

Bureau of Professional Licensing PO Box 30670 ● Lansing, MI 48909 Telephone: (517) 335-0918 www.michigan.gov/bpl

BPLHelp@michigan.gov

Barbershop Demonstration Permit for Licensed Michigan Barbershops

A Barbershop Demonstration permit is available to Barbershops currently licensed in Michigan for the purpose of educating barbers at a location other than a licensed barbershop.

The Michigan Occupational Code provides:

MCL 339.1117

(2) The department may issue a demonstration permit, valid for not longer than 1 year, to allow demonstrations on premises not in use as a barbershop. The holder of a demonstration permit shall maintain health, safety, and sanitation standards as set forth in rules authorized under this article. The department may issue a demonstrator permit, valid for no longer than 1 week, to a person not licensed in this state to perform barbering services solely for the purposes of demonstration, provided that the demonstrator is duly authorized to perform barbering services under the laws of another state, jurisdiction, or country.

Further the Michigan Occupation Code defines a "Demonstration" as follows:

MCL 339.1101

(d) "Demonstration" means a show, seminar, or contest in which barber services are rendered for the purpose of educating barbers.

Licensed Michigan Barbershops that wish to apply for a Demonstration Permit must submit the following application to the Bureau of Professional Licensing.

Barbershop Demonstration Permit (7/2020)

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital status, disability, or political beliefs. If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the Americans with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs known to this agency.



Bureau of Professional Licensing PO Box 30670 ● Lansing, MI 48909 Telephone: (517) 335-0918 www.michigan.gov/bpl

www.michigan.gov/bpl BPLHelp@michigan.gov

Barbershop Demonstration Permit Application

Authorized by MCL 339.1117

rint or Type Clearly						
Applicant's Name (Name of currently licensed Barbershop)			10-Digit MI Permanent ID/License Number			
Address						
City		State	Zip Code	Country		
Telephone Number	Email Address					
CHECK THE LICENSE TYPE			FOR OFFICE USE ONLY			
Demonstration Permit	\$15.00	1702-01	Permit Numbe	r Issue Da	ate	
Make your check or money order in U.S. currer	ncy payable t	o: STATE OF MIC	HIGAN			
FEES ARE AUTHORIZED BY THE STATE LIC	ENSE FEE	ACT, 1979 PA 152	2, AND ARE NOT RE	FUNDABLE.		
Date of the demonstration (up to 1 year): Fron	n	to				
The demonstration is for the purpose of educating barbers:					3	No
will comply with all health, safety, and sanitation	on standards	as set forth in rul	es authorized under s	statute:		
				Yes	6	No
certify that the statements in this document are fraud may be cause for denial of my application				statement, misrepr	esenta	ation, or
Signature of Applicant		C	ate			
Printed Signature of Applicant						