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MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS 
CORPORATIONS, SECURITIES & COMMERCIAL LICENSING BUREAU 

CORPORATIONS DIVISION 
P. O. Box 30054 

Lansing, Michigan 48909

FOREIGN CORPORATION FILING INFORMATION 

After the Application For Certificate of Authority to Transact Business or Conduct Affairs in Michigan has been 
filed, additional documents may be required under the Michigan Business Corporation Act, 1972 PA 284 
(profit corporations) and the Michigan Nonprofit Corporation Act, 1982 PA 162 (nonprofit corporations). 

Any substantive questions regarding legal rights and responsibilities in connection with the corporation should 
be discussed with your private legal counsel. 

When the Application for Certificate of Authority is filed, the Bureau assigns a nine-digit ID number and this 
number is included on the endorsement page. Please include this ID number on any correspondence or 
documents submitted to this office. 

ANNUAL REPORT:  When to File, Fees, and Penalties 

Due:  On or before May 15 of each year (profit corporations); on or before October 1 of each year (nonprofit 
corporations) beginning the year after authorized to transact business or conduct affairs in Michigan. 
Required by Section 911 of the Act (MCL 450.1911, profit corporations; 450.2911, nonprofit corporations). 

Fee: Enclose check or money order payable to the “State of Michigan” when submitting report by mail and 
pay with credit card when filing online. 

• Profit Corporation:  $25.00.  Late filing penalty fee is $10.00 per month or part of a month that the
corporation is delinquent, not to exceed $50.00.

• Nonprofit Corporation:  $20.00.

Forms: A pre-printed annual report (CSCL/CD-2500 – profit corporations: CSCL/CD-2000 – nonprofit 
corporations) is mailed to each corporation’s resident agent at the registered office approximately three 
months prior to the due date. If the Corporation has opted to receive electronic notices, the email notice is 
sent to the resident agent email address on record.  Online filing is available about 90 days before the report's 
due date.  Contact the Bureau if an additional preprinted annual report is needed.   Retain a copy of the 
completed report for your records. 

Filing Methods: The report can be filed online at www.michigan.gov/corpfileonline, by mail, or in person with 
the $25.00 fee (profit) or $20.00 fee (nonprofit) for the current year report.  If submitting by mail, send to the 
post office box indicated on the report.  If submitting in person, the address is 2501 Woodlake Circle, 
Okemos, MI. 

Penalty: If a foreign corporation fails to submit their annual report or pay the related fee within one year of the 
due date of the report, the corporation’s certificate of authority is automatically revoked by operation of law. 
To renew a foreign profit corporation’s certificate of authority, the corporation must complete and submit the 
reports and pay the fees for all the years for which they were not paid plus a penalty of $50.00 for each 
delinquent report.  To renew a foreign nonprofit corporation’s certificate of authority, the corporation must 
complete and submit the reports for the last 5 years, or lesser number of years in which reports were not filed 
and paying the annual fee for all the years for which they were not paid, plus a penalty of $5.00 for each 
delinquent report. 

Change of Registered Office and/or Change of Resident 
All corporations are required to continuously maintain a registered office and resident agent in Michigan. Annual 
report forms, notices, and other official communications are directed to the corporation through its resident 
agent and registered office.  Resident agent and/or registered office changes can be made on a Certificate of 
Change of Registered Office and/or Resident Agent, CSCL/CD-520, or on an annual report.  A document must 
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be filed in order to change the resident agent or registered office, permitted by section 242 of the Act (profit - 
MCL 450.1242; nonprofit – 450.2242).  The fee for a Certificate of Change is $5.00.  No additional fee is 
required for a change made on an annual report. 
 
Additional Documents 
After qualification of an out of state (foreign) corporation, you are required to report changes to information in 
the original application for certificate of authority, you may also wish to adopt an assumed name, or withdraw 
the company.  
 
Profit Corporations:  Amended Application For Certificate of Authority to Transact Business in Michigan 
(profit corporations) – Form CSCL/CD-562 permitted by Section 1021 of the Act, MCL 450.2021.  Fee - 
$10.00.  A foreign profit corporation authorized to transact business in this state which changes its corporate 
name, or enlarges, limits, or otherwise changes the business which the foreign corporation proposes to do in 
this state, or otherwise affects the information set forth in its Application for Certificate of Authority to transact 
business in this state, shall file an Amended Application with the administrator no later than 30 days after the 
time a change becomes effective.  A change in the registered office or resident agent may also be made by 
submitting form CSCL/CD-520. 
 
Nonprofit Corporations:  Amended Application For Certificate of Authority to Transact Business in 
Michigan (profit corporations) – Form CSCL/CD-565 permitted by Section 1021 of the Act, MCL 450.3021.  
Fee - $10.00.  A foreign profit corporation authorized to conduct affairs in this state that changes its corporate 
name, or enlarges, limits, or otherwise changes the affairs that the foreign corporation proposes to conduct in 
this state, or makes any other change that affects the information included in its application for certificate of 
authority to conduct affairs in this state, shall file an amended application with the administrator within 30 days 
after the time a change becomes effective.  A change in the registered office or resident agent may also be 
made by submitting form CSCL/CD-520. 
 
Certificate of Assumed Name, CSCL/CD-541 permitted by Section 217 of the Act, profit - MCL 450.1217; 
nonprofit – MCL 450.2217.  Fee - $10.00.   
A corporation may conduct its affairs under any assumed name or names other than its corporate name, if the 
assumed name is not precluded by section 212 of the Act.  The Certificate of Assumed Name is effective when 
endorsed “filed” by the Bureau.   
 
Certificate of Correction, CSCL/CD-518 permitted by Section 133 of the Act, profit - MCL 450.1133; nonprofit 
– 450.2133.  Fee - $10.00.   
A Certificate of Correction may be filed to correct any previously filed document if the document being corrected 
was an inaccurate record of the corporation action referred to in the document or was defectively or erroneously 
executed, or if the document was electronically transmitted and the electronic transmission was defective. 
 
Merger 
Foreign profit, survivor of merger permitted by Section 1021 of the Act, MCL 450.2021. 
Foreign profit, nonsurvivor of merger permitted by Section 1035 of the Act MCL 450.2035. 
 
Foreign nonprofit, survivor or nonsurvivor of merger permitted by Section 1021 of the Act MCL 450.3021. 
 
Fee - $10.00.  A foreign corporation with a Certificate of Authority that is party to a merger (either as a survivor 
or nonsurvivor) must file a Certificate Evidencing Merger (profit only) or a certified copy of the merger (profit or 
nonprofit) from the home jurisdiction. 
 
Application for Certificate of Withdrawal, CSCL/CD-561 permitted by Section 1031 of the Act, profit - MCL 
450.2031; nonprofit – 450.3031.  Fee - $10.00. 
A foreign corporation authorized to transact business or conduct affairs in Michigan may withdraw from the 
State upon filing an Application for Certificate of Withdrawal. Within 60 days after submitting the Application For 
Certificate of Withdrawal, tax clearance must be requested from the Michigan Department of Treasury, Tax 
Clearance Division, Lansing, MI 48922, (517) 636-5260. 
 
The Application for Certificate of Withdrawal for a nonprofit charitable purpose corporation must be 
accompanied by a consent from the Department of the Attorney General.  To obtain such consent, contact the 

http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-450-1242
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-450-2242
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/562_10-17_5_605037_7.pdf
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-450-2021
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/520_08-15_527716_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/565_08-15_527759_7.pdf
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-450-3021
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/520_08-15_527716_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/541_08-15_527736_7.pdf
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-450-1217
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-450-2217
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/518_08-15_527711_7.pdf
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-450-1133
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-450-2133
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-450-2021
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-450-2035
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-450-3021
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/561_08-15_527758_7.pdf
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-450-2031
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-450-3031
http://www.michigan.gov/treasury


Department of Attorney General, Charitable Trust Section, P.O. 30214, Lansing, MI 48909 or call (517) 335-
7571. 
 
Grounds for Revocation of Certificate of Authority 
The administrator may revoke the Certificate of Authority upon any of the following grounds permitted by 
Section 1041 of the Act, profit – MCL 450.2041; nonprofit – 450.3041: 
 
(a) The corporation fails to maintain a resident agent in this state as required by this Act. 
(b) The corporation, after changing its registered office or resident agent, fails to file a statement of the 
change as required by this Act. 
(c) The corporation fails to file an amended application as required by this Act (profit corporations) 
(d) The corporation, after amending its articles of incorporation, fails to file a copy of the amendment as 
required by this Act (nonprofit corporations). 
(e) The corporation, after becoming the survivor to a merger, fails to file the certificate attesting to the 
occurrence of the merger as required by this Act (profit corporations). 
(f) The corporation, after becoming a party to a merger, consolidation, or similar corporation action, fails to 
file a copy of the certificate of merger, consolidation, or similar corporate action as required by this Act 
(nonprofit corporations). 
(g) The corporation fails to file its annual report within the time required by this Act or fails to pay an 
annual filing fee required by this Act. 
 
 

HOW TO SUBMIT DOCUMENTS FOR FILING TO THE BUREAU 
 
Online  
Submit documents online at www.michigan.gov/corpfileonline.  
 
Mail 
Mail to Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Corporations, Securities & Commercial 
Licensing Bureau, Corporations Division, P.O. Box 30054, Lansing, MI 48909-7554. 
 
In person 
Submit in person at 2501 Woodlake Circle, Okemos, MI. Office is open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily, Monday through 
Friday, except holidays. 
 
Contact information 
 
Corporations Division, Bureau of Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing 
P.O. Box 30054 
Lansing, Michigan 48909-7554 
 
Corporations Division Phone Number .......................................................... (517) 241-6470 
 
Corporations Division Fax Numbers 
Doc Review/Annual Filings  ......................................................................... (517) 241-2711 
Division Director ........................................................................................... (517) 241-9722 

 
 

24-HOUR, SAME DAY, 2-HOUR, AND 1-HOUR EXPEDITED SERVICE FOR DOCUMENTS 
 
Public Acts 217-220, effective January 1, 2006, signed by Governor Granholm on November 21, 2005, 
follows Delaware and permits the customer to obtain review and filing of their document, if fileable, within 
the time frame that best suits the customer's needs.  Expedited service is available for all documents for 
profit corporations, limited liability companies, limited partnerships and nonprofit corporations. Complete a 
separate Expedited Service Request, form CSCL/CD 272, for each document for which expedited service 
is being requested. 
 
24-Hour service:  Any document concerning an existing entity ................................................ $100 
     Formation documents and applications for certificate of authority………. ........................... $50 
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Same day, other than 1 or 2 Hour, must be received by 1 p.m. EST or EDT 
     Existing domestic entity or qualified foreign entity ............................................................... $200 
     Formation documents and applications for certificate of authority ..................................... $100 

     2 Hour on same day as request, must be received by 3 p.m. EST or EDT .............................. $500  

     1 Hour on same day as request, must be received by 4 p.m. EST or EDT ............................ $1000 

RESOURCES/CONTACT INFORMATION 

SUBJECT DEPARTMENT/AGENCY PHONE NUMBER WEB ADDRESS 
State Taxes Michigan Department of 

Treasury 
(517) 335-7508 www.michigan.gov/treasury 

Federal Taxes, Employer 
Identification Numbers (EIN), 
Tax Exempt Status – 501(c)(3) 

Internal Revenue Service (800) 829-1040 www.irs.gov 

Unemployment Insurance Department of Labor and 
Economic Opportunity 

(800) 638-3994 www.michigan.gov/uia 

Workers Compensation Department of Labor and 
Economic Opportunity 

(888) 396-5041 www.michigan.gov/wca 

Doing Business with the State 
of Michigan 

Michigan Department of 
Technology, Management and 
Budget 

(517) 373-6227 www.bid4michigan.com 

State License Search www.michigan.gov/statelicensesearch 
Guide to Starting a Small 
Business 

Michigan Economic 
Development Corporation 

(888) 522-0103 www.michiganadvantage.org/Start-a-
Business/Default.aspx 

State Trademarks, Service 
Marks, & Insignias 

Department of Licensing and 
Regulatory Affairs, 
Corporations, Securities & 
Commercial Licensing Bureau, 
Corporations Division 

(517) 241-6470 www.michigan.gov/corporations 

Federal Trademarks & Service 
Marks 

United States Patent & 
Trademark Office (USPTO) 

(800) 786-9199 www.uspto.gov 

License to Solicit 
Funds/Registration as 
Charitable Trust 

Michigan Attorney General, 
Charitable Trust Section 

(517) 373-1152 www.michigan.gov/charities 

LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program.  Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable accommodations are 
available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 
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