michigan

A Barber Demonstrator permit is available to an individual, for the purposes of a demonstration, who is authorized to perform barbering services in a state other than Michigan.

The Michigan Occupational Code provides:

MCL 339.1117

(2) The department may issue a demonstration permit, valid for not longer than 1 year, to allow demonstrations on premises not in use as a barbershop. The holder of a demonstration permit shall maintain health, safety, and sanitation standards as set forth in rules authorized under this article. The department may issue a demonstrator permit, valid for no longer than 1 week, to a person not licensed in this state to perform barbering services solely for the purposes of demonstration, provided that the demonstrator is duly authorized to perform barbering services under the laws of another state, jurisdiction, or country.

Further the Michigan Occupation Code defines a "Demonstration" and "Demonstrator" as follows:

MCL 339.1101

- (d) "Demonstration" means a show, seminar, or contest in which barber services are rendered for the purpose of educating barbers.
- (e) "Demonstrator" means a person who performs a service of a barber at a demonstration.

A Barber who is duly authorized to perform barbering services under the laws of another state, jurisdiction, or country must submit the following application to the Bureau of Professional Licensing.

Barbershop Demonstrator Permit (7/2020)



Bureau of Professional Licensing PO Box 30670 ● Lansing, MI 48909 Telephone: (517) 335-0918 www.michigan.gov/bpl

www.michigan.gov/bpl BPLHelp@michigan.gov

Barber Demonstrator Permit Application

Authorized by MCL 339.1117

Print or Type Clearly							
Applicants First Name	Middl	Middle Name		Last Name			
Address							
City		State Zip C		ode		Country	
Telephone Number	ne Number Email Addre			Date of Birth (MM/DD/Y		MM/DD/YY)	
CHECK THE	LICENSE TY	DE .		FOR OFF	FICE US	F ONLY	
Demonstrator Permit \$15.00		1701-01	Permit			Issue Date	
Make your check or money order in U.	S. currency pa	yable to: STATE OF	MICHIGAN				
FEES ARE AUTHORIZED BY THE ST	ATE LICENSE	E FEE ACT, 1979 PA	152, AND ARE N	NOT REFUNDA	ABLE.		
License(s) in other state, jurisdic	tion or coul	ntry					
List each state, jurisdiction or coun	try where you	u are duly authorize	d to perform ba	arbering service	ces und	ler the laws of that	
state, jurisdiction, or country.		•	•				
State, Jurisdiction or Country		License or Registration Number (if applicable)		Issuance I	Date	Expiration Date	
Demonstrator permit dates (up to 1 we	ek) From	to					
Demonstration you are participating in	is for the purp	ose of educating barb	ers:		,	Yes No	
I certify that the statements in this docu fraud may be cause for denial of my ap					ent, misr	epresentation, or	
Signature of Applicant			Date				
Printed Signature of Applicant							