BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

MICHIGAN BARBER STUDENT INSTRUCTOR LICENSING GUIDE

LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS CHECKLIST

(Listed below are the minimum requirements needed to obtain a Michigan barber student instructor license.)

	student instructor license.)
APPLICATION AND FEES	
	Online Application for a Michigan Barber Student Instructor License - Complete all fields, answer all questions, and upload any supporting documentation. Online application can be completed by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus
	Application Fee + 1 year license fee: (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover credit or debit card) Barber Student Instructor \$50.00
	THE FOLLOWING REQUIREMENTS APPLY TO ALL APPLICANTS
	Good Moral Character Question – I have the ability and will serve the public in a fair, honest, and open manner. If I have had a judgement of guilt in a criminal proceeding or a civil action against me, I am rehabilitated, or the substance of my former offense is not reasonably related to the occupation or profession for which I am seeking a license.
	Social Security Number (SSN) – An individual applying for licensure is required to provide his or her social security number at the time of application. If exempt under law from obtaining an SSN or you do not have an SSN, the SSN affidavit form will be required to be uploaded at the time the application is submitted.
	Must have graduated from high school or provide documentation of an equivalent education acceptable to the department and the board.
	Must be a Michigan licensed barber with not less than 2 years' experience.
	RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS CHECKLIST
	Online Application for Michigan Barber Student Instructor Renewal – Must be completed by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus

Renewal Application Fee: \$30.00 (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover credit

or debit card)

MICHIGAN BARBER STUDENT INSTRUCTOR LICENSING GUIDE

Renewal Cycle: With the approval of the board, a Michigan barber student instructor may renew his or her license for an additional year.
Submit a written request for board review and approval of an additional license renewal.
Accept Renewal Attestation – By accepting the renewal attestation you as the licensee are certifying that you have met the requirements and all information provided on your renewal application is true and complete.
HELPFUL RESOURCES AND FORMS
By visiting www.michigan.gov/occupationallicense and clicking on the barbers link you can access the following helpful resources and forms:
Resources: Occupational Code Administrative Rules for Barbers