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MICHIGAN BOARD OF PHARMACY 
RULES COMMITTEE WORK GROUP 

MEETING  
 

MINUTES 
JANUARY 21, 2022 

 
The Michigan Board of Pharmacy Rules Committee Work Group met on January 21, 
2022. The meeting was held via Zoom. 

 
CALL TO ORDER 
 
Andria Ditschman, Departmental Specialist, called the meeting to order at 7:00 a.m. 
 
ATTENDANCE 
 
Members Present:  Pierre Boutros, R.Ph. (arrived 7:17 a.m.) 
 Charles Mollien, PharmD, JD 
 Michael Sleiman, PharmD 
 Sandra Taylor, R.Ph.  
 Maria Young, R.Ph. 
 
Members Absent: None 
 
Staff Present: Andria Ditschman, Departmental Specialist, 
   Boards and Committees Section 
 Jacob Poynter, Manager, Licensing Division 
 Stephanie Wysack, Board Support Technician, 
  Boards and Committees Section 
 
Public Present: Jessica Adams – Cardinal Health 
 
RULES DISCUSSION   
 
Ditschman stated that the Pharmacy Technician Rules would not be worked on today.  
The goal of the meeting was to get through the Pharmacist Continuing Education and 
Central Fill Pharmacies drafts, so that they can go before the Board for a vote at the 
February 16, 2022 meeting. 
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Pharmacy – Pharmacist Continuing Education (A copy of the draft, pursuant to 
today’s discussion, is attached) 
 
R 338.3041 License renewals; continuing education requirements; applicability. 
 
Subdivision (1)(d)(i): Ditschman stated that language was added to clarify pharmacy 
law. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed with the language as written. 
 
Subdivision (1)(d)(ii): Ditschman stated that language was added to clarify the formats 
that continuing education can be completed in. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed with the language as written. 
 
Subdivision (1)(d)(v): Ditschman stated that language was added to clarify that identical 
programs cannot be given credit in the same renewal period. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed with the language as written. 
 
R 338.3043 Continuing education courses and programs; standards for approval. 
 
Subrule (b): Ditschman stated that language was added, requiring a sponsor to disclose 
if a program was not approved as of the date of the program, if approval had been 
requested. 
 
Discussion was held. 
 
Wysack stated that removing the “70 days prior to the next regularly scheduled board 
meeting” language and the new language about disclosure of approval covers any 
requests for retro-approvals as the “70 days prior to the date of the continuing education 
course or program” language covered that. 
 
Discussion was held. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed to remove the above language as suggested. 
 
Subrule (d): Ditschman stated that this had been removed as the content was covered 
under subrule (c). 
 
The Rules Committee agreed with the removal. 
 
 
 
 



   
Michigan Board of Pharmacy  
Rules Committee Work Group Meeting Minutes 
January 21, 2022  
Page 3 of 6 

   
 

 
New subrule (d), formerly subrule (e): Ditschman stated that content was removed from 
this subrule in order to simplify. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed with the language as written. 
 
Subrule (f): Ditschman stated that this was previous subrule (k), reworded slightly for 
clarification. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed with the language as written. 
 
Subrule (h): Ditschman asked if the “70 days prior to the next regularly scheduled board 
meeting” language should be removed, to be consistent with subrule (b). 
 
Mollien stated that changes to the title, number of requested continuing education hours, 
or the learning objectives, would constitute a new program, not a change. 
 
Discussion was held. 
 
Mollien suggested removing subrules (h) and (i) and change the language in subrule (g) 
to indicate when a new program needed to be applied for. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed with Mollien’s suggestion. 
 
Miscellaneous: Mollien stated that the rules should encourage advancement but at the 
same time, not be too restrictive.  Continuing education should be counted if earned 
during the 60-day grace period, just not toward the next renewal period. 
 
Ditschman stated that rule must be consistent with the code, R 333.17731.  That rule 
reads that continuing education needs to be completed in the 2 years preceding the date 
of the application for renewal.   
 
Poynter stated that this was addressed in this set of rules, under R 338.3041 (1)(d). 
 
Discussion was held about making sure that it was applied correctly. 
 
Ditschman suggested splitting R 338.3041 (1)(d) into two parts, to clarify the 2-year cycle 
and that the continuing education period is 2 years preceding the date of application for 
renewal. 
 
Mollien also suggested adding language to clarify that continuing education earned during 
the 60-day grace period could not be applied to the renewal cycle that is ending. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed to the above suggestions. 
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Central Fill Pharmacies (A copy of the draft, pursuant to today’s discussion, is 
attached). 
 
R 338.3051 Definitions. 
 
Ditschman stated that language was added for clarity. 
 
Subdivision (1)(g): Taylor asked if this definition was clear. 
 
Mollien explained that the two sentences were needed for clarification as they are two 
separate actions. 
 
Discussion was held. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed with the language as written. 
 
R 338.3052 Central fill pharmacies rules; prevail over other pharmacy rules. 
 
Ditschman stated that language was added for clarity. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed with the language as written. 
 
R 338.3053 Centralized prescription processing; requirements. 
 
Ditschman stated that language was added for clarity and to updated rule numbers. 
 
Subrule (5): Taylor stated that hospitals do not return to stock and asked whether retail 
pharmacies did. 
 
Mollien stated that if the medication was dispensed outside of the pharmacy, but not to 
the patient, then it could be returned to stock, as no delivery took place. 
 
Ditschman read the definition of a central fill pharmacy from the statute. 
 
Discussion was held regarding what is not a prohibited task. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed to add language to the rule to clarify what is not prohibited 
to include: 
 

• Data entry. 
• Verification of data entry. 
• Drug utilization review. 
• Claims processing. 
• Product verification. 
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Subdivision (1)(c): Adams asked if this rule was stating that central fill pharmacies do 
not have to have all records from the originating pharmacy. 
 
Mollien stated that referencing R 338.3054 clarified who “all” is, in the rule. 
 
Ditschman asked if removing “all” who provide better clarification. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed to remove “all.” 
 
R 338.3054 Records maintenance; requirements for central fill pharmacies. 
 
Ditschman stated that language was added for clarity. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed with the language as written. 
 
R 338.3055 Schedule 2, 3, 4, or 5 controlled substances prescriptions; 
requirements for central fill pharmacies. 
 
Subrule (2): Ditschman asked the Rules Committee if this language was inconsistent 
with the new electronic transmitting rules. 
 
Mollien stated that it was not as it is a different type of transmission. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed with the language as written. 
 
Subrule (3): Ditschman asked the Rules Committee if “originating pharmacy” was applied 
correctly throughout the rule. 
 
The Rules Committee stated it was. 
 
Subdivision (4)(c): Ditschman stated this was a new subdivision added to provide clarity. 
 
The Rules Committee agreed with the language as written. 
 
Subdivision (3)(d): Taylor asked if a paper prescription was needed, then why was a 
paper copy being requested. 
 
Mollien stated that the paper prescription is being converted to an electronic, at which 
point it can be printed. 
 
Mollien suggested changing “paper” to “printed.” 
 
The Rules Committee agreed with the suggested change. 
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Subdivision (4)(a): Ditschman asked the Rules Committee if 5 years was correct for 
retention. 
 
Mollien stated it was correct. 
 
ADJOURNMENT 
 
Ditschman stated that the Pharmacist Continuing Education and the Central Fill 
Pharmacies drafts would go before the full Board for a vote on February 16, 2022. 
 
Ditschman adjourned the meeting at 8:32 a.m. 
 
Prepared by: 
Stephanie Wysack, Board Support Technician     February 3, 2022 
Bureau of Professional Licensing 

 



 

January 25, 2022 

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS 
 

DIRECTOR'S OFFICE 
 

PHARMACY – PHARMACIST CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 

Filed with the secretary of state on 
 
These rules take effect immediately upon filing with the secretary of state unless adopted 

under section 33, 44, or 45a(9) of the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 
306, MCL 24.233, 24.244, or 24.245a.  Rules adopted under these sections become 

effective 7 days after filing with the secretary of state. 
 
(By authority conferred on the director of the department of licensing and regulatory 
affairs by sections 16145, 16148, 16184, 16201, 16204, 16205, 17731, 17737, and 17767 
of the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.16145, 333.16148, 333.16184, 
333.16201, 333.16204, 333.16205, 333.17731, 333.17737, and 333.17767, and  
Executive  Reorganization  Order Nos. 1991-9, 1996-2, 2003-1, and 2011-4, MCL 
338.3501, 445.2001, 445.2011, and 445.2030) 
 
R 338.3041, R 338.3043, and R 338.3044, of the Michigan Administrative Code are 
amended, and R 338.3040 is added, as follows: 
 
R 338.3040  Definitions. 
  Rule 1. (1) As used in these rules: 
    (a) “Board” means the Michigan board of pharmacy, created in section 17721 of 
the code, MCL 333.17721. 
    (b) “Code” means the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.1101 to 
333.25211.  
    (c) “Department” means the department of licensing and regulatory affairs. 
  (2) Unless otherwise defined in these rules, the terms defined in the code have the 
same meaning when used in these rules.  
 
R 338.3041  License renewals; continuing education requirements; applicability. 
  Rule 1. (1) These rules apply to applications for renewal of a pharmacist's license and a 
special retired volunteer pharmacist’s license under sections 16201 and 16184 of the 
code, MCL 333.16201 and 333.16184.  A licensee seeking renewal shall comply with all 
of the following:  
    (a) Submit a completed application on a form provided by the department, together 
with the requisite fee.  
    (b) Beginning with renewals on January 1, 2020, an applicant for license renewal shall 
have completed a 1-time training identifying victims of human trafficking as required in 
R 338.511 and section 16148 of the code, MCL 333.16148. 
    (c) An applicant for license renewal, who also applies for a controlled substance 
license, shall have completed a 1-time training in opioids and other controlled substances 
awareness as required in R 338.3135. 
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    (d) The continuing education requirements shall apply to An an applicant for 
license renewal, who has been licensed for the 2-year period immediately preceding the 
end of the license cycle, . 
     (e) An applicant for license renewal shall furnish the board with satisfactory 
evidence that the applicant completed not less than 30 hours of continuing education 
approved by the board, under R 338.3043 and R 338.3044, during the 2 years 24 months 
prior to the date they file their immediately preceding the application for renewal, 
which may include the 60 days grace period after the expiration date of the license if 
the license is renewed within 60 days after the expiration date and the late renewal 
fee is paid.  The continuing education which must comply with all of the following:    
      (i) An applicant for license renewal shall complete at least 1 hour of the 30 required 
hours of continuing education in pharmacy ethics and jurisprudencepharmacy law, 
which may be completed in one or more courses. This paragraph applies only to 
renewals after December 30, 2020. 
      (ii) An applicant for license renewal shall complete a minimum of 10 hours of the 30 
required hours of continuing education by attending live, synchronous, courses or 
programs, in-person or virtual, that provide for the opportunity of direct interaction 
between faculty and participants, including but not limited to, lectures, symposia, live 
teleconferences, and workshops. ACPE courses designated as live meets this 
requirement. 
      (iii) An applicant for license renewal shall complete at least 1 hour of the 30 required 
hours of continuing education in pain and symptom management, as required under 
section 16204(2) of the code, MCL 333.16204(2). Continuing education in pain and 
symptom management includes, but is not limited to, courses in behavior management, 
psychology of pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical 
applications, and drug interventions as they relate to professional practice.   
      (iv) An applicant for license renewal shall earn no more than 12 hours of continuing 
education during a 24-hour period.   
       (v) Except for the 1-time training in human trafficking, the 1-time training in 
opioid and controlled substances awareness, and the implicit bias training, which 
may be used to comply with both the training requirement and the continuing 
education requirement in the same renewal period, Anan applicant for license 
renewal shall may not earn continuing education credit for a program or activity that 
is identical to a program or activity an applicant has already earned credit for 
during that renewal periodfor taking the same continuing education course or program 
twice during 1 renewal period.    
  (2) Submission of an application for renewal constitutes the applicant’s certification of 
compliance with the requirements of this rule. An applicant shall retain documentation of 
meeting the requirements of this rule for a period of 4 years from the date of applying for 
license renewal. The board may require an applicant to submit evidence to demonstrate 
compliance with this rule. Failure to comply with this rule is a violation of section 
16221(h) of the code, MCL 333.16221(h). 
  (3) A request for a waiver under section 16205 of the code, MCL 333.16205, must be 
received by the department before the expiration date of the license. 
  (4) Except as otherwise stated, this rule takes effect upon promulgation of the rules.  
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R 338.3043  Continuing education courses and programs; standards for approval. 
  Rule 3. The board shall approve continuing education courses or programs pursuant to 
the following standards in this rule: 
  (a) A continuing education course or program sponsor shall submit a completed 
application on forms provided by the department and provide a “Patient Protection” form 
for any course or program that involves treatment of live patients.  
  (b) A completed application form shall be submitted to the department at least 70 days 
prior to the date the continuing education course or program is conducted and 70 days 
prior to the next regularly scheduled board meeting for the proposed continuing education 
to be considered for approval by the board. A continuing education course or program 
conducted prior to board consideration will not be approved. 
  (c) A continuing education course or program must meet the standards and criteria for 
an acceptable category of continuing education under this rule and R 338.3044 and must 
be relevant to health care services, pharmacy operations, or and advancement of the 
licensee’s pharmacy education.    
  (d) A continuing education course or program must be a planned learning program 
designed to promote the continual development of knowledge, skills, and attitudes on the 
part of the pharmacist. The course or program must be an individual organized 
educational experience under responsible sponsorship and capable direction and must 
provide qualified instruction. 
  (e)(d) A continuing education course or program shall be developed and presented by a 
sponsor and must provide all of the following: 
    (i) Administrative support that ensures maintenance and availability Availability of 
adequate records of participation. 
    (ii) An adequate budget and resources. 
    (iii)(ii) Appropriate, qualified, competent Qualified teaching staff. 
    (iv)(iii) A statement of educational goals or measurable behavioral objectives, or both. 
    (v) Delivery methods that allow for active participation and involvement. 
    (vi) Appropriate, adequate facilities. 
    (vii) Evaluations of the participant and the provider. 
  (f) The continuing education course or program must include study in 1 or more of the 
following subjects: 
    (i) Social, psychological, economic, and legal aspects of health care delivery. 
    (ii) The properties and actions of drugs and dosage forms. 
    (iii) Etiology, characteristics, and therapeutics of the disease state. 
    (iv) Emergency skills related to the health and safety of the patient. 
    (v) Specialized professional services. 
    (vi) Other areas of study that the board finds are designed to maintain or enhance a 
pharmacist's ability to deliver competent pharmacy services. 
  (g)(e) Board approval is valid for a 3-year term of approval from the date of approval.  
  (f) The subsequent dates that the course or program will be offered do not require 
further board approval and may be changed without review by the board if the 
presentation dates are within the board’s original 3-year term of approval. 
   (h)(g) The board shall reevaluate an approved continuing education course or program 
prior to any changes during the approval term, including but not limited to, changes to 
either of the following:   
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    (i) Instructors and speakers. 
    (ii) Course or program content, the title, and number of continuing education hours to 
be awarded to participants, or learning objectives. 
  (i) Subject to subdivision (j) of this rule, all changes to a previously approved course or 
program must be submitted on required department forms at least 70 days prior to the 
date the course or program is offered to participants and 70 days prior to the next 
regularly scheduled board meeting to be considered for approval by the board. Any 
changes to a submitted and previously approved course or program conducted prior to 
board reconsideration and approval will not be approved.  
  (j) Emergency changes to instructors and speakers that cannot be submitted to the board 
at least 70 days prior to the date of the course or program may be reviewed by the 
department in consultation with the board chair or a continuing education board 
committee member if proof that is acceptable to the department and that supports the 
nature of the emergency is submitted with the change.  
  (k) The specific dates that the course or program will be offered do not require further 
board approval and may be changed without review by the board if the presentation dates 
are within the board’s original 3-year term of approval. 
  (l)(h) A sponsor conducting the course or program shall record all of the following on a 
continuing education certificate or other proof prepared by that sponsor:   
    (i) The name of the sponsor. 
    (ii) Continuing education approval number assigned by the department. 
    (iii) Course title or name of the program. 
    (iv) Name of the speaker or instructor. 
    (v) Date the approved course or program was conducted. 
    (vi) Number and type of continuing education hours awarded. 
    (vii) Approved sponsor’s signature. 
    (viii) Dates of the current approval term.  
    (ix) Name of participant. 
  (m)(i) The board may revoke the approval status of any approved course or program at 
any time the course or program fails to comply with these rules. 
 
R 338.3044   Acceptable continuing education for licensees. 
  Rule 4. The board shall consider all of the following as acceptable continuing education:   
 

ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES 
                            Type of Activity                                             #  Number of Hours   
                                                                                                 Earned/Maximum Hours 
(a) Completion of an approved continuing 

education course or program related to the 
practice of pharmacy. A continuing education 
course or program is approved, regardless of 
the format in which it is offered, if it is 
approved or offered for continuing education 
credit by any of the following: 
A pharmacy program accredited by the 
Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 

The number of hours earned will 
be the number of hours approved 
by the sponsor or the approving 
organization. 
 
If the activity was not approved 
for a set number of hours, then 1 
credit hour for every 50 minutes of 
participation may be earned.   
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Education (ACPE) or the Canadian Council 
for Accreditation of Pharmacy Programs 
(CCAPP). 
A continuing education sponsoring 
organization, institution, or individual 
approved by the ACPE. 
Another state board of pharmacy. 
 
If audited, a licensee shall submit a copy of a 
letter or certificate of completion showing the 
licensee’s name, number of hours earned, 
sponsor name or the name of the organization 
that approved the program or activity for 
continuing education credit, and the date on 
which the program was held, or activity 
completed. 

 
No limitation on the number of 
hours earned.  
 
 

(b) Completion of postgraduate pharmacy 
practice or administration courses offered for 
credit in a pharmacy school accredited by the 
ACPE or the CCAPP.   
 
If audited, a licensee shall submit an official 
transcript that reflects completion of the 
postgraduate pharmacy practice or 
administration course and number of semester 
or quarter credit hours earned.   

Twelve hours of continuing 
education will be earned for each 
academic quarter credit earned and 
18 hours will be earned for each 
academic semester credit earned. 
 
No limitation on the number of 
hours earned. 

(c) Participation in a home study program offered 
through an ACPE-approved provider or other 
instructional approaches that include an 
evaluation component including, but not 
limited to, on-line continuing education 
programs and journal articles. 
 
If audited, a licensee shall submit an affidavit 
attesting to the number of hours the licensee 
spent participating in the home study program 
that includes a description of the activity. 

One hour will be earned for each 
hour devoted to a home study 
program. 
 
 
A maximum of 20 hours may be 
earned per renewal period. 

(d) Participation as a preceptor for at least 1 
pharmacy intern.  
 
A preceptorship shall be for a minimum of 
120 hours in person and have a 1 intern - to - 
1 preceptor ratio. This may involve multiple 
preceptor relationships at different times.   
 
If audited, a licensee shall submit written 

Five hours of continuing education 
may be earned for a minimum of 
120 hours in person of 
preceptorship in each renewal 
period. 
 
A maximum of 5 hours may be 
earned in each renewal period. 
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documentation from the educational 
institution or preceptor’s supervisor verifying 
the dates and hours of the preceptorship. 

(e) Renewal of a pharmacy license held in 
another state that requires continuing 
education for license renewal that is 
substantially equivalent in subject matter and 
total amount of required hours to that 
required in these rules if the licensee resides 
and practices in another state.  
 
If audited, a licensee shall submit proof of 
current licensure in another state and a copy 
of a letter or certificate of completion 
showing all of the following: the licensee’s 
name, number of hours earned, the sponsor’s 
name or the name of the organization that 
approved the program or activity for 
continuing education credit, and the date on 
which the program was held, or the activity 
was completed. 

Thirty hours will be earned.  
 
A maximum of 30 hours may be 
earned in each renewal period.  

(f) Initial publication of an article or a chapter 
related to the practice of pharmacy in either 
of the following: 
A pharmacy textbook. 
A peer reviewed journal. 
 
If audited, a licensee shall submit a copy of 
the publication that identifies the licensee as 
the author or a publication acceptance letter. 

Ten hours will be earned per 
publication. 
 
A maximum of 10 hours may be 
earned in each renewal period.  

(g) Successful completion of a board certification 
national pharmacy examination through 
Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS). 
 
If audited, a licensee shall submit proof of a 
passing score on the examination.   
 

Ten hours may be earned in the 
year in which the licensee 
achieves a passing score. 
 
A maximum of 20 hours may be 
earned in each renewal period.  
Credit will not be given for 
repeating the same examination 
twice in a renewal period. 

(h) Presentation of a continuing education 
program approved by the board under R 
338.3043 or subdivision (a) of this rule that is 
not a part of the licensee’s regular job 
description. 
 

Two hours for every 50 minutes 
devoted to presenting the program. 
 
A maximum of 10 hours will may 
be earned in each renewal period. 
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If audited, a licensee shall submit a copy of 
the curriculum and a letter from the program 
sponsor verifying the length and date of the 
presentation.  

(i) Attendance at a pharmacy-related program 
that is approved by the board pursuant to R 
338.3043.  
 
If audited, a licensee shall submit a copy of a 
letter or certificate of completion showing the 
licensee’s name, number of hours earned, 
sponsor name or the name of the organization 
that approved the program or course for 
continuing education credit, and the date on 
which the program was held, or the activity 
was completed. 

The number of hours earned will 
be the number of hours approved 
by the sponsor or the approving 
organization. 
 
If the activity was not approved 
for a set number of hours, then 1 
credit hour for every 50 minutes of 
participation may be earned.   
 
No limitation on the number of 
hours earned.  

(j) Attendance at a full Board of Pharmacy 
meeting, Disciplinary Subcommittee 
meeting, or Rules Committee Work Group 
meeting. 

1 hour may be earned for 
attending a full meeting. This 
category of CE qualifies as 1 
hour in pharmacy law. 
 
A maximum of 5 hours may be 
earned in each renewal period. 

 
 
 



 

January 25, 2022 

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY HEALTHLICENSING AND REGULATORY 
AFFAIRS 

 
DIRECTOR'S OFFICE 

 
CENTRALIZED PRESCRIPTION PROCESSING CENTRAL FILL PHARMACIES 

 
Filed with the secretary of state on 

 
These rules take effect immediately upon filing with the secretary of state unless adopted 
under section 33, 44, or 45a(6)(9) of the administrative procedures act of 1969,1969 PA  

306, MCL 24.233, 24.244, or 24.245a.  Rules adopted under these sections become 
effective 7 days after filing with the secretary of state. 

 
(By authority conferred on the director of the department of community health 
department of licensing and regulatory affairs by sections 16145, and 1770117753, 
and 17767 of the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.16145,  and  333.17701 
333.17753, et seq. and 333.17767, and Executive Reorganization Order Numbers Nos. 
1996-1 1991-9, 1996-2,  and  2003-1, and 2011-4, being MCL 330.3101 338.3501, 
445.2001, and 445.2011 and 445.2030) 
 
R 338.3051, R 338.3052, R 338.3053, R 338.3054, R 338.3055, and R 338.3056 of the 
Michigan administrative code are amended, as follows: 
 

PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 

R 338.3051  Definitions. 
  Rule 1. (1) As used in these rules parts 1 and 2 of the centralized prescription 
processing rules, R 338.3051 to R 338.3054: 
    (a) “Board” means the Michigan board of pharmacy, created in section 17721 of 
the code, MCL 333.17721. 
    (b) (a) "Centralized prescription Central fill pharmacyprocessing center" means a 
pharmacy operated under the direction of a pharmacist that processes information related 
to the practice of pharmacy and engages in centralized prescription processing at the 
request of an originating pharmacy. 
    (b) "Centralized prescription processing" is the term defined in section 17753(3) of the 
code but does not include the following functions, which are not covered by these 
rules: 
      (i) Entering information into a data system. 
      (ii) Pharmacist verification of data entered into a data system. 
      (iii) Completion of drug utilization review. 
      (iv) Claims processing. 
      (v) Remote product verification. 
    (c) "Code" means the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.1101 et seq. to 
333.25211. 
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    (d) “Department” means the department of licensing and regulatory affairs 
(LARA). 
   (d)  (e) "Deliver" as used in this part means the actual, constructive, or attempted 
transfer of to a prescription drug, including a controlled substance, directly to a patient 
or a patient's agent by the lawful order of a practitioner.  A centralized prescription 
central fill processing center pharmacy that provides a prescription product to another 
pharmacy for subsequent issuance to a patient or a patient's agent has not met the 
definition of deliver as defined in this subrule.  
    (e) (f) "Delivering pharmacist" means a pharmacist who is responsible for delivering a 
prescription directly to a patient or a patient's agent. 
    (f) (g) "Delivering pharmacy" means the pharmacy that delivers the filled or refilled  
prescription to the patient or the patient's authorized representativeagent. The delivering 
pharmacy shall be either the originating pharmacy or the centralized prescription  
processing center central fill pharmacy. 
    (g) (i) "Originating pharmacy" means a pharmacy that initially receives a patient's or a  
prescribing practitioner's request to fill or refill a prescription. 
  (2) Unless otherwise defined in these rules, the The terms defined in the code have the 
same meanings meaning when used in these rules. 
 
 R 338.3052   Centralized prescription Central fill pharmacies rules; prevail over other 
pharmacy rules. 
  Rule 2. To the extent that any rule in parts 1 and 2 of the centralized prescription 
processing these rules conflicts conflict with other board of  pharmacy rules, the 
provisions in parts 1 and 2 of the centralized prescription processing these rules shall 
prevail. 
 
R 338.3053   Centralized prescription processing; requirements. 
  Rule 3. (1) In addition to complying with the requirements of section 17753 of the code, 
MCL 333.17753, a pharmacy shall meet all of the following requirements before it 
either performs may perform centralized prescription processing services or outsource 
outsources these services centralized prescription processing to another pharmacy:. 
Pharmacies that perform or outsource prescription processing services shall meet all of 
the following requirements: 
    (a) Be licensed by the  Michigan board of pharmacyThe pharmacies shall hold a 
pharmacy license in this state. 
    (b) The pharmacies shall share Share sufficient patient and drug information to 
minimize the possibility of an adverse drug event. 
    (c)  The pharmacies shall Maintain maintain prescription information or an 
equivalent record, as prescribed in section 17752(1) of the code, and the records required 
in R 338.3054 of this part, for 5 years from the date of dispensing.  A centralized  
prescription processing center central fill pharmacy and an originating pharmacy shall 
ensure that the information is readily retrievable within 48 hours after the board's agent 
department makes a  request for the information.  If the records are maintained in a 
digital format, a printed copy shall be made available to the department or other 
authorized individualimmediately to the board's agent upon request. 



3 

    (d) The originating pharmacy shall maintain the original prescription for a period 
of 5 years from the date the prescription was filled. After 2 years, the originating 
pharmacy may make an electronic duplicate of the original paper prescription, 
which will become the original prescription. A pharmacy shall present a printed 
copy of the electronic duplicate of the prescription to the department or other 
authorized individual upon request. 
    (2) A pharmacy engaging in centralized prescription processing shall be responsible 
for each function of the prescription's processing performed by that pharmacy. 
  (3) A delivering pharmacist shall be responsible for complying with R 338.490(4) R 
338.589(4) regarding patient counseling. 
  (4) The prescription label for a prescription that was filled by a centralized prescription 
processing center central fill pharmacy shall identify each pharmacy that was involved 
in preparingdispensing and delivering a prescription. A centralized prescription 
processing center central fill pharmacy may be identified on a prescription label by use 
of a unique identifier that is recognized by the delivering pharmacist. As used in this 
subrule, "unique identifier" means a unique combination of letters, numbers, or symbols 
that allows the delivering pharmacy to identify the specific centralized prescription 
processing center central fill pharmacy involved in the processing of the prescription.  
A centralized prescription processing center central fill pharmacy shall create and 
maintain a unique identifier and shall communicate the unique identifier to all pharmacies 
that use its services. 
  (5) A prescription that was not delivered to a patient may be transferred back to the 
pharmacy that filled the prescription, provided that the transfer records are maintained.  A 
centralized prescription processing center central fill pharmacy and an originating 
pharmacy shall establish procedures for the disposition of prescription medication that 
was not delivered to patients. This medication may be returned to stock and may be re-
delivered re-dispensed without constituting a violation of R 338.472(1) 338.503(1). 
  (6) A pharmacy that performs or contracts for centralized  prescription processing 
services shall comply with the procedures described in its policies and procedures 
manual, as provided in section 17753(2) of the code, MCL 333.17753. 
  
R 338.3054  Records maintenance; requirements for centralized prescription processing 
central fill pharmacies. 
  Rule 4. (1) An originating pharmacy shall maintain records that indicate all of the 
following: 
    (a) The date the request for centralized prescription processing services was 
transmitted to a centralized prescription processing center central fill pharmacy. 
    (b) The method of transmittal. 
    (c) The identification of the pharmacist responsible for the transmission. 
    (d) The name and address of the centralized prescription processing center central fill 
pharmacy  to which where the request for centralized prescription processing services 
was transmitted. 
    (e) The date the delivering pharmacy received the filled prescription from the 
centralized prescription processing center central fill pharmacy. 
    (f) The name of the pharmacy employee who accepted the delivery transfer of a filled 
prescription from a centralized prescription processing center central fill pharmacy. 
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    (g)  The identification of the pharmacist who was responsible for delivering the 
prescription to the patient or the patient's agent. 
  (2) A centralized prescription processing center central fill pharmacy that receives the 
transmitted prescription shall maintain records that indicate all of the following, as 
applicable to its function: 
    (a) The date the request for centralized prescription processing services was received 
from the originating pharmacy. 
    (b) The name and address of the originating pharmacy from which  the request for 
centralized prescription processing services was received. 
    (c) The date the prescription was processed, verified, or filled. 
    (d)  The identification of any pharmacist who was responsible for processing the  
prescription and shipping a filled prescription to an originating pharmacy or delivering a 
filled prescription to a patient or a patient's agent. 
    (e) The date the filled prescription was shipped to the originating pharmacy or was 
shipped or delivered to the patient or the patient's agent. 
    (f) If shipped, the name and address of the patient to whom the filled prescription was 
shipped. 
    (g) The method of delivery, such as private, common, or contract carrier, if shipped. 
  (3) If a prescription was not delivered to a patient and was transferred back to the 
pharmacy that filled the prescription, that pharmacy shall maintain the transfer records. 
 

PART  2. CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES PRESCRIPTIONS 
 
R 338.3055  Schedule  2, 3, 4, or 5 controlled substances prescriptions; requirements for   
centralized prescription processing central fill pharmacies. 
  Rule 5. (1) In addition to complying with the requirements of Part 1 of these rules, a 
pharmacy that performs or contracts for centralized prescription processing services shall 
comply with this rule when processing a prescription for a schedule 2, 3, 4, or 5 
controlled substance. 
  (2)  Prescriptions for controlled substances may be transmitted electronically, including 
by facsimile, from an originating pharmacy to a centralized prescription processing center 
central fill pharmacy. 
  (3) An originating pharmacy that transmits prescription information for a controlled 
substance to a centralized prescription processing center central fill pharmacy shall 
comply with all of the following: 
    (a) The originating pharmacy shall ensure Ensure that the words "CENTRAL FILL" 
are on the face of the original prescription and record all of the following information:  
      (i) the The name, address, and the federal drug enforcement administration (dea) 
Federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) registration number of the 
centralized prescription processing center central fill pharmacy  to which where the 
prescription had been was transmitted; . 
      (ii) the The name of the pharmacist at the originating pharmacy who transmitted the 
prescription; . 
       (iii) and, the The date of transmittal. 
    (b) The originating pharmacy shall ensure Ensure that all information that is 
required to be on a prescription pursuant to the provisions of 21 CFRC.F.R. §section 
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1306.05 and R 338.3161 is transmitted to the centralized prescription processing center 
central fill pharmacy either on the face of the original prescription or in the electronic 
transmission of the prescription information. 
    (c) The originating pharmacy shall Indicate include all of the following in the 
prescription information that is transmitted,. 
      (i) the The number of refills already dispensed. 
      (ii) and the The number of refills remaining. 
    (d) The originating pharmacy shall maintainMaintain the original prescription for a 
period of 5 years from the date the prescription was filled. After 2 years, the originating 
pharmacy may make an electronic duplicate of the original paper prescription, 
which will become the original prescription. A pharmacy shall present a printed 
copy of the electronic duplicate of the prescription to the department or other 
authorized individual upon request. 
  (4) In addition to complying with the requirements in R 338.3053338.3054(2)(a), (b), 
(c), (d), (e), (f) and (g), a centralized prescription processing centercentral fill pharmacy 
that receives the transmitted prescription shall comply with both of the following: 
    (a) The central fill pharmacy shall maintainMaintain records for 5 years from the 
date of transmittal. 
    (b) Keep a copy of the prescription if it was sent via facsimile or an electronic record 
of all the information transmitted by the originating pharmacy, including the name, 
address, and dea DEA registration number of the originating pharmacy that transmitted 
the prescription. 
    (c) Keep a record of the date the filled prescription was dispensed and the method 
of dispensed. 
 
R 338.3056  Reporting to the electronic system for monitoring controlled substances. 
  Rule 6. As used in this part, the pharmacy that uses its stock to fill a prescription for a 
controlled substance shall be the pharmacy responsible to report to the department or the  
department's contractor the information required in R 338.3162b for each controlled 
substance prescription of a controlled substance. 
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