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Employee Requirements of the Private Security Business
and Security Alarm Act

The Private Security Business and Security Alarm Act (“Act”), 1968 Public Act
330, MCL 338.1051 et seq., regulates private security guards, private security
guard agencies and businesses, and security alarm system contractors
within the State of Michigan. The Department of Licensing and Regulatory
Affairs, Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing Bureau
(“Department”) is tasked with licensing and regulating private security
guards, private security guard agencies and businesses, and security alarm
contractors and businesses. The purpose of this spotlight is to alert licensees
and future licensees of what the Act requires of persons and entities who
provide private security guard services or security alarm services in the State
of Michigan within the first year of obtaining licensure.
Note: The Department of State Police is tasked with the administration of the
Act as it relates to private security police and private college security forces.
MCL 338.1052(1)(b).
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Employee Rosters Due
Quarterly

Employee Rosters. Licensees must compile
and maintain complete records of all
employees and file a complete employee
roster with the Department on a quarterly
basis. The rosters must be filed with the
Department by April 15, July 15, October
15, and January 15 for the immediately
preceding quarter. 
Section of the Act: MCL 338.1067(3). 

The Worksheet for Employee Rosters form
for security guard agency licenses or
branch licenses may be accessed on the
Department’s website by clicking here. A
more detailed listing of the information the
quarterly employee rosters must include
may also be accessed on the Department’s
website by clicking here. 

Suspension and Non-
Renewal of License

Failure to submit accurate employee rosters to
the Department may result in suspension of the
license. Additionally, the Department will not
process a license renewal application if a
licensee has not submitted quarterly rosters for
the preceding 2-year license period. 
Section of the Act: MCL 338.1067(3). 
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https://www.michigan.gov/lara/-/media/Project/Websites/lara/cscl/Folder7/Security_Guard_Employee_Rosters__Worksheet_rvd_10-3-19.pdf?rev=410b7a9debed4b789f7e772ee9bcb926&hash=B49911BA3AC2994AB29ABB23B1B03E40
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/-/media/Project/Websites/lara/cscl/Folder5/lsa060.pdf?rev=cb2472ea5ce84d06b377e8f69ad91e7e&hash=9257F827C9554129D0467B989E3E11E0


A licensee that falsely represents that an individual is employed by the licensee
constitutes sufficient cause to revoke the license. 
Section of the Act: MCL 338.1067(4).

Accountability for
Employee Misconduct

Licensees are accountable for the good conduct of each
person they employ to assist in their security business work.
Section of the Act: MCL 338.1067(1). 

Misdemeanor for
Mispresentations

Employee
Qualifications

Requirements for
Employees

An employee hired by a licensee after June 21, 2002,
must meet the qualifications outlined in section 6(1)
(c), (e), (j), and (k) discussed in the disqualifying
events below, be at least 18 years of age and have at
least a high school diploma, GED, or its equivalent. 
Section of the Act: MCL 338.1067(2).
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Disqualifying Events

Been convicted of a felony,
MCL 338.1056(1)(c);

Been convicted of offenses listed in MCL 338.1060(1)(c) in 
the 5-year period preceding the date of the employee’s 
application, involving the following: 

a. Dishonesty or fraud;
b. Unauthorized divulging or selling of information or 

evidence;
c. Impersonation of a law enforcement officer or 

employee of the United States, the State of Michigan, or 
a political subdivision of the State of Michigan;

d. Illegally using, carrying, or possessing a dangerous 
weapon;

e. Two or more alcohol related offenses;
f. Manufacturing, creating, delivering, or possession of 

controlled substances under the public health code; and
g. Assault.

Been adjudged insane, unless he or she has been adjudged
restored to sanity by court order, MCL 338.1056(1)(j); and 

An outstanding warrant for his or her arrest, MCL
338.1056(1)(k). 

An employee may not have:

Specific controlled substances provisions of the Public Health Code may be accessed by
clicking here.
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http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(xcqyli4gsok2c1cpyvtenmcy))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-368-1978-7
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(xcqyli4gsok2c1cpyvtenmcy))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-368-1978-7


Employee Applications and Record Retention. A licensee must
request that the Department of State Police conduct a background
check on every prospective employee who will be a direct provider of
the security business based on a name check. A licensee must obtain
a complete and signed employment application for all persons for
who a name check is requested and conducted. A licensee must keep
the application for at least one (1) year from the date it was received. 
Section of the Act: MCL 338.1068(4). 

Unqualified Employees. It is a violation of the Act for a licensee to
knowingly employ any person who fails to meet the requirements of
section 17 of the Act.). The requirements and disqualifying events are
listed above. In addition, an individual who falsely represents that they
are employed by a licensee is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by
imprisonment for up to 93 days or a fine of up to $500,00, or both.
Sections of the Act:  MCL 338.1068(1), MCL 338.1067 & MCL 338.1067(5).

Preliminary Background Check Procedure (Before Fingerprinting). A
licensee may request that the Department of State Police conduct a
name check in writing, electronically, or by telephone. The licensee
must pay a $15.00 fee for the name check, which must be completed
within 3 days after receipt of a written request and within 24 hours
after receipt of a telephone or electronic request. Once the
Department of State Police issues a provisional clearance based on a
name check, a licensee may allow the employee to be employed as a
security guard for up to 90 days pending final clearance of the
fingerprint background checks. 
Section of the Act: MCL 338.1068(4).

Licensee Ensures Employee Meets Requirements. A licensee is
responsible for ensuring that its employees meet the requirements of
the Act. Neither the Department, the Department of State Police, nor
the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) will make a determination of
an employee’s qualifications. 
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Misdemeanor. It is a misdemeanor for a licensee or the licensee’s
employee to use a name check or the results of a name check for a
purpose other than prospective employment, punishable by
imprisonment for not more than 93 days, a fine of not more than
$1,000.00, or both. Note that the Department does not have the
authority to enforce the criminal provisions of the Act, but it routinely
makes referrals of suspected criminal activity to law enforcement
agencies with that authority.
Section of the Act: MCL 338.1068(4). 

Fingerprinting and Background Checks. A licensee must fingerprint all
prospective employees  if the prospective employee will be a direct
provider (e.g., a security guard or security alarm system agent) of the
security business. Once obtained, the licensee must submit the
fingerprints, along with the applicable fee(s), to the Michigan
Department of State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation
(FBI) for a state and national criminal history background check. A
licensee may not employ a person to be a direct provider of the
security business before that person’s fingerprints have been
submitted to the Department of State Police. 
Section of the Act: MCL 338.1068(2). 

Fingerprinting Locations. The prospective employee’s fingerprints
may be taken by a governmental vendor, or a private vender
determined by the Department of State Police to be qualified to take
fingerprints. A licensee may only take fingerprints if the licensee has
obtained training in taking fingerprints from the Department of State
Police, a local law enforcement agency, or another qualified party. A
listing of private and governmental fingerprinting live scan vendors
may be accessed on the Department of State Police’s website by
clicking here.
Section of the Act: MCL 338.1068(3). 
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https://www.michigan.gov/msp/services/live-scan-vendors


A License May Not Be
Transferred or Assigned

A license issued under the Act may not be transferred or
assigned by a licensee to another individual or entity; the license
is personal to the original licensee. ¬
Section of the Act: MCL 338.1065.
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