

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) Toll-Free: 866-813-0011 - <u>www.michigan.gov/lcc</u>

# **Farmer's Market Permit Application**

(MCL 436.1415)

## **General Information**

- The annual permit issued by the Liquor Control Commission is for a qualified Small Wine Maker to conduct wine tastings and sell, at retail, wine produced by that Small Wine Maker at a Farmer's Market. This permit shall be prominently posted within the approved area.
- For the purpose of qualifying for a Farmer's Market Permit, a qualified Small Wine Maker means a small wine maker who manufactures or bottles not more than 5,000 gallons of wine at all locations in one (1) calendar year, and may also include an out of state winery.
- One (1) Permit may be issued for each 1,500 of population in a county where the Farmer's Market is located.
- The Farmer's Permit holder shall not sell wine or conduct tastings on Sundays unless the sale of wine is allowed by the local unit of government where the farmer's market is located. Furthermore, in locations where Sunday wine sales are allowed, a permit holder shall not sell wine or conduct tastings between 7:00am and 12:00 Noon on Sunday unless the licensee first applies for and is approved by the Commission for a Sunday Sales Permit (A.M.).
- Tastings and sales shall be limited to an exclusive area that is well-defined and clearly marked and under the control of the permit holder.
- The application must include a recommendation of approval for the tastings and sales of wine at the location from the police chief or sheriff who has jurisdiction and the Farmer's Market manager.
- Tasting samples provided to a customer shall not exceed three (3) servings of not more than two (2) ounces of wine in a 24-hour period
- All wine sold or used for tastings shall be furnished by the Small Wine Maker and removed from the Farmer's Market premises upon conclusion of the Farmer's Market.
- All tastings and sales shall be conducted by employees of the Farmer's Market Permit who have completed a server training program approved by the Commission.
- A licensed Wholesaler is prohibited from conducting or participating in any tastings or sales under this Permit.
- A Farmer's Market Permit issued by the Commission is not transferable.

### **Requirements**

Complete and submit the "Application for Farmer's Market Permit" (Form LCC-250), along with the following:

- 1. The signature from the local law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction where the Farmer's Market is located.
- 2. The signature from the Farmer's Market manager approving the activities.
- 3. A \$25.00 Permit fee and a \$70.00 inspection fee. A \$160.00 Sunday Sales Permit (A.M.) fee may also be required for sales or tastings between 7:00am and 12:00 noon on Sunday. Make one check or money order payable to the State of Michigan or use the credit card form (attached).
- 4. <u>A map of the Farmer's Market which clearly shows all booths, stalls or other designated locations where tastings and sales of wine may be conducted by the licensee.</u>
- 5. Out of state wineries must include a copy of the Federal Basic Permit, copy of State license, and copy of the licensing requirements for that state.



Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) Toll-Free: 866-813-0011 - <u>www.michigan.gov/lcc</u>

**Business ID:** 

Request ID:

(For MLCC use only)

# **Farmer's Market Permit Application**

(MCL 436.1415)

## Part 1 - Licensee Information

Individuals, please state your legal name. Corporations or Limited Liability Companies, please state your name as it is filed with the State of Michigan Corporation Division.

Licensee name(s):			
Address:			
City:		Zip Code:	
City/township/village:		County:	
Contact Name:	Phone:		Email:
How many gallons of wine were produced in total for all locations in the last calendar year?			

## Part 2 - Farmer's Market Information

Name of farmer's market:			
Address:			
City:	Zip Code:		
City/township/village:	County:		
If the farmer's market operates on Sunday and the licensee intends to questions regarding whether Sunday sales are allowed in the local unit	5		he following
1. Does the local unit of government where the farmer's market off-premises consumption <b>from 7:00am to 12:00 Noon</b> ?	is located allow Sunday sales of wine for	⊖ Yes	⊖ No
2. Does the local unit of government where the farmer's market off-premises consumption <b>after 12:00 Noon</b> ?	is located allow Sunday sales of wine for	⊖ Yes	⊖ No

#### Part 3 - Required Fees and Documents

Total Fees Due:		
Make check payable to <b>State of Michigan</b> (Leave Blank - MLCC Use Only)		
Map of Farmer's Market showing the well-defined and clearly marked area that is under the control of the qualified Small Wine Maker at which an approved Small Wine Maker may conduct tastings or sell bottled wine.		
3		

#### Part 4 - Local Law Enforcement Recommendation for Farmer's Market Permit

The local law enforcement agency with primary jurisdiction over the event location must complete this section.

Name of law enforcement agency:		
Address of law enforcement agency:		
Phone number of officer:	Email of officer:	
I certify that I have reviewed this application an Control Commission.	d recommend the approval of the Farmer's Mar	ket Permit by the Michigan Liquor
Print Name & Title of Reviewing Officer:	Signature of Reviewing Officer	Date

#### Part 5 - Farmer's Market Manager Verification

Name of Farmer's Market manager:		
Phone:	Email:	
performed by the qualified Small Wine Maker	community-sponsored or municipally-sponsored loca r licensee under the Farmer's Market Permit will be o a is under the control of the qualified Small Wine Make pproval of the Farmer's Market Permit.	conducted in a well-defined and
Print Name of Farmer's Market Manager:	Signature of Farmer's Market Manager	Date

### Part 6 - Signature of Licensee

I certify that the information contained in this form is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. I agree to comply with all requirements of the Michigan Liquor Control Code and Administrative Rules. I also understand that providing **false** or **fraudulent** information is a violation of the Liquor Control Code pursuant to MCL 436.2003.

Print Name of Licensee & Title

Signature of Licensee

Date

Please return this completed form along with corresponding documents and fees to: Michigan Liquor Control Commission Mailing address: P.O. Box 30005, Lansing, MI 48909 Overnight packages: 2407 N. Grand River Ave., Lansing, MI 48906 Fax to: 517-284-8557



Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Finance and Administrative Services Revenue Services

# **Credit Card Authorization Form**

# \*\* FAX COMPLETED FORM TO SECURE FAX LINE: 517-284-8557 \*\* \*\* DO NOT EMAIL OR MAIL THIS FORM \*\*

Requests with credit card payments that are not faxed to the above secure fax line will be destroyed along with the credit card authorization in order to ensure the security of applicants' personal credit card numbers.

## \* \*<u>IF YOU ARE NOT SUBMITTING AN APPLICATION FORM WITH THIS CREDIT CARD AUTHORIZATION, YOU MUST PROVIDE AN</u> ITEMIZATION OF THE FEES FOR WHICH YOU ARE SUBMITTING PAYMENT OR YOUR PAYMENT WILL NOT BE PROCESSED\*\*

Name on Card:Billing Address:			Payment Amount:		
City: State:	Zip Code:		Check One:		
Phone:			MasterCard Visa Discover American Express		
Email:			Security Code/CVV Code:		
Applicant/Licensee Name:	Request or Bus	iness ID #:	Expiration Date:		
Payment is fo	 pr:				
			Signature		
CREDIT CARD AUTHORIZATION, YOU MUST PROVIDE AN ITEMIZATION OF THE FEES FOR WHICH YOU ARE SUBMITTING PAYMENT OR YOUR PAYMENT WILL NOT BE PROCESSED. Credit Card Payment Itemization:		UBMITTING	Commission (MLCC). Receipt of payment and application forms by LARA Revenue Services does not constitute receipt of an application by the MLCC. Applications submitted through LARA Revenue Services may take up to two (2) additional business days to be		
Fee Type	Fee Amount	Fee Code	received by the MLCC after receipt by LARA Revenue Services.		
Inspection Fee(s):		4036	For requests that require a timely receipt of an application by the		
Special License Fee(s):		4008	MLCC to be processed, such as Special Licenses and tempo requests, please ensure that your application will be received		
Temporary Authorization Fee:		4037	adequate time to be processed by the MLCC after the payment is received and processed by LARA Revenue Services.		
License Renewal Fee(s):		4004	received and processed by Entir nevenue services.		
Manufacturer License(s):		4038			
Wholesaler License(s):		4085			
New Retailer License(s):		4012			
Transfer Retailer License(s):		4034			
Conditional License		4012			
🗌 New Add Bar 🔲 Transfer Add Bar:		4012/4034			
Sunday Sales Permit (AM):		4033			
Sunday Sales Permit (PM):		4032			
Catering Permit:		4031			