

STATE OF MICHIGAN

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

* * * *

In the matter of the request of)
EXTENSION OF TIME TO ISSUE HEARING ORDERS)))
)

At the March 26, 2020 meeting of the Michigan Liquor Control Commission in Lansing, Michigan.

PRESENT: Pat Gagliardi, Chair

Dennis Olshove, Commissioner Geralyn Lasher, Commissioner

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER 2020-10 APPROVAL ORDER FOR EXTENSION OF TIME TO ISSUE HEARING ORDERS

Article IV, Section 40, of the Michigan Constitution (1963), permits the legislature to establish a Liquor Control Commission, which shall exercise complete control of the alcoholic beverage traffic within this state, including the retail sales thereof, subject to statutory limitations. MCL 436.1201(2) provides the Commission with the sole right, power, and duty to control the alcoholic beverage traffic and traffic in other alcoholic liquor within this state, including the manufacture, importation, possession, transportation and sale thereof.

The Commission may extend, by order, the 45-day time period for the issuing and mailing of hearing orders. Mich. Admin. Code, R 436.1909(1) On March 10, 2020, Governor Whitmer issued Executive Order 2020-04, declaring a state of emergency across the state of Michigan concerning the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). On March 22, 2020, the Governor issued Executive Order 2020-20 closing places of public accommodation including all on-

Page 2

premises liquor licensees and directing the Commission to issue orders and directives and take

other actions pursuant to law as necessary to implement that order. On March 24, 2020

the Governor issued Executive Order 2020-21 suspending activities that are not necessary

to sustain or protect life resulting in the vast majority of state workers being required to

work from home. And on March 25, 2020 the Governor issued Executive Order 2020-23

suspending strict compliance with the rules and procedures of the Administrative

Procedures Act and MAHS Administrative Hearing Rules. The Commission, therefore, finds

that good cause exists to grant an extension until May 31, 2020, to issue and mail the

outstanding violation hearing orders.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that an extension of the 45-day time period for issuing

and mailing outstanding violation hearing orders be granted until May 31, 2020.

MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

Pat Gagliardi, Chair

Dennis Olshove, Commissioner

Geralyn A. Lasher, Commissioner