STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGI

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

* * * * *

In the matter of)
SALESPERSON LICENSE INITIAL	
LICENSE FEE AND TRIENNIAL RENEWAL	ĺ
FEE AS PROVIDED UNDER MCL	ĺ
436.1502(2) AND RESCISSION OF)
ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER 2011-04)
)

At the March 28, 2018 meeting of the Michigan Liquor Control Commission in Lansing, Michigan.

PRESENT: Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman Dennis Olshove, Commissioner

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 2018-06 SALESPERSON LICENSE INITIAL LICENSE FEE AND TRIENNIAL RENEWAL FEE AS PROVIDED UNDER MCL 436.1502(2) AND RESCISSION OF ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER 2011-04

Article IV, Section 40, of the Michigan Constitution (1963), permits the legislature to establish a Liquor Control Commission, which shall exercise complete control of the alcoholic beverage traffic within this state, including the retail sales thereof, subject to statutory limitations. MCL 436.1201(2) provides the Commission with the sole right, power, and duty to control the alcoholic beverage traffic and traffic in other alcoholic liquor within this state, including the manufacture, importation, possession, transportation and sale thereof.

Public Act 129 of 2017 created the Salesperson license under MCL 436.1502, replacing the existing Salesperson license created pursuant to administrative rule R 436.1853. Pursuant to MCL 436.1502(2), the Commission may charge a reasonable initial license fee and triennial renewal fee for a Salesperson license, which the Commission shall establish by written order.

The Commission finds that the initial license fee and triennial renewal fee for a Salesperson license shall both be set at \$35.00. The initial license fee shall be paid by an applicant for a Salesperson license at the time of the filing of an application pursuant to MCL 436.1525(13). A licensee shall pay the triennial renewal fee by April 30, 2020 and then every three years thereafter based on the first triennial renewal cycle beginning May 1, 2020, pursuant to MCL 436.1502(2).

Furthermore, the Commission finds that Administrative Order 2011-04, which set the initial license fee and triennial renewal fee for a Salesperson license pursuant to administrative rule R 436.1853(2), should be rescinded as MCL 436.1502(2) supersedes administrative rule R 436.1853(2) as it pertains to Salesperson licenses.

After review and discussion of the issues at the meeting, the Commission finds that the initial license fees and triennial renewal fee for a Salesperson license should be approved and Administrative Order 2011-04 should be rescinded subject to the provisions in the Michigan Liquor Control Code, the administrative rules, and as provided in this Administrative Order.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that:

- A. The initial license fee for a Salesperson license shall be \$35.00, pursuant to MCL 436.1502(2).
- B. The triennial renewal fee for a Salesperson license shall be \$35.00, pursuant to MCL 436.1502(2). A licensee shall pay the triennial renewal fee by April 30, 2020 and then every three years thereafter based on the first triennial renewal cycle beginning May 1, 2020, pursuant to MCL 436.1502(2).
- C. Administrative Order 2011-04 is RESCINDED, effective immediately.

MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman

Dennis Olshove, Commissioner