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LIMITED BACHELOR’S SOCIAL WORK LICENSING GUIDE  

 
 

OVERVIEW:  
 The limited bachelor’s social work license is for the purpose of accumulating supervised work 

experience hours for licensure pursuant to Rule 338.2941.  Experience must be completed under the 
supervision of a Michigan licensed master’s social worker only while holding a Michigan limited 

bachelor’s social work license.  This license may be renewed no more than 6 times.   
 

NOTE:     The content contained below is a general overview of licensing requirements.  Links to access the Public                 
Health Code and Administrative Rules for this profession can be found at the end of this guide. 

 

LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS CHECKLIST 

APPLICATION AND FEES 

 
 Online Application for a Limited Bachelor’s Social Work License - Complete all fields, answer all questions, 

and upload any supporting documentation.   
 

 Online applications can be completed by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus  
 

 
 Application Fee + 1 year license fee: (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover 

credit or debit card) 
 
Limited Bachelor’s Social Work license: $44.00 
 

 

THE FOLLOWING REQUIREMENTS APPLY TO ALL APPLICANTS 
 

 
 Criminal Background Check – Once the online application is completed and submitted, you will be emailed 

an Application Confirmation letter containing instructions to complete the Criminal Background Check 
(except those applicants seeking relicensure, for a license that expired within the last three years). 

 

 Good Moral Character Questions – Documentation and explanation will be required if you answer “yes” to 
either question to show at the current time you have the ability to, and are likely to, serve the public in a fair, 
honest and open manner, that you are rehabilitated, or that the substance of the former offense is not 
reasonably related to the occupation or profession for which you are seeking a license. 
 

 Human Trafficking Training – Beginning December 22, 2021, completion of a one-time training to identify 
victims of human trafficking is required for individuals seeking licensure that meets the standards of 
Administrative Rule 338.2929. 

 

 

http://www.michigan.gov/miplus
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 Implicit Bias Training– Beginning June 1, 2022, completion of 2 hours of implicit bias training within the 5 
years immediately preceding issuance of the license or registration is required. 

 
 Social Security Number (SSN) – An individual applying for licensure is required to provide his or her social 

security number at the time of application.  If exempt under law from obtaining an SSN or you do not have 
an SSN, the SSN affidavit form will be required to be uploaded at the time the application is submitted. 

 

 Verification of Licensure – Verification of licensure must be submitted directly to our office by the licensing 
agency of any state of the United States or country in which you hold or ever held a license. The verification 
must show that disciplinary proceedings are not pending against the applicant and sanctions are not in force 
at the time of application. Verification can be emailed to bpldata@michigan.gov or mailed to the Bureau of 
Professional Licensing, PO Box 30670, Lansing, MI 

 

 English Language Proficiency – An individual applying for licensure must demonstrate a working knowledge 
of the English language.  This can be established if either the applicant’s required health professional 
educational program was taught in English, a transcript establishes the applicant earned not less than 60 
college level credits from an English-speaking graduate or undergraduate school, or that the applicant 
obtained a passing score on an approved English proficiency exam as established by the department under 
R 338.7002b(2) of the Public Health Code – General Rules. 

 
 

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION  
(These are in addition to the requirements stated above that apply to ALL Applicants) 

 

 
 Professional Education – Name of school attended, and name of educational program completed. 
 
 Final, Official Transcripts – Transcripts must be submitted directly to our office from the school attended and 

meet the standards set forth by the Board. Transcripts can be emailed to bpldata@michigan.gov or mailed 
to the Bureau of Professional Licensing, PO Box 30670, Lansing, MI  48909. 

 
 A social work education program that is not accredited by the CSWE may be approve by the board if the 

board determines that it is substantially equivalent to a program accredited by the CSWE.  
 

 

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR THOSE APPLYING FOR RELICENSURE 
(These are in addition to the requirements stated above that apply to All Applicants) 

 

 
 Online application can be completed by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus and selecting MiPLUS Login. 

Once logged in, click on the “Licenses” tab, select “Modification” next to your license number and then 
select “Relicensure.”  

 
 

 Application Fee + 1 year license fee: (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, American Express or Discover 
credit or debit card) 
Limited Bachelor’s Social Work Relicensure: $64.00 (May renew a maximum of 6 times. This includes 
relicensure.) 
 
 

mailto:bpldata@michigan.gov
mailto:bpldata@michigan.gov
http://www.michigan.gov/miplus
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Applicants for relicensure whose license has lapsed for less than 3 years preceding the date of 
application for relicensure must complete the above requirement listed for all relicensure applicants. 
 
Applicants for relicensure whose license has lapsed for 3 years or more preceding the date of application 
for relicensure must complete the above requirement listed for all relicensure applicants along with the 
following requirement: 

 
 Criminal Background Check – Once the online application is completed and submitted, you will be emailed 

an Application Confirmation letter containing instructions to complete the Criminal Background Check. 
 

 

RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS CHECKLIST 
 

 

 Online Application for Limited Bachelor’s Social Work Renewal – Must be completed by visiting 
www.michigan.gov/miplus. 

 
 

 Limited Bachelor’s Social Work Renewal Application Fee: $27.50 (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, 
American Express or Discover credit or debit card) 
 

 Renewal Cycle: 1 year (May renew a maximum of 6 times. This includes relicensure.) 
 
 

 Good Moral Character Questions – Documentation and explanation will be required if you answer “yes” to 
either question to show at the current time you have the ability to, and are likely to, serve the public in a fair, 
honest and open manner, that you are rehabilitated, or that the substance of the former offense is not 
reasonably related to the occupation or profession for which you are seeking license renewal. 

 
 Disciplinary Question - Documentation will be required if you answer “yes” to having sanctions imposed 

against you by a similar licensure, registration, certification, or disciplinary board of another state or country 
you have not previously reported to the department. 
 

 Human Trafficking Training – Beginning in 2021, and all renewal cycles thereafter, licensees seeking renewal 
must certify on their renewal application that prior to renewing their license they have completed a one-time 
training in identifying victims of human trafficking that meets the standards in Administrative Rule 338.2929. 

 

 Implicit Bias Training – Beginning with renewals submitted after June 1, 2022, if you have been licensed for 1 
year or more at the time your application for renewal is submitted, completion of 1 hour of implicit bias training 
is required. Please note, this is not a one-time training and must be completed for each renewal cycle prior to 
the renewal being completed. 

 

 Accept Renewal Attestation – By accepting the renewal attestation, you as the licensee are certifying that you 
have met the requirements and all information provided on your renewal application is true and correct. 

 

 
 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/miplus
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HELPFUL RESOURCES AND FORMS 
 

 
 By visiting www.michigan.gov/healthlicense and clicking on the social work link you can access the following 

helpful resources: 
 
Resources: 
 
 Public Health Code 
 Administrative Rules for Social Work 

 

 

http://www.michigan.gov/healthlicense
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(sj0mxtserxh33f5bb0socenu))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-368-1978-15
https://ars.apps.lara.state.mi.us/AdminCode/DeptBureauAdminCode?Department=Licensing%20and%20Regulatory%20Affairs&Bureau=Bureau%20of%20Professional%20Licensing

