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In the matter of 
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 At the February 10, 2017 meeting of the Michigan Liquor Control Commission in 

Lansing, Michigan. 

 
PRESENT: Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman 

Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner  
     Dennis Olshove, Commissioner 

  
ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 2017-02 - CORRECTED 

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS FOR INDUSTRIAL MANUFACTURER LICENSES, 
SELLER OF ALCOHOL LICENSES, AND LIMITED ALCOHOL BUYER LICENSES 

  
Article IV, Section 40, of the Michigan Constitution (1963), permits the legislature 

to establish a Liquor Control Commission, which shall exercise complete control of the 

alcoholic beverage traffic within this state, including the retail sales thereof, subject to 

statutory limitations.  MCL 436.1201(2) provides the Commission with the sole right, 

power, and duty to control the alcoholic beverage traffic and traffic in other alcoholic 

liquor within this state, including the manufacture, importation, possession, 

transportation and sale thereof. 

Pursuant to MCL 436.1207(h), an Industrial Manufacturer licensee shall pay an 

annual $10.00 license fee and furnish a bond or bonds as the Commission requires. 

Pursuant to administrative R 436.1811(2)(b), an Industrial Manufacturer license 

shall be issued to a person who has paid the annual fee and furnished the surety bond 

set by written order of the Commission. 
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Pursuant to administrative R 436.1809(2)(b), a Seller of Alcohol license shall be 

issued to a person who has paid the annual fee and furnished the surety bond set by 

written order of the Commission. 

Pursuant to administrative rule R 436.1813(2), a Limited Alcohol Buyer license 

shall be issued to a person who has paid the annual fee set by written order of the 

Commission. 

Pursuant to MCL 436.1801(1)(a), a manufacturer of beer, a manufacturer of 

wine, a mixed spirit drink manufacturer, an outstate seller of beer, and outstate seller of 

wine, or an outstate seller of mixed spirit drink shall make, execute, and deliver a bond 

to the Commission. 

Commission records reflect that under Administrative Order OR-79-3 from 1979 

the Commission set the annual license fee for an Industrial Manufacturer license at 

$10.00 and the annual license fees for a Seller of Alcohol license and a Limited Alcohol 

Buyer license at $5.00.  Since that time, the annual license fees for the Seller of Alcohol 

license and Limited Alcohol Buyer license have been increased to $10.00.  The 

Commission cannot find a more recent administrative order that increased the annual 

license fees to the current level. 

Commission records further reflect that under Administrative Order OR-79-3 from 

1979 the bond amounts for an Industrial Manufacturer license and Seller of Alcohol 

license were set at $1,000.00 pending further Commission order.  Since that time, 

Commission practice has changed and a bond has not been required for these licenses.  

The Commission cannot find a more recent order that modified the bond amount or 

eliminated the requirement to furnish a bond. 

The Commission finds that under the provisions of administrative rules R 

436.1809(2)(b) and R 436.1813(2), the Commission has the authority to set the annual 

license fees for the Seller of Alcohol and Limited Alcohol Buyer licenses by written 

order.  The Commission finds that the annual license fees for these licenses should be 

set at $10.00 to reflect the current fees collected for these licenses.  Furthermore, the 

Commission finds that MCL 436.1207(h) sets the annual license fee for an Industrial 
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Manufacturer license, which supersedes the provisions of administrative rule R 

436.1811(2)(b). 

The Commission finds that under the provisions of MCL 436.1207(h) and 

administrative rules R 436.1811(2)(b) and R 436.1809(2)(b), the Commission has the 

authority to set the surety bond for Industrial Manufacturer licenses and Seller of 

Alcohol licenses by written order.  The Commission finds that the provisions of MCL 

436.1207(h) regarding the furnishing of a bond are at the discretion of the Commission.  

Further, the Commission finds that a person licensed under an Industrial Manufacturer 

license or a Seller of Alcohol license is not required to furnish a bond pursuant to the 

provisions of MCL 436.1801(1)(a), which conflicts with the provisions of MCL 

436.1207(h) and supersedes the provisions of administrative rules 436.1811(2)(b) and 

R 436.1809(2)(b). 

After review and discussion of the issues at the meeting, the Commission finds 

that annual license fees for a Seller of Alcohol license and Limited Alcohol Buyer license 

and the elimination of the requirement for an Industrial Manufacturer license or Seller of 

Alcohol license to furnish a bond should be approved subject to the provisions in the 

Michigan Liquor Control Code, the administrative rules, and as provided in this 

Administrative Order. 

 

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that: 

A. Administrative Order OR-79-3 from 1979 is RESCINDED, effective 

immediately. 

B. Any orders, bulletins, policies, directives, memoranda, or other 

communications regarding the licensing requirements for Industrial 

Manufacturer licenses, Seller of Alcohol licenses, or Limited Alcohol Buyer 

licenses shall be RESCINDED, effective immediately. 

C. The annual license fee for a Seller of Alcohol license shall be $10.00, 

pursuant to the provisions of administrative rule R 436.1809(2)(b). 

D. The annual license fee for a Limited Alcohol Buyer license shall be $10.00, 

pursuant to the provisions of administrative rule R 436.1813(2). 
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E. A person licensed under an Industrial Manufacturer license or a Seller of 

Alcohol license is not required to furnish a bond pursuant to the provisions of 

MCL 436.1801(1)(a). 

 

 
 

MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 
 

 

 
 Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman 

 
 

 
 Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner 

 
 

 
 Dennis Olshove, Commissioner 
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Correction Note: Incorrect and extraneous text was erroneously included in the third 
paragraph of page 3 of the original order and has been deleted.  The correction has no 
substantive effect on the decision made by the Commission. 


