
 
 
  

Reprinted from Michigan Compiled Laws  
July 2020 Edition, Updated February 2025 

$15.00 
 

LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program. 
Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable accommodations are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 

 
 

 
 

MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL CODE, 
ADMINISTRATIVE RULES, AND RELATED LAWS 

 

 

 

MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs 

Gretchen Whitmer, Governor 
Mar lon Brown ,  Di rec to r



   

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 



   

 

FOREWORD 
 
As one of 17 control states, the Michigan Liquor Control Commission’s guiding philosophy 
is to make alcoholic beverages available while regulating their sale and distribution in 
order to protect the rights and interests of Michigan citizens.  The Commission believes 
this can be accomplished most effectively through selective licensing and strict 
enforcement.  The observance of all liquor laws and the rules of the Commission is in the 
best interest of everyone - - - the public, the licensees and the alcoholic beverage industry. 
 
This publication contains the Liquor Control Code statutes and the administrative rules of 
the Liquor Control Commission.  In addition, it contains certain other laws which are often 
used by liquor licensees, such as those regarding youth employment.  Because laws and 
rules are constantly changing, subscriptions for updates to this publication are also 
available (use the form on the next page).  A version of this publication that is constantly 
updated may be downloaded for free from the MLCC website. 
 
IMPORTANT:  Information on obtaining a license to sell alcoholic beverages at retail or 
the transfer of an existing license is available from the Commission’s Lansing Office or 
on their website at www.michigan.gov/lcc.  Applicants should not invest any money nor 
commit themselves by any binding agreement in the expectation of receiving a license 
until officially notified of the Commission’s approval.  Applicants are also warned against 
payment of any money to persons who claim they can obtain a license.  This is a form of 
deception and fraud and persons soliciting and/or accepting money under such pretenses 
will be prosecuted. 
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BOOK ORDER / SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 

An updated copy of the Michigan Liquor Control Code, Administrative Rules and Related Laws is maintained on the 

Michigan Liquor Control Commission website homepage (http://www.michigan.gov/lcc) in the Commission Documents 

Library under the MLCC Code, Administrative Rules & Related Laws. If you wish to obtain one or more printed copies 

of this document, you may order it below at a cost of $15 per book.  This publication is updated throughout the year.  

If you wish to obtain a subscription of quarterly updates for one or more years, you may purchase it at a cost of $25 

per year by completing the subscription order form below. Once you have completed the book order form and/or the 

subscription order form below, please mail them with a check or money order payable to the STATE OF MICHIGAN (no 

cash please) to: 

Michigan Liquor Control Commission (ATTN: Cashier)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

P.O. Box 30005                                                                                                                                                                     

Lansing, MI  48909-7505 

BOOK ORDER FORM (Cashier: Please forward to Executive Services Division) 

Enclosed is my payment for _______ copies* of the Michigan Liquor Control Code, Administrative Rules and Related 

Laws ($15 per book). 

Name_________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

City_____________________________________State: ____Michigan_____   Zip____________________________ 

Phone_________________________________ Email__________________________________________________ 

*If you purchase more than one copy for different sites, please complete this order form for each site. 

SUBSCRIPTION ORDER FORM (Cashier: Please forward to Executive Services Division) 

Enclosed is my payment for ______ one year subscription(s) of quarterly updates* to the Michigan Liquor Control 

Code, Administrative Rules and related Laws ($25 per annual subscription).  

Name____ ___________________________________________________________________________ 

Address______________________________________________________________________________ 

City_____________________________________ State: ____Michigan_____ Zip____________________ 

Phone_________________________________ Email__________________________________________ 

*Your annual subscription begins the month your payment is received and ends at the end of the same month the following year.  

During your annual subscription, you will be mailed quarterly updates in the months of April, July, October, and January (there may 

be quarters when you receive no updates if there are no changes made during that quarter).  If you purchase multiple years, you 

will receive any quarterly updates available throughout those years. For questions, call 517-284-6270.

http://www.michigan.gov/lcc
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STATE OF MICHIGAN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 
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R 436.1021 Sale to licensed truck driver salesman. 
R 436.1023 Transfer of location of licensed premises; alteration of premises; lease, sale, or transfer of 

premises. 
R 436.1025 Storing of alcoholic liquor. 
R 436.1027 Confiscation and impoundment of alcoholic liquor. 
R 436.1029 Orders of commission. 
R 436.1031 Sales prohibited during periods of suspension; notice of suspension. 
R 436.1033 Rescinded. 
R 436.1035 Rescinded. 
R 436.1037 Rescinded. 
R 436.1039 Living quarters in connection with licensed premises; other direct connections to licensed 

premises. 
R 436.1041 Obtaining a license for use or benefit of another; participation permits. 
R 436.1043 Liquor analysis. 



 

R 436.1045 Rescinded. 
R 436.1047 Return of licenses and permits. 
R 436.1048 Renewal of licenses. 
R 436.1049 Transfer of license or corporate stock while an alleged violation is pending final disposition. 
R 436.1050  Approval orders; cancellations. 
R 436.1051  Notice of changes affecting control of privately held corporation or limited liability company. 
R 436.1053 Proof of loss or destruction of a license or permit. 
R 436.1055 Sale of alcoholic liquor below cost prohibited; exception. 
R 436.1057 Rescinded. 
R 436.1059 Dishonored payment. 
R 436.1060 Server training, requirements. 
R 436.1061  Grounds for suspension or revocation of a permit or privilege. 
R 436.1062 Facsimile and electronic transmissions. 
R 436.1063 Rescissions. 
LICENSING QUALIFICATIONS 
R 436.1101 Rescinded. 
R 436.1103 Application for license; forms; required information. 
R 436.1105 Application for license; denial; grounds. 
R 436.1107 Renewal of license. 
R 436.1109 Application for license by corporation; requirements. 
R 436.1110 Application for license by limited liability company; receipt of distributions by assignee of 

membership interest in company; approval for reorganization or realignment of company; 

transfer fee; notification of changes in managers, members, assignees, articles of organization, 

or operating agreement; investigation of company; company authorization to do business in 

state required. 
R 436.1111 Application for license by partnership; requirements. 
R 436.1113 Wholesale license; minimum qualifications; corporate stock transfer. 
R 436.1115 Retail license; minimum qualifications; corporate stock transfer. 
R 436.1117 Rescinded. 
R 436.1119 Retail license; agreements. 
R 436.1121 On-premises license; requirements. 
R 436.1123 Resort license; minimum qualifications. 
R 436.1125 Resort license; limitation. 
R 436.1127 Club license; requirements. 
R 436.1129 Specially designated merchant license; issuance and transfer; limitation; waiver; applicability. 
R 436.1131 Rescinded. 
R 436.1133 Rescinded. 
R 436.1135  Specially designated distributor license; limitations upon issuance or transfer; waiver; 

applicability. 
R 436.1137 SDD license; photographs. 
R 436.1139 SDD license; initial minimum purchase. 
R 436.1141 SDD license; population requirement. 
R 436.1142 SDD license; limitation on applications. 
R 436.1143 SDD license; transfer of location. 
R 436.1145 Watercraft license; minimum qualifications. 
R 436.1147 Aircraft license; minimum qualifications. 
R 436.1149 Class C or SDD license; hardship transfer. 
R 436.1151 Rescinded. 
SPECIAL PERMITS FOR HOSPITALS AND INSTITUTIONS 
R 436.1251 Special permits for hospitals and institutions. 
ADVERTISING 
R 436.1301 Rescinded. 
R 436.1303 Beer. 
R 436.1305 Wine. 
R 436.1307 Spirits. 
R 436.1309 Advertising approval. 
R 436.1311 Rescinded. 
R 436.1313 Inside advertising signs and displays. 
R 436.1315 Retail advertising space 
R 436.1317 Brand promotion 



 

R 436.1319 Rescinded 
R 436.1321 Contests and advertising articles. 
R 436.1323 Team sponsorship 
R 436.1325 Calendars and matchbooks. 
R 436.1327 Rescinded. 
R 436.1329 Rescinded. 
R 436.1331 Dispenser signs. 
R 436.1333 Rescinded. 
R 436.1335 Rescinded. 
R 436.1337 Rescinded. 
R 436.1339 Rescissions. 
ON-PREMISES LICENSES 
R 436.1401 Definitions. 
R 436.1403 Hours and days of operation. 
R 436.1405 Capacity of licensed premises. 
R 436.1407 Temporary entertainment, dance, or dance-entertainment permits; approval. 
R 436.1409 Rescinded. 
R 436.1411 Rescinded. 
R 436.1413 Clothing changes by entertainers. 
R 436.1415 Dance floor; requirements. 
R 436.1417 Employees serving food or liquor prohibited from eating, drinking, or mingling with customers; 

licensees, agents, and employees prohibited from soliciting customers; allowing customer to 

solicit liquor prohibited. 
R 436.1419   Outdoor service without approval prohibited; requirements for outdoor service if approval is 

granted. 
R 436.1421 Sample bottles or cans; sale prohibited; removal from premises. 
R 436.1423 Soliciting, accepting, or receiving rebates, refunds, or adjustments from a person other than the 

commission for broken or defective containers prohibited. 
R 436.1425 Rescinded. 
R 436.1427 Washing of drinking containers and draft beer equipment. 
R 436.1429 Rescinded. 
R 436.1431 Serving of brand names. 
R 436.1433 Food operation. 
R 436.1435 Contests; tournaments. 
R 436.1437 Specific purpose permit. 
R 436.1438 Rescinded. 
OFF-PREMISES LICENSES 
R 436.1501 Definitions. 
R 436.1503 Hours and days of operation. 
R 436.1505 Rescinded. 
R 436.1507 Stock of liquor. 
R 436.1509 Rescinded. 
R 436.1511 Open containers on licensed premises prohibited; exception; consumption of liquor on licensed 

premises prohibited; exception. 
R 436.1513 Sample bottles or cans; removal. 
R 436.1515 Sale and delivery of alcoholic liquor. 
R 436.1517 Type of business; change; approval. 
R 436.1519 Soliciting, accepting, or receiving rebates, refunds, or adjustments from a person other than the 

commission for broken or defective containers prohibited. 
R 436.1521 Outdoor service prohibited; exception. 
R 436.1523 Allowing consumption on licensee's property adjacent to licensed premises prohibited. 
R 436.1525 Sale by club licensee of liquor to nonmember prohibited. 
R 436.1527 Delivery of liquor to person under 21 years of age prohibited; requirements for delivery of liquor 

to persons of legal age. 
R 436.1529 Sale of spirits at a uniform price. 
R 436.1531 Return of alcoholic liquor product. 
R 436.1533 Off-premises server training; requirements. 
BEER 
R 436.1601 Definitions. 
R 436.1603 Rescinded. 



 

R 436.1605 Rescinded. 
R 436.1607 Rescinded. 
R 436.1609 Outstate sellers of beer. 
R 436.1611 Labels and advertising. 
R 436.1613 Gifts of beer and consumption on licensed premises. 
R 436.1615 Rescinded. 
R 436.1617 Sales and shipments by outstate sellers of beer. 
R 436.1621 Excise tax on beer; reports. 
R 436.1623 Rescinded. 
R 436.1625 Rescinded. 
R 436.1627 Rescinded. 
R 436.1629 Container deposit and refund. 
R 436.1631 Reports of Michigan licensed brewers, Michigan licensed outstate sellers of beer, and Michigan 

licensed wholesalers. 
R 436.1632 Invoices and bills of lading. 
R 436.1633 Rescinded. 
R 436.1635 Sale or delivery; restrictions; exception. 
R 436.1641 Michigan licensed brewers' and Michigan licensed wholesalers' reports and records. 
R 436.1643 Rescinded. 
R 436.1645 Inspection and enforcement. 
R 436.1651 Prohibited acts. 
R 436.1659 Rescissions. 
WINE 
R 436.1701 Definitions 
R 436.1702 Rescinded. 
R 436.1703 Rescinded. 
R 436.1704 Mixed spirit drink manufacturer. 
R 436.1705 Outstate sellers of wine. 
R 436.1706 Rescinded. 
R 436.1707 Federal standards of identity for wine. 
R 436.1708 Manufacturing wine pursuant to federal wine regulations. 
R 436.1711 Inspections. 
R 436.1712 Rescinded. 
R 436.1714 Rescinded. 
R 436.1716 Bottling. 
R 436.1717 Restraining orders; record. 
R 436.1719 Requirements for sale of bottled wine. 
R 436.1720 Reports of Michigan licensed wine makers, Michigan licensed outstate sellers of wine, and 

Michigan licensed wholesalers. 
R 436.1721 Requirements for sale of bulk wine. 
R 436.1722 Transportation of wine. 
R 436.1723 Rescinded. 
R 436.1723a Barrel deposit and refund. 
R 436.1724 Sacramental wine. 
R 436.1725 Excise tax on wine; reports. 
R 436.1726 Rescinded. 
R 436.1727 Records. 
R 436.1728 Inspection; analysis; enforcement. 
R 436.1731 Rescinded. 
R 436.1735 Prohibited acts; penalties. 
R 436.1749 Rescissions. 
SPIRITS 
R 436.1801 Definitions. 
R 436.1802  Authorized distribution agents; generally. 
R 436.1803 Building and health laws and ordinances. 
R 436.1805 Equipment. 
R 436.1807 Agricultural product compliance with law. 
R 436.1809 Sellers of alcohol. 
R 436.1811 Industrial manufacturers. 
R 436.1813 Limited alcohol buyers. 



 

R 436.1815 Transportation. 
R 436.1817 Warehouse receipts. 
R 436.1819 Prohibited acts by licensees. 
R 436.1821 Damaged goods. 
R 436.1823 Rescissions. 
R 436.1825 Adoption by reference of federal standards of identity for spirits. 
R 436.1827 Adoption by reference of federal distilled spirit regulations. 
R 436.1829 Labels and advertising. 
VENDOR REPRESENTATIVE AND SALESMAN 
R 436.1851 Rescinded. 
R 436.1853 Licenses. 
R 436.1855 Identification cards. 
R 436.1857 Common carriers. 
R 436.1859 Prohibited acts. 
R 436.1861 Promotions. 
R 436.1863 Samples. 
R 436.1865 Expenses and expense records. 
R 436.1869 Rescissions. 
HEARING AND APPEAL PRACTICE 
R 436.1901 Definitions. 
R 436.1903 Hearings; transcripts. 
R 436.1905 Violations; violation report; complaint; notice of hearing. 
R 436.1907 Waiver of hearing; acknowledgment of violation. 
R 436.1909 Violation hearing. 
R 436.1910 Violation rehearing. 
R 436.1911 Costs. 
R 436.1913 Personal appearance of licensee. 
R 436.1915 Failure to personally appear at violation hearings. 
R 436.1917 Violation appeal hearings; appeal board. 
R 436.1919 Appeal notice. 
R 436.1921 Violation appeal hearings; burden of proceeding. 
R 436.1923 Violation appeal hearing decision. 
R 436.1925 Hearings on matters other than violations. 
R 436.1927 Filing of papers. 
R 436.1929 Subpoena. 
R 436.1931 Postponements; continuances. 
R 436.1933 Attorney at law. 
R 436.1935 Rescissions. 
CHURCH OR SCHOOL HEARINGS 
R 436.1951 "Act" defined. 
R 436.1953 Notice of application and proposed location. 
R 436.1955 Filing of objection; copy to applicant; scheduling hearing. 
R 436.1957 Notice of hearing; basis for conduct of hearing. 
R 436.1959 Burden of proceeding, closing arguments. 
R 436.1961 Hearing; procedures; findings of fact and conclusions of law. 
R 436.1963 Granting of the waiver. 
DECLARATORY RULINGS 
R 436.1971 Request for declaratory ruling; form; contents. 
R 436.1973 Declaratory ruling; notice of issuance; request for information or arguments; hearing. 
R 436.1975 Denial of request for declaratory ruling; reasons. 
FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 
R 436.2001 "Securities" defined. 
R 436.2003 "Unencumbered securities" defined. 
R 436.2005 Forms. 
R 436.2007 Unencumbered securities; maintenance of value. 
R 436.2009 Interest and dividends on cash and securities. 
R 436.2011 Cash or unencumbered securities; payment of judgments. 
R 436.2013 Cash or unencumbered securities; release. 
R 436.2015 Cash or unencumbered securities; request for return. 
R 436.2017 Failure to provide proof of financial responsibility. 



 

R 436.2019 Constant value bond; requirements. 
R 436.2021 Failure to provide proof of financial responsibility; hearings; revocation. 

RELATED LAWS & ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

BEVERAGE CONTAINERS 
Initiated Law of 1976 
445.571 Definitions. 
445.571a "Container composed of a combination of these materials" defined. 
445.572 Nonreturnable containers; prohibitions; means for return and refund; regional redemption 

centers; acceptance of containers and payment of refunds; indicating refund value and name of 

State on container; exception; metal containers with detachable parts prohibited; deposit 

previously refunded; refund upon reuse; maximum daily refund; agreement on deposit; refund 

by manufacturer. 
445.572a Designated metal, glass, or plastic containers; sale or offer of sale of certain beverages; 

requirements; violations; definitions. 
445.573 Certification of beverage containers. 
445.573a Report; filing; form and contents. 
445.573b Unclaimed bottle deposits; audit, assessment, and collection by department of treasury; 

payment by under redeemer; over redemption credit; applying credit against prior years; 

definitions; report. 
445.573c Bottle deposit fund; creation; administration; deposits; annual disbursement; report of 

information; rules. 
445.573d Unclaimed deposits. 
445.573e Cleanup and redevelopment fund. 
445.573f Community pollution prevention fund. 
445.574 Violation; penalty; separate offense. 
445.574a Prohibited return to dealer, distributor, or manufacturer; violation; penalty; exceptions; 

restitution; action brought by attorney general or county prosecutor. 
445.574b Posting notice on dealer’s premises; failure to comply; penalty. 
445.575 Repeal of 445.191. 
445.576 Effective date. 

SIZE CLASSIFICATION RULES 
R 445.1 Definitions. 
R 445.3 Size classifications. 

BEVERAGE CONTAINER REDEMPTION ANTIFRAUD ACT 
Act 388 of 2008 
445.631  Short title. 
445.633  Definitions. 
445.635  Retrofit of reverse vending machines; payment to reverse vending machine manufacturers; 

application for payment; acceptance as full payment; proof of completion; conditions for 

requiring installation or retrofitting of reverse vending machines. 
445.636  Establishment of new retail store in county bordering another state or in Lower Peninsula 

contiguous with county bordering another state; installation of vision technology; requirements. 
445.637  Beverage container redemption antifraud fund; creation; payments; allocations; report. 
445.639  Payment amount; purchase or lease. 
445.641  Distribution of money left in fund. 
445.643  Report. 

REVERSE VENDING MACHINE ANTIFRAUD ACT 
Act 387 of 2008 
445.651 Short title. 
445.653 Definitions. 
445.655 Installation of vision technology. 
445.657 Reverse vending machine used in county that borders another state or county in Lower 

Peninsula contiguous with county that borders another state; processing metal beverage 

containers; requirements; extension of date. 
445.659 Reverse vending machine used in county that borders another state or county in Lower 

Peninsula contiguous with county that borders another state; processing glass or plastic 

beverage containers; requirements; extension of date. 



 

445.661 Change, alteration, or modification; prohibitions. 
445.663 Fraudulent change, alteration, or modification; data; retention; availability for inspection. 
445.665 Inspection; investigation of complaint; notice of violation; installation or update to comply with 

requirements. 
445.667 Violations; penalties; restitution. 
445.669 Report. 

YOUTH EMPLOYMENT STANDARDS ACT 
Act 90 of 1978 
409.101 Short title. 
409.102 Definitions. 
409.103 Employment of minor; prohibited occupations; minimum age; exceptions and limitations. 
409.104 Employment of minor; copy of work permit or temporary permit required; issuance and filing 

of work permit; duration of temporary permit; oath; return of permit; exception to work permit 

requirement; evidence of age; exception in subsection (3) inapplicable to other provisions. 
409.105 Work permit; application; examination, approval, and filing of papers. 
409.106 Work permit; form; color; contents; rules. 
409.107 Revocation of permit; factors; record of refusal, suspension, or revocation; informing minor of 

appeal process. 
409.108 Failure or refusal to issue work permit; appeal; procedure. 
409.109 Work permit as evidence of age. 
409.110 Minor under 16 years; days and hours of employment. 
409.111 Minor 16 years or older; days and hours of employment; definitions. 
409.112 Meals and rest period. 
409.112a Employment of minor in occupation involving a cash transaction after sunset or 8 p.m. at fixed 

location; condition. 
409.113 Posting copy of 409.110, 409.111, and 409.112; time record. 
409.114 Employment of minor in performance by performing arts organization; approval. 
409.114a Performing in or being subject to child abusive commercial activity. 
409.115 Employment of minor in establishment manufacturing, distributing, or selling alcoholic 

beverages. 
409.116  Exemption; minor 16 years of age completing requirements for graduation; minor 17 years of 

age passing general educational development test; duty of employer. 
409.117 Exemption; emancipated minor; duty of employer. 
409.118  Exemption; minor 14 years of age employed under agreement or contract between employer 

and governing body of school district, public school academy, or nonpublic school. 
409.118a  Act inapplicable to minor as ice hockey player for junior hockey team. 
409.119 Exemptions generally; hours of work. 
409.120 Rules; deviations. 
409.121 Enforcement and prosecution of act; right of entry and inspection. 
409.122 Violation as misdemeanor or felony; penalties. 
409.123 Repeal of MCL 409.1 to 409.30 and 380.1597 
409.124 Effective date. 

THE MICHIGAN PENAL CODE (EXCERPTS) 
Act 328 of 1931 
CHAPTER IV 
ADULTERATING AND MISBRANDING 
750.28 Cereal beverage with alcoholic content; furnishing to minors, penalty. 
CHAPTER XX 
CHILDREN 
750.141 Presence of minor under 17 in places where liquor is sold, given away, or furnished; attendance 

of minors at dances. 
CHAPTER XXVA 
CRIMINAL ENTERPRISES 
750.159g “Racketeering” defined. 
CHAPTER XLIV 
GAMBLING 
750.303a Applicability of chapter; recreational card playing conducted at senior citizen housing facility. 
750.310a Applicability of chapter; bowling game or bowling card game. 
750.310b Applicability of chapter; redemption game. 



 

THE MICHIGAN VEHICLE CODE (EXCERPTS) 
257.7b  “Commercial quadricycle” defined. 
257.33 “Motor vehicle” defined. 
257.319  Mandatory suspension of license; record of conviction for certain crimes; waiver; restricted 

license; prior convictions; violations arising out of same transaction. 
257.518a  Commercial quadricycle; liability insurance; minimum limit. 
257.624a  Transportation or possession of alcoholic liquor in open or uncapped container open or upon 

which seal broken; violation as misdemeanor; exception; subsections (1) and (2) inapplicable to 

passenger in commercial quadricycle; definitions. 
257.624b Transport or possession of alcoholic liquor by person less than 21 years of age. 
257.625p  Operation of commercial quadricycle by person with certain alcohol content; prohibition; 

violation as misdemeanor; penalty. 
257.657  Rights and duties of persons riding bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility device, moped, 

low-speed vehicle, or commercial quadricycle. 
257.660  Electric personal assistive mobility device, low-speed vehicle, or moped; operation; limitations; 

applicability to police officer; regulation by local government; prohibitions; regulation by 

department of natural resources. 
257.662  Bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility device, or commercial quadricycle; equipment; 

violation as civil infraction. 
257.901  Violation as misdemeanor; penalty; civil infraction. 
257.907  Civil infraction; payment of civil fine and costs; limitation; program of treatment, education, or 

rehabilitation; sanctions; schedule of civil fines, costs, and assessments; recommended range of 

civil fines and costs; certification of repair of defective equipment; collection of civil fines or 

costs; noncompliance with order or judgment; waiver of fine, cost, and assessment; civil 

infraction arising out of ownership or operation of commercial quadricycle; "moving violation" 

defined. 

ELLIOT-LARSON-CIVIL RIGHTS ACT (EXCERPTS) 
Act 453 of 1976 
37.2301  Definitions. 
37.2302   Public accommodations or services; prohibited practices. 
37.2302a   Applicability to private club. 
37.2303   Exemptions. 
37.2304   Violation. 

PUBLIC HEALTH CODE (EXCERPTS) 
Act 368 of 1978 
333.12521 Definitions used in MCL 333.12521 to 333.12534. 
333.12526 Examination of plans and specifications; determination; issuance of permit; notice of 

deficiencies; resubmission of documents; duration of permit; written approval of change. 
333.12526a Preparation or consumption of food or beverages within swimming pool enclosure; 

requirements; use of plastic or nonbreakable material; definitions. 

CONVERSION CHART - EFFECTIVE APRIL 14, 1998 
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THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA (EXCERPTS) 
 
ARTICLE XXI 
 

§1 Repeal of 18th amendment. 

 
Section 1.   
 
The eighteenth article of amendment to the Constitution of the United States is hereby repealed. 
 

§2 Transportation or importation of intoxicating liquors. 

 
Section 2.   
 
The transportation or importation into any State, Territory, or possession of the United States for delivery 
or use therein of intoxicating liquors, in violation of the laws thereof, is hereby prohibited. 

Compiler’s note: This amendment to the Constitution was proposed to the several states by the seventy-second congress on February 20, 1933, and was declared, in a 
proclamation by the secretary of state, dated December 5, 1933, to have been ratified by conventions in the states of Arizona, Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, 
Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New 
Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming-said states 
constituting three fourths of the whole number of states in the United states and certified as valid to all intents and purposes as a part of the Constitution of the United States. 

 
 

CONSTITUTION OF MICHIGAN OF 1963 (EXCERPT) 
 
PREAMBLE 
 
We, the people of the State of Michigan, grateful to Almighty God for the blessings of freedom, and earnestly 
desiring to secure these blessings undiminished to ourselves and our posterity, do ordain and establish this 
constitution. 
 
 

ARTICLE IV - LEGISLATIVE BRANCH 
 

§40 Alcoholic beverages; age requirement; liquor control commission; excise 
tax; local option. 

 
Sec. 40.   
 
A person shall not sell or give any alcoholic beverage to any person who has not reached the age of 21 
years.  A person who has not reached the age of 21 years shall not possess any alcoholic beverage for the 
purpose of personal consumption.  An alcoholic beverage is any beverage containing one-half of one 
percent or more alcohol by volume. 
 
Except as prohibited by this section, (t)he legislature may by law establish a liquor control commission 
which, subject to statutory limitations, shall exercise complete control of the alcoholic beverage traffic within 
this state, including the retail sales thereof.  The legislature may provide for an excise tax on such sales.  
Neither the legislature nor the commission may authorize the manufacture or sale of alcoholic beverages 
in any county in which a majority of the electors voting thereon shall prohibit the same. 

History: Const. 1963, Art. IV, §40, Eff. Jan. 1, 1964; - Am. Initiated Law, approved Nov. 7, 1978, Eff. Dec. 28, 1978. Former Constitution: See Const. 1908, Art. XVI, §11. 
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MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL CODE OF 1998 
Act 58 of 1998 
 
AN ACT to create a commission for the control of the alcoholic beverage traffic within this state, and to 
prescribe its powers, duties, and limitations; to provide for powers and duties for certain state departments 
and agencies; to impose certain taxes for certain purposes; to provide for the control of the alcoholic liquor 
traffic within this state and to provide for the power to establish state liquor stores; to prohibit the use of 
certain devices for the dispensing of alcoholic vapor; to provide for the care and treatment of alcoholics; to 
provide for the incorporation of farmer cooperative wineries and the granting of certain rights and privileges 
to those cooperatives; to provide for the licensing and taxation of activities regulated under this act and the 
disposition of the money received under this act; to prescribe liability for retail licensees under certain 
circumstances and to require security for that liability; to provide procedures, defenses, and remedies 
regarding violations of this act; to provide for the enforcement and to prescribe penalties for violations of 
this act; to provide for allocation of certain funds for certain purposes; to provide for the confiscation and 
disposition of property seized under this act; to provide referenda under certain circumstances; and to 
repeal acts and parts of acts. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2005, Act 320, Imd. Eff. Dec. 27, 2005  

 

CHAPTER 1 
 

436.1101 Short title. 

 
Sec. 101.   
 
This act shall be known and may be cited as the “Michigan liquor control code of 1998”. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 

 

436.1103 Meanings of words and phrases. 

 
Sec. 103.   
 
For the purposes of this act, the words and phrases defined in this chapter have the meanings ascribed to 
them in this chapter, unless the context requires otherwise. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 

 

436.1105 Definitions; A, B. 

 
Sec. 105. 
 

(1) "Alcohol" means the product of distillation of fermented liquid, whether or not rectified or diluted 
with water, but does not mean ethyl or industrial alcohol, diluted or not, that has been denatured or 
otherwise rendered unfit for beverage purposes. 

(2) "Alcohol vapor device" means any device that provides for the use of air or oxygen bubbled through 
alcoholic liquor to produce a vapor or mist that allows the user to inhale this alcoholic vapor through 
the mouth or nose.  

(3) “Alcoholic liquor” means any spirituous, vinous, malt, or fermented liquor, powder, liquids, and 
compounds, whether or not medicated, proprietary, patented, and by whatever name called, 
containing 1/2 of 1% or more of alcohol by volume that are fit for use for food purposes or beverage 
purposes as defined and classified by the commission according to alcoholic content as belonging 
to 1 of the varieties defined in this chapter. 

(4) “Alternating proprietorship” means 1 of the following: 
(a) An arrangement in which 2 or more wine makers or small wine makers take turns using 

the same space and equipment to manufacture wine pursuant to section 603 (9) (a) and in 
accordance with 27 CFR 24.136. 

(b) An arrangement in which 2 or more brewers or micro brewers take turns using the same 
space and equipment to manufacture beer under section 603 (9) (b) and in accordance 
with 27 CFR 25.52. 



1-2 

(5) “Approved tasting room” means a tasting room that is approved by the commission.  A licensee 
with an approved tasting room is not a retail licensee as that term is used in this act and the rules 
promulgated under this act except for section 701, 801, 803, 815, 905, and 906. 

(6) "Authorized distribution agent" means a person approved by the commission to do 1 or more of the 
following: 

(a) To store spirits owned by a supplier of spirits or the commission. 
(b) To deliver spirits sold by the commission to retail licensees. 
(c) To perform any function needed to store spirits owned by a supplier of spirits or by the 

commission or to deliver spirits sold by the commission to retail licensees. 
(7) "Bar" means a barrier or counter at which alcoholic liquor is sold to, served to, or consumed by 

customers. 
(8) "Beer" means a beverage obtained by alcoholic fermentation of an infusion or decoction of barley, 

malt, hops, sugar, or other cereal in potable water. 
(9) “Bottle” or “bottling” means a process, separate from manufacturing, using owned or leased 

equipment to fill and seal a container, including a keg, with alcoholic liquor for sale at wholesale or 
retail in accordance with this act.  Bottle or bottling does not include filling a growler for sale at retail. 

(10) "Brand" means any word, name, group of letters, symbol, trademark, or combination thereof 
adopted and used by a supplier to identify a specific beer, malt beverage, wine, mixed wine drink, 
or mixed spirit drink product and to distinguish that product from another beer, malt beverage, wine, 
mixed wine drink, or mixed spirit drink product that is produced or marketed by that or another 
supplier. As used in this subsection, "supplier" means a brewer, micro brewer, an outstate seller of 
beer, a wine maker, a small wine maker, an outstate seller of wine, a manufacturer of mixed wine 
drink, an outstate seller of a mixed wine drink, a mixed spirit drink manufacturer, or an outstate 
seller of mixed spirit drink. 

(11) "Brand extension" means any brand that incorporates all or a substantial part of the unique features 
of a preexisting brand, regardless of whether the extension is beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or 
mixed wine drink. 

(12) "Brandy" means an alcoholic liquor as defined in 27 CFR 5.22(d). 
(13) “Brandy manufacturer” means a wine maker or a small wine maker licensed under this act to 

manufacture brandy.  A wine maker or small wine maker authorized to manufacture brandy shall 
not manufacture any other spirits.  The commission may approve a brandy manufacturer to sell 
brandy that it manufactures at retail in accordance with section 537. 

(14) "Brewer" means a person located in this state that is licensed to manufacture beer and sell at retail 
in accordance with section 537 and to licensed wholesalers beer manufactured by the person. 

(15) "Brewpub" means a license issued in conjunction with a class C, tavern, class A hotel, or class B 
hotel license that authorizes the person licensed with the class C, tavern, class A hotel, or class B 
hotel to manufacture and brew not more than 18,000 barrels of beer per calendar year in this state 
and sell at its licensed premises the beer produced for consumption on or off the licensed brewery 
premises in the manner provided for in sections 405, 407, and 537. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2005, Act 320, Imd. Eff. Dec. 27, 2005; Am. 2014, Act 353, Imd. Eff. Oct. 17, 2014; --Am. 2018, Act 414, Imd. Eff. Dec. 19, 

2018; --Am. 2021 Act 19, Imd. Eff. Aug. 23, 2021; --Am. 2022, Act 226, Imd Eff. Oct. 14, 2022 
 

436.1107 Definitions; C to L 

 
Sec. 107. 
 

(1) “Cash” means money in hand, bank notes, demand deposits at a bank, or legal tender, that a 
creditor must accept according to law. Cash does not include call loans, postdated checks, or 
promissory notes. 

(2) “Class C license” means a place licensed to sell at retail beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits 
for consumption on the premises. 

(3) “Class G-1 license” means a place licensed to sell at retail beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits 
for consumption on the premises at a golf course having at least 18 holes that measure at least 
5,000 yards and which license is issued only to a facility that permits member access by means of 
payments that include annual paid membership fees. 

(4) “Class G-2 license” means a place licensed to sell at retail beer, wine, and mixed spirit drink for 
consumption on the premises at a golf course having at least 18 holes that measure at least 5,000 
yards and which license is issued only to a facility that permits member access by means of 
payments that include annual paid membership fees. 

(5) “Club” means a nonprofit association, whether incorporated or unincorporated, organized for the 
promotion of some common purpose, the object of which is owning, hiring, or leasing a building, or 
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space in a building, of an extent and character as in the judgment of the commission may be 
suitable and adequate for the reasonable and comfortable use and accommodation of its members 
and their guests, but does not include an association organized for a commercial or business 
purpose. 

(6) “Commission” means the liquor control commission created in section 209. 
(7) “Church” means an entire house or structure set apart primarily for use for purposes of public 

worship, and which is tax exempt under the laws of this state, and in which religious services are 
held and with which a clergyman is associated, and the entire structure of which is kept for that use 
and not put to any other use inconsistent with that use. 

(8) “Distiller” means a person licensed to manufacture and sell spirits or alcohol, or both, of any kind. 
(9) “Hotel” means a building or group of buildings located on the same or adjoining pieces of real 

property, that provide lodging to travelers and temporary residents and that may also provide food 
service and other goods and services to registered guests and to the public. 

(10) “Class A hotel” means a hotel licensed by the commission to sell beer, wine, and mixed spirit drink 
for consumption on the premises only, that provides for the rental of, and maintains the availability 
for rental of, not less than 25 bedrooms if located in a local governmental unit with a population of 
less than 175,000 or not less than 50 bedrooms if located in a local governmental unit with a 
population of 175,000 or more. 

(11) “Class B hotel” means a hotel licensed by the commission to sell beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and 
spirits for consumption on the premises only, that provides for the rental of, and maintains the 
availability for rental of, not less than 25 bedrooms if located in a local governmental unit with a 
population of less than 175,000 or not less than 50 bedrooms if located in a local governmental 
unit with a population of 175,000 or more. 

(12) “Financial records” means any document or summary of information contained in a document, 
including electronic documents, that contains information about the financial activities or position 
of a person including, but not limited to, information about the assets, balance sheets, budgets, 
cash flow, earnings, revenue, expenditures, income, investments, losses, liabilities, payroll, profits, 
retained earnings, or taxes. 

(13) “License” means a contract between the commission and the licensee granting authority to that 
licensee to manufacture and sell, sell, or warehouse alcoholic liquor in the manner provided by this 
act. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2001, Act 223, Eff. Mar. 22, 2002; --Am. 2019, Act 126, Imd Eff. Nov. 21, 2019; --Am. 2021 Act 19, Imd. Eff. Aug. 23, 2021 

 

436.1109 Definitions; M to O. 

 
Sec. 109. 
 

(1) “Manufacture” means to distill, rectify, ferment, brew, make, produce, filter, mix, concoct, process, 
or blend an alcoholic liquor or to complete a portion of 1 or more of these activities.  Manufacture 
does not include bottling or the mixing or other preparation of drinks for serving by those persons 
authorized under this act to serve alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premises.  In 
addition, manufacture does not include attaching a label to a shiner.  All containers or packages of 
alcoholic liquor must state clearly the name, city, and state of the bottler. 

(2) "Manufacturer" means, except as provided in section 603, a person that manufactures alcoholic 
liquor, whether located in or out of the state, including, but not limited to, a distiller, a small distiller, 
a rectifier, a mixed spirit drink manufacturer, a mixed wine drink manufacturer, a wine maker, a 
small wine maker, a brewer, and a micro brewer. 

(3) “Manufacturing premises” means the licensed premises of a manufacturer where the manufacturer 
manufactures alcoholic liquor or, for a small wine maker only, bottles wine.  

(4) "Master distributor" means, except as provided in section 307, a wholesaler that acts in the same 
or similar capacity as a brewer, wine maker, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, outstate seller of wine, 
outstate seller of beer, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink for a brand or brands of beer, wine, or 
mixed spirit drink to other wholesalers on a regular basis in the normal course of business. 

(5) "Micro brewer" means a brewer that manufactures in total less than 60,000 barrels of beer per year 
and that may sell the beer manufactured to consumers at the licensed brewery premises for 
consumption on or off the licensed brewery premises and to retailers as provided in section 203a. 
In determining the 60,000-barrel threshold, all brands and labels of a brewer, whether 
manufactured in this state or outside this state, must be combined and all facilities for the 
manufacturing of beer that are owned or controlled by the same person must be treated as a single 
facility. 



1-4 

(6) "Minor" means an individual less than 21 years of age. 
(7) "Mixed spirit drink" means a drink manufactured and packaged or sold by a mixed spirit drink 

manufacturer or sold by an outstate seller of mixed spirit drink to a wholesaler that meets either of 
the following: 
(a) Contains 10% or less alcohol by volume consisting of spirits mixed with nonalcoholic beverages 

or flavoring or coloring materials and that may also contain 1 or more of the following: 
(i) Water. 
(ii) Fruit juices.  
(iii) Fruit adjuncts.  
(iv) Sugar. 
(v) Carbon dioxide.  
(vi) Preservatives. 

(b) Meets both of the following conditions: 
(i) Contains more than 10% and not more than 13.5% alcohol by volume consisting of spirits 

mixed with nonalcoholic beverage and flavorings or coloring materials and that may also 
contain 1 or more of the ingredients listed in subdivision (a). 

(ii) Is filled in a metal container that meets all of the following conditions: 
(A) The container has the general shape and design of a can that has a liquid capacity that 

does not exceed 24 ounces. 
(B) The container has a closure that is an integral part of the container. 
(C) The container cannot be readily closed after opening. 

(8) "Mixed spirit drink manufacturer" means a person licensed under this act to manufacture mixed 
spirit drink in this state and to sell mixed spirit drink at retail in accordance with section 537 or to a 
wholesaler, or to a retailer as provided in section 203b. For purposes of rules promulgated by the 
commission, a mixed spirit drink manufacturer shall be treated as a wine manufacturer but is subject 
to the rules applicable to spirits for manufacturing and labeling. 

(9) "Mixed wine drink" means a drink or similar product marketed as a wine cooler that contains less 
than 7% alcohol by volume, consists of wine and plain, sparkling, or carbonated water, and contains 
any 1 or more of the following:  
(a) Nonalcoholic beverages.  
(b) Flavoring.  
(c) Coloring materials. 
(d) Fruit juices.  
(e) Fruit adjuncts.  
(f) Sugar. 
(g) Carbon dioxide.  
(h) Preservatives.  

(10) "Outstate seller of beer" means a person licensed by the commission to sell beer that has not been 
manufactured in this state, or beer that the person purchased from a limited production 
manufacturer, to a wholesaler in this state in accordance with rules promulgated by the 
commission.  As used in this subsection, “limited production manufacturer” means a person 
licensed under section 204. 

(11) “Outstate self-distributor” means a person located in another state that is the substantial equivalent 
of a micro brewer, small distiller, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, or small wine maker licensed by 
the commission to sell alcoholic liquor that the person manufactured outside this state directly to a 
retailer under sections 203(20), 203a, and 203b in accordance with rules promulgated by the 
commission. An applicant for an outstate self-distributor license must submit a copy of its federal 
basic permit or brewer's notice and its manufacturing license from the state of issuance. 

(12) "Outstate seller of mixed spirit drink" means a person licensed by the commission to sell mixed 
spirit drink that has not been manufactured in this state to a wholesaler in this state in accordance 
with rules promulgated by the commission. For purposes of rules promulgated by the commission, 
an outstate seller of mixed spirit drink is treated as an outstate seller of wine but is subject to the 
rules applicable to spirits for manufacturing and labeling. 

(13) "Outstate seller of wine" means a person licensed by the commission to sell wine that has not been 
manufactured in this state to a wholesaler in this state in accordance with rules promulgated by the 
commission and to sell sacramental wine as provided in section 301. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2010, Act 213, Imd. Eff. Nov. 17, 2010; -- Am. 2014, Act 42, Imd. Eff. Mar. 25, 2014; --Am. 2018, Act 409, Imd. Eff. 

Dec.19, 2018; -- Am. 2020, Act 80, Imd. Eff. Apr. 2, 2020; -- Am. 2020, Act 120, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020; --Am. 2021 Act 19, Imd. Eff. Aug. 23, 2021 

Constitutionality: In Granholm v Heald, 544 US 460 (2005), the United States Supreme Court held that Michigan laws regulating direct shipment of alcohol to in-state consumers 

discriminated against interstate commerce in violation of clause 3 of section 8 of article 1 of the United States Constitution, and that the powers granted to states under the 21st 
Amendment to the United States Constitution do not authorize violation of other constitutional provisions. 
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436.1111 Definitions; P to S. 
 

Sec. 111. 
 

(1) "Person" means an individual, firm, partnership, limited partnership, association, limited liability 
company, or corporation.  

(2) "Primary source of supply" means, for domestic spirits, the distiller, producer, owner of the 
commodity at the time it becomes a marketable product, or bottler, or the exclusive agent of the 
distiller, producer, owner of the commodity at the time it becomes a marketable product, or bottler 
and, for spirits imported into the United States, either the foreign distiller, producer, owner, or 
bottler, or the prime importer for, or the exclusive agent in the United States of, the foreign distiller, 
producer, owner, or bottler.  

(3) "Professional account" means an account established for a person by a class C licensee or tavern 
licensee whose major business is the sale of food, by which the licensee extends credit to the 
person for not more than 30 days. 

(4) "Residence" means the premises in which a person resides permanently. 
(5) “Restaurant” means a food service establishment defined and licensed under the food law, 2000 

PA 92, MCL 289.1101 to 289.8111.  A restaurant that does not hold a license issued by the 
commission under this act shall not manufacture, market, deliver, or sell alcoholic liquor in this 
state 

(6) “Retailer” means a person licensed by the commission that sells to the consumer in accordance 
with rules promulgated by the commission. Retailer includes a brewpub but does not include a 
manufacturer or supplier, as defined in section 603, that is allowed as a condition of its license to 
sell to consumers in this state. 

(7) "Sacramental wine" means wine containing not more than 24% of alcohol by volume that is used 
for sacramental purposes. 

(8) "Sale" includes the exchange, barter, traffic, furnishing, delivery, or giving away of alcoholic liquor. 
For a sale in which a shipment or delivery of alcoholic liquor is made by a common or other carrier, 
the sale of the alcoholic liquor is considered to be made in the county within which the delivery of 
the alcoholic liquor is made by that carrier to the consignee or his or her agent or employee, and 
venue for the prosecution for that sale may be in the county or city where the seller resides or from 
which the shipment is made or at the place of delivery.  

(9) "School" includes buildings used for school purposes to provide instruction to children in grades 
kindergarten through 12, if that instruction is provided by a public, private, denominational, or 
parochial school, except those buildings used primarily for adult education or college extension 
courses. School does not include a proprietary trade or occupational school. 

(10) “Shiner” means an unlabeled sealed container of wine, including a keg, that is sold by a wine 
maker, small wine maker, or out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a wine maker 
or small wine maker to another wine maker, small wine maker, or out-of-state entity that is the 
substantial equivalent of a wine maker or small wine maker.  The purchasing wine maker or small 
wine maker must attach a label to the container using equipment owned or leased by the 
purchasing wine maker or small wine maker, register the wine label with the commission, and sell 
it as provided for in this act.  

(11) "Small distiller" means a manufacturer of spirits annually manufacturing in this state not more than 
60,000 gallons of spirits, of all brands combined. 

(12) "Small wine maker" means a wine maker manufacturing or bottling not more than 50,000 gallons 
of wine in 1 calendar year.  A small wine maker is not required to bottle wine it manufactures. 

(13) "Special license" means a contract between the commission and the special licensee granting 
authority to that licensee to sell beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or spirits. The license must be 
granted only to the persons and the organization and for the period of time that the commission 
determines if the person or organization is able to demonstrate an existence separate from an 
affiliated umbrella organization. If such an existence is demonstrated, the commission shall not 
deny a special license solely by the applicant's affiliation with an organization that is also eligible 
for a special license. 

(14) "Specially designated distributor" means, subject to section 534, a person engaged in an 
established business licensed by the commission to distribute spirits in the original package for 
the commission for consumption off the premises.  

(15) "Specially designated merchant" means a person to whom the commission grants a license to sell 
beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink at retail for consumption off the licensed premises. 
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(16) "Spirits" means a beverage that contains alcohol obtained by distillation, mixed with potable water 
or other substances, or both, in solution, and includes wine containing an alcoholic content of more 
than 21% by volume, except sacramental wine and mixed spirit drink. 

(17) "State liquor store" means a store established by the commission under this act for the sale of 
spirits in the original package for consumption off the premises. 

(18) “Successor to a supplier that continues business” means a supplier that acquires a brand or 
brands from another supplier and remains in business after it acquires that brand or brands.  As 
used in this subsection, “supplier” means any of the following: 

(a) Brewer. 
(b) Outstate seller of beer. 
(c) Master distributor. 
(d) Wine maker. 
(e) Outstate seller of wine. 

(19) "Supplier of spirits" means a vendor of spirits, a manufacturer of spirits, or a primary source of 
supply. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2008, Act 218, Imd. Eff. July 16, 2008; Am. 2010, Act 213, Eff. November 17, 2010; --Am. 2018, Act 415; Imd. Eff. Dec. 

19, 2018; --Am. 2020, Act 115, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020; --Am. 2021 Act 19, Imd. Eff. Aug. 23, 2021 

 

436.1113 Definitions; T to W. 

 
Sec. 113. 

 
(1) "Tasting room” means any of the following locations: 

(a) A location on the manufacturing premises of a brewer or micro brewer where the brewer 
or micro brewer may provide samples of or sell at retail for consumption on or off the 
premises, or both, beer it manufactures. 

(b) A location on or off the manufacturing premises of a wine maker or small wine maker where 
the wine maker or small wine maker may provide samples of or sell at retail for consumption 
on or off the premises, or both, shiners, wine it manufactured, or, for a small wine maker 
only, wine it bottled. 

(c) A location on or off the manufacturing premises of a distiller or small distiller where the 
distiller or small distiller may provide samples of or sell at retail for consumption on or off 
the premises, or both, spirits it manufactured. 

(d) A location on the manufacturing premises of a mixed spirit drink manufacturer where the 
mixed spirit drink manufacturer may provide samples of or sell at retail for consumption on 
or off the premises, or both, mixed spirit drinks it manufactured. 

(e) A location on or off the manufacturing premises of a brandy manufacturer where the brandy 
manufacturer may provide samples of or sell at retail for consumption on or off the 
premises, or both, brandy it manufactured. 

(2) “Tavern" means any place licensed to sell at retail beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink for 
consumption on the premises only. 

(3) "Vehicle" means any means of transportation by land, by water, or by air. 
(4) "Vendor" means a person licensed by the commission to sell alcoholic liquor. 
(5) "Vendor of spirits" means a person selling spirits to the commission. 
(6) "Warehouse" means a premises or place primarily constructed, used, or provided with facilities 

for the storage in transit or other temporary storage of perishable goods or for the conduct of a 
warehousing business, or for both. 

(7) "Warehouser" means a licensee authorized by the commission to store alcoholic liquor, but 
prohibited from making sales or deliveries to retailers unless the licensee is also the holder of a 
wholesaler or manufacturer license issued by the commission.   

(8) “Wholesaler” means a person that is licensed by the commission and sells beer, wine, or mixed 
spirit drink only to retailers or other licensees, and that sells sacramental wine as provided in 
section 301. A wholesaler includes a person that may also act as a master distributor unless 
prohibited from doing so by its supplier or manufacturer in a written agreement required by either 
section 305(3)(i) or 403(3)(i) and, by mutual agreement with an outstate seller of beer, wine, or 
mixed spirit drink can be authorized by the outstate seller of beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to 
do, in the manner provided by the commission, either or both of the following: 
(a) Register with this state the labels of the outstate seller of beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink. 
(b) On behalf of the outstate seller of beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink, collect excise taxes levied 

by this state and remit the taxes to the commission. 
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(9) "Wine" means a product manufactured by the normal alcoholic fermentation of the juice of 
sound, ripe grapes, or any other fruit with the usual cellar treatment, and containing not more 
than 21% of alcohol by volume, including cider made from apples or pears, or both, that contains 
at least ½ of 1% of alcohol by volume, or mead, or honey wine made from honey, fermented 
fruit juices other than grapes, and mixed wine drinks. 

(10) "Wine maker" means a person licensed by the commission to manufacture wine and to sell that 
wine to a wholesaler, to a consumer by direct shipment, at retail on the licensed winery 
premises, to sell that wine to a retailer, and as provided for in section 537. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2005, Act 269, Imd. Eff. Dec. 16, 2005; Am. 2010, Act 213, Eff. November 17, 2010; --Am. 2018, Act 405, Imd. Eff., Dec. 
19, 2018; --Am. 2021 Act 19, Imd. Eff. Aug. 23, 2021 

Constitutionality: In Granholm v Heald, 544 US 460 (2005), the United States Supreme Court held that Michigan laws regulating direct shipment of alcohol to in-state consumers 
discriminated against interstate commerce in violation of clause 3 of section 8 of article 1 of the United States Constitution, and that the powers granted to states under the 21st 
Amendment to the United States Constitution do not authorize violation of other constitutional provisions. 

Compiler's Notes: Enacting sections 2 and 3 of Act 269 of 2005 provide: “Enacting section 2. (1) If any provision of section 113 of the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 

1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1113, as amended by this amendatory act, is held to be unconstitutional by a court of competent jurisdiction and the allowable time for filing an appeal 
has expired or the appellant has exhausted all of his or her avenues of appeal, section 113 of the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1113, is 
repealed."(2) Section 113a of the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, as added by this amendatory act, shall not take effect unless section 113 of the Michigan 
liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1113, is held unconstitutional or repealed pursuant to subsection (1)."Enacting section 3. If an appellate court declares this 
amendatory act unconstitutional, then it is the intent of the legislature that a good faith effort be made to amend section 305 of the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 
58, MCL 436.1305, to make it less burdensome for a small winery to terminate an agreement with a wholesaler." 

 

436.1113a Definitions; T to W. 

 
Sec. 113a. 

 
(1) "Tasting room” means any of the following locations: 

(a) A location on the manufacturing premises of a brewer or micro brewer where the brewer 
or micro brewer may provide samples of or sell at retail for consumption on or off the 
premises, or both, beer it manufactures. 

(b) A location on or off the manufacturing premises of a wine maker or small wine maker where 
the wine maker or small wine maker may provide samples of or sell at retail for consumption 
on or off the premises, or both, shiners, wine it manufactured, or, for a small wine maker 
only, wine it bottled. 

(c) A location on or off the manufacturing premises of a distiller or small distiller where the 
distiller or small distiller may provide samples of or sell at retail for consumption on or off 
the premises, or both, spirits it manufactured. 

(d) A location on the manufacturing premises of a mixed spirit drink manufacturer where the 
mixed spirit drink manufacturer may provide samples of or sell at retail for consumption on 
or off the premises, or both, mixed spirit drinks it manufactured. 

(e) A location on or off the manufacturing premises of a brandy manufacturer where the brandy 
manufacturer may provide samples of or sell at retail for consumption on or off the 
premises, or both, brandy it manufactured. 

(2) “Tavern" means any place licensed to sell at retail beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink for 
consumption on the premises only. 

(3) "Vehicle" means any means of transportation by land, by water, or by air. 
(4) "Vendor" means a person licensed by the commission to sell alcoholic liquor. 
(5) "Vendor of spirits" means a person selling spirits to the commission. 
(6) "Warehouse" means a premises or place primarily constructed, used, or provided with facilities 

for the storage in transit or other temporary storage of perishable goods or for the conduct of a 
warehousing business, or for both. 

(7) "Warehouser" means a licensee authorized by the commission to store alcoholic liquor, but 
prohibited from making sales or deliveries to retailers unless the licensee is also the holder of a 
wholesaler or manufacturer license issued by the commission.   

(8) “Wholesaler” means a person that is licensed by the commission and sells beer, wine, or mixed 
spirit drink only to retailers or other licensees, and that sells sacramental wine as provided in 
section 301. A wholesaler includes a person who may also act as a master distributor unless 
prohibited from doing so by its supplier or manufacturer in a written agreement required by either 
section 305(3)(i) or 403(3)(i) and, by mutual agreement with an outstate seller of beer, wine, or 
mixed spirit drink, can be authorized by the outstate seller of beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to 
do, in the manner prescribed by the commission, either or both of the following: 
(a) Register with this state the labels of the outstate seller of beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink. 
(b) On behalf of the outstate seller of beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink, collect excise taxes levied 

by this state and remit the taxes to the commission. 
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(9) "Wine" means a product manufactured by the normal alcoholic fermentation of the juice of sound, 
ripe grapes, or any other fruit with the usual cellar treatment, and containing not more than 21% 
of alcohol by volume, including cider made from apples or pears, or both, that contains at least 
1/2 of 1% of alcohol by volume, or mead or honey wine made from honey, fermented fruit juices 
other than grapes, and mixed wine drinks. 

(10) "Wine maker" means any person licensed by the commission to manufacture wine, to sell that 
wine to a wholesaler, to sell that wine by direct shipment to a consumer, at retail on the licensed 
winery premises, and as provided for in section 537 but not to sell wine to a retailer. 

History: Add. 2005, Act 269, Eff. (pending); Am. 2010, Act 213, Eff. November 17, 2010; --Am. 2018, Act 416, Imd. Eff. Dec. 19, 2018; --Am. 2021 Act 19, Imd. Eff. Aug. 23, 
2021 

Compiler's Notes: Enacting sections 2 and 3 of Act 269 of 2005 provide: “Enacting section 2. (1) If any provision of section 113 of the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 
1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1113, as amended by this amendatory act, is held to be unconstitutional by a court of competent jurisdiction and the allowable time for filing an appeal 
has expired or the appellant has exhausted all of his or her avenues of appeal, section 113 of the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1113, is 
repealed."(2) Section 113a of the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, as added by this amendatory act, shall not take effect unless section 113 of the Michigan 
liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1113, is held unconstitutional or repealed pursuant to subsection (1)."Enacting section 3. If an appellate court declares this 
amendatory act unconstitutional, then it is the intent of the legislature that a good faith effort be made to amend section 305 of the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 
58, MCL 436.1305, to make it less burdensome for a small winery to terminate an agreement with a wholesaler." 
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CHAPTER 2 
 
 

436.1201 Alcoholic liquor; manufacture, sale, possession, or transportation lawful; 
terms, conditions, limitations, and restrictions; right, power, and duty of 
commission to control alcoholic beverage traffic and traffic in other 
alcoholic liquor; unreasonable discrimination against Michigan 
manufacturers prohibited; enforcement of act and rules; willful neglect or 
refusal of officer to perform duties as misdemeanor; penalty. 

 
Sec. 201. 
 

(1) On and after December 15, 1933, it shall be lawful to manufacture for sale, sell, offer for sale, 
keep for sale, possess, or transport any alcoholic liquor, as defined in this act, including alcoholic 
liquor used for medicinal, mechanical, chemical, or scientific purposes and wine used for 
sacramental purposes, subject to the terms, conditions, limitations, and restrictions contained in 
this act, and only as provided for in this act.  

(2) Except as otherwise provided in this act, the commission shall have the sole right, power, and 
duty to control the alcoholic beverage traffic and traffic in other alcoholic liquor within this state, 
including the manufacture, importation, possession, transportation and sale thereof. 

(3) A rule, regulation, or order made by the commission shall not unreasonably discriminate against 
Michigan manufacturers of alcoholic liquor. 

(4) A peace officer or law enforcement officer of this state or a county, township, city, village, state 
university, or community college or an inspector of the commission is authorized, and it is the duty 
of each of them, to enforce the provisions of this act and the rules promulgated by the commission 
within his or her respective jurisdiction. It is the special duty of an officer described in this section 
to use his or her utmost efforts to repress and prevent crime and the violation of any of the 
provisions of this act. An officer described in this section who willfully neglects or refuses to 
perform the duties imposed upon him or her by this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon 
conviction shall be fined not more than $500.00 or imprisoned in the county jail not more than 90 
days, or both. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
 

436.1203 Sale, delivery, or importation of alcoholic liquor or wine; duties of direct 
shipper of wine; common carrier; verification that individual accepting 
delivery is 21 year of age or older; original purchase and importation into 
state of spirits for sale, use, storage, or distribution; requirements; 
exceptions; direct shipper license required; application; fee; violation; 
delivery of beer and wine to home or designated location of consumer; 
holder of specially designated merchant license; delivery  or sale of beer, 
wine, or spirits by third party facilitator; sale or delivery or beer by micro 
brewer to retailer; reports; retention of books, records, and documents; 
disclosure; definitions. 

 
Sec. 203. 
 

(1) Except as provided in this section and section 301, a person shall not sell, deliver, or import 
alcoholic liquor, including alcoholic liquor for personal use, in this state unless the sale, delivery, or 
importation is made by the commission, the commission's authorized agent or distributor, an 
authorized distribution agent approved by order of the commission, a person licensed by the 
commission, or by prior written order of the commission. 

(2) Notwithstanding R 436.1011(7)(b) and R 436.1527 of the Michigan Administrative Code and except 
as provided in subsections (3), (12), (13), (14), (15), and (16), a retailer shall not deliver alcoholic 
liquor to a consumer in this state at the home or business of the consumer or at any location away 
from the licensed premises of the retailer. The purpose of this subsection is to exercise this state’s 
authority under section 2 of Amendment XXI of the Constitution of the United States, to maintain 
the inherent police powers to regulate the transportation and delivery of alcoholic liquor, and to 
promote a transparent system for the transportation and delivery of alcoholic liquor. The regulation 
described in this subsection is considered necessary for both of the following reasons: 
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(a) To promote the public health, safety, and welfare. 
(b) To maintain strong, stable, and effective regulation by having beer and wine sold by retailers 

to consumers in this state by passing through the 3-tier distribution system established under 
this act. 

(3) For purposes of subsection (1), a qualified retailer that holds a specially designated merchant 
license located in this state may use a common carrier to deliver beer, wine, and mixed spirit drink 
to a consumer in this state. A qualified retailer that holds a specially designated distributor license 
located in this state may use a common carrier to deliver spirits to a consumer in this state. A 
qualified retailer that uses a common carrier to deliver beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or spirits to a 
consumer under this subsection shall comply with all of the following: 
(a) Pay any applicable taxes to the commission and pay any applicable taxes to the department 

of treasury as directed by the department of treasury.  On the request of the department of 
treasury, a qualified retailer shall furnish an affidavit to verify payment. 

(b) Comply with all laws of this state, including, but not limited to, the prohibition on sales to minors. 
(c) Verify the age of the individual placing the order by obtaining from him or her a copy of a photo 

identification issued by this state, another state, or the federal government or by using an 
identification verification service.  The person receiving and accepting the order on behalf of 
the qualified retailer shall record the name, address, date of birth, and telephone number of the 
individual placing the order on the order form or other verifiable record of a type and generated 
in a manner approved by the commission and provide a duplicate to the commission. 

(d) On request of the commission, make available to the commission any document used to verify 
the age of the individual ordering or receiving the beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or spirits from 
the qualified retailer. 

(e) Stamp, print, or label on the outside of the shipping container that the package “Contains 
Alcohol.  Must be delivered to a person 21 years of age or older”.  The recipient at the time of 
the delivery shall provide identification verifying his or her age and sign for the delivery. 

(f) Place a label on the top panel of the shipping container containing the name and address of 
the individual placing the order. 

(g) For a qualified retailer that has been issued licenses at 2 or more locations, the shipment of 
the beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or spirits must be fulfilled from the location nearest to the 
consumer unless that location does not have the beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or spirits 
ordered in stock. 

(4) For purposes of subsection (1), a direct shipper may sell, deliver, or import wine to consumers in 
this state by means of any mail order, internet, telephone, computer, device, or other electronic 
means, or sell directly to a consumer on the winery premises. A direct shipper that sells, delivers, 
or imports wine to a consumer under this subsection shall comply with all of the following: 
(a) Hold a direct shipper license. 
(b) Pay any applicable taxes to the commission and pay any applicable taxes to the department 

of treasury as directed by the department of treasury. On the request of the department of 
treasury, a direct shipper shall furnish an affidavit to verify payment. 

(c) Comply with all the laws of this state, including, but not limited to, the prohibition on sales to 
minors. 

(d) Verify the age of the individual placing the order by obtaining from him or her a copy of a photo 
identification issued by this state, another state, or the federal government or by using an 
identification verification service. The person receiving and accepting the order on behalf of the 
direct shipper shall record the name, address, date of birth, and telephone number of the 
individual placing the order on the order form or other verifiable record of a type and generated 
in a manner approved by the commission and provide a duplicate to the commission. 

(e) On request of the commission, make available to the commission any document used to verify 
the age of the individual ordering or receiving the wine from the direct shipper. 

(f) Stamp, print, or label on the outside of the shipping container that the package "Contains 
Alcohol. Must be delivered to a person 21 years of age or older." The recipient at the time of 
the delivery shall provide photo identification verifying his or her age and sign for the delivery. 

(g) Place a label on the top panel of the shipping container containing the name and address of 
the individual placing the order and the name of the designated recipient if different from the 
name of the individual placing the order.  The direct shipper must have received a registration 
number of approval from the commission for any wine imported into this state.  However, the 
registration number of approval is not required to be on the invoice or on the label of the wine 
that the direct shipper sells, delivers, or imports to a consumer in this state. 
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(h) Direct ship not more than 1,500 9-liter cases, or 13,500 liters in total, of wine in a calendar year 
to consumers in this state. If a direct shipper, whether located in this state or outside this state, 
owns, in whole or in part, or commonly manages 1 or more direct shippers, it shall not in 
combination ship to consumers in this state more than 13,500 liters of wine in the aggregate. 

(i) Pay wine taxes quarterly and report to the commission quarterly the total amount of wine, by 
type, brand, and price, shipped to consumers in this state during the preceding calendar 
quarter, and the order numbers. 

(j) Authorize and allow the commission and the department of treasury to conduct an audit of the 
direct shipper's records. 

(k) Consent and submit to the jurisdiction of the commission, the department of treasury, and the 
courts of this state concerning enforcement of this section and any related laws, rules, and 
regulations. 

(l) For a direct shipper that is a wine manufacturer as described in subsection (10)(b), direct ship 
only the wine that the wine manufacturer has manufactured and registered with the 
commission, wine purchased from another wine manufacturer and further manufactured or 
bottled and registered with the commission, or labeled shiners purchased from another 
manufacturer in compliance with section 204a and registered with the commission. 

(5) For a delivery of beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or spirits through the use of a common carrier under 
subsection (3), a person taking the order on behalf of the qualified retailer shall comply with 
subsection (3)(b) to (f). For a sale, delivery, or importation of wine occurring by any means 
described in subsection (4), a person taking the order on behalf of the direct shipper shall comply 
with subsection (4)(c) to (g). 

(6) A person that delivers the wine for a direct shipper under this section shall verify that the individual 
accepting delivery is 21 years of age or older and is the individual who placed the order or the 
designated recipient, is an individual 21 years of age or older currently occupying or present at the 
address, or is an individual otherwise authorized through a rule promulgated under this act by the 
commission to receive alcoholic liquor under this section. If the delivery person, after a diligent 
inquiry, determines that the purchaser or designated recipient is not 21 years of age or older, the 
delivery person shall return the wine to the direct shipper. A delivery person who returns wine to 
the direct shipper because the purchaser or designated recipient is not 21 years of age or older is 
not liable for any damages suffered by the purchaser or direct shipper. 

(7) All spirits for sale, use, storage, or distribution in this state, must originally be purchased by and 
imported into the state by the commission, or by prior written authority of the commission  

(8) This section does not apply to alcoholic liquor brought into this state for personal or household use 
in an amount permitted by federal law by an individual 21 years of age or older at the time of reentry 
into this state from outside the territorial limits of the United States if the individual has been outside 
the territorial limits of the United States for more than 48 hours and has not brought alcoholic liquor 
into the United States during the preceding 30 days. 

(9) An individual 21 years of age or older may do either of the following in relation to alcoholic liquor 
that contains less than 21% alcohol by volume: 
(a) Personally transport from another state, once in a 24-hour period, not more than 312 ounces 

of alcoholic liquor for that individual's personal use, notwithstanding subsection (1). 
(b) Ship or import from another state alcoholic liquor for that individual's personal use if that 

personal importation is done in compliance with subsection (1). 
(10) A direct shipper shall not sell, deliver, or import wine to a consumer unless it applies for and is 

granted a direct shipper license from the commission. This subsection does not prohibit wine tasting 
or the selling at retail by a wine maker of wines he or she produced and bottled or wine 
manufactured for that wine maker by another wine manufacturer, if done in compliance with this 
act. Only the following persons qualify for the issuance of a direct shipper license: 
(a) A wine maker. 
(b) A wine manufacturer that is located inside this country but outside of this state and that holds 

both a federal basic permit issued by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau of the 
United States Department of Treasury and a license to manufacture wine in its state of domicile. 

(11) An applicant for a direct shipper license shall submit an application to the commission in a written 
or electronic format provided by the commission and accompanied by an application and initial 
license fee of $100.00. The initial application must be accompanied by a copy or other verifiable 
evidence of the existing federal basic permit or license, or both, held by the applicant. The direct 
shipper may renew its license annually by submission of a license renewal fee of $100.00 and a 
completed renewal application. The commission shall use the fees collected under this section to 
conduct investigations and audits of direct shippers. The failure to renew, or the revocation or 
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suspension of, the applicant's existing Michigan license, federal basic permit, or license to 
manufacture wine in its state of domicile is grounds for revocation or denial of a direct shipper 
license. If a direct shipper is found guilty of violating this act or a rule promulgated by the 
commission, the commission shall notify both the alcoholic liquor control agency in the direct 
shipper's state of domicile and the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau of the United States 
Department of Treasury of the violation. 

(12) A retailer that holds a specially designated merchant license, a brewpub, a micro brewer, or an out-
of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a brewpub or micro brewer may deliver beer, 
wine, or mixed spirit drink, as allowed by the license the retailer holds, to the home or other 
designated location of a consumer in this state if all of the following conditions are met: 
(a) The beer or wine, or mixed spirit drink is delivered by the retailer's, brewpub's, or micro brewer's 

employee. 
(b) The retailer, brewpub, or micro brewer or its employee who delivers the beer or wine, or both, 

verifies that the individual accepting delivery is at least 21 years of age. 
(c) If the retailer, brewpub, or micro brewer or its employee intends to provide service to 

consumers, the retailer, brewpub, or micro brewer or its employee providing the service has 
successfully completed a server training program as provided for in section 906. 

(13) A retailer that holds a specially designated merchant license may use a third party that provides 
delivery service to municipalities in this state that are surrounded by water and inaccessible by 
motor vehicle to deliver beer, wine, and mixed spirit drink to the home or other designated location 
of that consumer if the delivery service is approved by the commission and agrees to verify that the 
individual accepting delivery of the beer, wine and mixed spirit drink is at least 21 years of age. 

(14) A retailer that holds a specially designated distributor license may deliver spirits to the home or 
other designated location of a consumer in this state if all of the following conditions are met: 
(a) The spirits are delivered by the retailer’s employee. 
(b) The retailer or its employee who delivers the spirits verifies that the individual accepting delivery 

is at least 21 years of age. 
(c) If the retailer or its employee intends to provide service to consumers, the retailer or its 

employee providing the service has successfully completed a server training program as 
provided in section 906.. 

(15)  A qualified retailer that holds a specially designated merchant license located in this state may use 
a third party facilitator service by means of the internet or mobile application to facilitate the sale of 
beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to be delivered to the home or designated location of a consumer 
as provided in subsection (12), this subsection, or subsection (3), and a third party facilitator service 
may deliver beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to a consumer on behalf of a qualified retailer that 
holds a specially designated merchant license located in this state, if all of the following conditions 
are met: 
(a) If the third party facilitator service delivers beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink under this 

subsection, the third party facilitator service verifies that the individual accepting the delivery of 
the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink is at least 21 years of age. 

(b) A manufacturer, warehouser, wholesaler, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, 
supplier of spirits, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink does not have a direct or indirect 
interest in the third party facilitator service. 

(c) A manufacturer, warehouser, wholesaler, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, 
supplier of spirits, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink does not aid or assist the third party 
facilitator service by gift, loan of money or property of any description, or other valuable thing 
as defined in section 609, and the third party facilitator service does not accept same. 

(d) The qualified retailer or consumer pays the fees associated with the deliveries provided for 
under this subsection. 

(e) The third party facilitator service offers services for all brands available at the retail location. 
(16) A qualified retailer that holds a specially designated distributor license located in this state may use 

a third party facilitator service by means of the internet or mobile application to facilitate the sale of 
spirits to be delivered to the home or designated location of a consumer as provided in subsection 
(14) or this subsection, and a third party facilitator service may deliver spirits to a consumer on 
behalf of a retailer that holds a specially designated distributor license located in this state, if all of 
the following conditions are met:: 
(a) If the third party facilitator service delivers spirits under this subsection, the third party facilitator 

service verifies that the individual accepting the delivery of the spirits is at least 21 years of age 
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(b) A manufacturer, warehouser, wholesaler, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, 
supplier of spirits, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink does not have a direct or indirect 
interest in the third party facilitator service. 

(c) A manufacturer, warehouser, wholesaler, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or 
supplier of spirits, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink does not aid or assist a third party 
facilitator service by gift, loan of money or property of any description, or other valuable thing 
as defined in section 609, and a third party facilitator service does not accept the same. 

(d) The qualified retailer or consumer pays the fees associated with the deliveries provided for 
under this subsection. 

(e) The third party facilitator service offers services for all brands available at the retail location. 
(17) A third party facilitator service shall not deliver beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or spirits to a consumer 

under subsection (15) or (16), as applicable, and shall not facilitate the sale of beer, wine, mixed 
spirit drink, or spirits under subsection (15) or (16), as applicable, unless it applies for and is granted 
a third party facilitator service license by the commission.  The commission may charge a 
reasonable application fee, initial license fee, and annual license renewal fee.  The commission 
shall establish a fee under this subsection by written order. 

(18) If a third party facilitator service used by a retailer that holds a specially designated merchant or 
specially designated distributor license under subsection (15) or (16), as applicable, violates this 
section, the commission shall not treat the third party facilitator service’s violation as a violation by 
the retailer.  

(19) A common carrier that carries or transports alcoholic liquor into this state to a person in this state 
shall submit quarterly reports to the commission.  A report required under this subsection must 
include all of the following about each delivery to a consumer in this state during the preceding 
calendar quarter: 
(a) The name and business address of the person that ships the alcoholic liquor. 
(b) The name and address of the recipient of the alcoholic liquor.  
(c) The weight of the alcoholic liquor delivered to a consignee. 
(d) The date of the delivery. 

(20) For purposes of subsection (1), a qualified small distiller or an out-of-state entity that is the 
substantial equivalent of a qualified small distiller may sell and deliver spirits that it manufactured 
to a retailer licensed to purchase and sell spirits in this state if all of the following conditions are 
met: 
(a) The spirits are sold and delivered by an employee of the qualified small distiller or an out-of-

state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a qualified small distiller, not an agent, and are 
transported and delivered using a vehicle owned by the qualified small distiller or the out-of-
state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a qualified small distiller. 

(b) The qualified small distiller or an out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a qualified 
small distiller complies with all applicable state and federal law and applicable regulatory 
provisions of this act and rules adopted by the commission under this act including, but not 
limited to, those requirements related to each of the following: 
(i) Employees that sell and deliver spirits to retailers. 
(ii) Vehicles used to deliver spirits to retailers. 
(iii) Uniform pricing established by the commission under section 233. 
(iv) Labeling and registration of spirits under R 436.1829 of the Michigan Administrative Code. 
(v) Payment of taxes. 

(c) The spirits are not listed in the state of Michigan price book. 
(21) A common carrier described in subsection (19) shall maintain the books, records, and documents 

supporting a report submitted under subsection (19) for 3 years unless the commission notifies the 
common carrier in writing that the books, records, and supporting documents may be destroyed.  
Within 30 days after the commission’s request, the common carrier shall make the books, records, 
and documents available for inspection during normal business hours.  Within 30 days after a local 
law enforcement agency’s or local governmental unit’s request, the common carrier shall also make 
the books, records, and documents available for inspection to a local law enforcement agency or 
local governmental unit where the carrier resides or does business. 

(22) A third party facilitator service that delivers beer, wine, mixed spirit drink or spirits to a consumer 
under subsection (15) or (16), as applicable, shall submit quarterly reports to the commission.  A 
report required under this subsection must include all of the following about each delivery to a 
consumer in this state during the preceding calendar quarter: 
(a) The name and business address of the person that ships beer, wine, mixed spirit drink or spirits. 
(b) The name and address of the recipient of beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or spirits. 
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(c) The weight of beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or spirits delivered to a consignee. 
(d) The date of the delivery. 

(23) A third party facilitator service shall maintain the books, records, and documents supporting a report 
submitted under subsection (22) for 3 years unless the commission notifies the third party facilitator 
service in writing that the books, records, and supporting documents may be destroyed.  Within 30 
days after the commission’s request, the third party facilitator service shall make the books, 
records, and documents available for inspection during normal business hours.  Within 30 days 
after a local law enforcement agency’s or local governmental unit’s request, the third party facilitator 
service shall also make the books, records, and documents available for inspection to a local law 
enforcement agency or local governmental unit where the third party facilitator service resides or 
does business. 

(24) A report submitted under subsection (19) or (22) is subject to disclosure under the freedom of 
information act, 1976 PA 442, MCL 15.231 to 15.246. 

(25) As used in this section: 
(a) “Common carrier” means a company that transports goods, on reasonable request, on regular 

routes and at set rates. 
(b) "Computer" means any connected, directly interoperable or interactive device, equipment, or 

facility that uses a computer program or other instructions to perform specific operations 
including logical, arithmetic, or memory functions with or on computer data or a computer 
program and that can store, retrieve, alter, or communicate the results of the operations to a 
person, computer program, computer, computer system, or computer network. 

(c) "Computer network" means the interconnection of hardwire or wireless communication lines 
with a computer through remote terminals, or a complex consisting of 2 or more interconnected 
computers. 

(d) "Computer program" means a series of internal or external instructions communicated in a form 
acceptable to a computer that directs the functioning of a computer, computer system, or 
computer network in a manner designed to provide or produce products or results from the 
computer, computer system, or computer network. 

(e) "Computer system" means a set of related, connected or unconnected, computer equipment, 
devices, software, or hardware. 

(f) "Consumer" means an individual who purchases beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or spirits for 
personal consumption and not for resale. 

(g) "Device" includes, but is not limited to, an electronic, magnetic, electrochemical, biochemical, 
hydraulic, optical, or organic object that performs input, output, or storage functions by the 
manipulation of electronic, magnetic, or other impulses. 

(h) "Diligent inquiry" means a diligent good faith effort to determine the age of an individual, that 
includes at least an examination of an official Michigan operator's or chauffeur's license, an 
official Michigan personal identification card, or any other bona fide picture identification that 
establishes the identity and age of the individual. 

(i) "Direct shipper" means either of the following: 
(i) A wine manufacturer that sells, delivers, or imports wine it has manufactured, bottled, and 

registered with the commission, to consumers in this state or that is transacted or caused 
to be transacted through the use of any mail order, internet, telephone, computer, device, 
or other electronic means, or sells directly to consumers on the winery premises. 

(ii) A wine manufacturer that purchases wine from another wine manufacturer and further 
manufactures or bottles the wine or purchases shiners of wine from another wine 
manufacturer in compliance with section 204a, registers the wine with the commission and 
sells the wine to consumers in this state that is transacted or caused to be transacted 
through the use of any mail order, internet, telephone, computer, device, or other electronic 
means, or sells directly to consumers on the winery premises. 

(j) “Facilitate” means, subject to subdivision (k), advertising on behalf of a retailer, by means of 
the internet or mobile application, and pursuant to a written or oral agreement, the brands and 
prices of beer, wine, or spirits products sold by a retailer and 1 or more of the following: 
(i) Assisting the retailer, in any manner, in the arrangement of delivery as allowed in this 

section. 
(ii) Assisting the retailer, in any manner, in the processing of payment by the consumer for the 

beer, wine, or spirits. 
(iii) Transmitting customer information to the retailer. 
(iv) Assisting the retailer by providing customer service. 
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(v) If the retailer maintains supervision and control over the day-to-day operation of its 
business, providing other normal and customary operational services. 

(k) “Facilitate” does not include web designing, operating an internet search engine, or publishing 
an internet version of a newspaper. 

(l) "Identification verification service" means an internet-based service approved by the 
commission specializing in age and identity verification. 

(m) “Mobile application” means a specialized software program downloaded onto a wireless 
communication device. 

(n) "Qualified retailer" means a retailer licensed to sell alcoholic liquor for consumption off the 
premises that complies with all of the following: 
(i) The retailer maintains physical licensed premises that are open to the general public for 

face-to-face sales transactions of alcoholic liquor, packaged food, and other products to 
consumers. 

(ii) At least 25% of the retailer's annual gross sales of alcoholic liquor must be from face-to-
face sales transactions with consumers on the premises described in subparagraph (i) 
unless the retailer's physical licensed premises is less than 15,000 square feet in total. 

(iii) The retailer holds and maintains either of the following for the premises described in 
subparagraph (i): 
(A) A retail food establishment license issued under the food law, 2000 PA 92, MCL 

289.1101 to 289.8111. As used in this sub-subparagraph, "retail food establishment" 
means that term as defined in section 1111 of the food law, 2000 PA 92, MCL 
289.1111. 

(B) An extended retail food establishment license issued under the food law, 2000 PA 92, 
MCL 289.1101 to 289.8111. As used in this sub-subparagraph, "extended retail food 
establishment" means that term as defined in section 1107 of the food law, 2000 PA 
92, MCL 289.1107. 

(o) "Qualified small distiller" means a small distiller, or an out-of-state entity that is the substantial 
equivalent of a small distiller, that sells under 3,000 gallons of spirits per calendar year directly 
to retailers located in this state or out-of-state entities that are the substantial equivalent of 
retailers. If a small distiller or an out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a 
qualified small distiller manufactures spirits at more than 1 location, the total number of gallons 
of spirits sold to retailers or out-of-state entities that are the substantial equivalent of retailers 
from all locations must be combined to determine the 3,000-gallon threshold. 

(p) “Third party facilitator service” means a person licensed by the commission to do any of the 
following: 
(i) Facilitate the sale of beer, wine, and mixed spirit drink to a consumer as provided in 

subsection (15) on behalf of a qualified retailer that holds a specially designated merchant 
license located in this state. 

(ii) Facilitate the sale of spirits to a consumer as provided in subsection (16) on behalf of a 
qualified retailer that holds a specially designated distributor license located in this state. 

(iii) Deliver beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to a consumer as provided in subsection (15) on 
behalf of a qualified retailer that holds a specially designated merchant license located in 
this state. 

(iv) Deliver spirits to a consumer as provided in subsection (16) on behalf of a qualified retailer 
that holds as specially designated distributor license located in this state. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2000, Act 289, Imd. Eff. July 10, 2000; -- Am. 2005, Act 268, Imd. Eff. Dec. 16, 2005; -- Am. 2008, Act 474, Eff. Mar. 31, 
2009; -- Am. 2014, Act 50, Imd. Eff. Mar. 25, 2014; --Am. 2016, Act 520, Eff. Mar. 29, 2017; --Am. 2020, Act 106, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020; -- Am. 2021, Act 16, Eff. Aug. 23, 2021 
 
Compiler's Notes: Enacting section 2 of Act 268 of 2005 provides: “Enacting section 2. If an appellate court declares this amendatory act unconstitutional, then it is the intent of 
the legislature that a good faith effort be made to amend section 305 of the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1305, to make it less burdensome for a 
small winery to terminate an agreement with a wholesaler.”  
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436.1203a Liquor; manufacturer; self-distribution limit of micro brewers. 

 
Sec. 203a 
 

(1) The legislature finds that the 3-tier system is necessary to protect public health and safety of 
Michigan residents and to promote competition and access to market for all alcoholic beverage 
suppliers. 

(2) The legislature further finds that vertical integration of the alcoholic beverage industry is contrary 
to this state’s interest in protecting public health and safety of Michigan residents and leads to anti-
competitive behavior by beverage alcohol suppliers. 

(3) The legislature further finds that the 3-tier system and the prohibitions under section 603 achieve 
the following public policy goals: 
(a) Promote consumer choice and product variety by providing a platform that provides all 

suppliers access to Michigan’s beverage alcohol market. 
(b) Encourage wholesalers to invest in their businesses and all the brands they distribute, free 

from undue interference from the suppliers of the brands they distribute. 
(c) Create a transparent and accountable alcohol distribution system that allows the commission 

to prevent the manufacture, distribution, or sale of counterfeit, adulterated, unregistered, 
recalled, or prohibited alcoholic beverages. 

(4) This state has an interest in creating market access for all sizes of suppliers and finds that micro 
brewers create competition and variety in Michigan’s beer market. 

(5) For the purposes of creating access to Michigan’s beer market while also preserving the 3-tier 
system and limiting vertical integration, a micro brewer or an out-of-state entity that is the 
substantial equivalent of a micro brewer may sell and deliver beer to a retailer in this state only if 
all of the following conditions are met: 
(a) The retailer is not located in a sales territory for which the micro brewer or out-of-state entity 

that is the substantial equivalent of a micro brewer has granted exclusive sales rights to a 
wholesaler under sections 401 and 403 for the sale of any brand or brands of beer produced 
by the micro brewer or out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a micro brewer. 

(b) The beer is sold and delivered by an employee of the micro brewer or out-of-state entity that is 
the substantial equivalent of a micro brewer, not an agent, and is transported and delivered 
using a vehicle owned by the micro brewer or out-of-state entity that is the substantial 
equivalent of a micro brewer. 

(c) The micro brewer or out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a micro brewer is in 
compliance with applicable state and federal law and applicable regulatory provisions of this 
act and rules promulgated by the commission under this act, including, but not limited to, those 
requirements related to each of the following: 

(i) Employees that sell and deliver beer to retailers. 
(ii) Vehicles used to deliver beer to retailers. 
(iii) Price schedules and temporary price reductions. 
(iv) 1976 IL 1, MCL 445.571 to 445.576. 

(d) The micro brewer or out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a micro brewer sells 
not more than 2,000 barrels of beer total per year. In determining the 2,000-barrel threshold 
under this subdivision, all brands and labels of a micro brewer or out-of-state equivalent of a 
micro brewer, whether sold to a wholesaler or a retailer in this state or outside of this state, 
must be combined. Sales to consumers on the licensed premises of the micro brewer or out-
of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a micro brewer are not included in 
determining the 2,000-barrel threshold under this subdivision. 

 
History: 2020, Act 107, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020 
 

436.1203b Sale and delivery of mixed spirit drink by mixed spirt drink manufacturer or 
substantially-equivalent out-of-state entity to retailer; requirements. 

 
Sec. 203b 
 
Notwithstanding anything in this act to the contrary, a mixed spirit drink manufacturer or an out-of-state 
entity that is the substantial equivalent of a mixed spirit drink manufacturer may sell and deliver mixed 
spirit drink that it manufactures to a retailer in this state only if all of the following conditions are met: 

(a) The retailer is not located in a sales territory for which the mixed spirit drink manufacturer or out-
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of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a mixed spirit drink manufacturer has granted 
exclusive sales rights to a wholesaler under section 307 for the sale of any brand or brands of 
mixed spirit drink produced by the mixed spirit drink manufacturer or out-of-state entity that is the 
substantial equivalent of a mixed spirit drink manufacturer. 

(b) The mixed spirit drink is sold and delivered by an employee of the mixed spirit drink manufacturer 
or out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a mixed spirit drink manufacturer, not an 
agent, and is transported and delivered using a vehicle owned by the mixed spirit drink 
manufacturer or out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a mixed spirit drink 
manufacturer. 

(c) The mixed spirit drink manufacturer or out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a 
mixed spirit drink manufacturer is in compliance with applicable state and federal law and 
applicable regulatory provisions of this act and rules promulgated by the commission under this 
act related to each of the following: 
(i) Employees that sell and deliver mixed spirit drink to retailers. 
(ii) Vehicles used to deliver mixed spirit drink to retailers. 
(iii) Price schedules and temporary price reductions. 
(iv) 1976 IL 1, MCL 445.571 to 445.576. 
(v) Labeling and registration of mixed spirit drink. 
(vi) Payment of taxes. 

(d) The mixed spirit drink manufacturer or out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a 
mixed spirit drink manufacturer sells not more than 31,000 gallons of mixed spirit drink total per 
year. In determining the 31,000-gallon threshold under this subdivision, all brands and labels of a 
mixed spirit drink manufacturer or out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a mixed 
spirit drink manufacturer, whether sold to a wholesaler or a retailer in this state or outside of this 
state, must be combined. Sales to consumers on the licensed premises of the mixed spirit drink 
manufacturer or out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a mixed spirit drink 
manufacturer are not included in determining the 31,000-gallon threshold under this subdivision. 

 
History: Add. 2021, Act 17, Eff. Aug. 23, 2021 

 

436.1204 Importation of liquor into this state; requirements; exceptions; inspection by 
the commission. 

 
Sec. 204 
 

(1) Except for an individual who brings, transports, ships, or imports alcoholic liquor into this state 
under section 203(8) or (9), as applicable, for a retailer, or for sacramental wines imported under 
section 301, a person shall not sell, deliver, or import beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink in this state 
unless the person is 1 of the following: 
(a) A supplier as that term is defined in section 603. 
(b) A licensed direct shipper described in section 203(10). 
(c) A wholesaler. 

(2) Except for an individual who brings, transports, ships, or imports alcoholic liquor into this state 
under section 203(8) or (9), as applicable, for a retailer, or for sacramental wines imported under 
section 301 a person described in subsection (1) may only sell, deliver, or import beer, wine, or 
mixed spirit drink in this state in 1 of the following ways: 
(a) A licensed direct shipper may sell to a consumer under section 203. 
(b) An outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, may 

deliver the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to the licensed premises of the wholesalers 
designated to sell and deliver the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to the individual licensed 
location of the retailer in the wholesaler’s sales territory under section 305 or 403, as 
applicable. 

(c) A wholesaler that picks up the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink from the premises of an outstate 
seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, may deliver the 
beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to the licensed premises of the wholesaler designated to sell 
and deliver the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to the individual licensed location of the retailer 
in the wholesaler’s sales territory under section 305 or 403, as applicable. 

(d) An outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink may 
deliver the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to its licensed premises in this state.  However, the 
beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink must be delivered to the licensed premises of the wholesaler 
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designated to sell and deliver the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to the individual licensed 
location of the retailer in the wholesaler’s sales territory under section 305 or 403, as 
applicable 

(e) A brewer, wine maker, or mixed spirit drink manufacturer that has a manufacturing plant 
located outside of this state may deliver the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink manufactured in 
the manufacturing plant to its licensed premises in his state.  However, the beer, wine, or 
mixed spirit drink must be delivered to the licensed premises of the wholesaler designated to 
sell and deliver the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to the individual licensed location of the 
retailer in the wholesaler’s sales territory under section 305 or 403, as applicable. 

(f)  Except as otherwise provided in this act, a brewer, wine maker, or mixed spirit drink 
manufacturer may deliver the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to the licensed premises of the 
wholesaler designated to sell and deliver the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to the individual 
licensed location of the retailer in the wholesaler’s territory under section 305 or 403, as 
applicable. 

(3) Except as otherwise provided in subsections (4), both of the following apply to beer, wine, or mixed 
spirit drink that is delivered to a wholesaler under this act: 
(a) The wholesaler shall maintain the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink on the wholesaler’s licensed 

premises. 
(b) The wholesaler shall make the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink maintained on the wholesaler’s 

licensed premises as required under subdivision (a) available for inspection by the 
commission for at least 24 hours before the wholesaler delivers the beer, wine, or mixed spirit 
drink to a retailer. 

(4) For beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink that has been delivered to a wholesaler under this act, 
subsection (3) does not apply and the wholesaler may deliver beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to 
a retailer if all of the following apply: 
(a) Either of the following applies: 

(i) The wholesaler cannot fulfill the retailer’s order for the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink 
from the inventory currently available on the wholesaler’s licensed premises. 

(ii) The wholesaler intends to deliver the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink to a special 
licensee, including as provided under section 526, before the 24-hour period under 
subsection (3)(b) has expired. 

(b) Either of the following applies: 
(i) The beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink has been delivered to the address of the wholesaler’s 

licensed premises. 
(ii) The wholesaler picked up the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink from the licensed premises 

of any of the following: 
(A) A brewer. 
(B) A wine maker. 
(C) A mixed spirit drink manufacturer. 
(D) An outstate seller of beer. 
(E) An outstate seller of wine. 
(F) An outstate seller of mixed spirit drink. 
(G) A wholesaler. 

(c) The wholesaler maintains the invoice of the deliver and attaches documentation to the invoice 
that details each product and the amount of each product that was not placed on the 
wholesaler’s floor. 

(5) This section does not prohibit a brewer, micro brewer, wine maker, small wine maker, or retailer 
from selling alcoholic liquor or nonalcoholic beverages as provided in this act. 

 
History: Add 2018, Act 178, Eff. June 11, 2018 
 

436.1204a Prohibition of the sale or transfer of alcoholic liquor in this state; exceptions; 
applicability of section to nonalcoholic ingredients 

 
Sec. 204a 

 
(1) A manufacturer shall not sell or transfer alcoholic liquor to a licensed manufacturer in this state 

except as provided in subsections (2) and (3). 
(2) Notwithstanding any provision in this act to the contrary, a manufacturer may sell or transfer wine 

or spirits to a licensed manufacturer, and a licensed manufacturer may purchase or receive wine 
or spirits, under any of the following conditions: 
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(a) For a sale or transfer of wine: 
(i) The selling or transferring manufacturer is a wine maker, small wine maker, or out-of-

state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a wine maker or small wine maker and is 
selling or transferring the wine to a wine maker, small wine maker, or out-of-state entity 
that is the substantial equivalent of a wine maker or small wine maker. 

(ii) The purchasing or receiving wine maker or small wine maker manufactures wine at its 
licensed premises or the purchasing or receiving small wine maker bottles wine at its 
licensed premises. 

(b) For a sale or transfer of spirits: 
(i) The selling or transferring manufacturer is a distiller, small distiller, or out-of-state entity 

that is the substantial equivalent of a distiller or small distiller and is selling or transferring 
the spirits to a distiller, small distiller, or out-of-state entity that is the substantial 
equivalent of a distiller or small distiller. 

(ii) The purchasing or receiving distiller or small distiller manufactures spirits at their licensed 
premises. 

(3) A wine maker, small wine maker, distiller, or small distiller may not sell alcoholic liquor purchased 
or received under this section unless 1 of the following conditions is met: 
(a) The purchasing or receiving manufacturer modifies the purchased or received alcoholic 

liquor by performing a portion of the manufacturing process as described in section 109(1). 
(b) The purchasing or receiving small wine maker bottles the purchased or received wine. 
(c) The purchasing or receiving wine maker or small wine maker is selling a shiner on which the 

wine maker or small wine maker has placed a label under section 111(10). 
(4) This section does not prevent a manufacturer from selling, purchasing, or receiving nonalcoholic 

ingredients to or from another manufacturer. 
 
History: Add 2018, Act 404, Eff. Dec. 19, 2018 
 
 

436.1205 Privatization of warehousing and delivery of spirits; authorized distribution 
agents. 

 
Sec. 205. 
 

(1) The commission shall, as provided in section 203(1), by order appoint authorized distribution 
agents to warehouse and deliver spirits in this state to ensure that all retail licensees are properly 
serviced with spirits. An authorized distribution agent is subject to uniform requirements, including 
business operating procedures that the commission may prescribe by rule, subject to this section. 

(2) A person is eligible for appointment by the commission as an authorized distribution agent if all of 
the following circumstances exist: 

(a) The person satisfies all applicable commission rules prescribing qualifications for licensure 
promulgated under section 215. 

(b) The person has entered into a written agreement or contract with a supplier of spirits to 
warehouse and deliver a brand or brands of spirits of that supplier of spirits. 

(c) The person has an adequate warehousing facility located in this state to store spirits from 
which all delivery of spirits to retail licensees must be made. 

(3) An authorized distribution agent shall not have a direct or indirect interest in a supplier of spirits or 
in a retailer. A supplier of spirits or a retailer shall not have a direct or indirect interest in an 
authorized distribution agent. An authorized distribution agent shall not hold title to spirits. 

(4) An authorized distribution agent shall deliver to each retailer located in its assigned distribution 
area on at least a weekly basis if the order meets the minimum requirements. Except that in a week 
that accompanies a state holiday, the commission may order a modified delivery schedule if a 
retailer will not wait longer than 9 days between deliveries because of the modified delivery 
schedule. The commission shall provide for an integrated online ordering system for spirits and 
shall require the continuance of any ordering system in existence on the activation date of the 
system established under section 206. The commission shall set minimum requirements that must 
be a sufficient number of bottles to comprise not more than 2 cases. A retailer may pick up the 
product at the authorized distribution agent's warehouse. To avoid occasional emergency outages 
of spirits, a retail licensee may make up to 12 special emergency orders to an authorized distribution 
agent in each calendar year. An authorized distribution agent shall make a special emergency order 
available to the retail licensee within 18 hours of the placing of the order. An authorized distribution 
agent shall make a special emergency order placed on Saturday or Sunday available to the retail 
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licensee before noon on the following Monday. An authorized distribution agent may impose a fee 
of up to $20.00 to deliver a special emergency order to a retail licensee. 

(5) In locations inaccessible to a motor vehicle as that term is defined by section 33 of the Michigan 
vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.33, an authorized distribution agent shall arrange that a 
delivery of spirits to a retailer be in compliance with the following procedures: 

(a) After processing an order from a retailer, an authorized distribution agent shall contact a 
retailer to confirm the quantity of cases or bottles, or both, and the exact dollar total of the 
order. 

(b) The authorized distribution agent shall coordinate with the retailer the date and time a driver 
is scheduled to deliver the order to a ferry transport dock, shall arrange any ferry, drayage, 
or other appropriate service, and shall pick up the retailer's payment at that time. 

(c) The ferry transport company or company representing any other form of conveyance shall 
take the retailer's payment to the mainland dock and give that payment to the authorized 
distribution agent's driver. 

(d) The ferry transport company or company representing any other form of conveyance shall 
transport the order to the drayage or other appropriate company at the island dock for 
immediate delivery to the retailer. 

(e) The drayage or other appropriate company shall deliver the order to the retailer. 
(6) An authorized distribution agent is responsible for the payment of all transportation and delivery 

charges imposed by the ferry, drayage, or other conveyance company and is responsible for all 
breakage and any shortages, whether attributable to the ferry, drayage, or other conveyance 
company or any combination of those companies, until the order is delivered to the retailer's 
establishment. This subsection does not prevent the authorized distribution agent from seeking 
reimbursement or damages from any company conveying the authorized distribution agent's 
product. 

(7) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (4), an authorized distribution agent shall not charge 
delivery fee or a split-case fee for delivery of spirits sold by the commission to a retailer. 

(8) An authorized distribution agent or prospective authorized distribution agent shall maintain and 
make available to the commission or its representatives, on notice, any contract or written 
agreement it has with a supplier of spirits or other authorized distribution agent for the warehousing 
and delivering spirits in this state. 

(9) For a violation of this act, a rule promulgated under this act, or the terms of an order appointing an 
authorized distribution agent, an authorized distribution agent is subject to the suspension, 
revocation, forfeiture, and penalty provisions of sections 903(1) and 907 in the same manner in 
which a licensee would be subject to those provisions. An authorized distribution agent aggrieved 
by a penalty imposed by the commission may invoke the hearing and appeal procedures of section 
903(2) and rules promulgated under section 903.  

(10) A specially designated distributor may sell to an on-premises retailer up to 120 liters of spirits during 
a calendar year and an on-premises retailer may purchase, collectively from specially designated 
distributors, up to 120 liters of spirits during a calendar year. Notwithstanding any other provision 
of this act or rule promulgated under this act, a specially designated distributor is only liable for 
knowingly violating this section. An on-premises retailer shall maintain and make available to the 
commission on request records verifying the purchases described in this subsection.  For each 
month in which an on-premises retailer purchases spirits under this subsection, the on-premises 
retailer shall submit a report to the commission indicating the purchases the on-premises retailer 
made under this subsection during that month. By July 1, 2020, the commission shall establish the 
method and form for the electronic reporting of purchases made under this subsection by on-
premises retailers. The commission shall not require an on-premises retailer to submit a report 
under this subsection in less than monthly intervals and shall not require a report from an on-
premises retailer in a month in which the on-premises retailer did not purchase spirits under this 
subsection. 

(11) In addition to paying a vendor of spirits the acquisition price for purchasing spirits, the commission 
may pay a vendor of spirits an additional amount of not less than $8.25 and not more than $12.50 
for each case of spirits purchased as an offset to the costs being incurred by that vendor of spirits 
in contracting with an authorized distribution agent for warehousing and delivering spirits to 
retailers. The payment described in this subsection may not be included in the cost of purchasing 
spirits by the commission and is not subject to the commission's markup, special taxes, or state 
sales tax. The per-case offset established by this subsection may be increased by the state 
administrative board each January to reflect reasonable increases in the authorized distribution 
agent's cost of warehousing and delivering. As used in this subsection, "case" means a container 
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holding twelve 750 ml bottles of spirits or other containers containing spirits that are standard to 
the industry. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 1998, Act 416, Imd. Eff. Dec. 21, 1998; -- Am. 2001, Act 274, Imd. Eff. Jan. 11, 2002; -- Am. 2010, Act 175, Imd. Eff. Sept. 
30, 2010; Am. 2010, Act 213, Eff. November 17, 2010;--Am. 2015, Act 246, Eff.Mar.21, 2016; --Am. 2020, Act 126, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020; --Am 2022, Act 142, Imd. Eff. July 11, 
2022 
 

436.1206 Integrated on-line ordering system. 

 
Sec. 206. 
 

(1) Not later than January 1, 2003, the commission shall provide for an integrated on-line ordering 
system for retail licensees to place orders for spirits from authorized distribution agents. The system 
shall allow retail licensees to order all brands and types of spirits from the commission and provide 
the order to the appropriate authorized distribution agents. 

(2) The commission may enter into any agreements with or contract with private or other public entities 
as provided for or allowed by law to establish the integrated on-line ordering system described in 
subsection (1). A licensee of the commission or an authorized distribution agent shall not have a 
direct or indirect interest in the person with whom the commission contracts or enters into an 
agreement to establish the integrated on-line ordering system described in subsection (1). 
Ownership of the integrated on-line ordering system remains with the commission. The commission 
may, through issuance of an order, allow banner advertising in conjunction with the on-line ordering 
system as a means of defraying the costs of operation or maintenance, or both, of the system. 

 
History: Add. 2001, Act 274, Imd. Eff. Jan. 11, 2002 

 

436.1207 Exceptions to act. 

 
Sec. 207.  
 
This act does not apply to any of the following: 

(a) The manufacture of cider from fruit for the purpose of making vinegar and non-intoxicating cider 
and fruit juice for use and sale, and cider and fruit juice if used or sold, or both, within 30 days after 
manufacture. 

(b) Beer, wine, mead, honey-based beer, or cider of any alcoholic content made on the premises by 
the owner or lessee of those premises if those premises are used and occupied by the owner or 
lessee as a dwelling and the beer, wine, mead, honey-based beer, or cider is made for family use 
and home consumption. 

(c) The gift to an individual for noncommercial use or consumption of up to 20 gallons of beer, wine, 
mead, honey-based beer, or cider produced under the circumstances described in subdivision (b). 
This subdivision does not allow a person less than 21 years of age to possess, receive as a gift, or 
give beer, wine, mead, honey-based beer, or cider produced under the circumstances described 
in subdivision (b). 

(d) The sale, gift, or keeping and storing for sale by druggists and general merchants and others of 
medicinal preparations manufactured in accordance with the formulas prescribed by the United 
States pharmacopoeia and national formulary, patent or proprietary preparations, and other bona 
fide medicinal and technical preparations, that contain no more alcohol than is necessary to extract 
the medicinal properties of the drugs contained in those preparations and no more alcohol than is 
necessary to hold the medicinal agents in solution and to preserve them, that are manufactured 
and sold as medicine and not as beverages, that are unfit for use for beverage purposes, and the 
sale of which does not require the payment of a United States liquor dealer's tax. 

(e) The manufacture and sale of tinctures or of toilet, medicinal, and antiseptic preparations and 
solutions that are not intended for internal human use or that are not intended to be sold as 
beverages, that are unfit for beverage purposes, and on the outside of each bottle, box, or package 
of which is conspicuously and legibly printed in English the quantity by volume of alcohol in those 
preparations.  

(f) The manufacture and keeping for sale of the food product known as flavoring extracts that are 
manufactured and sold for cooking, culinary, or flavoring purposes and are unfit for use as a 
beverage or for beverage purposes, except that a person shall not manufacture or sell any toilet, 
medicinal, or antiseptic preparations or solutions, or any flavoring extracts or patent or proprietary 
medicines or preparations, if the manufacture and sale of those items require the payment of a 
United States liquor dealer's tax except as provided in this act. 
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(g) The manufacture or sale, or both, of ethyl, mechanical, or industrial alcohol, not used for or made 
unfit for beverage purposes. 

(h) The purchase of alcoholic liquor for use in the manufacture of toilet, medicinal, or antiseptic 
preparations or solutions, or any flavoring extract or patent or proprietary medicines or 
preparations, by a manufacturer using alcoholic liquor exclusively for the manufacturing purposes 
and licensed by the commission for that use. A license issued for that use is predicated on the 
payment of an annual fee of $10.00. The license expires on May 1 following the date of its issuance. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998;-- Am. 2019, Act 131, Imd. Eff. Nov. 21, 2019 
 

436.1209 Liquor control commission; creation; appointment, duties, and terms of 
members; designation and duties of hearing commissioners and 
administrative commissioners; appeal board; duties; terms; oath; removal; 
vacancies; quorum; salary and expenses; work station; designation by 
chairperson. 

 
Sec. 209. 
 

(1) A commission to be known as the liquor control commission is created. 
(2) The commission shall consist of 5 members, not more than 3 of whom shall be members of the 

same political party, to be appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate. 
Two of these members, 1 from each political party, shall be designated by the chairperson as 
hearing commissioners to hear violation cases and to perform such other functions and duties as 
are assigned to them by the chairperson. The remaining 3 commissioners shall be designated as 
administrative commissioners and shall have the responsibility for administering the provisions of 
this act relating to licensing, purchasing, enforcement, merchandising, and distribution. The 
administrative commissioners shall also act as an appeal board to the decisions rendered by the 
hearing commissioners. 

(3) The responsibilities of the 5-member commission shall be the administration of the provisions of 
this act that have not been specifically delegated to either the hearing commissioners or the 
administrative commissioners in this section. 

(4) Each member of the commission shall devote that member's entire time to the performance of the 
duties of that office. 

(5) The terms of the commissioners shall be 4 years each. Each member of the commission shall 
qualify by taking and filing the constitutional oath of office and shall hold office until the appointment 
and qualification of a successor. The members of the commission shall not be removed from office 
by the governor except for malfeasance, misfeasance, or neglect in office. 

(6) In the event of a vacancy or vacancies in the membership of the commission the governor shall 
appoint in like manner a successor or successors to fill the unexpired term. 

(7) A quorum for the transaction of business of the administrative commissioners shall consist of 2 
administrative commissioners. A quorum for the transaction of business of the 5-member 
commission shall be 3 members. 

(8) Each member of the commission shall receive an annual salary as appropriated by the legislature, 
shall be entitled to actual and necessary expenses while on the business of the commission, and 
shall have a work station designated by the chairperson. If an administrative commissioner's 
permanent or temporary residence is within 100 miles of an office in which the commission regularly 
conducts business, the chairperson shall designate an office as the member's work station. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998  
 

436.1211 Liquor control business manager; selection; duty and responsibility. 

 
Sec. 211. 
 

(1) The powers of the commission, enumerated in this act, which are not specifically and exclusively 
reserved to the commission by the act, shall be vested in, and exercised and administered by a 
liquor control business manager, who shall be selected by and responsible to the commission, and 
whose position shall be in the state classified civil service. The powers of the commission 
enumerated in, and provided for by this act, shall be exercised in conformity with the provisions of 
the act pertaining to the duties of the liquor control manager, except that the commission shall 
exclusively exercise the power to make rules and regulations under the act to regulate the control 
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of the alcoholic beverage traffic within the state; to hear and decide all cases of violation of the 
provisions of the act and regulations thereunder; to employ a liquor control business manager as 
provided for by the act; and to hear and decide all public appeals from the administrative decisions 
of the liquor control business manager. 

(2) The liquor control business manager shall be and shall serve as the business manager of the 
commission, and, as such, it shall be his or her duty and responsibility to manage the business 
affairs of the commission relative to purchasing, merchandising, warehousing, rationing, 
distributing, inspecting, investigating, licensing, and accounting, in accordance with policies 
established by the commission and in compliance with the provisions of this act and with the rules 
and regulations adopted thereunder. In addition to the foregoing, the business manager shall be 
exclusively responsible for the assigning, training, and supervision of all commission classified 
employees. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
 

436.1213 Liquor control commission; employment of assistants and employees; 
compensation; expenses. 

 
Sec. 213.   
 
The commission may employ assistants, clerks, stenographers, employees, and experts as it considers 
necessary, and fix their compensation, and incur such other expenses as are necessary to carry out the 
provisions of this act, subject to appropriations provided by the legislature. Assistants and employees of 
the commission are entitled to actual and necessary travel and other expenses while on the business of 
the commission, if those expenses are authorized and approved by the commission. 
 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998  
 

436.1215 Liquor control commission; rules and regulations; public hearings; record. 

 
Sec. 215. 
 

(1) The commission shall adopt rules and regulations governing the carrying out of this act and the 
duties and responsibilities of licensees in the proper conduct and management of their licensed 
places. Rules shall be promulgated under the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 306, 
MCL 24.201 to 24.328. 

(2) The commission shall hold public hearings twice each calendar year for the purpose of hearing 
complaints and receiving the views of the public with respect to the administration of this act. 

(3) The hearings shall be kept and transcribed as a part of the records of the commission. 
 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998  
 
Admin Rule: R 436.571 et seq.; R 436.1001 et seq.; R 436.1101 et seq.; R 436.1301 et seq.; R 436.1401 et seq.; R 436.1501 et seq.; R 436.1601 et seq.; R 436.1701 et seq.; 
R 436.1801 et seq.; R 436.1851 et seq.; R 436.1951 et seq.; R 436.1963; and R 436.2001 et seq. of the Michigan Administrative Code. 
 

436.1217 Liquor control commission; investigations; inspection and search of 
licensed premises; seizure and use of evidence of violation; examining or 
copying books, records, and papers; issuance of subpoena; oath or 
affirmation; court order; contempt; fees of witnesses; service of subpoena; 
seal; certified copies as evidence. 

 
Sec. 217. 
 

(1) The commission may make investigations that it considers proper in the administration of this act 
and the rules promulgated under this act concerning alcoholic liquor, or the manufacture, 
distribution, or sale of alcoholic liquor, or the collection of taxes on alcoholic liquor.  

(2) A licensee shall make the licensed premises available for inspection and search by a commission 
investigator or law enforcement officer empowered to enforce the commission's rules and this act 
during regular business hours or when the licensed premises are occupied by the licensee or a 
clerk, servant, agent, or employee of the licensee. Evidence of a violation of this act or rules 
promulgated under this act discovered under this subsection may be seized and used in an 
administrative or court proceeding. 
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(3) The commission or a duly authorized agent of the commission may examine or copy the books, 
records, or papers of a person relative to a requirement pertaining to this act, access to which has 
been obtained pursuant to this section. 

(4) A member of the commission or a duly authorized agent of the commission may issue a subpoena 
requiring a person to appear before the commission or its duly authorized agent at any reasonable 
time and place, to be examined with reference to any matter within the scope of the inquiry or 
investigation being conducted by the commission, and to produce any books, records, or papers 
pertaining to the question involved. 

(5) A member of the commission or a duly authorized agent of the commission may administer an oath 
or affirmation to a witness in any matter before the commission, certify to official acts, and take 
depositions. 

(6) In case of disobedience of a subpoena, the commission or its duly authorized agent may invoke 
the aid of any circuit court of the state to compel the attendance and testimony of witnesses and 
the production of books, records, and papers pertaining to the question involved. A circuit court of 
this state within the jurisdiction of which the inquiry is conducted may, in case of contumacy or 
refusal to obey a subpoena, issue an order requiring the person to appear before the commission 
or its duly authorized agent, to produce books, records, and papers if so ordered, and to give 
evidence regarding the matter in question. Failure to obey the order of the court may be punished 
by the court as a contempt of court. 

(7) The fees of witnesses required to appear before the commission shall be the same as those allowed 
to witnesses in the circuit courts and shall be paid by the commission. 

(8) A sheriff's department or police department shall, upon request of the commission, cause to be 
served a subpoena that is directed to a person located within the jurisdiction of the sheriff's 
department or police department. A fee shall not be charged for this service by the sheriff's 
department or police department. Subpoenas may also be served by an investigator of the 
commission. 

(9) The commission shall adopt a suitable seal, of which all courts of the state shall take judicial notice, 
and all proceedings, orders, licenses, and official acts of the commission shall be authenticated by 
that seal. Certified copies of the orders and records of the commission shall be prima facie evidence 
of the acts of the commission in any court of this state. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998  
 

436.1219 Liquor control commission; branch offices. 

 
Sec. 219.   
 
The commission shall be authorized to establish throughout the state of Michigan 4 branch offices. The 
expense of the branch offices shall be paid by the commission in the manner provided in this act.  
 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
 

436.1221 Liquor control commission; revolving fund; use; report; interest earnings; 
disposition of money received. 

 
Sec. 221. 
 

(1) The commission shall maintain a revolving fund derived from the money deposited to the credit of 
the commission with the state treasurer. Money from the revolving fund shall be periodically 
transferred to the general fund in accordance with the management and budget act, 1984 PA 431, 
MCL 18.1101 to 18.1594. The revolving fund must be used for replenishing, maintaining, 
warehousing, and distributing liquor stock throughout this state and for administration of this act. 
The commission shall prepare and submit a monthly report containing an accounting of the 
revolving fund to the state treasurer and to the budget director. The monthly report must include an 
itemized account of all money received and all expenditures made by the commission during the 
month covered in the report. 

(2) Interest earnings on common cash attributable to the revolving fund must be credited to the 
revolving fund and must be available to the commission for administration of this act. 

(3) All money received by the commission under this act must be turned over to the state treasurer 
according to department of treasury procedures. 
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(4) All money deposited by the commission with the state treasurer must be credited to the revolving 
fund for expenditures or transfers authorized under subsection (1). 

(5) As used in this section, “revolving fund” means the revolving fund established in subsection (1).  
 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; Am. 2018, Act 155, Eff. Oct.1, 2018; --Am. 2018, Act 346, Imd. Eff. Oct. 16, 2018 
 

436.1223 Liquor control commission; interest of members or employees. 

 
Sec. 223.   
 
A member or employee of the commission shall not be pecuniarily interested, directly or indirectly, in the 
manufacture, warehousing, sale, distribution or transportation, or selling or furnishing of any equipment, 
furnishings, or refrigeration used in the manufacture or sale of alcoholic liquor within this state. 
 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
 

436.1225 Liquor control commission; civil liability of commission or members. 

 
Sec. 225.   
 
The commission or a member of the commission shall not be personally liable for any action at law for 
damages sustained by a person because of an action performed or done by the commission or a member 
of the commission in the performance of their respective duties in the administration and implementation of 
this act. 
 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
 

436.1227 Liquor control commission; establishment of state liquor stores; basis. 

 
Sec. 227.   
 
The commission may establish state liquor stores throughout this state. In counties with a population of 
less than 40,000 according to the most recent federal census, there shall not be more than 1 store in that 
county, and in counties with a population of 40,000 or more according to the most recent federal census, 
there shall not be more than 1 store located in that county for each 40,000 population or major fraction 
thereof according to the most recent federal census. However, the commission may in its discretion 
establish a state liquor store in any village or city with a population of 3,000 or more according to the most 
recent federal census. 
 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998  
 

436.1229 Licensing hotel or merchant to sell spirits for consumption off premises; 
sale of alcoholic liquor; price; rules; definitions. 

 
Sec. 229. 
 

(1) The commission may license a hotel or merchant, in places that the commission may designate, to 
sell spirits for consumption off the premises, notwithstanding section 233(1). Except as otherwise 
provided in this section, if alcoholic liquor is sold by a specially designated distributor under a 
license issued under this section, it shall not be sold at less than the minimum retail selling price 
fixed by the commission and under rules promulgated by the commission. 

(2) The commission may, by rule or order, allow a specially designated distributor to sell alcoholic 
liquor at less than the minimum retail selling price in order to dispose of inventory at a price and 
under conditions and procedures established through that rule or order. 

(3) As used in this section and in sections 1201, 1203, and 1207, "retail selling price" means the price 
the commission pays for spirits plus the gross profit established in section 233. 

(4) As used in this section, "minimum retail selling price" means retail selling price plus the specific 
taxes imposed in sections 1201, 1203, and 1207. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; Am. 2004, Act 407, Imd. Eff. Nov. 29, 2004; Am. 2005, Act 288, Imd. Eff. Dec. 19, 2005; Am. 2011, Act166, Eff. Oct. 1, 2012 
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436.1231 Liquor control commission; handling of alcoholic liquor; gross profit; 
leasing and purchasing power. 

 
Sec. 231.   
 
The commission may buy, possess, and sell in its own name all alcoholic liquor for distribution as provided 
in sections 227 and 229. The commission shall supply such types of alcoholic liquor as are demanded by 
the public. However, if a brand so demanded is not manufactured within the United States or is not readily 
obtainable within the United States, then an order for that brand shall be filled by the commission at the 
entire expense of the person placing that order subject to any gross profit or discounts, or both, provided 
for in section 233. The commission may lease or occupy any building or land required for its operation, and 
may purchase any warehouse required for its operation, subject to the approval of the state administrative 
board. 
 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998  
 

436.1233 Uniform prices for sale of alcoholic liquor; gross profit; prices for sale of 
alcoholic liquor to hospitals, charitable institutions, and military 
establishments; discount for certain sales of alcoholic liquor. 

 
Sec. 233. 
 

(1) The commission shall establish uniform prices for the sale of alcoholic liquor by specially 
designated distributors. The prices must return a gross profit to the commission of not less than 
51% and not greater than 65%. If alcoholic liquor purchased by the commission has not met sales 
standards established by the commission for 6 months, the commission may sell the alcoholic liquor 
at a price to be approved by the state administrative board. 

(2) Notwithstanding subsection (1), the commission may establish by rule prices for the sale of 
alcoholic liquor to hospitals, charitable institutions, and military establishments located in this state. 

(3) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, specially designated distributors and on-premises 
licensees are entitled to a 17% discount from the uniform prices described in subsection (1) on 
alcoholic liquor purchased from this state. Beginning July 1, 2020 until July 1, 2021, on-premises 
licensees are entitled to a 23% discount from the uniform prices described in subsection (1) on 
alcoholic liquor purchased from this state. 

(4) Beginning on the effective date of the amendatory act that added this subsection, and July 1 of 
each year after that date, a small distiller or an out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent 
of a small distiller may file an application with the department of agriculture and rural development 
to be certified as a qualified small distiller. An application under this subsection must be on a form 
prescribed and furnished by the department of agriculture and rural development. The department 
of agriculture and rural development may charge a reasonable certification fee. The certification 
fee received by the department of agriculture and rural development under this subsection must be 
deposited in the Michigan craft beverage council fund created under section 303a. 

(5) Beginning January 1, 2023, the price for each bottle of qualified distilled spirits manufactured by a 
qualified small distiller must return a gross profit to the commission of 32.5%. 

(6) The department of agriculture and rural development shall certify that an applicant under 
subsection (4) is a qualified small distiller if the department of agriculture and rural development 
determines that the base distillate of the small distiller or the out-of-state entity that is the substantial 
equivalent of a small distiller is at least 40% distilled from qualified grain grown and harvested in 
this state. 

(7) Not later than November 1, 2022, and each November 1 thereafter, the department of agriculture 
and rural development shall submit a report to the commission. A report under this subsection must 
include the name of each qualified small distiller certified under subsection (6). 

(8) A qualified small distiller certificate expires on July 1 following the date of issuance. 
(9) A small distiller or an out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a small distiller that 

knowingly supplies false information to the department of agriculture and rural development or the 
commission under this section is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more 
than 1 year or a fine of not more than $3,000.00, or both. A small distiller or an out-of-state entity 
that is the substantial equivalent of a small distiller that knowingly supplies false information as 
described in this subsection shall pay the commission the difference between the gross profit the 
commission would have received under subsection (1) if the small distiller or the out-of-state entity 
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that is the substantial equivalent of a small distiller was not a qualified small distiller, as determined 
by the commission. 

(10) A qualified small distiller shall keep a complete and accurate set of records and accounts of all 
transactions pertaining to the operation of its distillery, including, but not limited to, records and 
accounts of all qualified grain received in or withdrawn from the distillery, all acknowledgment forms 
and Michigan certification of origination statements in the qualified small distiller's possession, 
copies of all contracts, and acknowledgment forms returned to and settled by the qualified small 
distiller. The department of agriculture and rural development and the commission may examine 
the records and accounts pertaining to the qualified small distiller's qualified grain handling 
business at any time during normal business hours. 

(11) As used in this section: 
(a) "Acknowledgment form" means a scale weight ticket, a load slip, or any other evidence of 

deposit issued by a small distiller, an out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a 
small distiller, or the authorized representative of a small distiller or out-of-state entity that is 
the substantial equivalent of a small distiller to a depositor that identifies the qualified grain 
being transferred from possession of the depositor to the possession of the small distiller or the 
out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a small distiller. 

(b) "Depositor" means either of the following: 
(i) A person that delivers qualified grain to a small distiller or an out-of-state entity that is the 

substantial equivalent of a small distiller for storage, processing, shipment, or sale and that 
has title to qualified grain at the time of delivery. 

(ii) A person that owns or that is the legal holder of an acknowledgment form issued by a 
depositor for qualified grain. 

(c) "Michigan certification of origination statement" means a signed statement from a depositor or 
producer on an acknowledgement form that deposited qualified grain was grown and harvested 
in this state. 

(d) "Qualified distilled spirits" means distilled spirits manufactured by a qualified small distiller of 
which at least 40% of the base distillate is distilled from qualified grain grown and harvested in 
this state. 

(e) "Qualified grain" means any of the following: 
(i) Dry barley. 
(ii) Malted barley. 
(iii) Oats. 
(iv) A small grain. 
(v) A cereal grain. 
(vi) Potato. 
(vii) Corn. 
(viii) Fruit. 
(ix) Sugar beets. 
(x) Honey. 

(f) "Qualified small distiller" means a small distiller or an out-of-state entity that is the substantial 
equivalent of a small distiller certified by the department of agriculture and rural development 
under this section as having at least 40% of the base distillate used to manufacture spirits that 
are distilled from qualified grain grown and harvested in this state. The base distillates may be 
distilled by the small distiller or the out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a small 
distiller or may be distillates purchased or received and further manufactured in compliance 
with section 204a. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2020, Act 126, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020; -- Am. 2022, Act 135, Eff. Oct. 5, 2022 
 

436.1235 Search warrant; seizure of property. 

 
Sec. 235.   
 
A search warrant may be issued in accordance with the code of criminal procedure, 1927 PA 175, MCL 
760.1 to 776.21. Under such a search warrant the officer may seize any alcoholic liquor, containers, 
implements, or conveyances used in connection with the violation of this act or any rule promulgated under 
this act. A property right does not exist in any alcoholic liquor had, kept, transported, or possessed contrary 
to law or in any receptacle or container of any kind in which the alcoholic liquor is found, and all such are 
hereby declared contraband and forfeited to the state and shall be seized. All alcoholic liquor, containers, 
implements, or conveyances seized under any such search warrant shall be turned over to the commission 
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by direction of the court or magistrate and shall be disposed of in accordance with the rules promulgated 
under this act, which shall guarantee the return of such property, or payment of money received for the sale 
of that property, to the owner unless the owner is charged and convicted of the alleged offense or offenses 
in connection with which the search and seizure was made. 
 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
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CHAPTER 3 
 
 

436.1301 Wine tax; levy and collection; rate; sacramental wines; tax on mixed spirit 
drink; payment; incorporation of farm mutual cooperative wineries; 
licensing; fee; certification of stockholders or members; payment of tax by 
wholesaler; rules. 

 
Sec. 301. 
 

(1) The commission shall levy and collect on all wine containing 16% or less of alcohol by volume sold 
in this state a tax at the rate of 13.5 cents per liter if sold in bulk and in a like ratio if sold in smaller 
quantities.  

(2) The commission shall levy and collect on all wine containing more than 16% of alcohol by volume 
sold in this state a tax at the rate of 20 cents per liter if sold in bulk and in a like ratio if sold in 
smaller quantities. 

(3) Sacramental wine is nontaxable when used by churches.  A person may import sacramental wine. 
The commission shall not impose restrictions on importations of wine for sacramental purposes but 
may promulgate rules to prevent any abuses that result from the importations. A wholesaler or an 
outstate seller of wine may sell sacramental wine directly to a church for sacramental purposes. 

(4) The commission shall levy and collect on all mixed spirit drink sold in this state a tax at the rate of 
30 cents per liter if sold in bulk or a like ratio if sold in smaller quantities. 

(5) After January 31, 2015, if the wine is manufactured in this state the tax must be paid by the wine 
maker who manufactured the wine or if the wine is manufactured outside this state the tax must be 
paid by the wholesaler assigned to distribute that wine. 

(6) After January 31, 2015, if the mixed spirit drink is manufactured in this state the tax must be paid 
by the manufacturer of the mixed spirit drink or if the mixed spirit drink is manufactured outside this 
state the tax must be paid by the wholesaler assigned to distribute that mixed spirit drink. 

(7) On approval by the commission, the department of licensing and regulatory affairs shall incorporate 
a limited number of farm mutual cooperative wineries as the commission determines to be 
beneficial to the Michigan grape and fruit industry. These wineries must be licensed under this act 
and the payment of 1 license fee annually by the corporation authorizes wine making on the 
premises of the corporation and also on the premises of the grape and fruit growing farmers who 
are members of or stockholders in the corporation. Upon incorporation of a farmers' cooperative 
corporation as provided for in this section, the members of or the stockholders in the corporation 
are certified to be Michigan grape and fruit growing farmers. Wine making by cooperative 
corporations on farm premises is allowed, but all sales of the wine shall be made by the corporation 
and from the corporation premises. 

(8) A wine maker or manufacturer of a mixed spirit drink may designate a wholesaler to pay the tax on 
behalf of the wine maker or manufacturer, respectively. If a wine maker or manufacturer designates 
a wholesaler to pay the tax on its behalf, that wine maker or manufacturer shall notify the 
commission of the designation and provide the commission with a copy of its report of wine 
premises operations that it filed with the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau of the United 
States Department of Treasury for each calendar year. A wholesaler that is responsible for the 
payment of the tax under this section or that is designated to pay the tax under this section on 
behalf of the wine maker or manufacturer of the mixed spirit drink is only required to pay the tax on 
the number of liters actually sold by the wholesaler to licensed retailers. 

(9) The commission shall establish by rule a method for the collection of the tax levied in this section 
and reporting requirements for wholesalers, wine makers, outstate sellers of mixed spirit drink, and 
outstate sellers of wine to verify the remission of taxes to this state. Except as otherwise provided 
in this subsection, the commission shall not require that the tax be paid in less than monthly 
intervals.  Beginning March 15, 2020, the commission shall not require that the tax be paid in less 
than quarterly intervals.  The rules under this subsection must be promulgated pursuant to the 
administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 306, MCL 24.201 to 24.328. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2014, Act 49, Imd. Eff. Mar. 25, 2014; -- Am. 2020, Act 110, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020;-- Am. 2021, Act 19, Eff. Aug. 23, 2021 
 
Admin Rule: R 436.1001 et seq.; R 436.1701 et seq.; and R 436.1801 et seq. of the Michigan Administrative Code.
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436.1303 Grape and wine industry council; creation; to be known as Michigan craft 
beverage council; appointment, qualifications, and terms of members; 
chairperson; personnel; expenses; liability on contracts; compensation; 
books and records; disposition of money received; award and 
administration of grants; duties and powers of council; rules; lobbying 
prohibited; exception; establishment of commodity committee; definitions. 

 
Sec. 303. 
 

(1) The grape and wine industry council created under Executive Reorganization Order No. 2014-2, 
MCL 333.26253, shall be housed within the department of agriculture and rural development.  
Beginning on the effective date of the 2018 amendatory act that amended this section, the council 
shall be known as the Michigan craft beverage council and shall consist of the following members:  

(a) As a nonvoting member, the director of the department of agriculture and rural 
development or his or her designee. 

(b) Subject to subsection (2), the following voting members appointed by the governor: 
(i) A representative of retail food establishments that hold a specially designated 

merchant license and sell Michigan wines or beer. 
(ii) A representative of restaurants that hold a class C license and serve Michigan wines, 

beer, or spirits. 
(iii) Two representatives of wine makers. 
(iv) A representative of wine makers that primarily manufacture cider. 
(v) A representative of large brewers. 
(vi) One of the following: 

(A) A representative of micro brewers. 
(B) A representative of brewpub license holders. 

(vii) A representative of small distillers. 
(viii) A representative of distillers that manufacture more than 60,000 gallons of spirits per 

year. 
(2)  The following apply to a member of the council appointed under subsection (1) (b): 

(a) The member’s principal place of business must be located in this state. 
(b) The member must not be a lobbyist or a lobbyist agent as those terms are defined in section 

5 of 1978 PA 472, MCL 4.415. 
(3) Voting members of the council appointed by the governor under subsection (1) shall serve for terms 

of 3 years or until a successor is appointed, which is later, except that of the voting members first 
appointed, 3 shall serve for 1 year, 3 shall serve for 2 years, and 3 shall serve for 3 years.  A voting 
member shall not serve more than 2 consecutive terms.  A vacancy on the board shall be filled in 
the same manner as the original appointment.  The director of the department of agriculture and 
rural development is the chairperson of the council. 

(4) The council may employ personnel and incur expenses that are necessary to carry out the 
responsibilities of the council under this act.  A member of the council or an employee or agent of 
the council is not personally liable on the contracts of the council. 

(5) A nongovernmental member of the council may receive $50.00 per day for each day spent in actual 
attendance at meetings of the council and traveling expenses while on council business in 
accordance with standard travel regulations of the department of technology, management, and 
budget. 

(6) The council shall maintain accurate books and records, and all money received by the council shall 
be used to implement and enforce this section.  The council may accept money from any source 
for the purpose of carrying out this section.  All money received by the council shall be forwarded 
to the state treasurer for deposit into the Michigan craft beverage council fund created in section 
303a. 

(7) Subject to an appropriation, the council shall direct the department of agriculture and rural 
development to award grants for the following: 
(a) Research into both of the following: 

(i) Fruits used in winemaking and wines, including, but not limited to, methods of planting, 
growing, controlling insects and diseases, charting microclimates and locations for 
growing desirable varieties of fruits used in winemaking and wines, marketing, processing, 
distribution, advertising, sales production, and product development. 
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(ii) Hops, barley, beer, and spirits, including, but not limited to, methods of planting, growing, 
controlling insects and diseases, marketing, processing, distribution, advertising, sales, 
production, and product development. 

(b) Projects that do 1 or more of the following: 
(i) Provide the wine industry, including growers, wineries, distributors, and retailers, with 

information relative to proper methods of handling and selling fruits used in winemaking 
and wines 

(ii) Provide the brewing and distilling industries, including growers, brewers, distillers, 
distributors, and retailers, with information relative to proper methods of handling and 
selling hops, barley, beer, spirits, and mixed spirit drinks.  

(iii) Provide for market surveys and analyses for purposes of expanding existing markets and 
creating new and larger markets for Michigan agricultural products such as fruits, hops, 
and barley, that are used in the production of wine, cider, beer, spirits, and mixed spirit 
drinks. 

(iv) Provide for the promotion of the sale of Michigan agricultural products such as fruits, hops, 
and barley, that are used in the production of wine, cider, beer, spirits, and mixed spirit 
drinks for the purpose of maintaining or expanding present markets and creating new and 
larger domestic and foreign markets. 

(v) Develop and administer financial aid programs to growers of fruits used in winemaking to 
encourage the increased planting in this state of desirable fruit varieties in microclimates 
determined to provide the best conditions for producing quality wines. 

(vi) Develop and administer financial aid programs to hops growers to encourage increased 
planting in this state of desirable hops varieties in microclimates determined to provide 
the best conditions for producing quality beer. 

(vii) Develop and administer financial aid programs to barley growers to encourage increased 
planting in this state of desirable barley varieties in microclimates determined to provide 
the best conditions for producing quality beer. 

(viii) Establish educational partnerships to benefit the beer, wine, cider, spirits, and mixed spirit 
drink industries. 

(8) The department of agriculture and rural development shall administer the grants awarded under 
subsection (7). 

(9) The council shall do all of the following: 
(a) Apply for and accept grants or contributions from the federal government or any of its 

agencies, the state, or other public or private agencies to be used for any of the purposes of 
this section and to do any and all things within its express or implied powers necessary or 
desirable to secure that financial or other aid or cooperation in the carrying out of any of the 
purposes of this section. 

(b)  Invite the chief executive officer of the Michigan economic development corporation or his or 
her designee to attend at least 1 council meeting annually to inform the council about 
partnership activities and opportunities related to the marketing and promotion of Michigan 
agricultural products such as fruits, hops, and barley, that are used in the production of wine, 
cider, beer, spirits, and mixed spirit drinks. 

(c) Invite the director of the department of licensing and regulatory affairs to attend at least 1 
council meeting annually to inform the council about funding activities affecting the council. 

(d) Prepare and adopt an annual budget. 
(10) Based upon the information provided to the council under subsection (9)(b) and (c), the council 

may do either or both of the following: 
(a) Take actions that will enhance the marketing and promotion of Michigan agricultural products, 

such as fruits, hops, and barley, that are used in the production of wine, cider, beer, spirits, 
and mixed spirit drinks. 

(b) Annually review and adopt strategies for marketing and promotion of Michigan agricultural 
products, such as fruits, hops, and barley, that are used in the production of wine, cider, beer, 
spirits, and mixed spirit drinks. 

(11) The council may promulgate rules pursuant to the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 
306, MCL 24.201 to 24.328, for the purposes of implementing and enforcing this section.



3-4 

However, the council shall not promulgate a rule that conflicts with a rule promulgated by the 
commission under section 215. 

(12) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the council shall not engage in lobbying.  This 
subsection does not prohibit the council or a council member or council employee from providing 
technical information to the legislature or to the department of agriculture and rural development, 
regardless of whether the council, council member, or council employee is appearing before an 
officially convened legislative committee or department of agriculture and rural development 
hearing panel, if the technical information is related to the council’s duties under this section. 

(13) This section does not prevent the council from establishing a commodity committee under the 
agriculture commodities marketing act, 1965 PA 232, MCL 290.651 to 290.674. 

(14) As used in this section: 
(a) “Cider” means an alcoholic beverage made from the fermentation of juice from primarily 

apples or pears, or both, which contains not less than 1/2 of 1% and nor more than 8.5% of 
alcohol by volume.  Cider may be still or carbonated and may contain other fruits, spices, 
botanicals, or other flavors. 

(b) “Council” means the Michigan craft beverage council described in subsection (1). 
(c) “Large brewer” means a brewer that produces in total at least 60,000 barrels of beer and not 

more than 1,000,000 barrels of beer per year.  In determining the barrel thresholds under this 
subdivision, all brands and labels of a brewer, whether brewed in this state or outside this 
state, must be combined and all facilities for the production of beer that are owned or 
controlled by the same person are treated as a single facility. 

(d) “Lobbying” means that term as defined in section 5 of 1978 PA 472, MCL 4.415. 
(e) “Technical information” means that term as defined in section 5 of 1978 PA 472, MCL 4.415. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; --Am. 2018, Act 154, Eff. Oct. 1, 2018 
 
Compiler's Notes:  For transfer of powers and duties of the grape and wine industry council to the new grape and wine industry council, and abolishment of grape and wine 
industry council, see E.R.O. No. 2014-2, compiled at MCL 333.26253. 
 

436.1303a Michigan craft beverage council fund; creation; receipt of money or other 
assets; deposit; investment; interest and earnings; money remaining at 
close of fiscal year; expenditure; “Michigan craft beverage council” defined. 

 
Sec. 303a 
 

(1) The Michigan craft beverage council fund is created within the state treasury. 
(2) The state treasurer may receive money or other assets from any source for deposit into the 

Michigan craft beverage council fund.  The state treasurer shall direct the investment of the 
Michigan craft beverage council fund.  The state treasure shall credit to the Michigan craft 
beverage council fund interest and earnings from fund investments. 

(3) Money in the Michigan craft beverage council fund at the close of the fiscal year must remain in 
the fund and must not lapse to the general fund.  However, for the fiscal year ending September 
20, 2020, $476,500.00 of the money in the Michigan craft beverage council fund is transferred to 
and must be deposited into the general fund. 

(4) Subject to subsection (5), money from the Michigan craft beverage council fund shall be 
expended annually, upon appropriation, for the following: 
(a) Not more than $80,000.00 may be used by the department of agriculture and rural 

development to administer the grants program under section 303. 
(b) Not less than 50% of the money that is expended after the expenditure under subdivision (a) 

shall be used for grants under section 303(7)(a). 
(c) For grants under section 303(7)(b). 
(d) For the Michigan craft beverage council to carry out its responsibilities under this act. 

(5) Notwithstanding subsection (4), if the Michigan craft beverage council receives money under 
section 303(9)(a), the money may be expended for the purposes and subject to the conditions for 
which it was received. 

(6) As used in this section, “Michigan craft beverage council” means the Michigan craft beverage 
council created in section 303. 

History: Add 2018, Act 155, Eff. Oct. 1, 2018; --Am, 2020, Act 200, Imd, Eff. Oct. 15, 2020 
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436.1305 Wine industry; purpose of section; reasons for regulation; definitions; 
prohibited conduct; servicing impacted sales territory; termination, 
cancellation, nonrenewal, or discontinuance of agreement; burden; notice; 
test marketing; sales and distribution; transfer of wholesaler’s business; 
compensation for diminished value of wholesaler’s business; arbitration; 
costs; default; waiver; good faith dispute settlement; agreement binding on 
successor to supplier; agreements to which section applicable; civil action 
for actual damages; liability; action for declaratory judgment; exemplary 
damages; injunctive relief; procedure for resolving violations. 

 
Sec. 305. 

 
(1) The purpose of this section is to provide a structure for the business relations between a wholesaler 

of wine or mixed spirit drink and a supplier of wine or mixed spirit drink. Regulation in this area is 
considered necessary for the following reasons:  
(a) To maintain stability and healthy competition in the wine and mixed spirit drink industry in this 

state. 
(b) To promote and maintain a sound, stable, and viable 3-tier distribution system of wine and 

mixed spirit drink to the public. 
(c) To recognize the marketing distinctions between beer, wine, and mixed spirit drink. 
(d) To promote the public health, safety, and welfare. 

(2) As used in this section, unless the context requires otherwise: 
(a) “Agreement” means any agreement between a wholesaler and a supplier, whether oral or 

written, whereby a wholesaler is granted the right to offer and sell a brand or brands of wine or 
mixed spirit drink sold by a supplier. 

(b) “Ancillary business” means a business owned by a wholesaler, a stockholder of a wholesaler, 
or a partner of a wholesaler the primary purpose of which is directly related to the transporting, 
storing, or marketing of the brand or brands of wine or mixed spirit drink of a supplier with whom 
the wholesaler has an agreement; or a business owned by a wholesaler, a stockholder of a 
wholesaler, or a partner of a wholesaler that recycles empty returnable beverage containers. 

(c) “Designated member” means the spouse, child, grandchild, parent, brother, or sister of a 
deceased individual who owned an interest in a wholesaler, who is entitled to inherit the 
deceased individual's ownership interest in the wholesaler under the terms of the deceased 
individual's will, or who has otherwise been designated in writing by the deceased individual to 
succeed the deceased individual in the wholesaler's business, or is entitled to inherit that 
ownership interest under the laws of intestate succession of this state. With respect to an 
incapacitated individual owning an ownership interest in a wholesaler, the term means the 
person appointed by a court as the conservator of that individual's property. The term also 
includes the appointed and qualified personal representative and the testamentary trustee of a 
deceased individual owning an ownership interest in a wholesaler. 

(d) “Good faith” means honesty in fact and the observance of reasonable commercial standards 
of fair dealing in the trade, as defined and interpreted under section 11201 of the uniform 
commercial code, 1962 PA 174, MCL 440.1201. 

(e) “Master distributor” means a wholesaler that acts in the same or similar capacity as a wine 
maker, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, an outstate seller of wine, or an outstate seller of mixed 
spirit drink for a brand or brands of wine or mixed spirit drink to other wholesalers on a regular 
basis in the normal course of business.  

(f) “Reasonable qualifications” means the average standard of the criteria used by the respective 
supplier for wholesalers that entered into or renewed an agreement with the suppliers during a 
period of 24 months before the proposed transfer of the wholesaler's business. 

(g) “Retaliatory action” means action that includes, but is not limited to, the refusal to continue an 
agreement, or a material reduction in the quality of service or quantity of products available to 
a wholesaler under an agreement, which refusal or reduction is not made in good faith. 

(h) “Sales territory” means an area of sales responsibility for the brand or brands of wine or mixed 
spirit drink sold by a supplier as designated by an agreement. 

(i) “Successor” means a supplier that obtains, in any manner from any person, including a person 
that is not a supplier, the distribution rights of 1 or more brands of wine or mixed spirit drink 
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that a licensed Michigan wholesaler has distributed in this state under an agreement with 
another supplier, that previously had the distribution rights for the brand or brands. 

(j) “Supplier” means a wine maker, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, an outstate seller of wine, and 
outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, or a master distributor.  

(k) “Transfer of a wholesaler's business” means the voluntary sale, assignment, or other transfer 
of the business or control of the business of the wholesaler, including the sale or other transfer 
of stock or assets by merger, consolidation, or dissolution. 

(3) A supplier shall not do any of the following: 
(a) Coerce, or attempt to coerce, a wholesaler to accept delivery of any wine, mixed spirit drink, or 

other commodity that has not been ordered by the wholesaler. However, a supplier may impose 
reasonable inventory requirements on a wholesaler if the requirements are made in good faith 
and are generally applied to other wholesalers having an agreement with the supplier. 

(b) Coerce, or attempt to coerce, a wholesaler to accept delivery of any wine, mixed spirit drink, or 
other commodity ordered by a wholesaler if the order was properly canceled by the wholesaler 
in accordance with the procedures agreed on by the supplier and wholesaler. 

(c) Coerce, or attempt to coerce, a wholesaler to do any illegal act by threatening to amend, cancel, 
terminate, or refuse to renew any agreement existing between the supplier and wholesaler. 

(d) Require a wholesaler to assent to any condition, stipulation, or provision limiting the 
wholesaler's right to sell the brand or brands of wine or mixed spirit drink of any other supplier 
anywhere in this state unless the acquisition of the brand or brands of another supplier would 
materially impair the quality of service of the brand or brands of the supplier presently being 
sold by the wholesaler. 

(e) Require a wholesaler to purchase 1 or more brands of wine or mixed spirit drink in order for the 
wholesaler to purchase another brand or brands of wine or mixed spirit drink for any reason. 
However, a wholesaler that has agreed to distribute a brand or brands before June 26, 1984 
shall continue to distribute the brand or brands in conformance with this section.  

(f) Request a wholesaler to submit profit and loss statements, balance sheets, or financial records 
as a requirement for renewing or retaining an agreement. 

(g) Withhold delivery of wine or mixed spirit drink ordered by a wholesaler, or change a 
wholesaler's quota of a brand or brands if the withholding or change is not made in good faith.  

(h) Require a wholesaler by any means to participate in or contribute to any local or national 
advertising fund controlled directly or indirectly by a supplier.  

(i) Fail to provide each wholesaler of the supplier's brand or brands with a written agreement that 
contains in total the supplier’s agreement with each wholesaler, and designates a specific sales 
territory. 

(j) Fix, maintain, or establish the price at which a wholesaler shall sell any wine or mixed spirit 
drink. 

(k) Take any retaliatory action against a wholesaler that files a complaint regarding an alleged 
violation by the supplier of state or federal law or an administrative rule. 

(l) Require or prohibit any change in the manager or successor manager of any wholesaler that 
has been approved by the supplier as of June 26, 1984. If, after June 26, 1984, a supplier 
requires a manager or successor manager be appointed, or if a wholesaler changes an 
approved manager or successor manager, a supplier shall not interfere with or prohibit the 
appointment unless the person fails to meet the reasonable written standards for Michigan 
wholesalers of the supplier that have been provided to the wholesaler. 

(m) Require by a provision of any agreement or other instrument in connection with the agreement 
that any dispute arising out of or in connection with that agreement be determined through the 
application of any other state's laws. Any supplier or wholesaler aggrieved by any dispute 
arising out of or in connection with an agreement governed by this act has the right to file an 
appropriate action consistent with this act in any court in this state having venue.
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(4) A wholesaler shall not sell or deliver wine or mixed spirit drink to a retail licensee located outside 

the sales territory designated by the supplier of a particular brand or brands of wine or mixed spirit 
drink. However, during periods of temporary service interruptions impacting a particular sales 
territory, a wholesaler that normally services the impacted sales territory shall file with the 
commission a written notice designating the specific wholesaler or wholesalers that will service the 
sales territory during the period of temporary service interruption and the approximate length of 
time of the service interruption. When the temporary service interruption is over, the wholesaler 
that normally services the sales territory shall notify in writing the commission and the wholesaler, 
or wholesalers, which is servicing the sales territory on a temporary basis of this fact and any 
wholesaler servicing the sales territory on a temporary basis shall cease servicing the sales territory 
upon receipt of the notice. 
   A wholesaler that is designated to service the impacted sales territory during the period of 
temporary service shall not be in violation of this subsection. 
   A wholesaler that has been designated to service the impacted sales territory during the period 
of temporary service interruption does not have any of the rights provided under subsections (6) to 
(12). 

(5) A supplier or wholesaler shall not directly or indirectly restrict or inhibit the right of free association 
among suppliers or wholesalers for any lawful purpose.  

(6) Notwithstanding the terms, provisions, or conditions of any agreement, a supplier shall not amend 
any agreement unless the supplier is acting in good faith in making the amendment. 

(7) Notwithstanding any agreement and except as otherwise provided for in this section, a supplier 
shall not cause a wholesaler to resign from an agreement; or cancel, terminate, fail to renew, or 
refuse to continue under an agreement unless the supplier has complied with all of the following: 
(a) Has satisfied the applicable notice requirements of subsection (10). 
(b) Has acted in good faith. 
(c) Has good cause for the cancellation, termination, nonrenewal, discontinuance, or forced 

resignation. 
(8) Notwithstanding any agreement, good cause shall exist for the purposes of a termination, 

cancellation, nonrenewal, or discontinuance under subsection (7)(c) when all of the following occur: 
(a) The wholesaler fails to comply with a provision of the agreement that is both reasonable and 

of material significance to the business relationship between the wholesaler and the supplier. 
(b) The supplier first acquired knowledge of the failure described in subdivision (a) not more than 

2 years before the date notification was given under subsection (7). 
(c) The wholesaler was given written notice by the supplier of failure to comply with the agreement.  
(d) The wholesaler was afforded a reasonable opportunity to assert good faith efforts to comply 

with the agreement within the time limits as provided for in subdivision (e).  
(e) The wholesaler has been afforded 25 days in which to submit a plan of corrective action to 

comply with the agreement and an additional 75 days to cure the noncompliance in accordance 
with the plan. 

(9) A supplier or wholesaler who terminates, cancels, nonrenews, or discontinues an agreement has 
the burden of showing that it has acted in good faith, complied with the applicable notice 
requirements under this section, and that there was good cause for the termination, cancellation, 
nonrenewal, or discontinuance.  

(10) Notwithstanding any agreement and except as otherwise provided in this section, a supplier must 
furnish written notice of a termination, cancellation, nonrenewal, or discontinuance of an agreement 
to the wholesaler not less than 15 days before the effective date of the termination, cancellation, 
nonrenewal, or discontinuance. The notice shall be by certified mail and must contain all of the 
following: 
(a) A statement of intention to terminate, cancel, not renew, or discontinue the agreement. 
(b) A statement of the reason for the termination, cancellation, nonrenewal, or discontinuance.  
(c) The effective date of the termination, cancellation, nonrenewal, or discontinuance. 

(11) Notwithstanding subsections (7) and (10), a supplier may immediately terminate, cancel, not renew, 
or discontinue an agreement on written notice given in the manner and containing the information 
required by subsection (10) if any of the following occur: 
(a) Insolvency of the wholesaler, the filing of any petition by or against the wholesaler under any 

bankruptcy or receivership law, or the dissolution or liquidation of the wholesaler that materially 
affects the wholesaler's ability to remain in business. 
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(b) The commission revokes wholesaler's license whereby the wholesaler cannot service the 
wholesaler's sales territory for more than 60 days. 

(c) The wholesaler, or an individual who owns more than 10% of the stock of a corporate 
wholesaler, is convicted of a felony. However, an existing approved stockholder has the right 
to purchase the stock of the offending stockholder before the conviction of the offending 
stockholder, and if the sale is completed before conviction, this subdivision does not apply. As 
used in this subdivision, “felony” means a felony under the United States code or the Michigan 
Compiled Laws. 

(12) Notwithstanding subsections (7), (10), and (11), upon not less than 15 days' prior written notice 
given in the manner and containing the information required by subsection (10), a supplier may 
terminate, cancel, not renew, or discontinue an agreement if any of the following events occur: 
(a) There was fraudulent conduct on the part of the wholesaler in dealings with the supplier. 
(b) The wholesaler failed to confine its sales of a brand or brands to the assigned sales territory. 

This subdivision does not apply if there is a dispute between 2 or more wholesalers as to the 
boundaries of the assigned territory, and the boundaries cannot be determined by a reading of 
the description contained in the agreements between the supplier and the wholesalers. 

(c) The sale by the wholesaler of any brand or brands sold by the supplier to the wholesaler that 
the wholesaler knew were ineligible for sale before the actual sale to the retailer. The supplier 
shall repurchase the ineligible product from the wholesaler when the ineligibility is caused by 
the supplier. The supplier must give the wholesaler written notice specifying the ineligible 
product. 

(13) Notwithstanding subsections (7), (10), (11), and (12), a supplier may terminate, cancel, not renew, 
or discontinue an agreement upon not less than 30 days' prior written notice if the supplier 
discontinues production or discontinues distribution in this state of all the brands sold by the 
supplier to the wholesaler. Nothing in this section prohibits a supplier upon not less than 30 days' 
notice to discontinue the distribution of any particular brand or package of wine or mixed spirit drink. 
This subsection does not prohibit a supplier from conducting test marketing of a new brand of wine 
or from conducting the test marketing of a brand of wine or mixed spirit drink that is not currently 
being sold in this state provided that the supplier has notified the commission in writing of its plans 
to test market. The notice must describe the market area in which the test must be conducted; the 
name or names of the wholesaler or wholesalers who will be selling the wine or mixed spirit drink; 
the name or names of the brand of wine or mixed spirit drink being tested; and the period of time 
during which the testing will take place. A market testing period must not exceed 18 months. 

(14) A wholesaler shall devote reasonable efforts and resources to sales and distribution of all the 
supplier's products that the wholesaler has been granted the right to sell and distribute and shall 
maintain reasonable sales levels. 

(15) A supplier shall not withhold consent to any transfer of a wholesaler's business if the proposed 
transferee meets the material and reasonable qualifications and standards required by the supplier. 
A wholesaler shall give the supplier written notice of intent to transfer the wholesaler's business. A 
supplier shall not unreasonably delay a response to a request for a proposed transfer of a 
wholesaler's business. However, a transfer of a wholesaler's business that is not approved by the 
supplier is void. A supplier shall not interfere with, or prevent, the transfer of the wholesaler's 
business if the proposed transferee is a designated member. 

(16) A supplier as part of the written agreement required by this section may, subject to the provisions 
of subsection (3)(l), require a wholesaler to designate a successor manager who shall be subject 
to prior approval by the supplier. If the designated successor manager fails to assume the role of 
approved manager or for any reason does not continue to manage the wholesaler's business, after 
assuming that responsibility, then any successor shall be subject to the prior approval of the 
supplier, subject to the provisions of subsection (3)(l), notwithstanding the transferee's interest as 
a designated member. 

(17) A supplier that has amended, canceled, terminated, or refused to renew any agreement; has 
caused a wholesaler to resign from an agreement; or has withheld consent to any assignment or 
transfer of a wholesaler's business, except as provided for in this section, shall pay the wholesaler 
reasonable compensation for the diminished value of the wholesaler's business or of any ancillary 
business which has been negatively affected by the act of the supplier, or both. The value of the 
wholesaler's business or ancillary business must include, but not be limited to, its goodwill. 

(18) A supplier or wholesaler may, at any time, determine that mutual agreement on the amount of 
reasonable compensation cannot be reached. If such a determination is made, the supplier or the 
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wholesaler shall send written notice to the other party declaring their intention to proceed with 
arbitration. Arbitration may proceed only by mutual agreement of both parties. 

(19) The supplier and wholesaler may, by agreement, submit the matter of determining the amount of 
compensation under arbitration to a 5-member arbitration panel consisting of 2 representatives 
selected by the supplier but unassociated with the affected supplier, 2 wholesaler representatives 
selected by the wholesaler but unassociated with the wholesaler, and an impartial arbitrator. 

(20) Not more than 10 days after the notice to enter into arbitration has been sent, the supplier and 
wholesaler shall request, in writing, a list of 5 arbitrators from the American arbitration association. 
Not more than 10 days after the supplier and wholesaler receive the list of 5 choices, the wholesaler 
arbitrators and the supplier arbitrators may strike and disqualify up to 2 names each from the list. 
If the supplier or wholesaler fails to respond within the 10 days or if more than 1 name remains, the 
American arbitration association shall select the impartial arbitrator. 

(21) Not more than 30 days after the supplier and wholesaler receive the list of arbitrators, the 
wholesaler and supplier shall exchange in writing the names of their respective arbitration panel 
representatives. 

(22) Not more than 30 days after the final selection of the arbitration panel is made, the arbitration panel 
shall convene to decide the dispute. The panel shall render a decision by majority vote of the 
participants within 20 days after the arbitration concludes. 

(23) The cost of the impartial arbitrator, the stenographer, and the meeting site must be equally divided 
between the wholesaler and the supplier. All other costs must be paid by the party incurring them. 
The award of the arbitration panel shall be final and binding on the parties. 

(24) If the supplier or wholesaler fails to abide by the time limitations as prescribed in subsections (20), 
(21), and (22), or fails or refuses to select any arbitrators, or fails to participate in the arbitration 
hearings, the other party shall make the selection of their arbitrators and proceed to arbitration. The 
party who has failed or refused to comply as prescribed in this subsection is considered to be in 
default. Any party considered to be in default under this subsection waives any and all rights the 
party would have had in the arbitration and is considered to have consented to the determination 
of the arbitration panel. 

(25) A wholesaler shall not waive any of the rights granted in this section. This section does not limit or 
prohibit a good faith dispute settlement voluntarily entered into by the parties. 

(26) A successor to a supplier that continues in business as a wine maker, mixed spirit drink 
manufacturer, an outstate seller of wine, outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, or master distributor 
is bound by all terms and conditions of each agreement of the supplier with a wholesaler licensed 
in this state that were in effect on the date on which the successor received the distribution rights 
of the previous supplier. 

(27) This section applies to agreements in existence on June 26, 1984, as well as agreements entered 
into or renewed after that date. 

(28) If a supplier engages in conduct prohibited under this section, a wholesaler with which the supplier 
has an agreement may maintain a civil action against the supplier to recover actual damages 
reasonably incurred as the result of the prohibited conduct. If a wholesaler engages in conduct 
prohibited under this section, a supplier with which the wholesaler has an agreement may maintain 
a civil action against the wholesaler to recover actual damages reasonably incurred as the result 
of the prohibited conduct. 

(29) A supplier that violates this section is liable for all actual damages and all court costs and 
reasonable attorney fees incurred by a wholesaler as a result of that violation. A wholesaler that 
violates this section is liable for all actual damages and all court costs and reasonable attorney fees 
incurred by the supplier as a result of that violation. 

(30) A supplier or wholesaler may bring an action for declaratory judgment for determination of any 
controversy arising under this section. 

(31) Except as otherwise provided in this section, if a court finds that a supplier has not acted in good 
faith in amending, terminating, canceling, or not renewing any agreement; or has unreasonably 
withheld its consent to any assignment, transfer, or sale of a wholesaler's business, the court may 
award exemplary damages, as well as actual damages, court costs, and reasonable attorney fees 
to the wholesaler that has been damaged by the action of the supplier. 

(32) On proper application to a court, a supplier or wholesaler may obtain injunctive relief against any 
violation of this section. If the court grants injunctive relief or issues a temporary restraining order, 
bond is not required to be posted. 

(33) The procedure for resolving any violation of subsection (3)(a), (b), (c), (e), (f), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), or 
(4) is the procedure prescribed by this act and the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 
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306, MCL 24.201 to 24.328. Any other violation of or dispute regarding this section, unless the 
dispute is resolved pursuant to subsections (18) to (24), must only be resolved by a civil action in 
court as provided in this section and not by the commission. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 ;-- Am. 2021, Act 19, Eff. Aug. 23, 2021  

 

436.1307 Sales territory. 

 
Sec. 307. 
 

(1) A manufacturer, an outstate seller of wine, and a master distributor shall grant to each of its 
wholesalers a sales territory within which the wholesaler is a distributor of the specified brand or 
brands of the manufacturer, outstate seller of wine, or master distributor under an agreement as 
required under this act. The territory is the territory agreed on between the wholesaler and 
manufacturer, outstate seller of wine, or master distributor. Except as provided for in subsection (9) 
and beginning June 1, 2010, a manufacturer, outstate seller of wine, or master distributor shall not 
grant the right to sell a specified brand or brands of wine in a sales territory to more than 1 wine 
wholesaler. A master distributor shall not itself distribute a specified brand or brands of wine in the 
same sales territory where that master distributor has granted the right to distribute that specified 
brand or brands of wine in that sales territory to another wine wholesaler.  

(2) Notwithstanding subsection (1), a brand extension is not a new or different brand. A manufacturer 
or outstate seller of wine shall assign a brand extension to the wholesaler that was granted the 
sales territory for the brand from which the brand extension resulted. 

(3) Subsection (2) does not apply if, before January 1, 1994, a manufacturer or outstate seller of wine 
had assigned a brand extension to a wholesaler that was not the appointed wholesaler for the 
brand from which the brand extension was made. 

(4) Subsection (2) does not apply if, before October 1, 2019, a successor manufacturer or successor 
outstate seller of wine had assigned a brand extension to a wholesaler that was not the appointed 
wholesaler for the brand from which the extension was made. 

(5) A manufacturer of a mixed wine drink, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, outstate seller of a mixed 
wine drink, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink shall grant to each of its wholesalers an exclusive 
sales territory in which the wholesaler is a distributor of the specified brand or brands of the 
manufacturer or outstate seller. The territory is the territory agreed on between the wholesaler and 
the manufacturer of a mixed wine drink, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, outstate seller of mixed 
wine drinks, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink. 

(6) Notwithstanding subsection (5), a brand extension is not a new or different brand. A manufacturer 
of a mixed wine drink, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, outstate seller of a mixed wine drink, or 
outstate seller of mixed spirit drink shall assign a brand extension to the wholesaler that was 
granted the exclusive sales territory for the brand from which the brand extension resulted.  

(7) Subsection (6) does not apply if, before January 1, 1994, a manufacturer of a mixed wine drink, 
mixed spirit drink manufacturer, outstate seller of a mixed wine drink, or outstate seller of mixed 
spirit drink had assigned a brand extension to a wholesaler that was not the appointed wholesaler 
for the brand from which the brand extension was made. 

(8) Subsection (6) does not apply if, before October 1, 2019, a successor manufacturer or successor 
outstate seller of mixed wine drink or mixed spirit drink had assigned a brand extension to a 
wholesaler that was not the appointed wholesaler for the brand from which the brand extension 
was made.  

(9) Subsection (1) does not prohibit any of the following: 
(a) A manufacturer of wine, an outstate seller of wine, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, outstate 

seller of mixed spirit drink, or a master distributor from continuing or renewing an agreement 
under this act with a wholesaler for a specified brand or brands for any county or part of a 
county where more than 1 wholesaler has an agreement with the manufacturer of wine, 
outstate seller of wine, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, or 
master distributor in effect on June 1, 2010 if the wholesaler had an agreement to distribute 
that specified brand or brands in that county or that part of a county and was a master distributor 
or was actively selling that brand or brands of wine or mixed spirit drink to a retailer in that 
county or that part of a county on June 1, 2010. 

(b) A wholesaler from selling or transferring the wholesaler's distribution rights or a manufacturer 
of wine, outstate seller of wine, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, outstate seller of mixed spirit 
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drink, or master distributor from approving the sale or transfer of a wholesaler's distribution 
rights to a specified brand or brands of wine or mixed spirit drink for any county or part of a 
county to another wholesaler if the selling or transferring wholesaler, or any of its predecessors, 
had the right to distribute that brand or brands of wine or mixed spirit drink in that county or part 
of that county and was actively selling that brand or brands to a retailer in that county or that 
part of a county on June 1, 2010 or was acting as a master distributor for that county or part of 
that county on June 1, 2010. 

(10) As used in this section, "master distributor" means, notwithstanding section 109(4), a wholesaler 
that acts in the same or similar capacity as a wine maker, wine manufacturer, outstate seller of 
wine mixed spirit drink manufacturer, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, for a brand or brands 
of wine or mixed spirit drink to other wholesalers on a regular basis in the normal course of 
business. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998;--Am. 2010, Act 213, Eff. November 17, 2010;--Am. 2018, Act 406, Imd. Eff. Dec. 19, 2018; --Am. 2020, Act 114, Imd. Eff. July 1, 
2020 ;-- Am. 2021, Act 19, Eff. Aug. 23, 2021
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CHAPTER 4 
 

436.1401 Wholesalers to be granted exclusive sales territory by manufacturer and 
outstate seller of beer and malt beverages. 

 
Sec. 401. 
 

(1) A manufacturer and outstate seller of beer and malt beverages shall grant to each of its wholesalers 
an exclusive sales territory, as agreed on between the wholesaler and manufacturer or outstate 
seller of beer, within which the wholesaler is the exclusive distributor of the specified brand or 
brands of the manufacturer or outstate seller of beer. 

(2) If the manufacturer or outstate seller manufactures or supplies more than 1 brand of beer or malt 
beverage, the manufacturer or outstate seller may grant exclusive sales territories to different 
wholesalers for the sale of the different brand or brands. 

(3) Notwithstanding subsection (2), a brand extension is not considered a new or different brand. A 
manufacturer or outstate seller of beer or malt beverages shall assign a brand extension to the 
wholesaler that was granted the exclusive sales territory to the brand from which the brand 
extension resulted. 

(4) Subsection (3) does not apply if, before January 1, 1994, a manufacturer or outstate seller of beer 
or malt beverages had assigned a brand extension to a wholesaler that was not the appointed 
wholesaler for the brand from which the brand extension was made. 

(5) Subsection (3) does not apply if, before October 1, 2019, a successor manufacturer or successor 
outstate seller of beer or malt beverages had assigned a brand extension to a wholesaler that was 
not the appointed wholesaler for the brand from which the brand extension was made. 

(6) The sales territory under this section is the territory agreed upon between the wholesaler and 
manufacturer or outstate seller of beer. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2020, Act 113, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020 
 

436.1403 Beer industry; purpose of section; reasons for regulation; definitions; 
prohibited conduct; termination, cancellation, nonrenewal, or 
discontinuance of agreement; burden; notice; test marketing; sales and 
distribution; additional agreement prohibited; transfer of wholesaler’s 
business; compensation for diminished value of wholesaler’s business; 
arbitration; costs; default; waiver; good faith dispute settlement; agreement 
binding on successor to supplier; agreements to which section applicable; 
civil action for actual damages; liability; action for declaratory judgment; 
exemplary damages; injunctive relief; procedure for resolving violations. 

 
Sec. 403. 
 

(1) The purpose of this section is to provide a structure for the business relations between a wholesaler 
of beer and a supplier of beer. Regulation in this area is considered necessary for the following 
reasons:  

(a) To maintain stability and healthy competition in the beer industry in this state. 
(b) To promote and maintain a sound, stable, and viable 3-tier system of distribution of beer 

to the public. 
(c) To promote the public health, safety, and welfare. 

(2) As used in this section, unless the context requires otherwise: 
(a) “Agreement” means any agreement between a wholesaler and a supplier, whether oral or 

written, whereby a wholesaler is granted the right to offer and sell a brand or brands of 
beer sold by a supplier. 

(b) “Ancillary business” means a business owned by a wholesaler, a stockholder of a 
wholesaler, or a partner of a wholesaler the primary purpose of which is directly related to 
the transporting, storing, or marketing of the brand or brands of beer of a supplier with 
whom the wholesaler has an agreement; or a business owned by a wholesaler, a 
stockholder of a wholesaler, or a partner of a wholesaler which recycles empty returnable 
beverage containers. 



4-2 

(c) “Designated member” means the spouse, child, grandchild, parent, brother, or sister of a 
deceased individual who owned an interest in a wholesaler, who is entitled to inherit the 
deceased individual's ownership interest in the wholesaler under the terms of the deceased 
individual's will, or who has otherwise been designated in writing by the deceased individual 
to succeed the deceased individual in the wholesaler's business, or is entitled to inherit 
such ownership interest under the laws of intestate succession of this state. With respect 
to an incapacitated individual owning an ownership interest in a wholesaler, the term 
means the person appointed by a court as the conservator of such individual's property. 
The term also includes the appointed and qualified personal representative and the 
testamentary trustee of a deceased individual owning an ownership interest in a 
wholesaler. 

(d) “Good faith” means honesty in fact and the observance of reasonable commercial 
standards of fair dealing in the trade, as defined and interpreted under section 2103 of the 
uniform commercial code, 1962 PA 174, MCL 440.2103. 

(e) “Master distributor” means a wholesaler who acts in the same or similar capacity as a 
brewer or outstate seller of beer for a brand or brands of beer to other wholesalers on a 
regular basis in the normal course of business. 

(f) “Reasonable qualifications” means the average standard of the criteria used by the 
respective supplier for wholesalers that entered into or renewed an agreement with the 
supplier during a period of 24 months prior to the proposed transfer of the wholesaler's 
business. 

(g) “Retaliatory action” means action which includes, but is not limited to, the refusal to 
continue an agreement, or a material reduction in the quality of service or quantity of 
products available to a wholesaler under an agreement, which refusal or reduction is not 
made in good faith. 

(h) “Sales territory” means an area of exclusive sales responsibility for the brand or brands of 
beer sold by a supplier as designated by an agreement. 

(i) “Successor” means a supplier who obtains, in any manner from any person, including a 
person who is not a supplier, the distribution rights of 1 or more brands of beer which a 
licensed Michigan wholesaler has distributed in this state pursuant to an agreement with 
another supplier who previously had the distribution rights for the brand or brands. 

(j) “Supplier” means a brewer, an outstate seller of beer, or a master distributor. 
(k) “Transfer of a wholesaler's business” means the voluntary sale, assignment, or other 

transfer of the business or control of the business of the wholesaler, including the sale or 
other transfer of stock or assets by merger, consolidation, or dissolution. 

(3) A supplier shall not do any of the following: 
(a) Coerce, or attempt to coerce, any wholesaler to accept delivery of any beer or other 

commodity which has not been ordered by the wholesaler. However, a supplier may 
impose reasonable inventory requirements upon a wholesaler if the requirements are made 
in good faith and are generally applied to other wholesalers having an agreement with the 
supplier. 

(b) Coerce, or attempt to coerce, any wholesaler to accept delivery of any beer or other 
commodity ordered by a wholesaler if the order was properly canceled by the wholesaler 
in accordance with the procedures agreed upon by the supplier and wholesaler. 

(c) Coerce, or attempt to coerce, any wholesaler to do any illegal act by threatening to amend, 
cancel, terminate, or refuse to renew any agreement existing between the supplier and 
wholesaler. 

(d) Require a wholesaler to assent to any condition, stipulation, or provision limiting the 
wholesaler's right to sell the brand or brands of beer of any other supplier anywhere in this 
state unless the acquisition of the brand or brands of another supplier would materially 
impair the quality of service of the brand or brands of the supplier presently being sold by 
the wholesaler. 

(e) Require a wholesaler to purchase 1 or more brands of beer in order for the wholesaler to 
purchase another brand or brands of beer for any reason. However, a wholesaler that has 
agreed to distribute a brand or brands before June 26, 1984 shall continue to distribute the 
brand or brands in conformance with this section.  

(f) Request a wholesaler to submit profit and loss statements, balance sheets, or financial 
records as a requirement for renewing or retaining an agreement. 
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(g) Withhold delivery of beer ordered by a wholesaler, or change a wholesaler's quota of a 
brand or brands if the withholding or change is not made in good faith. 

(h) Require a wholesaler by any means to participate in or contribute to any local or national 
advertising fund controlled directly or indirectly by a supplier.  

(i) Fail to provide each wholesaler of the supplier's brand or brands with a written agreement 
which contains, in total, the supplier's agreement with each wholesaler and which 
designates a specific sales territory. Any agreement which is in existence on June 26, 1984 
shall be renewed consistent with this section, except that this section may be incorporated 
by reference in the agreement. 

(j) Fix, maintain, or establish the price at which a wholesaler shall sell any beer. 
(k) Take any retaliatory action against a wholesaler that files a complaint regarding an alleged 

violation by the supplier of state or federal law or an administrative rule. 
(l) Require or prohibit any change in the manager or successor manager of any wholesaler 

who has been approved by the supplier as of June 26, 1984. Should a wholesaler change 
an approved manager or successor manager, a supplier shall not require or prohibit the 
change unless the person fails to meet the reasonable written standards for Michigan 
wholesalers of the supplier which standards have been provided to the wholesaler. 

(m) Require by a provision of any agreement or other instrument in connection with the 
agreement that any dispute arising out of or in connection with that agreement be 
determined through the application of any other state's laws, be determined in federal court 
sitting in a state other than Michigan, or be determined in a state court of a state other than 
the state of Michigan. A provision contained in any agreement or other instrument in 
connection with the agreement which contravenes this subdivision shall be null and void. 

(4) A wholesaler shall not sell or deliver beer to a retail licensee located outside the sales territory 
designated by the supplier of a particular brand or brands of beer. However, during periods of 
temporary service interruptions impacting a particular sales territory, a wholesaler who normally 
services the impacted sales territory shall file with the commission a written notice designating the 
specific wholesaler or wholesalers who will service the sales territory during the period of temporary 
service interruption and the approximate length of time of the service interruption. When the 
temporary service interruption is over, the wholesaler who normally services the sales territory shall 
notify in writing the commission and the wholesaler, or wholesalers, which is servicing the sales 
territory on a temporary basis of this fact and any wholesaler servicing the sales territory on a 
temporary basis shall cease servicing the sales territory upon receipt of the notice. 
   A wholesaler who is designated to service the impacted sales territory during the period of 
temporary service shall not be in violation of this subsection. 
   A wholesaler who has been designated to service the impacted sales territory during the period 
of temporary service interruption shall not have any of the rights provided under subsections (6) to 
(12). 

(5) A supplier or wholesaler shall not restrict or inhibit, directly or indirectly, the right of free association 
among suppliers or wholesalers for any lawful purpose.  

(6) Notwithstanding the terms, provisions, or conditions of any agreement, a supplier shall not amend 
any agreement unless the supplier is acting in good faith in making the amendment. 

(7) Notwithstanding any agreement and except as otherwise provided for in this section, a supplier 
shall not cause a wholesaler to resign from an agreement; or cancel, terminate, fail to renew, or 
refuse to continue under an agreement unless the supplier has complied with all of the following: 

(a) Has satisfied the applicable notice requirements of subsection (10). 
(b) Has acted in good faith. 
(c) Has good cause for the cancellation, termination, nonrenewal, discontinuance, or forced 

resignation. 
(8) Notwithstanding any agreement, good cause shall exist for the purposes of a termination, 

cancellation, nonrenewal, or discontinuance under subsection (7)(c) when all of the following occur: 
(a) There is a failure by the wholesaler to comply with a provision of the agreement which is 

both reasonable and of material significance to the business relationship between the 
wholesaler and the supplier. 

(b) The supplier first acquired knowledge of the failure described in subdivision (a) not more 
than 2 years before the date notification was given pursuant to subsection (7). 

(c) The wholesaler was given written notice by the supplier of failure to comply with the 
agreement.  
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(d) The wholesaler was afforded a reasonable opportunity to assert good faith efforts to comply 
with the agreement within the time limits as provided for in subdivision (e).  

(e) The wholesaler has been afforded 30 days in which to submit a plan of corrective action to 
comply with the agreement and an additional 90 days to cure such noncompliance in 
accordance with the plan.  

(9) For each termination, cancellation, nonrenewal, or discontinuance, the supplier shall have the 
burden of showing that it has acted in good faith, that the notice requirements under this section 
have been complied with, and that there was good cause for the termination, cancellation, 
nonrenewal, or discontinuance. 

(10) Notwithstanding any agreement and except as otherwise provided in this section, the supplier shall 
furnish written notice of the termination, cancellation, nonrenewal, or discontinuance of an 
agreement to the wholesaler not less than 15 days before the effective date of the termination, 
cancellation, nonrenewal, or discontinuance. The notice shall be by certified mail and shall contain 
all of the following: 

(a) A statement of intention to terminate, cancel, not renew, or discontinue the agreement. 
(b) A statement of the reason for the termination, cancellation, nonrenewal, or discontinuance.  
(c) The date on which the termination, cancellation, nonrenewal, or discontinuance takes 

effect. 
(11) Notwithstanding subsections (7) and (10), a supplier may terminate, cancel, fail to renew, or 

discontinue an agreement upon written notice given in the manner and containing the information 
required by subsection (10) if any of the following occur: 

(a) Insolvency of the wholesaler, the filing of any petition by or against the wholesaler under 
any bankruptcy or receivership law, or the dissolution or liquidation of the wholesaler which 
materially affects the wholesaler's ability to remain in business. 

(b) Revocation of the wholesaler's license by the commission whereby the wholesaler cannot 
service the wholesaler's sales territory for more than 60 days. 

(c) The wholesaler, or an individual who owns more than 10% of the stock of a corporate 
wholesaler, has been convicted of a felony. As used in this subdivision, “felony” means a 
felony under the United States Code or the Michigan Compiled Laws. However, an existing 
approved stockholder or stockholders shall have the right to purchase the stock of the 
offending stockholder prior to the conviction of the offending stockholder and, if the sale is 
completed prior to conviction, the provisions of this subdivision shall not apply. 

(12) Notwithstanding subsections (7), (10), and (11), upon not less than 15 days' prior written notice 
given in the manner and containing the information required by subsection (10), a supplier may 
terminate, cancel, fail to renew, or discontinue an agreement if any of the following events occur: 

(a) There was fraudulent conduct on the part of the wholesaler in dealings with the supplier. 
(b) The wholesaler failed to confine its sales of a brand or brands to the assigned sales 

territory. This subdivision does not apply if there is a dispute between 2 or more 
wholesalers as to the boundaries of the assigned territory, and the boundaries cannot be 
determined by a reading of the description contained in the agreements between the 
supplier and the wholesalers. 

(c) The sale by the wholesaler of any brand or brands sold by the supplier to the wholesaler 
and known by the wholesaler to be ineligible for sale prior to the actual sale to the retailer. 
The supplier shall repurchase the ineligible product from the wholesaler when the 
ineligibility is caused by the supplier. The supplier must give the wholesaler written notice 
specifying the ineligible product. This subdivision does not apply when a supplier ships a 
brand or brands to a wholesaler that must be removed within 60 days of the deadline for 
retail sale of the product. This 60-day period shall commence upon receipt of the product 
by the wholesaler. 

(13) Notwithstanding subsections (7), (10), (11), and (12), a supplier may terminate, cancel, not renew, 
or discontinue an agreement upon not less than 30 days' prior written notice if the supplier 
discontinues production or discontinues distribution in this state of all the brands sold by the 
supplier to the wholesaler. Nothing in this section shall prohibit a supplier upon not less than 30 
days' notice to discontinue the distribution of any particular brand or package of beer. This 
subsection does not prohibit a supplier from conducting test marketing of a new brand of beer or 
from conducting the test marketing of a brand of beer which is not currently being sold in this state 
provided that the supplier has notified the commission in writing of its plans to test market. The 
notice shall describe the market area in which the test shall be conducted; the name or names of 
the wholesaler or wholesalers who will be selling the beer; the name or names of the brand of beer 
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being tested; and the period of time during which the testing will take place. A market testing period 
shall not exceed 18 months. 

(14) The wholesaler shall devote reasonable efforts and resources to sales and distribution of all the 
supplier's products which the wholesaler has been granted the right to sell and distribute and shall 
maintain reasonable sales levels. 

(15) A brewer, an outstate seller of beer, or a master distributor that has designated a sales territory for 
a wholesaler shall not enter into an additional agreement with any other wholesaler for the same 
brand or brands of beer in the same territory or any portion of that territory. 

(16) A supplier shall not withhold consent to any transfer of a wholesaler's business if the proposed 
transferee meets the material and reasonable qualifications and standards required by the supplier. 
A wholesaler shall give the supplier written notice of intent to transfer the wholesaler's business. A 
supplier shall not unreasonably delay a response to a request for a proposed transfer of a 
wholesaler's business. However, a transfer of a wholesaler's business which is not approved by 
the supplier shall be null and void. A supplier shall not interfere with, or prevent, the transfer of the 
wholesaler's business if the proposed transferee is a designated member. 

(17) A supplier that has amended, canceled, terminated, or refused to renew any agreement; has 
caused a wholesaler to resign from an agreement; or has withheld consent to any assignment or 
transfer of a wholesaler's business, except as provided for in this section, shall pay the wholesaler 
reasonable compensation for the diminished value of the wholesaler's business or of any ancillary 
business which has been negatively affected by the act of the supplier, or both. The value of the 
wholesaler's business or ancillary business shall include, but not be limited to, its good will. 

(18) Either party may, at any time, determine that mutual agreement on the amount of reasonable 
compensation cannot be reached. Should such a determination be made, the supplier or the 
wholesaler shall send written notice to the other party declaring their intention to proceed with 
arbitration. Arbitration shall proceed only by mutual agreement of both parties. 

(19) The matter of determining the amount of compensation under arbitration may, by agreement of the 
parties, be submitted to a 5-member arbitration panel consisting of 2 representatives selected by 
the supplier but unassociated with the affected supplier, 2 wholesaler representatives selected by 
the wholesaler but unassociated with the wholesaler, and an impartial arbitrator. 

(20) Not more than 10 days after the notice to enter into arbitration has been sent, each party shall 
request, in writing, a list of 5 arbitrators from the American arbitration association. Not more than 
10 days after the receipt of the list of 5 choices, the wholesaler arbitrators and the supplier 
arbitrators may strike and disqualify up to 2 names each from the list. Should either party fail to 
respond within the 10 days or should more than 1 name remain, the American arbitration 
association shall make the selection of the impartial arbitrator. 

(21) Not more than 30 days after the list of arbitrators is received, the wholesaler and supplier shall 
exchange in writing the names of their respective arbitration panel representatives. 

(22) Not more than 30 days after the final selection of the arbitration panel is made, the arbitration panel 
shall convene to decide the dispute. The panel shall render a decision by majority vote of the 
participants within 20 days from the conclusion of the arbitration. 

(23) The cost of the impartial arbitrator, the stenographer, and the meeting site shall be equally divided 
between the wholesaler and the supplier. All other costs shall be paid by the party incurring them. 
The award of the arbitration panel shall be final and binding on the parties. 

(24) After both parties have agreed to arbitrate should either party fail to abide by the time limitations as 
prescribed in subsections (20), (21), and (22), or fail or refuse to make the selection of any 
arbitrators, or fail to participate in the arbitration hearings, the other party shall make the selection 
of their arbitrators and proceed to arbitration. The party who has failed or refused to comply as 
prescribed in this subsection shall be considered to be in default. Any party considered to be in 
default pursuant to this subsection shall have waived any and all rights the party would have had 
in the arbitration and shall be considered to have consented to the determination of the arbitration 
panel. 

(25) A wholesaler shall not waive any of the rights granted in any provision of this section. Nothing in 
this section shall be construed to limit or prohibit good faith dispute settlements voluntarily entered 
into by the parties. 

(26) A successor to a supplier that continues in business as a brewer, an outstate seller of beer, or a 
master distributor shall be bound by all terms and conditions of each agreement of the supplier with 
a wholesaler licensed in this state that were in effect on the date on which the successor received 
the distribution rights of the previous supplier. 
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(27) This section shall apply to agreements in existence on June 26, 1984, as well as agreements 
entered into or renewed after that date. 

(28) If a supplier engages in conduct prohibited under this section, a wholesaler with which the supplier 
has an agreement may maintain a civil action against the supplier to recover actual damages 
reasonably incurred as the result of the prohibited conduct. If a wholesaler engages in conduct 
prohibited under this section, a supplier with which the wholesaler has an agreement may maintain 
a civil action against the wholesaler to recover actual damages reasonably incurred as the result 
of the prohibited conduct. 

(29) A supplier that violates any provision of this section is liable for all actual damages and all court 
costs and reasonable attorney fees incurred by a wholesaler as a result of that violation. A 
wholesaler that violates any provision of this section is liable for all actual damages and all court 
costs and reasonable attorney fees incurred by the supplier as a result of that violation. 

(30) A supplier or wholesaler may bring an action for declaratory judgment for determination of any 
controversy arising pursuant to this section. 

(31) Except as otherwise provided in this section, if a court finds that a supplier has not acted in good 
faith in effecting an amendment, termination, cancellation, or nonrenewal of any agreement; or has 
unreasonably withheld its consent to any assignment, transfer, or sale of a wholesaler's business, 
it may award exemplary damages, as well as actual damages, court costs, and reasonable attorney 
fees to the wholesaler who has been damaged by the action of the supplier. 

(32) Upon proper application to the court, a supplier or wholesaler may obtain injunctive relief against 
any violation of this section. If the court grants injunctive relief or issues a temporary restraining 
order, bond shall not be required to be posted. 

(33) The procedure for resolving any violation of subsection (3)(a), (b), (c), (e), (f), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), or 
(4) shall be the procedure prescribed by this act and the administrative procedures act of 1969, 
1969 PA 306, MCL 24.201 to 24.328. Any other violation of or dispute regarding this section, unless 
the dispute is resolved pursuant to subsections (18) to (24), shall only be resolved by a civil action 
in court as provided in this section and not by the commission. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
 

436.1405 Brewpub license; requirements for issuance. 

 
Sec. 405. 
 

(1) Subject to section 407, the commission shall issue a brewpub license to a person who is licensed 
as a food service establishment under the food law, 2000 PA 92, MCL 289.1101 to 289.8111, and 
that at the time of application for the brewpub license is licensed and continues to be licensed as 1 
or more of the following: 

(a) Class C. 
(b) Tavern.  
(c) Class A hotel. 
(d) Class B hotel. 

(2) A brewpub shall possess the necessary equipment for a satisfactory operation that must be 
maintained in good working order and in a sanitary condition.  

(3) Agricultural products processed by a manufacturer must comply with state law and with rules of the 
United States Department of Agriculture. 

(4) Each location of a brewpub must have a manufacturing operation on the licensed premises that 
complies with subsection (5). A brewpub shall apply for and obtain a license for each location of 
the brewpub. In determining the 18,000-barrel threshold, all brands and labels of the brewpub 
produced in this state must be combined. 

(5) Beer must be manufactured under federal malt beverage regulations published in 27 CFR 25.1 to 
25.301, which are hereby adopted by reference.  

(6) Each brewpub shall submit to the commission, on forms acceptable to the commission and 
postmarked not later than January 15, April 15, July 15, and October 15 of each year, a beer tax 
report of all beer sold under its brewpub license during the preceding quarter. Each brewpub shall 
also submit, with the beer tax report, the payment of the required beer excise tax due under section 
409. 

(7) A brewpub must be the holder of a “brewers notice” as issued by the United States Department of 
Treasury, Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau in accordance with 27 CFR 25.61 to 25.85. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; Am. 2014, Act 353, Imd. Eff. Oct. 17, 2014; --Am. 2020, act 118, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020 
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436.1407 Brewpub license; additional requirements; renewal and revocation of 
license. 

 
Sec. 407. 
 

(1) The commission shall grant a brewpub license to a person that, in addition to complying with section 
405, does all of the following: 

(a) Pays the fee as prescribed in section 525. 
(b) Provides evidence to the commission that not less than 25% of the gross sales of the 

restaurant during the 1-year licensure period are derived from the sale of food and 
nonalcoholic beverages prepared for consumption on the premises. 

(c) Complies with section 405(3) through (7). 
(2) The commission shall renew a brewpub license of a person who does all of the following: 

(a) Pays the fee as prescribed in section 525. 
(b) Provides evidence to the commission that not less than 25% of the gross sales of the 

restaurant during the 1-year licensure period are derived from the sale of food and 
nonalcoholic beverages prepared for consumption on the premises. 

(c) Complies with section 405(3) through (7). 
(3) The commission shall revoke a brewpub license if, during the 1-year licensure period, less than 

25% of the gross sales of the restaurant are derived from the sale of food and nonalcoholic 
beverages prepared for consumption on the premises. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; --Am. 2020, Act 105, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020 
 

436.1409 Beer; taxation; payment of tax by wholesaler; designation; tax collection and 
reporting requirements by rule; exemptions; rebate; barrel as containing 31 
gallons; rule prohibiting licensees from purchasing, receiving, possessing, 
or selling beer manufactured in designated states; judicial review; tax credit 
or refund; “eligible brewer” defined. 

 
Sec. 409. 
 

(1) Except as provided in this section, the commission shall levy and collect a tax on all beer 
manufactured or sold in this state at the rate of $6.30 per barrel if the beer is sold in bulk or in 
different quantities. Before February 1, 2015, the tax must be paid by the brewer or brewpub if 
manufactured in this state or by the wholesaler or the person from whom purchased if manufactured 
outside this state, whichever is designated by the commission.  

(2) Beginning on and after February 1, 2015, the tax under this section must be paid by the brewer or 
brewpub if the beer is manufactured in this state or if the beer is manufactured outside this state 
the tax must be paid by the wholesaler assigned to distribute that beer and the tax must be levied 
and collected on the number of barrels the wholesaler actually sold to licensed retailers in this state. 
A brewer may designate a wholesaler to pay the tax on behalf of the brewer. If a brewer designates 
a wholesaler to pay the tax on its behalf, the brewer shall notify the commission of the designation 
and provide the commission with a copy of its brewer's report of operations that it filed with the 
Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau of the United States Department of Treasury for each 
calendar year. 

(3) The commission shall establish by rule a method for the collection of the tax levied under subsection 
(1) and reporting requirements for wholesalers, brewers, brewpubs, and outstate sellers of beer to 
verify the remission of taxes to this state. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the 
commission shall not require that the tax be paid in less than monthly intervals. Beginning March 
15, 2020, the commission shall not require that the tax be paid in less than quarterly intervals.  The 
rules under this section must be promulgated pursuant to the administrative procedures act of 1969, 
1969 PA 306, MCL 24.201 to 24.328. 

(4) The tax levied under subsection (1) must not be collected on beer that is consumed on the premises 
of the manufacturer or is damaged in the process of brewing, packaging, storage, and distribution 
and is not offered for sale, except that beer sold by a brewpub for consumption on the premises or 
beer produced and consumed on the premises of a micro brewer is subject to the tax levied under 
subsection (1). 
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(5) The tax levied under subsection (1) must be rebated to the person that paid the tax if the person 
provides satisfactory proof to the commission that the beer was shipped outside of this state for 
sale and consumption outside this state. 

(6) For the purposes of the tax levied under subsection (1), a barrel of beer contains 31 gallons. 
(7) The commission may promulgate a rule that designates the states or the laws or the rules of other 

states that require a licensed wholesaler of beer to pay an additional fee for the right to purchase, 
import, or sell beer manufactured in this state; that denies the issuance of a license authorizing the 
importation of beer to any wholesaler of beer in that state who applies for the license; that prohibits 
wholesalers of beer in that state from possessing or selling beer purchased in this state, unless the 
person from whom the beer was purchased has secured a license and paid a fee in that state, if 
the seller does not transport the beer into the state and does not sell the beer in the state; or that 
imposes any higher taxes or inspection fees on beer manufactured in this state when transporting 
the beer into or selling the beer in that state than taxes or fees imposed on beer manufactured and 
sold within that state. A rule promulgated under this subsection must prohibit all licensees from 
purchasing, receiving, possessing, or selling any beer manufactured in any state designated in the 
rule. A rule promulgated under this subsection becomes effective as provided in section 47 of the 
administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 306, MCL 24.247. Any licensee or person 
adversely affected by a rule promulgated under this subsection is entitled to review by leave to a 
court of competent jurisdiction regarding the question as to whether the commission acted illegally 
or in excess of its authority in making its finding under this subsection with respect to any state. 

(8) Regardless of whether the tax was remitted to this state by the eligible brewer or a designated 
wholesaler, an eligible brewer may claim a credit or request a refund, in a manner as determined 
by the commission, against the tax levied under subsection (1) in the amount of $2.00 per barrel 
for the first 30,000 barrels. As used in this subsection, "eligible brewer" means a brewer, whether 
or not located in this state, or brewpub that manufactures not more than 60,000 barrels of beer 
during the tax year for which the credit is claimed. In determining the number of barrels for purposes 
of the credit, all brands and labels of a brewer must be combined and all facilities for the production 
of beer that are owned or controlled by the same person is treated as a single facility. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2000, Act 395, Imd. Eff. Jan. 8, 2001; -- Am. 2014, Act 48, Imd. Eff. Mar. 25, 2014; Am. 2020, Act 109, Imd. Eff. July 1, 

2020 
 

436.1411 Brewer not licensed as micro brewer; sale of beer for on-premises 
consumption on licensed brewery premises; limitations; "engages in the 
production of beer" defined. 

 
Sec. 411.  
 

(1) Subject to the requirements of this section and section 537, a brewer or micro brewer may sell beer 
it manufactured for consumption of or off the premise at an approved tasting room under section 
536 if the tasting room is located on licensed brewery premises where the brewer or micro brewer 
manufactures. 

(2) The sale of beer under subsection (1) is subject to all of the following limitations:  
(a) A brewer that is not licensed as a micro brewer and that produces in total 120,000 barrel 

of beer or more per year may sell its beer for on-premises consumption at not more than 2 
approved tasting rooms in this state. 

(b) A brewer that is not licensed as a micro brewer and that produces in total fewer than 
120,000 barrels of beer per year may sell its beer for on-premises consumption at not more 
than 3 approved tasting rooms in this state. 

(c) A licensed micro brewer that produces in total fewer than 30,000 barrels of beer per year 
may sell its beer for on-premises consumption at any of its approved tasting rooms in this 
state.  

(d) A licensed micro brewer that produces in total 30,000 barrels of beer or more per year may 
sell its beer for on-premises consumption at not more than 3 approved tasting rooms in 
this state. 

(3) Subject to the limitations in subsection (2), if a brewer or micro brewer has more than 1 licensed 
brewery premises, that brewer or micro brewer may sell beer that it has produced at 1 licensed 
brewery premises at an approved tasting room located on any of its other licensed brewery 
premises if 1 of the following requirements is met: 
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(a) The licensed brewery premises that receives the beer, on which the approved tasting room 
is located, has an installed and functional mutivessel system capable of producing and 
fermenting at least 3 barrels of wort in a single batch. 

(b) The licensed brewery premises that receives the beer, on which the approved tasting room 
is located, produces a volume of beer equivalent to 50% of the volume of beer sold to 
consumers at that tasting room. 

(c) The licensed brewery premises that receives the beer, on which the approved tasting room 
is located, submitted an application for licensure at that location before October 1, 2018. 

(d) The licensed brewery premises that receives the beer, on which the approved tasting room 
is located, is a location that was approved by the commission as a wine tasting room under 
section 537 before October 1, 2018 for which an application was received after October 1, 
2018 to transfer the wine tasting room to the same person who is applying for a micro 
brewer license at this location.  The application for licensure as a micro brewer at this 
location must have been submitted before January 30, 2019 and the wine tasting room 
location must be actively operated at the time the micro brewer license is issued. 

History: Add. 2000, Act 395, Imd. Eff. Jan. 8, 2001; -- Am. 2011, Act 298, Imd. Eff. Dec. 22, 2011; -- Am. 2014, Act 44, Imd. Eff. Mar. 25, 2014; --Am. 2018, Act 403, Imd. Eff. 

Dec. 19, 2018; Am. 2020, Act 219, Imd, Eff. Oct. 16, 2020 
 

436.1413 Participation in beer festival; direct sale by licensed brewpub to holder of 
special license. 

 
Sec. 413.   
 
Notwithstanding any provision of this act or rule promulgated under this act, a licensed brewpub may directly 
sell to a holder of a special license issued under section 526, for the purpose of conducting a beer festival, 
a quantity of beer determined appropriate by the commission for the purpose of participating in a beer 
festival. 

History: Add. 2008, Act 259, Imd. Eff. Aug. 4, 2008 
 

436.1415       Issuance of farmer's market permit to qualified small wine maker. 

 
Sec. 415. 
 

(1) Subject to the limitations provided under this section, the commission may issue a farmer's market 
permit to a qualified small wine maker.  Regardless of the location of the qualified small wine maker, 
the commission shall only issue 1 farmer's market permit in a county where the farmer's market is 
located for each 1,500 of population or fraction of 1,500 in that county as determined by the last 
federal decennial census, by a special census pursuant to section 6 of the home rule city act, 1909 
PA 279, MCL 117.6, or section 7 of the Glenn Steil state revenue sharing act of 1971, 1971 PA 
140, MCL 141.907, or by the latest census and corrections published by the United States 
department of commerce, bureau of the census, whichever is later. The holder of a farmer's market 
permit may conduct tastings and sell, at retail at a farmer's market, the wine produced by that 
qualified small wine maker. 

(2) The commission shall charge a fee for a farmer's market permit of $25.00 for each farmer's market 
location. A farmer's market permit issued under this section is nontransferable. Notwithstanding the 
quota provision under subsection (1), the commission shall not limit the number of permits a 
qualified small wine maker obtains under this section, but an application for a farmer's market 
permit shall only contain up to 5 separate locations at 1 time. Section 503 does not apply to the 
application or issuance of a permit under this section or to the location of a farmer's market where 
the holder of a farmer's market permit intends to participate under this section. The commission 
shall not issue a farmer's market permit under this section unless the applicant provides 
documentation, in a manner prescribed by the commission, that the local police agency where the 
farmer's market is located and the farmer's market manager at that location have approved the 
proposed activity. 

(3) The tastings and sales performed under a farmer's market permit shall be limited to an exclusive 
area that is well defined and clearly marked, in a manner prescribed by the commission, that is 
under the control of the holder of the farmer's market permit, as verified by the farmer's market 
manager. 
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(4) The tastings and sales performed under a farmer's market permit shall be conducted by employees 
of the holder of the farmer's market permit who have completed a server training program as 
provided for in section 906 and the rules promulgated by the commission. 

(5) The wine sold or used for tastings shall be furnished from the stock of the holder of the farmer's 
market permit and removed from the farmer's market premises immediately after the farmer's 
market has concluded. 

(6) Tasting samples provided to a customer shall not exceed 3 servings of not more than 2 ounces of 
wine in a 24-hour period of time. 

(7) The commission shall develop an application for an annual farmer's market permit allowing for 
licensed activities under this section. A farmer's market manager shall verify on the application that 
the location listed on the application qualifies as a farmer's market under this section. 

(8) A wholesaler shall not conduct or participate in any event allowed by this section. 
(9) A holder of a farmer's market permit is considered a manufacturer as provided under section 

603(15)(a). 
(10) Two years after the enactment date of the amendatory act that added this section, the commission 

shall submit a report to the standing committees of the senate and house of representatives 
concerned with issues involving liquor control and the house and senate fiscal agencies assessing 
the continued issuance of farmer's market permits to qualified small wine makers. The report shall 
include, at a minimum, all of the following: 

(a) The number of applications received each year for a farmer's market permit. 
(b) The number of farmer's market permit applications approved each year. 
(c) The number of farmer's market permit applications approved in each county. 

(11) As used in this section: 
(a) "Farmer's market" means a group of farmers or their designees or a variety of vendors, as 

determined by the farmer's market manager or his or her designee, who assembles on a 
recurring basis at a defined community sponsored or municipally sponsored location for 
the purposes of selling, directly to a consumer, food and products produced by those 
farmers or their representatives. 

(b) "Farmer's market manager" means the person responsible for enforcing the market policy 
and for the daily operation and management of the farmer's market. 

(c) "Farmer's market permit" means an annual permit issued as part of an approved license to 
a qualified small wine maker allowing that person to conduct tastings and sell at retail, for 
consumption off the licensed premises, at a farmer's market, wine produced by the qualified 
small wine maker. 

(d) "Qualified small wine maker" means a small wine maker, or an out-of-state entity that is 
the substantial equivalent of a small wine maker, that manufactures or bottles not more 
than 5,000 gallons of wine in 1 calendar year. 

History: Add. 2013, Act 100, Eff. August 31, 2013 
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CHAPTER 5 
 

436.1501 Licenses; issuance; fees; bonds or liability insurance; expiration of full-year 
license; license as contract; operation of establishment upon death of 
licensee; approval of receiver or trustee; part-year license; transfer of 
license; approval of application; request for revocation of license or permit 
by local legislative body; hotels; zones and anniversary dates for renewal of 
licenses; rules; nontransferable tavern licenses for concessionaires at state 
fairgrounds; notice contained in application. 

 
Sec. 501. 
 

(1) The commission may issue licenses as provided in this act on the payment of the fees provided 
in section 525 and the filing of liability insurance as provided in section 803. The commission shall 
provide a notification of the ability of the purchaser or transferee to obtain a tax clearance 
certificate, as provided in subsection (6). Subject to section 906(2) and (3), the commission shall 
not issue a new on premises license or transfer more than 50% interest in an existing on premises 
license unless the applicant or transferee offers proof acceptable to the commission that he or she 
has employed or has present on the licensed premises, at a minimum, supervisory personnel on 
each shift and during all hours in which alcoholic liquor is served who have successfully completed 
a server training program described in section 906. The commission may consider an individual 
enrolled and actively participating in a server training program as having successfully completed 
the program for the time the individual is participating. The commission may allow an applicant or 
a conditionally approved licensee at least 180 days, or more on a showing of good cause, to meet 
the minimum personnel training requirements of this subsection. The commission may suspend 
the license of a conditionally approved licensee if that licensee does not comply with this 
subsection. The commission may waive the server training requirements of this subsection on the 
basis of either of the following circumstances: 

(a) The licensee's responsible operating experience or training. 
(b) The person's demonstration of an acceptable level of responsible operation either as a 

licensee during the preceding 3 years or as a manager with substantial experience in 
serving alcoholic liquor. 

(2) A full-year license issued by the commission expires on April 30 following the date of issuance or 
the date fixed by the commission. A license issued under this act is a contract between the 
commission and the licensee and shall be signed by both parties. If a licensee dies, the 
commission may approve a personal representative or independent personal representative 
appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction to operate the establishment, pending the 
settlement of the estate of the deceased licensee. The commission may approve a receiver or 
trustee appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction to operate the licensed establishment of a 
licensee. The commission may grant a part-year license for a proportionate part of the license fee 
specified in section 525. In a resort area the commission shall grant a license for a period of time 
as short as 3 months. A license may be transferred with the consent of the commission. A class 
C or specially designated distributor license obtained in a manner other than by transfer must not 
be transferred within 3 years after it is issued except under circumstances where the licensee 
clearly and convincingly demonstrates that unusual hardship will result if the transfer does not 
receive the consent of the commission. An application for a license to sell alcoholic liquor for 
consumption on the premises, except in a city having a population of 600,000 or more, must be 
approved by the local legislative body in which the applicant's place of business is located before 
the license is granted by the commission, except that for an application for renewal of an existing 
license, if an objection to a renewal has not been filed with the commission by the local legislative 
body not less than 30 days before the date of expiration of the license, the approval of the local 
legislative body is not required. The commission shall provide the local legislative body and the 
local chief of police with the name, home and business addresses, and home and business phone 
numbers to accomplish the local legislative reviews of new and transferred license applications 
required by this subsection. On request of the local legislative body after due notice and proper 
hearing by the local legislative body and the commission, the commission shall revoke the license 
of a licensee granted a license to sell alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises or any 
permit held in conjunction with that license. 
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(3) A local legislative body, by resolution, may request that the commission revoke the license of a 
licensee granted a license to sell alcoholic liquor for consumption off the premises whose place of 
business is located within the local legislative body's jurisdiction and that has been determined in 
commission violation hearings to have sold or furnished alcoholic liquor, on at least 3 separate 
occasions in a consecutive 12-month period, to a minor if those violations did not involve the use 
of falsified or fraudulent identification by the minor. If the commission verifies that the licensee who 
is the subject of the resolution has been found to have committed the violations as prescribed in 
this subsection, the commission may suspend or revoke the licensee's license and any permit 
held in conjunction with that license. 

(4) This act does not prohibit a hotel that is or was the holder of a license authorizing the retail sale 
of alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises from applying for and receiving under this act 
any other and different type of license authorizing the retail sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption 
on the premises.  The application for the license shall not be considered a new application for a 
license if the total number of public licenses for consumption on the premises does not exceed 
the authorized total established in this act and the sale of alcoholic liquor is approved by the 
electors. The commission may divide the state into 3 zones and establish for each zone an 
anniversary date for renewal of full-year retail licenses in the licensing year. The commission shall 
promulgate rules under the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 306, MCL 24.201 to 
24.328, for the effective administration of the renewal of licenses. 

(5) The commission, with the written approval of the department of agriculture and rural development 
for the Michigan state fairgrounds and the Upper Peninsula state fairgrounds, may issue without 
regard to the quota provision of section 531 a tavern license to a person as concessionaire leasing 
or renting a portion of either the Upper Peninsula state fairgrounds or the state fairgrounds, or 
both, to service the licensed area in use for recreational or exhibition purposes other than at the 
time of the annual Upper Peninsula state fair under section 2 of 1927 PA 89, MCL 285.142. A 
license issued under this subsection is not transferable. 

(6) The application for initial licensure or for a transfer of a license shall contain a notice in substantial 
compliance with the following: 
   When purchasing a license, a buyer can be held liable for tax debts incurred by the previous 
owner. Prior to  committing to the purchase of any license or establishment, the buyer should 
request a tax clearance certificate from the seller that indicates that all taxes have been paid up 
to the date of issuance. Obtaining sound professional assistance from an attorney or accountant 
can be helpful to identify and avoid any pitfalls and hidden liabilities when buying even a portion 
of a business. 
   Sellers can make a request for the tax clearance certificate through the Michigan department of 
treasury. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 1998, Act 416, Imd. Eff. Dec. 21, 1998; -- Am. 2000, Act 431, Imd. Eff. Jan. 9, 2001; -- Am. 2006, Act 547, Imd. Eff. Dec. 
29, 2006 – Am.2012, Act 82, Imd. Eff. Apr.11, 2012; -- Am. 2019, Act 131, Imd. Eff. Nov. 21, 2019. 
 

436.1502 Salesperson license; issuance; expiration; renewal; fee; conduct not 
requiring license; accreditation program; curriculum; administrator; 
definitions. 

 
Sec. 502 
 

(1) Subject to subsection (3), the commission shall issue a salesperson license to an individual who 
is a designated employee of any of the following: 

(a) A manufacturer of beer 
(b) A manufacturer of wine. 
(c) A manufacturer of mixed spirit drink. 
(d) An outstate seller of beer. 
(e) An outstate seller of wine 
(f) An outstate seller of mixed spirit drink. 
(g) A wholesaler. 
(h) A broker that represents 1 or more person described in subdivision (a) to (g). 
(i) A broker described in subdivision (h) that also represents 1 or more of the following 

persons: 
(i) A vendor of spirits 
(ii) A manufacturer of spirits 
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(j)  A vendor of spirits. 
(k) A manufacturer of spirits. 
(l)  A broker that represents 1 or more of the following: 

(i) A vendor of spirits. 
(ii) A manufacturer of spirits. 

(2) A salesperson license issued under this section after April 15, 2018 but before April 30, 2020 
expires on April 30, 2020.  A salesperson license issued under this section is renewable every 3 
years with the first triennial renewal cycle beginning May 1, 2020.  The commission may charge a 
reasonable initial license fee and triennial renewal fee.  The commission shall establish a fee under 
this section by written order.  The nonrefundable inspection fee under section 529(4) is not required 
for an application for a new salesperson license or transfer of a salesperson license.  A salesperson 
license issued or renewed under R 436.1853 of the Michigan Administrative Code expires on the 
earlier of the following dates: 

(a)  Three years after the date of the issuance or renewal. 
(b)  April 30, 2020. 

(3) The commission shall not impose any other requirement or consider any other factor beyond the 
accreditation required in this section for issuance or renewal of a salesperson license.  Except as 
otherwise provided in this subsection, the commission shall not issue a salesperson license under 
this section unless the applicant submits with his or her application written documentation that the 
applicant has successfully completed a salesperson accreditation program.  Except as otherwise 
provided in this subsection, the commission shall not renew a salesperson license issued under 
this section or under R 436.1853 of the Michigan Administrative Code unless the licensee submits 
with his or her application proof acceptable to the commission that the licensee has successfully 
completed a salesperson accreditation program not more than 120 days before the date the 
licensee submits his or her renewal application.  An applicant’s completion of a salesperson 
accreditation program is not a condition for issuance or renewal of a salesperson license for any of 
the following applicants: 

(a) A designated employee of a manufacturer of spirits. 
(b) A designated employee of a vendor of spirits. 
(c) A designated employee of a broker described in subsection (1)(l). 

(4) Except as provided in subsection (5), an individual shall not sell, deliver, promote, or otherwise 
assist in the sale of alcoholic liquor in any manner to a retailer in this state unless licensed under 
this section or under R 436.1853 of the Michigan Administrative Code.  An individual licensed as a 
salesperson under R 436.1853 before April 15, 2018 shall comply with the requirements of this 
section on renewal of his or her salesperson license, application for a subsequent salesperson 
license under a different employer, or a request to transfer his or her salesperson license to a 
different employer. 

(5) This section does not require an individual who is at least 16 years of age and who only does any 
of the following to be licensed as a salesperson: 

(a) Builds a display of those brands that are represented or sold by the individual’s employer 
for an off-premises retailer. 

(b) Marks the price on those brands that are represented or sold by the individual’s employer 
for an off-premises retailer. 

(c) Rotates brands that are represented or sold by the individual’s employer for an off-
premises retailer. 

(d) Places brands that are represented or sold by the individual’s employer on shelves for an 
off-premises retailer. 

(e) For an individual who holds a Michigan commercial driver license or chauffeur’s license 
transports, in a vehicle licensed by the commission under section 525, and delivers 
alcoholic liquor to a retailer. 

(6) The commission shall approve a salesperson license accreditation program designed for 
salesperson licensees if the commission determines that the program’s curriculum includes an 
understanding of the following: 

(a) Section 609. 
(b) Section 609a. 
(c) Section 609b. 
(d) Section 610d. 
(e) The provisions of section 1013 that require the sale or purchase of alcoholic liquor by a 

licensee for cash only. 
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(f) R 436.1315 of the Michigan Administrative Code. 
(g) R 436.1726 of the Michigan Administrative Code. 
(h) The commission’s order for on-premises brand promotions issued October 27, 1999. 
(i) Product adjustments as provided for in this act. 

(7) A person described in subsection (1)(a) to (g) or a qualified trade association may apply to the 
commission for qualification as an administrator for the offering of a salesperson accreditation 
program. 

(8) On approval of a salesperson accreditation program under subsection (6), the commission shall 
appoint the person or qualified trade association sponsoring the salesperson accreditation program 
as administrator of that program. 

(9) As used in this section: 
(a) “Administrator” means a person described in (1)(a) to (g) or a qualified trade association 

authorized by the commission to offer salesperson accreditation programs. 
(b) “Broker” means that term as defined in R 436.1001 of the Michigan Administrative Code. 
(c) “Designated employee” means an individual who sells, delivers, promotes, or otherwise 

assists in the sale of alcoholic liquor. 
(d) “Qualified trade association” means a trade association that represents a person described 

in subsection (1)(a) to (g) that employs individuals to act as salespersons. 
(e) “Salesperson accreditation program” means a program that the commission approves 

under subsection (6) and that is offered by an administrator. 
 
History:  Add. 2017, Act 129, Eff. Apr. 15, 2018; --Am. 2020, Act 112, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020; --Am. 2022, Act 122. Imd. Eff. June 29, 2022 
 

436.1503 License; proximity of contemplated location to church or school building; 
measurement of distance; exceptions; presumption of validity; waiver; 
objection; hearing; transfer to location farther from church or school. 

 
Sec. 503. 
 

(1) The commission shall deny a new application for a license to sell alcoholic beverages at retail or a 
request to transfer location of an existing license if the contemplated location is within 500 feet of 
a church or a school building. The distance between the church or school building and the 
contemplated location must be measured along the center line of the street or streets of address 
between 2 fixed points on the center line determined by projecting straight lines, at right angles to 
the center line, from the part of the church or school building nearest to the contemplated location 
and from the part of the contemplated location nearest to the church or school building. 

(2) This section does not apply to specially designated merchants not in conjunction with on the 
premises licenses. 

(3) This section does not apply to an outstanding license issued before March 1, 2017, for a location 
within the distance described in subsection (1) or to the renewal or transfer of the outstanding 
license at the location.  A license issued, renewed, or transferred as described in this subsection is 
conclusively presumed to be valid for purposes of this section only. 

(4) The commission may waive this section for all classes of licenses. If an objection is not filed by the 
church or school, the commission may issue the license under this act. If an objection is filed, the 
commission shall hold a hearing under rules established by the commission before making a 
decision on issuing the license. 

(5) This section does not prevent the transfer of a license to a location farther from a church or school, 
if the license to be transferred is within the 500-foot radius described in subsection (1). 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2017, Act 66, Imd. Eff. June 30, 2017. 

 
Admin Rule: R 436.1951 et seq. and R 436.1963 of the Michigan Administrative Code. 

 

436.1504  Limited production manufacturer license; fees; conditional sales and 
purchases; restrictions and prohibitions; registration and federal brewer's 
notice required; definitions. 

 
Sec. 504. 
 

(1) The commission may issue a limited production manufacturer license to a person that purchases 
beer from another brewer, micro brewer, or out-of-state equivalent of a brewer or micro brewer for 
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purposes of taking ownership of the beer and performing any of the manufacturing process as 
described in section 109(1). 

(2) The commission shall charge an initial and renewal license fee for a license under this section of 
$1,000.00. 

(3) Notwithstanding section 204, a brewer, micro brewer, or out-of-state equivalent of a brewer or micro 
brewer may sell beer to a limited production manufacturer and a limited production manufacturer 
may buy beer from a brewer, micro brewer, or an out-of-state equivalent of a brewer or micro brewer 
if all of the following conditions are met: 

(a) The brewer, micro brewer, or out-of-state equivalent of a brewer or micro brewer 
relinquishes ownership of the beer to the purchasing limited production manufacturer. 

(b) The limited production manufacturer modifies the beer by performing all or part of the 
manufacturing process as described in section 109(1). 

(c) The brewer, micro brewer, or out-of-state equivalent of a brewer or micro brewer notifies 
the commission in writing of the sale and the amount of beer being sold to a purchasing 
limited production manufacturer before each sale. The notification must be in the form 
required by the commission. 

(d) The brewer, micro brewer, or out-of-state equivalent of a brewer or micro brewer and the 
limited production manufacturer maintain records of the sale, in the manner required by 
the commission, for 3 years. 

(4) A limited production manufacturer may only sell beer to a wholesaler or a person located outside 
of this state regardless of whether the person is licensed under this act. Notwithstanding section 
109(10) or R 436.1609(2) of the Michigan Administrative Code, beer sold by a limited production 
manufacturer to a person located outside of this state that holds an outstate seller of beer license 
may be sold to a wholesaler in this state by the outstate seller of beer. 

(5) A limited production manufacturer must not be licensed as or hold a financial interest in another 
licensed supplier except for purposes of purchasing beer in the manner allowed in this section. 

(6) A limited production manufacturer shall not hold a license in the wholesaler tier or retailer tier as 
provided in section 603(13). 

(7) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a limited production manufacturer shall comply with 
all provisions of this act that apply to the activities of a brewer, including, but not limited to, sections 
401, 403, 409, 603, and 609. 

(8) A limited production manufacturer shall not self-distribute. 
(9) Before selling beer in this state to a wholesaler, a limited production manufacturer shall register the 

beer and receive a registration number of approval under R 436.1611 of the Michigan 
Administrative Code. 

(10) A limited production manufacturer must be the holder of a federal brewer's notice issued by the 
United States Department of Treasury, Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau in accordance 
with 27 CFR 25.61 to 25.85. 

(11) As used in this section: 
(a) "Limited production manufacturer" means a person licensed under this section. 
(b) "Supplier" means that term as defined in section 603. 

 
History: Add. 2020, Act 80, Imd. Eff. Apr. 2, 2020 
 

436.1505 Class “C” or class “B” hotel license; state-owned airport; nontransferable. 

 
Sec. 505.   
 
Notwithstanding section 501, the commission, with the approval of the bureau of aeronautics, may issue 
without regard to the quota provision of section 531, not more than 1 class C or class B hotel license for 
each state-owned airport serviced by scheduled commercial passenger airlines. Such license shall not be 
transferable. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 

 

436.1507 Liquor licenses; publicly owned airports; issuance. 

 
Sec. 507.   
 
The commission may issue, without regard to the quota provisions of section 531, licenses to the owner or 
lessee, or both, to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises of buildings in the passenger 
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terminal complex of each publicly owned airport that is served by scheduled commercial passenger airlines 
certificated to enplane and deplane passengers on a scheduled basis by the federal aviation agency or the 
civil aeronautics board. A license issued under this section is not transferable. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 

 

436.1509 Liquor licenses; municipal civic center or civic auditorium; conditions and 
limitations. 

 
Sec. 509.  
 

(1) The commission may issue, without regard to the quota provisions of section 531, licenses to a 
commission, board, or authority governing or operating a municipal civic center or civic auditorium 
or to 1 or more of its concessionaires, or to both, if all of the following apply: 

(a) The center or auditorium is within a city or township having a population of not less than 
5,500. 

(b) The center or auditorium is owned and operated as a municipal enterprise. 
(c) The legislative body of the municipality first authorizes the operating authority of the civic 

center or civic auditorium or its concessionaire to apply to the commission for a license.  
(2) Licenses issued under this section are not transferable, must not be issued to an educational 

institution or for a facility operated in connection with an educational institution, and must authorize 
the sale of alcoholic liquor only in connection with a scheduled event at the licensed premises.  

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2018, Act 37, Imd. Eff. February 21, 2018. 

 

436.1511 Class “C” or class “B” hotel license for hotel located within Mackinac Island 
state park; class “C” license for certain concessionaire; license for sale of 
alcoholic liquor at Presque Isle harbor marina; nontransferability of license. 

 
Sec. 511. 
 

(1) Notwithstanding section 501, the commission may issue the following licenses without regard to 
the quota provisions of section 531: 

(a) With the approval of the Mackinac Island state park commission, not more than 1 class C 
or class B hotel license for each hotel which is located within the Mackinac Island state 
park and is owned by the Mackinac Island state park commission and not more than 1 
class C license to a concessionaire of the Mackinac Island state park commission who 
operates a restaurant located within Fort Mackinac. 

(b) A license for the sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on or off the premises at the 
Presque Isle harbor marina. 

(2) A license issued under this section is not transferable as to ownership or location. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 
 
Compiler's Notes: For transfer of Mackinac Island state park commission from department of natural resources and environment to department of natural resources, see 
E.R.O. No. 2011-1, compiled at MCL 324.99921. 
 

436.1513 Licenses; issuance to governing board of college or university; restrictions 
and prohibition; sale of alcoholic liquor on hotel premises located on land 
owned by central Michigan university or Wayne state university; conditions; 
nontransferability; fee; “college,” “university,” and “conference center” 
defined. 

 
Sec. 513. 
 

(1) The commission may issue to the governing board of a college or university, without regard to the 
quota provisions of section 531, a license to sell alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises 
of a conference center operated by the governing board. Licenses granted under this subsection 
may be used only for the sale of alcoholic liquor at regularly scheduled conference center activities. 
The sale of alcoholic liquor to unscheduled patrons or at unscheduled events is prohibited under 
this subsection. 
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(2) Subject to section 531, the commission may issue a license to a private entity for the sale of 
alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises of a hotel located on land owned by Central 
Michigan University if both of the following circumstances exist: 

(a) The land is leased or subleased at fair market value to a private entity that owns, leases, 
or subleases the hotel building and its fixtures. 

(b) The hotel and land are located within an industrial, research, or commercial development 
park established by the governing board of Central Michigan University. 

(3) Subject to section 531, the commission may issue a license to a private entity for the sale of 
alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premises of a restaurant located on land owned 
by Wayne State University if both of the following circumstances exist: 

(a) The land is leased or subleased at fair market value to a private entity that owns, leases, 
or subleases the licensed premises for the operation of a restaurant. 

(b) The restaurant is located within an area designated for industrial, research, or commercial 
development by the governing board of Wayne State University. 

(4) Subject to section 531, the commission may issue a license to a private entity for the sale of 
alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premises of a restaurant located on land owned 
by Western Michigan University if both of the following circumstances exist: 

(a) The land is leased or subleased at fair market value to a private entity that owns, leases, 
or subleases the licensed premises for the operation of a restaurant. 

(b) The restaurant is located within an area designated industrial, research, or commercial 
development by the governing board of Western Michigan University. 

(5) Subject to section 531, the commission may issue to the governing board of Northern Michigan 
University a license for the sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premises of a 
restaurant located on land owned and operated by Northern Michigan University if both of the 
following apply: 

(a) The license was originally acquired on the open market at fair market value. 
(b) The restaurant is located within an area designated for community development or 

conference activities by the governing board of Northern Michigan University. 
(6) Subject to section 531, the commission may issue a license to a golf course clubhouse and any 

adjacent outdoor service area owned or operated by a college or university for the sale of alcoholic 
liquor for consumption on the premises of the golf course clubhouse and any adjacent outdoor 
service area. 

(7) Subject to section 531, the commission may issue a license to a private entity for the sale of 
alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises of a baseball stadium located on land owned by 
Eastern Michigan University if the baseball stadium and adjacent outdoor service area is leased or 
subleased at fair market value during the summer period between the end of the university's spring 
term and the beginning of its fall term. 

(8) Subject to section 531, the commission may issue a license to a private entity for the sale of 
alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premises of a restaurant located on land owned 
by Eastern Michigan University if all of the following circumstances exist: 

(a) The land is leased or subleased at fair market value to a private entity that owns, leases, 
or subleases the licensed premises for the operation of a restaurant. 

(b) The restaurant is located within an area designated for industrial, research, or commercial 
development by the governing board of Eastern Michigan University. 

(c) The license was originally acquired on the open market at fair market value. 
(9) Subject to section 531, the commission may issue a license to a private entity for the sale of 

alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises of a baseball stadium located on land owned by 
Oakland University if the baseball stadium and adjacent outdoor service area is leased or 
subleased at fair market value during the summer period between the end of the university's spring 
term and the beginning of its fall term. 

(10) Subject to section 531, the commission may issue to the governing board of Lake Superior State 
University a license for the sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on licensed premises that is 
located on land owned and operated by Lake Superior State University if both of the following apply: 

(a) The license was originally acquired on the open market at fair market value. 
(b) The land is located within an area designated for community development or conference 
activities by the governing board of Lake Superior State University 

(11) Licenses issued under this section are nontransferable, and the licensee shall pay the fee required 
under section 525. 

(12) As used in this section: 
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(a) "College" or "university" means a 2-year or 4-year state supported institution of higher 
education. 

(b) "Conference center" means either of the following: 
(i) A building or portion of a building, other than a student residence hall or student center, 

that has meeting rooms, banquet areas, social halls, overnight accommodations, and 
related facilities for special activities scheduled by the college or university, and that, in the 
judgment of the commission, has been regularly used for conferences and lodging of 
guests. 

(ii) Any of the following: 
(A) The George Gervin GameAbove Center, the corporate education center, Pease 

Auditorium, the student center, and McKenny Hall at Eastern Michigan University. 
(B) The Kirkhof and Eberhard Centers at Grand Valley State University. 
(C) The student center with the name designated by the governing board of Western 

Michigan University and Heritage Alumni Center at Western Michigan University. 
(D) The Wadsworth Center at Michigan Technological University. 
(E) The West Complex, Fredricks Sculpture Museum, and Alumni Building at Saginaw 

Valley State University. 
(F) The Woodbridge N. Ferris Building at Grand Rapids and the David L. Eisler Center at 

Big Rapids of Ferris State University. 
(G) The Waterman Campus Center at Schoolcraft College. 
(H) The Mendel Center at Lake Michigan Community College. 
(I) The McGregor Memorial Conference Center at Wayne State University. 
(J) The Michigan State University Management Educational Center. 
(K) The Superior Dome at Northern Michigan University. 
(L) The Walker Cisler Center, the James Norris Events Center, and the Richard and 

Theresa Barch Center for Freshwater Research and Education at Lake Superior State 
University. 

(M) The Marie Prahl College Center at Mott Community College. 
(N) The West Hall Innovation Center, the Gerald and Frances Oleson Center, the Dennos 

Museum Center, and the Great Lakes Campus at Northwestern Michigan College. 
(O) The Farmhouse at Delta College. 
(P) The Oakland Community College Culinary Studies Institute. 
(Q) The Performing Arts and Cultural Center Complex at Macomb Community College. 
(R) Meadow Brook Hall, Golf Pavilion, Oakland Center, O’Rena, and Shotwell-Gustafson 

Pavilion at Oakland University. 
(S) The John G. Kulhavi Events Center at Central Michigan University. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 1998, Act 400, Imd. Eff. Dec. 17, 1998; -- Am. 1998, Act 416, Imd. Eff. Dec. 21, 1998; -- Am. 2000, Act 344, Imd. Eff. Dec. 
27, 2000; -- Am. 2002, Act 725, Imd. Eff. Dec. 30, 2002; -- Am. 2004, Act 141, Imd. Eff. June 15, 2004; -- Am. 2007, Act 11, Imd. Eff. May 24, 2007; -- Am. 2009, Act 48, Imd. 
Eff. June 18, 2009; --Am. 2018, Act 479, Imd. Eff. Dec. 27, 2018; -- Am. 2020, Act 39, Imd. Eff. Mar. 3, 2020; --Am. 2020, Act 121, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020;-- Am. 2021, Act 116, 
Imd. Eff. Nov. 22, 2021;-- Am. 2022, Act 216, Imd. Eff. Oct. 14, 2022;-- Am. 2024, Act 115, Imd. Eff. July. 23, 2024 
 

436.1513a Sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption at community college's or 
university's culinary or hospitality program's location; license; prohibition; 
submission of documents; cancellation of license; use; license to private 
entity; catering permit; definitions. 

 
Sec. 513a. 
 

(1) Beginning October 1, 2011, the commission may issue to the governing board of a community 
college or university that is accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency as determined 
by the United States secretary of education under 20 USC 1099b and that operates an accredited 
culinary or hospitality program, without regard to the quota provisions of section 531, a license to 
sell alcoholic liquor for consumption at the community college’s or university’s culinary or hospitality 
program’s location for activities that further the community college’s or university’s community or 
academic mission. 

(2) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (7), the sale of alcoholic liquor to patrons at a location 
other than the community college’s or university’s culinary or hospitality program’s location or at 
activities that do not further the community college’s or university’s community or academic 
mission, including, but not limited to, public and private gatherings or meetings that do not have a 
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direct correlation to the community college’s or university’s community or academic mission, is 
prohibited under this section. 

(3) To obtain a license under this section, a community college or university shall submit both of the 
following to the commission: 
(a) Documentation verifying that the community college or university is accredited by a nationally 

recognized accrediting agency as determined by the United States secretary of education 
under 20 USC 1099b. 

(b) Either of the following: 
(i) Documentation verifying that the community college’s or university’s culinary or hospitality 

program is accredited by a regionally recognized accrediting body. 
(ii) Within 180 days after the effective date of the amendatory act that added this section, a 

copy of the community college’s or university’s application to a regionally recognized 
accrediting body for accreditation of its culinary or hospitality program. 

(4) The commission shall cancel a license issued under this section if, within 2 years of applying for a 
license under this section, the community college’s or university’s culinary or hospitality program is 
not accredited by a regionally recognized accrediting body, unless the community college or 
university demonstrates good cause for an extension of time to obtain accreditation by a regionally 
recognized accrediting body. 

(5) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (7), a liquor license issued under this section shall be 
granted and registered to the community college’s or university’s culinary or hospitality program’s 
location. 

(6) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (7), a liquor license issued under this section shall be 
used by the community college or university and not by a private entity. 

(7) Subject to section 531, the commission may issue a license to a private entity for the sale of 
alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises of an outdoor stadium located on land owned by 
Lake Michigan college and leased to a private entity. The prohibition in section 531(7) on licenses 
at outdoor stadiums does not apply to a license issued under this subsection. 

(8) A community college or university that holds a liquor license under this section shall not obtain a 
catering permit under section 547. 

(9) As used in this section: 
(a) “Community college” means a community college established under the community college act 

of 1966, 1966 PA 331, MCL 389.1 to 389.195. 
(b) “University” means a public university described in section 4, 5, or 6 of article VIII of the state 

constitution of 1963. 

History: Add. 2011, Act 249, Imd. Eff. Dec. 8, 2011 
 

436.1514 Hotel and conference center owned and operated by university; issuance of 
class B hotel license; conditions; limitation; “hospitality program” defined. 

 
Sec. 514. 
 

(1) Notwithstanding section 501 and subject to the quota system under this act, the commission may 
issue a class B hotel license to a hotel and conference center owned and operated by a university 
meeting at least all of the following: 
(a) Contains a hotel with at least 150 guest rooms. 
(b) Has a restaurant seating at least 125 guests that serves a full-menu breakfast, lunch, and 

dinner. 
(c) Has over 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. 
(d) Is open year-round to provide services to the public and to serve the mission of the hospitality 

program. 
(e) Has a hospitality program providing at least all of the following at the site of the hotel and 

conference center as part of that program: 
(i) Student education classrooms. 
(ii) A working hospitality laboratory setting. 
(iii) Utilization of rotational interns each semester or equivalent time period. 

(2) In public areas of the hotel and conference center, the sale and consumption of alcoholic liquor is 
limited to table service only unless the public areas are reserved for private functions. 

(3) As used in this section, “hospitality program” means a course of academic study that, at a minimum, 
is a nationally accredited program at baccalaureate and graduate levels in the hospitality business 
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that requires at least 120 semester credits or the equivalent for completion of the baccalaureate 
degree and that has a teaching and research staff predominated by individuals with at least doctoral 
degrees. 

History: Add. 2000, Act 166, Imd. Eff. June 20, 2000 

 

436.1514a Hotel and conference center owned and operated by university with class B 
hotel license; issuance of additional class B hotel license at another 
location; conditions; limitation; “hospitality program” defined. 

 
Sec. 514a. 
 

(1) Notwithstanding section 501 and subject to the quota system under this act, the commission may 
issue a class B hotel license to a hotel and conference center owned and operated by a university 
that holds a class B hotel license issued under section 514 and meets at least all of the following: 
(a) Contains a hotel with at least 45 guest rooms. 
(b) Has a restaurant seating at least 90 guests that serves a full-menu breakfast, lunch, and dinner. 
(c) Has over 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. 
(d) Is open year-round to provide services to the public and to serve the mission of the hospitality 

program. 
(e) Has a hospitality program providing at least 2 of the following at the site of the hotel and 

conference center as part of that program: 
(i) Student education classrooms. 
(ii) A working hospitality laboratory setting. 
(iii) Utilization of rotational interns each semester or during the summer. 

(2) In public areas of the hotel and conference center, the sale and consumption of alcoholic liquor is 
limited to table service only unless the public areas are reserved for private functions. 

(3) As used in this section, “hospitality program” means a course of academic study that, at a minimum, 
is a nationally accredited program at baccalaureate and graduate levels in the hospitality business 
that requires at least 120 semester credits or the equivalent for completion of the baccalaureate 
degree and that has a teaching and research staff predominated by individuals with at least doctoral 
degrees. 

History: Add. 2004, Act 194, Imd. Eff. July 8, 2004 
 

436.1515 Class “C” license for certain golf courses; tavern license for certain golf 
courses; transfer of license to another location prohibited; surrender of 
license. 

 
Sec. 515. 
 

(1) The commission may issue in a county with a population of 1,000,000 or more, without regard to 
the quota provisions of section 531, a class C license for a golf course that is owned by a county, 
city, village, or township and is open to the public. 

(2) The commission may issue in a county with a population of between 500,000 and 700,000, without 
regard to the quota provisions of section 531, 1 tavern license for a golf course that is owned by a 
city with a population of over 190,000 but under 300,000 and is open to the public. 

(3) The commission shall not transfer a license issued under this section to another location. If a 
licensee who receives a license under this section goes out of business, the license issued under 
this section shall be surrendered to the commission. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2004, Act 192, Imd. Eff. July 8, 2004 
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436.1517 International sporting event licenses; issuance; circumstances; duration; 
limitation; list; recommendation by governing body; certification of 
compliance; fee. 

 
Sec. 517. 
 
(1) The commission may issue international sporting event licenses for the sale of alcoholic liquor for 

consumption on the premises in connection with an international golf tournament conducted during 
calendar year 2004 if all of the following circumstances are found by the commission to exist: 
(a) The local governmental unit in which the international sporting event is to be conducted is the host 

governmental unit for that event. 
(b) The premises to be licensed are located in a theme area or theme areas designated by the 

governing body of the host governmental unit in connection with the international sporting event or 
are operated in conjunction with that event. 

(c) The commission determines that the international sporting event will attract a substantial number 
of tourists from outside this state.  

(d) The international sporting event is conducted under the auspices of a national or international 
sanctioning body. 

(e) The applicant is any of the following: 
(i) A Michigan licensee for the sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises.  
(ii) The promoter of the international sporting event or an affiliate of the promoter. 
(iii) A person who has entered into a written concession or catering agreement with the promoter 

of the international sporting event or its affiliate, which agreement has been approved by the 
commission. 

(iv) An organization qualified for licensure as a special licensee under section 111(13) and the rules 
of the commission. 

(2) Licenses issued under this section must be for a period of not more than 30 consecutive days and 
are not transferable as to ownership or location. The license must be for specific designated time 
periods that include the international sporting event and activities associated with the event. 

(3) Not more than 40 licenses shall be issued under this section for use at the same time in a theme 
area or theme areas. 

(4) The governing body of a host governmental unit described in subsection (1) shall supply to the 
commission for the commission's review a list containing the names of applicants and the locations 
of the premises to be licensed under this section. The governing body of the host governmental 
unit shall recommend the number of licenses to be issued pursuant to this section in the theme 
area or theme areas. The commission shall not issue any licenses pursuant to this section that are 
not recommended by the governing body of the host governmental unit. 

(5) The governing body of the host governmental unit shall provide, in conjunction with the list 
described in subsection (4), written certification to the commission that all premises to be licensed 
under this section comply with applicable state and local building, safety, and health laws, rules, 
and regulations. 

(6) A license issued pursuant to this section is not subject to section 503. 
(7) An applicant for a license under this section shall pay to the commission a license fee of $1,000.00 

at the time of application. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2004, Act 169, Imd. Eff. June 24, 2004;--Am. 2018, Act 412, Imd. Eff. Dec., 2018 
 

436.1517a National sporting event license; issuance; circumstances; duration; 
limitation on number of licenses issued; recommendation by governing 
body of host government unit; certification of compliance with applicable 
laws, rules, and regulations; fee; “national sporting event” defined. 

 
Sec. 517a. 
 

(1) The commission may issue national sporting event licenses for the sale of alcoholic liquor for 
consumption on the premises concerning a national sporting event, if the commission determines 
that all of the following circumstances exist: 
(a) The local governmental unit in which the national sporting event is to be conducted is the host 

governmental unit for the national sporting event. 
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(b) The premises to be licensed are located in a theme area or theme areas designated by the 
governing body of the host governmental unit in connection with the national sporting event or 
are operated in conjunction with the national sporting event. 

(c) The national sporting event will attract a substantial number of tourists from outside this state. 
(d) The national sporting event is conducted under the auspices of a national sanctioning body. 
(e) The applicant is any of the following: 

(i) A Michigan licensee for the sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises. 
(ii) The promoter of the national sporting event or an affiliate of the promoter. 
(iii) A person who has entered into a written concession or catering agreement with the 

promoter of the national sporting event or its affiliate, which agreement has been approved 
by the commission. 

(iv) An organization qualified for licensure as a special licensee under section 111(13) and the 
rules of the commission. 

(2) A license issued under this section must be for a period of not more than 30 consecutive days and 
is not transferable as to ownership or location. The license must be for specific designated time 
periods that include the national sporting event and activities associated with the national sporting 
event. 

(3) The commission shall not issue more than 40 licenses under this section for use at the same time 
in a theme area or theme areas. 

(4) The governing body of a host governmental unit described in subsection (1) shall supply to the 
commission for the commission's review a list containing the names of applicants and the locations 
of the premises to be licensed under this section. The governing body of the host governmental 
unit shall recommend the number of licenses to be issued under this section in the theme area or 
theme areas. The commission shall not issue a license under this section that is not recommended 
by the governing body of the host governmental unit. 

(5) The governing body of the host governmental unit shall provide, in conjunction with the list 
described in subsection (4), written certification to the commission that all premises to be licensed 
under this section comply with applicable state and local building, safety, and health laws, rules, 
and regulations. 

(6) A license issued under this section is not subject to section 503. 
(7) An applicant for a license under this section shall pay to the commission a license fee of $1,000.00 

at the time of application. 
(8) As used in this section, “national sporting event” means a sports related event considered of 

national prominence and includes only the following: 
(a) The Major League Baseball All-Star Game during calendar year 2005. 
(b) The National Football League Super Bowl during calendar year 2006. 
(c) The Professional Golfers Association Championship during calendar year 2008. 
(d) The National Collegiate Athletic Association Final Four games during calendar year 2009. 
(e) The United States Golf Association Amateur Championship during calendar year 2016. 
(f) The Professional Golfers’ Association Tour Champions Tournament. 
(g) The Ladies Professional Golf Association Tour Champions Tournament during the following 

calendar years: 
(i) 2019. 
(ii) 2020. 
(iii) 2021. 
(iv) 2022. 
(v) 2023. 

History: Add. 2004, Act 170, Imd. Eff. June 24, 2004; --Am. 2016, Act 180, Imd. Eff. June 14, 2016; --Am. 2018, Act 110, Imd. Eff. Apr. 24, 2018; --Am. 2018 411, Imd. Eff. Dec. 
19, 2018; --Am. 2018, Act 472, Imd. Eff. Dec. 27, 2018 –Am. 2020, Act 319, Eff. Mar. 24, 2021 
 

436.1518 Definitions; consumption of alcohol on premises of motorsports 
entertainment complex. 

 
Sec. 518. 
 

(1) As used in this section: 
(a) "Motorsports entertainment complex" means a closed-course motorsports facility and its 

ancillary grounds that comply with all of the following: 
(i) Has at least 1,500 fixed seats for race patrons. 
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(ii) Has at least 2 scheduled days of motorsports events each calendar year. 
(iii) Serves food and beverages at the facility during sanctioned motorsports events each 

calendar year through concession outlets, which may be staffed by individuals who 
represent or are members of 1 or more nonprofit civic or charitable organizations that 
directly financially benefit from the concession outlets' sales. 

(iv) Engages in tourism promotion. 
(b) "Motorsports event" means a motorsports race and its ancillary activities that have been 

sanctioned by a sanctioning body. 
(c) "Owner" means a person that owns and operates a motorsports entertainment complex. 
(d) "Sanctioning body" means the American Motorcycle Association (AMA); Auto Racing Club of 

America (ARCA); IndyCar; International Motor Sports Association (IMSA); National Association 
for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR); Nation Hot Rod Association (NHRA); Sports Car Club 
of America (SCCA); United States Auto Club (USAC); Michigan State Promoters Association; 
or any successor organization or any other nationally or internationally recognized governing 
body of motorsports that establishes an annual schedule of motorsports events and grants 
rights to conduct the events, that has established and administers rules and regulations 
governing all participants involved in the events and all persons conducting the events, and 
that requires certain liability assurances, including insurance. 

(2) Notwithstanding the quota provisions of section 531, the commission may issue motorsports event 
licenses for the sale of beer and wine or beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits for consumption 
on the premises to the owner of a motorsports entertainment complex for use during sanctioned 
motorsports events only. The sale of beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits at concession outlets 
or additional locations within the motorsports entertainment complex during motorsports sanctioned 
events are not considered additional bars for the purpose of determining a license fee under section 
525(1)(o). An applicant for a license under this section that elects to sell beer and wine only shall 
pay to the commission a license fee of $250.00. An applicant for a license under this section that 
elects to sell beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits shall pay to the commission a license fee of 
$600.00. 

(3) For a period of time not to exceed 7 consecutive days during which public access is permitted to a 
motorsports entertainment complex in connection with a motorsports event, members of the 
general public at least 21 years or older may bring beer and wine not purchased at the licensed 
motorsports entertainment complex into the motorsports entertainment complex and possess and 
consume that beer and wine. Possession and consumption of beer and wine under this section are 
allowed only in portions of the motorsports entertainment complex open to the general public that 
are also part of the licensed premises of a retail licensee under both of the following circumstances: 
(a) The licensed premises are located within the motorsports entertainment complex. 
(b) The retail licensee holds a license for consumption on the licensed premises of the motorsports 

entertainment complex. 
(4) A person holding a license for the sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises at a 

motorsports entertainment complex is subject to the civil liability provisions of section 801 if the civil 
action is brought by or on behalf of an individual who suffers damage or is personally injured by a 
minor or visibly intoxicated person by reason of the unlawful consumption of alcoholic liquor on the 
licensed premises by that minor or visibly intoxicated person if the unlawful consumption is proven 
to be a proximate cause of the damage, injury, or death of the individual, whether the alcoholic 
liquor was sold or furnished by the licensee or was brought onto the licensed premises under 
subsection (3). 

History: Add. 2002, Act 725, Imd. Eff. Dec. 30, 2002; -- Am. 2005, Act 166, Imd. Eff. Oct. 6, 2005; Am. 2010, Act 279, Imd. Eff. Dec. 16, 2010; --Am. 2021, Act 29, Eff (sine die); 
--Am. 2021, Act 64, Imd. Eff. July 15, 2021 
 

436.1519 Property or establishment situated in or on state-owned land. 

 
Sec. 519. 
 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this act, the commission shall not issue a license to sell alcoholic 
liquor, either on or off the premises, if the property or establishment to be covered by the license is 
situated in or on state owned land. 

(2) Subsection (1) does not apply to a special license that has been approved by the governing 
authority of that state owned land. 

(3) Subsection (1) does not apply to any of the following: 
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(a) The Michigan state fairgrounds. 
(b)  The Upper Peninsula state fairgrounds. 
(c) Armories, air bases, and naval installations owned or leased by this state or provided by the 

federal government by either lease, license, or use permit and used by outside parties of a 
nonmilitary or nonstate governmental nature. 

(d) Land that was under lease to a person licensed in the calendar year 1954 and on which a 
licensed establishment is presently located. 

(e) Land located in the Upper Peninsula that was owned or leased by the federal government, 
used as a military installation, and transferred to this state before December 31, 2000 under 
1978 PA 151, MCL 3.551 to 3.561, or 1993 PA 159, MCL 3.571 to 3.580. The commission may 
issue 2 additional licenses under this subdivision for establishments located on this state land 
without regard to or without an effect on the quota provisions of section 531 in the local 
governmental unit in which the license will be issued subject to the recommendation of the 
authority established under 1978 PA 151, MCL 3.551 to 3.561, or 1993 PA 159, MCL 3.571 to 
3.580. A person issued a license under this subdivision may renew the license and transfer 
ownership of the license, without regard to or without an effect on the quota provisions of 
section 531, if title to the property covered by the license is transferred from this state to another 
person or to another governmental unit. The commission shall not transfer a license issued 
under this subdivision to another location. Before the issuance of a license, and annually 
thereafter before the issuance of a license for a new licensing period, the applicant for a license 
shall submit to the commission a certificate from the department or agency charged with control 
of the land setting forth that the issuance of a license is not incompatible with the objects and 
purposes entrusted to that department or agency under the law establishing control of the land 
in the department or agency. This subsection does not prohibit the issuance of a license under 
section 513. 

(f) Property owned by the Michigan state waterways commission and leased to persons under 
part 791 of the natural resources and environmental protection act, 1994 PA 451, MCL 
324.79101 to 324.79118. The commission may issue a license under this subdivision to a 
lessee without regard to the quota provisions of section 531.  However, the commission shall 
not issue a license under this subdivision without the written approval of the Michigan state 
waterways commission or its designee. A license issued under this subdivision is not 
transferable as to ownership or location, and, if the licensee goes out of business, the license 
must be surrendered to the commission. 

(g) Property owned by the state treasurer of this state when acting in the capacity of custodian of 
the assets of the state retirement systems created by the public school employees retirement 
act of 1979, 1980 PA 300, MCL 38.1301 to 38.1437; the state employees' retirement act, 1943 
PA 240, MCL 38.1 to 38.69; the state police retirement act of 1986, 1986 PA 182, MCL 38.1601 
to 38.1675; and the judges retirement act of 1992, 1992 PA 234, MCL 38.2101 to 38.2670. 

(h) A building to which all of the following apply: 
(i) The building is owned by this state. 
(ii) The land on which the building is located is owned by this state. 
(iii) The building is more than 1,000,000 square feet. 
(iv) Space within the building is leased to a private entity to which both of the following apply: 

(A) In the building, the private entity provides services to the general public. 
(B) The private entity holds a license to sell alcoholic liquor as provided by this act. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; --Am. 2018, Act 158m Imd. Eff. May 23, 2018 

 

436.1521 Limitation on tavern or class C licenses; renewal of license; conditions; 
revocation; transfer of license; “development district defined. 

 
Sec. 521. 
 

(1) Beginning on December 29, 2006, the commission shall not issue a tavern or class C licenses 
under this section. However, those licenses issued under this section before December 29, 2006 
remain valid and may be renewed if in compliance with this section. The commission shall renew 
licenses issued under this section before the effective date of the amendatory act that added 
section 521a for persons who operate businesses that meet all of the following conditions: 
(a) The business is a full service restaurant, is open to the public, and prepares food on the 

premises. 
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(b) The business is open for food service not less than 10 hours per day, 5 days a week. 
(c) At least 50% of the gross receipts of the business are derived from the sale of food for 

consumption on the premises. For purposes of this subdivision, food does not include beer and 
wine. 

(d) The business has dining facilities to seat not less than 25 persons. 
(e) The business is located in a development district with a population of not more than 50,000, in 

which the district, after a public hearing, has found that the issuance of the license would 
prevent further deterioration within the development district and promote economic growth 
within the development district.  

(2) If in any licensing year the sale of food for consumption on the premises of the business represents 
less than 50% of the gross receipts for the business, the commission, after due notice and proper 
hearing, shall revoke the license issued under subsection (1). 

(3) A license issued under this section is transferable as to ownership or location only within the 
development district. 

(4) As used in this section, "development district" means any of the following: 
(a) An authority district established under part 3 of the recodified tax increment financing act, 2018 

PA 57, MCL 125.4301 to 125.4329. 
(b) An authority district established under part 4 of the recodified tax increment financing act, 2018 

PA 57, MCL 125.4401 to 125.4420. 
(c) A downtown district established under part 2 of the recodified tax increment financing act, 2018 

PA 57, MCL 125.4201 to 125.4230. 
(d) A principal shopping district established under 1961 PA 120, MCL 125.981 to 125.990m, before 

January 1, 1996. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 1998, Act 282, Imd. Eff. July 27, 1998; -- Am. 2006, Act 502, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2006 ;-- Am. 2021, Act 19, Eff. Aug. 23, 
2021 
 

436.1521a Public on-premises licenses; issuance to businesses; conditions; 
commercial investment in redevelopment project area; time period; total 
investment; number of licenses; requirements; fees; transfer of license 
prohibited; attempt to secure on-premise escrowed license or quota license; 
definitions. 

 
Sec. 521a. 
 

(1) In order to allow cities, villages, and townships to enhance the quality of life for their residents and 
visitors to their communities, the commission may issue public on-premises licenses in addition to 
those quota licenses allowed in cities, villages, and townships under section 531(1). The 
commission may issue a license under this section to a business that meets either of the following 
conditions: 
(a) Is located in a redevelopment project area meeting the criteria described in subsections (3) and 

(4) and is engaged in activities determined by the commission to be related to dining, 
entertainment, or recreation. 

(b) Is located in a development district or area that is any of the following: 
(i) An authority district established under part 3 of the recodified tax increment financing act, 

2018 PA 57, MCL 125.4301 to 125.4329. 
(ii) A development area established under part 6 of the recodified tax increment financing act, 

2018 PA 57, MCL 125.4602 to 125.4629. 
(iii) A downtown district established under part 2 of the recodified tax increment financing act, 

2018 PA 57, MCL 125.4201 to 125.4230. 
(iv) A principal shopping district established under 1961 PA 120, MCL 125.981 to 125.990n. 

(2) The commission shall not issue a license under subsection (1)(a) unless the applicant fulfills the 
following in relation to the licensed premises: 
(a) Provides the activity described in subsection (1)(a) not less than 5 days per week. 
(b) Is open to the public not less than 10 hours per day, 5 days per week. 
(c) Presents verification of redevelopment project area status to the commission that includes the 

following: 
(i) A resolution of the governing body of the city, village, or township establishing its status as 

a redevelopment project area. 
(ii) An affidavit from the assessor, as certified by the clerk of the city, village, or township, 
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stating the total amount of investment in real and personal property within the 
redevelopment project area of the city, village, or township during the preceding 3 years. 

(iii) An affidavit from the assessor, as certified by the clerk of the city, village, or township, 
separately stating the amount of investment money expended for manufacturing, industrial, 
residential, and commercial development within the redevelopment project area of the city, 
village, or township during the preceding 3 years. 

(3) Relative to the licenses issued under subsection (1)(a), the amount of commercial investment in 
the redevelopment project area within the city, village, or township must constitute not less than 
25% of the total investment in real and personal property in that redevelopment project area as 
evidenced by an affidavit of the assessor of the city, village, or township. This subsection does not 
prevent the city, village, or township from realigning the redevelopment project area in the 
presentment of verification provided for under subsection (2)(c). 

(4) In relation to a license issued under subsection (1)(a), an applicant must be located in a city, village, 
or township that meets at least 1 of the investment requirements of subsection (1)(a) during the 3 
years preceding the submission of its application. The total investment in real and personal property 
in the redevelopment project area within the city, village, or township over the appropriate time 
period described in this subsection must be at least 1 of the following: 
(a) Not less than $50,000,000.00 in cities, villages, or townships having a population of 50,000 or 

more. 
(b) Not less than an amount reflecting $1,000,000.00 per 1,000 people in cities, villages, or 

townships having a population of less than 50,000. 
(5) The commission may issue a license under subsection (1)(a) for each monetary threshold 

described in subsection (4)(a) and (b), and, after reaching the initial threshold, 1 additional license 
for each major fraction of the monetary threshold above that original threshold. 

(6) The following apply to a license issued under subsection (1)(b): 
(a) The amount expended for new construction, or to rehabilitate or restore the building that 

housed the licensed premises must be not less than $75,000.00 over a period of the preceding 
5 years or a commitment for a capital investment of at least that amount in the building that 
houses or will house the licensed premises, that must be expended before the issuance of the 
license. 

(b) The total amount of public and private investment in real and personal property within the 
development district or area must not be less than $200,000.00 over a period of the preceding 
5 years as verified to the commission by means of an affidavit from the assessor, as certified 
by the clerk of the city, village, or township. 

(c) The licensed business is engaged in dining, entertainment, or recreation, is open to the general 
public, and has a seating capacity of not less than 25 persons. 

(7) The commission may issue 1 license under subsection (1)(b) for each monetary threshold 
described in subsections (6)(a) and (6)(b), or for each major fraction of the monetary threshold. 
The initial enhanced license fee for a license issued under this section is $20,000.00. 

(8) The commission shall not transfer a license issued under this section to another location. If the 
licensee goes out of business, the licensee shall surrender the license to the commission. The 
governing body of the city, village, or township may approve another applicant within a 
redevelopment project area described in subsection (1)(a) or development district or area described 
in subsection (1)(b) to replace a licensee who has surrendered the license issued under this section 
provided the new applicant's business meets the requirements of this section but without regard to 
subsections (2)(c), (3), and (4) or subsection (6)(b). 

(9) The individual signing the application for the license shall state and demonstrate that the applicant 
attempted to secure an appropriate on-premises escrowed license or quota license issued under 
section 531 and that, to the best of his or her knowledge, an on-premises escrowed license or 
quota license issued under section 531 is not readily available within the county in which the 
applicant proposes to operate. 

(10) As used in this section: 
(a) “Escrowed license” means a license in which the rights of the licensee in the license or to the 

renewal of the license are still in existence and are subject to renewal and activation in the 
manner provided for in R 436.1107 of the Michigan Administrative Code. 

(b) “Readily available” means available under a standard of economic feasibility, as applied to the 
specific circumstances of the applicant, that includes, but is not limited to, the following: 
(i) The fair market value of the license based on where the applicant will be located, if 

determinable. 



5-17 

(ii) The size and scope of the proposed operation. 
(iii) The existence of mandatory contractual restrictions or inclusions attached to the sale of 

the license. 

History: Add. 2006, Act 501, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2006; -- Am. 2010, Act 369, Imd. Eff. Dec. 22, 2010; -- Am. 2014, Act 270, Imd. Eff. July 2, 2014;-- Am. 2022, Act 16, Imd. Eff. 

Feb. 23, 2022 
 

436.1522 Banquet facility permits. 

 
Sec. 522. 
 

(1) The commission may issue 1 banquet facility permit to an on-premise licensee, as an extension of 
that on-premise license, for the serving of alcoholic liquor only on the permitted premises. This 
section does not limit the number of banquet facility permits that the commission may issue within 
any local unit of government. The banquet facility shall be used only for scheduled functions and 
events, shall not have regular meal service, and shall not be generally open to the public. The 
applicant shall provide documentation that demonstrates a preexisting ownership or lease interest 
in the banquet facility. 

(2) The commission shall charge an initial permit issuance fee and, upon renewal of the permit, a 
permit renewal fee sufficient to cover the cost of administering the issuance and renewal of the 
permit. The fees shall be $600.00. 

(3) The banquet facility permit expires on the same date as the on-premise license and may be 
renewed in conjunction with that license. The commission shall issue the permit only to a licensee 
to which the following apply: 
(a) The licensee does not have a record of any prior offenses or violations that the commission 

considers to be of such a nature as to pose a threat to the general public if a permit is issued. 
(b) The licensee has demonstrated to the commission that at least 50% of the gross receipts of 

the on-premise license are derived from the sale of food and nonalcoholic beverages prepared 
for consumption on the licensed premises. 

(4) The licensee shall apply on forms provided by the commission and provide information considered 
necessary by the commission to protect the public interest and welfare including, but not limited to, 
a diagram of the premises and evidence that the premises meets local safety, building, and health 
codes. 

(5) The commission shall not issue a banquet facility permit unless issuance is approved through 
adoption of a resolution of the legislative body of the local unit of government within which the 
permitted facility is located. 

History: Add. 1998, Act 282, Imd. Eff. July 27, 1998; -- Am. 1998, Act 416, Imd. Eff. Dec. 21, 1998  

Admin Rule: R 436.1501 et seq. of the Michigan Administrative Code. 
 

436.1523 Liquor licenses; ineligibility of law enforcement officers; exception; “law 
enforcement personnel” defined. 

 
Sec. 523. 

 
(1) A person who holds or whose spouse holds, either by appointment or election, a public office which 

involves the duty to enforce any of the penal laws of the United States, or the penal laws of this 
state, or a penal ordinance or resolution of any municipal subdivision of the state, except civil 
defense volunteer police, mayors or council members of cities, or village presidents, or mayors of 
home rule cities whose law enforcement authority under the city charter is restricted to emergency 
situations, or the state treasurer of this state when acting in the capacity of custodian of the assets 
of the state retirement systems created by the public school employees retirement act of 1979, 
1980 PA 300, MCL 38.1301 to 38.1437; the state employees' retirement act, 1943 PA 240, MCL 
38.1 to 38.69; the state police retirement act of 1986, 1986 PA 182, MCL 38.1601 to 38.1675; and 
the judges retirement act of 1992, 1992 PA 234, MCL 38.2101 to 38.2670, and members of these 
state retirement systems only if the state treasurer makes an investment in the name of the 
respective retirement system to which the members belong, must not be issued a license, or have 
an interest, directly or indirectly, in a license if the activity regulated by the license occurs in the 
same local unit of government within which the person enforces those state or local penal laws 
unless the official is contractually prohibited from enforcing this act. This subsection does not apply 
to a spouse of an appointed or elected official holding an office which involves the duty to enforce 
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a penal law described in this subsection if the spouse held a license or an interest in a license for 
not less than 3 years before marrying the appointed or elected official or if the spouse has voting 
rights in a public or private club holding the license, which voting rights are derived from ownership 
of shares to the club, and the spouse participates as a member in good standing of the public or 
private club or of an advisory board but does not participate in the day-to-day operation of the club. 
For a licensee excepted from the general prohibition under this section, the commission may 
periodically review all circumstances of the licensee and his or her spouse regarding the exception. 
The commission may review and monitor any complaints it receives regarding inappropriate 
enforcement of this act by or against a person excepted from this section. However, a nonprofit 
fraternal organization incorporated under the laws of this state, whose membership is not totally 
composed of law enforcement personnel or public officeholders charged with the duty of enforcing 
any penal laws or ordinances of a governmental body, may be issued a club liquor license if the 
organization is otherwise qualified. 

(2) As used in this section, “law enforcement personnel” does not include the mayor of a city or the 
state treasurer of this state when acting in the capacity of custodian of the assets of the state 
retirement systems created by the public school employees retirement act of 1979, 1980 PA 300, 
MCL 38.1301 to 38.1437, the state employees' retirement act, 1943 PA 240, MCL 38.1 to 38.69, 
the state police retirement act of 1986, 1986 PA 182, MCL 38.1601 to 38.1675, and the judges 
retirement act of 1992, 1992 PA 234, MCL 38.2101 to 38.2670, and members of these state 
retirement systems only if the state treasurer makes an investment in the name of the respective 
retirement system to which the members belong. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; --Am.2018, Act 683, Imd. Eff. Dec. 28, 2018 

 

436.1525  License fees; fingerprints; criminal history check; filing completed 
application; issuance of license within certain period of time; conditional 
license; report; "completed application" defined. 

 
Sec. 525. 
 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the following license fees must be paid at the time of 
filing applications or as otherwise provided in this act and are subject to allocation under section 
543: 
(a) Manufacturers of spirits, not including makers, blenders, and rectifiers of wines containing 21% 

or less alcohol by volume, $1,000.00. 
(b) Manufacturers of beer, $50.00 per 1,000 barrels, or fraction of a barrel, production annually 

with a maximum fee of $1,000.00, and in addition $50.00 for each motor vehicle used in delivery 
to retail licensees. A fee increase does not apply to a manufacturer of less than 15,000 barrels 
production per year. 

(c) Outstate seller of beer, delivering or selling beer in this state, $1,000.00. 
(d) Wine makers, blenders, and rectifiers of wine, including makers, blenders, and rectifiers of 

wines containing 21% or less alcohol by volume, $100.00. The small wine maker license fee is 
$25.00. A small wine maker must pay $50.00 for each motor vehicle used for delivery of wine 
to a retailer. 

(e) Outstate seller of wine, delivering or selling wine in this state, $300.00. 
(f) Outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, delivering or selling mixed spirit drink in this state, $300.00. 
(g) Dining cars or other railroad or Pullman cars selling alcoholic liquor, $100.00 per train. 
(h) Wholesale vendors other than manufacturers of beer, $300.00 for the first motor vehicle used 

in delivery to retail licensees and $50.00 for each additional motor vehicle used in delivery to 
retail licensees. 

(i) Watercraft, licensed to carry passengers, selling alcoholic liquor, a minimum fee of $100.00 
and a maximum fee of $500.00 per year computed on the basis of $1.00 per person per 
passenger capacity. 

(j) Specially designated merchants, for selling beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink for consumption off 
the premises only but not at wholesale, $100.00 for each location regardless of whether the 
location is part of a system or chain of merchandising. 

(k) Specially designated distributors licensed by the commission to distribute spirits in the original 
package for the commission for consumption off the premises, $150.00 per year, and an 
additional fee of $3.00 for each $1,000.00 or major fraction of that amount in excess of 
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$25,000.00 of the total retail value of merchandise purchased under each license from the 
commission during the previous calendar year. 

(l) Hotels of class A selling beer, wine, and mixed spirit drink, a minimum fee of $250.00 and $1.00 
for each bedroom in excess of 20, but not more than $500.00 total. 

(m) Hotels of class B selling beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits, a minimum fee of $600.00 
and $3.00 for each bedroom in excess of 20. If a hotel of class B sells beer, wine, mixed spirit 
drink, and spirits in more than 1 public bar, a fee of $350.00 must be paid for each additional 
public bar, other than a bedroom. 

(n) Taverns, selling beer, wine, and mixed spirit drink, $250.00. 
(o) Class C license selling beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits, $600.00. Subject to section 

518(2), if a class C licensee sells beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits in more than 1 bar, 
a fee of $350.00 must be paid for each additional bar. In municipally owned or supported 
facilities in which nonprofit organizations operate concession stands, a fee of $100.00 must be 
paid for each additional bar. 

(p) Clubs selling beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits, $300.00 for clubs having 150 or fewer 
accredited members and $1.00 for each member in excess of 150. Clubs shall submit a list of 
members by an affidavit 30 days before the closing of the license year. The affidavit must be 
used only for determining the license fees to be paid under this subdivision. This subdivision 
does not prevent the commission from checking a membership list and making its own 
determination from the list or otherwise. The list of members and additional members is not 
required of a club paying the maximum fee. The maximum fee must not exceed $750.00 for 
any 1 club. 

(q) Warehousers, to be fixed by the commission with a minimum fee for each warehouse of $50.00. 
(r) Special licenses, a fee of $50.00 per day, except that the fee for the license or permit issued 

to a bona fide nonprofit association, organized and in continuous existence for 1 year before 
the filing of its application, is $25.00. The commission shall not grant more than 12 special 
licenses to any organization, including an auxiliary of the organization, in a calendar year. 

(s) Airlines licensed to carry passengers in this state that sell, offer for sale, provide, or transport 
alcoholic liquor, $600.00. 

(t) Brandy manufacturer, $100.00. 
(u) Mixed spirit drink manufacturer, $100.00. A mixed spirit drink manufacturer must pay $50.00 

for each motor vehicle used for delivery of mixed spirit drink to retailers under section 203b. 
(v) Brewpub, $100.00. 
(w) Class G-1, $1,000.00. 
(x) Class G-2, $500.00. 
(y) Motorsports event license, the amount as described and determined under section 518(2). 
(z) Small distiller, $100.00. A qualified small distiller must pay $50.00 for each motor vehicle used 

for delivery to retailers under section 203(20). 
(aa) Wine auction license, $50,000.00. 
(bb) Nonpublic continuing care retirement center license, $600.00. 
(cc) Conditional license approved under subsection (6) and issued under subsection (7), $300.00. 
(dd) Outstate self-distributor license, $300.00. An outstate self-distributor must pay $50.00 for each 

motor vehicle used for delivery of alcoholic liquor to retailers under sections 203(20), 203a, or 
203b. 

(2) The fees provided in this act for the various types of licenses must not be prorated for a portion of 
the effective period of the license. Notwithstanding subsection (1), the initial license fee for a license 
issued under section 531(3) or (4) is $20,000.00. The renewal license fee is the amount described 
in subsection (1). However, the commission shall not impose the $20,000.00 initial license fee for 
applicants whose license eligibility was already approved on July 20, 2005. 

(3) If the commission requires an applicant to submit fingerprints, the applicant shall have the 
fingerprints taken by a local law enforcement agency, the department of state police, or any other 
person qualified to take fingerprints as determined by the department of state police. The applicant 
shall submit the fingerprints and the appropriate state and federal fees, which shall be borne by the 
applicant, to the department of state police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a criminal 
history check. After conducting the criminal history check, the department of state police shall 
provide the commission with a report of the criminal history check. The report must include criminal 
history record information concerning the person who is the subject of the criminal history check 
that is maintained by the department of state police. If a criminal arrest fingerprint card is 
subsequently submitted to the department of state police and matches against a fingerprint that 
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was submitted under this act and stored in its automated fingerprint identification system (AFIS) 
database, the department of state police shall notify the commission. 

(4) Except for a resort or resort economic development license issued under section 531(2), (3), (4), 
or (5) or a license issued under section 521a, the commission shall issue an initial or renewal 
license not later than 90 days after the applicant files a completed application. The application is 
considered to be received the date the application is received by an agency or department of this 
state. If the commission determines that an application is incomplete, the commission shall notify 
the applicant in writing, or make the information electronically available, within 30 days after receipt 
of the incomplete application, describing the deficiency and requesting the additional information. 
The determination of the completeness of an application is not an approval of the application for 
the license and does not confer eligibility on an applicant determined otherwise ineligible for 
issuance of a license. The 90-day period is tolled for the following periods under any of the following 
circumstances: 
(a) If notice is sent by the commission of a deficiency in the application, until the date all of the 

requested information is received by the commission. 
(b) For the time required to complete actions required by a person, other than the applicant or the 

commission, including, but not limited to, completion of construction or renovation of the 
licensed premises; mandated inspections by the commission or by any state, local, or federal 
agency; approval by the legislative body of a local unit of government; criminal history or 
criminal record checks; financial or court record checks; or other actions mandated by this act 
or rule or as otherwise mandated by law or local ordinance. 

(5) If the commission fails to issue or deny a license within the time required by this section, the 
commission shall return the license fee and shall reduce the license fee for the applicant's next 
renewal application, if any, by 15%. The failure to issue a license within the time required under 
this section does not allow the commission to otherwise delay the processing of the application, 
and the application, on completion, must be placed in sequence with other completed applications 
received at that same time. The commission shall not discriminate against an applicant in the 
processing of the application because the license fee was refunded or discounted under this 
subsection. 

(6) If, in addition to a completed application under this section, an applicant submits a separate form 
requesting a conditional license with an acceptable proof of financial responsibility form under 
section 803, an executed property document, and, for an application to transfer the location of an 
existing retailer license other than specially designated distributor license, a church or school 
proximity affidavit on a form prescribed by the commission attesting that the proposed location is 
not within 500 feet of a church or school building using the method of measurement required under 
Section 503, the commission shall, after considering the arrest and conviction records or previous 
violation history in the management, operation, or ownership of a licensed business, approve or 
deny a conditional license. A conditional license issued under subsection (7) must only include any 
existing permits and approvals held in connection with the license, other than permits or approvals 
for which the conditional applicant does not meet the requirements in this act or rules promulgated 
under this act, or permits or approvals that the conditional applicant has requested to cancel as 
part of the application that serves as the basis for the conditional license. The commission shall not 
issue a new permit with a conditional license issued under subsection (7). The following applicants 
may request a conditional license: 
(a) An applicant seeking to transfer ownership of an existing retailer license at the same location 

to sell alcoholic liquor for consumption on or off the premises. 
(b) An applicant seeking to transfer the ownership and location of an existing retailer license, other 

than a specially designated distributor license, to sell alcoholic liquor for consumption on or off 
the premises. 

(c) An applicant seeking a new specially designated merchant license, other than a specially 
designated merchant license issued under section 533 (6), not to be held in conjunction with a 
license for the sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises. 

(7) The commission shall issue a conditional license to applicants approved under subsection (6) within 
20 business days after receipt of a completed application and a completed conditional license 
request form and documentation for a conditional license at a single location. The commission may 
take up to 30 business days to issue conditional licenses to approved applicants seeking 
conditional licenses at multiple locations. However, for an applicant described under this subsection 
that is seeking a specially designated merchant license under section 533(7), the commission may 
take up to 45 business days to issue a conditional license. Notwithstanding the applicant’s 
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submission of a church or school proximity affidavit under subsection (6), if the commission 
determines that a conditional license in conjunction with an application to transfer the location of 
an existing retailer license has been issued under this subsection at a proposed location that is 
within 500 feet of a church or school building, the commission shall suspend the conditional license 
and notify the church or school of the proposed location under the rules promulgated under this 
act. If the commission issues a conditional license under this subsection based on a church or 
school proximity affidavit under this subsection (6) without knowledge that the representations 
included in the affidavit are incorrect, this state is not liable to any person for the commission’s 
issuance of the conditional license. The commission may assume without inquiry the existence of 
the facts contained in the affidavit.  

(8) A conditional license approved under subsection (6) and issued under subsection (7) is 
nontransferable and nonrenewable. A conditional license is required to comply with the server 
training requirements in section 501(1) beginning on the date a conditional license is issued under 
subsection (7) regardless of whether the conditional licensee is actively operating under the 
conditional license. 

(9) A conditional license approved under subsection (6) and issued under subsection (7) expires when 
the first of the following occurs: 
(a) The commission issues an order of denial of the license application that serves as the basis 

for the conditional license and all administrative remedies before the commission have been 
exhausted. 

(b) The commission issues the license under subsection (4) for which the applicant submitted the 
license application that serves as the basis for the conditional license. 

(c) The licensee or conditional licensee notifies the commission in writing that the initial or 
conditional application should be canceled. 

(d) One year passes after the date the conditional license was issued, notwithstanding any 
suspension of the conditional license by the commission. 

(10)  If a conditional licensee fails to maintain acceptable proof of its financial responsibility as required 
under section 803, the commission shall summarily suspend the conditional license under section 
92(2) of the Administrative Procedures Act of 1969, 1969 PA 306, MCL 24.292, until the conditional 
licensee files an acceptable proof of financial responsibility form under section 803. If a conditional 
license is revoked, the conditional licensee shall not recover from this state or a unit of local 
government any compensation for property, future income, or future economic loss because of the 
revocation.  

(11)  On issuing a conditional license under subsection (7), the commission shall, until the conditional 
license expires under subsection (9), place the existing license under subsection (4) for which the 
applicant submitted the application that serves as the basis for the conditional license in escrow in  
compliance with R 436.1107 of the Michigan Administrative Code. If the conditional license expires   
under subsection (9), an existing license may do 1 of the following: 
(a) Request that the commission release the license from escrow. 
(b) Keep the license in escrow. The escrow date for compliance with R 436.1107 of the Michigan 

Administrative Code is the date the conditional license expires. 
(12)  The chair of the commission shall submit a report by December 1 of each year to the standing 

committees and appropriations subcommittees of the senate and house of representatives 
concerned with liquor license issues. The chair of the commission shall include all of the following 
information in the report concerning the preceding fiscal year: 
(a) The number of initial and renewal applications the commission received and completed within 

the 90-day time period described in subsection (4). 
(b) The number of applications denied. 
(c) The number of applicants not issued a license within the 90-day time period and the amount of 

money returned to licensees under subsection (5). 
(13)  As used in this section, "completed application" means an application complete on its face and 

submitted with any applicable licensing fees as well as any other information, records, approval, 
security, or similar item required by law or rule from a local unit of government, a federal agency, 
or a private entity but not from another department or agency of this state. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2002, Act 76, Imd. Eff. Mar. 15, 2002; -- Am. 2004, Act 266, Imd. Eff. July 23, 2004; -- Am. 2005, Act 97, Imd. Eff. July 20, 
2005; -- Am. 2005, Act 166, Imd. Eff. Oct. 6, 2005; -- Am. 2006, Act 539, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2006; -- Am. 2008, Act 218, Imd. Eff. July 16, 2008; -- Am. 2010, Act 175, Imd. Eff. 
Sept. 30, 2010; -- Am. 2010, Act 213, Imd. Eff. Nov. 17, 2010; -- Am. 2010, Act 279, Imd. Eff. Dec. 16, 2010; -- Am. 2013, Act 236; Am. 2014, Act 353, Imd. Eff. Oct. 17, 2014;--
Am.2016, Act 315, Eff. Feb. 1, 2017;--Am. 2016, Act 434, Imd. Eff. Jan. 4, 2017 ;-- Am. 2021, Act 19, Eff. Aug. 23, 2021 
 
Constitutionality: In Granholm v Heald, 544 US 460 (2005), the United States Supreme Court held that Michigan laws regulating direct shipment of alcohol to in-state consumers 
discriminated against interstate commerce in violation of clause 3 of section 8 of article 1 of the United States Constitution, and that the powers granted to states under the 21st 
Amendment to the United States Constitution do not authorize violation of other constitutional provisions. 
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436.1526 Beer festival; issuance of special license; limitation; buying directly from 
licensed brewpub; “beer festival” defined. 

 
Sec. 526. 
 

(1) The commission may issue a special license under this section to an organization conducting a 
beer festival. The application must conform to the following: 
(a) Be submitted by a nonprofit entity composed primarily of brewers, micro brewers, and 

brewpubs, as determined by the commission. 
(b) Involve an event having for its primary purpose the showcasing of beer and its production. 
(c) Be accompanied by a fee of $25.00 per day of the event. 

(2) The special license must not allow more than 6 events per calendar year conforming to the 
requirements of subsection (1).  For purposes of this subsection, a beer festival that spans 2 or 
more consecutive days is considered 1 event. 

(3) A holder of a special license issued under this section may buy a quantity of beer directly from any 
licensed brewpub or wholesaler or directly from a micro brewer eligible to self-distribute to the beer 
festival for consumption only at the licensed event. 

(4) Beer that is dispensed to consumers for showcasing beer at a beer festival is considered a sample. 
A holder of a special license issued under this section may offer beer described in this subsection 
without consideration. 

(5) A member, who is 18 years of age or older, of an organization that holds a special license issued 
under this section may serve beer at the event. 

(6) As used in this section and section 413, "beer festival" means an event at which the various types 
and kinds of beer and the production of that beer are showcased to the general public and at which 
the general public can purchase and sample the beer being showcased for consumption on the 
licensed premises. 

History: Add. 2008, Act 258, Imd. Eff. Aug. 4, 2008, --Am. 2020, Act 111, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020 
 

436.1527 Special license for nonprofit charitable organization; issuance; 
nontransferable; fee; auction. 

 
Sec. 27. 
 

(1) The commission may issue a special license to a nonprofit charitable organization that is exempt 
from the payment of taxes under the internal revenue code for the purpose of allowing the 
organization to sell, at auction, wine donated to the organization. 

(2) A special license issued pursuant to subsection (1) is not transferable. The organization applying 
for the special license shall pay the fee required under section 525(1)(r).  

(3) An auction permitted under subsection (1) may occur upon premises which are otherwise licensed 
under this act to allow the sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premises. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1999 
 

436.1529 Transfer of license or interest in license; notice of transfer of stock in 
licensed corporation or licensed limited partnership; investigation to ensure 
compliance; approval; transfer fee; inspection fee. 

 
Sec. 529. 

 
(1) A license or an interest in a license shall not be transferred from 1 person to another without the 

prior approval of the commission. For purposes of this section, the transfer in the aggregate to 
another person during any single licensing year of more than 10% of the outstanding stock of a 
licensed corporation or more than 10% of the total interest in a licensed limited partnership shall 
be considered to be a transfer requiring the prior approval of the commission. 

(2) Not later than July 1 of each year, each privately held licensed corporation and each licensed 
limited partnership shall notify the commission as to whether any of the shares of stock in the 
corporation, or interest in the limited partnership, have been transferred during the preceding 
licensing year. The commission may investigate the transfer of any number of shares of stock in a 



5-23 

licensed corporation, or any amount of interest in a licensed limited partnership, for the purpose of 
ensuring compliance with this act and the rules promulgated under this act. 

(3) Except as otherwise provided in subdivisions (a) through (f), upon approval by the commission of 
a transfer subject to subsection (1), there shall be paid to the commission a transfer fee equal to 
the fee provided in this act for the class of license being transferred. A transfer fee shall not be 
prorated for a portion of the effective period of the license. If a person holding more than 1 license 
or more than 1 interest in a license at more than 1 location, but in the name of a single legal entity, 
transfers all of the licenses or interests in licenses simultaneously to another single legal entity, the 
transfers shall be considered 1 transfer for purposes of determining a transfer fee, payable in an 
amount equal to the highest license fee provided in this act for any of the licenses, or interests in 
licenses, being transferred. A transfer fee shall not be required in regard to any of the following: 
(a) The transfer, in the aggregate, of less than 50% of the outstanding shares of stock in a licensed 

corporation or less than 50% of the total interest in a licensed limited partnership during any 
licensing year. 

(b) The exchange of the assets of a licensed sole proprietorship, licensed general partnership, or 
licensed limited partnership for all outstanding shares of stock in a corporation in which either 
the sole proprietor, all members of the general partnership, or all members of the limited 
partnership are the only stockholders of that corporation. An exchange under this subdivision 
shall not be considered an application for a license for the purposes of section 501. 

(c) The transfer of the interest in a licensed business of a deceased licensee, a deceased 
stockholder, or a deceased member of a general or limited partnership to the deceased 
person's spouse or children. 

(d) The removal of a member of a firm, a stockholder, a member of a general partnership or limited 
partnership, or association of licensees from a license. 

(e) The addition to a license of the spouse, son, daughter, or parent of any of the following:  
(i) A licensed sole proprietor. 
(ii) A stockholder in a licensed corporation. 
(iii) A member of a licensed general partnership, licensed limited partnership, or other licensed 

association. 
(f)  The occurrence of any of the following events: 

(i) A corporate stock split of a licensed corporation. 
(ii) The issuance to a stockholder of a licensed corporation of previously unissued stock as 

compensation for services performed. 
(iii) The redemption by a licensed corporation of its own stock. 

(4) A nonrefundable inspection fee of $70.00 shall be paid to the commission by an applicant or 
licensee at the time of filing any of the following: 
(a) An application for a new license or permit. 
(b) A request for approval of a transfer of ownership or location of a license. 
(c) A request for approval to increase or decrease the size of the licensed premises, or to add a 

bar. 
(d) A request for approval of the transfer in any licensing year of any of the shares of stock in a 

licensed corporation from 1 person to another, or any part of the total interest in a licensed 
limited partnership from 1 person to another.  

(5) An inspection fee shall be returned to the person by whom it was paid if the purpose of the 
inspection was to inspect the physical premises of the licensee, and the inspection was not actually 
conducted. An inspection fee shall not be required for any of the following: 
(a) The issuance or transfer of a special license, salesperson license, limited alcohol buyer license, 

corporate salesperson license, hospital permit, military permit, or Sunday sale of spirits permit. 
(b) The issuance of a new permit, or the transfer of an existing permit, if the permit is issued or 

transferred simultaneously with the issuance or transfer of a license or an interest in a license. 
(c) The issuance of authorized but previously unissued corporate stock to an existing stockholder 

of a licensed corporation. 
(d) The transfer from a corporation to an existing stockholder of any of the corporation's stock that 

is owned by the corporation itself. 
(6) All inspection fees collected under this section shall be deposited in the special fund in section 543 

for carrying out of the licensing and enforcement provisions of this act. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
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436.1531 Public licenses and resort license; on-premises escrowed license; 
limitations and quotas; additional licenses for certain establishments; 
license for certain events at public university; outdoor stadium; economic 
development factors; exceptions as to certain veterans and airports; special 
state census of local governmental unit; rules; availability of transferable 
licenses held in escrow; on-premises escrowed or quota license; issuance 
of available licenses; report; hotels; escrowed specially designated 
distributor license; transfer; applicability of administrative rule; definitions. 

 
Sec. 531. 
 

(1) The commission shall not issue a public license for the sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on 
the premises if the issuance would result in more than 1 license for each 1,500 of population or 
major fraction of 1,500 population.  An on-premises escrowed license issued under this subsection 
may be transferred, subject to local legislative approval under section 501(2), to an applicant whose 
proposed operation is located within any local governmental unit in a county in which the escrowed 
license was located. If the local governmental unit within which the former licensee's premises were 
located spans more than 1 county, an escrowed license may be transferred, subject to local 
legislative approval under section 501(2), to an applicant whose proposed operation is located 
within any local governmental unit in either county.  If an escrowed license is activated within a 
local governmental unit other than that local governmental unit within which the escrowed license 
was originally issued, the commission shall count that activated license against the local 
governmental unit originally issuing the license. The quota under this subsection does not bar the 
right of an existing licensee to renew a license or transfer the license and does not bar the right of 
an on-premises licensee of any class to reclassify to another class of on-premises license in a 
manner not in violation of law or this act, subject to the consent of the commission. The upgrading 
of a license resulting from a request under this subsection is subject to approval by the local 
governmental unit having jurisdiction. 

(2) In a resort area, the commission may issue no more than 550 licenses for a period not to exceed 
12 months without regard to a limitation because of population and with respect to the resort license 
the commission, by rule, shall define and classify resort seasons by months and may issue 1 or 
more licenses for resort seasons without regard to the calendar year or licensing year. 

(3) In addition to the resort licenses authorized in subsection (2), the commission may issue not more 
than 5 additional licenses per year to establishments whose business and operation, as determined 
by the commission, is designed to attract and accommodate tourists and visitors to the resort area, 
whose primary purpose is not for the sale of alcoholic liquor, and whose capital investment in real 
property, leasehold improvement, and fixtures for the premises to be licensed is $75,000.00 or 
more. Further, the commission shall issue 1 license under this subsection per year to an applicant 
located in a rural area that has a poverty rate, as defined by the latest decennial census, greater 
than the statewide average, or that is located in a rural area that has an unemployment rate higher 
than the statewide average for 3 of the 5 preceding years. In counties having a population of less 
than 50,000, as determined by the last federal decennial census or as determined under subsection 
(15) and subject to subsection (20) for a class A hotel or a class B hotel, the commission shall not 
require the establishments to have dining facilities to seat more than 50 persons. The commission 
may cancel the license if the resort is no longer active or no longer qualifies for the license. Before 
January 16 of each year the commission shall transmit to the legislature a report giving details as 
to all of the following: 
(a) The number of applications received under this subsection. 
(b) The number of licenses granted and to whom. 
(c) The number of applications rejected and the reasons they were rejected. 
(d) The number of the licenses revoked, suspended, or as to which other disciplinary action was 

taken, the names of the licensees, and the grounds for revocation, suspension, or disciplinary 
action. 

(4) In addition to any licenses for the sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises that may 
be available in the local governmental unit under subsection (1) and the resort licenses authorized 
in subsections (2) and (3), the commission may issue not more than 15 resort economic 
development licenses per year. A person is eligible to apply for a resort economic development 
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license under this subsection on submitting an application to the commission and demonstrating 
all of the following: 
(a) The establishment’s business and operation, as determined by the commission, is designed to 

attract and accommodate tourists and visitors to the resort area. 
(b) The establishment’s primary business is not the sale of alcoholic liquor. 
(c) The capital investment in real property, leasehold improvement, fixtures, and inventory for the 

premises to be licensed is in excess of $1,500,000.00. 
(d) The establishment does not allow or permit casino gambling on the premises. 

(5) In governmental units having a population of 50,000 or less, as determined by the last federal 
decennial census or as determined under subsection (15), in which the quota of specially 
designated distributor licenses, as provided by section 533, has been exhausted, the commission 
may issue not more than a total of 15 additional specially designated distributor licenses per year 
to established merchants whose business and operation, as determined by the commission, is 
designed to attract and accommodate tourists and visitors to the resort area. A specially designated 
distributor license issued under this subsection may be issued at a location within 2,640 feet of 
existing specially designated distributor license locations. A specially designated distributor license 
issued under this subsection does not bar another specially designated distributor licensee from 
transferring location to within 2,640 feet of that licensed location. A specially designated distributor 
license issued under section 533 may be located within 2,640 feet of a specially designated 
distributor license issued under this subsection. The person signing the application for a specially 
designated distributor license under this subsection shall state that the person attempted to secure 
an escrowed specially designated distributor license or quota license and that, to the best of the 
person’s knowledge, an escrowed specially designated distributor license or quota license is not 
readily available within the county in which the applicant for the specially designated distributor 
license under this subsection proposes to operate. 

(6) In addition to any licenses for the sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises that may 
be available in the local governmental unit under subsection (1), and the resort or resort economic 
development licenses authorized in subsections (2), (3), and (4), and notwithstanding section 519, 
the commission may issue not more than 5 additional special purpose licenses in any calendar 
year for the sale of beer and wine for consumption on the premises. The commission may issue a 
special purpose license under this subsection only for events that are to be held from May 1 to 
September 30, are artistic in nature, and that are to be held on the campus of a public university 
with an enrollment of 30,000 or more students. A special purpose license is valid for 30 days or for 
the duration of the event for which it is issued, whichever is less. The fee for a special purpose 
license is $50.00. A special purpose license may be issued only to a corporation that meets all of 
the following requirements: 
(a) The corporation is a nonprofit corporation organized under the nonprofit corporation act, 1982 

PA 162, MCL 450.2101 to 450.3192. 
(b) The corporation has a board of directors constituted of members of whom half are elected by 

the public university at which the event is scheduled and half are elected by the local 
governmental unit. 

(c) The corporation has been in continuous existence for not less than 6 years. 
(7) Notwithstanding the local legislative body approval requirement of section 501(2) and 

notwithstanding section 519, the commission may issue, without regard to the quota requirement 
of subsection (1) and with the approval of the governing board of the university, either a tavern or 
class C license that may be used only for regularly scheduled events at a public university's 
established outdoor program or festival at a facility on the campus of a public university having a 
head count enrollment of 10,000 students or more.  The commission may issue a license under 
this subsection only to the governing board of a public university, a person that is the lessee or 
concessionaire of the governing board of the university, or both. A license issued under this 
subsection is not transferable as to ownership or location. Except as otherwise provided in this 
subsection, a license issued under this subsection may not be issued at an outdoor stadium 
customarily used for intercollegiate athletic events. A license may be issued at an outdoor stadium 
customarily used for intercollegiate athletic events for not more than 30 consecutive days to a 
concessionaire of an entity granted exclusive use of a public university's property in conjunction 
with a hockey game sanctioned by an unincorporated not-for-profit association that operates a 
major professional ice hockey league consisting of teams located in Canada and in the United 
States or in conjunction with a professional international soccer match between 2 international 
soccer clubs as part of a tournament sanctioned by a not-for-profit association that is the governing 
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body for soccer in the United States and organized and promoted by a match agent that is licensed 
by the international governing body for soccer if the concessionaire has entered into an agreement 
granting it control of the licensed premises for the purposes of complying with this act and rules 
promulgated under this act regarding the sale of alcoholic liquor. A nationally televised game 
between 2 professional hockey teams or 2 professional soccer clubs played outdoors is considered 
an established outdoor program for the purposes of this subsection. Notwithstanding any provision 
of this act or any rule promulgated under this act, a concessionaire obtaining a license under this 
subsection may share the profits generated from that license with an unincorporated not-for-profit 
association that operates a major professional ice hockey league consisting of teams located in 
Canada and in the United States or an affiliated entity under a written contract reviewed by the 
commission or with a licensed match agent and a promoter that organizes and promotes 
international soccer matches under a written contact reviewed by the commission. If the established 
outdoor program is a nationally televised game between 2 professional hockey teams or 2 
professional international soccer clubs, the commission may allow the promotion and advertising 
of alcoholic liquor brands on the campus of a public university where a concessionaire has been 
issued a license under this subsection for the duration of the license. 

(8) Notwithstanding the local legislative body approval requirement of section 501(2) and 
notwithstanding section 519, and subject to subsection (10), the commission may issue to the 
governing board of a public university, without regard to the quota requirement of subsection (1) 
and with the approval of the governing board of the university, not more than 5 tavern licenses, 5 
class C licenses, or any combination of tavern or class C licenses, not to exceed 5 licenses total, 
which are not transferrable, that may be used for scheduled events within the public area of a facility 
on university property that is customarily used for intercollegiate athletic events if all of the following 
conditions are met: 
(a) The sales and service of alcoholic liquor conducted under the licenses are conducted by 

individuals who have successfully completed a server training program as provided for in 
section 906 and who are not volunteers for an organization working during an event as part of 
a fund-raising activity for the organization. 

(b) Subject to sections 1114 and 1115, the sales and service of alcoholic liquor are limited to 1 
hour before the event and while the event is occurring. Consumption of alcoholic liquor 
purchased on the licensed premises is limited to 1 hour before the event, while the event is 
occurring, and 30 minutes after the event has ended. 

(c) The commission issues a separate license for each facility on university property that is 
customarily used for intercollegiate athletic events. 

(d) The licensee provides in writing to the commission a list of the dates and times of events for 
which each license issued will be used at least 2 weeks before the start of the events, subject 
to the following: 
(i) The licenses issued under this subsection must not be used for more than 100 days per 

calendar year in aggregate for all licenses combined for intercollegiate athletic scheduled 
events. 

(ii) The licenses issued under this subsection are not used for more than 5 days per calendar 
year in aggregate for all licenses combined for other scheduled events. 

(e) The sales and service of alcoholic liquor are conducted only at fixed locations within the 
licensed premises. 

(f) Dispensing machines described in section 552 are prohibited on the premises of a license 
issued under this subsection. 

(9) The holder of a special license issued by the commission may sell and serve alcoholic liquor on 
the premises of a license issued under subsection (8) on dates and times other than the dates and 
times provided to the commission as required in subsection (8)(d). A licensee that has been issued 
a catering permit under section 547 may deliver and serve alcoholic liquor at a private event on the 
premises of a license issued under subsection (8) on dates and times other than the dates and 
times provided the commission as required in subsection (8)(d). 

(10) If applicable, the commission may issue only the following permits, permissions, or approvals to be 
held in conjunction with a license issued under subsection (8): 
(a) If the license is a class C license, additional bars under section 525(1)(o). 
(b) Dance permit. 
(c) Direct connection. 
(d) Entertainment permit. 
(e) Extended hours permit. 
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(f) Off-premises storage. 
(g) Participation permit. 
(h) Specific purpose permit. 
(i) Sunday sales permit. 

(11) The commission shall not approve an outdoor service area under R 436.1419 of the Michigan 
Administrative Code for a license issued under subsection (8). The outdoor portion of an outdoor 
facility on university property that is customarily used for intercollegiate athletic events issued a 
license under subsection (8) is not considered an outdoor service area. 

(12) In issuing a resort or resort economic development license under subsection (3), (4), or (5), the 
commission shall consider economic development factors of the area in issuing licenses to 
establishments designed to stimulate and promote the resort and tourist industry. The commission 
shall not transfer a resort or resort economic development license issued under subsection (3), (4), 
or (5) to another location. If the licensee goes out of business the license must be surrendered to 
the commission. 

(13) The limitations and quotas of this section are not applicable to issuing a new license to a veteran 
of the armed forces of the United States who was honorably discharged or released under 
honorable conditions from the Armed Forces of the United States and who had by forced sale 
disposed of a similar license within 90 days before or after entering or while serving in the Armed 
Forces of the United States, as a part of the person's preparation for that service if the application 
for a new license is submitted for the same governmental unit in which the previous license was 
issued and within 60 days after the discharge of the applicant from the Armed Forces of the United 
States. 

(14) The limitations and quotas of this section are not applicable to issuing a new license or renewing 
an existing license where the property or establishment to be licensed is situated in or on land on 
which an airport owned by a county or in which a county has an interest is situated. 

(15) For purposes of implementing this section a special state census of a local governmental unit may 
be taken at the expense of the local governmental unit by the Census Bureau or the secretary of 
state under section 6 of the home rule city act, 1909 PA 279, MCL 117.6. The special census must 
be initiated by resolution of the governing body of the local governmental unit involved. The 
secretary of state may promulgate additional rules necessary for implementing this section under 
the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 306, MCL 24.201 to 24.328. 

(16) Before granting an approval as required in section 501(2) for a license to be issued under 
subsection (2), (3), or (4), a local legislative body shall disclose the availability of transferable 
licenses held in escrow for more than 1 licensing year within that respective local governmental 
unit. The local governmental unit shall provide public notice of the meeting to consider the granting 
of the license by the local governmental unit 2 weeks before the meeting 

(17) The person signing the application for an on-premises resort or resort economic development 
license shall state and verify that the person attempted to secure an on-premises escrowed license 
or quota license and that, to the best of the person’s knowledge, an on-premises escrowed license 
or quota license is not readily available within the county in which the applicant for the on-premises 
resort or resort economic development license proposes to operate. 

(18) The commission shall not issue an on-premises resort or resort economic development license if 
the county within which the resort or resort economic development license applicant proposes to 
operate has not issued all on-premises licenses available under subsection (1) or if an on-
premises escrowed license exists and is readily available within the local governmental unit in 
which the applicant for the on-premises resort or resort economic development license proposes 
to operate. The commission may waive the provisions of this subsection on a showing of good 
cause. 

(19) The commission shall annually report to the legislature the names of the businesses issued 
licenses under this section and their locations.  

(20) The commission shall not require a class A hotel or a class B hotel licensed under subsection (2), 
(3), or (4) to provide food service to registered guests or to the public. 

(21) Subject to the limitation and quotas in subsection (1) and to local legislative approval under section 
501(2), the commission may approve the transfer of ownership and location of an on-premises 
escrowed license within the same county to a class G-1 or class G-2 license or may approve the 
reclassification of an existing on-premises license at the location to be licensed to a class G-1 
license or to a class G-2 license, subject to subsection (1). Resort or economic development on-
premises licenses created under subsection (3) or (4) may not be issued as, or reclassified to, a 
class G-1 or class G-2 license. 
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(22) An escrowed specially designated distributor license may be transferred, with the consent of the 
commission, to an applicant whose proposed operation is located within any local governmental 
unit in a county in which the specially designated distributor license is located. If the local 
governmental unit within which the escrowed specially designated distributor license is located 
spans more than 1 county, the license may be transferred to an applicant whose proposed 
operation is located within any local governmental unit in either county. If the specially designated 
distributor license is activated within a local governmental unit other than that local governmental 
unit within which the specially designated distributor license was originally issued, the commission 
shall count that activated license against the local governmental unit originally issuing the specially 
designated distributor license. 

(23) Subsection (8) of R 436.1135 of the Michigan Administrative Code does not apply to a transfer 
under subsection (22). 

(24) As used in this section: 
(a) "Escrowed license" means a license in which the rights of the licensee in the license or to the 

renewal of the license are still in existence and are subject to renewal and activation in the 
manner provided for in R 436.1107 of the Michigan Administrative Code. 

(b) "Readily available" means available under a standard of economic feasibility, as applied to 
the specific circumstances of the applicant, that includes, but is not limited to, the following: 
(i) The fair market value of the license, if determinable. 
(ii) The size and scope of the proposed operation. 
(iii) The existence of mandatory contractual restrictions or inclusions attached to the sale of 

the license. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 1998, Act 282, Imd. Eff. July 27, 1998; -- Am. 1998, Act 416, Imd. Eff. Dec. 21, 1998; -- Am. 1999, Act 91, Imd. Eff. June 

30, 1999; -- Am. 2000, Act 399, Imd. Eff. Jan. 8, 2001; -- Am. 2001, Act 223, Eff. Mar. 22, 2002 ;-- Am. 2002, Act 725, Imd. Eff. Dec. 30, 2002; -- Am. 2004, Act 191, Imd. Eff. 
July 8, 2004; -- Am. 2005, Act 97, Imd. Eff. July 20, 2005; -- Am. 2012, Act 212, Imd. Eff. June 27, 2012; -- Am. 2013, Act 237, Imd. Eff. Dec. 26, 2013;--Am. 2014, Act 135, Imd. 
Eff. May 27, 2014; --Am 2023, Act 96, Imd. Eff. July 19, 2023 
 

436.1532  Issuance of club license; public notice; annual filing by club; conduct of club 
affairs and management. 

 
Sec. 532. 
 

(1) A club license allows the licensee to sell, for consumption on the licensed premises, beer, wine, 
mixed spirit drink, and spirits only to bona fide members of the club who have attained the age of 
21 years. As used in this subsection, “bona fide member” means an individual admitted as a charter 
member or admitted in accordance with the bylaws of the club, who maintains current membership 
by the payment of annual dues, whose name and address is entered on the list of members, and 
who has voting rights to regularly elect the board of directors, officers, executive committee, or 
similar body that conducts the affairs and management of the club.  For an incorporated or 
unincorporated nonprofit veterans’ organization that is a branch or chapter of a national 
organization or an organization chartered by the United States Congress, a bona fide member 
includes a member of another branch or chapter who possesses an identification card indicating 
current membership in the same national or congressionally chartered veterans’ organization.  For 
a branch, chapter, lodge, aerie, or other local unit of a national fraternal nonprofit organization that 
is exempt from federal income taxes under section 501(c)(8) or 501(c)(10) of the internal revenue 
code, 26 USC 501, a bona fide member includes a member of another branch, chapter, lodge, 
aerie, or local unit whose possesses an identification card indicating current membership in the 
same national fraternal nonprofit association.    

(2)  Except as otherwise provided in subsection (3), the commission shall not issue a license to a club 
unless the club has been in existence for a period of not less than 2 years before the application 
for the license. 

(3) A club shall give public notice of the intent of the commission to issue the club a club license by 
publication in a newspaper published or in general circulation within the local governmental unit at 
least 10 days before the commission issues the license. A club that is a chapter of a national 
organization that has had a license for 10 or more years may apply for a license without a waiting 
period. Public notice of the commission's intent to renew the club license is not required. 

(4) Except for a club paying a maximum fee, within 10 days after February 1 of each year the club shall 
file with the commission a list of names and residences of its members and make a similar filing of 
the name and residence with the commission within 10 days after the election of an additional 
member. The annual filing must include a statement that the club's annual aggregate membership 
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fees or dues and other income, exclusive of the proceeds from the sale of alcoholic liquor, are 
sufficient to defray the annual rental of its leased or rented premises or, if the premises are owned 
by the club, are sufficient to meet the taxes, insurance, repairs, and interest on a mortgage on the 
premises. 

(5) The affairs and management of the club must be conducted by a board of directors, executive 
committee, or similar body chosen by the members. A member, officer, agent, or employee of the 
club must not be paid, or directly or indirectly receive in the form of salary or other compensation, 
profits from the disposition of alcoholic liquor to the club or to the members of the club, beyond the 
amount of salary fixed and voted at meetings by the members or by its directors or other governing 
body and as reported by the club to the commission, within 3 months after the meeting. 

History: Add. 2001, Act 223, Eff. Mar. 22, 2002; --AM. 2018, Act 104, Eff. July 4, 2018 

 

436.1533 Specially designated merchant license; specially designated distributor. 
License; issuance; conditions, quota; waiver; transfer; limitation; owner or 
operator of motor vehicle fuel pump on or adjacent to licensed premises; 
issuance to marina; determination of population. 

 
Sec. 533.   
 

(1) Subject to subsection (12), the commission shall not issue a new specially designated merchant 
license or transfer an existing specially designated merchant license unless the applicant is an 
approved type of business.  An applicant is not an approved type of business unless the applicant 
meets 1 or more of the following conditions: 
(a) The applicant holds and maintains a retail food establishment license issued under the food 

law, 2000 PA 92, MCL 289.1101 to 289.8111. As used in this subdivision, “retail food 
establishment” means that term as defined in section 1111 of the food law, 2000 PA 92, MCL 
289.1111. 

(b) The applicant holds and maintains an extended retail food establishment license issued under 
the food law, 2000 PA 92, MCL 289.1101 to 289.8111. As used in this subdivision, “extended 
retail food establishment” means that term as defined in section 1107 of the food law, 2000 PA 
92, MCL 289.1107. 

(c) The applicant holds or the commission approves the issuance of a specially designated 
distributor license to the applicant. 

(d) The applicant holds or the commission approves the issuance of a Class C license to the 
applicant. 

(e) The applicant holds or the commission approves the issuance of a Class A hotel license to the 
applicant. 

(f) The applicant holds or the commission approves the issuance of a Class B hotel license to the 
applicant. 

(g) The applicant holds or the commission approves the issuance of a club license to the applicant. 
(h) The applicant holds or the commission approves the issuance of a tavern license to the 

applicant. 
(i) The applicant holds or the commission approves the issuance of a class G-1 license to the 

applicant. 
(j) The applicant holds or the commission approves the issuance of a class G-2 license to the 

applicant. 
(2) A specially designated distributor may apply for a license as a specially designated merchant.   
(3) A specially designated distributor license issued under subsection (4) or section 531(5) may be 

held in conjunction with any of the following licenses: 
(a) A specially designated merchant license. 
(b) Subject to subsection (13), a class B hotel license. 
(c) Subject to subsection (13), a class C license. 
(d) Subject to subsection (13), a combination of licenses in subdivisions (a) and (b) or (a) and (c). 

(4) In cities, incorporated villages, or townships, the commission shall issue only 1 specially designated 
distributor license for each 3,000 of population, or fraction of 3,000. The commission may waive 
the quota requirement under this subsection if there is no existing specially designated distributor 
licensee within 2 miles of the applicant, measured along the nearest traffic route. 
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(5) Except as otherwise provided in this section, in cities, incorporated villages, or townships, the 
commission shall issue only 1 specially designated merchant license for each 1,000 of population, 
or fraction of 1,000.  The quota under this subsection does not apply to any of the following: 
(a) An applicant for a specially designated merchant license that is an applicant for or the holder 

of a license listed in subsection (1) (d) to (j). 
(b) An applicant for or the holder of a specially designated merchant license whose licensed 

establishment meets 1 or more of the following conditions: 
(i) Meets both of the following conditions: 

(A) The licensed establishment is at least 20,000 square feet. 
(B) The licensed establishment’s gross receipts derived from the sale of food are at least 

20% of the total gross receipts. 
(ii) The licensed establishment is also a pharmacy as that term is defined in section 17707 of 

the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.17707. 
(c) A secondary location permit issued to a specially designated merchant under section 541. 
(d) A specially designated merchant license issued under subsection (7). 
(e) A specially designated merchant license issued to a marina under section 539. 

(6) The commission may waive the quota under subsection (5) if there is no existing specially 
designated merchant within 2 miles of the applicant, measured along the nearest traffic route. 

(7) The commission shall waive the quota under subsection (5) if both of the following apply: 
(a) The applicant applies for the specially designated merchant license within 60 days after 

January 4, 2017. 
(b) The applicant is a retail dealer that holds a license issued under section 6 (1) of the motor fuel’s 

quality act, 1984 PA 44, MCL 290.646. The applicant shall include a copy of the license 
described in this subdivision with the applicant’s application under this subsection. As used in 
this subdivision, “retail dealer” means that term as defined in section 2 of the motor fuels quality 
act, 1984 PA 44, MCL 290.642.  

(8) A specially designated merchant license issued under this section may be transferred to an 
applicant whose proposed operation is located within any local government unit in a county in which 
the specially designated merchant license was located. If the local government unit within which 
the former licensee’s premises were located spans more than 1 county, a specially designated 
merchant license may be transferred to an applicant whose proposed operation is located within 
any local governmental unit in either county.  If a specially designated merchant license is 
transferred to a local governmental unit other than that local governmental unit within which the 
specially designated merchant license was originally issued, the commission shall count that 
transferred specially designated merchant license against the local governmental unit originally 
issuing the specially designated merchant license. 

(9) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (10), the quota under subsection (5) does not bar the 
right of an existing specially designated merchant to renew the specially designated license or 
transfer the specially designated merchant license.  This subsection applies to a specially 
designated merchant license issued or renewed before, on, or after January 4, 2017. 

(10) A specially designated merchant license issued after January 4, 2017 to a person described in 
subsection (5) (a) or (b) or to a specially designated merchant license issued under subsection (6) 
may not be transferred to another location. 

(11) An applicant for the holder of a specially designated merchant license that owns or operates a 
motor vehicle fuel pump on or adjacent to the licensed premises is not required to meet the 
conditions under section 541 as that section existed before January 4, 2017.  

(12) For a marina that maintains motor vehicle fuel pumps on or adjacent to the licensed premises or 
maintains a financial interest in any motor vehicle fuel pumps, the commission may only issue a 
special designated merchant license to the marina under section 539. 

(13) License fees for a specially designated distributor license held in conjunction with a class B hotel 
license or a class C license as described in subsection (3) must be calculated under section 
525(1)(k) based on the total retail value of merchandise purchased from the commission under 
the specially designated distributor license during the previous calendar year plus the total retail 
value of the merchandise purchased from the commission under either the class B hotel license 
or the class C license. 

(14) For purposes of this section, population is determined by the latest federal decennial census, by 
a special census under section 6 of the home rule city act, 1909 PA 279, MCL 117.6, or section 7 
of the Glenn Steil state revenue sharing act of 1971, 1971 PA 140, MCL 141.907, or by the latest 
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census and corrections published by the United States department of Commerce, Bureau of the 
census, whichever is later.  

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 1998, Act 416, Imd. Eff. Dec. 21, 1998; -- Am. 2016, Act 137, Eff. Aug. 24, 2016; --Am. 2016, Act 434, Imd. Eff. Jan. 4, 
2017; --Am. 2018, Act 386, Imd. Eff. Dec. 19, 2018; --Am. 2020, Act 308, Eff. Mar. 24, 2021. 
 

436.1534 Small distiller license. 

 
Sec. 534. 
 

(1) Upon application in a manner acceptable to the commission and payment of the appropriate license 
fee, the commission shall issue a small distiller license to a person annually manufacturing in this 
state spirits in an amount not exceeding 60,000 gallons, of all brands combined. 

(2) A small distiller may have an approved tasting room and sell at retail in accordance with sections 
536 and 537. 

(3) This section does not allow the sale of spirits transacted or caused to be transacted by means of 
any mail order, internet, telephone, computer, device, or other electronic means. 

History: Add. 2008, Act 218, Imd. Eff. July 16, 2008; Am. 2018, Act 410, Ind. Eff. Dec, 19, 2018 

 

436.1535 Vendor as authorized to do business. 

 
Sec. 535.  
 
A vendor shall be a person authorized to do business under the laws of this state. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
 

436.1536 Multiple manufacturing licenses; edibility requirements; operating multiple 
tasting rooms; compliance requirements; limitations; sale of alcoholic liquor 
under certain circumstances; samples; earmark for liquor enforcement and 
license investigation revolving fund; local approval exceptions; samples of 
mixed spirit drink. 

 
Sec. 536. 
 

(1) Except as provided in section 105(13), the commission shall allow a person to be licensed as more 
than 1 type of manufacturer in this state. 

(2) A person that holds more than 1 type of manufacturing license in this state shall meet all applicable 
provisions of this act for each type of manufacturing license the person holds. 

(3) Subject to the requirements of this section and section 537, the commission may approve a 
licensed manufacturer to operate 1 or more tasting rooms. 

(4) Brewers and micro brewers shall not have more approved tasting rooms than allowed in section 
411. 

(5) A tasting room may be jointly operated by 2 or more manufacturers if either of the following 
conditions is met: 
(a) The manufacturers are owned by the same person and their manufacturer premises share the 

same address. 
(b) The manufacturers are not owned by the same person and their manufacturing premises do 

not share the same address 
(6) A tasting room is treated as licensed premises for purposes of this act. 
(7) An approved tasting room located on the manufacturing premises of 1 or more manufacturers that 

are owned by the same person and whose manufacturing premises share the same address must 
comply with all of the following: 
(a) The commission must approve and issue an on-premises tasting room permit to the 

manufacturer or manufacturers. 
(b) The manufacturer or manufacturers must pay the $100.00 initial permit fee, which is 

renewable annually. 
(c) The manufacturer or manufacturers must be approved for the on-premises tasting room permit 

by the local legislative body in which the proposed licensed premises will be located, except 
in a city having a population of 600,000 or more as provided in subsection (18). 

(d) The manufacturer or manufacturers must comply with the server training requirements of 
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section 906. 
(e) The manufacturer or manufacturers must file with the commission proof of financial 

responsibility providing security for liability under section 801(2) of not less than $50,000.00 
as provided in section 803. 

(f) A separate on-premises tasting room permit is not required for each license type for a person 
licensed by the commission under any combination of brewer, micro brewer, wine maker, 
small wine maker, distiller, small distiller, brandy manufacturer, or mixed spirit drink 
manufacturer licenses issued to that person at the same manufacturing premises. 

(g) The commission shall not issue to a manufacturer or manufacturers a Sunday sales permit, 
catering permit, dance permit, entertainment permit, specific purpose permit, extended hours 
permit, or authorization for outdoor service unless the commission has issued an on-premises 
tasting room permit to the manufacturer or manufacturers.  A Sunday sales permit, catering 
permit, dance permit, entertainment permit, specific purposes permit, extended hours permit, 
or authorization for outdoor service may be issued concurrently with the issuance of an on-
premises tasting room permit. 

(h) A brewer, micro brewer, wine maker, small wine maker, distiller, small distiller, brandy 
manufacturer, or mixed spirit drink manufacturer may own and operate a restaurant or allow 
another person to operate a restaurant as part of the on-premises tasting room on the 
manufacturing premises.  If the brewer, micro brewer, wine maker, small wine maker, distiller, 
small distiller, brandy manufacturer, or mixed spirit drink manufacturer allows another person 
to operate a restaurant on the manufacturing premises, the brewer, micro brewer, wine maker, 
small wine maker, distiller, small distiller, bandy manufacturer, or mixed spirit drink 
manufacturer must hold a participation permit naming as a participant the other person.  The 
other person must meet the requirements for a participant in R 436.1041(3) of the Michigan 
Administrative Code. 

(8) Subject to subsection (10), an approved tasting room located off the manufacturing premises of 1 
or more manufacturers, other than a brewer, micro brewer, or mixed spirit drink manufacturer, that 
are owned by the same person and whose manufacturing premises share the same address must 
comply with all of the following: 
(a) The commission must approve and issue an off-premises tasting room license to the 

manufacturer or manufacturers. 
(b) The manufacturer or manufacturers must pay the $100.00 initial license fee, which is 

renewable annually. 
(c) The manufacturer or manufacturers must be approved for the off-premises tasting room 

license by the local legislative body in which the proposed licensed premises will be located, 
except in a city having a population of 600,000 or more as provided in subsection (18). 

(d) The manufacturer or manufacturers must comply with the server training requirements of 
section 906 at the off-premises tasting room. 

(e) The manufacturer or manufacturers must file with the commission proof of financial 
responsibility providing security for liability under section 801(2) of not less than $50,000.00 
as provided in section 803 for the off-premises tasting room. 

(f) A separate off-premises tasting room license is not required for each license type for a person 
licensed by the commission under any combination of wine maker, small wine maker, distiller, 
small distiller, or brandy manufacturer licenses issued to that person at the same 
manufacturing premises. 

(g) The commission shall not issue to a manufacturer or manufacturers a Sunday sales permit, 
catering permit, dance permit entertainment permit, specific purpose permit, extended hours 
permit, authorization for outdoor service, or permission to maintain a direct connection to 
unlicensed premises unless the commission has issued an off-premises tasting room license 
to the manufacturer or manufacturers.  A Sunday sales permit, catering permit, dance permit, 
entertainment permit, specific purpose permit, extended hours permit, authorization for 
outdoor service, or permission to maintain a direct connection to unlicensed premises may be 
issued concurrently with the issuance of an off-premises tasting room. 

(9) Subject to subsection (10), an approved jointly operated tasting room located off the manufacturing 
premises of 2 or more manufacturers, other than a brewer, micro brewer, or mixed spirit 
manufacturer, that are not owned by the same person and whose manufacturing premises do not 
share the same address must comply with all of the following: 
(a) The commission must approve and issue a joint off-premises tasting room license to each of 

the manufacturers. 
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(b) Each manufacturer must pay the $100.00 initial license fee, which is renewable annually. 
(c) Each manufacturer must be approved for a joint off-premises tasting room license by the local 

legislative body in which the proposed licensed premises will be located, except in a city 
having a population of 600,000 or more or as provided in subsection (18). 

(d) Each manufacturer must comply with the server training requirements of section 906 at the 
jointly operated off-premises tasting room. 

(e) Each manufacturer must file with the commission proof of financial responsibility providing 
security for liability under section 801(2) of not less than $ 50,000.00 as provided in section 
803 for the jointly operated off-premises tasting room. 

(f) Any management agreements with an unlicensed manager of the jointly operated off-
premises tasting room must comply with the requirements of R 436.1041 of the Michigan 
Administrative Code and all the manufacturers must hold a participation permit naming as a 
participant the unlicensed manager.  The unlicensed manager must meet the requirements 
for a participant in R 436.1041(3) of the Michigan Administrative code 

(g) A Sunday sales permit, dance permit, entertainment permit, specific purpose permit, extended 
hours permit, authorization for outdoor service, or permission to maintain a direct connection 
to unlicensed premises may be issued in conjunction with a jointly operated off-premises 
tasting room.  All manufacturers licensed at the jointly operated off-premises tasting room 
location must hold the same permits, permissions, and authorizations at the location. 

(h) A violation of this act or the administrative rules by any manufacturer on the premises of the 
jointly operated off-premises tasting room is a violation by all the manufacturers at the jointly 
operated off-premises tasting room. 

(10) Approved off-premises tasting rooms or jointly operated off-premises tasting rooms described in 
subsections (8) and (9) must comply with all of the following: 
(a) A wine maker, small wine maker, distiller, small distiller, or brandy manufacturer may have 1 

of the following: 
(i) No more than 5 off-premises tasting room licenses issued under subsection (8) under 

which alcoholic liquor manufactured by the wine maker, small wine maker, distiller, 
small distiller, or brandy manufacturer may be sold by the glass for consumption on 
the premises or samples may be sold or given away for consumption on the premises 
as provided in subsection (14)(b) and (c). 

(ii) No more than 5 joint off-premises tasting room licenses issued under subsection (9) 
under which alcoholic liquor manufactured by the wine maker, small wine maker, 
distiller, small distiller, or brandy manufacturer may be sold by the glass for 
consumption on the premises or samples may be sold or given away for consumption 
on the premise as provided in subsection (14)(b) and (c). 

(iii) A combination of no more than 5 off-premises tasting room licenses issued under 
subsection (8) and joint off-premises tasting room licenses issued under subsection 
(9) under which alcoholic liquor manufactured by the wine maker, small wine maker, 
distiller, small distiller, or brandy manufacturer may be sold by the glass for 
consumption on the premises or samples may be sold or given away for consumption 
on the premises as provided in subsection (14)(b) and (c). 

(iv) No more than the equivalent number of off-premises tasting room licenses issued 
under subsection (8), joint off-premises tasting room licenses issued under subsection 
(9), or a combination of off-premises tasting room licenses issued under subsection (8) 
and joint off-premise tasting room licenses issued under subsection (9) that were 
issued before October 1, 2018 under which alcoholic liquor manufactured by the wine 
maker, small wine maker, distiller, small distiller, or brandy manufacturer may be sold 
by the glass for consumption on the premises or samples may be sold or given away 
for consumption on the premises as provide in subsection (14)(b) and (c). 

(b) Notwithstanding the limitation in subdivision (a), a wine maker, small wine maker, distiller, 
small distiller, or brandy manufacturer may have any number of off-premises tasting room 
licenses or joint off-premises tasting room licenses under which alcoholic liquor manufactured 
by the wine maker, small wine maker, distiller, small distiller, or brandy manufacturer may only 
be sold or given away as samples for consumption on the premises as provided in subsection 
(14)(d). 

(c) A wine maker, small wine maker, distiller, small distiller, or brandy manufacturer must 
designate at the time of application whether the tasting room location for which the off-
premises tasting room license or the joint off-premises tasting room license application is 
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being made will sell by the glass as provided in subdivision (a) or provide only samples as 
provided subdivision (b).  The designation made for the off-premises tasting room license or 
the joint off-premises tasting room license must not be changed after the license has been 
issued. 

(d) All wine makers, small wine makers, distillers, small distillers, or brandy manufacturers 
licensed at the same approved jointly operated off-premises tasting room must have an 
identical designation under subdivision (c). 

(e) A wine maker, small wine maker, distiller, small distiller, or brandy manufacturer that has an 
off-premises tasting room or jointly operated off-premises tasting room location that was 
approved by the commission before December 19, 2018 must submit to the commission in 
writing a designation as required under subdivision (c) by April 1, 2019. 

(11) A wine maker, small wine maker, brewer, micro brewer, distiller, small distiller, brandy 
manufacturer, or mixed spirit drink manufacturer may add a nonalcoholic mixing ingredient or an 
alcoholic mixing ingredient manufactured by the wine maker, small wine maker, brewer, micro 
brewer, distiller, small distiller, brandy manufacturer, or mixed spirit drink  manufacturer to sampled 
or purchased alcoholic liquor if the sampled or purchased alcoholic liquor is consumed on the 
premises of the approved tasting room. 

(12) A manufacturer is not a retailer under this act merely because the manufacturer has a tasting room. 
(13) A manufacturer with an approved tasting room may sample and sell alcoholic liquor only as 

specifically allowed in this act. 
(14) A manufacturer may do all of the following: 

(a) Sell alcoholic liquor it manufactured for consumption off the premises in an approved tasting 
room under subsections (7) to (9). 

(b) Subject to subsection (10)(a), sell alcoholic liquor it manufactured by the glass or consumption 
on the premises of an approved tasting room under subsections (7) to (9). 

(c) Subject to subsection (10)(a), sell or give away samples of any size of alcoholic liquor it 
manufactured for consumption on the premises of an approved tasting room under subsections 
(7) to (9). 

(d) Subject to subsection (10)(b), sell or give away samples of alcoholic liquor it manufactured for 
consumption on the premises of an approved tasting room under subsections (8) and (9) under 
all of the following conditions: 

(i) A wine maker or small wine maker may offer samples of wine that no not exceed 3 
ounces per sample. 

(ii) A brandy manufacturer may offer samples of brandy that do not exceed ½ ounce per 
sample. 

(iii) A distiller or small distiller may offer samples of spirits or mixed spirit drinks that do not 
exceed ½ ounce per sample. 

(15) An on-premises tasting room permit issued under subsection (7) and an off-premises tasting room 
license issued under subsection (8) may be held in conjunction at the same location by the same 
person if either of the following conditions is met: 
(a) The person holds the on-premises tasting room permit issued under subsection (7) in 

conjunction with a brewer or micro brewer license only and no other manufacturing license, 
and the off-premises tasting room license issued under subsection (8) at the same location. 

(b) Both of the following conditions are met: 
(i) The person holds an on-premises tasting room permit issued under subsection (7) in 

conjunction with a micro brewer, small distiller, or small wine maker license, or any 
combination of micro brewer, small distiller, or small wine maker licenses, and the off-
premises tasting room license issued under subsection (8) at the same location. 

(ii) The commission issued to the person both the permit and applicable licenses 
described in subparagraph (i), or their equivalent at the time of issuance, before 
October 1, 2018. 

(16) A manufacturer issued a license before December 19, 2018 that intends to sell for consumption off 
its licensed premises or sell, serve, and allow consumption on its licensed premises of alcoholic 
liquor as allowed under this section and section 537 must comply with this section by April 1, 2019. 

(17) The revenue received from subsection (7) must be deposited into the liquor control enforcement 
and license investigation revolving fund under section 543(9). 

(18) Local approval under subsection (7) (c), (8) (c), or (9) (c) is not required for a tasting room that was 
in existence before December 19, 2018. 

(19) A small distiller or distiller that also holds a mixed spirit drink manufacturer license may do all of the 
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following: 
(a) Sell mixed spirit drink it manufactured for consumption off the licensed premises of an approved 

tasting room under subsections (8) and (9). 
(b) Subject to subsection (10)(a), sell mixed spirit drink it manufactured for consumption on the 

premises of an approved tasting room under subsections (8) and (9). 
(c) Subject to subsection (10)(a), sell or give away samples of any size of mixed spirit drink it 

manufactured for consumption on the premises of an approved tasting room under subsections 
(8) and (9). 

(d) Subject to subsection (10)(b), sell or give away samples that do not exceed 3 ounces per 
sample of mixed spirit drink it manufactured for consumption on the premises of an approved 
tasting room under subsections (8) and (9). 

 
History: Add. 2018, Act 408, Imd. Eff. Dec 19, 2018; --Am. 2019, Act 131, Imd. Eff. Nov. 21, 2019, --Am. 2020, Act 126, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020 ;-- Am. 2021, Act 20, Imd. Eff. 
June 3, 2021 
 
Compiler's Notes: Enacting section 1 of Act 347 of 2020 provides:“Enacting section 1. This amendatory act does not take effect unless all of the following bills of the 100th 
Legislature are enacted into law:(a) Senate Bill No. 1138.(b) Senate Bill No. 1139.(c) Senate Bill No. 1140."Senate Bill Nos. 1138, 1139, and 1140, referred to in enacting 
section 1, were pocket vetoed by the governor on January 5, 2021. Act 347 of 2020 does not go into effect. 

 

436.1537 Classes of vendors permitted to sell alcoholic liquors at retail; sale of wine 
by wine maker; beer and wine tastings; brandy and spirits tasting; filling and 
selling growlers with beer; definitions. 

 
Sec. 537. 
 

(1) The following classes of vendors may sell alcoholic liquor at retail as provided in this section: 
(a) Taverns, where beer, wine, and mixed spirit drink may be sold for consumption on the premises 

only. 
(b) Class C licensee, where beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits may be sold for consumption 

on the premises. 
(c) Clubs, where beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits may be sold for consumption on the 

premises only to bona fide members if consumption is limited to these members and their bona 
fide guests, who are 21 years of age or older. 

(d) Direct shippers, where wine may be sold and shipped directly to the consumer. 
(e) Hotels of class A, where beer, wine, mixed spirit drink may be sold for consumption on the 

premises and in the rooms of bona fide registered guests. Hotels of class B where beer, wine, 
mixed spirit drink, and spirits may be sold for consumption on the premises and in the rooms 
of bona fide registered guests.  

(f) Specially designated merchants, where beer, wine, and mixed spirit drink may be sold for 
consumption off the premises only. 

(g) Specially designated distributors, where spirits may be sold for consumption off the premises 
only. 

(h) Special licensee, where beer and wine or beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits may be sold 
for consumption on the premises only. 

(i) Dining cars or other railroad or Pullman cars, watercraft, or aircraft, where alcoholic liquor may 
be sold for consumption on the premises only, subject to rules promulgated by the commission. 

(j) Brewpubs, where beer manufactured on the premises by the licensee may be sold for 
consumption on or off the premises by any of the following licensees: 

(i) Class C. 
(ii) Tavern. 
(iii) Class A hotel. 
(iv) Class B hotel. 

(k) Micro brewers and brewers, where beer manufactured by the micro brewer or brewer may be 
sold in an approved tasting room under section 536 to a consumer for consumption on or off 
the manufacturing premises. 

(l) Class G-1 licensee, where beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits may be sold for 
consumption on the premises only to members required to pay an annual membership fee 
and consumption is limited to these members and their bona fide guests. 

(m) Class G-2 licensee, where beer and wine may be sold for consumption on the premises only 
to members required to pay an annual membership fee and consumption is limited to these 
members and their bona fide guests. 
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(n) Motorsports event licensee, where beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and spirits may be sold for 
consumption on the premises during sanctioned motorsports events only. 

(o) Wine maker or small wine maker, where wine manufactured by the wine maker or small wine 
maker may be sold in any of the following ways: 

(i) By direct shipment as provided in section 203. 
(ii) At retail for consumption on or off the premises in an approved tasting room under 

section 536. 
(iii) As otherwise provided for in this act. 

(p) Small wine maker, where wine bottled by the small wine maker may be sold in any of the 
following ways: 

(i) By direct shipment as provided in section 203. 
(ii) At retail for consumption on or off the premises in an approved tasting room under 

section 536. 
(iii) As otherwise provided for in this act. 

(q) Wine maker or small wine maker, where shiners may be sold in any of the following ways:  
(i) By direct shipment as provided in section 203. 
(ii) At retail for consumption on or off the premises in an approved tasting room under 

section 536. 
(iii) As otherwise provided for in this act. 

(r) Distiller or small distiller, where spirits manufactured by the distiller or small distiller may be 
sold to the consumer at retail for consumption on or off the premises in an approved tasting 
room under section 536. 

(s) Nonpublic continuing care retirement center license, where beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, 
mixed wine drink, and spirits may be sold at retail and served on the licensed premises to 
residents and bona fide guests accompanying the resident for consumption only on the 
licensed premises. 

(t) A small wine maker or an out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a small wine 
maker, that holds a farmer's market permit, where wine manufactured or bottled by the small 
wine maker and shiners may be sampled and sold at a farmers’ market for consumption off 
the licensed premises. 

(u) A brandy manufacturer where brandy manufactured by the brandy manufacturer may be sold 
at retail for consumption on or off the premises in an approved tasting room under section 536 
located on the manufacturing premises of the brandy manufacturer. 

(v) A mixed spirit drink manufacturer where mixed spirit drink manufactured by the mixed spirit 
drink manufacturer may be sold at retail for consumption on or off the premises in an approved 
tasting room under section 536. 

(2) Notwithstanding section 1025(1), an outstate seller of beer, an outstate seller of wine, a wine 
maker, a brewer, a micro brewer, or a specially designated merchant, or an agent of any of those 
persons, that does not hold a license allowing the consumption of alcoholic liquor on the premises 
at the same licensed address, may conduct beer and wine tastings on the licensed premises of a 
specially designated merchant under the following conditions: 
(a) A customer is not charged for the tasting of beer or wine. 
(b) The tasting samples provided to a customer do not exceed 3 servings at up to 3 ounces per 

serving of beer or 3 servings at up to 2 ounces of wine. A customer shall not be provided more 
than a total of 3 samples of beer or wine within a 24-hour period per licensed premises. 

(c) The specially designated merchant, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, wine maker, 
micro brewer, or brewer has first obtained an annual beer and wine tasting permit approved by 
the commission. 

(d) The commission is notified, in writing, a minimum of 10 working days before the event, 
regarding the date, time, and location of the event. 

(3) While a beer or wine tasting is conducted under subsection (2), a specially designated merchant, 
outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, wine maker, micro brewer, or brewer, or its agent or 
employee who has successfully completed a server training program as provided for in section 906, 
shall devote full time to the beer and wine tasting activity and shall not perform other duties, 
including the sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption off the licensed premises. Beer and wine used 
for the tasting must come from the specially designated merchant’s inventory, and all open bottles 
must be removed from the premises on the same business day or resealed and stored in a locked, 
separate storage compartment on the licensed premises when not being used for the activities 
allowed by the permit. 
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(4) A wholesaler shall not conduct or participate in beer and wine tastings allowed under a permit 
issued under subsection (2). 

(5) A beer and wine tasting under subsection (2) may only be conducted during the legal hours for the 
sale of alcoholic liquor by the licensee. 

(6) An eligible merchant may fill and sell growlers with beer for consumption off the premises under 
the following conditions: 
(a) The premises where the filling of growlers takes place comply with the requirements for food 

service establishments under the food law, 2000 PA 92, MCL 289.1101 to 289.8111. 
(b) The growler is sealed and has a label affixed to it that includes at least the brand name of the 

beer, the class of the beer, the net contents of the container, and the name of the retailer filling 
the growler.  The label conditions described in this subdivision do not apply to either of the 
following: 
(i) A brewpub described in subsection (1) (j), but only as to beer that the brewpub produces. 
(ii) A micro brewer or brewer described in subsection (1) (k). 

(c) The eligible merchant or his or her agent or employee does not fill a growler in advance of the 
sale. 

(d) The eligible merchant or his or her agent or employee only uses containers that have a capacity 
of 5 gallons or more to fill a growler  

(e) The beer to be dispensed has received a registration number from the commission and has 
been approved for sale by the commission.  The registration condition described in this 
subdivision does not apply to either of the following: 

(i) A brewpub described in section (1)(j), but only as to beer that the brewpub produces. 
(ii) A micro brewer or brewer described in subsection (1)(k). 

(f) The eligible merchant complies with all applicable rules promulgated by the commission. 
(7) A wine maker, brandy manufacturer, small distiller, micro brewer, brewer, or brewpub shall provide 

water, and may, in the sole discretion of the wine maker, brandy manufacturer, small distiller, micro 
brewer, brewer, or brewpub, sell or provide other nonalcoholic beverages, for consumption on or 
off the premises where the wine maker, brandy manufacturer, small distiller, micro brewer, brewer, 
or brewpub is licensed. 

(8) As used in this section: 
(a) "Eligible merchant" means a person that holds a specially designated merchant license.  
(b) "Growler" means any clean, refillable, resealable container that is exclusively intended, and 

used only, for the sale of beer for consumption off the premises and that has a liquid capacity 
that does not exceed 1 gallon. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2001, Act 223, Eff. Mar. 22, 2002; -- Am. 2005, Act 166, Imd. Eff. Oct. 6, 2005; -- Am. 2005, Act 269, Imd. Eff. Dec. 16, 
2005; -- Am. 2008, Act 218, Imd. Eff. July 16, 2008; Am. 2010, Act 213, Eff. November 17, 2010; Am. 2011, Act. 298, Imd. Eff. Dec. 22, 2011; Am. 2013, Act. 101, Imd. Eff. July 
2, 2013; --Am. 2016, Act 514, Eff. Apr. 9, 2017; --Am. 2018, Act 40, Eff. May 29, 2018; --Am. 2018, Act 413, Imd. Eff. Dec. 19, 2018; --Am. 2018, Act 560, Imd. Eff. Dec. 28, 
2018; Am. 2020, Act 117, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020 ;-- Am. 2021, Act 19, Eff. Aug. 23, 2021 
 

436.1537a Carryout sales and delivery of alcoholic liquor by an on-premises licensee. 

 
Sec. 537a. 
 

(1) Notwithstanding anything in this act to the contrary, a qualified licensee may fill and sell qualified 
containers with alcoholic liquor for consumption off the premises under the following conditions: 
(a) The qualified licensee or his or her agent or employee does not fill the qualified container in 

advance of the sale. 
(b) The qualified licensee complies with all applicable rules promulgated by the commission. 
(c) The qualified licensee or his or her agent seals the qualified container. 

(2) Notwithstanding anything in this act to the contrary, a qualified licensee may deliver alcoholic 
liquor to a consumer in this state if all of the following conditions are met: 
(a) The qualified licensee complies with all laws of this state, including, but not limited to, the 

prohibition on sales to minors. 
(b) The qualified licensee stamps, prints, or labels on the outside of the qualified container 

"Contains Alcohol. Must be delivered to a person 21 years of age or older.". The recipient at 
the time of the delivery shall provide identification verifying his or her age. 

(c) The qualified licensee or his or her agent seals the qualified container. 
(d) If the qualified licensee is a retailer, the alcoholic liquor is delivered by the qualified licensee's 

employee or a third party facilitator service, as that term is defined in section 203. 
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(e) If the qualified licensee is a manufacturer, the alcoholic liquor is delivered by the qualified 
licensee's employee. 

(3) Except as otherwise allowed under this act, a qualified licensee shall not sell alcoholic liquor in its 
original package under this section. 

(4) As used in this section: 
(a) "Consumer" means that term as defined in section 203. 
(b) "Qualified container" means a clean, sealable container that is for the sale of alcoholic liquor 

for consumption off the premises, that has a liquid capacity that does not exceed 1 gallon, and 
that, after it is filled, is sealed with a device or material that is used to fully close off the container 
securely with no perforations or straw holes. 

(c) "Qualified licensee" means any of the following: 
(i) A retailer that holds a license, other than a special license, to sell alcoholic liquor for 

consumption on the licensed premises. 
(ii) A manufacturer with an on-premises tasting room permit issued under section 536. 
(iii) A manufacturer that holds an off-premises tasting room license issued under section 

536. 
(iv) A manufacturer that holds a joint off-premises tasting room license issued under 

section 536. 
 
History: 2020, Act 125, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020; --Am. 2021, Act 64, Imd. Eff. July 15, 2021; --Am. 2023, Act 95, Imd. Eff. July 19, 2023 
 

436.1539 Marina as specially designated merchant or distributor; license; conditions. 

 
Sec. 539.   
 
A marina that is situated on 1 of the Great Lakes, on that part of an inland waterway or tributary connected 
to and navigable to 1 of the Great Lakes, or on a Great Lakes connecting waterway may be issued a license 
as a specially designated merchant or specially designated distributor, notwithstanding the fact that the 
marina maintains motor vehicle fuel pumps on or adjacent to the licensed premises, or maintains a financial 
interest in any motor vehicle fuel pumps, if all of the following conditions are met: 

(a) The marina's primary business is the sale of boats or the provision of services and supplies to 
recreational power cruisers and sailboats of the type that typically travel on the Great Lakes. 

(b) The fuel pumps are used for dispensing fuel only to boats described in subdivision (a). 
(c) The marina is an approved type of business as provided in section 533 (1). 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
 

436.1541 Motor vehicle fuel pumps. 

 
Sec. 541. 
 

(1) Except as provided in section 539 or subsections (2) to (5), the commission shall not allow an 
applicant for or the holder of a specially designated distributor license to own or operate motor 
vehicle fuel pumps on or adjacent to the licensed premises, unless both of the following 
conditions are met: 

(a) One or both of the following conditions exist: 
(i) The applicant or licensee is located in a neighborhood shopping center. 
(ii) The applicant or licensee maintains a minimum inventory on the premises, 

excluding alcoholic liquor and motor vehicle fuel, of not less than $250,000.00, at 
cost, of those goods and services customarily marketed by approved types of 
businesses. 

(b) The site of payment of alcoholic liquor and selection of alcoholic liquor is not less than 5 
feet from that point where motor vehicle fuel is dispensed. 

(2) The commission shall not prohibit an applicant for or the holder of a specially designated 
distributor license from owning or operating motor vehicle fuel pumps on or adjacent to the 
licensed premises, if all of the following conditions are met: 

(a) The applicant is located in a township with a population of 7,000 or less that is not 
contiguous with any other township. For purposes of this subdivision, a township is not 
considered contiguous by water. 
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(b) The applicant or licensee maintains a minimum inventory on the premises, excluding 
alcoholic liquor and motor vehicle fuel, of not less than $12,500.00 at cost, of those goods 
and services customarily marketed by approved types of businesses. 

(c) The applicant has the approval of the township, as evidenced by a resolution adopted by 
the township and submitted with the application to the commission. 

(3) The commission shall not prohibit an applicant for or the holder of a specially designated distributor 
license from owning or operating motor vehicle fuel pumps on or adjacent to the licensed premises 
if both of the following conditions are met: 

(a) The applicant or licensee is located in either of the following: 
(i) A city, incorporated village, or township with a population of 3,500 or less and a 

county with a population of 31,000 or more. 
(ii) A city, incorporated village, or township with a population of 4,000 or less and a 

county with a population of less than 31,000. 
(b) The applicant or licensee maintains a minimum inventory on the premises, excluding 

alcoholic liquor and motor vehicle fuel, of not less than $12,500.00, at cost, of those 
goods and services customarily marketed by approved types of businesses. 

(4) A person that was issued a specially designated merchant license or specially designated 
distributor license at a location at which another person owned, operated or maintained motor 
vehicle fuel pumps at the same location may have or acquire an interest in the ownership, 
operation or maintenance of those motor vehicle fuel pumps. 

(5) The commission may transfer ownership of a specially designated merchant license or specially 
designated distributor license to a person that owns or is acquiring an interest in motor vehicle 
fuel pumps already in operation at the same location at which the license is issued. 

(6) The commission shall not prohibit an applicant for or the holder of a specially designated 
merchant license from owning or operating motor vehicle fuel pumps on or adjacent to the 
licensed premises if the site of payment of alcoholic liquor and selection of alcoholic liquor is not 
less than 5 feet from that point where motor vehicle fuel is dispensed. This subsection does not 
apply to a specially designated merchant license issued to a marina under section 539. 

(7) If a specially designated merchant’s licensed premises are a primary location, the commission 
may issue a secondary location permit to the specially designated merchant, as an extension of 
the specially designated merchant’s license, for the sale of beer, wine, or both, at the secondary 
location.  The commission shall  issue a secondary location permit only to a specially designated 
merchant to which both of the following apply: 

(a) The holder of the specially designated merchant license for the primary location premises 
or a subsidiary or affiliate of the license holder owns or leases the secondary location. 

(b) The holder of the specially designated merchant license for the primary location or a 
subsidiary or affiliate of the license holder owns or operates motor vehicle pumps at the 
secondary location. 

(8) An applicant for a secondary location permit shall submit an application to the commission in a 
format provided by the commission and accompanied by an application and initial permit fee of 
$100.00.  The application must include a diagram of the secondary location with the building 
dimensions and a depiction of the distance measurement described in subsection (6). The 
secondary location permit expires on the same date as the specially designated merchant license 
and may be renewed in conjunction with the specially designated merchant license.  The 
secondary location permit holder may renew the secondary location permit by submitting a permit 
renewal fee of $100.00 and a completed renewal application. 

(9) After a specially designated merchant is issued a secondary location permit under subsection 
(7), if a subsidiary or affiliate of the specially designated merchant owns or operates the 
secondary location and the subsidiary or affiliate shares the same ultimate controlling party of 
the specially designated merchant, the secondary location may receive and sell beer, wine, or 
both under the specially designated merchant’s license. 

(10) The holder of a secondary location permit shall prominently display the secondary location permit 
at the secondary location in the point-of-sale area. 

(11) As used in this section: 
(a) “Neighborhood shopping center” means 1 commercial establishment or a group of 

commercial establishments organized or operated as a unit, that is related in location, size, 
and type of shop to the trade area that the unit serves and consists of not less than 50,000 
square feet of leasable retail space, and has access to off-street parking spaces. 

(b) “Primary location” means licensed premises that meets both of the following conditions: 
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(i) One or both of the following conditions exist: 
(A) The applicant or licensee is located in a neighborhood shopping center. 
(B) The applicant or licensee maintains a minimum inventory on the 

premises, excluding alcoholic liquor and motor vehicle fuel, of not less 
than $250,000.00, at cost, of those goods and services customarily 
marketed by approved types of businesses. 

(ii) The site of payment of alcoholic liquor and selection of alcoholic liquor is not less 
than 5 feet from that point where motor vehicle fuel is dispensed. 

(c) “Secondary location” means a business operation of the holder of a specially designated 
merchant license for a primary location, or a subsidiary or affiliate of that license holder, 
that takes place on real property, that includes at least 1 building and 1 or more motor 
vehicle fuel pumps, and that is located on or adjacent to the primary location.  On 
commission approval of the secondary location permit, the secondary location is 
considered licensed premises and an extension of the licensed primary location.  

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- 2006, Act 253, Imd. Eff. July 3, 2006; -- Am. 2008, Act 489, Imd. Eff. Jan. 13, 2009; -- Am. 2016, Act 84, Eff. July 11, 2016;--

Am. 2016, Act 434, Imd. Eff. Jan. 4, 2017 
 

436.1543 Disposition and use of retailers’ license and license renewal fees; special 
fund; “license fee enhancement” define 

 

Sec. 543. 
 

(1) Quarterly, on the commission’s recommendation, this state shall pay pursuant to appropriation in 
the manner prescribed by law to the city, village, or township in which a full-time police department 
or full-time ordinance enforcement department is maintained or, if a police department or full-time 
ordinance enforcement department is not maintained, to the county, to be credited to the sheriff's 
department of the county in which the licensed premises are located, 55% of the amount of the 
proceeds of the retailers' license fees and license renewal fees collected in that jurisdiction, for the 
specific purpose of enforcing this act and the rules promulgated under this act. Forty-one and one-
half percent of the amount of the proceeds of retailers' license and license renewal fees collected 
must be deposited in a special fund to be annually appropriated to the commission for carrying out 
the licensing and enforcement provisions of this act. Any unencumbered or uncommitted money in 
the special fund must revert to the general fund of this state 12 months after the end of each fiscal 
year in which the money was collected. The legislature shall appropriate 3-1/2% of the amount of 
the proceeds of retailers' license and license renewal fees collected to be credited to a special fund 
in the state treasury for the purposes of promoting and sustaining programs for the prevention, 
rehabilitation, care, and treatment of alcoholics. This subsection does not apply to retail license 
fees collected for railroad or Pullman cars, watercraft, aircraft, or wine auctions or to the transfer 
fees provided in section 529.  

(2) All license and license renewal fees, other than retail license and license renewal fees and 
wholesale vendor license and license renewal fees, must be credited to the Michigan craft beverage 
council fund created in section 303a.  On the effective date of the 2018 amendatory act that 
amended this section, any money in the former grape and wine industry council account is 
transferred to the Michigan craft beverage council fund. 

(3) All retail license fees collected for railroad or Pullman cars, watercraft, or aircraft and the transfer 
fees provided in section 529 must be deposited in the special fund created in subsection (1) for 
carrying out the licensing and enforcement provisions of this act. 

(4) The license fee enhancement imposed for licenses issued under section 531(3) and (4) must be 
deposited into a special fund to be annually appropriated to the commission for enforcement and 
other related projects determined appropriate by the commission. The money representing that 
amount of the license fees for identical licenses not issued under section 531(3) and (4) must be 
allocated and appropriated under subsection (1). 

(5) The license fee imposed on direct shipper licenses and any violation fines imposed by the 
commission must be deposited into the direct shipper enforcement revolving fund. The direct 
shipper enforcement revolving fund is created within the state treasury. The state treasurer shall 
direct the investment of the fund. The state treasurer shall credit to the fund interest and earnings 
from fund investments. Money in the fund at the close of the fiscal year must remain in the fund 
and must not lapse to the general fund. The commission shall expend money from the fund, on 
appropriation, only for enforcement of section 203 and related projects.  
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(6) One hundred percent of the wine auction license fee imposed in section 525(1)(aa) must be 
deposited into the general fund. 

(7) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the additional $160.00 license fee imposed on 
a licensee selling alcoholic liquor between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 12 noon on Sunday 
is allocated to the general fund. 

(8) Wholesale Vendor license fees and license renewal fees must be deposited into the liquor control 
enforcement and license investigation revolving fund created under subsection (9). 

(9) The liquor control enforcement and license investigation revolving fund is created within the state 
treasury. The state treasurer shall direct the investment of the fund. The state treasurer shall credit 
to the fund interest and earnings from fund investments. Money in the fund at the close of the fiscal 
year must remain in the fund and must not lapse to the general fund. The commission shall expend 
money from the fund, on appropriation, only for enforcement of this act and the rules promulgated 
under this act and for license investigations. The commission shall not use more than 35% of the 
money appropriated to the fund under this subsection to carry out the licensing provisions of this 
act. 

(10) As used in this section, “license fee enhancement” means the money representing the difference 
between the license fee imposed for a license under subsection 525 (1) and the additional amount 
imposed for resort and resort economic development licenses under section 525 (2). 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2005, Act 97, Imd. Eff. July 20, 2005; -- Am. 2005, Act 269, Imd. Eff. Dec. 16, 2005; -- Am. 2010, Act 175, Imd. Eff. Sept. 
30, 2010; Am. 2010, Act 213, Eff. November 17, 2010; -- Am. 2016, Act 434, Imd. Eff. Jan. 4, 2017; -- Am. 2018, Act 155, Eff. Oct. 1, 2018 
 

436.1545 "Nonpublic continuing care retirement center" defined; license; limitation. 
 
Sec. 545. 
 

(1) As used in this act, “nonpublic continuing care retirement center” means a residential community 
that, as determined by the commission, meets both of the following conditions: 

(a) Provides full-time residential housing predominantly for individuals over the age of 62. 
(b) Meets 1 of the following conditions: 

(i) Is registered as a facility under former 1976 PA 440 or the continuing care 
community disclosure act, 2014 PA 448, MCL 554.901 to 554.993. 

(ii) Is a home for the aged licensed under part 213 of the public health code, 1978 PA 
368, MCL 333.21301 to 333.21335. 

(2) The commission, on submission of a completed application, shall grant a nonpublic continuing care 
retirement center license to an applicant complying with this section. Subject to subsection (4), the 
commission shall not issue more than 25 licenses under this section.  If the holder of a license 
issued under this section goes out of business, the license must be surrendered to the commission. 
The commission may allow the transfer of a surrendered license to a new business owner on 
transfer of the owner’s interest in the business if the new business owner meets the same condition 
under subsection (1) (b) as the previous business owner. 

(3) The holder of a nonpublic continuing care retirement center license may sell at retail and serve on 
the licensed premises beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, mixed wine drink, and spirits, for consumption 
by a resident or the bona fide guests accompanying the resident, only on the licensed premises. 

(4) The commission shall not issue more than 20 licenses under this section to facilities described in 
subsection (1)(b)(i).  The commission shall not issue more than 5 licenses under this section to 
homes for the aged described in subsection (1)(b)(ii). 

History: Add. 2010, Act 213, Eff. November 17, 2010;--Am. 2016, Act 328, Eff. Mar. 8, 2017. 

 

436.1547 Definitions; catering permits. 

 
Sec. 547. 
 

(1) As used in this section: 
(a) “Private event” means an event where no consideration, as defined in section 913, is paid by 

the guests. 
(b) ”Catering permit” means a permit issued by the commission to a specially designated 

distributor, specially designated merchant, or holder of a public on-premises license for the 
sale of beer, wine, or spirits, or any combination thereof, that is also licensed as a food service 
establishment or retail food establishment under the food law of 2000, 2000 PA 92, MCL 
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289.1101 to 289.8111, which permit authorizes the permit holder to sell and deliver beer, wine, 
and spirits in the original sealed container to a person for off-premises consumption but only 
if the sale is not by the glass or drink and the permit holder serves the beer, wine, or spirits. 
The permit does not allow the permit holder to deliver, but not serve, the beer, wine, or spirits. 

(2) Spirits sold by a specially designated distributor, specially designated merchant, or on-premises 
licensee under a catering permit shall not be sold at less than the minimum retail selling price fixed 
by the commission, including under rules promulgated by the commission for specially designated 
distributors under section 229. 

(3) The commission may issue a catering permit to a specially designated distributor, specially 
designated merchant, or public on-premises licensee, as a supplement to that license, to allow 
the sale and delivery of beer, wine, or spirits in the original sealed container at locations other than 
the licensed premises and to require the catering permit holder to serve beer, wine, or spirits at 
the private event where the alcoholic liquor is not resold to guests. The commission shall not issue 
a catering permit to an applicant who delivers beer, wine, or spirits but does not serve the beer, 
wine, or spirits.  

(4) This section does not limit the number of catering permits the commission may issue within any 
local unit of government. 

(5) This section does not prevent a catering permit holder from using the catering permit at multiple 
locations and events during the same time period. 

(6) This section does not prohibit a catering permit holder from selling beer, wine, or spirits to a person 
who has obtained a special license if that catering permit holder serves the beer, wine, or spirits 
and complies with all catering permit rules promulgated by the commission. 

(7) An applicant for a catering permit shall apply on a form approved and provided by the commission 
and pay an application and processing fee of $70.00 and a catering permit fee of $100.00 on the 
issuance of the catering permit. The applicant shall also pay the catering permit fee on renewal of 
the specially designated distributor, specially designated merchant, or on-premises licensee. 

(8) The person delivering the beer, wine, or spirits under a catering permit shall verify that the 
individual accepting delivery is at least 21 years of age. The catering permit holder may utilize a 
third party that provides delivery service to municipalities in this state that are surrounded by water 
and inaccessible by motor vehicle to deliver beer, wine, or spirits to the designated location of the 
private event if the delivery service is approved by the commission and agrees to verify that the 
individual accepting delivery of the beer, wine, or spirits is at least 21 years of age. 

(9) A catering permit holder providing the service, or an employee of the catering permit holder, shall 
successfully complete a server training program approved by the commission before providing the 
service. 

(10) A catering permit holder delivering the beer, wine, or spirits, or an employee of the catering permit 
holder, shall have in his or her possession while delivering the beer, wine, or spirits documentation 
demonstrating that the beer, wine, or spirits being delivered are for a private event being 
conducted under this section. 

(11) A catering permit holder who prepares food or drink for direct consumption through service on the 
premises or elsewhere shall comply with the requirements for food service establishments under 
the food law of 2000, 2000 PA 92, MCL 289.1101 to 289.8111. 

(12) A catering permit holder is subject to all sanctions, liabilities, and penalties provided under this act 
or under law. 

History: Add. 2011, Act 20, Eff. April 20, 2011 

 

436.1548 Public swimming pool permit; fees; requirements; “public swimming pool” 
defined. 

Sec. 548. 
 

(1) The commission may issue an on-premises public swimming pool permit to an on-premises 
licensee that is licensed to operate a public swimming pool under part 125 of the public health code, 
1978 PA 368, MCL 333.12501 to 333.12546. The commission shall charge an initial and an annual 
fee for an on-premises public swimming pool permit of $350.00. An on-premises public swimming 
pool permit issued under this section is not transferrable by location. 

(2) A holder of an on-premises public swimming pool permit may sell and serve alcoholic liquor in a 
public swimming pool located on the licensed premises if both of the following conditions are met: 
(a) The sales performed under the on-premises public swimming pool permit are made within an 
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exclusive area that is well defined, clearly marked, and not accessible to minors. As an 
example, and not by way of limitation, an exclusive area is well defined and clearly marked if 
the exclusive area is delineated by a buoy line. An individual who purchased alcoholic liquor in 
the exclusive area described in this subdivision may possess alcoholic liquor sold by the holder 
of the on-premises public swimming pool permit only in the exclusive area and the licensed 
premises adjacent to the exclusive area. 

(b) The sales are conducted by employees of the holder of the on-premises public swimming pool 
permit who have completed a server training program as provided for in section 906 and the 
rules promulgated by the commission. 

(3) The commission shall develop an application for an annual on-premises public swimming pool 
permit allowing for licensed activities under this section. 

(4) As used in this section, "public swimming pool" means that term as defined in section 12521 of the 
public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.12521. 

History: Add. 2022, Act 100, Imd. Eff. June 14, 2022 
 

436.1551 Social district permit; on-premises licensee serving alcoholic liquor in a 
commons area designated by a local unit of government 

 
Sec. 551. 
 

(1) The governing body of a local governmental unit may designate a social district that contains a 
commons area that may be used by qualified licensees that obtain a social district permit. A 
governing body of a local governmental unit shall not designate a social district that would close a 
road unless the governing body receives prior approval from the road authority with jurisdiction over 
the road. If the governing body of a local governmental unit designates a social district that contains 
a commons area under this section, the governing body must define and clearly mark the commons 
area with signs. The governing body shall establish local management and maintenance plans, 
including, but not limited to, hours of operation, for a commons area and submit those plans to the 
commission. The governing body shall maintain the commons area in a manner that protects the 
health and safety of the community. Subject to this subsection, the governing body may revoke the 
designation if it determines that the commons area threatens the health, safety, or welfare of the 
public or has become a public nuisance. Before revoking the designation, the governing body must 
hold at least 1 public hearing on the proposed revocation. The governing body shall give notice as 
required under the open meetings act, 1976 PA 267, MCL 15.261 to 15.275, of the time and place 
of the public hearing before the public hearing. The governing body shall file the designation or the 
revocation of the designation with the commission. As used in this subsection: 
(a) "Local road agency" means a county road commission or designated county road agency or 

city or village that is responsible for the construction or maintenance of public roads within this 
state. 

(b) "Road authority" means a local road agency or the state transportation department. 
(2) The holder of a social district permit may sell alcoholic liquor for consumption within the confines 

of a commons area if both of the following requirements are met: 
(a) The holder of the social district permit sells and serves alcoholic liquor only on the holder's 

licensed premises. 
(b) The holder of the social district permit serves alcoholic liquor to be consumed in the commons 

area only in a container to which all of the following apply: 
(i) The container prominently displays the social district permittee's trade name or logo or 

some other mark that is unique to the social district permittee under the social district 
permittee's on-premises license. 

(ii) The container prominently displays a logo or some other mark that is unique to the 
commons area. 

(iii) The container is not glass. 
(iv) The container has a liquid capacity that does not exceed 16 ounces. 

(3) If the commission issues a special license to a special licensee located in a social district, for the 
effective period of the special license, and subject to the commission's approval, the governing 
body of the local unit of government shall delineate the portion of the commons area to be utilized 
exclusively by the special licensee and the portion of the commons area to be used exclusively by 
social district permittees. 

(4) A purchaser may remove a container of alcoholic liquor sold by a holder of a social district permit 
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under subsection (2) from the social district permittee's licensed premises if both of the following 
conditions are met: 
(a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (b), the purchaser does not remove the container 

from the commons area. 
(b) While possessing the container, the purchaser does not enter the licensed premises of a social 

district permittee other than any of the following: 
(i) The social district permittee from which the purchaser purchased the container. 
(ii) A social district permittee whose licensed premises is a class B hotel. 

(5) The consumption of alcoholic liquor from a container described in subsection (2)(b) in the commons 
area as allowed under this section may occur only during the hours of operation under the local 
management and maintenance plans established by the governing body of the local unit of 
government under subsection (1). 

(6) A qualified licensee whose licensed premises is shared by and contiguous to a commons area in 
a social district designated by the governing body of a local governmental unit under this section 
may obtain from the commission an annual social district permit as provided in this section. The 
social district permit must be issued for the same period and may be renewed in the same manner 
as the license held by the applicant. The commission shall develop an application for a social district 
permit and shall charge a fee of $250.00 for a social district permit. An application for a social 
district permit must be approved by the governing body of the local governmental unit in which the 
applicant's place of business is located before the application is submitted to the commission and 
before the permit is granted by the commission. The $250.00 permit fee under this subsection must 
be deposited into the liquor control enforcement and license investigation revolving fund under 
section 543(9).  

(7) As used in this section: 
(a) "Commons area" means an area within a social district clearly designated and clearly marked 

by the governing body of the local governmental unit that is shared by and contiguous to the 
premises of at least 2 other qualified licensees. Commons area does not include the licensed 
premises of any qualified licensee. 

(b) "Local governmental unit" means a city, township, village, or charter authority. 
(c) "Qualified licensee" means any of the following: 

(i) A retailer that holds a license, other than a special license, to sell alcoholic liquor for 
consumption on the licensed premises. 

(ii) A manufacturer with an on-premises tasting room permit issued under section 536. 
(iii) A manufacturer that holds an off-premises tasting room license issued under section 536. 
(iv) A manufacturer that holds a joint off-premises tasting room license issued under section 

536. 
 
History: 2020, Act 124, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020; --Am. 2021, Act 64, Imd. Eff. July 15, 2021;--Am. 2022, Act 27, Imd. Eff. Mar. 10, 2022 
 

436.1552 Alcohol dispensing machines; requirements and limitations; violations; 
penalties; rescission of R 436.1045; "on-premises licensee" defined. 

Sec. 552. 
 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a licensee shall not allow on the licensed premises a 
machine that dispenses alcoholic liquor directly to a customer. 

(2) Subsection (1) does not apply to a dispensing machine that is located in a bedroom or suite of a 
hotel of a class A or class B hotel licensee. 

(3) Subsection (1) does not apply to a dispensing machine that is located at an on-premises licensed 
establishment if all of the following conditions are met: 
(a) The dispensing machine is located at a customer's table or booth. 
(b) The dispensing machine does not dispense more than 96 ounces of beer, wine, or mixed spirit 

drink in a single order. 
(c) The dispensing machine does not dispense spirits. 
(d) The customer orders the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink from a clerk, servant, agent, or 

employee of the licensee. 
(e) The on-premises licensee does not sell, offer to sell, or advertise the sale of an unlimited 

quantity of beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink from the dispensing machine. 
(f) The on-premises licensee or a clerk, servant, agent, or employee of the on-premises licensee 

monitors the sale, service, and consumption of beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink from the 
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dispensing machine to ensure compliance with this act and the rules promulgated under this 
act. 

(4) Subsection (1) does not apply to a dispensing machine that is located at an on-premises licensed 
establishment if all of the following conditions are met: 
(a) The dispensing machine is not located at a customer's booth or table. 
(b) The customer activates the dispensing machine with a secure key card supplied by the on-

premises licensee or a clerk, servant, agent, or employee of the on-premises licensee. 
(c) The secure key card under subdivision (b) is attached to the customer at all times, either 

through a necklace or bracelet, or other means of securing the key card to the customer. 
(d) For each serving, the dispensing machine does not dispense more than 16 ounces of beer, 12 

ounces of wine, or 12 ounces of mixed spirit drink. 
(e) The dispensing machine does not dispense more than 32 ounces of any alcoholic liquor before 

the secure key card under subdivision (b) is reactivated by the on-premises licensee or a clerk, 
servant, agent, or employee of the on-premises licensee. 

(f) The dispensing machine does not dispense spirits. 
(g) The on-premises licensee or a clerk, servant, agent, or employee of the on-premises licensee 

monitors the sale, service, and consumption of beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink from the 
dispensing machine to ensure compliance with this act and the rules promulgated under this 
act. 

(5) An on-premises licensee or a clerk, servant, agent, or employee of the on-premises licensee that 
supplies a secure key card under subsection (4)(b) or reactivates a secure key card under 
subsection (4)(e) shall comply with section 801. 

(6) If an on-premises licensee has a dispensing machine described in subsection (4) located at the on-
premises licensed establishment, the commission or any commissioner or authorized agent of the 
commission designated by the chairperson of the commission may assess a penalty of not more 
than $2,000.00 on the on-premises licensee for each violation of section 801(1) instead of 
assessing the penalty under section 903(1) if the on-premises licensee, or clerk, servant, or 
employee of the on-premises licensee violates section 801(1) regardless of whether the violation 
is associated with the dispensing machine. If the commission, or any commissioner or authorized 
agent of the commission designated by the chairperson of the commission assesses a penalty 
under this subsection, the commission may also suspend or revoke the on-premises licensee's 
license under section 903(1). 

(7) R 436.1045 of the Michigan Administrative Code is rescinded. 
(8) As used in this section, "on-premises licensee" means any of the following: 

(a) A retailer that holds a license, other than a special license, to sell alcoholic liquor for 
consumption on the licensed premises. 

(b) A manufacturer with an on-premises tasting room permit issued under section 536. 
(c) A manufacturer that holds an off-premises tasting room license issued under section 536. 
(d) A manufacturer that holds a joint off-premises tasting room license issued under section 536. 

History: Add. 2022, Act 136, Imd. Eff. July 20, 2022 
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CHAPTER 6 
 

436.1601 Licensing qualifications; wholesale licensee or applicant for wholesale license 
as individual, partnership, limited partnership, or corporation; prohibitions. 

 
Sec. 601. 
 

(1) Pursuant to section 2 of Amendment XXI of the Constitution of the United States, this state has an 
interest in ensuring the safety of beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and mixed wine drink that is intended 
to be sold or is sold by wholesalers to retailers for purposes of human consumption. In order to protect 
the public health and safety, the commission must be able to inspect and seize beer, wine, mixed 
spirit drink, and mixed wine drink that is in the possession of a wholesaler being offered for sale in 
this state. The purpose of the inspection described in this subsection is to ensure that the beer, wine, 
mixed spirit drink, or mixed wine drink meets all of the following conditions: 

(a) The beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or mixed wine drink has been registered for sale with the 
commission. 

(b) The beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or mixed wine drink is not subject to a government 
mandated or supplier initiated recall. 

(c) The beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or mixed wine drink is not counterfeit. 
(d) The beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or mixed wine drink is labeled in conformance with 

applicable laws, rules, and regulations. 
(e) The beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or mixed wine drink can be tested by the commission or 

an agent assigned by the commission. 
(f) The beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or mixed wine drink is not prohibited by this state. 

(2) The commission may seize or destroy beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and mixed wine drink that does 
not meet the conditions of subsection (1). 

(3) To enable the commission to carry out the functions described in subsections (1) and (2) and to 
randomly inspect records required to be maintained by a wholesaler under section 217 and R 
436.1641 of the Michigan Administrative Code, a wholesaler or an applicant for a wholesaler license 
must have a warehouse located in this state and licensed by the commission for the storage, sale, 
and distribution of beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and mixed wine drink before operating as a 
wholesaler in this state. This subsection does not require a wholesaler to hold a warehouser license 
for the wholesaler's licensed premises. 

(4) To ensure that all beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and mixed wine drink sold in this state is subject to 
this section, the importation, sale, transportation, and delivery of all beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, and 
mixed wine drink offered for sale by a wholesaler must meet the requirements of section 204. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; --Am. 2019, Act 125, Imd. Eff. Nov. 21, 2019 
 

436.1602 Procedure for manufacturer canceling agreement with a wholesaler. 

 
Sec. 602. 
 
A manufacturer's termination, cancellation, nonrenewal, or discontinuation of an agreement with a wholesaler 
as allowed under sections 305(13) and 403(13), as applicable, is void if the manufacturer sells the brand or 
brands of beer or wine, as applicable, subject to the termination, cancellation, nonrenewal, or discontinuation 
to a wholesaler or retailer within this state before the expiration of 24 months after the effective date of the 
written notice provided to a wholesaler as required under section 305(13) or 403(13), as applicable. 
 
History: 2020, Act 116, July 1, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



6-2 

436.1603 Interest in business of other vendor prohibited; placing stock in portfolio 
under arrangement, trust agreement, or investment trust agreement; issuance 
and sale of participating shares within state; prohibitions; sale of brandy and 
spirits by manufacturer or small distiller; conditions; sale by small distiller; 
interest of brewpub in other locations; interest in business of other supplier; 
approval pursuant to R 436.1023(3); interest of manufacturer in wholesaler 
prohibited; delivery of wine by wine maker to retail licensees prohibited; tiers; 
interpretation of subsection (13); definitions. 

 
Sec. 603. 
 

(1) Except as provided in subsections (5) to (9), subsections (14) to (16), and section 605, a supplier, 
warehouser, or wholesaler shall not have any direct or indirect financial interest in the 
establishment, maintenance, operation, or promotion of the business of any other vendor. 

(2) Except as provided in subsections (5) to (9), subsections (14) to (16), and section 605, a supplier, 
warehouser, or wholesaler or a stockholder of a supplier, warehouser, or wholesaler shall not have 
any direct or indirect interest by ownership in fee, leasehold, mortgage, or otherwise in the 
establishment, maintenance, operation, or promotion of the business of any other vendor. 

(3) Except as provided in subsections (5) to (9), subsections (14) to (16), and section 605, a supplier, 
warehouser, or wholesaler shall not have any direct or indirect interest by interlocking directors in 
a corporation or by interlocking stock ownership in a corporation in the establishment, maintenance, 
operation, or promotion of the business of any other vendor.  

(4) Except as provided in subsections (5) to (9), subsections (14) to (16), and section 605, a person 
shall not buy the stocks of a supplier, warehouser, or wholesaler and place the stock in any portfolio 
under an arrangement, written trust agreement, or form of investment trust agreement, issue 
participating shares based on the portfolio, trust agreement, or investment trust agreement, and 
sell the participating shares within this state. 

(5) The commission may approve a brandy manufacturer or small distiller to sell brandy and spirits 
made by that brandy manufacturer or small distiller in a restaurant for consumption on or off the 
premises if the restaurant is owned by the brandy manufacturer or small distiller or operated by 
another person under an agreement approved by the commission and is located on premises 
where the brandy manufacturer or small distiller is licensed. Brandy and spirits sold for consumption 
off the premises under this subsection must be sold at the uniform price established by the 
commission.  

(6) The commission shall allow a small distiller to sell brands of spirits it manufactures for consumption 
on the licensed premises at that distillery. 

(7) A brewpub may have an interest in up to 5 other brewpubs if the combined production of all the 
locations in which the brewpub has an interest does not exceed 18,000 barrels of beer per calendar 
year. 

(8) This section does not prohibit a supplier from having any direct or indirect interest in any other 
supplier. 

(9) The commission may approve the following under R 436.1023(3) of the Michigan Administrative 
Code, subject to the written approval of the United States Department of Treasury, Alcohol and 
Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau: 

(a) A wine maker participating with 1 or more wine makers in an alternating proprietor operation 
in accordance with 27 CFR 24.136. 

(b) A brewer participating with 1 or more brewers in an alternating proprietor operating in 
accordance with 27 CFR 25.52. 

(10) A manufacturer shall not have any direct or indirect interest in a wholesaler. 
(11) A wine maker shall not collectively deliver wine, with any other wine maker, to retailers. 
(12) Except for a warehouser, all licensees in this state must be separated into 3 distinct and 

independent tiers composed of the following: 
(a) Supplier tier, comprising suppliers. 
(b) Wholesaler tier, comprising wholesalers. 
(c) Retailer tier, comprising retailers. 

(13) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (14), the commission shall not allow any of the 
following: 

(a) A retailer to hold, directly or indirectly, a license in the wholesaler or supplier tier. 
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(b) A wholesaler to hold, directly or indirectly, a license in the retailer or supplier tier. 
(c) A supplier to hold, directly or indirectly, a license in the wholesaler or retailer tier. 

(14) Subsection (13) does not prohibit a class C, tavern, class A hotel, or class B hotel licensee from 
receiving a brewpub license or a micro brewer or brewer from having an on-site restaurant. 

(15) A person licensed in the supplier tier may manufacture a private label of beer, wine, or mixed spirit 
drink for a retailer if the commission determines that all the following requirements are met: 

(a) The supplier registers the private label with the commission as required under R 436.1611, 
R 436.1719, and R 436.1829 of the Michigan Administrative Code. 

(b) The supplier, independent of the retailer's involvement, appoints 1 or more wholesalers to 
distribute the private label as required under section 307 or 401, as applicable. However, if 
the supplier is a micro brewer, the supplier may distribute the private label in accordance with 
section 203a. 

(c) The supplier complies with and does not violate section 305 or 403, as applicable. 
(d) The wholesaler engages in commercially reasonable efforts to make the private label 

available to a retailer that places an order for the private label beer, wine, or mixed spirit 
drink. 

(e) An appointed wholesaler remains the wholesaler for the private label and any brand 
extensions of the private label regardless of whether the retailer switches the supplier that 
manufactures the private label, unless the wholesaler is terminated under section 305 or 403, 
as applicable. 

(16) The commission shall not issue a wholesaler license to a producer of nonalcoholic beverages or 
an entity that the producer of nonalcoholic beverages has a direct or indirect ownership or financial 
interest in, if the producer of nonalcoholic beverages or the entity the producer of nonalcoholic 
beverages has a direct or indirect ownership or financial interest in has a direct or indirect ownership 
or financial interest in a person licensed in the supplier tier. 

(17) As used in this section: 
(a) “Manufacturer” means, notwithstanding section 109(2), a wine maker, small wine maker, 

brewer, micro brewer, manufacturer of spirits, distiller, small distiller, brandy manufacturer, 
mixed spirit drink manufacturer, direct shipper, a licensee with an approved tasting room, or 
a person licensed by the commission to perform substantially similar functions. 

(b) "Private label" means a brand of beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink that is manufactured by a 
supplier on behalf of a retailer using the retailer's recipe or intellectual property. 

(c) “Supplier” means a manufacturer, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, outstate seller of beer, 
outstate seller of wine, outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, and vendor of spirits or a person 
licensed by the commission to perform substantially similar functions but does not include a 
master distributor. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2008, Act 218, Imd. Eff. July 16, 2008; -- Am. 2009, Act 2, Imd. Eff. Mar. 27, 2009; -- Am. 2010, Act 213, Imd. Eff. Nov. 17, 
2010; -- Am. 2011, Act 298, Imd. Eff. Dec. 22, 2011; -- Am. 2014, Act 43, Imd. Eff. Mar. 25, 2014;--Am. 2018, Act 407, Imd. Eff. Dec. 19, 2018 ;-- Am. 2021, Act 19, Eff. Aug. 23, 
2021; --Am. 2022, Act 226, Imd Eff. Oct. 14, 2022 
 

436.1605 Acquisition, development, sale, lease, financing, maintenance, operation, or 
promotion of real property occupied or to be occupied by another vendor; 
conditions; denial or approval of arrangement or contract; review; denial, 
revocation, or suspension of license; wholesaler as party to arrangement or 
contract prohibited; acquisition, development, sale, lease, financing, 
maintenance, operation, or promotion of condominium project or unit; 
exception. 

 
Sec. 605. 
 

(1) A brewer, wine maker, distiller, brandy manufacturer, or the parent company, a subsidiary or an 
affiliate of a brewer, wine maker, distiller, or brandy manufacturer which parent company, subsidiary, 
or affiliate is located in this state may acquire, develop, sell, lease, finance, maintain, operate, or 
promote real property occupied or to be occupied by another vendor, except a wholesaler, if all of the 
following exist: 

(a) The brewer, wine maker, distiller, or brandy manufacturer has received written approval of 
the commission before entering into any arrangement or contract between the parties 
regarding the real property. 
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(b) The legislative body of the city, village, or township where the property is located certifies to 
the commission that the real property is in an urban, commercial, or community 
redevelopment area.  

(c) Any arrangement or contract entered into between the brewer, wine maker, distiller, brandy 
manufacturer, its parent company, subsidiary, or affiliate and another vendor shall not directly 
or indirectly influence or control the brand of alcoholic liquor sold or to be sold by the vendor 
and shall only be concerned with real property. 

(d) The brewer, wine maker, distiller, brandy manufacturer, its parent company, subsidiary, or 
affiliate has not acquired, developed, sold, leased, financed, or maintained, operated, or 
promoted more than 7 real properties that are occupied or to be occupied by another vendor, 
except a wholesaler. 

(2) The commission may deny or approve an arrangement or contract to be entered into under this 
section. In denying or approving an arrangement or contract, the commission shall consider all of the 
following: 

(a) That the arrangement or contract to be entered into is concerned only with real property. 
(b) That the certification required under subsection (1)(b) has been received by the commission.  
(c) That the arrangement or contract does not violate this act or the rules promulgated under this 

act. 
(3) The commission may review any arrangement or contract under this section at the time that 1 of the 

parties to the arrangement or contract applies for or renews a license. The commission may deny, 
revoke, or suspend the license of a party to the arrangement or contract if the commission finds that 
the party to the arrangement or contract has violated this act or the rules promulgated under this act. 

(4) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (5), a wholesaler shall not be a party to, directly or 
indirectly, an arrangement or contract under this section. 

(5) A manufacturer, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, warehouser, wholesaler, authorized distribution 
agent, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, or vendor of 
spirits may acquire, develop, sell, lease, finance, maintain, operate, or promote a condominium 
project or own a condominium unit as its sole property, under the condominium act, 1978 PA 59, 
MCL 559.101 to 559.276, if that condominium unit is not the licensed premises owned separately by 
a retailer and if all of the following apply: 

(a) Condominium assessments in the condominium project are based on the proportional area 
each condominium unit has to the total area. 

(b) A condominium unit operating as a licensed premises operates under a separate name from 
the condominium project except that cooperative advertising shall be permitted among 
owners of condominium units for the purpose of promoting the condominium project if the 
name of a brand or brands of an alcoholic liquor is not mentioned in the advertising. 

(c) Ownership of a condominium unit and participation in a condominium association under this 
section is not considered a financial interest, interest by ownership, or interest by interlocking 
directors on stock ownership prohibited by section 603. 

(d) A retailer separately owning a separate condominium unit as sole property does not directly 
purchase alcoholic liquor from the manufacturer, warehouser, wholesaler, outstate seller of 
mixed spirit drink, or vendor of spirits who owns, leases, maintains, finances, or operates the 
condominium project. 

(e) A wholesaler that has a direct or indirect interest in a condominium unit in which a retailer is 
located does not sell alcoholic liquor to any licensed retail business in which that retailer, or 
any person having an ownership interest in that retailer, has an ownership interest; and, a 
retail licensed business in which that retailer, or any person having an ownership interest in 
that retailer, has an ownership interest does not purchase alcoholic liquor from a wholesaler 
that has a direct or indirect interest in a condominium or condominium unit in which that 
retailer is located. 

(f) A retailer acquiring a separate condominium unit as sole property pays the fair market value 
for the unit. 

(6) Subsection (5) does not apply to a manufacturer, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, warehouser, 
wholesaler, authorized distribution agent, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, outstate 
seller of mixed spirit drink, or vendor of spirits with a direct or indirect interest in a license under the 
Michigan gaming control and revenue act, 1996 IL 1, MCL 432.201 to 432.226. Subsection (5) does 
not prohibit a direct physical connection between a condominium unit that is the licensed premises 
and a condominium unit that is not the licensed premises. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2014, Act 45, Imd. Eff. Mar. 25, 2014 



6-5 

 

436.1607 Eligibility for license as specially designated merchant or specially designated 
distributor; prohibitions; small distiller; wine maker and small wine maker; 
brewer as specially designated merchant; brewery hospitality room; sales or 
deliveries by wholesaler. 

 
Sec. 607. 
 

(1) Except as provided in section 536 (7) (h), a warehouser, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, wholesaler, 
outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, or vendor of spirits 
shall not be licensed as a specially designated merchant or a specially designated distributor. A 
person licensed as a small distiller is not considered to be a specially designated distributor. 
Beginning December 23, 2007 and in addition to the persons described in this subsection, a wine 
maker and a small wine maker shall also not be licensed as a specially designated merchant or a 
specially designated distributor. Any wine maker or small wine maker holding a specially designated 
merchant or specially designated distributor license on December 23, 2007 may continue to hold a 
specially designated merchant or specially designated distributor license. 

(2) A specially designated distributor or specially designated merchant or any other retailer shall not hold 
a mixed spirit drink manufacturer, wholesale, warehouse, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of 
mixed spirit drink, or outstate seller of wine license. Beginning December 23, 2007, a specially 
designated distributor or specially designated merchant shall not hold a wine maker or small wine 
maker license in addition to being prohibited from holding any other license described in this 
subsection. Any specially designated distributor or specially designated merchant holding a wine 
maker or small wine maker license on December 23, 2007 may continue to hold a wine maker or 
small wine maker license. 

(3) A brewer, warehouser, or wholesaler shall not be licensed as a specially designated merchant. This 
subsection does not affect the operation of a brewery hospitality room. 

(4) A wholesaler may sell or deliver beer and alcoholic liquor to hospitals, military establishments, 
governments of federal Indian reservations, and churches requiring sacramental wines and may sell 
to the wholesaler's own employees to a limit of 2 cases of 24 12-ounce units or its equivalent of malt 
beverage per week, or 1 case of 12 1-liter units or its equivalent of wine or mixed spirit drink per 
week. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2005, Act 269, Imd. Eff. Dec. 16, 2005; -- Am. 2008, Act 218, Imd. Eff. July 16, 2008;-- Am. 2018, Act 417, Imd. Eff. Dec. 19, 

2018 
 

436.1608  Distribution and sale of alcoholic beverages; prohibited conduct by 
manufacturers; violation; civil fine; financial records. 

 
Sec. 608. 
 

(1) The purpose of this section is to exercise this state's authority under section 2 of Amendment XXI of 
the Constitution of the United States to ensure an orderly market for the distribution and sale of 
alcoholic beverages. 

(2) It is the intent of this state to provide access to this state's alcoholic beverage market to all licensed 
manufacturers of alcoholic beverages by ensuring the independence of wholesalers to distribute the 
brands of beer, wine, mixed spirit drinks, and mixed wine drinks of multiple manufacturers free from 
the interference or control of any 1 manufacturer. 

(3) A manufacturer shall not do any of the following: 
(a) Subject to subsection (5), require a wholesaler to provide financial records directly or 

indirectly related to any of the following: 
(i) The wholesaler's distribution of the brands manufactured or sold to the wholesaler 

by another manufacturer. 
(ii) The compensation of a wholesaler's employees. 
(iii) The wholesaler's business operations not directly related to the distribution of the 

brands manufactured or sold to the wholesaler by the manufacturer. 
(b) Request a wholesaler to submit any of the wholesaler's financial records as a requirement 

for renewing or retaining an agreement. 
(c) Require a wholesaler to spend a set amount of resources marketing or promoting the brands 

manufactured or sold by the manufacturer to the wholesaler that is based on the sales 
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revenue derived by the wholesaler's distribution of the brands manufactured or sold to the 
wholesaler by the manufacturer. 

(d) Intentionally ship beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or mixed wine drink to a wholesaler that 
exceeds the order placed by the wholesaler or the forecast submitted by the wholesaler. For 
purposes of this subdivision, a manufacturer is considered to have intentionally taken an 
action described in this subdivision if the manufacturer has invoiced or initiated an electronic 
funds transfer for the amount shipped in excess. 

(e) Prohibit a wholesaler from distributing the brands the manufacturer manufactured or sold to 
the wholesaler in licensed vehicles that have markings or logos of brands manufactured or 
sold to the wholesaler by other manufacturers. 

(f) Prohibit a wholesaler from distributing the brands manufactured or sold to the wholesaler by 
another manufacturer on a licensed vehicle that has the marking or logos of brands 
manufactured or sold to the wholesaler by the manufacturer. 

(g) Require a distributor to pay for the development, installation, or use of reporting software 
owned or mandated by the manufacturer. This subdivision does not prohibit a manufacturer 
from requiring a distributor to maintain electronic information systems that are compatible 
with systems and standards adopted by the manufacturer. 

(h) Require a wholesaler to pay a fee or penalty, of any description, for noncompliance with a 
manufacturer requirement. This subdivision does not prohibit a wholesaler from paying 
damages to a supplier as provided in section 305 or 403. 

(i) Set or attempt to set the rates of compensation for wholesaler employees, including 
incentives. 

(j) Prohibit a wholesaler from utilizing any wholesaler-owned, leased, or controlled property or 
equipment to market, promote, deliver, or distribute the brands manufactured or sold by 
another manufacturer to the wholesaler. 

(4) A manufacturer that violates this section may be ordered to pay a civil fine as follows: 
(a) For a first violation, a civil fine of not more than $1,000.00. 
(b) For a second violation, a civil fine of not more than $2,000.00. 
(c) For a third or subsequent violation, a civil fine of not more than $5,000.00. 

(5) A manufacturer may request and a wholesaler may provide financial records if any of the following 
circumstances apply: 

(a) The wholesaler is attempting to purchase the manufacturer's brands from another 
wholesaler. 

(b) The wholesaler and manufacturer are entering into an initial distribution agreement. 
(c) The financial records are solely related to the brands sold by the manufacturer to the 

wholesaler. 
(6) As used in this section, "manufacturer" includes a brewer, micro brewer, wine maker, small wine 

maker, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or outstate 
seller of mixed spirit drink. 

 
History: Add. 2019, Act 127, Imd. Eff. Nov. 21, 2019 
 

436.1609 Aiding or assisting other vendor prohibited; exception; refunding amount of 
price reductions; providing licensee with advertising items; providing licensee 
with goods and services; approval by commission; sale of brand logoed items; 
possession and use of brand logoed barware; conditions for promotion of 
brand under R 436.1321(1) to (3); unauthorized providing or selling of barware; 
fine; on-premises brand promotional event; removal of merchandise; 
purchase and sale of brand logoed inventory by retailer holding off-premises 
license; adding or removing item by rule; definitions. 

 
Sec. 609. 
 

(1) Except as provided in this section and sections 605 and 1029, a manufacturer, mixed spirit drink 
manufacturer, warehouser, wholesaler, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, outstate seller 
of mixed spirit drink, or vendor of spirits shall not aid or assist any other vendor by gift, loan of money 
or property of any description, or other valuable thing, or by the giving of premiums or rebates, and a 
vendor shall not accept the same. However, if manufacturers of spirits reduce the price of their 
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products, the manufacturer of spirits may refund the amount of the price reductions to specially 
designated distributor licensees in a manner prescribed by the commission. 

(2) A manufacturer, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, warehouser, wholesaler, outstate seller of beer, 
outstate seller of wine, outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, or vendor of spirits may, in a manner 
consistent with rules, regulations, and orders made by the commission, provide another licensee with 
an advertising item that promotes the brands and prices of alcoholic liquor produced by the 
manufacturer; sold by the outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or the outstate seller of mixed 
spirit drink, or distributed by the wholesaler. Except as otherwise allowed under subsection (3), (4), 
(5), or (6) the advertising item must not have any use or value beyond the actual advertising of brands 
and prices of the alcoholic liquor. 

(3) Except for those orders that were approved for specific sponsorships or festivals, a manufacturer, 
mixed spirit drink manufacturer, warehouser, wholesaler, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of 
wine, outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, or vendor of spirits may provide goods and services to 
another licensee that were approved by the commission under rules or orders adopted before 
January 1, 2014 and the following items: 

(a) Alcoholic liquor recipes literature. 
(b) Calendars and matchbooks. 
(c) Removable tap markers or signs. 
(d) Table tents. 
(e) Shelf talkers. 
(f) Bottle neckers. 
(g) Cooler stickers. 
(h) Buttons, blinking and nonblinking. 
(i) Menu clip-ons. 
(j) Mirrors. 
(k) Napkin holders. 
(l) Spirits cold shot tap machines. 
(m) Alcoholic liquor drink menus. 
(n) Keg couplers that are lent to an on-premises retailer. 
(o) Sporting event or entertainment tickets. 
(p) Suction cups. 
(q) Cooler door attachments. 
(r) Tear pad holders. 

(4) A wholesaler may sell brand logoed items to an off-premises licensee if those brand logoed items are 
contained within the packaging of an alcoholic liquor product that is to be sold to a consumer. 

(5) A retailer shall not use or possess, at its licensed premises, advertising items that have a use or value 
beyond the actual advertising of brands and prices of alcoholic liquor except for those items allowed 
in subsection (3), (4), or (6), or as otherwise allowed under this subsection. A retailer may possess 
and use brand logoed barware that advertises spirits if the items are purchased from a manufacturer 
of spirits, vendor of spirits, salesperson, broker, or barware retailer. A retailer may possess and use 
brand logoed barware that advertises beer or wine if the items are purchased from a barware retailer. 
A retailer shall maintain the receipts of all purchased brand logoed barware for at least 3 years and 
shall make those receipts available for inspection by the commission as provided in section 217. 
Beginning in the 2015 licensing year, a retailer shall disclose, in a manner as prescribed by the 
commission on the application for renewal of an existing license, if any barware was purchased by 
the retailer during the immediately preceding license year. 

(6) A manufacturer, outstate seller, or vendor of spirits may provide brand logoed merchandise to an on-
premises retailer and off-premises retailer to promote the brand and price of its products under R 
436.1321(1) to (3) of the Michigan Administrative Code.  All of the following apply to brand logoed 
merchandise under this subsection: 

(a) Brand logoed merchandise must be used for display purposed only. 
(b) Brand logoed merchandise may only provide brand advertising when used in a display. 
(c) Brand logoed merchandise must be returned to the alcoholic beverage supplier or wholesaler 

on completion of the display. 
(d) Brand logoed merchandise must not be given to the retailer or the retailer’s employee or any 

other person for their personal use. 
(e) The value of the brand logoed merchandise on display must not exceed $200.00 per item. 
(f) Brand logoed merchandise that a retailer could use in the daily operation of the retailer’s 

business is prohibited. 
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(g) Brand logoed merchandise must be unilluminated.  
(h) Brand logoed merchandise must not be more than 3,500 square inches in dimension. 
(i) Brand logoed merchandise must be owned by the manufacturer or supplier.  The ownership 

of the brand logoed merchandise may not be transferred to the retailer, the retailer’s 
employee, or any other person. 

(j) A wholesaler may deliver and install a display using brand logoed merchandise provided 
without charge by a manufacturer, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or outstate 
seller of mixed drink.       

(7) In addition to the penalties provided under section 903, a manufacturer of beer or wine, mixed spirit 
drink manufacturer, warehouser, wholesaler, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or 
outstate seller of mixed spirit drink that provides or sells barware and is not authorized to provide or 
sell barware is subject to a fine in an amount of up to $2,500.00 as determined by the commission. 
Multiple violations resulting from the same incident may be treated as a single violation for purposes 
of issuance of any penalty imposed under this act. 

(8) An on-premises retailer that hosts an on-premises brand promotional event conducted by a 
wholesaler or supplier has 14 days after the event to remove from the premises any brand logoed 
merchandise from the event to maintain compliance with this section. 

(9) This act and rules promulgated under this act do not prevent a retailer that holds an off-premises 
license only from purchasing brand logoed inventory and selling that inventory to its customers. 

(10) Beginning after September 25, 2015, the commission may, by rule, add an item to or remove an 
item from the definition of barware. The commission shall not add or remove more than 1 item per 
rule and shall not promulgate more than 1 rule at a time on the definition of barware. The commission 
shall not issue a rule that adds refrigerator systems, draft systems, or furniture to the definition of 
barware. A rule, regulation, or order adopted after January 1, 2014 that is not adopted in accordance 
with this subsection and that is not consistent with this section or is in conflict with this section is 
void and unenforceable. 

(11) As used in this section: 
(a) "Barware" means the following brand logoed items: 

(i) Trays. 
(ii) Coasters. 
(iii) Napkins. 
(iv) Shirts. 
(v) Hats. 
(vi) Pitchers. 
(vii) Drinkware that is intended to be reused. 
(viii) Bar mats. 
(ix) Buckets. 
(x) Bottle openers. 
(xi) Stir rods. 
(xii) Patio umbrellas. 
(xiii) Any packaging used to hold and deliver the alcoholic liquor purchased by the retailer. 
(xiv) Any other items that have been added by the commission under subsection (10). 

(b) "Barware retailer" means a person that offers brand logoed barware for sale to retailers, 
whether or not it is in their ordinary course of business, and that is not licensed as, or directly 
or indirectly affiliated with, a manufacturer of beer or wine, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, 
warehouser, wholesaler, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or outstate seller of 
mixed spirit drink. For purposes of this subdivision, a licensing agreement that authorizes 
use of a brand logo is not a direct or indirect affiliation. 

(c) "Broker" means a person, other than an individual, that is licensed by the commission and 
that is employed or otherwise retained by a manufacturer of spirits or a vendor of spirits to 
sell, promote, or otherwise assist in the sale or promotion of spirits. 

(d) "Indirectly affiliated" means, for purposes of this section only, that a person owns 5% or more 
of the voting interest of another person. 

(e) “Other valuable thing” means a good, service, or intangible good that is given, loaned, leased, 
or sold to another licensee that has value regardless of whether the value is nominal.  Other 
valuable thing includes, but is not limited to, a good, service, or intangible good that provided 
a benefit, regardless of how nominal, to the licensee other than advertising the brands and 
prices of alcoholic liquor produced by the manufacturer; sold by the outstate seller of beer, 
the outstate seller of wine, or the outstate seller of mixed spirit drink; or distributed by the 
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wholesaler, except for consumable goods and those goods, services, or intangible goods 
approved by rule or order of the commission before January 1, 2014. 

(f) "Salesperson" means, for the purposes of this subsection only,  a person who is employed 
by a vendor of spirits or a broker and who is licensed by the commission to sell, deliver, or 
promote, or otherwise assist in the sale of, spirits in this state. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2010, Act 175, Imd. Eff. Sept. 30, 2010; -- Am. 2014, Act 47, Imd. Eff. Mar. 25, 2014; Am. 2014, Act 353, Imd. Eff. Oct. 17, 

2014—Am 2016, act 81, Imd. Eff. Apr. 12, 2016 -- Am. 2021, Act 18, Eff. Aug. 23, 2021 
 

436.1609a Filing by manufacturer or wholesaler; schedule of net cash prices; beer 
package price; sale of beer at quantity discount prohibited; disclosure of filing 
under subsections (1) and (2); comparison of filing under subsections (1) and 
(2) with tax filing; reasons for regulation. 

 
Sec 609a. 
 

(1) A manufacturer or wholesaler shall file with the commission a schedule of net cash prices to the 
retailer for all brands of case and keg beer for its market area.  If a person sells beer that has not 
received a registration number from the commission in violation of subrule (1)(d) of R 436.1611 of 
the Michigan Administrative Code and if a wholesaler files a schedule of net cash prices as required 
under this subsection, both of the following apply: 
(a) The wholesaler is not considered to have violated subrule (1)(d) of R 436.1611 of the Michigan 

Administrative Code. 
(b) A retailer is not considered to have violated subrule (1)(d) of R 436.1611 of the Michigan 

Administrative Code. 
(2) A manufacturer or wholesaler shall file with the commission a beer package price change for its 

market area.  The manufacturer or wholesaler shall file the price change before its effective date.  A 
price reduction under this subsection must continue for at least 90 days after the effective date. 

(3) The beer package price for a market area may be increased during the 90-day period described in 
subsection (2) for any of the following reasons: 

(a) To reflect a tax increase in the market area. 
(b) To reflect a general industry price increase in the market area. 

(4) The beer package price for a market area may be decreased during the 90-day period described in 
subsection (2) if both the following conditions are met: 

(a) The price reduction is not greater on a cents-per-case basis than the price reduction filed by 
the competition. 

(b) The price reduction continues for the balance of the 90 days filed by the competition. 
(5) A manufacturer or wholesaler shall not sell beer at a quantity discount. 
(6) A net cash price filed under subsection (1) and a price change filed under subsection (2) are exempt 

from disclosure under section 13 of the freedom of information act, 1976 PA 442, MLC 15.243, until 
1 year after the net cash price or price change is filed, as applicable. 

(7) The Commission shall periodically compare a manufacturer’s or wholesaler’s filing under subsection 
(1) or (2) with the manufacturer’s or wholesaler’s tax filing under section 409. 

(8) This section does not apply to a brewpub. 
(9) Beginning on July 1, 2020, the commission shall not implement or enforce subrule (1)(c) and (d) of 

R 436.1611 of the Michigan Administrative Code for products manufactured by a brewer and for 
products that a micro brewer or brewer sell exclusively at its tasting room or to a beer festival. As 
used in this subsection, "beer festival" means that term as defined in section 526. 

(10) A manufacturer or wholesaler shall file with the commission a schedule of the net cash prices to 
retailers for all wine, mixed wine drink, and mixed spirit drink by kind, type, size, and brand. 

(11) A manufacturer or wholesaler shall file with the commission a wine, mixed wine drink, and mixed 
spirit drink price change for its market area. The manufacturer or wholesaler shall file the price change 
before its effective date. A price change under this subsection must continue for at least 2 weeks 
after the effective date. 

(12) A manufacturer or wholesaler shall not charge a retailer a fee in addition to the net cash prices filed 
under this section, except for a split case fee. If a manufacturer or wholesaler charges a split case 
fee to a retailer, the fee must be at the same per unit rate, nondiscriminatory, and not be based on a 
sliding scale. A manufacturer or wholesaler shall file with the commission a split case fee charged 
under this subsection. 

(13) A manufacturer or wholesaler shall not sell wine, mixed wine drink, and mixed spirit drink at a quantity 
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discount. 
(14) A net cash price filed under subsection (10) and a price change filed under subsection (11) are 

exempt from disclosure under section 13 of the freedom of information act, 1976 PA 442, MCL 
15.243, until 1 year after the net cash price or price reduction is filed, as applicable. 

(15) The commission shall periodically compare a manufacturer's or wholesaler's filing under subsections 
(10) and (11) with the manufacturer's or wholesaler's tax filing under section 301. 

(16) The regulation described in this section is necessary for both of the following reasons: 
(a) To promote temperance and the public health and welfare. 
(b) To promote a stable 3-tier distribution system with orderly markets for wine and malt 

beverage products in which there is no price discrimination by a wholesaler in its sales to 
retailers within the wholesaler’s sales territory. 

 
History: Add. 2016, Act 81, Imd. Eff. Apr. 12, 2016, Am. 2020, Act 119, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020; --Am. 2022, Act 227, Imd. Eff. Oct. 14, 2022 
 

436.1609b Expenditure records for each call on retail licensee; drink purchase for 
promotional purposes; limitation. 

 
Sec 609b. 
 

(1) A vendor representative and salesperson of a vendor of spirits, manufacturer of beer, manufacturer 
of wine, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or wholesaler shall maintain accurate records 
of expenditures for each call on a retail licensee.  The records must be maintained for 4 years and 
must be made available for commission inspection.  

(2) A vendor representative or salesperson of a spirits or wine, for promotional purposes, may purchase 
1 drink for each customer of an on-premises licensee. A drink purchased under this subsection must 
be of the brand represented by the vendor representative or salesperson. 

(3) A vendor representative or salesperson of a manufacturer of beer, a wholesaler of beer, or an outstate 
seller of beer, for promotional purposes, may purchase 1 drink for each customer of an on-premises 
retail licensee subject to a total spending limit of $100.00 per day.  A drink purchased under this 
subsection must be of the brand represented by the vendor representative or salesperson. 

(4) A vendor representative or salesperson of a manufacturer of beer, a wholesaler of beer, or an outstate 
seller of beer shall not purchase a drink under subsection (3) more than twice per month at the same 
on-premises retail licensed location. 

(5) A licensee employed to deliver alcoholic liquor shall not purchase a drink of alcoholic liquor for a retail 
licensee while on duty or in the course of employment. 

 
History: Add. 2016, Act 81, Imd. Eff. Apr. 12, 2016 
 

436.1609c Beer or wine; refund or replacement; reasons. 

 
Sec. 609c. 
 

(1) A manufacturer that sells direct to a retailer as provided under section 203a or a wholesaler may 
refund to a retailer the amount the retailer paid for beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink, as applicable, or 
a manufacturer that sells direct to a retailer as provided under section 203a or a wholesaler may 
replace that beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink for any of the following reasons: 

(a) The beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink is outdated. 
(b) The beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink is defective. 
(c) An error in the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink delivered. 
(d) The beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink may no longer be lawfully sold. 
(e) The termination of the retailer’s business. 
(f) The formula, proof, label, or container of the beer or wine is changed. 
(g) The beer or wine is discontinued. 
(h) The retailer is only open a portion of the year and the beer or wine is likely to spoil during the 

off-season. 
(2) If beer is within 30 days of its out-of-date code, a manufacturer that sells direct to a retailer as provide 

under section 203a or a wholesaler may refund to a retailer the amount the retailer paid for the beer. 
(3) A manufacturer that sells direct to a retailer as provided under section 203a or a wholesaler may only 

issue a refund or replacement under this section for beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink that the 
manufacturer or wholesaler sold to the retailer. 
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(4) Beginning March 1, 2020, a manufacturer may refund to a wholesaler up to the amount the wholesaler 
paid for beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink, as applicable, or a manufacturer may replace that beer, 
wine, or mixed spirit drink for either of the following reasons: 
(a) The wholesaler purchased the beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink from the manufacturer and the 

wholesaler refunded to the retailer the amount the retailer paid for that beer, wine, or mixed spirit 
drink or replaced that beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink under subsection (1) or (2). 

(b) The beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink that the wholesaler purchased from the manufacturer has 
gone out of date while in possession of the wholesaler. 

 
History: Add. 2017, Act 130, Eff. Jan. 15, 2018; --Am. 2020, Act 108, July 1, 2020; --Am. 2020, Act 126, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020; -- Am. 2022, Act 225, Imd. Eff. Oct. 14, 2022 
 

436.1609d  Specially designated distributor; refund to special licensee for unopened 
bottles. 

 
Sec. 609d. 
 
A specially designated distributor that sells spirits to a special licensee that is authorized by the commission 
to sell spirits may refund the special licensee for the return of an unopened bottle in the same amount that 
the special licensee paid for the spirits, less any of the specially designated distributor's credit card transaction 
fees incurred from the sale, if the bottle is without damage to the exterior that would prevent the salability of 
the bottle. 
 
History: Add. 2020, Act 26, Imd. Eff. Feb. 4, 2020 

 

436.1609e  Providing of brand logoed tent or trailer or temporary platform to special 
licensee. 

 
Sec. 609e. 
 
Notwithstanding section 609, a vendor of spirits may provide a special licensee with any of the following: 

(a) A brand logoed tent for use by the special licensee during the effective period of the special license. 
(b) A brand logoed temporary platform for use by the special licensee during the effective period of the 

special license. As used in this subdivision, "temporary platform" means a preestablished platform 
that is exclusively used to serve, dispense, or mix drinks upon, including any refrigeration equipment 
or mixing equipment. 

(c) A brand logoed trailer for use by the special licensee during the effective period of the special license. 
 
History: Add. 2020, Act 25, Imd. Eff. Feb. 4, 2020 
 

436.1609f  Provision of technology to assist in sales, marketing, delivery, merchandising, 
or training; requirements. 

 
Sec. 609f. 
 

(1) Notwithstanding section 609, a manufacturer, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or 
outstate seller of mixed spirit drink may provide a wholesaler with technology to assist in sales, 
marketing, delivery, merchandising, or training. 

(2) A manufacturer, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink 
that provides technology to a wholesaler under subsection (1) shall do both of the following: 

(a) Comply with this act, including, but not limited to, section 608, and the rules promulgated 
under this act. 

(b) Obtain approval by written order of the commission authorizing the technology before it is 
provided to a wholesaler. 

 
History: Add. 2022, Act 227, Imd. Eff. Oct. 14, 2022 

 

436.1609g  Sale of nonalcoholic products to retailer; applicability of act. 

 
Sec. 609g. 
 

(1) If a wholesaler sells nonalcoholic products to a retailer, this act does not apply to the sale, marketing, 
merchandising, or distribution of the nonalcoholic products except the following:  



6-12 

(a) The wholesaler shall comply with section 609. 
(b) The wholesaler shall not do either of the following: 

(i) Provide free nonalcoholic products to a retailer. 
(ii) Provide credit to a retailer. 

(2) If a wholesaler separately owns or has a direct or indirect financial interest in a company that sells 
nonalcoholic products, this act does not apply to the company that sells nonalcoholic products if all 
of the following conditions are met: 

(a) The company that sells nonalcoholic products is not a wholesaler. 
(b) The company that sells nonalcoholic products and the wholesaler have separate sales and 

delivery employees. 
(c) The company that sells nonalcoholic products and the wholesaler use separate delivery 

vehicles. 
(d) The company that sells nonalcoholic products and the wholesaler keep separate finances. 
(e) The company that sells nonalcoholic products does not engage in an activity on behalf of the 

wholesaler that would violate section 609. 
(3) If a wholesaler separately owns or has a direct or indirect financial interest in a company that sells 

nonalcoholic products, the wholesaler and the company that sells nonalcoholic products may do all 
of the following: 

(a) Share human resources departments. 
(b) Have a joint payroll. 
(c) Lease warehouse space to each other. 
(d) Have joint vehicle maintenance. 
(e) Jointly recycle beverage containers. 
(f) Share warehouse employees and equipment. 

 
History: Add. 2022, Act 225, Imd. Eff. Oct. 14, 2022 

 

436.1609h  Electronic rebate coupons. 

 
Sec. 609h. 
 
A manufacturer or supplier may offer electronic rebate coupons directly to a retail customer after the retail 
customer purchases alcoholic liquor from a retailer. An electronic rebate coupon issued under this section 
must comply with all the following: 

(a) A manufacturer or supplier shall only issue coupons that state a specific expiration date and specific 
cash refund value on the coupons. The refund may be paid by cash, by check, by debit card, through 
electronic funds transfer to a bank account, or through an internet or mobile payment account. 

(b) A manufacturer or supplier shall not issue coupons that make any alcohol free. 
(c) A manufacturer or supplier may issue coupons that can be applied to more than 1 specific product 

sold by that manufacturer or supplier but must state the manufacturer or supplier to which they apply. 
(d) A manufacturer or supplier shall issue coupons that require the retail customer to purchase at least 

1 product of alcoholic liquor to redeem a coupon. A manufacturer or supplier may issue coupons that 
require the retail customer to purchase 2 or more alcoholic liquor products from the same 
manufacturer or supplier to redeem the coupon. 

(e) A manufacturer or supplier may issue coupons that require the purchase of a product other than 
alcoholic liquor. 

(f) A wholesaler shall not pay for or participate in the offering of coupons except for providing signs that 
promote the electronic rebate coupon in accordance with section 610a. 

(g) A manufacturer shall only issue coupons that may be redeemable after a purchase of alcoholic liquor 
at all retail locations where that alcoholic liquor is sold. 

 
History: Add. 2022, Act 225, Imd. Eff. Oct. 14, 2022; --Am. 2023, Act 183, Eff. Nov. 7, 2023 

 

 

 

436.1609i  Commercially reasonable effort requirements to meet demands. 
 
Sec. 609i. 
 
If demands exceed supply for a beer, wine, mixed wine drink, or mixed spirit drink product, a manufacturer, 
supplier, or wholesaler must do both of the following: 



6-13 

(a) Engage in commercially reasonable efforts to make the beer, wine, mixed wine drink, or mixed spirit 
drink product available to purchase by a wholesaler that places an order. 

(b) Engage in commercially reasonable efforts to make the beer, wine, mixed wine drink, or mixed spirit 
drink product available to purchase by a retailer that places the order. 

 
History: Add. 2022, Act 225, Imd. Eff. Oct. 14, 2022 

 

436.1609j  Recall or removal of beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink products; notification 
requirements; destruction and reimbursement. 

 
Sec. 609j. 
 

(1) If a manufacturer recalls a beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink product or determines that it is necessary 
for a wholesaler to remove a beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink product from a sales territory, the 
manufacturer shall notify the commission and the affected wholesaler within 2 business days after 
the recall or determination. 

(2) If a manufacturer recalls a beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink product or determines that it is necessary 
for a wholesaler to remove a beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink product from a sales territory, the 
manufacturer shall, within 7 business days after the recall or determination, notify the commission of 
all of the following: 

(a) The products recalled or determined to be removed and the number of cases of each product. 
(b) The reason why each product was recalled or determined to be removed. 
(c) The location where the affected product was manufactured. 
(d) The areas of this state that are affected by the recall or determined removal. 

(3) If a manufacturer recalls a beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink product or determines that it is necessary 
for a wholesaler to remove a beer, wine, or mixed spirit drink product from a sales territory, the 
affected wholesaler shall, within 7 business days after the recall or determination, notify the 
commission when the removal and destruction of the affected product began and the expected 
completion date. 

(4) The wholesaler shall notify the commission on the completion and destruction of an affected product 
described in subsection (3). 

(5) If the affected wholesaler removes and destroys an affected product under subsection (3), the 
manufacturer shall reimburse the wholesaler for all costs reasonably associated with removal and  
destruction of the affected product within 30 days after the affected product is removed and 
destroyed. 

 
History: Add. 2022, Act 225, Imd. Eff. Oct. 14, 2022 

 

436.1610  Advertising; use of unpaid social media; definitions. 

 
Sec 610. 
 

(1) Notwithstanding section 609, a wholesaler, manufacturer, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of 
wine, outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, vendor of spirits, broker, or retailer may use unpaid social 
media to advertise any of the following in accordance with all applicable laws and regulations: 

(a) An on-premises brand promotion. 
(b) Beer, wine or spirits tastings under section 537. 
(c) A product location communication.  

(2) Notwithstanding section 609, and subject to subsection (3), a supplier may take any of the following 
actions to assist a consumer seeking to have an alcoholic beverage sold by the supplier delivered or 
shipped to the consumer's home or designated location by a retailer as allowed under section 203: 

(a) Advertise the name and location of all retailers that deliver or ship to a consumer the alcoholic 
beverages sold by the supplier. 

(b) Provide a link to the website of each retailer that delivers or ships to a consumer the alcoholic 
beverages sold by the supplier. 

(c) Transmit the consumer's order and payment information to the retailer that the consumer 
chooses to fulfill the customer's purchase and perform the delivery or shipment. 

(3) A supplier shall not take any action described in subsection (2) unless both of the following conditions 
are met: 

(a) The supplier and retailer do not provide or receive any other valuable thing in consideration 
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for any action described in subsection (2) taken by the supplier. As used in this subdivision, 
"other valuable thing" means that term as defined in section 609. 

(b) The supplier provides the consumer a list of retailers, from which the consumer selects, that 
will sell, deliver, or ship the alcoholic beverage to the consumer. The supplier may satisfy the 
condition under this subdivision by providing the consumer with a list of retailers located in 
the zip code or nearest zip codes to the consumer's location. 

(4) As used in this section:  
(a) “Broker” means term as defined in section 609. 
(b) "Consumer" means that term as defined in section 203. 
(c) “On-premises brand promotion” means a promotion in the manner provided by the order of 

the commission issued on October 27, 1999.  That order’s prohibition against advertising an 
on-premises promotion by a party off the licenses premises does not apply to this section. 

(d) “Product location communication” means a listing or program that allows an individual to 
determine the availability of a specific product at licensed retailers in a certain geographic 
area. 

(e) “Social media” means a service, platform, or website where users communicate with one 
another and share media, such as pictures, videos, music, and blogs, with other users free 
of charge.  Social media includes the website of a wholesaler, manufacturer, outstate seller 
of beer, outstate seller of wine, vendor of spirits, broker, or retailer. 

(f) "Supplier" means that term as defined in section 603. 
 
History: Add. 2016, Act 106, Imd. Eff. Aug. 1, 2016 ;-- Am. 2021, Act 19, Eff. Aug. 23, 2021 
 

436.1610a  Promotion of brands and prices of alcoholic liquor; signs 

 
Sec. 610a. 
 

(1) Subject to subsection (2), a manufacturer, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, warehouser, wholesaler, 
outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, or vendor of spirits may provide to a retailer 
signs that promote the brands and prices of alcoholic liquor, including special event pricing. 

(2) All of the following apply to a sign allowed under subsection (1): 
(a) The sign must not be illuminated. 
(b) The sign must not have any use beyond the actual advertising of brands, prices, and events 

related to the alcoholic liquor. 
(c) The sign must not include the name of the retailer. 
(d) For a sign that is located inside the retailer’s licensed premises, the sign must not be more 

than 3,500 square inches in dimension. 
(3) A retailer may use an illuminated sign to promote the brand but not the price of alcoholic liquor.  A 

manufacturer, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, warehouser, wholesaler, outstate seller of beer, 
outstate seller of wine, outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, or vendor of spirits shall not provide to a 
retailer a sign described in this subsection. 

(4) The signs allowed under this section are in addition to the advertising items that a manufacturer, 
mixed spirit drink manufacturer, warehouser, wholesaler, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of 
wine, outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, or vendor of spirits may provide another licensee under 
section 609(2). 

 
History: Add. 2017, Act 131, Eff. Jan. 15, 2018 
 

436.1610b  Temporary bin display 

 
Sec. 610b. 
 

(1) A manufacturer, vendor of spirits, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or a wholesaler shall 
not sell or in any manner furnish or install, and a retailer shall not accept, a permanent display in the 
licensed premises of the retailer. 

(2) A manufacturer, vendor of spirits, outstate seller of beer, or outstate seller of wine may furnish and 
install a temporary bin display that has a capacity of up to 25 cases of 24 12-ounce or 0.375-liter 
containers or the equivalent in other sizes of beer, wine, or spirits on the premises of a retailer that is 
licensed for off-premises sales only. 

(3) Notwithstanding section 609, a wholesaler may install, on the premises of a retailer that is licensed 
for off-premises sales only, a temporary bin display that has been provided without charge by the 
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manufacturer, outstate seller of beer, or outstate seller of wine. 
(4) A retailer shall ensure that a temporary bin display installed on the retailer’s premises clearly indicates 

by a tag, stamp, label, or other method that is securely affixed to the temporary bin display the date 
on which the temporary bin display was installed. 

(5) The 3,500-square-inch limit on an inside retail advertising sign under section 609 does not apply to 
advertising on a temporary bin display described in subsection (2) or (3). 

(6) As used in this section, “temporary bin display” means a freestanding device that is constructed of a 
material that is used for the exhibition of beer, wine, or spirits on the premises of a retailer that is 
licensed for off-premises sales only and that must be removed from the retail licensed premises not 
later than 120 days after installation. 

 
History: Add. 2017, Act 83, Eff. Oct. 10, 2017 
 

436.1610c  Certain equipment to special licensee; beer festival; limitations. 

 
Sec. 610c. 
 

(1) Notwithstanding Section 609, a manufacturer, wholesaler, or retailer may provide a special 
licensee, including but not limited to, the holder of a special license to conduct a beer festival under 
section 526, with any of the following: 

(a) Beer or wine dispensing equipment or cooling equipment for use by the special licensee 
during the effective period of the special license.  The equipment described in this 
subdivision may be within or part of a trailer. 

(b) A brand logoed tent for use by the special licensee during the effective period of the special 
license. 

(2) A manufacturer, wholesaler, or retailer that is authorized to sell alcoholic liquor to a special licensee 
under this act may deliver the alcoholic liquor to the special licensee’s premises on the 
commission’s issuance of the special license. 

(3) A special licensee shall not sell alcoholic liquor before the effective period of the special license. 
(4) A special licensee may purchase alcoholic liquor under R 436.582 of the Michigan Administrative 

Code or under section 526. 
 
History: Add. 2018, Act 180, Eff. June 11, 2018 
 

436.1610d  Cooperative advertising; exceptions; instant rebate coupons; limitations; 
“cooperative advertising” defined. 

 
Sec. 610d. 
 

(1) There must not be cooperative advertising: 
(a) Between a manufacturer, an outstate seller of beer, an outstate seller of wine, and a retailer. 
(b) Between a wholesaler and a retailer. 
(c) Between a manufacturer, an outstate seller of beer, an outstate seller of wine, and a 

wholesaler. 
(2) A manufacturer, an outstate seller of beer, or an outstate seller of wine may do any of the following: 

(a) Pay any portion of the cost of painting a truck of a wholesaler. 
(b) Supply a brand logoed decal or advertising mat, or both, to a wholesaler without cost. 
(c) Use the name or logo of the wholesaler of the outstate seller of beer or outstate seller of wine 

in the advertising of the outstate seller of beer or outstate seller of wine. 
(3) The name of a retailer must not appear in the advertising of a manufacturer, an outstate seller of 

beer, an outstate seller of wine, or a wholesaler. 
(4) A retailer may offer consumers instant rebate coupons for use with alcoholic liquor purchases.  An 

instant rebate coupon issued under this subsection must comply with all of the following: 
(a) A retailer shall only issue coupons that state a specific expiration date and specific cash 

refund value on the coupons. 
(b) A retailer shall not issue coupons that make any alcoholic liquor free.  For spirits, the retailer 

shall only issue coupons where the specific cash refund amount does not exceed 35% of this 
state’s minimum shelf price for the products purchased and does not reduce the retail price 
of any product below $2.00 a bottle. 

(c) A retailer may issue coupons that can be applied to more than 1 specific product from a 
manufacturer, but must state the manufacturer to which they apply. 
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(d) A retailer shall issue coupons that require the retail customer to purchase at least 1 product 
of alcoholic liquor to redeem a coupon.  A retailer may issue coupons that require the retail 
customer to purchase 2 or more alcoholic liquor products from the same manufacturer to 
redeem the coupon. 

(e) For spirits, a retailer shall only issue coupons for the 375 milliliters or larger size bottles. 
(f) A supplier or wholesaler of beer or wine shall not pay for or participate in the offering of an 

instant rebate coupon. 
(5) As used in this section “cooperative advertising” means a jointly funded effort between licensees or 

between vendors of spirits. 
 
History: Add. 2018, Act 426, Imd. Eff. Dec. 20, 2018 
 

436.1611 Refund or credit of tax paid on wine, mixed spirit drink, or beer; conditions; 
time limitation; form and contents of claim; supporting evidence; removal or 
destruction of damaged wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink; applicability of 
section; rebate of tax paid on wine or mixed spirit drink.  

 

 
Sec. 611. 
 

(1) A refund or credit of the tax on wine or mixed spirit drink paid under section 301 and of the tax on 
beer paid under section 409 shall be made by the commission to a brewer, wine maker, outstate 
seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, manufacturer of mixed spirit 
drink, wholesaler, or retail licensee who paid the tax if the wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink was sold 
to a military installation or Indian reservation in this state or, subject to subsection (2), if the wine, 
beer, or mixed spirit drink is lost, made unmarketable, or condemned by order of the commission as 
the result of a fire, flood, casualty, or other occurrence. A refund or credit shall not be made as the 
result of theft. 

(2) A refund or credit of taxes as provided in subsection (1) shall be made for damaged wine, beer, or 
mixed spirit drink only if all of the following circumstances exist:  

(a) At the time of the fire, flood, casualty, or other occurrence, the wine, beer, or mixed spirit 
drink was being held for sale by the vendor claiming the refund or credit. 

(b) The refund or credit of the amount claimed or any part of the amount claimed has not been 
and will not be claimed for the same wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink under any other law or 
rule. 

(c) The vendor claiming the refund or credit is not indemnifiable by any valid claim of insurance 
or otherwise for the tax on the wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink covered by the claim. 

(d) The amount claimed for a refund or credit is more than $250.00 or the refund or credit is 
claimed for defective wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink for which the commission has 
authorized a manufacturer, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, outstate seller of 
mixed spirit drink, manufacturer of mixed spirit drink, or wholesaler to make an exchange, 
have replaced, or be reimbursed.  

(e) The occurrence was not caused by an intentional act of the vendor claiming the refund or 
credit or an agent of that vendor. 

(3) A claim for a refund or credit of the tax as provided in subsection (1) shall be made not later than 3 
months after either of the following: 

(a) The date upon which the damage occurred or was first discovered. 
(b) The date of the sale to a military installation or Indian reservation in this state.  

(4) A claim for a refund or credit of the tax as provided in subsection (1) shall be submitted to the 
commission on a form approved by the commission. The claim shall contain the following information, 
as applicable: 

(a) The name and business address of the vendor claiming the refund or credit. 
(b) The address where the wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink was lost, made unmarketable, or 

condemned, if different from the business address. 
(c) The address of the military installation or Indian reservation to which the wine, beer, or mixed 

spirit drink was sold. 
(d) The kind of wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink. 
(e) The size of bottles or containers. 
(f) The number of bottles or containers. 
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(g) The total amount of wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink that was sold or damaged. The amount 
shall be stated in liters or portions of liters for wine and mixed spirit drink and barrels or 
portions of barrels for beer. 

(h) A statement that other claims for a refund or credit of the amount claimed or for any part of 
the amount claimed have not been and will not be made. 

(i) A statement that the vendor has not been indemnified by a valid claim of insurance or 
otherwise for the tax on the wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink covered by the claim. 

(j) Evidence that the tax on the wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink has been paid. 
(k) Evidence that the wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink was lost, made unmarketable, or 

condemned by reason of damage sustained as the result of a fire, flood, casualty, or other 
occurrence. 

(l) A statement as to the type and date of the occurrence. 
(m) A statement that the occurrence was not caused by an intentional act of the vendor claiming 

the refund or credit or an agent of that vendor. 
(5) The vendor claiming the refund or credit for damaged wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink shall support 

a claim with any evidence, such as an inventory, statement, invoice, bill, record, or label, relating to 
the quantity of wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink on hand at the time of the fire, flood, casualty, or other 
disaster and alleged to have been lost, made unmarketable, or condemned as a result of the damage. 

(6) Before or after a tax refund or credit has been made for damaged wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink, 
the wine, beer, or mixed spirit drink upon which the refund or credit is based shall be removed from 
this state or destroyed under the supervision of the commission. 

(7) In addition to the provisions of this section, the tax paid on wine or mixed spirit drink pursuant to 
section 301 shall be rebated to the person who paid the tax upon the presentation of satisfactory 
proof to the commission that the wine or mixed spirit drink was shipped outside of this state for sale 
and consumption outside of this state. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
  



6-18 

 
  



7-1 

CHAPTER 7 
 

436.1701  Selling or furnishing alcoholic liquor to minor; failure to make diligent 
inquiry; violation as misdemeanor; penalty; signs; consumption of alcoholic 
liquor as cause of death or injury; felony; enforcement against licensee; 
consent of parent or guardian in undercover operation; defense in action for 
violation; report; use of security identification device; definitions. 

 
Sec. 701. 
 

(1) A person shall not sell or furnish alcoholic liquor to a minor. Except as otherwise provided in 
subsection (2) and subject to subsections (4), (5), and (6), a person who knowingly sells or 
furnishes alcoholic liquor to a minor, or who fails to make diligent inquiry as to whether the individual 
is a minor, is guilty of a misdemeanor. A retail licensee or a retail licensee's clerk, agent, or 
employee who violates this subsection shall be punished in the manner provided for licensees in 
section 909 except that if the violation is the result of an undercover operation in which the minor 
received alcoholic liquor under the direction of the state police, the commission, or a local police 
agency as part of an enforcement action, the retail licensee's clerk, agent, or employee is 
responsible for a state civil infraction and may be ordered to pay a civil fine of not more than 
$100.00. Except as otherwise provided in subsection (2), an individual who is not a retail licensee 
or a retail licensee's clerk, agent, or employee and who violates this subsection is guilty of a 
misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000.00 and imprisonment for not more than 
60 days for a first offense, a fine of not more than $2,500.00 and imprisonment for not more than 
90 days for a second or subsequent offense, and may be ordered to perform community service. 
A suitable sign describing the content of this section and the penalties for its violation must be 
posted in a conspicuous place in each room where alcoholic liquor is sold. The commission shall 
approve and furnish a sign under this section. 

(2) An individual who is not a retail licensee or the retail licensee's clerk, agent, or employee and who 
violates subsection (1) is guilty of a felony, punishable by imprisonment for not more than 10 years 
or a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both, if the subsequent consumption of the alcoholic liquor 
by the minor is a direct and substantial cause of the minor's death or an accidental injury that 
causes the minor's death. 

(3) If a violation occurs in an establishment that is licensed by the commission for consumption of 
alcoholic liquor on the licensed premises, a person who is a licensee or the clerk, agent, or 
employee of a licensee must not be charged with a violation of subsection (1) or section 801(1) 
unless the licensee or the clerk, agent, or employee of the licensee knew or should have reasonably 
known with the exercise of due diligence that a minor possessed or consumed alcoholic liquor on 
the licensed premises and the licensee or clerk, agent, or employee of the licensee failed to take 
immediate corrective action. 

(4) If the enforcing agency involved in the violation is the state police or a local police agency, a 
licensee must not be charged with a violation of subsection (1) or section 801(1) unless all of the 
following occur, if applicable: 

(a) Enforcement action is taken against the minor who purchased or attempted to purchase, 
consumed or attempted to consume, or possessed or attempted to possess alcoholic 
liquor. 

(b) Enforcement action is taken under this section against the individual 21 years of age or 
older who is not the retail licensee or the retail licensee's clerk, agent, or employee who 
sold or furnished the alcoholic liquor to the minor. 

(c) Enforcement action under this section is taken against the clerk, agent, or employee who 
directly sold or furnished alcoholic liquor to the minor. 

(5) If the enforcing agency is the commission and an appearance ticket or civil infraction citation has 
not been issued, then the commission shall recommend to a local law enforcement agency that 
enforcement action be taken against a violator of this section or section 703 who is not a licensee. 
However, subsection (4) does not apply if the minor against whom enforcement action is taken 
under section 703, the clerk, agent, or employee of the licensee who directly sold or furnished 
alcoholic liquor to the minor, or the individual 21 years of age or older who sold or furnished 
alcoholic liquor to the minor is not alive or is not present in this state at the time the licensee is 
charged. Subsection (4)(a) does not apply under either of the following circumstances: 
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(a) The violation of subsection (1) is the result of an undercover operation in which the minor 
purchased or received alcoholic liquor under the direction of the person's employer and 
with the prior approval of the local prosecutor's office as part of an employer-sponsored 
internal enforcement action. 

(b) The violation of subsection (1) is the result of an undercover operation in which the minor 
purchased or received alcoholic liquor under the direction of the state police, the 
commission, or a local police agency as part of an enforcement action. 

(6) Any initial or contemporaneous purchase or receipt of alcoholic liquor by the minor under 
subsection (5)(a) or (b) must have been under the direction of the state police, the commission, or 
the local police agency and must have been part of the undercover operation. 

(7) If a minor participates in an undercover operation in which the minor is to purchase or receive 
alcoholic liquor under the supervision of a law enforcement agency, his or her parents or legal 
guardian shall consent to the participation if the minor is less than 18 years of age. 

(8) In an action for the violation of this section, proof that the defendant or the defendant's agent or 
employee demanded and was shown, before furnishing alcoholic liquor to a minor, a motor vehicle 
operator's or chauffeur's license, a military identification card, or other bona fide documentary 
evidence of the age and identity of that person, is a defense to an action brought under this section. 

(9) The commission shall provide, on an annual basis, a written report to the department of state police 
as to the number of actions heard by the commission involving violations of this section and section 
801(1). The commission shall include in the report the disposition of each action and figures 
representing all of the following categories: 

(a) Decoy operations. 
(b) Off-premises violations. 
(c) On-premises violations. 
(d) Repeat offenses within the 3 years preceding the date of the report. 

(10) Subsection (11)(b)(ii) does not impose a duty or obligation on the secretary of state that is not 
otherwise required by law. 

(11) As used in this section: 
(a) "Corrective action" means action taken by a licensee or a clerk, agent, or employee of a 

licensee designed to prevent a minor from further possessing or consuming alcoholic liquor 
on the licensed premises. Corrective action includes, but is not limited to, contacting a law 
enforcement agency and ejecting the minor and any other person suspected of aiding and 
abetting the minor. 

(b) "Diligent inquiry" means a diligent good-faith effort to determine the age of an individual, 
which includes at least 1 of the following: 

(i) An examination of an official Michigan operator's or chauffeur's license, an official 
Michigan personal identification card, a military identification card, or any other 
bona fide picture identification that establishes the identity and age of the 
individual. 

(ii) Use of a secure identity verification device if all of the following conditions are met: 
(A) The electronic scan of a biometric of the individual is referenced against 

any form of picture identification described in subparagraph (i). 
(B) The authenticity of the picture identification was previously verified by an 

electronic authentication process. 
(C) The identity of the individual was previously verified through a 

commercially available knowledge-based electronic authentication 
process. 

(D) The authenticated picture identification was securely linked to biometrics 
contemporaneously collected from the individual. 

(c) "Retail licensee" means a person licensed to sell alcoholic liquor at retail for consumption 
on or off the licensed premises."Secure identity verification device" means a commercial 
device that instantly verifies the identity and age of an individual by an electronic scan of a 
biometric of the individual. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2002, Act 725, Imd. Eff. Dec. 30, 2002; -- Am. 2006, Act 682, Imd. Eff. Jan. 10, 2007; -- Am. 2010, Act 266, Eff. June 30, 
2011; --Am. 2019, Act 131, Imd. Eff. Nov. 21, 2019; -- Am. 2020, Act 78, Imd. Eff. Apr. 2, 2020;-- Am. 2020, Act 377, Eff. Oct. 1, 2021 
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436.1703 Purchase, consumption, or possession of alcoholic liquor by minor; attempt; 
violation; fines; sanctions; furnishing fraudulent identification to minor; use 
by minor; prior violation; screening and assessment; prior judgment; 
chemical breath analysis; notice to parent, custodian, or guardian; 
exceptions; recruitment of minor for undercover operations prohibited; 
affirmative defense; definitions. 

 
Sec. 703. 
 

(1) A minor shall not purchase or attempt to purchase alcoholic liquor, consume or attempt to consume 
alcoholic liquor, possess or attempt to possess alcoholic liquor, or have any bodily alcohol content, 
except as provided in this section. A minor who violates this subsection is responsible for a state 
civil infraction or guilty of a misdemeanor as follows and is not subject to the penalties prescribed 
in section 909: 

(a) For the first violation the minor is responsible for a state civil infraction and muar be fined 
not more than $100.00. A court may order a minor under this subdivision to participate in 
substance use disorder services as defined in section 6230 of the public health code, 1978 
PA 368, MCL 333.6230, and designated by the administrator of the office of substance 
abuse services, and may order the minor to perform community service and to undergo 
substance abuse screening and assessment at his or her own expense as described in 
subsection (5).  A minor may be found responsible or admit responsibility only once under 
this subdivision. 

(b) If a violation of this subsection occurs after 1 prior judgment, the minor is guilty of a 
misdemeanor.  A misdemeanor under this subdivision is punishable by imprisonment for 
not more than 30 days if the court finds that the minor violated an order of probation, failed 
to successfully complete any treatment, screening, or community service ordered by the 
court, or failed to pay any fine for that conviction or juvenile adjudication, or by a fine of not 
more than $200.00, or both. A court may order a minor under this subdivision to participate 
in substance use disorder services as defined in section 6230 of the public health code, 
1978 PA 368, MCL 333.6230, and designated by the administrator of the office of 
substance abuse services, to perform community service, and to undergo substance abuse 
screening and assessment at his or her own expense as described in subsection (5). 

(c) If a violation of this subsection occurs after 2 or more prior judgments, the minor is guilty 
of a misdemeanor.  A misdemeanor under this subdivision is punishable by imprisonment 
for not more than 60 days if the court finds that the minor violated an order of probation, 
failed to successfully complete any treatment, screening, or community service ordered by 
the court, or failed to pay any fine for that conviction or juvenile adjudication, by a fine of 
not more than $500.00, or both, as applicable.  A court may order a minor under this 
subdivision to participate in substance use disorder services as defined in section 6230 of 
the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.6230, and designated by the administrator 
of the office of substance abuse services, to perform community service, and to undergo 
substance abuse screening and assessment at his or her own expense as described in 
subsection (5). 

(2) An individual who furnishes fraudulent identification to a minor or, notwithstanding subsection (1), 
a minor who uses fraudulent identification to purchase alcoholic liquor, is guilty of a misdemeanor 
punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $100.00, or both. 

(3) If an individual pleads guilty to a misdemeanor violation of subsection (1)(b) or offers a plea of 
admission in a juvenile delinquency proceeding for a misdemeanor violation of subsection (1)(b), 
the court, without entering a judgment of guilt in a criminal proceeding or a determination in a 
juvenile delinquency proceeding that the juvenile has committed the offense and with the consent 
of the accused, may defer further proceedings and place the individual on probation. The terms 
and conditions of that probation include, but are not limited to, the sanctions set forth in subsection 
(1)(c), payment of the costs including minimum state cost as provided for in section 18m of chapter 
XIIA of the probate code of 1939, 1939 PA 288, MCL 712A.18m, and section 1j of chapter IX of the 
code of criminal procedure, 1927 PA 175, MCL 769.1j, and the costs of probation as prescribed in 
section 3 of chapter XI of the code of criminal procedure, 1927 PA 175, MCL 771.3. If a court finds 
that an individual violated a term or condition of probation or that the individual is utilizing this 
subsection in another court, the court may enter an adjudication of guilt, or a determination in a 
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juvenile delinquency proceeding that the individual has committed the offense, and proceed as 
otherwise provided by law. If an individual fulfills the terms and conditions of probation, the court 
shall discharge the individual and dismiss the proceedings. A discharge and dismissal under this 
section is without adjudication of guilt or without a determination in a juvenile delinquency 
proceeding that the individual has committed the offense and is not a conviction or juvenile 
adjudication for purposes of disqualifications or disabilities imposed by law on conviction of a crime. 
An individual may obtain only 1 discharge and dismissal under this subsection. The court shall 
maintain a nonpublic record of the matter while proceedings are deferred and the individual is on 
probation and if there is a discharge and dismissal under this subsection. The secretary of state 
shall retain a nonpublic record of a plea and of the discharge and dismissal under this subsection. 
These records shall be furnished to any of the following: 

(a) To a court, prosecutor, or police agency on request for the purpose of determining if an 
individual has already used this subsection. 

(b) To the department of corrections, a prosecutor, or a law enforcement agency, on the 
department's, a prosecutor's, or a law enforcement agency's request, subject to all of the 
following conditions: 

(i) At the time of the request, the individual is an employee of the department of 
corrections, the prosecutor, or the law enforcement agency, or an applicant for 
employment with the department of corrections, the prosecutor, or the law 
enforcement agency. 

(ii) The record is used by the department of corrections, the prosecutor, or the law 
enforcement agency only to determine whether an employee has violated his or 
her conditions of employment or whether an applicant meets criteria for 
employment. 

(4) A misdemeanor violation of subsection (1) successfully deferred, discharged, and dismissed under 
subsection (3) is considered a prior judgment for the purposes of subsection (1)(c). 

(5) A court may order an individual found responsible for or convicted of violating subsection (1) to 
undergo screening and assessment by a person or agency as designated by the department-
designated community mental health entity as defined in section 100a of the mental health code, 
1974 PA 258, MCL 330.1100a, to determine whether the individual is likely to benefit from 
rehabilitative services, including alcohol or drug education and alcohol or drug treatment programs. 
A court may order an individual subject to a misdemeanor conviction or juvenile adjudication of, or 
placed on probation regarding, a violation of subsection (1) to submit to a random or regular 
preliminary chemical breath analysis. The parent, guardian, or custodian of a minor who is less 
than 18 years of age and not emancipated under 1968 PA 293, MCL 722.1 to 722.6, may request 
a random or regular preliminary chemical breath analysis as part of the probation. 

(6) A peace officer who has reasonable cause to believe a minor has consumed alcoholic liquor or has 
any bodily alcohol content may request that individual to submit to a preliminary chemical breath 
analysis.  If a minor does not consent to a preliminary chemical breath analysis, the analysis must 
not be administered without a court order, but a peace officer may seek to obtain a court order.  
The results of a preliminary chemical breath analysis or other acceptable blood alcohol test are 
admissible in a state civil infraction proceeding or criminal prosecution to determine if the minor has 
consumed or possessed alcoholic liquor or had any bodily alcohol content. 

(7) A law enforcement agency, on determining that an individual who is less than 18 years of age and 
not emancipated under 1968 PA 293, MCL 722.1 to 722.6, allegedly consumed, possessed, 
purchased alcoholic liquor, attempted to consume, possess, or purchase alcoholic liquor, or had 
any bodily alcohol content in violation of subsection (1) shall notify the parent or parents, custodian, 
or guardian of the individual as to the nature of the violation if the name of a parent, guardian, or 
custodian is reasonably ascertainable by the law enforcement agency. The law enforcement 
agency shall notify the parent, guardian, or custodian not later than 48 hours after the law 
enforcement agency determines that the individual who allegedly violated subsection (1) is less 
than 18 years of age and not emancipated under 1968 PA 293, MCL 722.1 to 722.6. The law 
enforcement agency may notify the parent, guardian, or custodian by any means reasonably 
calculated to give prompt actual notice including, but not limited to, notice in person, by telephone, 
or by first-class mail. If an individual less than 17 years of age is incarcerated for violating 
subsection (1), his or her parents or legal guardian must be notified immediately as provided in this 
subsection. 

(8) This section does not prohibit a minor from possessing alcoholic liquor during regular working hours 
and in the course of his or her employment if employed by a person licensed by this act, by the 
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commission, or by an agent of the commission, if the alcoholic liquor is not possessed for his or 
her personal consumption. 

(9) The following individuals are not considered to be in violation of subsection (1): 
(a) A minor who has consumed alcoholic liquor and who voluntarily presents himself or herself 

to a health facility or agency for treatment or for observation including, but not limited to, 
medical examination and treatment for any condition arising from a violation of sections 
520b to 520g of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520b to 750.520g, 
committed against a minor. 

(b) A minor who accompanies an individual who meets both of the following criteria: 
(i) Has consumed alcoholic liquor. 
(ii) Voluntarily presents himself or herself to a health facility or agency for treatment 

or for observation including, but not limited to, medical examination and treatment 
for any condition arising from a violation of sections 520b to 520g of the Michigan 
penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520b to 750.520g, committed against a minor. 

(c) A minor who initiates contact with a peace officer or emergency medical services personnel 
for the purpose of obtaining medical assistance for a legitimate health care concern. 

(10) If a minor who is less than 18 years of age and who is not emancipated under 1968 PA 293, MCL 
722.1 to 722.6, voluntarily presents himself or herself to a health facility or agency for treatment or 
for observation as provided under subsection (9), the health facility or agency shall notify the parent 
or parents, guardian, or custodian of the individual as to the nature of the treatment or observation 
if the name of a parent, guardian, or custodian is reasonably ascertainable by the health facility or 
agency. 

(11) This section does not limit the civil or criminal liability of a vendor or the vendor's clerk, servant, 
agent, or employee for a violation of this act. 

(12) The consumption of alcoholic liquor by a minor who is enrolled in a course offered by an accredited 
postsecondary educational institution in an academic building of the institution under the 
supervision of a faculty member is not prohibited by this act if the purpose of the consumption is 
solely educational and is a requirement of the course. 

(13) The consumption by a minor of sacramental wine in connection with religious services at a church, 
synagogue, or temple is not prohibited by this act. 

(14) Subsection (1) does not apply to a minor who participates in either or both of the following: 
(a) An undercover operation in which the minor purchases or receives alcoholic liquor under 

the direction of the person's employer and with the prior approval of the local prosecutor's 
office as part of an employer-sponsored internal enforcement action. 

(b) An undercover operation in which the minor purchases or receives alcoholic liquor under 
the direction of the state police, the commission, or a local police agency as part of an 
enforcement action unless the initial or contemporaneous purchase or receipt of alcoholic 
liquor by the minor was not under the direction of the state police, the commission, or the 
local police agency and was not part of the undercover operation. 

(15) The state police, the commission, or a local police agency shall not recruit or attempt to recruit a 
minor for participation in an undercover operation at the scene of a violation of subsection (1), 
section 701(1), or section 801(1). 

(16) In a prosecution for the violation of subsection (1) concerning a minor having any bodily alcohol 
content, it is an affirmative defense that the minor consumed the alcoholic liquor in a venue or 
location where that consumption is legal. 

(17) As used in this section:  
(a) "Any bodily alcohol content" means either of the following: 

(i) An alcohol content of 0.02 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters 
of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine. 

(ii) Any presence of alcohol within a person's body resulting from the consumption of 
alcoholic liquor, other than consumption of alcoholic liquor as a part of a generally 
recognized religious service or ceremony. 

(b) "Emergency medical services personnel" means that term as defined in section 20904 of 
the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.20904.  

(c) "Health facility or agency" means that term as defined in section 20106 of the public health 
code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.20106. 

(d) “Prior judgment” means a conviction, juvenile adjudication, finding of responsibility, or 
admission of responsibility for any of the following, whether under a law of this state, a local 
ordinance that substantially corresponds to a law of this state, a law of the United States 
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substantially corresponding to a law of this state, or a law of another state that substantially 
corresponds to a law of this state: 

(i) This section or section 701 or 707. 
(ii) Section 624a, 624b, or 625 of the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 

257.624a, 257.624b, and 257.625. 
(iii) Section 80176, 81134, or 82127 of the Natural Resources and Environmental 

Protection Act, 1994 PA 451, MCL 324.80176, 324.81134 and 324.82127. 
(iv) Section 167a or 237 of the Michigan penal code, 1939 PA 328, MCL 750.167a and 

750.237. 
 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 ;-- Am. 1998, Act 353, Eff. Oct. 1, 1999 ;-- Am. 1999, Act 53, Eff. Oct. 1, 1999 ;-- Am. 2004, Act 63, Eff. Sept. 1, 2004 ;-- Am. 2006, 
Act 443, Imd. Eff. Nov. 27, 2006; --Am. 2012, Act 125. Imd. Eff. June 1, 2012;--Am.2016, Act 357, Eff.Jan.1, 2018;--Am. 2017, Act 89, Eff. Jan. 1, 2018;-- Am. 2020, Act 377, Eff. 
Oct. 1, 2021 
 

436.1705 Power of peace officer or law enforcement officer witnessing violation to 
stop and detain person; issuance of appearance ticket. 

 
Sec. 705. 
 
A peace officer or law enforcement officer described under section 201 or an inspector of the commission 
who witnesses a violation of section 701(1) or 703, or a local ordinance corresponding to section 701(1) or 
703, may stop and detain a person and obtain satisfactory identification, seize illegally possessed alcoholic 
liquor, and issue an appearance ticket as prescribed in section 9c of chapter IV of the code of criminal 
procedure, 1927 PA 175, MCL 764.9c. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2002, Act 725, Imd. Eff. Dec. 30, 2002 

 

436.1707 Selling, serving, or furnishing alcohol; prohibitions. 

 
Sec. 707. 
 

(1) A vendor shall not sell, serve, or furnish any alcoholic liquor to an individual in an intoxicated 
condition. 

(2) A licensee shall not allow an individual who is in an intoxicated condition to consume alcoholic 
liquor on the licensed premises. 

(3) A licensee, or the clerk, servant, agent, or employee of a licensee, shall not be in an intoxicated 
condition on the licensed premises. 

(4) A licensee shall not allow an intoxicated individual to frequent or loiter on the licensed premises 
except if the intoxicated individual has been refused service of further alcoholic liquor and remains 
on the premises for the purpose of eating food, seeking medical attention, arranging transportation 
that does not involve driving himself or herself, or any other circumstances where requiring the 
individual to vacate the premises immediately would be considered dangerous to the individual or 
to the public. 

(5) A licensee shall not allow a minor to consume alcoholic liquor or to possess alcoholic liquor for 
personal consumption on the licensed premises. 

(6) An off-premises licensee shall not allow any individual less than 18 years of age to sell or serve 
alcoholic liquor. 

(7) Subject to section 15 of the youth employment standards act, 1978 PA 90, MCL 409.115, an on-
premises licensee may allow an individual who is 17 years of age to sell or serve alcoholic liquor if 
both of the following conditions are met: 
(a) The individual has completed a server training program as provided for in section 906 and the 

rules promulgated by the commission. 
(b) During the individual’s shift, the on-premises license has supervisory personnel as required 

under section 906 who are 18 years of age or older. 
(8) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a licensee shall not allow an individual less than 18 

years of age to work or entertain on a paid or voluntary basis on the licensed premises unless the 
individual is employed in compliance with the youth employment standards act, 1978 PA 90, MCL 
409.101 to 409.124. This subsection does not apply to an entertainer under the direct supervision 
and control of his or her parent or legal guardian. 

(9) This section does not prohibit a wholesaler’s employee who is 16 years of age or older from doing 
any of the following: 
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(a) Building a display of those brands that are represented or sold by the wholesaler for an off-
premises retailer. 

(b) Marking the price on those brands that are represented or sold by the wholesaler for an off-
premises retailer. 

(c) Rotating brands that are represented or sold by the wholesaler for an off-premises retailer. 
(d) Placing brands that are represented or sold by the wholesaler on shelves for an off-premises 

retailer. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2008, Act 11, Imd. Eff. Feb. 29, 2008; --Am. 2022, Act 101, Imd. Eff. June 14, 2022; --Am. 2022, Act 161, Imd. Eff. July 19, 
2022 

 



7-8 



8-9 

CHAPTER 8 
 

436.1801 Granting or renewing license; surety; selling, furnishing, or giving alcoholic 
liquor to minor or to person visibly intoxicated; right of action for damage or 
personal injury; actual damages; institution of action; notice; survival of 
action; general reputation as evidence of relation; separate actions by 
parents; commencement of action against retail licensee; indemnification; 
defenses available to licensee; rebuttable presumption; prohibited causes 
of action; section as exclusive remedy for money damages against licensee; 
civil action subject to revised judicature act. 

 
Sec. 801. 
 

(1) A retail licensee shall not directly, individually, or by a clerk, agent, or servant sell, furnish, or give 
alcoholic liquor to a minor except as otherwise provided in this act. A retail licensee shall not directly 
or indirectly, individually or by a clerk, agent, or servant sell, furnish, or give alcoholic liquor to an 
individual who is visibly intoxicated. 

(2) Except as otherwise provided in this section, an individual who suffers damage or who is personally 
injured by a minor or visibly intoxicated person by reason of the unlawful selling, giving, or furnishing 
of alcoholic liquor to the minor or visibly intoxicated person, if the unlawful sale is proven to be a 
proximate cause of the damage, injury, or death, or the spouse, child, parent, or guardian of that 
individual, has a right of action in his or her name against the person who by selling, giving, or 
furnishing the alcoholic liquor has caused or contributed to the intoxication of the person or who 
has caused or contributed to the damage, injury, or death. In an action under this section, the 
plaintiff has the right to recover actual damages in a sum of not less than $50.00 in each case in 
which the court or jury determines that intoxication was a proximate cause of the damage, injury, 
or death. 

(3) An action under this section must be instituted within 2 years after the injury or death. A plaintiff 
seeking damages under this section shall give written notice to all defendants within 120 days after 
entering an attorney-client relationship for the purpose of pursuing a claim under this section. 
Failure to give written notice within the time specified is grounds for dismissal of a claim as to any 
defendants that did not receive that notice unless sufficient information for determining that a retail 
licensee might be liable under this section was not known and could not reasonably have been 
known within the 120 days. In the event of the death of either party, the right of action under this 
section survives to or against his or her personal representative. In each action by a husband, wife, 
child, or parent, the general reputation of the relation of husband and wife or parent and child is 
prima facie evidence of the relation, and the amount recovered by either the husband, wife, parent, 
or child is his or her sole and separate property. The damages, together with the costs of the action, 
must be recovered in an action under this section. If the parents of the individual who suffered 
damage or who was personally injured are entitled to damages under this section, the father and 
mother may sue separately, but recovery by 1 is a bar to action by the other. 

(4) An action under this section against a retail licensee must not be commenced unless the minor or 
the alleged intoxicated person is a named defendant in the action and is retained in the action until 
the litigation is concluded by trial or settlement. 

(5) Any licensee subject to subsection (2) regarding the unlawful selling, furnishing, or giving of 
alcoholic liquor to a visibly intoxicated person has the right to full indemnification from the alleged 
visibly intoxicated person for all damages awarded against the licensee. 

(6) All defenses of the alleged visibly intoxicated person or the minor are available to the licensee. In 
an action alleging the unlawful sale of alcoholic liquor to a minor, proof that the defendant retail 
licensee or the defendant's agent or employee demanded and was shown a Michigan driver license 
or official state personal identification card, appearing to be genuine and showing that the minor 
was at least 21 years of age, is a defense to the action. 

(7) There is a rebuttable presumption that a retail licensee, other than the retail licensee who last sold, 
gave, or furnished alcoholic liquor to the minor or the visibly intoxicated person, has not committed 
any act giving rise to a cause of action under subsection (2). 

(8) The alleged visibly intoxicated person does not have a cause of action under this section and a 
person shall not have a cause of action pursuant to this section for the loss of financial support, 
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services, gifts, parental training, guidance, love, society, or companionship of the alleged visibly 
intoxicated person.  

(9) This section provides the exclusive remedy for money damages against a licensee arising out of 
the selling, giving, or furnishing of alcoholic liquor to a minor or intoxicated person. 

(10) Except as otherwise provided for under this section and section 815, a civil action under subsection 
(2) against a retail licensee is subject to the revised judicature act of 1961, 1961 PA 236, MCL 
600.101 to 600.9947. 

 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2008, Act 11, Imd. Eff. Feb. 29, 2008; --Am. 2019, Act 131, Imd. Eff. Nov. 21, 2019 
 
Compiler's Notes: Former sections 22 to 22h of Act 8 of 1933 (Ex. Sess.), being MCL 436.22 to 436.22h, and which were repealed by Act 58 of 1998, Eff. Apr. 14, 1998, were 
formerly known and cited as the “Dram Shop Act.” 
 
Popular Name: Dram Shop Act 
 

436.1803 Retailer or applicant for retail license; proof of financial responsibility; 
naming insurer or surety as defendant prohibited; effect of bankruptcy; 
policies and bonds to be continued from year to year; cancellation of liquor 
liability insurance policy; revocation; section inapplicable to special 
licensee or applicant for special license; rules. 

 
Sec. 803. 
 

(1) Before the renewal or approval and granting of a retail license, a retail licensee or applicant for a 
retail license shall file with the commission proof of financial responsibility providing security for 
liability under section 801(2) of not less than $50,000.00. The proof of financial responsibility may 
be in the form of cash, unencumbered securities, a policy or policies of liquor liability insurance, a 
constant value bond executed by a surety company authorized to do business in this state, or 
membership in a group self-insurance pool authorized by law that provides security for liability 
under section 801.  

(2) A licensee may furnish proof of financial responsibility that exceeds the requirements of this section. 
(3) An insurer under a policy or policies of liquor liability insurance or a surety under a bond must not 

be named as a defendant in an action brought against the insured or bonded licensee for liability 
under section 801. Bankruptcy of the insured does not discharge an insurer or surety under this 
section from liability. Insurance policies and bonds issued for purposes under this section must 
continue from year to year unless sooner canceled by the insurer.  

(4) An insured retail licensee shall not cancel any such liquor liability insurance except upon 30 days' 
prior written notice to the commission and unless new proof of financial responsibility complying 
with this section is procured by the retail licensee and delivered to the commission before the 
expiration of the 30-day period.  The commission shall revoke the license of a retail licensee that 
violates this subsection. 

(5) This section does not apply to a special licensee or applicant for a special license. 
(6) The commission shall promulgate rules under the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 

306, MCL 24.201 to 24.328, to implement and enforce this section.  
 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2016, Act 105, Eff. Aug. 1, 2016; --Am. 2019, Act 131, Imd. Eff. Nov. 21, 2019 
 
Compiler's Notes: Former sections 22 to 22h of Act 8 of 1933 (Ex. Sess.), being MCL 436.22 to 436.22h, and which were repealed by Act 58 of 1998, Eff. Apr. 14, 1998, were 
formerly known and cited as the “Dram Shop Act.” 
 
Popular Name: Dram Shop Act 
 
Admin Rule: R 436.2001 et seq. of the Michigan Administrative Code. 
 

436.1805 Suit to enforce liability when service of process not effected; affidavit; 
service upon commission in duplicate; return; copy served on defendant; 
hearing; duty of commission. 

 
Sec. 805. 
 
If an action is instituted against a retailer as defendant in any court of competent jurisdiction to enforce the 
liability provided in section 801 and service of process has not been effected in the manner provided for by 
law, and either the sheriff or constable to whom process has been delivered for service shall make return 
that he or she has not been able to serve the defendant for a period of 30 days, in which period he or she 
has made 3 or more attempts to serve the defendant at his or her residence or place of business, or the 
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plaintiff or another person with knowledge of the facts files an affidavit in the cause stating that the defendant 
has ceased to be a resident of the state of Michigan or has been absent from the state for a continuous 
period of 6 months, then it shall be competent for the plaintiff to cause service of process to be made upon 
the defendant by service of the process upon the commission, the liability for which suit is brought arose 
during the period in which the defendant was a licensed retailer and was insured under the provisions of 
section 803. Such service of process shall be made in duplicate on the commission, and return showing 
such service shall be made to the court. The commission shall mail a copy of the process served upon it to 
the defendant at the address shown in the consent to service of process, and shall immediately transmit to 
the clerk of the court in which the action is pending an acknowledgment of the mailing of the copy of that 
process by the commission to the defendant. Whenever the foregoing provisions of this section have been 
complied with, the court may proceed to hear and determine the matter as fully and effectually as though 
the defendant retailer had been personally served with process within the jurisdiction of the court. The 
commission shall also notify the insurer under the liability policy of the defendant, on file with the 
commission, that the commission has received service of that process, stating the names of the parties to 
the action and the court in which the action is pending. If the defendant retailer is deceased, service of 
process may be made upon the executor or administrator of the deceased defendant by service on the 
commission, in an action in which that service would be authorized by this section upon the defendant if he 
or she were living, in the manner provided in this section.  
 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998  
 
Compiler's Notes: Former sections 22 to 22h of Act 8 of 1933 (Ex. Sess.), being MCL 436.22 to 436.22h, and which were repealed by Act 58 of 1998, Eff. Apr. 14, 1998, were 
formerly known and cited as the “Dram Shop Act.” 
 
Popular Name: Dram Shop Act 
 

436.1807 Insurer to file notice of termination or cancellation of contract or policy; 
effective date. 

 
Sec. 807. 
 
The insurer shall file with the commission, at Lansing, Michigan, at least 30 days before the effectiveness 
of any termination or cancellation of the contract or policy, a notice giving the date at which it is proposed 
to terminate or cancel the contract or policy. Any termination of the contract or policy shall not be effective 
as far as the insured covered by the policy is concerned until 30 days after such notice of the proposed 
termination or cancellation is received by the commission. 
 
History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
 
Compiler's Notes: Former sections 22 to 22h of Act 8 of 1933 (Ex. Sess.), being MCL 436.22 to 436.22h, and which were repealed by Act 58 of 1998, Eff. Apr. 14, 1998, were 
formerly known and cited as the “Dram Shop Act.” 
 
Popular Name: Dram Shop Act 
 

436.1809 Payment of judgment and costs; time; failure or neglect to pay judgment and 
costs; punitive damages; action against insurer. 

 
Sec. 809. 
 
Except as otherwise provided for by law or the Michigan court rules, when an action for damages brought 
under this act has been reduced to a judgment, the insurer shall, within 90 days from the date of the 
judgment, pay the judgment together with the costs in full, unless the judgment has been paid or settled by 
the insured. If the insurer fails or neglects to pay the judgment and costs within 90 days, it shall be subject 
to punitive damages in the amount of $1,000.00, in addition to the amount of the judgment and interest on 
the judgment. The amount of the judgment, with interest on the judgment, and the punitive damages 
provided for in this section may be recovered by the person or persons entitled to damages under the 
judgment in an action against the insurer in any court of competent jurisdiction in this state. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998  

Compiler's Notes: Former sections 22 to 22h of Act 8 of 1933 (Ex. Sess.), being MCL 436.22 to 436.22h, and which were repealed by Act 58 of 1998, Eff. Apr. 14, 1998, were 

formerly known and cited as the “Dram Shop Act.”  Popular Name: Dram Shop Act 
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436.1811 Insurance policy; coverage, conditions. 

 
Sec. 811. 
 
The insurance policy described in this chapter shall cover the liability imposed by section 801 and shall 
contain the following conditions: 
   That no condition, provision, stipulation or limitation contained in the policy, or any other endorsement 
thereon, shall relieve the insurer from liability (within the statutory limits provided by section 803 of the 
Michigan liquor control code of 1998), for the payment of any claim for which the insured may be held legally 
liable under section 801 of said act. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 1998, Act 416, Imd. Eff. Dec. 21, 1998  

Compiler's Notes: Former sections 22 to 22h of Act 8 of 1933 (Ex. Sess.), being MCL 436.22 to 436.22h, and which were repealed by Act 58 of 1998, Eff. Apr. 14, 1998, were 

formerly known and cited as the “Dram Shop Act.” 

Popular Name: Dram Shop Act 

 

436.1813 False statement or breach of authority; cancellation of insurance. 

 
Sec. 813. 
 
No false statement or breach of authority or act or omission on the part of the insured shall vitiate this 
insurance, unless the intention of the insured to conceal a hazard of perpetrating fraud is proven; and this 
policy cannot be cancelled by the insured or the company without first giving thirty days' written notice to 
the commission in Lansing, Michigan. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 

Compiler's Notes: Former sections 22 to 22h of Act 8 of 1933 (Ex. Sess.), being MCL 436.22 to 436.22h, and which were repealed by Act 58 of 1998, Eff. Apr. 14, 1998, were 

formerly known and cited as the “Dram Shop Act.” 

Popular Name: Dram Shop Act 

 

436.1815 Adherence to responsible business practices as defense; compensation of 
employee on commission basis. 

Sec. 815. 
 

(1) In defense of a civil action under section 801, a retail licensee may present evidence that, at the 
time of the selling, giving, or furnishing of the alcoholic liquor, the retail licensee was adhering to 
responsible business practices. Responsible business practices are those business policies, 
procedures, and actions which an ordinarily prudent person would follow in like circumstances. The 
compensating of an employee of an on-premises retail licensee on a commission basis constitutes 
an unreasonable business practice for purposes of this section.  The compensation of an employee 
of an on-premises retail licensee shall not be on a commission basis. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 

Compiler's Notes: Former sections 22 to 22h of Act 8 of 1933 (Ex. Sess.), being MCL 436.22 to 436.22h, and which were repealed by Act 58 of 1998, Eff. Apr. 14, 1998, were 
formerly known and cited as the “Dram Shop Act.” 

Popular Name: Dram Shop Act



  9-1  

CHAPTER 9 
 

436.1901 Compliance required; prohibited acts. 

 
Sec. 901. 
 

(1) A person, directly or indirectly, himself or herself or by his or her clerk, agent, or employee, shall 
not manufacture, manufacture for sale, sell, offer or keep for sale, barter, furnish, import, import for 
sale, transport for hire, transport, or possess any alcoholic liquor unless the person complies with 
this act. 

(2) A licensee shall not allow unlawful gambling on the licensed premises and shall not allow on the 
licensed premises any gaming devices prohibited by law. 

(3) A licensee shall not sell, offer or keep for sale, furnish, possess, or allow a customer to consume 
alcoholic liquor that is not authorized by the license issued to the licensee by the commission. 

(4) A person, whether or not a licensee, shall not sell, deliver, or import spirits unless the sale, delivery, 
or importation is made by the commission, the commission's authorized agent or distributor, an 
authorized distribution agent certified by order of the commission, a person licensed by the 
commission, or by prior written order of the commission. A person who violates this subsection is 
subject to the sanctions and penalties contained in section 909(4) and, in the case of a violation of 
section 909(4)(a), is subject to forfeiture of proceeds or an instrumentality as provided for in chapter 
XXVA of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.159f to 750.159x. 

(5) A licensee shall not sell or furnish alcoholic liquor to a person who maintains, operates, or leases 
premises that are not licensed by the commission and upon which other persons unlawfully engage 
in the sale or consumption of alcoholic liquor for consideration as prohibited by section 913. 

(6) A retail licensee shall not, on his or her licensed premises, sell, offer for sale, accept, furnish, 
possess, or allow the consumption of alcoholic liquor that has not been purchased by the retail 
licensee from the commission, the commission's authorized agent or distributor, an authorized 
distribution agent certified by order of the commission, or a licensee of the commission authorized 
to sell that alcoholic liquor to a retail licensee. This subsection does not apply to the consumption 
of alcoholic liquor in the bedrooms or suites of registered guests of licensed hotels or in the 
bedrooms or suites of bona fide members of licensed clubs. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2008, Act 11, Imd. Eff. Feb. 29, 2008; -- Am. 2010, Act 175, Imd. Eff. Sept. 30, 2010 

 

436.1903 Suspension or revocation of license; violation of act or rules; penalty; 
disposition; hearing; procedure; fee; right of appeal; institution of criminal 
prosecutions; defense; rules; appointment of agents to hear violation cases; 
authority and responsibility; ineligibility of designated agent for 
appointment to commission. 

 
Sec. 903. 
 

(1) The commission or any commissioner or duly authorized agent of the commission designated by 
the chairperson of the commission, on notice and proper hearing, may suspend or revoke any 
license on a violation of this act or any of the rules promulgated by the commission under this act. 
The commission or any commissioner or authorized agent of the commission designated by the 
chairperson of the commission, may assess a penalty of not more than $300.00 for each violation 
of this act or rules promulgated under this act, or not more than $1,000.00 for each violation of 
section 801(1), in addition to or instead of revocation or suspension of the license, which penalty 
must be paid to the commission and deposited with the state treasurer and must be credited to the 
general fund of the state. The commission shall hold a hearing and order the suspension or 
revocation of a license if the licensee has been found liable for 3 or more separate violations of 
section 801(1) which violations occurred on different occasions within a 24-month period unless 
the violations for the sale, furnishing, or giving alcoholic liquor to a minor were discovered by the 
licensee and disclosed to an appropriate law enforcement agency immediately on discovery. A 
retail licensee who sells, offers to sell, accepts, furnishes, possesses, or allows the consumption of 
spirits in violation of section 901(6) is subject to an administrative fine of not more than $2,500.00 
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per occurrence and the following license sanctions after notice and opportunity for an administrative 
hearing under the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 306, MCL 24.201 to 24.328: 

(a) For a first violation, a license revocation or suspension for between 1 and 30 days. 
(b) For a second violation, a license revocation or suspension for between 31 and 90 days. 
(c) For a third or subsequent violation, revocation of the license. 

(2) The commission shall provide a procedure by which a licensee who is aggrieved by any penalty 
imposed under subsection (1) and any suspension or revocation of a license ordered by the 
commission, a commissioner, or a duly authorized agent of the commission may request a hearing 
for the purpose of presenting any facts or reasons to the commission as to why the penalty, 
suspension, or revocation should be modified or rescinded. The request must be in writing and 
accompanied by a fee of $25.00. The commission, after reviewing the record made before a 
commissioner or an authorized agent of the commission, may allow or refuse to allow the hearing 
in accordance with the commission's rules. The right to a hearing provided in this subsection, 
however, must not be interpreted by a court as curtailing, removing, or annulling the right of the 
commission to suspend or revoke licenses as provided for in this act. A licensee does not have a 
right of appeal from the final determination of the commission, except by leave of the circuit court. 
Notice of the order of suspension or revocation of a license or of the assessment of a penalty, or 
both, must be given in the manner prescribed by the commission. The suspension or revocation of 
a license or the assessment of a penalty, or both, by the commission or an authorized agent of the 
commission does not prohibit the institution of a criminal prosecution for a violation of this act. The 
institution of a criminal prosecution for a violation of this act or the acquittal or conviction of a person 
for a violation of this act does not prevent the suspension or revocation of a license or the 
assessment of a penalty, or both, by the commission. In a hearing for the suspension or revocation 
of a license issued under this act, proof that the defendant licensee or an agent or employee of the 
licensee demanded and was shown, before furnishing any alcoholic liquor to a minor, a motor 
vehicle operator or chauffeur license or a registration certificate issued by the federal selective 
service, or other bona fide documentary evidence of majority and identity of the person, may be 
offered as evidence in a defense to a proceeding for the suspension or revocation of a license 
issued under this act. A licensee who has reason to believe that a minor has used fraudulent 
identification to purchase alcoholic liquor in violation of section 703 shall file a police report 
concerning the violation with a local law enforcement agency and shall also present the alleged 
fraudulent identification to the local law enforcement agency at the time of filing the report if the 
identification is in the possession of the licensee. The commission may promulgate rules under the 
administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 306, MCL 24.201 to 24.328, regarding the use by 
licensees of equipment designed to detect altered or forged driver licenses, state identification 
cards, and other forms of identification. 

(3) In addition to the hearing commissioners provided for in section 209, the chairperson of the 
commission may designate not more than 2 authorized agents to hear violation cases. A person 
appointed under this subsection must be a member in good standing of the State Bar of Michigan. 

(4) An authorized agent who has been designated by the chairperson under subsection (3) has, in the 
hearing of violation cases, the same authority and responsibility as does a hearing commissioner 
under this act and the rules promulgated under this act. 

(5) An authorized agent who has been designated by the chairperson under subsection (3) shall be 
ineligible for appointment to the commission for a period of 1 year after the person ceases to serve 
as an authorized agent. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 1998, Act 416, Imd. Eff. Dec. 21, 1998; -- Am. 2000, Act 431, Imd. Eff. Jan. 9, 2001; -- Am. 2010, Act 175, Imd. Eff. Sept. 

30, 2010; --Am. 2019, Act 131, Imd. Eff. Nov. 21, 2019 

 

436.1903a  Conviction or administrative disqualification of licensee; electronic 
transaction; sanctions; hearing and appeal procedures; definitions. 

 
Sec. 903a. 
 

(1) A licensee is subject to the licensing sanctions in subsection (2) if the licensee is convicted or 
administratively disqualified as the result of an electronic transaction to which all of the following 
apply: 

(a) The transaction is a transaction for food assistance program benefits. 
(b) The transaction involves an item other than eligible food. 
(c) The transaction is related to the sale of alcoholic liquor under that licensee's liquor license. 
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(2) The commission or a commissioner or duly authorized agent of the commission designated by the 
chairperson of the commission shall, upon due notice and proper hearing, impose the following 
license sanctions upon a licensee described in subsection (1): 

(a) For a first violation, a license suspension for between 30 and 60 days. 
(b) For a second violation, a license suspension for between 61 and 120 days. 
(c) For a third or subsequent violation, revocation of the license. 

(3) A licensee aggrieved by a sanction imposed under subsection (2) may invoke the hearing and 
appeal procedures of section 903(2) and rules promulgated under that section. 

(4) As used in this section: 
(a) "Administratively disqualified" means administratively disqualified from acting as a 

merchant under the food and nutrition act of 2008, 7 USC 2011 to 2036a, or 7 CFR 278.6 
because the licensee has engaged in trafficking as that term is defined in 7 CFR 271.2. A 
licensee is not administratively disqualified until any administrative or judicial review under 
7 CFR 279 is complete. 

(b) "Convicted" means that the licensee either was convicted of or pled guilty to a crime under 
section 300a(1)(c) of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.300a. 

(c) "Eligible food" means that term as defined in 7 CFR 271.2. 
 
History: Add. 2013, Act 55, Eff. Sept. 10, 2013 
 

436.1903b Payment by means dishonored by financial institution for lack of sufficient 
funds; violation of act. 

 

Sec. 903b. 
 
A retailer violates this act if the retailer or the retailer’s clerk, servant, agent, or employee makes a payment 
to a wholesaler, the commission, or this state by any means that has been dishonored by a financial 
institution for lack of sufficient funds. 
 
History:  Add. 2016, Act 434, Imd. Eff. Jan. 4, 2017 
 

436.1904  Consumption or possession of alcoholic liquor on school property; 
prohibition; violation as misdemeanor; exceptions; other violations; 
application of section to minor; definitions. 

 
Sec. 904. 
 

(1) A person shall not consume alcoholic liquor on school property or possess alcoholic liquor on 
school property with the intent to consume it on school property. 

(2) A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable as follows: 
(a) If the person has no prior convictions, by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine 

of not more than $250.00, or both. 
(b) If the person has 1 prior conviction, by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of 

not more than $500.00, or both. 
(c) If the person has 2 or more prior convictions, by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or 

a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both. 
(3) This section does not prohibit a person from consuming alcoholic liquor on school property or 

possessing alcoholic liquor on school property with the intent to consume it on school property 
under any of the following circumstances: 

(a) As part of a generally recognized religious service or religious ceremony. 
(b) At a nonschool function or event on school property if the superintendent of the school 

district or, if the school is not operated by a school district, the administrator of the school, 
or his or her designee, has approved consuming alcoholic liquor on school property or 
possessing alcoholic liquor on school property with the intent to consume it on school 
property during that function or event. 

(4) This section does not prohibit an individual from being convicted of or found responsible for any 
other violation of law arising out of the same transaction as the violation of this section. 

(5) This section does not apply to a minor who could be subject to prosecution under section 703 of 
the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1703. 

(6) As used in this section: 
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(a) “Prior conviction” means a conviction for violating this section or a local ordinance 
substantially corresponding to this section. 

(b) “School” means a public school offering developmental kindergarten, kindergarten, or any 
grade from 1 through 12. 

(c) “School property” means a building, playing field, vehicle, or other property used for 
functions and events sponsored by a school, except a building used primarily for adult 
education or college extension courses. 

 
History: Add. 1999, Act 274, Eff. Apr. 3, 2000  
 
Popular Name: Act 306 
 

436.1905 Selling or furnishing alcoholic liquor to minor; enforcement actions 
prohibited; conditions; exception. 

 
Sec. 905. 
 

(1) Notwithstanding section 903, if a retail licensee or a retail licensee's clerk, agent, or employee 
violates this act by selling or furnishing alcoholic liquor to a minor, or by allowing a minor to consume 
alcoholic liquor or possess alcoholic liquor for personal consumption on the licensed premises, and 
if the enforcing agency involved in the prosecution of the violation is the state police or a local police 
agency, the commission shall not take any action under section 903 to suspend or revoke the 
licensee's license or assess an administrative fine against the licensee unless all of the following 
occur, if applicable: 

(a) Enforcement action is taken against the minor who purchased, consumed, or received the 
alcoholic liquor from the retail licensee or the retail licensee's clerk, agent, or employee.  

(b) Enforcement action is taken under section 701 against the person 21 years of age or older 
that is not the retail licensee or the retail licensee's clerk, agent, or employee but who sold 
or furnished the alcoholic liquor to the minor. 

(c) Enforcement action is taken under section 701 against the retail licensee's clerk, agent, or 
employee. 

(2) Subsection (1) does not apply if the enforcing agent involved in the prosecution is a commission 
inspector rather than a police agency. 

(3) Subsection (1)(a) does not apply if the prosecution of the violation is the result of an undercover 
operation in which the minor who purchased, consumed, or received the alcoholic liquor acted 
under the direction of the state police or a local police agency as part of the enforcement action 
and such enforcement action is otherwise in compliance with section 701(4), (5), and (6). 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2002, Act 725, Imd. Eff. Dec. 30, 2002 
 

436.1906 Definitions; server training program. 

 
Sec. 906. 
 

(1) As used in this section: 
(a) "Administrator" means a qualifying company, postsecondary educational institution, or 

trade association authorized by the commission to offer server training programs and 
instructor certification classes in compliance with this section and to certify to the 
commission that those persons meet the requirements of this section. 

(b) "Instructor" means an individual certified by an administrator and approved by the 
commission to teach server training programs. An instructor may be a licensee or an 
employee of a licensee. 

(c) "Prohibited sale" means the sale of alcoholic liquor by an employee of a licensee to a visibly 
intoxicated person or to a minor, or both. 

(d) "Responsible vendor" means a designation by the commission of a retail licensee meeting 
the standards of this section. 

(e) "Server training program" means an educational program whose curriculum has been 
approved by the commission under the standards described in this section and is offered 
by an administrator or instructor to a retail licensee, or a licensee operating a tasting room 
or providing samples of alcoholic liquor, for its employees. 
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(2) The commission shall approve the establishing of a server training program designed for all new 
on premises licensees or transferees of more than a 50% interest in an on premises license on or 
after the commencement of the mandatory server training program, and for any existing retail 
licensees the commission determines to be in need of training due to the frequency or types of 
violations of this act involving the serving of alcoholic liquor. This subsection does not apply to 
special licenses except that the commission may require server training for certain special 
licensees based upon the size and nature of the licensed event. The commission may adopt the 
existing standards and programmatic framework of private entities and may delegate 
nondiscretionary administrative functions to outside private entities. 

(3) The commission shall establish a program in which the commission designates certain retail 
licensees, except special licenses, as responsible vendors. The commission may adopt the existing 
standards and programmatic framework of private entities and may delegate nondiscretionary 
administrative functions to outside private entities. 

(4) The commission shall designate as a responsible vendor a retail licensee who makes available to 
all full-time and part-time retail employees, within 60 days after being hired, a server training 
program and who is also free of convictions or administrative determinations involving prohibited 
sales for not less than 12 months before applying for the designation. The designation continues 
until suspended by the commission. 

(5) A person may apply to the commission for qualification as an administrator for the offering of server 
training programs and instructor certification classes. 

(6) The commission shall approve a curriculum for a server training program presented by a certified 
instructor in a manner considered by the commission to be adequate that includes, but is not limited 
to, all of the following topics: 

(a) The identification of progressive stages of intoxication and the visible signs associated with 
each stage. 

(b) The identification of the time delay between consumption and visibility of signs of 
progressive intoxication. 

(c) Basic alcohol content among different types of measured drinks containing alcoholic liquor. 
(d) Variables associated with visible intoxication, including the rate of drinking, experience, 

weight, food consumption, sex, and use of other drugs. 
(e) Personal skills to handle slow-down of service and intervention procedures. 
(f) Procedures for monitoring consumption and maintaining incident reports. 
(g) The understanding of acceptable forms of personal identification, techniques for 

determining the validity of identification, and procedures for dealing with fraudulent 
identification. 

(h) Assessment of the need to ask for identification based on appearance or company policy. 
(i) The identification of potential second-party sales and furnishing of alcoholic liquor to minors 

by persons 21 years of age or over. 
(j) The understanding of possible legal, civil, and administrative consequences of violations 

of this act, the rules of the commission, and other pertinent state laws. 
(k) The understanding of Michigan laws pertaining to minors attempting to purchase, minors 

in possession, and second-party sales or furnishing of alcoholic liquor from adults to 
minors. 

(l) Knowledge of the legal hours of alcoholic liquor service and occupancy. 
(m) The identification of signs of prohibited activities, such as gambling, solicitation for 

prostitution, and drug sales. 
(n) Any other pertinent laws as determined by the commission. 

(7) The commission shall issue an instructor certification to an individual presenting evidence 
acceptable to the commission of having successfully completed instructor certification classes and 
shall issue an identification card indicating that certification by the commission. 

(8) Upon approval by the commission of a server training program, the commission shall appoint the 
person sponsoring the server training program as an administrator of that program. The 
administrator shall provide a certification to the commission that a retail licensee has successfully 
completed the server training program offered by a certified instructor and approved by the 
commission and shall recommend that the commission designate the licensee as a responsible 
vendor. 

(9) A certified instructor who is a licensee or an employee of a licensee may offer server training 
programs approved by the commission to the employees of the licensee and certify to the 
commission those persons who successfully completed the program. 
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(10) An on premises licensee whose license was issued or who was the transferee of more than a 50% 
interest in an on premises license on or after the commencement of the mandatory server training 
program or an on premises licensee determined by the commission to be in need of training due to 
the frequency or types of violations of this act involving the serving of alcoholic liquor must have 
employed or present on the licensed premises, at a minimum, supervisory personnel who have 
successfully completed a server training program on each shift and during all hours in which 
alcoholic liquor is served. An on premises licensee must keep a copy of the responsible vendor 
designation or proof of completion of server training on the licensed premises to facilitate the 
verification of such designation by the commission, agent of the commission, or law enforcement 
officer. An on premises licensee determined by the commission to have violated this subsection is 
subject to revocation, suspension, or other sanction as provided for in section 903. A violation of 
this subsection is not a violation of section 909. 

(11) As a condition of the designation of a licensee as a responsible vendor, the licensee shall make 
available to the administrator in not less than 60-day time increments records sufficient to verify the 
names and social security numbers of his or her employees. The administrator shall provide to the 
commission a list of names and social security numbers of individuals who have successfully 
completed the server training program and shall monitor the licensee in a manner approved by the 
commission in order to verify continued compliance of the licensee's status as a responsible 
vendor. The administrator shall notify the commission in writing as soon as it determines that the 
licensee has failed to maintain the standards for server training or has failed to cooperate with the 
administrator's verification procedure. Upon receipt of such a notice from the administrator, the 
commission shall suspend the licensee's designation as a responsible vendor. 

(12) The commission may suspend the designation of a retail licensee as a responsible vendor upon a 
conviction or administrative determination of a prohibited sale on the licensee's licensed premises. 
The retail licensee losing such a designation may reapply for designation as a responsible vendor 
upon the passage of 12 months from the date of the conviction or administrative determination of 
a prohibited sale if the licensee is not convicted or administratively determined to have engaged in 
a prohibited sale on the licensed premises. After the first instance of a retail licensee losing its 
designation as a responsible vendor, that retail licensee is not eligible to reapply for such a 
designation until an additional 3 months for each subsequent conviction or determination. The 3-
month time periods are to be in addition to the 12-month period described in this subsection. 

(13) A responsible vendor is not considered to be in violation of the prohibition contained in section 
707(4) regarding allowing an intoxicated person to frequent or loiter on the licensed premises 
unless the facts demonstrate otherwise. 

History: Add. 1998, Act 391, Imd. Eff. Dec. 1, 1998; -- Am. 2000, Act 431, Imd. Eff. Jan. 9, 2001; -- Am. 2008, Act 11, Imd. Eff. Feb. 29, 2008; -- Am. 2008, Act 218, Imd. Eff. 
July 16, 2008 
 

436.1907 Revocation of license; forfeiture of privileges; seizure of alcoholic liquor. 

 
Sec. 907. 
 

(1) Upon revocation of a license issued under this act, any and all privileges conferred by that license 
shall be forfeited and the commission shall seize any and all alcoholic liquor found in the possession 
of the licensee. 

(2) The commission shall remit to that licensee the purchase price less 10%, paid by the licensee to 
the commission for all alcoholic liquor seized. All other alcoholic liquor seized shall be disposed of 
by order of the commission and no payment shall be made for that alcoholic liquor. 

(3) A person whose license has been revoked for cause or whose license has been ordered transferred 
to another person for cause is not eligible for issuance or reissuance of a license under this act for 
a period of at least 2 years. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
 

436.1909 Violation of act as misdemeanor; penalties; legislative intent. 

 
Sec. 909. 
 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this act, a person, other than a person required to be licensed 
under this act, who violates this act is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
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(2) Except as otherwise provided in this act, a licensee who violates this act, or a rule or regulation 
promulgated under this act, is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more 
than 6 months or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both. 

(3) A person who performs an act for which a license is required under this act without first obtaining 
that license or who sells alcoholic liquor in a county that has prohibited the sale of alcoholic liquor 
under section 1107 is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or by 
a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both. 

(4) A person, whether or not a licensee, who violates section 901(4) is subject to the following penalties 
or sanctions: 

(a) A person who sells, delivers, or imports spirits in violation of section 901(4) in the amount 
of at least 80,000 milliliters is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more 
than 4 years or a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both. 

(b) A person who sells, delivers, or imports spirits in violation of section 901(4) in the amount 
of at least 8,000 milliliters but less than 80,000 milliliters is guilty of a misdemeanor 
punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $2,500.00, 
or both. 

(c) A person who sells, delivers, or imports spirits in violation of section 901(4) in the amount 
of less than 8,000 milliliters is responsible for a state civil infraction and may be ordered to 
pay a civil fine of not more than $1,000.00. 

(5) Subject to subsection (6), a person, whether or not a licensee, who sell, delivers, or imports beer 
or wine in violation of section 203(1) is subject to the following penalties or sanctions: 
(a) A person who sells, delivers, or imports beer or wine in violation of section 203(1) in the amount 

of at least 225,000 milliliters is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 
4 years or a fine of not more than $5,000.00 or both. 

(b) A person who sells, delivers, or imports beer or wine in violation of section 203(1) in the amount 
of at least 45,000 milliliters but less than 225,000 milliliters is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable 
by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $2,500.00, or both. 

(c) A person who sells, delivers, or imports beer or wine in violation of section 203(1) in the amount 
of less than 45,000 milliliters is responsible for a state civil infraction and may be ordered to pay 
a civil fine of not more than $500.00. 

(6) As used in subsection (5), “person” does not include any of the following: 
(a) An air carrier as that terms is defined in 49 USC 40102. 
(b) A freight forwarder as that term is defined in 49 USC 13102. 
(c) A motor carrier as that term is defined in 49 USC 13102. 

(7) The remedies under this act are cumulative and independent. The use of 1 remedy by a person 
does not bar the use of other lawful remedies by the person or the use of a lawful remedy by 
another person. 

(8) It is the intent of the legislature that the court, in imposing punishment under this section, should 
discriminate between casual or slight violations and habitual sales of alcoholic liquor or attempts to 
commercialize violations of this act or the rules or regulations promulgated under this act. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2010, Act 175, Imd. Eff. Sept. 30, 2010;--Am. 2017, Act 87, Eff. Oct, 2017 

 

436.1911 Failure to pay tax; penalties; collection. 

 
Sec. 911. 
 

(1) If a person fails or refuses to pay the tax required by this act, the commission shall assess the tax 
against that person and the tax shall become due and payable together with a penalty or penalties 
that the commission considers appropriate, but not to exceed $5,000.00, upon demand by the 
commission or a person designated by the commission. If the tax remains unpaid for 15 days after 
that demand is made, the commission may issue its warrant under its official seal, directed to the 
sheriff of any county or other officer, to levy upon and sell the taxpayer's property, either personal 
or real, used in connection with the business for the privilege of doing which the tax is levied, found 
within his or her jurisdiction, for the payment of the amount of the tax with the added penalties, 
interest, and cost of executing the warrant. A warrant issued under this section shall be returned to 
the commission, together with the money collected by virtue of the warrant, within the time specified 
in the warrant, which time shall be not less than 20 or more than 90 days from the date of the 
warrant. The sheriff or other officer to whom the warrant is directed shall proceed upon the warrant 
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in all respects, with like effect, and in the same manner as prescribed by law in respect to 
executions issued against property upon judgments by a court of record, and shall be entitled to 
the same fees for his service in executing the warrant, to be collected in the same manner. The 
state of Michigan, through the commission or an officer or agent designated by it, is authorized to 
bid for and purchase any property sold under this section. 

(2) In addition to the mode of collection provided in subsection (1), the commission may bring an action 
at law in the county in which the business or any part of the business is carried on, to collect and 
recover the amount of taxes, interest, or penalties, or any combination of taxes, interest, or 
penalties, due from a taxpayer.  

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 

 

436.1913 Unlicensed premises or place; unlawful consumption of alcoholic liquor; 
exceptions; construction of section; “consideration” defined. 

 
Sec. 913. 
 

(1) A person shall not do either of the following: 
(a) Maintain, operate, or lease, or otherwise furnish to any person, any premises or place that 

is not licensed under this act within which the other person may engage in the drinking of 
alcoholic liquor for consideration. 

(b) Obtain by way of lease or rental agreement, and furnish or provide to any other person, 
any premises or place that is not licensed under this act within which any other person may 
engage in the drinking of alcoholic liquor for consideration. 

(2) A person shall not consume alcoholic liquor in a commercial establishment selling food if the 
commercial establishment is not licensed under this act. A person owning, operating, or leasing a 
commercial establishment selling food which is not licensed under this act shall not allow the 
consumption of alcoholic liquor on its premises. 

(3) This section shall not apply to any hotel or any licensee under this act.  
(4) This section shall not be construed to repeal or amend section 1019. 
(5) As used in this section, "consideration" includes any fee, cover charge, ticket purchase, the storage 

of alcoholic liquor, the sale of food, ice, mixers, or other liquids used with alcoholic liquor drinks, or 
the purchasing of any service or item, or combination of service and item; or includes the furnishing 
of glassware or other containers for use in the consumption of alcoholic liquor in conjunction with 
the sale of food. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2006, Act 131, Imd. Eff. May 5, 2006 

 

436.1914 Alcohol vapor devices prohibited; penalty. 

 
Sec. 914. 
 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (3), a person shall not use or offer for use, possess, 
sell, or offer for sale an alcohol vapor device. 

(2) A person who violates subsection (1) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable in the manner provided 
for in section 909. 

(3) The commission may jointly promulgate rules with the department of community health to allow for 
the sale or use of an alcohol vapor device for research purposes. 

History: Add. 2005, Act 320, Imd. Eff. Dec. 27, 2005  
 

 436.1914a Added powdered alcohol; use, possession, sale, or offer for sale prohibited; 
violation as misdemeanor; exception; "powdered alcohol" defined. 

 
Sec. 914a. 
 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (2), a person shall not use or offer for use, possess, 
sell, or offer for sale powdered alcohol. A person that violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor 
punishable as provided in section 909. 

(2) This section does not apply to a hospital that operates primarily for the purpose of conducting 
scientific research, a state institution conducting bona fide research, a private college or university 
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conducting bona fide research, or a pharmaceutical company or biotechnology company 
conducting bona fide research. 

(3) As used in this section, "powdered alcohol" means alcohol that is sold in powder form for either 
direct use or reconstitution. 

 
History: Add. 2015, Act 165, Eff. Jan. 26, 2016 
 

436.1914b Marihuana-infused beer, wine, mixed wine drink, mixed spirit drink, or 
spirits; use, possession, sale, or offer for sale prohibited; exception; 
definitions. 

 
Sec. 914b. 
 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (2), a person shall not use or offer for use, possess, 
sell, or offer for sale marihuana-infused beer, wine, mixed wine drink, mixed spirit drink, or spirits.  
A person that violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable as provided in section 
909. 

(2) This section does not apply to a hospital that operates primarily for the purposes of conducting 
scientific research, a state institution conducting bona fide research, a private college or university 
conducting bona fide research, or a pharmaceutical company or biotechnology company 
conducting bona fide research. 

(3) As used in this section: 
(a) “Marihuana” means that term as defined in section 3 of the Michigan Regulation and 

Taxation of Marihuana Acct, 2018 IL 1, MCL 333.27953. 
(b) “Marihuana-infused beer, wine, mixed wine drink, mixed spirit drink, or spirits” means beer, 

wine, mixed wine drink, mixed spirit drink, or spirits that contain any amount of marihuana. 
 

History:  Add. 2018, Act 346, Imd. Eff. Oct. 16, 2018; --Am. 2021, Act 63, Eff. Oct. 11, 2021 
 

436.1915 Possessing or consuming alcoholic liquor on public highway or in park, 
place of amusement, or publicly owned area; authority of local governmental 
unit or state department or agency to prohibit possession or consumption 
of alcoholic liquor; definitions. 

 
Sec. 915. 
 

(1) Alcoholic liquor shall not be consumed on the public highways. 
(2) Except as provided in subsections (3) and (4), alcoholic liquor may be possessed or consumed in 

public parks, public places of amusement, or a publicly owned area not licensed to sell for 
consumption on the premises. 

(3) The governing body of a local governmental unit may prohibit by ordinance, order, or resolution 
the possession or consumption of alcoholic liquor in any public park, public place of amusement, 
or publicly owned area that is owned or administered, or both, by that local governmental unit. 
When land is leased from a department or agency of this state, an ordinance, order, or resolution 
adopted pursuant to this subsection shall be subject to the approval of the department or agency. 

(4)  A department or agency of this state that administers public lands may prohibit by rule, order, or 
resolution the possession or consumption of alcoholic liquor on the public land under its 
jurisdiction. 

(5) As used in this section: 
(a) “Local governmental unit” means a county, city, township, village, or charter authority.  
(b) “Publicly owned area” means an area under the jurisdiction of a local governmental unit. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
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436.1916 Entertainment, dance, or topless activity permits; issuance; prohibited 
activity; exceptions; permits issued under administrative rule; fees; 
definitions. 

 
Sec. 916. 
 

(1) An on-premises licensee shall not allow monologues, dialogues, motion pictures, still slides, 
closed circuit television, contests, or other performances for public viewing on the licensed 
premises unless the licensee has applied for and been granted an entertainment permit by the 
commission. Issuance of an entertainment permit under this subsection does not allow topless 
activity on the licensed premises. 

(2) An on-premises licensee shall not allow dancing by customers on the licensed premises unless 
the licensee has applied for and been granted a dance permit by the commission. Issuance of a 
dance permit under this subsection does not allow topless activity on the licensed premises.   

(3) An on-premises licensee shall not allow topless activity on the licensed premises unless the 
licensee has applied for and been granted a topless activity permit by the commission. This section 
is not intended to prevent a local unit of government from enacting an ordinance prohibiting topless 
activity or nudity on a licensed premise located within that local unit of government. This 
subsection applies only to topless activity permits issued by the commission to on-premises 
licensees located in counties with a population of 95,000 or less. 

(4) The commission may issue to an on-premises licensee a combination dance-entertainment permit 
or topless activity-entertainment permit after application requesting a permit for both types of 
activities.   

(5) An on-premises licensee shall not allow the activities allowed by a permit issued under this section 
at any time other than the legal hours for sale and consumption of alcoholic liquor.   

(6) An extended hours permit is required for an on-premises licensee to engage in any of the following 
activities on the licensed premises at any time other than the legal hours for the sale and 
consumption of alcoholic liquor:  

(a) Monologues, dialogues, motion pictures, still slides, closed circuit television, contests, 
other performances for public viewing on the licensed premises, if holding a permit for 
those activities. 

(b) Patron dancing, if holding a permit for that activity. 
(c) The performance or playing of an orchestra, piano, or other types of musical instruments 

or singing or the viewing of any publicly broadcast television transmission from a federally 
licensed station. 

(7) The commission may issue an extended hours permit to either of the following: 
(a) A licensee not holding an entertainment, dance, or combination dance-entertainment 

permit, who desires to conduct activities described under subsection (11).  
(b) A licensee who already holds, or submits an application for, an entertainment, dance, or 

combination dance-entertainment permit in order to conduct activities allowed by the 
permit. 

(8) The applicant for only an extended hours permit shall obtain the local approval for the extended 
hours permit under subsection (10). An applicant for an extended hours permit who holds an 
entertainment, dance, or combination dance-entertainment permit shall obtain the local approval 
for the entertainment, dance, or combination dance-entertainment permit under subsection (10) as 
well as local approval for the extended hours permit under subsection (10). The commission shall 
waive the conditions contained in R 436.1437(1) of the Michigan administrative code relative to the 
application for an extended hours permit. 

(9) An on-premises licensee issued an extended hours permit shall not allow customers on the 
licensed premises during the time period provided by the extended hours permit unless the activity, 
and only that activity, allowed by the extended hours permit is occurring. The issuance of an 
extended hours permit does not authorize any of the following: 

(a) Topless activity. 
(b) Except as otherwise provided under this subdivision, gaming as that term is defined in 

section 2 of the Michigan gaming control and revenue act, the Initiated Law of 1996, MCL 
432.202. A licensee holding a casino license issued under the Michigan gaming control 
and revenue act, the Initiated Law of 1996, MCL 432.201 to 432.226, may conduct gaming 
pursuant to the casino license only. 
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(c) Keno or other gaming authorized under the McCauley-Traxler-Law-Bowman-McNeely 
lottery act, 1972 PA 239, MCL 432.1 to 432.47. 

(d) The extension of hours for the serving of alcoholic liquor. 
(e) The extension of hours for the consumption of alcoholic liquor as provided for in R 436.1403 

of the Michigan administrative code. 
(10) Before the issuance of any permit under this section, the on-premises licensee shall obtain the 

approval of all of the following: 
(a) The commission. 
(b) Except in cities with a population of 1,000,000 or more, the local legislative body of the 

jurisdiction within which the premises are located. 
(c) The chief law enforcement officer of the jurisdiction within which the premises are located 

or the entity contractually designated to enforce the law in that jurisdiction. 
(11) The following activities are allowed without the granting of a permit under this section: 

(a) The performance or playing of an orchestra, piano, or other types of musical instruments, 
or singing. 

(b) Any publicly broadcast television transmission from a federally licensed station. 
(12) In the case of a licensee granted an entertainment or dance permit under R 436.1407 of the 

Michigan administrative code who, after January 1, 1998, extended the activities conducted under 
that permit to regular or full-time topless activity, that licensee shall apply to the commission for a 
topless activity permit under this section within 60 days after April 14, 1998 in order to continue 
topless activity. Except as otherwise provided for in this subsection, this section applies only to 
entertainment or dance permits issued after April 14, 1998. 

(13) The fees imposed by the commission for a permit under this section remain the same as the fees 
imposed under a permit issued under R 436.1407 of the Michigan administrative code. 

(14) Except as otherwise provided, this section does not change the renewal or application process for 
a license under section 501 or the renewal process for permits issued under R 436.1407 of the 
Michigan administrative code. 

(15) As used in this section: 
(a) "Nudity" means exposure to public view of the whole or part of the pubic region; the whole 

or part of the anus; the whole or part of the buttocks; the whole or part of the genitals; or 
the breast area including the nipple or more than 1/2 of the area of the breast. 

(b) "Topless activity" means activity that includes, but is not limited to, entertainment or work-
related activity performed by any of the following persons on the licensed premises in which 
the female breast area, including the nipple, or more than 1/2 of the area of the breast, is 
directly exposed or exposed by means of see-through clothing or a body stocking: 

(i) A licensee. 
(ii) An employee, agent, or contractor of the licensee. 
(iii) A person acting under the control of or with the permission of the licensee. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2005, Act 259, Imd. Eff. Dec. 16, 2005 

 

436.1917 Liability of vendor. 

 
Sec. 917. 
 

(1) A person who engages in the business of selling or keeping for sale alcoholic liquor in violation of 
this act, whether as owner, clerk, agent, servant, or employee, is equally liable, as principal, both 
civilly and criminally, for the violation of this act. 

(2) A person or principal is liable, both civilly and criminally, for the acts of his or her clerk, servant, 
agent, or employee, in violating this act. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 

 

436.1919 Forging documents, labels, or stamps; prohibited conduct; penalty. 

 
Sec. 919. 
 
A person who falsely or fraudulently makes, simulates, forges, alters, or counterfeits a document, label, or 
stamp prescribed by the commission under this act or rules promulgated under this act, or who causes or 
procures to be falsely or fraudulently made, simulated, forged, altered, or counterfeited any such document, 
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label, or stamp, who knowingly and willfully utters, publishes, passes, or tenders as true, any such false, 
altered, forged, or counterfeited document, label, or stamp, or who uses more than once any label or stamp 
prescribed by the commission pursuant to this act or the rules promulgated under this act is guilty of a 
felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or by a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or 
both. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 

 

436.1921 Sale or exchange of ceramic commemorative bottles. 
 
Sec. 921. 
 
Notwithstanding section 203, a collector, who is 21 years of age or older, of ceramic commemorative bottles 
containing alcoholic liquor and bearing an unbroken federal tax stamp or seal may sell or trade the bottles 
to other such collectors of those bottles without obtaining a license under this act. All sales conducted under 
this subsection shall be for the purpose of exchanging ceramic commemorative bottles between private 
collectors of those bottles and shall not be for the purpose of selling alcoholic liquor for personal 
consumption. A sale or exchange conducted under this subsection shall not occur in any of the following 
ways: 

(a) In connection with the business of a holder of an alcoholic liquor license. 
(b) In connection with any other business. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 

 

436.1923 Warehouse receipts for alcoholic liquor; authority of commission. 
 
Sec. 923. 
 
The commission has complete power to regulate, limit, and control the sale, transfer, barter, or exchange 
in this state of warehouse receipts for alcoholic liquor wherever alcoholic liquor is situated. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998  

 

436.1925 Construction of act; severability. 
 
Sec. 925. 
 

(1) This act shall be construed to effect the intent and purposes set forth in this act and to protect the 
public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of this state. 

(2) If any provision of this act is found to be unconstitutional by a court of competent jurisdiction and 
all rights of appeal have expired or been exhausted, the offending provision shall be severed and 
shall not affect the remaining portions of the act. 

History: 1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; -- Am. 2014, Act 46, Imd. Eff. Mar. 25, 2014
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CHAPTER 10 
 

436.2001 Armories, air bases, naval installations and state military reservation. 

 
Sec. 1001.  
 
The commanding general of the Michigan national guard may publish by general order such regulations 
and restrictions as to the transportation, possession, sale, and use of alcoholic liquor in armories, air bases, 
and naval installations owned or leased by the state or provided by the federal government by lease, 
license, or use permit and used by outside parties of a nonmilitary or state governmental nature and on the 
state military reservation during the field training periods of the Michigan national guard, either in state or 
federal service, as he or she determines are for the best interests of the military service. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 
 

436.2003 False or fraudulent statements. 

 
Sec. 1003.  
 
A person who makes a false or fraudulent statement to the commission, orally or in writing, for the purpose 
of inducing the commission to act or refrain from taking action or for the purpose of enabling or assisting a 
person to evade the provisions of this act is guilty of a violation of this act and is punishable in the manner 
provided for in section 909. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
 

436.2005 Adulterated, misbranded, or refilled liquors. 

 
Sec. 1005.  
 

(1) A licensee who, by himself or herself or by his or her agent or employee, sells, offers for sale, 
exposes for sale, or possesses alcoholic liquor that is adulterated, misbranded, or in bottles that 
have been refilled is guilty of a violation of this act. 

(2) For purposes of this section, alcoholic liquor is adulterated if it contains any liquid or other ingredient 
that was not placed there by the original manufacturer or bottler. 

(3) For purposes of this section, alcoholic liquor is misbranded if it is not plainly labeled, marked, or 
otherwise designated. 

(4) For purposes of this section, alcoholic liquor bottles have been refilled when the bottles contain any 
liquid or other ingredient not placed in the bottles by the original manufacturer or bottler. 

(5) This section does not apply to beer containers. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 
 

436.2007 Alcoholic liquor as contraband. 

 
Sec. 1007.  
 
All alcoholic liquor that is manufactured, transported, sold, or possessed without the consent of the 
commission is hereby declared contraband and shall be disposed of by order of the commission. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 

 

436.2009 Delivery of seized alcoholic liquor; bankruptcy; payment. 

 
Sec. 1009.  
 

(1) If alcoholic liquor is seized under a judgment rendered against a licensee or if a licensee becomes 
insolvent, the officer seizing that alcoholic liquor or the trustee in bankruptcy of the insolvent 
licensee shall deliver to the commission all alcoholic liquor found in the licensee’s possession. 

(2) Within 1 month after the date of delivery of alcoholic liquor to the commission by an officer or trustee 
in bankruptcy under this section, the commission shall pay over to the officer or trustee in 
bankruptcy the purchase price, less 10%, paid by the licensee to the commission for all legal 
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alcoholic liquor seized and the value, less 10%, as established by the commission, of other legally 
acquired alcoholic liquor delivered to the commission under this section. Alcoholic liquor delivered 
to the commission under this section that was illegally acquired by the licensee shall be disposed 
of by order of the commission and payment shall not be made for that alcoholic liquor. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 

 

436.2011 Printed price list; posting. 

 
Sec. 1011.  
 
Alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises shall be sold only in accordance with a printed price list 
that is readily available to customers. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 
 

436.2013 Sale or purchase of alcoholic liquor for cash; exceptions. 

 
Sec. 1013.  
 
A sale or purchase of alcoholic liquor made in a state liquor store and by all types of licensees shall be for 
cash only, except for the following: 

(a) A customer’s charge account with a specially designated merchant who is not a holder of 
a license authorizing sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises. 

(b) A sale to a bona fide registered guest of a class B hotel or class A hotel, if the extension of 
credit does not exceed 30 days. 

(c) A sale to an industrial account if the extension of credit does not exceed 30 days. 
(d) A sale to a person holding an authorized credit card from a credit card agency. 
(e) A sale to a professional account, or an industrial account of class C licensee or a tavern, 

whose major business is food, if the extension of credit does not exceed 30 days. 
(f) A sale by a private club to a bona fide member. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 
 

436.2014 Sale of unlimited quantity of alcoholic liquor at specific price; conditions; sale of 2 
or more identical drinks containing alcoholic liquor for 1 price; prohibition; "private 

function" defined. 

 
Sec. 1014.  
 

(1) An on-premises licensee shall not sell, offer to sell, or advertise the sale of an unlimited quantity of 
alcoholic liquor at a specific price unless all of the following conditions are met: 

(a) The sale, offer, or advertisement is in connection with a private function. 
(b) The on-premises licensee has entered into a written agreement with the organizer of the 

private function stating all of the following: 
(i) The date and time the event will be held. 
(ii) The location of the event. 
(iii) The terms under which alcohol will be sold and served during the event. 

(c) The on-premises licensee makes available to the commission and local law enforcement, 
on notice, the written agreement described in subdivision (b). 

(2) An on-premises licensee shall not sell, offer to sell, or advertise the sale of 3 or more identical 
drinks containing alcoholic liquor to an individual for the individual's consumption for 1 price. If 3 or 
more identical drinks containing alcoholic liquor are served to an individual at 1 time, the price 
charged for the third and each additional drink must be the same as the price charged for the first 
drink.  Except on prior written order by the commission, an on-premises licensee shall not sell 
alcoholic liquor to an individual under this subsection for a price that is less than the on-premises 
licensee's cost for the alcoholic liquor. 

(3) As used in this section, "private function" means an event that meets all of the following conditions: 
(a) It is a prearranged private party, private function, or private event for a specific social or 

business occasion. 
(b) Attendance is only by invitation or reservation. 
(c) It is not open to the general public. 
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(d) The guests are served in an outdoor service area or room that is well-defined and clearly 
marked and designated and used exclusively for the event. 

History:  Add. 2015, Act 47, Imd. Eff. June 9, 2015; --Am. 2020, Act 126, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020 
  

436.2015 Awarding unopened alcoholic liquor pursuant to lawful fund raising activity. 

 
Sec. 1015.  
 

(1) A nonlicensee, or a person who holds either a special license or a club license under this act, may 
offer and award unopened alcoholic liquor having a value of less than $200.00 to a person 21 years 
of age or older in a drawing or raffle or as a door prize, pursuant to a lawful fund raising activity. 
The alcoholic liquor awarded shall not be consumed on the premises at which it is awarded. 

(2) A person who holds either a special license or a club license under this act and who has purchased 
alcoholic liquors to be awarded as provided for in subsection (1) shall be exempt from sections 
1021(2) and 1025 for those purchases. 

(3) A person who holds either a special license or a club license under this act shall not sell or award 
alcoholic liquor to a person who is in an intoxicated condition. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 
 

436.2017 Sterilization of glass; method and manner. 

 
Sec. 1017.  
 
Alcoholic liquor shall not be served to a person for consumption on the premises unless the glass in which 
the alcoholic liquor is to be served has been sterilized by a method and in a manner as prescribed by the 
commission. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 

 

436.2019 Sales in hotel rooms. 

 
Sec. 1019.  
 

(1) Alcoholic liquor may be served by any hotel licensed individually under this act in the room of a 
bona fide guest. 

(2) A person shall not consume or offer for consumption spirits or mixed spirit drink in any place 
licensed under this act to sell beer or wine and not licensed to sell spirits or mixed spirit drink. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 

 

436.2021 Selling or serving food; removal of liquor from premises; removal of partially 
consumed bottle of wine from premises; class A or B hotel; consumption of 
wine brought into premises by consumer. 

 
Sec. 1021.  
 

(1) The commission shall not require a licensee to sell or serve food to a purchaser of alcoholic liquor. 
The commission shall not require a class A hotel or class B hotel to provide food services to 
registered guests or to the public. 

(2) Except as otherwise provided in section 551 and subsection (3), a purchaser shall not remove 
alcoholic liquor sold by a vendor for consumption on the premises from those premises. 

(3) A vendor licensed to sell wine on the premises may allow an individual who has purchased a meal 
and who has purchased and partially consumed a bottle of wine with the meal, to remove the 
partially consumed bottle from the premises on departure. This subsection does not allow the 
removal of any additional unopened bottles of wine unless the vendor is licensed as a specially 
designated merchant. The licensee or the licensee’s clerk, agent, or employee shall cap the bottle 
or reinsert a cork so that the top of the cork is level with the lip of the bottle. The transportation or 
possession of the partially consumed bottle of wine shall be in compliance with section 624a of the 
Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.624a. 
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(4) This act and rules promulgated under this act do not prevent a class A or B hotel designed to attract 
and accommodate tourists and visitors in a resort area from allowing its invitees or guests to 
possess or consume, or both, on or about its premises alcoholic liquor purchased by the invitee or 
guest from an off-premises retailer and does not prevent a guest or invitee from entering and exiting 
the licensed premises with alcoholic liquor purchased from an off-premises retailer. 

(5) Notwithstanding section 901(6), an on-premises licensee may, in a manner as determined by that 
licensee, allow for the consumption of wine that is produced by a wine maker, a small wine maker, 
or an out-of-state entity that is the substantial equivalent of a wine maker or small wine maker and 
that is brought into the licensed premises in its original sealed container by a consumer who is not 
prohibited under this act from possessing wine. The licensee shall not allow the consumer to 
remove a partially consumed bottle of wine brought by the consumer unless the licensee or the 
licensee’s clerk, agent, or employee caps the bottle or reinserts the cork so that the top of the cork 
is level with the lip of the bottle. The licensee may charge a corkage fee for each bottle of wine 
brought by the consumer and opened on the premises by the licensee or the licensee’s clerk, agent, 
or employee. This subsection does not exempt the licensee or the consumer from any other 
applicable requirements, responsibilities, or sanctions imposed under this act. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; Am. 2002, Act 725, Imd. Eff. Dec. 30, 2002; Am. 2005, Act 21, Imd. Eff. May 19, 2005; -- Am. 2013, Act 235, Eff. Mar. 14, 2014: 

--Am. 2020, Act 124, Imd. Eff. July 1, 2020 
 

436.2023 Pinball machines. 

 
Sec. 1023. 
 
The commission shall not prohibit licensees from allowing pinball machines on the premises for the purpose 
of amusement. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 
 

436.2024 Automatic teller machine; preventing access to cash benefits from Michigan 
bridge card; definitions. 

 
Sec. 1024. 
 

(1) A retailer shall work with the department of human services and with persons that provide automatic 
teller machine services on the retailer's premises to prevent an individual's access to cash benefits 
from Michigan bridge cards through a point of sale device or withdrawal from an automatic teller 
machine on the retailer's premises. For purposes of this section only, a retailer does not include a 
retail food store. 

(2) As used in this section: 
(a) "Michigan bridge card" means the card that is used to distribute cash benefits by the 

department of human services. 
(b) "Retail food store" means that term as defined in 7 USC 2012. 

History:  Add. 2013, Act 197, Eff. Feb. 1, 2014. 
 

436.2025 Giving away alcoholic liquor prohibited; exception; sale to intoxicated 
individual prohibited; inadmissibility of breathalyzer or blood alcohol test 
results. 

 
Sec. 1025. 
 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (3) and subject to subsection (2), a vendor shall not 
give away any alcoholic liquor of any kind or description at any time in connection with his or her 
business, except a vendor that is a manufacturer for consumption on the premises only. 

(2) Subsection (1) does not prevent any of the following: 
(a) A vendor of spirits, brewer, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, wine maker, small wine maker, 

outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, or a 
bona fide market research organization retained by 1 of the persons named in this 
subdivision, from conducting samplings or tastings of an alcoholic liquor product before it 
is approved for sale in this state, if the sampling or tasting is conducted pursuant to prior 
written approval of the commission. 
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(b) A person from conducting any sampling or tasting authorized by rule of the commission. 
(c) The holder of a farmer’s market permit from conducting a tasting authorized under section 

415. 
(d) A person from conducting of any sampling or tasting authorized under section 537. 
(e) A retailer licensed for consumption on the premises from conducting a sampling authorized 

under section 1027(2). 
(f) A person from conducting a sampling at a consumer sampling event authorized under 

section 1027(4) and (5). 
(g) A class A or B hotel designed to attract and accommodate tourists and visitors in a resort 

area from giving away alcoholic liquor to an invitee or guest in connection with a business 
event or as a part of a room special or promotion for overnight accommodations. 

(3) A wholesaler or manufacturer may give samples of beer or wine to an employee of the wholesaler 
if all of the following conditions are met: 

(a) The sampling is for the purpose of educating the employee regarding the beer or wine. 
(b) The employee is at least 21 years of age. 
(c) The sampling takes place on the licensed premises of the wholesaler. 

(4) A vendor shall not sell an alcoholic liquor to an individual in an intoxicated condition. 
(5) Evidence of any breathalyzer or blood alcohol test results obtained in a licensed establishment, or 

on property adjacent to the licensed premises and under the control or ownership of the licensee, 
is not admissible to prove a violation of this section, section 707(1), (2), (3), or (4), or section 801(1).  
To establish a violation of this section, section 707(1), (2), (3), or (4), or section 801(1), the 
individual’s intoxicated condition at the time of the sale or consumption of alcohol must be proven 
by direct observation by law enforcement or commission enforcement personnel or through other 
admissible witness statements or corroborating evidence obtained as part of the standard 
investigation other than breathalyzer or blood alcohol test results. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998;-Am. 2002, Act 725, Imd. Eff. Dec. 30, 2002;-Am. 2008, Act 11, Imd. Eff. Feb. 29, 2008; Am. 2010, Act 213, Eff. November 17, 
2010;--Am. 2017, Act 88, Imd. Eff. July 12, 2017; --Am. 2019, Act 131, Imd. Eff. Nov. 21, 2019 
 

436.2027 Samplings or tastings of alcoholic liquor generally. 

 
Sec. 1027. 
  

(1) Unless otherwise provided by rule of the commission, a person shall not conduct samplings or 
tastings of any alcoholic liquor for a commercial purpose except at premises that are licensed by 
the commission for the sale and consumption of alcoholic liquor on the premises. 

(2) Notwithstanding section 1025(1) or (2), a retailer licensed by the commission for consumption on 
the premises may allow customers to sample beer, wine, and spirits if the retailer does not charge 
for the samples provided to customers. Sample serving sizes must not exceed 3 ounces for beer, 
2 ounces for wine, and 1/2 ounce for spirits. A customer must not be provided more than 2 samples 
within a 24-hour period per licensed premises. 

(3) This section does not prohibit any of the following: 
(a) A vendor of spirits, brewer, wine maker, mixed spirit drink manufacturer, small wine maker, 

outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of wine, or outstate seller of mixed spirit drink, or a 
bona fide market research organization retained by 1 of the persons named in this 
subsection, from conducting samplings or tastings of an alcoholic liquor product before it 
is approved for sale in this state if the sampling or tasting is conducted under prior written 
approval of the commission. 

(b) An on-premises licensee from giving a sampling or tasting of alcoholic liquor to an 
employee of the licensee during the legal hours for consumption for the purpose of 
educating the employee regarding 1 or more types of alcoholic liquor if the employee is at 
least 21 years of age. 

(c) A small distiller licensee from giving a sampling or tasting of brands it manufactures on the 
licensed premises or an off-site tasting facility operated by that small distiller. 

(d) A micro brewer, brewpub, or on-premises licensee from allowing the sampling and 
consumption on the licensed premises of beer, wine, mead, honey-based beer, or cider 
produced by 1 or more home brewers at a meeting of home brewers, or a club composed 
primarily of home brewers, under the following circumstances: 

(i) The sampling or consumption is for the purpose of exhibitions or competitions 
involving home brewers. 
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(ii) The beer, honey-based beer, or cider is served in portions that do not exceed 3 
ounces. The wine or mead is served in portions that do not exceed 2 ounces. 

(iii) The beer, wine, mead, honey-based beer, or cider produced by the home brewer 
is only consumed by the home brewer, the home brewer’s family, a club member, 
a judge, or a guest speaker and is not sold to members of the general public. 

(iv) The participants in the sampling or consumption otherwise comply with applicable 
state and federal law and applicable regulatory provisions of this act and rules 
adopted by the commission under this act. 

(v) The participants in the sampling or consumption are not charged for the sampling 
or consumption of the beer, wine, mead, honey-based beer, or cider. 

(4) A vendor of spirits or a manufacturer may conduct a consumer sampling event on the premises of 
a holder of a specially designated distributor license upon submission of a completed application 
to the commission. 

(5) The holder of a consumer sampling event license shall comply with the following: 
(a) The commission must be notified in writing a minimum of 10 working days before the event 

with the date, time, and location of the event. 
(b) The consumer sampling event is limited to 3 events per vendor of spirits or manufacturer 

per specially designated distributor license per month. 
(c) The vendor of spirits or manufacturer conducting the consumer sampling event must have 

a licensed representative present at the specially designated distributor’s establishment. 
(d) Licensed representatives or an authorized representative may distribute merchandise, not 

to exceed $100.00 in value, to consumers 21 years of age or older during the event. 
(e) Participating specially designated distributor licensees do not receive any fee or other 

valuable consideration for participating in the event. 
(f) Each consumer is limited to 3 samples, which total no more than 1/3 ounce of spirits per 

serving. 
(g) The consumer is not charged for and does not purchase any sample. 
(h) The alcoholic liquor used in the consumer sampling event is provided by the vendor of 

spirits or manufacturer, and purchased at the minimum retail selling price fixed by the 
commission from the specially designated distributor on whose premises the event is 
located. The vendor of spirits or manufacturer shall remove any unfinished product from 
the premises at which the event is held upon completion of the event. 

(i) The consumer sampling event shall not be allowed if the sale of alcoholic liquor is otherwise 
prohibited on the premises at which the event is conducted. 

(j) Samples are not to be offered to, or allowed to be consumed by, any person under the 
legal age for consuming alcoholic liquor. 

(k) A consumer sampling event may be advertised in any type of media and the 
advertisements may include the date, time, location, and other information regarding the 
event. 

(l) The participating vendor of spirits or manufacturer and specially designated distributor 
licensees complies with this act and commission rules. 

(m) The vendor of spirits or manufacturer demonstrates that the individual actually conducting 
the sampling has successfully completed the server training program in the manner 
provided for in section 906 and rules promulgated by the commission. 

(6) Violation of this section subjects the vendor of spirits or manufacturer to the sanctions and penalties 
as provided for under this act. 

(7) The commission, by rule or issuance of an order, may further define eligibility for licensure and 
processes for conducting consumer sampling events. 

(8) A sampling or tasting of any alcoholic liquor in a home or domicile for other than a commercial 
purpose is not subject to this section. 

(9) Before a micro brewer, brewpub, or on-premises licensee allows an event to be held under 
subsection (3)(d), the micro brewer, brewpub, or on-premises licensee shall enter into a written 
agreement with the home brewers or home brewers club stating all of the following: 

(a) The date and time the event will be held. 
(b) The location of the event. 
(c) Either of the following: 

(i) A statement that the micro brewer, brewpub, or on-premises licensee 
acknowledges that it is not in control of an unregulated alcoholic beverage at its 
establishment and agrees to assume liability under section 801(3) for the event. 
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(ii) Proof that the home brewers or home brewers club has obtained a bond or liability 
insurance equal to that required under section 803(1). 

(10) As used in this section: 
(a) “Commercial purpose” means a purpose for which monetary gain or other remuneration 

could reasonably be expected. 
(b) “Home brewer” means an individual who manufactures beer, wine, mead, honey-based 

beer, or cider at his or her dwelling. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998;-Am 2001, Act 46, Imd. Eff. July 23, 2001;-Am. 2008, Act 218, Imd. Eff. July 16, 2008; Am. 2010 Act 175. Imd. Eff. Sept. 30, 
2010; Am. 2010, Act 213, Eff. November 17, 2010; Am. 2011, Act 219, Eff. November 10, 2011; --Am. 2019, Act 131, Imd. Eff. Nov. 21, 2019 
 

436.2028  Special license for spirits tasting; qualified organization; application; 
requirements; rebate on purchase of spirits; designated supervisor; 
definitions. 

 
Sec. 1028. 
 

(1) The commission may issue a special license under this section to a qualified organization 
conducting a spirits tasting. The application must conform to all of the following: 

(a) The application must be submitted by a qualified organization. 
(b) The spirits tasting involves an event having for its primary purpose the showcasing of spirits 

and the spirits' production and or mixability. 
(c) The application must be accompanied by a fee of $25.00 per day of the event described in 

subdivision (b). 
(2) The holder of a special license issued under this section shall not allow more than 6 events per 

calendar year conforming to the requirements of subsection (1). 
(3) A holder of a special license issued under this section may purchase the spirits for an event 

described in subsection (1) under R 436.582 of the Michigan Administrative Code. 
(4) A holder of a special license issued under this section may receive a rebate on the purchase of 

spirits subject to all of the following: 
(a) The rebate must be the difference of the purchase price the special licensee paid to the 

specially designated distributor and the sum of the following: 
(i) The price the commission paid for the spirits before establishing the price to 

determine the gross profit under section 233. 
(ii) Fifteen percent of the price under subparagraph (i). 
(iii) Specific taxes calculated on the price of the spirits established under section 233. 

(b) The special licensee shall submit 1 combined request for a rebate by March 1 of each year 
for all spirit tasting events for which it was issued a special license under this section in the 
previous calendar year. 

(c) The special licensee shall submit its request for a rebate on a form prescribed by the 
commission. The special licensee shall include all of the following information with its 
request for a rebate: 

(i) The date or dates of the spirits tasting events for which a rebate is being requested. 
(ii) The name and license number of the specially designated distributor from which 

the spirits were purchased. 
(iii) The purchase price paid per bottle to the specially designated distributor. 
(iv) The quantity of bottles purchased less any bottles returned under section 609d. 
(v) The special licensee shall submit a copy of the receipt or invoice that shows the 

price it paid for the spirits to the specially designated distributor and any products 
returned under section 609d. 

(d) By June of each year, the commission shall issue a combined rebate to the special licensee 
for each of the events in the previous calendar year for which the special licensee submitted 
a request for a rebate. The rebate for any 1 event must not exceed $10,000.00. 

(5) A holder of a special license issued under this section and the member vendors of spirits, small 
distillers, authorized distribution agents, and brokers whose vendor representatives, salespersons, 
or agents are licensed by the commission, may pour and serve spirits, with or without mixers. 

(6) A qualified organization shall designate a supervisor on each shift and during all hours when 
alcoholic liquor is served who has successfully completed a server training program as described 
in section 906 and in the rules promulgated by the commission. 

(7) As used in this section: 
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(a) "Qualified organization" is a nonprofit association established for the primary purpose of 
representing the interests of vendors of spirits, craft distillers, and brokers whose 
membership includes at least 15 primary members and consists of at least 3 of the following 
that are licensed by the commission: 

(i) Vendors of spirits. 
(ii) Small distillers. 
(iii) Brokers. As used in this subparagraph, "broker" means that term as defined in 

section 609. 
(iv) Authorized distribution agents. 

(b) “Spirits tasting" means an event at which spirits are showcased to the general public and 
at which the general public can purchase and sample the spirits being showcased for 
consumption on the licensed premises. 

 
History: Add. 2020, Act 24, Imd. Eff. Feb. 4, 2020 
 

436.2029  Packaging of nonalcoholic carbonated beverages with spirits. 

 
Sec. 1029.  
 

(1) The commission, by promulgation of a rule, issuance of an order, or execution of a memorandum 
of understanding with the department of treasury, or any combination thereof, may allow the 
conduct by a manufacturer or outstate seller of spirits of a preapproved program for marketing 
spirits by inclusion of nonalcoholic carbonated beverages to be packaged with spirits. The 
commission may, in conjunction with the department of treasury, adopt a program that disallows 
the redemption of returnable containers from the commission but otherwise allows redemption of 
Michigan-sold returnable containers at other venues, and shall allow for a system of appropriate 
allocation of funds under 1976 IL 1, MCL 445.571 to 445.576, by means of the issuance of an order 
or by adoption of a rule. 

(2) The commission shall provide for a system of non-mail-in or instant coupon transactions that does 
not diminish the spirit product margins allocated to the state under this act by means of the issuance 
of an order or by adoption of a rule. 

History: Add. 2010 Act 175. Imd. Eff. Sept. 30, 2010. 

 

436.2031  "Wine auction license" defined; issuance of license; restrictions; payment of 
taxes; delivery, storage, warehousing, and delivery of wine; sale and resale of 
wine purchases at auction. 

 
Sec. 1031.  
 

(1) As used in this section, "wine auction license" means a license issued by the commission to sell 
wine by auction, subject to the following: 

(a) The wine is sold through an auction by a person that is licensed as a specially designated 
merchant or through a seller that is a partner with a specially designated merchant, as 
evidenced by a written agreement of the parties. 

(b) The owner of the wine is not licensed under this act. 
(c) The wine is part of a private collection owned by a person that is not licensed under this 

act. 
(d) The specially designated merchant ensures that each bottle sold from the private collection 

has a permanently affixed tag or label stating that the wine was acquired from a private 
collection. 

(2) If it receives a completed application and the license fee described in section 525(1)(aa), the 
commission shall issue a wine auction license to a person licensed as a specially designated 
merchant, or a seller that is a partner with a specially designated merchant, who is arranging for 
the sale of wine by an owner that is not licensed under this act. The commission shall issue the 
license for a term of 1 year. The license allows the licensee to hold not more than 12 auctions per 
license year. 

(3) The license restrictions prescribed under this section and under this act are in addition to those 
requirements and prescriptions imposed by any local law or ordinance, or resolution of the local 
unit of government. 
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(4) The holder of the wine auction license is responsible for the payment of any applicable sales or 
excise taxes regarding the sale of the wine by auction. 

(5) The holder of the wine auction license is responsible for the delivery, storing, and warehousing of 
the wine offered for sale and for the delivery of the wine to the purchasers. 

(6) A person that is licensed to sell wine at wholesale or retail may purchase any wine offered at an 
auction under this section and may resell that wine in accordance with the terms of the license, if 
at the time of sale the tag or label remains permanently affixed to the bottle. 

(7) The sale and resale of wine purchased at auction is subject to this act and any rules of the 
commission promulgated under this act. 

History:  Add. 2010, Act 175, Imd. Eff. Sept. 30, 2010; -- Am. 2014, Act 194, Imd. Eff. June 24, 2014 
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CHAPTER 11 
 

436.2101 Sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption on premises; 
resolution; petition; notice; submission of question to electors; ballot; 
canvass; effect of tie vote; use of section to nullify referendum vote 
prohibited. 

 
Sec. 1101.  
 

(1) Spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption on the premises, in addition to beer and wine, may 
be sold by restaurants, hotels, and establishments approved by the commission under this act in 
the following cities, villages, or townships if the legislative body of the city, village, or township by 
resolution of a majority vote of the members elect, votes in favor of allowing that sale. A petition 
may be filed with the city, village, or township clerk requesting the submission of the question of 
sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption on the premises, in addition to beer and wine. 
In the case of a city or township, the petition shall be signed by a number of the registered and 
qualified electors which shall be not less than 35% of the total number of votes cast for all 
candidates for the office of secretary of state in that city or township at the last general election 
held for that purpose. In the case of a village, the petition shall be signed by a number of the 
registered and qualified electors that is not less than 35% of the total number of votes cast for all 
candidates for the office of president of the village at the last village election held for that purpose. 
The question shall not be submitted to the electors of a city, village, or township more often than 
once in every 2 years. The city, village, or township clerk shall, within 10 days after the petition is 
filed with the clerk, give notice of the filing by publication of notice setting forth the essential facts 
of the petition in a newspaper published or in general circulation in the city, village, or township. 
The city, village, or township clerk shall submit the question at the next regular state election held 
in the city, village, or township if the petitions are filed at least 60 days before the election. Class C 
licensees in a newly incorporated city or village shall continue to be licensed by the commission 
until the question of the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption on the premises, in 
addition to beer and wine, is submitted to the electors of the city or village as provided in this 
section. The question of the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption on the premises, 
in addition to beer and wine, shall be submitted by ballot in substantially the following form: 

“Shall the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink in addition to beer and wine be permitted for 
consumption on the premises within the city, village, or township of ............. under the 
provisions of the law governing same? 
Yes ........... 
No ............”. 

(2) All votes on the question submitted by ballot under subsection (1) shall be taken, counted, and 
canvassed in the same manner as votes cast in city, village, or township elections, as applicable, 
are taken, counted, and canvassed. Ballots shall be furnished by the election commission or similar 
body of the respective city, village, or township. If a majority of the electors voting at an election 
conducted under this section shall vote in favor of the question submitted by ballot under subsection 
(1), spirits and mixed spirit drink may be sold under this act in that city, village, or township for 
consumption on the premises, in addition to beer and wine. 

(3) At any time within 18 months after an election conducted under this section has resulted in a tie 
vote, the question shall be resubmitted to the electors upon the filing of a petition with the legislative 
body of the city, village, or township. The petition shall be signed by a number of electors not less 
than that required under subsection (1) for the calling of an election on an original petition. The 
question shall be resubmitted to the electors by the city, village, or township clerk at the next regular 
election if that election occurs not less than 30 days and not more than 60 days after the filing of 
the petition or at a special election called for that purpose and to be held within not less than 30 
days and not more than 60 days after the filing of the petition. 

(4) This section shall not be used by the legislative body of a city, village, or township to nullify the 
results of a referendum vote of the electors of the city, village, or township. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 
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436.2101a Violation of MCL 168.1 to 168.992 applicable to petitions; penalties. 

 
Sec. 1101a.  
 
A petition under section 1101, 1107, 1111, or 1113, including the circulation and signing of the petition, is 
subject to section 488 of the Michigan election law, 1954 PA 116, MCL 168.488. A person who violates a 
provision of the Michigan election law, 1954 PA 116, MCL 168.1 to 168.992, applicable to a petition 
described in this section is subject to the penalties prescribed for that violation in the Michigan election law, 
1954 PA 116, MCL 168.1 to 168.992. 

History: Add. 1998, Act 251, Eff. Mar. 23, 1999  
 

436.2103 Sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption on premises; 
annexation of territory to city prohibiting sale; continuance of license; 
referendum. 

 
Sec. 1103.  
 

(1) If spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption on the premises, in addition to beer and wine, may 
be sold by restaurants, hotels, and establishments approved by the commission in a city, village, 
or township and all or a part of that city, village, or township becomes annexed to and a part of a 
city or village that does not, at the time of annexation, permit those sales, class C licensees in that 
annexed area shall continue to be licensed by the commission until the next regular, city, or village 
election, at which election, without the need to file a petition, the question of the sale of spirits and 
mixed spirit drink for consumption on the premises, in addition to beer and wine, shall be submitted 
to the electors of the city or village to which the territory has been annexed. 

(2) The form of the ballot, the voting and canvassing of votes, and the effect of the votes shall be as 
provided in section 1101. 

(3) The fact that a vote has been taken upon that question either in the annexing municipality or in the 
annexed area, or in both, within 4 years before the annexation is not a bar to the submission of the 
question as provided in this section. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 

 

436.2105 Sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption on premises; 
referendum; license to serve spirits in addition to beer and wine for 
consumption on premises; application; approval; fee; referendum in certain 
townships. 

 
Sec. 1105.  
 

(1) When the question of the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption on the premises is 
submitted to and approved by the electors of a city, village, or township, and immediately after 
certification of the results of the election, all currently approved licensed establishments for 
consumption of beer and wine on the premises in the city, village, or township shall be licensed to 
serve spirits and mixed spirit drink in addition to beer and wine for consumption on the premises 
upon application to and approval by the commission and payment of the applicable license fee as 
specified in section 525. 

(2) A township having incorporated villages within its boundaries may submit to the voters in the 
unincorporated portion of the township the question of sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for 
consumption on the premises and the will of the electors outside of the incorporated villages shall 
decide the question for the unincorporated portion of the township. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 
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436.2107 Manufacture and sale of alcoholic liquor; county option; form of ballot; 
notice of prohibition. 

 
Sec. 1107.  
 

(1) Upon the filing with the county clerk of a petition signed by not less than 20% of the registered and 
qualified electors of any county of the entire vote cast for the office of secretary of state in that 
county at the last general election requesting the submission to the electors of that county of the 
question of the manufacture or sale of alcoholic liquor, or both, within that county, the county clerk 
shall submit the question at the next regular state election held in that county. A petition filed under 
this subsection shall be filed at least 60 days before the election. A ballot question under this 
subsection shall not be submitted to the electors more often than once in any 4-year period. 

(2) All votes on the question shall be taken, counted, and canvassed in the same manner as votes 
cast for county offices are taken, counted, and canvassed. The vote on that question shall be by 
ballot, which ballots shall be furnished by the board of election commissioners of the county and 
shall be substantially in 1 of the following forms: 

“1. Shall the manufacture of alcoholic liquor be prohibited in the county of ............? 
Yes ........ 
No ........ 
2. Shall the sale of alcoholic liquor be prohibited in the county of ...........? 
Yes ........ 
No ........ 
3. Shall the manufacture and sale of alcoholic liquor be prohibited in the county of .........? 
Yes ........ 
No ........”. 

(3) The effective date of the prohibition of the manufacture or sale, or both, as applicable, shall be 30 
days after the board of county canvassers has determined that a majority of those voting on that 
question have voted in favor of the prohibition. The county clerk shall give notice of the effective 
date of the prohibition by publishing the date at least once in a newspaper published in that county 
or, if no newspaper is published within the county, in a newspaper published in an adjoining county. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 
 

436.2109 Ordinance prohibiting retail sale of alcoholic liquor; adoption; duration; 
election; affirmance or revocation; prohibition. 

 
Sec. 1109.  
 

(1) Notwithstanding section 1101, a city, village, or township in which there are no retail licenses for 
the sale of alcoholic liquor may, by ordinance, prohibit the retail sale of alcoholic liquor within its 
borders. 

(2) An ordinance adopted under subsection (1) remains in effect until the next general or special 
election held not less than 45 days after the adoption of the ordinance. At that election, the 
ordinance shall be submitted to the electors of the city, village, or township for affirmance or 
revocation. A revocation of the ordinance is effective on the date the election results are certified. 

(3) The commission shall not issue a license that violates an ordinance adopted under subsection (1). 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 
 

436.2111 Beer and wine; referendum as to Sunday sale; petition; form of ballot; taking, 
counting, and canvassing votes; prohibition. 

 
Sec. 1111.  
 

(1) The sale of beer and wine between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday is allowed. 
Except as otherwise provided in subsection (6), a county, city, village, or township may prohibit the 
sale of beer and wine between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday or between the hours 
of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday under the following circumstances: 

(a) By majority vote of the legislative body voting on the resolution to make such an 
authorization. Failure of the legislative body to act on such an authorization is grounds for 
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the petitioning of the county, city, village, or township for submission of the question to the 
voters of the county, city, village, or township under subsection (2). 

(b) (b) By submission of a petition under subsection (2) by a majority vote of the electors voting 
at a regular state election. 

(2) Upon the filing of a petition with the county, city, village, or township clerk, by a majority of the 
electors voting at a regular state election within that county, village, city, or township, as applicable, 
requesting the submission of the question of the Sunday morning sale of beer and wine or the 
Sunday sale of beer and wine, the clerk shall submit that question to the electors of the county, 
city, village, or township at the next regular state election held in that county, city, village, or 
township. A petition filed under this subsection shall be filed not less than 60 days before the regular 
state election. A ballot question under this subsection shall not be submitted more often than once 
in any 4-year period. 

(3) In the case of a county, city, or township, the petition shall be signed by a number of the registered 
and qualified electors of the county, city, or township that is not less than 35% of the total number 
of votes cast for all candidates for the office of secretary of state in that county, city, or township at 
the last general election held for that purpose and, in the case of a village the petition shall be 
signed by a number of the registered and qualified electors of the village that is not less than 35% 
of the total number of votes cast for all candidates for the office of president of the village at the 
last village election held for that purpose. 

(4) The question of the sale of beer and wine shall be submitted by ballot in substantially the following 
forms: 

(a) For the sale between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday: 
“Shall the sale of beer and wine within (the county, city, village, or township as the case 
may be) between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday be prohibited? 

 Yes ......... 
 No .........”. 

(b) For the sale between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday: 
“Shall the sale of beer and wine within (the county, city, village, or township as the case 
may be) between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday be prohibited? 

 Yes ......... 
 No .........”. 

(5) Votes on a question submitted to the electors under this section shall be taken, counted, and 
canvassed in the same manner as votes cast in county, city, village, or township elections, as 
applicable, are taken, counted, and canvassed. Ballots shall be furnished by the election 
commission or similar body of the respective county, city, village, or township. If a majority of the 
electors voting at an election conducted under this section vote in favor of the question submitted, 
the sale of beer and wine within that county, city, village, or township between the hours of 7 a.m. 
and 12 noon on Sunday or between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday is 
prohibited. 

(6) The sale of beer and wine in any county between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday or 
between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday shall not be prohibited under the 
provisions of subsections (1) through (5) as applied to a motorsports entertainment complex located 
in more than 1 county if a resolution or referendum under this section results in the question’s failing 
to pass in 1 county but passing in another. Under these circumstances, the commission shall 
determine the issue of the sale of beer and wine in the motorsports entertainment complex in those 
counties between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday or between the hours of 7 a.m. on 
Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday. As used in this section, “motorsports entertainment complex” 
means a closed-course motorsports facility, and its ancillary grounds and facilities, that satisfies all 
of the following: 

(a) Has at least 70,000 fixed seats for race patrons. 
(b) Has at least 4 scheduled days of motorsports events each calendar year. 
(c) Serves food and beverages at the motorsports entertainment complex during motorsports 

events each calendar year through concession outlets, which are staffed by individuals 
who represent or are members of 1 or more nonprofit civic or charitable organizations that 
directly benefit from the concession outlets’ sales. 

(d) Engages in tourism promotion. 
(e) Has permanent exhibitions of motorsports history, events, or vehicles within the 

motorsports entertainment complex. 
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(7) Any prohibitions on the sale of beer and wine between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday 
or between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday adopted by a county, city, village, 
or township before the effective date of the amendatory act that added this subsection shall remain 
in effect. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; Am. 2010, Act 213, Eff. December 1, 2010; Am. 2011, Act 27, Imd. Eff. May 16, 2011. 

 

436.2113 Selling at retail, giving away, furnishing, or buying spirits or mixed spirit 
drink on Sunday; sale of spirits or mixed spirit drink for consumption on or 
off premises on Sunday; resolution; petition; election; form of ballot; voting; 
violation as misdemeanor; exception; selling and buying alcoholic liquor 
from December 24 to 26; legislative bodies authorized to prohibit sale of 
alcoholic liquor on certain days. 

 
Sec. 1113.  
 

(1) Except as provided in subsection (2), (3), or (5) and subject to subsection (6), a licensee 
enumerated under section 525 may sell at retail, and a person may buy, spirits or mixed spirit drink 
between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday. 

(2) Unless the legislative body of a county has prohibited the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for 
consumption on the premises between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday or between the 
hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday, by resolution approved by a majority of the 
legislative body voting on that resolution, spirits and mixed spirit drink may be sold after 7 a.m. on 
Sunday, in an establishment licensed under this act in which the gross receipts derived from the 
sale of food and other goods and services exceed 50% of the total gross receipts. With respect to 
an action taken by the legislative body or if the legislative body fails to act, a petition may be filed 
with the county clerk requesting the submission of the question regarding the prohibition of the sale 
of spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption on the premises between the hours of 7 a.m. and 
12 noon on Sunday or between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday. The petition 
shall be signed by a number of the registered and qualified electors of the county that is not less 
than 8% of the total number of votes cast for all candidates for the office of secretary of state in the 
county at the last general election held for that purpose. The question shall not be submitted to the 
electors of a county more than once every 4 years. The county clerk shall submit the question at 
the next regular state election held in the county if the petitions are filed not less than 60 days 
before the election. The question regarding the prohibition of the sale of spirits and mixed spirit 
drink for consumption on the premises shall be submitted by ballot in substantially the following 
forms: 

(a) For the sale between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday: 
“Shall the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption on the premises be 
prohibited between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday within the county of .......... 
under the provisions of the law governing the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for 
consumption? 

 Yes .......... 
 No ...........”. 

(b) For the sale between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday: 
“Shall the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption on the premises be 
prohibited between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday within the county 
of .......... under the provisions of the law governing the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink 
for consumption? 

 Yes .......... 
 No ...........”. 

(3) Unless the legislative body of a county has prohibited the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for 
consumption off the premises between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday or between the 
hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday by resolution approved by a majority of the 
legislative body voting on the resolution, spirits and mixed spirit drink may be sold after 7 a.m., in 
a retail establishment licensed under this act. With respect to an action taken by the legislative 
body or if the legislative body fails to act, a petition may be filed with the county clerk requesting 
the submission of the question regarding the prohibition of the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink 
for consumption off the premises, in addition to beer and wine, in a retail establishment licensed 
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under this act between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday or between the hours of 7 a.m. 
on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday. The petition shall be signed by a number of the registered and 
qualified electors of the county that is not less than 8% of the total number of votes cast for all 
candidates for the office of secretary of state in the county at the last general election held for that 
purpose. The question shall not be submitted to the electors of a county more than once every 4 
years. The county clerk shall submit the question at the next regular state election held in the county 
if the petitions are filed not less than 60 days before the election. The question regarding the 
prohibition of the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption off the premises, in addition 
to beer and wine, in a retail establishment licensed under this act shall be submitted by ballot in 
substantially the following forms: 

(a) For the sale between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday: 
“Shall the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption off the premises be 
prohibited between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday in a retail establishment 
licensed under the Michigan liquor control code of 1998 within the county of .......... under 
the provisions of the law governing the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for 
consumption? 

 Yes .......... 
 No ...........”. 

(b) For the sale between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday: 
“Shall the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink for consumption off the premises be 
prohibited between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday in a retail 
establishment licensed under the Michigan liquor control code of 1998 within the county of 
.......... under the provisions of the law governing the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink 
for consumption? 

 Yes .......... 
 No ...........”. 

(4) Votes on a question submitted to the electors under this section shall be taken, counted, and 
canvassed in the same manner as votes cast in county elections are taken, counted, and 
canvassed. A ballot shall be furnished by the election commission or similar body of the county. If 
a majority of the electors voting at an election vote in favor of the proposal, the sale of spirits and 
mixed spirit drink may be prohibited in the county under this act for consumption on the premises 
or by a retail establishment for consumption off the premises, in addition to beer and wine, between 
the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday or between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. 
on Monday. The sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink shall not be permitted in a city, village, or 
township in which the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink is prohibited under this act. A violation of 
this section is a misdemeanor. This section does not apply to spirits and mixed spirit drink served 
to a bona fide guest in the residence of a person or sold or furnished for medicinal purposes as 
provided for in this act. 

(5) A licensee enumerated under section 525 or any other person shall not sell at retail, and a person 
shall not knowingly and willfully buy, alcoholic liquor between the hours of 11:59 p.m. on December 
24 and 12 noon on December 25. The legislative body of a city, village, or township, by resolution 
or ordinance, may prohibit the sale of alcoholic liquor on a legal holiday, primary election day, 
general election day, municipal election day, between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday, 
or between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday. 

(6) The sale of spirits or mixed spirit drink in any county between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on 
Sunday or between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday shall not be prohibited 
under the provisions of subsections (1) through (5) as applied to a motorsports entertainment 
complex located in more than 1 county if a resolution or referendum under this section results in 
the question’s failing to pass in 1 county but passing in another. Under those circumstances, the 
commission shall determine the issue of the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink in the motorsports 
entertainment complex in those counties between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday or 
between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday. As used in this section, “motorsports 
entertainment complex” means a closed-course motorsports facility, and its ancillary grounds and 
facilities, that satisfies all of the following: 

(a) Has at least 70,000 fixed seats for race patrons. 
(b) Has at least 4 scheduled days of motorsports events each calendar year. 
(c) Serves food and beverages at the motorsports entertainment complex during motorsports 

events each calendar year through concession outlets, which are staffed by individuals 
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who represent or are members of 1 or more nonprofit civic or charitable organizations that 
directly benefit from the concession outlets’ sales. 

(d) Engages in tourism promotion. 
(e) Has permanent exhibitions of motorsports history, events, or vehicles within the 

motorsports entertainment complex. 
(7) Any prohibitions on the sale of alcoholic liquor between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday 

or between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday adopted by a county, city, village, 
or township before the effective date of the amendatory act that added this subsection shall remain 
in effect. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998;-Am. 1998, Act 416, Imd. Eff. Dec. 21, 1998;-Am. 2004, Act 134, Imd. Eff. 6/7/04; Am. 2010, Act 213, Eff. December 1, 2010; Am. 

2011, Act 27, Imd. Eff. May 16, 2011. 
 

436.2114 Hours of sale. 

 
Sec. 1114. 
  

(1) Notwithstanding R 436.1403 and R 436.1503 of the Michigan administrative code and except as 
otherwise provided under this act or rule of the commission, an on-premises and an off-premises 
licensee shall not sell, give away, or furnish alcoholic liquor between the hours of 2 a.m. and 7 a.m. 
on any day. 

(2) Subsection (1) does not prevent any local governmental unit from prohibiting the sale of beer and 
wine between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday or between the hours of 7 a.m. on 
Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday under section 1111 and does not prevent any local governmental 
unit from prohibiting the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink between the hours of 7 a.m. and 12 
noon on Sunday or between the hours of 7 a.m. on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday under section 
1113. A licensee selling alcoholic liquor between 7 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday shall obtain a 
permit and pay to the commission an annual fee of $160.00. 

(3) A reference to the time of day under this act or a rule of the commission includes daylight savings 
time, when observed. 

History:  Added 2004, Act 134, Imd. Eff. 6/7/04; Am. 2010, Act 213, Eff. December 1, 2010; Am. 2011, Act 27, Imd. Eff. May 16, 2011. 

 

436.2115 Sale of spirits or mixed spirit drink on Sunday; additional fee; disposition of 
revenue. 

 
Sec. 1115.  
 

(1) A licensee who elects to sell spirits or mixed spirit drink between the hours of 12 noon on Sunday 
and 2 a.m. on Monday under section 1113 shall not do so until he or she first obtains a permit and 
pays to the commission an additional fee in the amount of 15% of the fee charged for the issuance 
of his or her license. 

(2) The revenue received from subsection (1) for the sale of spirits or mixed spirit drink between 12 
noon on Sunday and 2 a.m. on Monday shall be deposited with the state treasurer in a special fund 
to be used only by the department of public health in programs for the treatment of alcoholics. Any 
other revenue resulting from the additional $160.00 license fee as described in section 1114 for 
sales of alcoholic liquor permitted under sections 1111 and 1113 shall be deposited into the general 
fund. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998; Am. 2010, Act 213, Eff. December 1, 2010 
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CHAPTER 12 
 

436.2201 Imposition of tax; levy; collection; computations; deposit of proceeds; 
general fund; inventory. 

 
Sec. 1201.  
 

(1) In addition to any taxes imposed by law, there is imposed and levied upon and collected a specific 
tax equal to 4% of the retail selling price of spirits. The commission shall collect the tax at the time 
of sale by the commission. For a sale to a licensee, the tax must be computed on the retail selling 
price established by the commission under section 233 without allowance of discount under section 
233. 

(2) Upon collection of the tax under subsection (1), the commission shall deposit the entire proceeds 
in the state treasury.  In each fiscal year, $15,000,000.00 of the proceeds deposited in the state 
treasury must be allocated to the secondary road patrol and training fund created in section 629e 
of the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.629e, and any remaining proceeds to the 
credit of the general fund. For the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, and each subsequent 
fiscal year, the state treasurer shall adjust the dollar amount under this subsection by the 
percentage increase in the Detroit Consumer Price Index for the preceding calendar year and round 
to the nearest $100.00 increment.  As used in this subsection, "Detroit Consumer Price Index" 
means the most comprehensive index of consumer prices available for the Detroit area from the 
United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. 

(3) If this section is repealed, every licensee, who has on hand any spirits on the effective date of the 
repeal, shall file a complete inventory of those spirits with the commission within 20 days after the 
repeal. The commission shall credit to the licensee an amount equal to 4% of the retail selling price 
of those spirits on future purchases of spirits from the commission. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998;-- Am. 2022, Act 190, Eff. Sept. 27, 2022 

 

436.2203 Imposition of tax; levy; collection; computation; deposit of proceeds; state 
school aid fund. 

 
Sec. 1203.  
 

(1) In addition to any and all taxes imposed by law, there is imposed, levied upon, and collected a 
specific tax equal to 4% retail selling price of spirits. The tax shall be collected by the commission 
at the time of sale by the commission. In the case of sales to licensees, the tax shall be computed 
on the retail selling price established by the commission without allowance of discount. 

(2) Upon collection, the commission shall deposit the entire proceeds in the state treasury, to the credit 
of the state school aid fund established by sections 8, 10, and 11 of article IX of the state 
constitution. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 

 

436.2207 Legislative findings and declarations; programs to promote tourism and 
convention business; acquisition of convention facilities; imposition of tax 
on spirits for consumption off premises; deposit of proceeds; convention 
facility development fund. 

 
Sec. 1207.  
 

(1) The legislature finds and declares that there exists in this state a continuing need for programs to 
promote tourism and convention business in order to assist in the prevention of unemployment and 
the alleviation of the conditions of unemployment, to preserve existing jobs, and to create new jobs 
to meet the employment demands of population growth. In order to achieve these purposes, it is 
necessary to assist and encourage local units of government to acquire, construct, improve, 
enlarge, renew, replace, repair, furnish, and equip convention facilities and the real property on 
which they are located. 
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(2) In addition to any other taxes imposed by law, there is imposed, levied upon, and collected a 
specific tax equal to 4% of the retail selling price of spirits for consumption on the premises. The 
tax shall be collected by the commission at the time of sale by the commission. In the case of sales 
to licensees, the tax shall be computed on the retail selling price established by the commission 
without allowance of discount. 

(3) In addition to any other taxes imposed by law, there is imposed, levied upon, and collected a 
specific tax equal to 4% of the retail selling price of spirits for consumption off the premises. The 
tax shall be collected by the commission at the time of the sale by the commission. 

(4) Upon collection, the commission shall deposit the proceeds of the taxes imposed pursuant to 
subsections (2) and (3) in the state treasury to the credit of the convention facility development fund 
created by the state convention facility development act, 1985 PA 106, MCL 207.621 to 207.640, 
for distribution and use only in the manner and for the purposes stated in that act. 

(5) The tax imposed by this act shall not be levied during any period in which the tax imposed pursuant 
to the state convention facility development act, 1985 PA 106, MCL 207.621 to 207.640, is not 
levied. 

(6) This section shall not be construed as making appropriations. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998 
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CHAPTER 13 
 

436.2301 Repeal of acts and parts of acts. 

 
Sec. 1301.  
 
The following acts and parts of acts are repealed: 

(a) The Michigan liquor control act, 1933 (Ex Sess) PA 8, MCL 436.1 to 436.58. 
(b) 1959 PA 94, MCL 436.101 to 436.103. 
(c) 1962 PA 218, MCL 436.121 to 436.125. 
(d) 1972 PA 213, MCL 436.131 to 436.133. 
(e) The tourism and convention facility promotion tax act, 1985 PA 107, MCL 436.141 to 436.148. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998. 

 

436.2303 Prior acts or rights; rules; predecessor commission; editorial changes; 
references to act. 

 
Sec. 1303. 
 

(1) This act does not impair or affect any act done, offense committed or right accruing, accrued or 
acquired, or penalty, forfeiture or punishment incurred prior to the time this act takes effect, but the 
same may be enjoyed, asserted, enforced, prosecuted or inflicted, as fully and to the same extent 
as if this act had not been passed. 

(2) When the commission is directed or authorized to promulgate rules by this act and rules exist on 
the date the requirement to promulgate rules takes effect, which rules the commission believes 
adequately cover the matter, the commission may determine that new rules are not required or 
may delay the promulgation of new rules until the commission considers it advisable. Those rules 
promulgated under former act 1933 (Ex Sess) PA 8 and in effect on the effective date of this act 
shall remain in effect until rescinded or otherwise changed according to law, as provided for in 
section 31 of the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 306, MCL 24.231. 

(3) In the case of the commission created pursuant to this act which was preceded by a commission 
with the same or similar name and functions, members of the predecessor commission shall 
continue in office for the duration of the terms of office for which they were appointed and with the 
new members appointed shall constitute the new commission. Members shall be appointed under 
this act only as terms of the former members expire or vacancies occur. Members of the 
predecessor commission may be appointed to the new commission to succeed themselves subject 
to the limits for any total period of service that may be set forth in this act. 

(4) It is the intention of the legislature that editorial changes in the language of the statutes recodified 
in this act not be construed as changes to the meanings of those statutes. 

(5) A reference in any other law to the Michigan liquor control act, 1933 (Ex Sess) PA 8, being MCL 
436.1 to 436.58, is considered to be a reference to this act. 

(6) A reference to a provision in former 1933 (Ex Sess) PA 8 is considered to be a reference to the 
successor provision in this act. A reference in any application, document, authorization, order, 
license, or other document issued or provided by the commission or its authorized agent to former 
1933 (Ex Sess) PA 8 is considered to be a reference to this act. 

History:  1998, Act 58, Imd. Eff. Apr. 14, 1998.
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STATE OF MICHIGAN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 
 

SPECIAL LICENSES FOR SALE OF ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR AT RETAIL FOR 
CONSUMPTION ON PREMISES 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 215(1) of Act No. 58 of the Public Acts 
of 1998, as amended, being §436.1215(1) of the Michigan Compiled Laws) 
 

R 436.571 Rescinded. 

History:  1944 ACS 12; 1954 AC; 1979 AC;-Rescinded 1999 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.572 Definition. 

 
Rule 2.   
 
A special license authorizes a person to sell alcoholic liquor at retail for consumption on the premises only 
for a limited period of time. 

History:  1944 ACS 12; 1954 AC; 1979 AC;- 1999 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

Commission Note:  Special license to sell beer, wine or spirits is defined under MCL 436.1111(13) and referred to under MCL 436.1537(1)(h). 

 

R 436.573 Rescinded. 

History:  1944 ACS 12; 1944 ACS 30; 1954 AC; 1979 AC;-Rescinded 1999 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.574 Application limited to nonprofit organizations; profits. 

 
Rule 4.   
 
Only a nonprofit organization may apply for a special license.  All profits derived from the sale of alcoholic 
liquor must go to the organization itself and not to any individual. 

History:  1944 ACS 12; 1954 AC; 1979 AC; 1999 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.575 Applications. 

 
Rule 5.   
 
An applicant shall ensure that its application for a special license is received in the offices of the Michigan 
liquor control commission, Lansing, Michigan, not less than 10 days before the date the license is desired.  
The president and secretary of the organization making application shall sign the application in the presence 
of 2 witnesses and the signatures shall be notarized.  Further, an applicant shall submit, with the application, 
an affidavit showing the length of time the organization has been in existence. 

History:  1944 ACS 12; 1944 ACS 30; 1954 AC; 1979 AC;- 1999 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.576 Resolution. 

 
Rule 6.   
 
A certified copy of the resolution of the membership or board of directors authorizing the application must 
accompany the application to the commission. 

History:  1944 ACS 12; 1954 AC; 1979 AC. 
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R 436.577 Approval of sheriff or chief of police required. 

 
Rule 7.   
 
The written approval of the sheriff or chief of police under whose jurisdiction the premises proposed to be 
licensed are located must be obtained upon the application before having the bond executed. 

History:  1944 ACS 12; 1954 AC; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.578 Rescinded. 

History:  1944 ACS 12; 1954 AC; 1979 AC; Rescinded 1999MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 
 

R 436.579 Place and time of operation. 

 
Rule 9.   
 
The special license may be used only at the premises for which issued and only during the time stipulated 
on the license. 

History:  1944 ACS 12; 1954 AC; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.580 Rescinded. 

History:  1944 ACS 12; 1954 AC; 1979 AC; Rescinded 1999 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.581 Rescinded. 

History:  1944 ACS 12; 1944 ACS 30; 1954 AC; 1979 AC; Rescinded 1999 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 
 

R 436.582 Special licensee source of purchase options. 

 
Rule 12.  
 

(1) A special licensee may purchase spirits from a licensed specially designated distributor at the 
uniform sales price set by the commission. 

(2) A special licensee may purchase beer and wine from any of the following entities: 
(a) A licensed specially designated merchant. 
(b) A licensed wholesaler. 
(c) A licensed Michigan wine maker or small wine maker. 

(3) A special licensee may purchase mixed spirit drink from a specially designated distributor or from 
a licensed wholesaler. 

History:  1999 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 
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GENERAL RULES 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 215(1) of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1215(1) 
and Executive Reorganization Order No. 2011-4, MCL 445.2030) 
 

R 436.1001 Definitions. 

 
Rule 1. 
 

(1) As used in these rules: 
(a) "Act" means 1998 P.A. 58, MCL 436.1101 to 436.2203. 
(b) “Broker” means a person, other than an individual, that is licensed by the commission and that 

is employed or otherwise retained by any of the following entities to sell, promote or otherwise 
assist in the sale or promotion of alcoholic liquor: 

(i) A manufacturer. 
(ii) A vendor of spirits. 
(iii) An outstate seller of beer. 
(iv) An outstate seller of wine. 
(v) An outstate seller of mixed spirit drink. 
(vi) A manufacturer of mixed spirit drink. 
(vii) A wholesaler. 

(c) “Co-licensee” means 1 of 2 or more persons whose names appear on any single license issued 
by the commission, except for a person whose name appears on the license in a fiduciary 
capacity.  All co-licensees on a single license are considered a partnership for purposes of the 
act and these rules. 

(d) “Cooperative advertising" means a joint effort between licensees or vendors of spirits to 
advertise alcoholic liquor. 

(e) “Department store” means a retail store that has all of the following: 
More than 15,000 square feet. 
(i) A minimum of 4 separate and distinct major departments that include at least 1 of the 
stores listed in R 436.1129(1)(a) to (g). 
(ii) A minimum inventory of $250,000.00, at cost. 

(f) "Drive-in" or "drive-through" means an establishment that allows the sale of alcoholic liquor to 
a retail customer through a service window or similar aperture without requiring the retail 
customer to exit his or her vehicle to make the purchase and includes an establishment that 
allows the retail customer to drive in or through any enclosed building or structure and make a 
purchase of alcoholic liquor without requiring the retail customer to exit his or her vehicle. 

(g) “Drive-up or walk-up window” means a service window, door, or other aperture through which 
a customer may purchase merchandise without that customer entering the licensed premises. 

(h) “Driver helper” means a person who is not less than 18 years of age and who accompanies 
and assists, and who may only accompany and assist, a licensed salesperson in delivering 
alcoholic liquor to a retail licensee. 

(i) "Licensed premises" means any portion of a building, structure, room, or enclosure on real 
estate that is owned, leased, used, controlled, or operated by a licensee in the conduct of the 
business at the location for which the licensee is licensed by the commission, except when 
otherwise specified by commission rule or written commission order. 

(j) "Licensee" means the person to whom a license is issued by the commission to manufacture, 
sell, import, warehouse, deliver, or promote, or otherwise assist in the sale of, alcoholic liquor. 

(k) "Major thoroughfare" means a street or highway which is primarily for through traffic and which 
has not less than 4 lanes of traffic, excluding any lanes that are used primarily for turning 
purposes and any lanes in which parking is allowed at any time.   

(l) "Neighborhood shopping center" means 1 commercial establishment, or a group of commercial 
establishments organized or operated as a unit, which is related in location, size, and type of 
shop to the trade area that the unit serves and which consists of not less than 50,000 square 
feet of leasable retail space and has access to off-street parking spaces. 

(m) "Off-premises licensee" means a person who is licensed by the commission to sell alcoholic 
liquor at retail for consumption off the licensed premises. 
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(n) "On-premises licensee" means a person who is licensed by the commission to sell alcoholic 
liquor at retail for consumption on the licensed premises. 

(o) "Permit" means a contract between the commission and a licensee granting authority to the 
licensee to perform the functions defined in the act or commission rules for a specific permit. 

(p) "Privately held corporation" means a corporation that does not trade its stock on a stock 
exchange or in over-the-counter transactions.  A subsidiary of a corporation that trades its stock 
on a stock exchange or in over-the-counter transactions is not a privately held corporation. 

(q) "Public room" means a room that is open for use by the general public for eating, drinking, or 
amusement.  "Public room" does not mean any of the following: 

(i) A restroom. 
(ii) A kitchen. 
(iii) A storage room. 
(iv) An office. 
(v) A boiler room. 
(vi) A hallway. 
(vii) A landing. 
(viii) A stairway. 
(ix) An elevator. 
(x) A dance floor. 
(xi) A stage. 
(xii) An area similar to the areas specified in this subdivision. 

(r) "Release" means a document in which written permission is granted by the commission to ship 
alcoholic liquor into this state. 

(s) "Salesperson" means a person who is employed by any of the following entities and who is 
licensed by the commission to sell, deliver, or promote, or otherwise assist in the sale of, 
alcoholic liquor in this state: 

(i) A vendor of spirits. 
(ii) A broker. 
(iii) A manufacturer of beer or wine. 
(iv) An outstate seller of beer or wine. 
(v) A wholesaler. 

(t) "Sample of alcoholic liquor" means a container that bears the word "sample" and is not more 
than 1.75 liters or 59.17 United States fluid ounces.  If a product is not available in a container 
of 1.75 liter or less, then the next larger size may be substituted.  However, a container shall 
not be more than 3 liters. 

(u) “Sports/entertainment venue” means a facility that is licensed to sell alcoholic liquor for on-
premises consumption, has a seating capacity of 4,500 or more, is primarily used for sporting 
events or other entertainment, and is not located on the campus of a 2- or 4-year college or 
university. 

(v) "Temporary bin display" means a freestanding device that is constructed of any material that 
is used for the exhibition of beer, wine, or spirits on the premises of a retail licensee who is 
licensed for off-premises sales only and that must be removed from the retail licensed premises 
not later than 120 days after installation. 

(w) "Vendor representative" means a person who is licensed by the commission and who is 
authorized by a manufacturer of beer or wine, an outstate seller of beer or wine, or a vendor of 
spirits to represent the respective employer or principal in transactions with the commission. 

(2) Terms defined in the act have the same meanings when used in these rules. 
(3) Terms defined in the act and these rules have the same meanings when used in rules previously 

or hereafter promulgated by the commission. 
 
History:  1979 AC; 1982 AACS; 1984 AACS; 1985 AACS; 1986 AACS; 1987 AACS; 1994 AACS; 1998-2000 AACS; 2003 AACS; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016 
 

R 436.1003 Building and health laws, rules, and ordinances. 

 
Rule 3. 
 

(1) A licensee shall comply with all state and local building, plumbing, zoning, sanitation, and health 
laws, rules, and ordinances as determined by the state and local law enforcement officials who 
have jurisdiction over the licensee. 
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(2) A licensee shall not use a license at the licensed premises unless a temporary or permanent 
certificate of occupancy has been issued by the local unit of government having jurisdiction over 
the location of the licensed premises or the licensed premises complies with the requirements in 
subrule (1) of this rule. 
 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
 

R 436.1005 Rescinded. 
 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981;-Rescinded 2008, PA 11, Imd. Eff. Feb. 29, 2008. 
 

R 436.1007 Records; maintenance. 

 
Rule 7.   
 

(1) A licensee shall maintain accurate records of alcoholic liquor purchases and sales. 
(2) A licensee shall maintain records sufficient to determine ownership of the licensed business and 

to whom the profits or losses of the business accrue. 
(3) The records required by this rule shall be maintained for a 4-year period of time. 

 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 
 

R 436.1009 Rescinded. 
 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981;-Rescinded 2008, PA 11, Imd. Eff. Feb. 29, 2008. 
 

R 436.1011 Prohibited conduct of licensees, agents, or employees. 

 
Rule 11.   
 

(1) The clerk, servant, agent, or employee of a licensee shall not engage in an illegal occupation or 
illegal act on the licensed premises.  A certified copy of a conviction is prima facie evidence of a 
violation. 

(2) A licensee, an officer of a licensed corporation, a stockholder of a privately held corporation, or a 
member or manager of a limited liability company shall not, on or off its licensed premises, commit 
any of the following: 

(a) A felony.  
(b) A crime involving the excessive use of alcoholic liquor. 
(c) A crime involving gambling, prostitution, weapons, violence, tax evasion, fraudulent 

activity, or controlled substances. 
(d) A misdemeanor that impairs, or may impair, the ability of the person to operate the licensed 

business in a safe and competent manner. 
(e) Any of the offenses specified in this subrule which results in sentencing after a plea of nolo 

contendere and for which the licensee is subject to the penalties in section 903 of the act.  
A certified copy of a conviction is prima facie evidence of a violation. 

(3) The provisions of subrules (1) and (2) of this rule apply to the person, the officer of a corporate 
entity, the stockholder of a privately held corporate entity, or the member or manager of a limited 
liability entity of the person named as a participant on the licensee’s participation permit. 

(4) A licensee, or the clerk, servant, agent, or employee of the licensee, shall not threaten, hinder or 
obstruct a law enforcement officer or commission inspector or investigator in the course of making 
an investigation or inspection of the premises and shall not refuse, fail, or neglect to cooperate with 
a law enforcement officer or a commission inspector or investigator in the performance of his or her 
duties to enforce the act or commission rules. 

(5) A licensee, or the clerk, servant, agent, or employee of a licensee, shall not impersonate a 
commission employee, a commission investigator, or a law enforcement officer empowered to 
enforce the act or commission rules. 

(6) A licensee, or the clerk, servant, agent, or employee of the licensee, shall not do any of the 
following: 

(a) Allow, on the licensed premises, the annoying or molesting of customers or employees by 
other customers or employees without taking prompt, effective action to prevent and stop 
the annoying or molesting of customers or employees. 



1000-4 

(b) Knowingly allow the licensed premises to be used by any person for the purposes of 
accosting or soliciting another person to commit prostitution. 

(c) Allow, on the licensed premises, fights, brawls, or the improper use of firearms, knives, or 
other weapons without taking prompt, effective action to prevent and stop the fights, brawls, 
or the improper use of firearms, knives, or other weapons. 

(d) Allow the sale, possession, or consumption on the licensed premises of any controlled 
substances that are prohibited by 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.1101 to 333.25211 without taking 
prompt, effective action to prevent and stop the sale, possession, or consumption on the 
licensed premises of any controlled substances that are prohibited by 1978 PA 368, MCL 
333.1101 to 333.25211. 

(e) Allow narcotics paraphernalia to be used, stored, exchanged, or sold on the licensed 
premises.  

(7) A retail licensee shall not sell any alcoholic liquor off the licensed premises, except as follows: 
(a) An on-premises licensee may provide out-of-doors service if done in accord with the 

provisions of R 436.1419. 
(b) An off-premises licensee may deliver a preordered quantity of alcoholic liquor to a 

customer; however, the licensee shall not make a delivery to a customer on the campus of 
a 2- or 4-year college or university, unless the customer is licensed by the commission. 

(c) An off-premises licensee may provide out-of-doors service if done in accord with the 
provisions of R 436.1521. 

 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 1979 ACS 16, Eff. Nov. 15, 1983; 1985 12, Eff. Jan. 1, 1986; 1994 MR 12, Eff. Dec. 16, 1995; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000’-MR 10, 
Eff. May 30, 2003; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
 

R 436.1012 Business entities dissolved, terminated, expired, revoked, or otherwise not 
in good standing. 

 
Rule 12.   
 

(1) A licensed business entity that is dissolved, terminated, expired, revoked, or otherwise not in good 
standing in this state, shall not sell, offer for sale, furnish, or allow the consumption of alcoholic 
liquor on the licensed premises from the date the licensed business entity is dissolved, terminated, 
expired or otherwise not in good standing until the date the licensee provides to the commission a 
certificate of good standing from the corporations, securities, and commercial licensing bureau. 
Electronic documentation from the state of Michigan’s business entity search is prima facia 
evidence of a business entity’s dissolution, termination, expiration, revocation, or lack of good 
standing in this state. 

(2) The licensee’s licenses and permits shall be suspended until the date the licensee provides to the 
commission a certificate of good standing from the corporation, securities, and commercial 
licensing bureau. 

(3) The commission shall not renew the licenses and permits of a licensee for active operation, whose 
licensed business entity is dissolved, terminated, expired, revoked, or otherwise not in good 
standing from this state. The license shall also be immediately suspended by written order of the 
commission and the licensee shall have 60 days from the date of the order to provide a certificate 
of good standing from the corporations, securities, and commercial licensing bureau or provide a 
written request to place the license in escrow. If the licensee fails to provide a certificate of good 
standing or a written request to place the license in escrow within 60 days of the date of the order, 
then the license shall be cancelled without further order of the commission. A license in escrow 
shall not be released for active operation until the licensee provides a certificate of good standing 
from the state. The licensee may apply for another license if the license is cancelled under this 
subrule. 

(4) For purposes of this rule, “business entity” means any person as defined in section 111(1) of 1998 
PA 58, MCL 436.1111(1). 
 

History:  2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
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R 436.1013 Rescinded. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981;-Rescinded 2008, Act 11, Imd. Eff. Feb. 29, 2008. 
 

R 436.1015 Display of license and permit. 

 
Rule 15. 
   

(1) Licenses issued by the commission shall be signed by the licensee, shall be framed under a 
transparent material, and shall be prominently displayed in the licensed premises. 

(2) Permits and permissions issued by the commission to a licensee shall be framed under a 
transparent material and shall be prominently displayed in the licensed premises adjacent to the 
liquor license. 

 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
 

R 436.1017 Rescinded. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981-Rescinded 2008, Act 11, Imd. Eff. Feb. 29, 2008. 
 

R 436.1019 Contests. 

 
Rule 19.   
 
A licensee shall not participate in or sponsor any contest that requires the use or consumption of alcoholic 
liquor or features alcoholic liquor as a prize in connection with a contest. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 
 

R 436.1021 Sale to licensed truck driver salesman. 

 
Rule 21.   
 
A licensee shall not knowingly sell, give, or furnish alcoholic liquor to a licensed truck driver salesman who 
is employed by a licensee while the truck driver is on duty or in the course of employment. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 
 

R 436.1023 Transfer of location of licensed premises; alteration of premises; lease, sale, 
or transfer of premises. 

 
Rule 23.  
 

(1) A licensee shall not transfer the location of the licensed premises without the prior written approval 
of the commission. 

(2) A licensee shall not, without the prior written approval of the commission, do any of the following: 
(a) Add or drop any space to or from the physical structure of the licensed premises. 
(b) If the licensee holds a class C or B hotel license, install any additional bars. 
(c) Redefine the licensed premises to add space to the licensed premises if the space being 

added is not connected to the existing physical structure either temporarily or permanently, 
unless all of the following conditions are met: 

(i) The redefined space is located on property owned or controlled by the licensee 
by ownership or lease. 

(ii) The redefined space is located in the same city, village, or township as the 
licensed premises. 

(iii) The redefined space is not separated from the licensed premises by a public 
street, road, highway, or alley under the control of the state highway commission, 
county, city, village, or township. 

(iv)The redefined space is operated by the licensee, its employees, or agents. 
(v) The redefined space is operated as an extension of the licensed premises and not 

for a separate business use or purpose. 
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(d) A request to add or drop space to the licensed premises shall exclude areas where outdoor 
service approval is required as prescribed in R 436.1419. 

(3) A licensee shall not lease, sell, or transfer possession of a portion of the licensed premises without 
the prior written approval of the commission. 
 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
 

R 436.1025 Storing of alcoholic liquor. 

 
Rule 25. 
 
A licensee shall not allow alcoholic liquor to be kept or stored off the licensed premises, except upon prior 
written order of the commission. If the commission issues an order allowing a licensee to keep or store 
alcoholic liquor off the licensed premises, the licensee shall ensure that the storage area is under the 
exclusive control of the licensee, locked and secured at all times, and shall make the storage area available 
for inspection and search by a commission investigator or law enforcement officer empowered to enforce 
the rules. 
 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
 

R 436.1027 Confiscation and impoundment of alcoholic liquor. 

 
Rule 27. 
 

(1) The commission or a law enforcement officer may seize suspected adulterated alcoholic liquor for 
analytical purposes. 

(2) The commission inspector or a law enforcement officer may confiscate or impound alcoholic liquor 
that does not comply with the act or commission rules. 

(3) The commission may impound alcoholic liquor that is damaged by fire, water, chemicals, smoke, 
floods, explosion, freezing, sewage, or other causes affecting quality or merchantable value.  Once 
impounded, damaged alcoholic liquor shall not be used, sold, moved, or destroyed without the prior 
written approval of the commission. 

(4) The commission may impound alcoholic liquor of a licensee by written order. 
 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
 

R 436.1029 Orders of commission. 

 
Rule 29.   
 
A licensee shall not fail, refuse, or neglect to obey any written order of the commission or an individual 
commissioner issued relative to the operation of his or her licensed establishment. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1031 Sales prohibited during periods of suspension; notice of suspension. 

 
Rule 31.   
 

(1) A licensee shall not sell, offer for sale, furnish, consume, or allow the consumption of, alcoholic 
liquor on the licensed premises during the period that the license is suspended by the commission 
or an individual commissioner. 

(2) During the time of suspension of a license by the commission, the notice of the suspension shall 
be continuously posted in a conspicuous place on the licensed premises in full view of the public. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

R 436.1033 Rescinded. 
 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981;-Rescinded 2008, Act 11, Imd. Eff. Feb. 29, 2008. 
 
 

R 436.1035 Rescinded. 
 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
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R 436.1037 Rescinded. 
 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2003 MR 10, Eff. May 30, 2003. 
 

R 436.1039 Living quarters in connection with licensed premises; other direct 
connections to licensed premises. 

 
Rule 39.   
 

(1) A licensee shall not have an inside connection between the licensed premises and an unlicensed 
portion of the same building or another building without the prior written approval of the commission. 

(2) A licensee, except for a hotel or club licensee, shall not have living quarters connected with the 
licensed premises, unless a living quarters permit is granted by the commission. 

(3) If a living quarters permit is granted by the commission to a licensee, alterations shall not be made 
in the connections between the living quarters and the licensed premises, unless written permission 
is granted by the commission. 

 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
 

R 436.1041 Obtaining a license for use or benefit of another; participation permits. 

 
Rule 41. 
 

(1) A licensee or an applicant for a license shall not obtain or attempt to obtain a license for the use or 
benefit of another person whose name does not appear on the license.  In addition, a licensee shall 
not allow a person whose name does not appear on the license to use or benefit from the license. 

(2) The provisions of subrule (1) of this rule do not apply to a participating agreement where the 
commission approves a participating agreement after a showing of good cause and issues a 
participation permit to the licensee. 

(3) Upon written application of the licensee, the commission may issue a participation permit to a 
licensee who meets all of the following qualifications: 

(a) The non-licensed person who receives use or benefit from the licensee’s license or who 
receives gross sales or net profits from a licensed business shall meet the same 
qualifications as a licensee as prescribed by R 436.1105(1)(a) and (2) and shall be 
considered an agent of the licensee as prescribed in R 436.1011. 

(b) The licensee shall submit a copy of the participation agreement with the application. The 
agreement shall include the term of the agreement and the percent or amount of sales to 
be received by the non-licensed person. 

(c) The non-licensed person or spouse is not ineligible to be issued a license under section 
523(1) of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1523(1). 

(d) The licensee makes application and either cancels an existing participation permit or 
receives approval by the commission for a new participation permit before adding or 
deleting any participating non-licensed person.  For the purposes of this subrule, the 
addition or deletion of a participant shall not constitute a transfer of interest in a license. 

(e) As used in this subrule, “non-licensed person” means a person as defined in section 111(1) 
of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1111(1). 

 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981;-MR 10, Eff. May 30, 2003; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
 

R 436.1043 Liquor analysis. 

 
Rule 43.   
 
The commission may order random analysis of a brand of alcoholic liquor sold or offered for sale in this 
state. 
 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb 3, 1981; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
 
 
 



1000-8 

R 436.1045 Rescinded. 

 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 1992 MR 6, Eff. July 15, 1992; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016; Rescinded 2022 MR 13, Eff. July 11, 
2022 (Pursuant to PA 136 of 2022). 
 
 

R 436.1047 Return of licenses and permits. 

 
Rule 47.   
 
A licensee who ceases active operation of the licensed business for a period of more than 30 days shall 
return all current licenses and permits to the commission to be placed into escrow. The license or licenses 
that the licensee returns under this rule shall be the actual license printed and issued by the commission 
and not a copy of the actual license printed and issued by the commission. For purposes of this rule, “ceases 
active operation” does not include seasonal businesses that are both of the following: 

(a) In compliance with the requirements of section 535 of the act, MCL 436.1535. 
(b) Considered seasonal employers under section 27(o)(9)(d) of 1936 PA 1, MCL 

421.27(o)(9)(d). 
 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb 3, 1981; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
 

R 436.1048 Renewal of licenses. 

 
Rule 48. 
 

(1) A license, and any permits or approvals, shall be renewed each year by April 30 following the date 
of issuance. 

(2) The licensee has a continuing duty to provide the commission with up-to-date contact information 
and must notify the commission in writing of any changes to its mailing address, phone numbers, 
electronic mail address, and other contact information it provides the commission. 

 
History:  2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
 

R 436.1049 Transfer of license or corporate stock while an alleged violation is pending 
final disposition. 

 
Rule 49. 
 

(1) If the licensee has been cited in a violation report, a transfer of a license shall not be completed 
before final disposition of the alleged violation. 

(2) If the licensee has been cited in a violation report, a transfer of more than 10% in the aggregate of 
the stock of a licensed corporation or a transfer of 10% or more in the aggregate of the membership 
in a limited liability company shall not be completed before final disposition of the alleged violation. 

(3) A licensee shall not transfer a license, transfer an interest in a license, or remove a license from 
escrow with the commission until that licensee has paid all outstanding fines, fees, or charges 
levied by the commission, except upon prior written order of the commission. 

 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981;-2003 MR 10, Eff. May 30, 2003. 
 

R 436.1050  Approval orders; cancellations. 

 
Rule 50.   
 
If the commission approves an application, the approval is valid for 2 years from the date of the commission 
approval order. If the applicant or licensee has not met all of the requirements set forth in the commission 
approval order within 2 years from the date of the approval order, then the approval order is vacated unless 
the commission has been provided with a notice of pending litigation involving the application. The person 
whose approval is vacated may submit a new application. 
 
History:  2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
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R 436.1051  Notice of changes affecting control of privately held corporation or limited 
liability company. 

 
Rule 51.  
 

(1) A privately held licensed corporation shall immediately notify the commission in writing of changes 
made in its officers or directors or of amendments made to the articles of incorporation. 

(2) A limited liability company shall immediately notify the commission, in writing, of changes made in 
its managers or assignees or of amendments made to the articles of organization, operating 
agreement, or bylaws. 

 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981;-2003 MR 10, Eff. May 30, 2003; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
 

R 436.1053 Proof of loss or destruction of a license or permit. 

 
Rule 53.  
 

(1) To prove the loss or destruction of a license or permit, a licensee shall make a written statement 
as to the loss or destruction and shall file it with the commission. 

(2) The written statement shall include a detailed description of the circumstances concerning the loss 
or destruction of the license or permit and shall be accompanied by any remaining part of the 
license. 

(3) The written statement shall be signed by the licensee. 
 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
 

R 436.1055 Sale of alcoholic liquor below cost prohibited; exception. 

 
Rule 55. 
 
A retail licensee shall not sell alcoholic liquor to a customer for less than the cost of the alcoholic liquor to 
the retail licensee, except upon prior written commission order. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1057 Rescinded. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981;-2003 MR 10, Eff. May 30, 2003. 
 

R 436.1059 Dishonored payment. 

 
Rule 59. 
 

(1) A licensee, or the clerk, servant, agent, or employee of a licensee, shall not make payment to the 
commission or the state of Michigan by any means that will be dishonored by a financial institution 
for lack of sufficient funds or for any other reason. 

(2) If a licensee makes 5 or more dishonored payments under subrule (1) of this rule in a 24-month 
consecutive period, then the commission shall, in a written order, require the licensee to make 
payments to the commission by cash or other means required by the commission for a period of 
not less than 6 months. 

(3) If a licensee received an order from the commission issued under subrule (2) of this rule, and the 
licensee then makes any additional dishonored payments within 36 months from the last 
dishonored payment, then the commission shall require the licensee, in a written order, to make 
payments to the commission by cash or other means required by the commission for a period of 
not less than 6 months for each subsequent dishonored payment. 

 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
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R 436.1060 Server training, requirements. 

 
Rule 60.  
 

(1) As used in this rule, all terms and phrases shall have the same meaning as defined in Section 
906(1) of the act. 

(2) If the commission conditionally approves the issuance of a license for the purpose of meeting the 
server training requirements of that approval, then the time period allowed for meeting the server 
training requirements shall commence on the date the license is issued. 

(3) An administrator of a server training program approved by the commission shall administer a 
comprehensive examination to participants of the program, including individuals seeking 
certification as instructors within the program.  The examination shall thoroughly test the individual’s 
knowledge and competency in the curriculum topics required by section 906(6) of the act.  The 
minimum passing grade for the examination, for instructor certification, and for all other participants 
in the program shall be not less than 70%, but shall be not less than 85% for instructors if 
administered the same examination as other participants in the program.  Examinations 
administered in other than a written form must be approved by the commission.  Examination may 
be proctored by someone other than a certified instructor of the server training program if the 
proctor is an agent of the administrator of the server training program and is acceptable to the 
commission. 

(4) If server training or instructor training is conducted by the administrator of a server training program 
approved by the commission by means other than classroom training, then the alternative training 
method must first be approved by the commission. 

(5) Certification issued by the administrator of an approved server training program for instructors and 
other participants shall expire not more than 3 years from the date of issuance. 

(6) A licensee, for purposes of meeting the requirements of section 906(10) of the act, shall have 
employed or have present on the licensed premises on each shift and during all hours alcoholic 
liquor is served supervisory personnel who maintain active, unexpired server training certification 
or current recognition by a server training program approved by the commission. 

 
History:  Added 2003, MR 10, Eff. May 30, 2003. 
 

R 436.1061  Grounds for suspension or revocation of a permit or privilege. 

 
Rule 61.   
 
Any permit issued to a licensee by the commission or any privilege granted to a licensee by the 
commission may be revoked or suspended by the commission or a hearing commissioner, after due 
notice and proper hearing, if the licensee or the establishment no longer qualifies for the permit or the 
privilege or if the licensee is found to be in violation of the act or a commission rule which directly pertains 
to the permit issued or the privilege granted. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1062 Facsimile and electronic transmissions. 

 
Rule 62.   
 

(1) The commission may accept documents and filings, including documents and filings requiring 
signature, by facsimile (fax) communication equipment, or other electronic means, if the documents 
and filings are transmitted in accordance with this rule and pursuant to procedures for fax 
transmissions or communications by other electronic means that the commission may establish by 
prior written order. 

(2) All documents and filings submitted under this rule shall be on 8 1/2 inch x 11 inch standard paper 
and shall be legible. 

(3) A special license, as defined in section 111(11) of the act, MCL 436.1111(11), may be transmitted 
by facsimile or other electronic means to the special licensee for use and display during the effective 
dates of the license for good cause shown. 

(4) The commission may transmit a license or permit, other than a special license, to a licensee by 
facsimile or other electronic means for good cause shown if the facsimile or other copy of the 
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license bears an expiration date that allows its use and display for a maximum of 20 business days 
after the actual license or permit is mailed to the licensee. 

(5) The commission shall not transmit a license or permit by facsimile or other electronic means to a 
licensee unless all required documents have been received in the commission’s Lansing office and 
all applicable fees for the license or permit, or both, have been paid. 

(6) Documents and filings received by the commission under this rule after 4 p.m. are considered filed 
on the next business day. 

(7) A cover sheet shall accompany any facsimile transmission to the commission. The cover sheet 
shall include all of the following information: 

(a) The name, electronic mail address, facsimile number, and telephone number of the sender. 
(b) The title or description of the document or filing being transmitted. 
(c) Any application or file number pertaining to the document or filing being transmitted. 

(8) Information sent to the commission by electronic means  shall include all of the following 
information: 

(a) The name, electronic mail address, facsimile number, and telephone number of the sender. 
(b) The title or description of the document or filing being transmitted. 
(c) Any application or file number pertaining to the document or filing being transmitted. 

(9) Notwithstanding subrule (1) of this rule, the commission may refuse to accept the facsimile 
transmission or other electronic transmission of a document the commission determines requires 
an original signature.  

(10) A facsimile transmission or other electronic transmission accepted by the commission under this 
rule and certified by an agent of the commission is considered an original for all purposes and is 
admissible in evidence in like manner as an original. 

 
History: 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2016 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 13, 2016. 
  

R 436.1063 Rescissions. 

 
Rule 63.  
 
R 436.1 to R 436.4, R 436.6 to R 436.18, R 436.19(1) to R 436.41, R 436.51 to R 436.64, R 436.66 to R 
436.67(2), R 436.69 to R 436.81, R 436.91 to R 436.126, R 436.544, R 436.601, R 436.1101, R 436.1301, 
R 436.1701, and R 436.1851 of the Michigan Administrative Code, appearing on pages 4484 to 4506, 4509, 
4511, 4520, 4529, and 4538 of the 1979 Michigan Administrative Code, and pages 153 to 155 of Quarterly 
Supplement No. 1 to the 1979 Michigan Administrative Code, are rescinded. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 
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LICENSING QUALIFICATIONS 
 

(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 215(1) of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1215(1) 
and Executive Reorganization Order No. 2011-4, MCL 445.2030) 
 

R 436.1101 Rescinded. 
 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC; rescinded 1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 
 

R 436.1103 Application for license; forms; required information. 

 
Rule 3. 
 

(1) An application for a license shall be made to the commission in Lansing on forms approved by the 
commission. 

(2) An applicant for a license shall provide to the commission, or representatives of the commission, 
all information necessary for investigation and processing of the application. 

History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1105 Application for license; denial; grounds. 

 
Rule 5. 
 

(1) An applicant for a license shall provide evidence in the application of, or demonstrate at a hearing, 
all of the following: 

(a) Any of the following: 
(i) If an individual, that the applicant is the legal age for the consumption of alcoholic 

liquor in this state. 
(ii) If a partnership, that all partners are the legal age for the consumption of alcoholic 

liquor in this state.   
(iii) If a privately held corporation, that all stockholders are the legal age for the 

consumption of alcoholic liquor in this state, unless the stock of the stockholders 
is held in a fiduciary relationship. 

(iv) If a limited liability company, that all members are the legal age for the consumption 
of alcoholic liquor in this state.  

(b) The existence of adequate legitimate and verifiable financial resources for the 
establishment and operation of the proposed licensed business in proportion to the type 
and size of the proposed licensed business. 

(c) The existence of an adequate physical plant or plans for an adequate physical plant 
appropriate for the type and size of the proposed licensed business. 

(d) That the location of the proposed licensed business shall adequately service the public. 
(2) The commission shall consider all of the following factors in determining whether an applicant may 

be issued a license or permit: 
(a) The applicant's management experience in the alcoholic liquor business. 
(b) The applicant's general management experience. 
(c) The applicant's general business reputation. 
(d) The opinions of the local residents, local legislative body, or local law enforcement agency 

with regard to the proposed business. 
(e) The applicant's moral character. 
(f) The order in which the competing initial application forms are submitted to the commission; 

however, this subdivision shall not apply to an application for a resort license authorized 
by section 531 of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1531. 

(g) Past convictions of the applicant for any of the following: 
(i) A felony. 
(ii) A crime involving the excessive use of alcoholic liquor. 
(iii) A crime involving any of the following: 

(a) Gambling. 
(b) Prostitution. 
(c) Weapons. 
(d) Violence. 
(e) Tax evasion. 
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(f) Fraudulent activity. 
(g) Controlled substances. 

(iv) A misdemeanor of such a nature that it may impair the ability of the applicant to 
operate a licensed business in a safe and competent manner. 

(v) Sentencing for any of the offenses specified in this subrule after a plea of nolo 
contendere. 

(h) The applicant's excessive use of alcoholic liquor. 
(i) The effects that the issuance of a license would have on the economic development of the 

area. 
(j) The effects that the issuance of a license would have on the health, welfare, and safety of 

the general public. 
(3) An application for a new license, an application for any transfer of interest in an existing license, or 

an application for a transfer of location of an existing license shall be denied if the commission is 
notified, in writing, that the application does not meet all appropriate state and local building, 
plumbing, zoning, fire, sanitation, and health laws and ordinances as certified to the commission 
by the appropriate law enforcement officials.  The commission may accept a temporary or 
permanent certificate of occupancy for public accommodation issued by the appropriate officials as 
evidence of compliance with this subrule. 

 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC; 1985 MR 8, Eff. Aug. 22, 1985; 1994 MR 12, Eff. Dec. 16, 1995; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2004 MR 6, Eff. March 
24, 2004. 
 

R 436.1107 Renewal of license. 

 
Rule 7. 
 

(1) A license that is not in active operation shall be placed in escrow with the commission.  
(2) A licensee shall have only 5 licensing years after the expiration date of the escrowed license to put 

the license into active operation.   If the licensee fails to put the license into active operation within 
5 years after its expiration, then all rights to the license shall terminate unless the commission has 
received written verification of either of the following: 

(a) That the license or an  interest  in  the  license  is  the  subject  of litigation or estate or  
bankruptcy  proceedings  in  a  court  of  competent jurisdiction. 

(b) That the license was placed into escrow as a result of damage to the licensed premises by 
fire, flood, tornado or other natural event that makes the licensed premises unsuitable for 
the operation of the business and unsafe for public accommodation. 

(3) If the commission extends the length of time for which a licensee may renew the license during the 
pendency of litigation or estate  or  bankruptcy proceedings or as a result of damage to the licensed 
premises for the reasons as stated in subrule (2) of this  rule,  then  the  licensee  shall  pay  the 
required license fee for each  elapsed  licensing  year  before  placing  the license in active 
operation. 

(4) The commission may extend the length of time for which a licensee may renew the license upon 
written order of the commission after a showing of good cause. 

(5) Except as provided in subrule (3) of this rule, a license held in escrow with the commission shall 
be renewed in the same manner as an active license, including payment of all required license 
fees, each year by April 30. 

(6) A licensee who places a license in escrow with the commission shall be responsible for providing 
the commission with current contact information, in writing, for all correspondence, which includes 
the name, mailing address, and telephone number. 

(7) The commission shall provide or attempt to provide each licensee whose license is in escrow with 
a copy of this rule. 

(8) A license that is held in escrow with the commission on the effective date of this rule begins the 5-
year period allowed by subrule (2) of this rule on March 24, 2004. 

 
 History: 1979 AC; 2004 AACS; 2010 MR 8, Eff. Apr. 21, 2010. 
 

R 436.1109 Application for license by corporation; requirements. 

 
Rule 9. 
 

(1) A corporation applying for a license shall file with the commission all of the following, as applicable: 
(a) If incorporated outside of this state, a copy of its current articles of incorporation, a current 
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certificate of good standing from the state of incorporation, and a copy of the authorization 
to do business in this state issued by the Michigan department of labor and economic 
growth. 

(b) If a Michigan corporation, a copy of the current articles of incorporation as approved by the 
Michigan department of labor and economic growth. 

(c) A certified copy of the minutes of a meeting of its board of directors or a statement signed 
by an officer of the corporation naming the persons authorized by corporate resolution to 
sign the application and other documents required by the commission. 

(d) A signed statement providing the identity of its current corporate officers and the members 
of the board of directors. 

(e) A signed statement indicating whether or not the corporation is a privately held corporation.  
If the corporation is a privately held corporation, then it shall also file, with the commission, 
a signed statement that includes all of the following information: 

(i) The number of shares of stock that it has issued. 
(ii) To whom the stock was issued. 
(iii) The amount of stock issued to each stockholder. 
(iv) The date of the issuance of the stock. 
(v) The individual certificate numbers of the stock issued. 

(2) The commission shall not renew a license of a corporation unless the corporate charter is current. 
(3) The commission shall suspend the license of a corporation whose corporate charter is not current. 
(4) A corporate licensee applying for another license is required to meet the provisions of this rule only 

once if the licensee amends its filing to keep it current under this rule.   
 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2004 MR 6, Eff. Mar. 24, 2004. 
 

R 436.1110 Application for license by limited liability company; receipt of distributions by 
assignee of membership interest in company; approval for reorganization or 
realignment of company; transfer fee; notification of changes in managers, 
members, assignees, articles of organization, or operating agreement; 
investigation of company; company authorization to do business in state 
required. 

 
Rule 10. 
 

(1) A limited liability company applying for a license shall file all of the following items with the 
commission, as applicable: 

(a) If a foreign limited liability company, a copy of the certificate of authority issued by the 
Michigan department of labor and economic growth. 

(b) If a domestic limited liability company, a copy of the articles of organization filed with the 
Michigan department of labor and economic growth. 

(c) A copy of the operating agreement or agreements or bylaws entered into by the members 
under 1993 PA 23, MCL 450.4101 et seq. 

(d) A copy of any amendments to its articles of organization. 
(e) A copy of the most recent annual statement, if any, filed with the Michigan department of 

labor and economic growth. 
(f) A signed statement that includes the full names and addresses of its current members, 

managers, and assignees of membership interest. 
(g) A statement signed by a manager of the limited liability company or by at least 1 member 

if management is reserved to the members naming the person authorized to sign the 
application and other documents required by the commission.  If a foreign limited liability 
company, a person who has the authority to sign under the laws of the jurisdiction of its 
organization shall sign the statement and shall indicate the capacity in which the person 
signs the statement. 

(2) An assignee of any membership interest in a licensed limited liability company shall not receive the 
distributions to which the assignor would be entitled, unless the assignee has received the prior 
written approval of the commission. 

(3) Any reorganization or realignment of a limited liability company within a single licensing year that 
results in a transfer of more than 10% of the total interest in the limited liability company is 
considered a transfer requiring prior approval of the commission under section 529 of 1998 P.A. 
58, MCL 436.1529. 

(4) A transfer, in the aggregate, of 50% or more of the total interest in a limited liability company during 
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any licensing year shall, upon approval by the commission, require the payment of a transfer fee 
in accordance with section 529 of 1998 P.A. 58, MCL 436.1529. 

(5) A licensed limited liability company shall immediately notify the commission, in writing, of any 
change in any of the following: 

(a) Managers. 
(b) Members. 
(c) Assignees of membership interest. 
(d) Articles of organization. 
(e) Operating agreement. 

(6) The commission may investigate any transfer of interest in a limited liability company or any 
proposed member, manager, or assignee of membership interest in a limited liability company. 

(7) A licensed limited liability company shall be authorized to do business under the laws of this state. 
 
History: 1994 MR 12, Eff. Dec. 16, 1995; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2004 MR 6, Eff. Mar. 24, 2004. 

 

R 436.1111 Application for license by partnership; requirements. 

 
Rule 11. 
 

(1) Each general partner of a partnership shall sign the application, bond, and other papers filed in 
connection with securing a new license or transferring an existing license.  This requirement may 
be waived by the commission upon a showing of good cause. 

(2) A limited partnership applying for a license shall furnish a copy of the partnership agreement. 
 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC. 
 

R 436.1113 Wholesale license; minimum qualifications; corporate stock transfer. 

 
Rule 13. 
 

(1) Before the issuance of a wholesale license, an applicant shall meet all of the following minimum 
qualifications, as applicable: 

(a) The applicant shall hold the required basic permit issued under the federal alcohol 
administration act of 1935, 27 U.S.C., §201 et seq. 

(b) If an individual, the applicant shall be of good moral character; if a partnership, each partner 
shall be of good moral character; if a limited liability company, each member shall be of 
good moral character; or if a privately held corporation, all stockholders, officers, and 
members of the board of directors shall be of good moral character. 

(c) The applicant shall have facilities in which to store beer and wine on the licensed premises. 
(d) If an individual, submit his or her fingerprints; if a partnership, submit the fingerprints of 

each partner; if a limited liability company, submit the fingerprints of each member and 
manager who owns 10% or more of the total interest of the limited liability company; or if a 
privately held corporation, submit the fingerprints of stockholders who own 10% or more of 
the corporate stock and the fingerprints of all officers. 

(2) If a person who has not been fingerprinted by the commission applies to transfer to himself or 
herself 10% or more of the corporate stock, in the aggregate, of a privately held licensed wholesale 
corporation or 10% or more of the total interest, in the aggregate, of a wholesale limited liability 
company, then the commission shall investigate and fingerprint the person before the commission 
approves the stock transfer. 

History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 
 

R 436.1115 Retail license; minimum qualifications; corporate stock transfer. 

 
Rule 15. 
  

(1) Before the issuance of a retail license, an applicant shall meet both of the following minimum 
qualifications, if applicable: 

(a) If an applicant is an individual, the applicant shall be of good moral character; if an applicant 
is a partnership, each partner shall be of good moral character; if an applicant is a limited 
liability company, each member shall be of good moral character; and if an applicant is a 
privately held corporation, all stockholders, officers, and members of the board of directors 
shall be of good moral character. 
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(b) If an applicant is an individual, he or she shall submit fingerprints; if an applicant is a 
partnership, other than a limited partnership, the applicant shall submit the fingerprints of 
each partner; if an applicant is a limited partnership, the applicant shall submit the 
fingerprints of each general partner; if an applicant is a limited liability company, the 
applicant shall submit the fingerprints of each member and manager who owns 10% or 
more of the total interest of the limited liability company; and if an applicant is a privately 
held corporation, the applicant shall submit the fingerprints of those stockholders who own 
10% or more of the corporate stock. 

(2) If a person who is a stockholder in an applicant corporation and who has not been fingerprinted by 
the commission applies to transfer to himself or herself 10% or more of the corporate stock, in the 
aggregate, of a privately held licensed retail corporation, then the commission shall fingerprint and 
investigate the person before the commission grants approval of the stock transfer. 

(3) If a person who is a member of a limited liability company and who has not been fingerprinted by 
the commission applies to transfer to himself or herself 10% or more of the total interest in the retail 
licensed limited liability company, then the commission shall fingerprint and investigate the person 
before the commission grants approval of the transfer of interest. 

History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC; 1979 ACS 3, Eff. June 19, 1980; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.1117 Rescinded. 
 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000;  2004 MR 6, Eff. Mar. 24, 2004; 2017 MR 9, Eff. May 12, 2017. 
 

R 436.1119 Retail license; agreements. 

 
Rule 19. 
 

(1) An agreement to buy and sell a business licensed to sell alcoholic liquor at retail, wherein there is 
not a total cash transaction, and which includes both the personal property and the real estate, 
shall include a separate statement listing the personal property and the real estate and the terms 
and price of each. 

(2) A retail licensee shall not include alcoholic liquor in a security agreement or in a financing statement 
filed pursuant to Act No. 174 of the Public Acts of 1962, as amended, being §440.1101 et seq. of 
the Michigan Compiled Laws, and known as the uniform commercial code. 

 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC; 1984 MR 12, Eff. Jan. 12, 1985; 1987 MR 1, Eff. Jan. 31, 1987. 
 

R 436.1121 On-premises license; requirements. 

 
Rule 21. 
   

(1) An applicant for an on-premises license, except for a special license, shall have a minimum down 
payment of 10% of the purchase price of the proposed licensed business, excluding the real estate 
and any alcoholic liquor.  The commission may waive the down payment requirement upon a 
showing of good cause. 

(2) All funds used in purchasing the proposed licensed business shall belong to the applicant 
individually and shall come from any of the following approved sources: 

(a) Money accumulated by the applicant from legitimate and verifiable sources. 
(b) Money derived from state or federally approved lending institutions. 
(c) Gifts or loans, or both, derived from members of the applicant's immediate family, if the 

gifts or loans have come from other approved sources and the family member giving the 
gift or loan is of good moral character. 

(d) Loans derived from the federal veterans administration. 
(e) Any combination of the sources of funds specified in this subrule. 
(f) Any other source approved by the commission after a showing of good cause by the 

applicant. 
 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 
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R 436.1123 Resort license; minimum qualifications. 

 
Rule 23.   
 

(1) An applicant for a resort license or a resort economic development license that allows the 
consumption of alcoholic liquor on the premises shall meet 1 of the following minimum 
qualifications. 

(a) The proposed licensed establishment shall be in compliance with all of the following 
provisions: 

(i) Be a full service restaurant that is open to the public and prepares food on the 
premises. 

(ii) Have dining facilities to seat not less than 100 patrons unless exempted under 
section 531(3) of 1998 P.A. 58, MCL 436.1531(3). 

(iii) Be open for food service not less than 5 hours per day, 5 days per week. 
(iv) Not less than 50% of the gross receipts of the business are derived from the sale 

of food and beverages for consumption on the premises, not including the sale of 
alcoholic liquor.   

(b) The proposed licensed establishment has sleeping facilities with a minimum of 25 
bedrooms, meeting or conference rooms capable of accommodating not less than 200 
patrons, or convention facilities capable of accommodating not less than 200 persons. 

(c) The proposed licensed establishment is a sports/entertainment venue. 
(d) The proposed licensed establishment is located on a golf course which is open to the public 

and which has not less than 18 holes that, in total, measure not less than 5000 yards. 
(2) An applicant for a resort license or resort economic development license shall submit 2 pictures, 

measuring 5 inches by 7 inches, to the commission if the application is for a completed building.  
One picture shall show the interior of the proposed licensed establishment and 1 picture shall show 
the exterior of the proposed licensed establishment.  If the application is made for a proposed 
licensed establishment which is still to be constructed, then the applicant shall submit 1 copy of the 
floor plan of the proposed licensed establishment. 

 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC; 1985 MR 8, Eff. Aug. 22, 1985; 2004 MR 6, Eff. Mar. 24, 2004. 
 

R 436.1125 Resort license; limitation. 

 
Rule 25.   
 
The commission shall not consider issuing a resort license which allows the consumption of alcoholic 
liquor on the premises where an on-premises license is available under the quota provisions of the act.  
The commission may waive this rule upon a showing of good cause. 
 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC; 1985 MR 8, Eff. Aug. 22, 1985. 
 

R 436.1127 Club license; requirements. 

 
Rule 27.   
 

(1) An applicant for a club license shall file with the commission all of the following: 
(a) A certified copy of the resolution requesting a license adopted at a bona fide club meeting. 
(b) A copy of the constitution, charter, and bylaws of the club. 
(c) An affidavit certifying that there are no racial disqualifications for membership or guest 

privileges contained in the charter, constitution, franchise, bylaws, membership application, 
or related documents under which the club operates. 

(2) An applicant for a club license shall have its minutes recorded in English and available for 
inspection. 

 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC 
 
 
 
 
 
 



1100-7 

R 436.1129 Specially designated merchant license; issuance and transfer; limitation; 
waiver; applicability. 

 
Rule 29. 
 

(1) For the issuance of a new, or the transfer of location of an existing, specially designated merchant 
license, all of the following are approved types of businesses: 

(a) A grocery store. 
(b) A convenience food store. 
(c) A food specialty store. 
(d) A meat market. 
(e) A delicatessen. 
(f) A drugstore. 
(g) A patent medicine store. 
(h) A tobacconist that is in compliance with subrule (3)(e) of this rule. 
(i) A department store that includes 1 or more of the stores listed in subdivisions (a) to (h) of 

this subrule. 
(j) A specially designated distributor. 
(k) A class C. 
(l) A class B hotel. 
(m) A club. 
(n) A tavern. 
(o) A class A hotel licensed establishment. 

(2) The commission shall not issue a new, or transfer location of an existing, specially designated 
merchant license to an applicant operating an approved type of business who also holds, or a 
partner or stockholder of an applicant who holds, an interest, directly or indirectly, in a nonapproved 
type of business on, or contiguous to, the proposed licensed premises, unless 60% or more of the 
combined monthly gross sales of the approved and nonapproved businesses are of goods and 
services customarily marketed by the approved type of business.  For the purposes of this subrule, 
combined monthly gross sales are sales exclusive of all taxes collected by a retailer on sales and 
are computed for an accounting period of not less than 180 consecutive days.  The commission 
may approve an application under this rule subject to the condition that the applicant shall 
demonstrate compliance with this subrule at the end of the 180-day accounting period.  The 
commission shall cancel the license if the licensee has failed to comply with the provisions of this 
subrule at the end of the 180-day accounting period. 

(3) The commission shall not issue a specially designated merchant license to any of the following 
entities and shall not allow any of the following entities to change the nature of an existing business 
that has a specially designated merchant license: 

(a) An applicant who owns motor vehicle fuel pumps which are at the same location as, which 
are operated in conjunction with, or which are a part of, the proposed licensed business. 

(b) An applicant who holds any financial interest, directly or indirectly, in the establishment, 
maintenance, operation, or promotion of the sale of motor vehicle fuel at the proposed 
location of, in conjunction with, or as a part of, the proposed licensed business. 

(c) An applicant who holds any interest, directly or indirectly, by ownership in fee, leasehold, 
mortgage, or otherwise, in the establishment, maintenance, operation, or promotion of the 
sale of motor vehicle fuel at the proposed location of, in conjunction with, or as a part of, 
the proposed licensed business. 

(d) An applicant who holds any interest, directly or indirectly, through interlocking stock 
ownership in a corporation or through interlocking directors in a corporation engaged in the 
establishment, maintenance, operation, or promotion of the sale of motor vehicle fuel at 
the proposed location of, in conjunction with, or as a part of, the proposed licensed 
business. 

(e) An applicant at any location at which motor vehicle fuel is sold or offered for sale by any 
person, whether or not the applicant has any interest or derives any profit from the sale. 

(4) In determining the qualifications of an applicant for or the holder of a specially designated merchant 
license to own or operate motor vehicle fuel pumps on or adjacent to the licensed premises under 
the provisions of section 541(1) of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1541(1), the following shall apply: 

(a) The minimum inventory required shall exclude alcoholic liquor, motor vehicle fuel, and any 
merchandise acquired on a consignment basis and not less than 60% of this inventory shall 
consist of goods and services which, in themselves, would qualify the applicant or licensee 
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for licensure under subrule (1) of this rule. 
(b) In the case of a department store, as defined in R 436.1001(e), the inventory attributable 

to that department which qualifies the business for licensure shall consist of not less than 
60% of goods and services which, in themselves, would qualify the business for licensure 
under subrule (1) of this rule. 

(c) The distance between the motor vehicle fuel pumps and the site of payment and selection 
of alcoholic liquor shall be determined by measuring from the motor vehicle fuel pump 
nearest the licensed premises to that part of the licensed premises nearest the motor 
vehicle fuel pumps. 

(5) In a city, incorporated village, or township that has a population of 3,000 or fewer people, the 
commission may, in its discretion, waive the provisions of subrules (1), (2), and (3) of this rule if the 
applicant for a license has and maintains a minimum inventory on the premises, excluding alcoholic 
liquor, of not less than $10,000.00, at cost, of the goods and services customarily marketed by 
approved types of businesses.  The commission shall accept the means prescribed in R 
436.1141(1) as a method for determining the population of a city, incorporated village, or township. 

(6) In a township which is comprised of 72 square miles or more and which has a population of 7,500 
or fewer people, the commission may, in its discretion, waive the provisions of subrule (3) of this 
rule if the applicant for a license has and maintains a minimum inventory on the premises, excluding 
alcoholic liquor, of not less than $10,000.00, at cost, of the goods and services customarily 
marketed by approved types of businesses. 

(7) The commission shall not issue a specially designated merchant license to an applicant who 
operates a drive-in or drive-through establishment and shall not allow an applicant who operates a 
drive-in or drive-through establishment to change the nature of an existing business that has a 
specially designated merchant license. 

(8) The commission shall not issue a specially designated merchant license to an applicant who 
operates a drive-up or walk-up window for the sale of alcoholic liquor at the proposed location and 
shall not allow a person who holds a specially designated merchant license to change the nature 
of the existing licensed business to include a drive-up or walk-up window which permits the sale of 
alcoholic liquor through the drive-up or walk-up window. 

(9) This rule does not apply to the renewal of an existing specially designated merchant license that is 
in operation before the effective date of this rule and does not apply to a new specially designated 
merchant license or the transfer of location of a specially designated merchant license conditionally 
approved by the commission before the effective date of this rule. 
  

History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1954 ACS 96, Eff. June 23, 1978; 1979 AC; 1985 MR 2, Eff. Mar. 1, 1985; 1985 MR 5, Eff. June 18, 1985; 1999 MR 3, Eff. March 
20, 2000; 2004 MR 6, Eff. Mar. 24, 2004;-2006 MR23, Eff. Dec. 12, 2005. 
 

R 436.1131 Rescinded. 
 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC; Rescinded 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 
 

R 436.1133 Rescinded. 

 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1954 ACS 96, Eff. June 23, 1978; 1979 AC; 1979 ACS 3, Eff. June 19, 1980; 2004 MR 6, Eff. Mar. 24, 2004; 2018 MR 7 Eff. April 
17, 2018. 
 

R 436.1135  Specially designated distributor license; limitations upon issuance or 
transfer; waiver; applicability. 

 
Rule 35. 
 

(1) For the issuance of a new, or the transfer of location of an existing, specially designated distributor 
license, all of the following are approved types of businesses: 

(a) A grocery store. 
(b) A convenience food store. 
(c) A food specialty store. 
(d) A meat market. 
(e) A delicatessen. 
(f) A drugstore. 
(g) A patent medicine store. 
(h) A tobacconist that is in compliance with subrule (3)(e) of this rule. 
(i) A department store that includes 1 or more of the stores listed in subdivisions (a) to (h) of 

this subrule. 



1100-9 

(j) A hotel.  
(2) The commission shall not issue a new, or transfer location of an existing, specially designated 

distributor license to an applicant operating an approved type of business who also holds, or a 
partner or stockholder of the applicant who holds, an interest, directly or indirectly, in a nonapproved 
type of business on, or contiguous to, the proposed licensed premises, unless 60% or more of the 
combined monthly gross sales of the approved and nonapproved businesses are of goods and 
services customarily marketed by the approved type of business.  For the purposes of this subrule, 
combined monthly gross sales are exclusive of all taxes collected by a retailer on sales and are 
computed for an accounting period of not less than 180 consecutive days.  The commission may 
approve an application under this rule subject to the condition that the applicant shall demonstrate 
compliance with this subrule at the end of the 180-day accounting period.  The commission shall 
cancel the license if the licensee has failed to comply with the provisions of this subrule at the end 
of the 180-day accounting period. 

(3) The commission shall not issue a specially designated distributor license to any of the following 
entities and shall not allow any of the following entities to change the nature of an existing business 
that has a specially designated distributor license: 

(a) An applicant who owns motor vehicle fuel pumps which are at the same location as, which 
are operated in conjunction with, or which are a part of, the proposed licensed business. 

(b) An applicant who holds any financial interest, directly or indirectly, in the establishment, 
maintenance, operation, or promotion of the sale of motor vehicle fuel at the proposed 
location of, in conjunction with, or as a part of, the proposed licensed business. 

(c) An applicant who holds any interest, directly or indirectly, by ownership in fee, leasehold, 
mortgage, or otherwise, in the establishment, maintenance, operation, or promotion of the 
sale of motor vehicle fuel at the proposed location of, or in conjunction with, or as a part of, 
the proposed licensed business. 

(d) An applicant who holds any interest, directly or indirectly, through interlocking stock 
ownership in a corporation or through interlocking directors in a corporation engaged in the 
establishment, maintenance, operation, or promotion of the sale of motor vehicle fuel at 
the proposed location of, in conjunction with, or as a part of, the proposed licensed 
business. 

(e) An applicant at any location at which motor vehicle fuel is sold or offered for sale by any 
person, whether or not the applicant has any interest or derives any profit from the sale. 

(4) In determining the qualifications of an applicant for or the holder of a specially designated distributor 
license to own or operate motor vehicle fuel pumps on or adjacent to the licensed premises under 
the provisions of section 541(1) of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1541(1), the following shall apply: 

(a) The minimum inventory required shall exclude alcoholic liquor, motor vehicle fuel, and any 
merchandise acquired on a consignment basis and not less than 60% of this inventory shall 
consist of goods and services which, in themselves, would qualify the applicant or licensee 
for licensure under subrule (1) of this rule. 

(b) In the case of a department store, as defined in R 436.1001(e), the inventory attributable 
to that department which qualifies the business for licensure shall consist of not less than 
60% of goods and services which, in themselves, would qualify the business for licensure 
under subrule (1) of this rule. 

(c) The distance between the motor vehicle fuel pumps and the site of payment and selection 
of alcoholic liquor shall be determined by measuring from the motor vehicle fuel pump 
nearest the licensed premises to that part of the licensed premises nearest the motor 
vehicle fuel pumps. 

(5) In a city, incorporated village, or township that has a population of 3,000 or fewer people, the 
commission may, in its discretion, waive the provisions of subrules (1), (2) and (3) of this rule if the 
applicant for a license has and maintains a minimum inventory on the premises, excluding alcoholic 
liquor, of not less than $12,500.00, at cost, of the goods and services customarily marketed by 
approved types of businesses.  The commission shall accept the means prescribed in R 
436.1141(1) as a method for determining the population of a city, incorporated village, or township. 

(6) In a township which is comprised of 72 square miles or more and which has a population of 7,500 
or fewer people, the commission may waive the provisions of subrule (3) of this rule if the applicant 
for a license has and maintains a minimum inventory on the premises, excluding alcoholic liquor, 
of not less than $12,500.00, at cost, of the goods and services customarily marketed by approved 
types of businesses.  The commission shall accept the means prescribed in R 436.1141(1) as the 
method for determining the population of a township. 
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(7) Subrules (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), and (10) of this rule do not apply to the renewal of an existing specially 
designated distributor license in operation before the effective date of this rule and do not apply to 
a new specially designated distributor license or the transfer of location of a specially designated 
distributor license conditionally approved by the commission before the effective date of this rule. 

(8) The commission shall not approve the transfer of location of a specially designated distributor 
license outside the governmental unit for which it was issued, except upon a showing of good cause 
by the applicant. 

(9) Upon a showing of good cause by the applicant, the commission may waive the quota restrictions 
of R 436.1141 if all of the following conditions are met: 

(a) The applicant is in a city, incorporated village, or township that has a population of 3,000 
or fewer people.  The commission shall accept the means prescribed in R 436.1141(1) as 
a method for determining the population of a city, incorporated village, or township. 

(b) The only existing specially designated distributor license is held in conjunction with a class 
A or class B hotel license. 

(c) The commission may grant only 1 waiver of quota restrictions in a city, incorporated village, 
or township. 

(10) The commission shall not issue a specially designated distributor license to an applicant who 
operates a drive-in or drive-through establishment and shall not allow the applicant to change the 
nature of an existing business that has a specially designated distributor license. 

(11) The commission shall not issue a specially designated distributor license to an applicant who 
operates a drive-up or walk-up window for the sale of alcoholic liquor at the proposed location and 
shall not allow a person who holds a specially designated distributor license to change the nature 
of the existing licensed business to include a drive-up or walk-up window which permits the sale of 
alcoholic liquor through the drive-up or walk-up window. 

 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1954 ACS 96, Eff. June 23, 1978; 1985 MR 2, Eff. 1, 1985; 1985 MR 5, Eff. June 18, 1985; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000.; 2004 
MR 6, Eff. Mar. 24, 2004;-2006 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 12, 2005. 
 

R 436.1137 SDD license; photographs. 

 
Rule 37. 
 
An applicant for a specially designated distributor license shall submit 2 pictures, measuring 5 inches by 7 
inches, to the commission if the application is for a completed building.  One picture shall show the 
interior of the proposed licensed establishment and 1 picture shall show the exterior of the proposed 
licensed establishment. 

History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC. 
 

R 436.1139 SDD license; initial minimum purchase. 

 
Rule 39. 
 
An applicant for a new specially designated distributor license shall agree to purchase an initial minimum 
order of $5,000.00 of spirits divided among not less than 50 brands as a condition precedent to receiving a 
license. 

History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1141 SDD license; population requirement. 

 
Rule 41. 
 

(1) In cities, incorporated villages, or townships, only 1 specially designated distributor license shall be 
issued by the commission for every 3,000 population, or fraction thereof.  The commission shall 
accept any 1 of the following means of determining the population of a city, incorporated village, or 
township: 

(a) Federal decennial census. 
(b) Special census taken pursuant to section 6 of Act No. 279 of the Public Acts of 1909, being 

§117.6 of the Michigan Compiled Laws. 
(c) Special census taken pursuant to section 7 of Act No. 245 of the Public Acts of 1975, being 

§141.907 of the Michigan Compiled Laws. 
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(d) Latest population estimates and projections prepared by the United States department of 
commerce, social and economic statistics administration, bureau of the census. 

(2) The quota requirement may be waived at the discretion of the commission if there is no specially 
designated distributor licensee within 2 miles, measured along the nearest traffic route, of the 
applicant. 

History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1142 SDD license; limitation on applications. 

 
Rule 42. 
   

(1) The commission shall not process an application for a new specially designated distributor license 
in any governmental unit in which the number of applications already under consideration by the 
commission equals or exceeds the number of new licenses available pursuant to the quota 
provisions of R 436.1141(1). 

(2) The commission shall maintain a record for each governmental unit of each person who has made 
an application for a new specially designated distributor license, but whose application was not 
processed pursuant to the provisions of subrule (1) of this rule. 

(3) When all applications for a new specially designated distributor license in any governmental unit 
have been disposed of by the commission and 1 or more new specially designated distributor 
licenses are still available, the commission shall provide written notification of the license availability 
to each person who has made an application for a new specially designated distributor license 
within that governmental unit, but whose application was not processed pursuant to the provisions 
of subrule (1) of this rule.  Such notification shall be made by mail to the last known address of the 
person which appears in the commission's records.  Within 30 days of the date of mailing of such 
a notification, a person shall notify the commission, in writing, and pay the required inspection fee 
if he or she is still interested in obtaining a new specially designated distributor license.  A person 
who does not respond within the 30-day period shall not be given consideration for any available 
license.  If at the end of the 30-day period the number of persons who have notified the commission 
of their desire to be considered for new specially designated distributor licenses within the 
governmental unit equals or exceeds the number of licenses available, pursuant to the provisions 
of subrule (1) of this rule any additional applications received shall not be processed. 

(4) When an application for a new specially designated distributor license is received by the 
commission for a location in a governmental unit in which new specially designated distributor 
licenses are not available because the quota established by the provisions of R 436.1141(1) has 
been filled, the commission shall notify the applicant that licenses are not available. 

(5) The commission shall maintain a record for each governmental unit of each person who has made 
an application for a new specially designated distributor license, but whose application was not 
processed pursuant to the provisions of subrule (4) of this rule. 

(6) When 1 or more specially designated distributor licenses becomes available in a governmental unit 
in which the quota established by the provisions of R 436.1141(1) had previously been filled, the 
commission shall provide written notification to each person who applied for a new specially 
designated distributor license within that governmental unit, but whose application was not 
processed pursuant to the quota provisions of R 436.1141(1).  Within 30 days of the date of mailing 
of such a notification, a person shall notify the commission, in writing, and pay the required 
inspection fee if he or she is still interested in obtaining a new specially designated distributor 
license.  A person who does not respond within the 30-day period shall not be given consideration 
for any available license.  If at the end of the 30-day period the number of persons who have notified 
the commission of their desire to be considered for new specially designated distributor licenses 
within the governmental unit equals or exceeds the number of licenses available, pursuant to the 
provisions of subrule (1) of this rule, any additional applications received shall not be processed. 

(7) For purposes of determining the order in which initial applications for new specially designated 
distributor licenses are submitted to the commission as required by the provisions of R 
436.1105(2)(f), the commission shall use the date on which a person first applied for the license, 
even if the application was not processed at that time due to the provisions of subrule (1) or (4) of 
this rule. 

 
History:  1990 MR 1, Eff. Jan. 19, 1990. 
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R 436.1143 SDD license; transfer of location. 

 
Rule 43. 
 
An applicant who requests a transfer of location of an existing specially designated distributor license into 
an area in which there are applications for new specially designated distributor licenses on file with the 
commission shall not be given priority if the proposed transfer of location is within 2,640 feet of the location 
of the establishments proposed by the new applicants.  The method of measurement shall be as prescribed 
in section 503 of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1503. 
 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1954 ACS 96, Eff. June 23, 1978; 1979 AC; 2004 MR 6, Eff. Mar. 24, 2004. 
 

R 436.1145 Watercraft license; minimum qualifications. 

 
Rule 45. 
 
An applicant for a watercraft license shall meet all of the following minimum qualifications before being 
granted a license: 

(a) The watercraft shall have a current certificate of inspection issued by either the state 
waterways commission or the United States coast guard under title 46 of the United States 
Code. 

(b) The watercraft carries paying passengers on regularly scheduled routes between 
predetermined geographical points. 

(c) The license shall only be used to service paying passengers on regularly scheduled routes 
between predetermined geographical points. 

History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC. 
 

R 436.1147 Aircraft license; minimum qualifications. 

 
Rule 47. 
 
An applicant for an aircraft license shall meet all of the following minimum qualifications before being 
granted a license: 

(a) The aircraft shall be approved by the civil aeronautics board for carrying paying passengers 
on regularly scheduled routes or on charter routes, and shall be in excess of 12,500 pounds 
gross weight. 

(b) The license shall only be used to service paying passengers on regularly scheduled routes 
or chartered routes between predetermined geographical points. 

 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC. 
 

R 436.1149 Class C or SDD license; hardship transfer. 

 
Rule 49.   
 

(1) The commission shall not consent to a hardship transfer of class C or specially designated 
distributor licenses under section 501(2) of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1501(2) if the hardship shown 
by the licensee existed when the license was issued, except upon a showing of good cause. 

(2) A person who has been granted approval for a hardship transfer of class C or specially designated 
distributor licenses under section 501(2) of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1501(2) shall be prohibited from 
holding such classes of licenses for a period of 5 years thereafter, as either an individual, partner, 
or stockholder, except upon a showing of good cause. 

 
History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC; 2004 MR 6, Eff. Mar. 24, 2004. 
 

R 436.1151 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 94, Eff. Mar. 15, 1978; 1979 AC; rescinded 1985 MR 2, Eff. Mar. 1, 1985. 



1200-1 
 

SPECIAL PERMITS FOR HOSPITALS AND INSTITUTIONS 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 16 of Act No. 8 of the Public Acts of the 
Extra Session of 1933, as amended, being §436.16 of the Michigan Compiled Laws) 
 

R 436.1251 Special permits for hospitals and institutions. 

 
Rule 1.   
 
The commission may issue special permits to hospitals, charitable institutions, and military establishments 
within the state for the purchase of spirits for their own use from a designated state liquor store at a discount 
of 24% from the retail prices established by the commission. 

History:  1954 ACS 83, Eff. June 6, 1979 AC; 1979 ACS 6, Eff. May 12, 1981. 
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ADVERTISING 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 215(1) of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1215(1) 
and Executive Reorganization Order No. 2011-4, MCL 445.2030) 
 

R 436.1301 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct 3, 1975; 1979 AC; rescinded 1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1303 Beer. 

 
Rule 3.   
 
Beer shall not be advertised in this state unless the advertising is in accordance with these rules and the 
federal malt beverage regulations published in 27 C.F.R., part 7, subpart F, 1936, as amended, as of 
January 1, 1975, which are incorporated herein by reference.  Copies of the federal regulations are on file 
and available to the public in the Lansing office of the commission at cost. 
 
History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC. 
 

R 436.1305 Wine. 

 
Rule 5.   
 
Wine shall not be advertised in this state unless the advertising is in accordance with these rules and the 
federal wine regulations published in 27, C.F.R., part 4, subpart G, 1935, as amended, as of January 1, 
1975, which are incorporated herein by reference.  Copies of the federal regulations are on file and available 
to the public in the Lansing office of the commission at cost. 

History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC. 
 

R 436.1307 Spirits. 

 
Rule 7.   
 
Distilled spirits shall not be advertised in this state unless the advertising is in accordance with these rules 
and the federal distilled spirits regulations published in 27 C.F.R., part 5, subpart H, 1969, as of January 1, 
1975, which are incorporated herein by reference.  Copies of the federal regulations are on file and available 
to the public in the Lansing office of the commission at cost. 

History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1309 Advertising approval. 

 
Rule 9.   
 
The commission reserves the right to review and reject advertising not in accordance with these rules.  
Upon written order of the commission, a manufacturer, an outstate seller of beer, an outstate seller of wine, 
or a wholesaler shall furnish full information as to the advertising to enable the commission to review the 
advertising. 

History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 1, Eff. Jan. 20, 1989. 

 

R 436.1311 Rescinded. 
 
History:  1979 AC; rescinded 2016 MR 4, Eff. Feb. 26, 2016. 
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R 436.1313 Inside advertising signs and displays. 

 
Rule 13.   
 

(1) Except as provided for in this rule, a retail licensee shall ensure that an advertising sign for alcoholic 
liquor that is used inside the licensee’s premises is an un-illuminated sign that does not have a total 
area of more than 3,500 square inches. 

(2) The total area of any other sign that is attached to, or a necessary part of, a sign is included in the 
3,500 square inches limitation. 

(3) A sports/entertainment venue may utilize illuminated advertising signs and advertising signs that 
have a total area of more than 3,500 square inches in the arena area, concourse area, or private 
suite areas. 

(4) Any of the following entities may provide and install illuminated advertising signs and advertising 
signs that have a total area of more than 3,500 square inches per sign inside the arena area, 
concourse area, or private suite areas of a sports/entertainment venue as defined by R 
436.1001(1): 

(a) A brewer. 
(b) A micro brewer. 
(c) A wine maker. 
(d) A small wine maker. 
(e) An outstate seller of beer. 
(f) An outstate seller of wine. 
(g) An outstate seller of mixed spirit drink. 
(h) A manufacturer of spirits. 
(i) A manufacturer of mixed spirit drink. 
(j) A vendor of spirits. 

 

History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct 3, 1975; 1979 AC; Amended Eff. Feb. 17, 1994; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; MR 11 2003; 2025 MR 3, Eff. Feb. 3, 2025. 
 

R 436.1315 Retail advertising space 

 
Rule 15.   
 
A manufacturer, an outstate seller of beer, an outstate seller of wine, or a wholesaler shall not sell or in any 
manner furnish to a retail licensee, and a retail licensee shall not accept, either of the following: 

(a) Advertising which has the name of the retail licensee on the advertising. 
(b) Money or other valuable consideration for advertising space in or upon the premises of the 

retail licensee. 

History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 1, Eff. Jan. 20, 1989. 
 

R 436.1317 Brand promotion 

 
Rule 17.   
 

(1) A salesperson or a vendor representative may do any of the following, on the licensed premises of 
a person who is licensed only to sell alcoholic liquor at retail for consumption off the licensed 
premises, with alcoholic liquor that is owned by the off-premises retail licensee: 

(a) Build a display of those brands that are represented or sold by the salesperson or vendor 
representative. 

(b) Mark the price on those brands that are represented or sold by the salesperson or vendor 
representative. 

(c) Rotate those brands that are represented or sold by the salesperson or vendor 
representative.   

(d) Place those brands that are represented or sold by the salesperson or vendor 
representative on shelves. 

(2) A salesperson or vendor representative shall not remove from shelves, or rearrange or otherwise 
disturb, any brand of alcoholic liquor that is not represented or sold by the salesperson or vendor 
representative. 

History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC; Amended Eff. Nov. 13, 1992. 
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R 436.1319 Rescinded 

History: 1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC. - Rescinded 2021 MR, March 1, 2021 (Pursuant to PA 112 of 2020) 

 

R 436.1321 Contests and advertising articles. 

 
Rule 21. 
 

(1) There shall not be advertising of alcoholic liquor connected with offering a prize or award on the 
completion of a contest, except upon prior written approval of the commission. 

(2) Advertising material which does not contain the name of a retail licensee and does not have a 
secondary value, but explains the production, sale, or consumption of alcoholic liquor may be 
published and distributed in this state. 

(3) Alcoholic liquor recipe literature which does not contain the name of a retail licensee may be 
published and distributed in this state. 

(4) All gambling devices, including punch boards and games of any description used for advertising 
purposes, are prohibited. 

(5) A manufacturer, an outstate seller of beer, an outstate seller of wine, or a wholesaler may sell 
novelty items bearing brand logo type, upon written order of the commission. These novelty items 
shall not be sold below their cost by the manufacturer, outstate seller of beer, outstate seller of 
wine, or wholesaler. 

 
History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1954 ACS 97, Eff. Oct. 12, 1978; 1979 AC; 2014 MR 23, Eff. Dec. 5, 2014. 
 

R 436.1323 Team sponsorship 

 
Rule 23. 
   

(1) A licensee may own or sponsor and furnish equipment for an athletic team under his own license 
name.  The name of the sponsor may appear on the team uniform. 

(2) A licensee shall not aid or assist another licensee by sponsoring or equipping athletic teams and a 
licensee shall not accept such aid or assistance. 

History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1325 Calendars and matchbooks. 

 
Rule 25. 
 

(1) A manufacturer, an outstate seller of beer, an outstate seller of wine, or a wholesaler shall not give 
anything of value to a customer. 

(2) A manufacturer, an outstate seller of beer, an outstate seller of wine, or a wholesaler may give a 
calendar and matchbooks to a customer if nothing of value is attached to, or given with, the calendar 
or matchbooks. 

(3) A manufacturer, an outstate seller of beer, an outstate seller of wine, or a wholesaler shall not sell, 
give, or furnish a retail licensee with calendars or matchbooks to be given to the customers of the 
retail licensee, except upon written order of the commission. 

(4) A manufacturer, an outstate seller of beer, an outstate seller of wine, or a wholesaler may advertise 
on calendars. 

 
History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC. 
 

R 436.1327 Rescinded. 
 
History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC; rescinded MR 1, Eff. Jan. 20, 1989. 
 

R 436.1329 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC; 1986 MR 12, Eff. Jan. 15, 1987; Amended Eff. May 12, 1994; rescinded 2025 MR 3, Eff. Feb. 3, 2025. 
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R 436.1331 Dispenser signs. 

 
Rule 31. 
 

(1) Alcoholic liquor dispensing equipment shall have the brand of alcoholic liquor designated by a sign 
on the dispenser or on the tap. 

(2) A licensee shall not draw from a dispenser or tap a brand of alcoholic liquor other than that brand 
designated by the dispenser sign or tap marker. 

History: 1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1333 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC; 1984 MR 3, Eff. Mar. 27, 1984; 1989 MR 1, Eff. Jan. 20, 1989; Rescinded 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.1335 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC; 1989-2000 AACS MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; Rescinded 2013 MR 5, Eff. March 7, 2013. 

   

R 436.1337 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC; rescinded 1985 MR 4, Eff. May 10, 1985. 

 

R 436.1339 Rescissions. 

 
Rule 39.   
 
Rules 15 to 23 and 25 to 28 of the rules entitled "Rules and Regulations Governing the Relationship 
Between Licensed Manufacturers, Wholesalers of Alcoholic Liquors, Their Sales Representatives and 
Retail Licensees," being R 436.535 to R 436.543 and R 436.545 to R 436.548 of the Michigan 
Administrative Code and appearing on pages 5384 to 5386 of the 1954 volume of the Code, are rescinded. 
 

History:  1954 ACS 84, Eff. Oct. 3, 1975; 1979 AC. 
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ON-PREMISES LICENSES 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 215(1) of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1215(1) 
and Executive Reorganization Order No. 2011-4, MCL 445.2030) 
 

R 436.1401 Definitions. 

 
Rule 1.   
 
The terms defined in R 436.1001 have the same meaning when used in these rules. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1403 Hours and days of operation. 

 
Rule 3.   
 

(1) Except as provided in subrule (7) of this rule, an on-premises licensee shall not sell, give away, or 
furnish alcoholic liquor between the hours of 2 a.m. and 7 a.m. on any day nor between the hours 
of 2 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday and shall not sell, give away, or furnish spirits between the hours 
of 2 a.m. and 12 midnight on Sunday, unless issued a Sunday sales permit by the commission 
which allows the licensee to sell spirits on Sunday between the hours of 12 noon and 12 midnight. 

(2) Between the hours of 2:30 a.m. and 12 noon on any Sunday, or from 2:30 a.m. to 7 a.m. on any 
other day, an on-premises licensee shall not allow the licensed premises to be occupied by anyone 
except the on-premises licensee, the bona fide employees of the on-premises licensee who are 
working, or bona fide contractors and employees thereof who are working, except as provided in 
subrule (8) of this rule or unless such on-premises licensee first obtains a permit approved by the 
liquor control commission and by the chief of police, sheriff, or other chief law enforcing officer in 
the community which authorizes the on-premise licensee to remain open for a stated specific 
purpose for such other hours and during such periods of time as the commission may determine.  
The permit shall be displayed adjacent to the license.  In the case of a class A hotel, a class B 
hotel, and a club licensee with bedrooms or suites for bona fide club members and their guests, 
this subrule shall apply only to the following portions of the licensed premises: 

(a) Rooms open to the general public or club members and their guests for eating, drinking, 
or amusement where alcoholic liquor is served. 

(b) Rooms used for wedding parties and similar activities where alcoholic liquor is served. 
(3) An on-premises licensee shall not allow the consumption of any alcoholic liquor on the licensed 

premises between the hours of 2:30 a.m. and 7 a.m. on any day, except as provided in subrule (7) 
of this rule. 

(4) An on-premises licensee shall not allow the consumption of any alcoholic liquor on the licensed 
premises between the hours of 9:30 p.m. on December 24 to 7 a.m. on December 26.  This 
prohibition shall extend to 12 noon on December 26 if December 26 falls on Sunday. 

(5) An on-premises licensee shall not allow the consumption of spirits on the licensed premises 
between the hours of 2:30 a.m. and 12 midnight on Sunday.  This subrule does not apply to the 
consumption of spirits on the licensed premises between the hours of 12 noon and 12 midnight on 
Sunday if the on-premises licensee possesses a Sunday sales permit issued by the commission. 

(6) An on-premises licensee shall not allow the consumption of any alcoholic liquor on the licensed 
premises between the hours of 2:30 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday. 

(7) An on-premises licensee shall not sell alcoholic liquor on January 1 after 4 a.m. or before the legal 
hour of sale as provided in subrule (1) of this rule, and alcoholic liquor shall not be consumed on 
the licensed premises on January 1 after 4:30 a.m. or before the legal hour for consumption as 
provided in subrules (3), (5), and (6) of this rule. 

(8) From 4:30 a.m. on January 1 to the legal hour of sale as provided in subrule (1) of this rule, an on-
premises licensee shall not allow the licensed premises to be occupied by anyone other than the 
on-premises licensee, the bona fide employees of the licensee who are working, or bona fide 
contractors and employees thereof who are working, unless the on-premises licensee has been 
granted a specific purpose permit authorized by subrule (2) of this rule.  In the case of a class A 
hotel, a class B hotel, and a club licensee with bedrooms or suites for bona fide club members and 
their guests, this subrule applies only to the following portions of the licensed premises:
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(a) Rooms open to the general public or club members and their guests for eating, drinking, 
or amusement where alcoholic liquor is served. 

(b) Rooms used for wedding parties and similar activities where alcoholic liquor is served. 
(9) The provisions of subrules (3), (4), (5), (6), and (7) of this rule do not apply to the consumption of 

alcoholic liquor in the bedrooms or suites of registered guests of licensed hotels or in the bedrooms 
or suites of bona fide members of licensed clubs. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1405 Capacity of licensed premises. 

 
Rule 5.   
 

(1) An on-premises licensee shall post, in a conspicuous place, a sign stating the total capacity of each 
public room of the licensed establishment, based upon the capacity established by the state or 
local authority having jurisdiction. 

(2) If the capacity of the licensed establishment or any public room in the licensed establishment has 
not been determined by a state or local authority, then the total capacity of each room shall be 
determined as follows: 

(a) If tables or booths are provided, then there shall be not more than 1 customer for each 15 
square feet of total area. 

(b) If tables or booths are not used, then there shall be not more than 1 customer for each 6 
square feet of total area. 

(c) If there is a combination of tables or booths and an open area, then the provisions of both 
subdivisions (a) and (b) of this subrule shall be used. 

(d) If seating is provided at a bar, then there shall be not more than 1 seat for each 20 inches 
of bar length. 

(3) An on-premises licensee shall not allow a public room of the licensed establishment to be occupied 
by more persons than are authorized by this rule. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.1407 Temporary entertainment, dance, or dance-entertainment permits; approval. 

 
Rule 7.   
 
The commission may issue up to 12 daily temporary dance, entertainment, or dance-entertainment permits 
to a licensee each calendar year upon written request of the licensee and approval of the chief law 
enforcement officer who has jurisdiction. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 1979 ACS 16, Eff. Nov. 15, 1983; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.1409 Rescinded. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; rescinded MR 12, Eff. July 3, 2009. 

 

R 436.1411 Rescinded. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; rescinded MR 12, Eff. July 3, 2009. 

 

R 436.1413 Clothing changes by entertainers. 

 
Rule 13.   
 

(1) If an on-premises licensee offers entertainment wherein performers are required to change 
costumes or attire, the licensee shall provide and make use of dressing facilities set aside for use 
by male and female performers. 

(2) An on-premises licensee shall not allow the use of restrooms, public rooms, kitchens, or other 
similar areas for the changing of clothing by entertainers. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 
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R 436.1415 Dance floor; requirements. 

 
Rule 15.   
 
An on-premises licensee who is the holder of a dance permit shall not allow dancing on the licensed 
premises, except on a dance floor that is not less than 100 square feet.  The dance floor shall be well 
defined and clearly marked and shall be without tables, chairs, or other obstacles while customers are 
dancing. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1417 Employees serving food or liquor prohibited from eating, drinking, or 
mingling with customers; licensees, agents, and employees prohibited from 
soliciting customers; allowing customer to solicit liquor prohibited. 

 
Rule 17.   
 

(1) An on-premises licensee shall not allow a person who is engaged in the serving of food or alcoholic 
liquor to eat, drink, or mingle with the customers. 

(2) An on-premises licensee, or the clerk, servant, agent, or employee of an on-premises licensee, 
shall not solicit a customer for the purchase of alcoholic liquor for himself or herself or for any other 
person. 

(3) An on-premises licensee, or the clerk, servant, agent, or employee of an on-premises licensee, 
shall not allow a customer to solicit alcoholic liquor for himself or herself or for any other person. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 
 

R 436.1419   Outdoor service without approval prohibited; requirements for outdoor 
service if approval is granted. 

 
Rule 19.   
 

(1) An on-premises licensee shall not have outdoor service without the prior written approval of the 
commission. 

(2) If approval for outdoor service is granted, then the on-premises licensee shall ensure that the 
outdoor service area is well-defined and clearly marked and the on-premises licensee shall not sell, 
or allow the consumption of, alcoholic liquor outdoors, except in the defined area. 

(3) The commission may issue up to 12 daily temporary outdoor service permits to a licensee each 
calendar year upon written request of the licensee and approval of the chief law enforcement officer 
who has jurisdiction. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 
 

R 436.1421 Sample bottles or cans; sale prohibited; removal from premises. 

 
Rule 21.   
 

(1) An on-premises licensee shall not sell or give away the contents of a sample bottle or can. 
(2) An on-premises licensee shall remove sample bottles or cans from the licensed premises within 24 

hours of their receipt. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 
 

R 436.1423 Soliciting, accepting, or receiving rebates, refunds, or adjustments from a 
person other than the commission for broken or defective containers 
prohibited. 

 
Rule 23.   
 
An on-premises licensee who is licensed to sell spirits shall not solicit, accept, or receive rebates, refunds, 
or adjustments for any broken or defective spirit containers from a person other than the commission or an 
agent or employee of the commission. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 



1400-4 

R 436.1425 Rescinded. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 1990 MR 1, Eff. Jan. 19, 1990; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2012 MR 9, Eff. May 10, 2012. 

 

R 436.1427 Washing of drinking containers and draft beer equipment. 

 
Rule 27.   
 

(1) An on-premises licensee shall wash, rinse, and sanitize all glasses, mugs, steins, and other 
reusable drinking containers which are used to serve alcoholic liquor to customers. 

(2) An on-premises licensee shall thoroughly cleanse, as often as may be necessary, all beer coils, 
lines, barrels, tubes, and any other draft beer equipment to keep them in a clean and sanitary 
condition.  An on-premises licensee shall not draw beer through tubes with rubber inner linings. 

(3) An on-premises licensee shall pipe all air intakes on pressure pumps used in drawing draft beer in 
such a manner that only clean air will be used. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1429 Rescinded. 
 
History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 1999 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 
 

R 436.1431 Serving of brand names. 

 
Rule 31.   
 
When a person orders a brand name alcoholic liquor sold by an on-premises licensee, the on-premises 
licensee shall serve and sell only the brand name ordered by that person. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1433 Food operation. 

 
Rule 33.   
 

(1) An on-premises licensee shall not contract for the services of another person to operate the food 
portion of the licensed business without the prior written approval of the commission. 

(2) If a contract for the services of another person in the operation of the food portion of the licensed 
business is approved by the commission, the on-premises licensee shall comply with all of the 
following: 

(a) Receive all profits from the sale of alcoholic liquor. 
(b) Retain control over all portions of the licensed premises. 
(c) Be responsible for the actions of the persons operating the food business. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 
 

R 436.1435 Contests; tournaments. 

 
Rule 35.   
 

(1) An on-premises licensee shall not allow contests in which the licensee or any other person gives 
away anything of value over $250.00 per day, except upon written order of the commission, and 
shall not accept or retain anything of value from a person in exchange for sponsoring or promoting 
a contest or tournament. 

(2) An on-premises licensee shall not allow a contest or tournament of any kind in which the sale, use, 
or consumption of alcoholic liquor is a necessary part of the contest or tournament or in which 
alcoholic liquor is given as a prize to the participants of the contest or tournament. 

(3) An on-premises licensee shall not allow a promotion on the licensed premises in which anything of 
value over $250.00 per day or any alcoholic liquor is given away without adequate and appropriate 
consideration, except as provided in this rule or upon written order of the commission.  An on-
premises licensee shall not accept or retain anything of value from a person in exchange for 
sponsoring a promotion, except upon written order of the commission. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 



1400-5 

R 436.1437 Specific purpose permit. 

 
Rule 37.   
 

(1) If all of the following criteria are met, the commission may issue, to an on-premises licensee, a 
specific purpose permit that allows the licensee to have the premises occupied by customers at 
times other than the legal hours for sale and consumption: 

(a) The licensee has a business that necessitates the establishment being occupied by 
customers at times other than the legal hours for consumption of alcoholic liquor. 

(b) The establishment is equipped with a full-service kitchen, provides rooms for the lodging 
of guests, or provides recreational facilities that are owned by the licensee on or adjacent 
to the licensed establishment.  This subdivision may be waived by the commission upon a 
showing of good cause by the licensee. 

(c) The commission may issue up to 12 daily temporary specific purpose permits to a licensee 
each calendar year upon written request of the licensee and approval of the chief law 
enforcement officer who has jurisdiction. 

(2) An on-premises licensee who is issued a specific purpose permit shall not allow customers on the 
licensed premises during the time period provided by the specific purpose permit, unless the 
activity, and only that activity, allowed by the specific purpose permit is occurring. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.1438 Rescinded. 

History:  1979 ACS 16, Eff. Nov. 15, 1983; 1985 MR 1, Eff. Feb. 13, 1985; rescinded 2025 MR 3, Eff. Feb. 3, 2025. 
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OFF-PREMISES LICENSES 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 215(1) of Act No. 58 of the Public Acts 
of 1998, as amended, being §436.1215(1) of the Michigan Compiled Laws) 
 

R 436.1501 Definitions. 

 
Rule 1. 
 
The terms defined in R 436.1001 have the same meaning when used in these rules. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 
 

R 436.1503 Hours and days of operation. 

 
Rule 3.   
 
An off-premises licensee shall not sell, give away, deliver, or furnish alcoholic liquor between the hours of 
2 a.m. and 7 a.m. on any day or between the hours of 2 a.m. and 12 noon on Sunday and shall not sell, 
give away, deliver, or furnish spirits between the hours of 2 a.m. and 12 midnight on Sunday, unless issued 
a Sunday sales permit by the commission which allows the licensee to sell spirits on Sunday between the 
hours of 12 noon and 12 midnight. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb 3, 1981; 1979 ACS 7, Eff. Aug. 8, 1981. 
 

R 436.1505 Rescinded. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981;-MR 10, Eff. May 30, 2003. 

 

R 436.1507 Stock of liquor. 

 
Rule 7.   
 
An off-premises licensee who is licensed to sell spirits shall carry a representative stock of all types of 
alcoholic liquor sold by the commission, which may be set by written order of the commission, and shall 
maintain a dollar amount of inventory of spirits, which may be set by written order of the commission. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1509 Rescinded. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb 3, 1981; 1984 MR 10, Eff. Nov. 14, 1984; 1991 MR 10, Eff. Nov. 8, 1991; Rescinded 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20. 2000. 

 

R 436.1511 Open containers on licensed premises prohibited; exception; consumption 
of liquor on licensed premises prohibited; exception. 

 
Rule 11.   
 

(1) An off-premises licensee who is not licensed as an on-premises licensee shall not have any open 
containers of alcoholic liquor on the licensed premises, except for the following: 

(a) A defective or sample bottle or can. 
(b) A returnable container returned by a customer of the off-premises licensee for a refund of 

the deposit on the container. 
(c) A bottle or can containing alcoholic liquor to be used in the preparation of bakery or deli 

items by the employees of the off-premises licensee who also holds a Michigan department 
of agriculture food establishment license, if all of the following conditions are met: 

(i) The alcoholic liquor is used exclusively in the preparation of food products that are 
cooked or baked before consumption and, at the point of consumption, have an 
alcoholic content of less than 1/2 of 1%. 

(ii) The bottle or can is resealed and stored in a locked, separate storage compartment 
within the food preparation area when the contents are not being used in food 
preparation. 

(iii) The off-premises licensee maintains a clearly defined food preparation area on 
the licensed premises of not less than 500 square feet. 
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(iv) The off-premises licensee has obtained the approval of the commission for the use 
of alcoholic liquor in the preparation of food on the licensed premises. 

(2) An off-premises licensee who is not licensed as an on-premises licensee shall not allow the 
consumption of alcoholic liquor on the licensed premises, except for the consumption of alcoholic 
liquor in sample bottles or cans.  Only an off-premises licensee, or the clerk, servant, agent, or 
employee of the off-premises licensee, may consume the contents of a sample bottle or can on the 
licensed premises. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 
 

R 436.1513 Sample bottles or cans; removal. 

 
Rule 13.   
 
An off-premises licensee shall remove sample bottles or cans from the licensed premises within 24 hours 
of their receipt. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1515 Sale and delivery of alcoholic liquor. 

 
Rule 15.   
 

(1) An off-premises licensee who is licensed to sell beer and wine shall not take orders for the sale of 
beer or wine and have the delivery of the beer or wine made to the retail customer by a wholesaler, 
manufacturer of beer or wine, an outstate seller of beer or wine, or their licensed representatives 
or salesperson, without the prior written approval of the commission. 

(2) An off-premises licensee who is licensed to sell spirits shall not knowingly allow the delivery of 
spirits to a retail customer by a licensed representative or salesperson, unless the licensed 
representative or salesperson is acting on behalf of the retail customer. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 
 

R 436.1517 Type of business; change; approval. 

 
Rule 17.   
 
An off-premises licensee shall not change the nature of business for which the license was issued by the 
commission without obtaining the prior written approval of the commission. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1519 Soliciting, accepting, or receiving rebates, refunds, or adjustments from a 
person other than the commission for broken or defective containers 
prohibited. 

 
Rule 19.   
 
An off-premises licensee who is licensed to sell spirits shall not solicit, accept, or receive rebates, refunds, 
or adjustments for any broken or defective spirit containers, or case of containers, from a person other than 
the commission or an agent or employee of the commission. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 
 

R 436.1521 Outdoor service prohibited; exception. 

 
Rule 21.   
 
An off-premises licensee shall not sell alcoholic liquor out-of-doors, except upon a written order of the 
commission. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 
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R 436.1523 Allowing consumption on licensee's property adjacent to licensed premises 
prohibited. 

 
Rule 23.   
 
An off-premises licensee shall not knowingly allow a person to consume alcoholic liquor on property which 
is owned, leased, or possessed by the licensee and which is adjacent to the licensed premises. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981; 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.1525 Sale by club licensee of liquor to nonmember prohibited. 

 
Rule 25.   
 
A club licensee who is also licensed with an off-premises license shall not sell alcoholic liquor to a 
nonmember. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1527 Delivery of liquor to person under 21 years of age prohibited; requirements 
for delivery of liquor to persons of legal age. 

 
Rule 27.   
 

(1) A licensee authorized to sell alcoholic liquor for consumption off the premises shall  not make a 
delivery of alcoholic liquor to any person unless that person is 21 years of age. 

(2) A licensee authorized to sell alcoholic liquor for consumption off the premises who takes an order 
for alcoholic liquor from a purchaser for delivery to an individual or business at an address other 
than that of the person making the purchase may deliver or have delivered that alcoholic liquor to 
the residential or business address indicated by the purchaser making the order provided the 
individual accepting delivery of the alcoholic liquor is 21 years of age or older and the person 
making the delivery of the alcoholic liquor verifies that the individual accepting the delivery is 21 
years of age or older. 

(3) A licensee making a sale and delivery of alcoholic liquor under the provisions of this rule and/or the 
person making the delivery of the alcoholic liquor shall maintain proof for inspection by the 
commission of the documents used to determine the age of the individual to whom the alcoholic 
liquor was delivered. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981;-Am. Eff April 24, 2001. 

 

R 436.1529 Sale of spirits at a uniform price. 

 
Rule 29.  
 
An off-premises licensee who is licensed to sell spirits shall not sell spirits at a price other than the selling 
price established by the commission, which shall include all taxes collected by the commission at the time 
of sale to the off-premises licensee and the state sales tax. 

History:  1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981 

 

R 436.1531 Return of alcoholic liquor product. 

 
Rule 31.   
 
An off-premises licensee may accept from a customer, for a cash refund or exchange, an alcoholic liquor 
product purchased by the customer from the off-premises licensee if the product is demonstrably spoiled 
or contaminated or the container damaged to the extent that the contents would likely be of an unsanitary 
nature or unfit for consumption and if the returned product is not resold and is removed from the licensed 
premises as soon as practicable, but not more than 14 days after its return. 

History:  2000 MR 3, Eff, March 20, 2000.  
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R 436.1533 Off-premises server training; requirements. 

 
Rule 33. 
  

(1) As used in this rule, all terms and phrases shall have the same meaning as defined in Section 
906(1) of the act. 

(2) The commission shall approve the establishment of an off-premises server training program 
designed for off-premises licensees.  The commission may adopt the existing standards and 
programmatic framework of private entities and may delegate nondiscretionary administrative 
functions to outside private entities. 

(3) A person may apply to the commission for qualification as an administrator for the offering of an 
off-premises server training program and instructor certification classes.  Upon approval by the 
commission of an off-premises server training program, the commission shall appoint the person 
sponsoring the server training program as an administrator of that program.  

(4) The commission shall issue an instructor certification to an individual presenting evidence 
acceptable to the commission of having successfully completed instructor certification classes and 
shall issue an identification card indicating that certification by the commission. 

(5) The commission shall approve a curriculum for a server training program presented by a certified 
instructor in a manner considered by the commission to be adequate that includes, but is not limited 
to, all of the following topics: 

(a) Identification of the visible signs associated with intoxication. 
(b) Implementation of intervention procedures and maintaining incident reports. 
(c) The understanding of acceptable forms of personal identification, techniques for 

determining the validity of identification, and procedures for dealing with fraudulent 
identification. 

(d) Assessment of the need to ask for identification based on appearance or company policy. 
(e) The identification of potential second-party sales and furnishing of alcoholic liquor to minors 

by persons 21 years of age or over. 
(f) The understanding of Michigan laws pertaining to minors attempting to purchase and 

second-party sales or furnishing of alcoholic liquor from adults to minors. 
(g) The understanding of possible legal, civil, and administrative consequences of violations 

of this act, the rules of the commission, and other pertinent state laws. 
(h) Knowledge of the legal hours of alcohol sales. 
(i) Any other pertinent laws as determined by the commission. 

(6) If the commission conditionally approves the issuance of a license for the purpose of meeting the 
server training requirements of that approval, then the time period allowed for meeting the server 
training requirements shall commence on the date the license is issued. 

(7) An administrator of a server training program approved by the commission shall administer a 
comprehensive examination to participants of the program, including individuals seeking 
certification as instructors within the program.  The examination shall thoroughly test the individual's 
knowledge and competency in the curriculum topics required by subrule (5) of this rule.  The 
minimum passing grade for the examination, for instructor certification, and for all other participants 
in the program shall be not less than 70%, but shall be not less than 85% for instructors if 
administered the same examination as other participants in the program.   Examinations 
administered in other than a written form must be approved by the commission.   Examinations 
may be proctored by someone other than a certified instructor of the server training program if the 
proctor is an agent of the administrator of the server training program and is acceptable to the 
commission. Other methods of administering an examination must be approved by the commission.  

(8) If server training or instructor training is conducted by the administrator of a server training program 
approved by the commission by means other than classroom training, then the alternative training 
method must first be approved by the commission. 

(9) Certification issued by the administrator of an approved server training program for instructors and 
other participants shall expire not more than 3 years from the date of issuance. 

(10) An off-premises licensee, when ordered by the commission to meet a server training requirement, 
shall maintain on the licensed premises proof of active, unexpired server training certification or 
current recognition by a server training program approved by the commission for those persons 
included in the commission order.  

  History: 2010 MR 8, Eff. Apr. 27, 2010. 
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BEER 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 215(1) of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1215(1) 
and Executive Reorganization Order No. 2011-4, MCL 445.2030) 
 

R 436.1601 Definitions. 

 
Rule 1.   
 
The terms defined in R 436.1001 and the act have the same meanings when used in these rules. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 

 

R 436.1603 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; rescinded 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989. 

 

R 436.1605 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989; rescinded 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 

 

R 436.1607 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989; rescinded 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 

 

R 436.1609 Outstate sellers of beer. 

 
Rule 9.   
 

(1) A person shall be the holder of the required basic permit, Brewer’s notice, or both, and be a brewer 
or outstate seller of beer doing business under an approved basic permit, brewer's notice, or both, 
issued under the federal alcohol administration act of 1935, 27 U.S.C. §201 et seq., and the 
regulations under this act, being 27 C.F.R., part 1, subpart C, §§ 1.20 to 1.59 and part 25, subpart 
G, §§ 25.61 to 25.85 (2014) before being issued an outstate seller of beer license, brewer license, 
micro brewer license or brewpub license.  The provisions of 27 C.F.R., part 1, subpart C, §§ 1.20 
TO 1.59 and part 25, subpart G, §§ 25.61 TO 25.85 (2014) are adopted by reference in these rules.  
Copies of the adopted provisions may be obtained from the Superintendent of Documents, United 
States Government Printing Office (GPO), Washington, D.C. 20402 or from the gpo website at 
https://bookstore.gpo.gov/ at a cost of $37.00 each as of the time of adoption of these rules, or free 
of charge from the gpo website at https://www.gpo.gov/.  Copies of these provisions may also be 
obtained from the Liquor Control Commission, Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, 
525 W. Allegan, P.O. Box 30005, Lansing, Michigan 48909, at a cost of $43.00 each as of the time 
of the adoption of these rules. 

(2) The commission may issue an outstate seller of beer license to the following entities pursuant to 
these rules and the act: 

(a) A person located in the United States who imports and sells in this state beer made in a 
foreign country. 

(b) A manufacturer located outside this state, but in the United States, that manufactures and 
packages its own beer. 

(c) A person located in the United States who purchases beer from a manufacturer of beer 
located outside of this state, but in the United States, if the amount of beer imported into 
this state by that person is 5,000 barrels or less per calendar year.  In addition, a person 
who is issued an outstate seller of beer license under the provisions of this subdivision 
shall be designated by the manufacturer of beer as its sole and exclusive sales agent in 
this state for a brand or brands of beer produced by that manufacturer and shall be 
responsible for the quality of beer shipped into and sold in this state. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 1, Eff. Jan. 20, 1989; 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017.
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R 436.1611 Labels and advertising. 

 
Rule 11.   
 

(1) The sale of beer is prohibited in this state unless all of the following provisions are complied with: 
(a) The beer is packaged, marked, branded, and labeled pursuant to these rules. 
(b) The beer label truthfully describes the contents of the container in accordance with these 

rules and the federal alcohol administration act of 1935, 27 U.S.C., §201 et seq., and the 
regulations under this act, being 27 C.F.R. part 7, subpart C. §§ 7.20 TO 7.29, subpart H 
§ 7.60 and subpart I § 7.81 (2014).  The provisions of 27 C.F.R. part 7, subpart C, §§ 7.20 
to 7.29, subpart H § 7.60 and subpart I § 7.81(2014) are adopted by reference in these 
rules. Copies of the adopted provisions may be obtained either from the Superintendent of 
Documents, United States Government Printing Office (GPO), Washington, DC 20402, or 
from the gpo website at http://bookstore.gpo.gov at a cost of $37.00 each as of the time of 
adoption of these rules, or free of charge from the gpo website at 
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/.  Copies of these provisions may also be obtained from the 
Liquor Control Commission, Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, 525 W. 
Allegan, P.O. Box 30005, Lansing, Michigan 48909, at a cost of $43.00 each as of the time 
of adoption of these rules. 

(c) A brewer, outstate seller of beer, or wholesaler that is responsible for labeling shall furnish 
proof, upon request, that valid certificates of approval for the label have been obtained from 
the United States  alcohol and tobacco tax and trade bureau and are unrevoked under the 
provisions of the federal labeling requirements.  If a certificate of label approval is not 
required by the United States alcohol and tobacco tax and trade bureau, the brewer, 
outstate seller of beer, or wholesaler must submit an electronic copy of the label. 

(d) The beer has received a registration number from the commission and has been approved 
for sale by the commission. 

(2) A retail licensee shall place a removable tap marker or sign on a draft beer dispenser. 
 
History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989;- 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000 ; 2011 MR 20, Eff. Oct. 19, 2011; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 
2017. 

 

R 436.1613 Gifts of beer and consumption on licensed premises. 

 
Rule 13. 
 
A wholesaler shall not give away beer or allow consumption of beer on the licensed premises. 
 
History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC;- 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2017 MR5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 

 

R 436.1615 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 

 

R 436.1617 Sales and shipments by outstate sellers of beer. 

 
Rule 17.   
 
A person shall not sell, ship, import, or deliver beer into this state unless the beer is sold, shipped, imported, 
or delivered in any of the following ways: 

(a) An outstate seller of beer sells, ships, imports, or delivers to its licensed premises, to the 
licensed premises of a licensed wholesaler of beer, or to the licensed premises of a 
licensed warehouser. 

(b) A licensed wholesaler of beer buys, imports, or accepts delivery of beer from an outstate 
seller of beer at the licensed premises of an outstate seller of beer or at the licensed 
premises of the licensed wholesaler of beer. 

(c) A brewer imports or delivers beer produced at a manufacturing plant which is located 
outside this state and which is owned by the brewer or the parent or subsidiary corporation 
of the brewer. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 
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R 436.1621 Excise tax on beer; reports. 

 
Rule 21.   
 

(1) Each wholesaler, brewer, and micro brewer licensed in this state that does not designate a 
wholesaler to pay the beer tax shall submit to the commission, on forms acceptable to the 
commission and postmarked not later than the fifteenth day of each calendar quarter, a beer tax 
report of all beer sold in this state during the previous calendar quarter and the payment of the 
required beer excise tax due pursuant to section 409 of the act, MCL 436.1409. 

(2) The beer excise tax reports submitted pursuant to subrule (1) of this rule by a wholesaler, brewer, 
or micro brewer licensed in this state must include all of the following information: 

(a) The total sales of beer made into this state during the period covered by the report. 
(b) The total amount of the beer excise tax due. 
(c) The date that each sale of beer was made. 
(d) The name and address of the retailer licensed in this state that received each shipment of 

beer. 
(e) The invoice number for each shipment of beer. 
(f) The brand name, quantity and container size for each shipment of beer. 

(3) Each brewer or micro brewer licensed in this state that designates a wholesaler to report and pay 
its beer taxes shall notify the commission of its selection through electronic mail. Each brewer or 
micro brewer licensed in this state that designates a wholesaler shall select a wholesaler or 
wholesalers sufficient to cover all areas of the state where the brewer’s or micro brewer’s products 
are distributed. The commission and the wholesaler shall receive notification of the designation of 
a wholesaler to report and pay the beer taxes not later than April 1. The selection of a wholesaler 
to report and pay the beer taxes may be changed only by the brewer or micro brewer licensed in 
this state by notification to the commission not later than April 1. The change of designated 
wholesalers is effective on May 1. A brewer or micro brewer licensed in this state that does not 
properly designate a wholesaler and notify the commission of its selection shall be responsible for 
the submission of the beer tax reports and payment of the beer tax required under subrules (1) and 
(2) of this rule. 

(4) Each brewer and micro brewer licensed in this state shall submit to the commission, on forms 
acceptable to the commission and postmarked not later than the fifteenth day of each calendar 
quarter, a beer tax report of all beer sold or consumed on the licensed premises of its manufacturing 
facility and tasting rooms during the previous calendar quarter. Payment of the required beer excise 
tax due pursuant to section 409 of the act, MCL 436.1409, must accompany the beer tax report. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017; 2025 MR 3, Eff. Feb. 3, 2025. 

 

R 436.1623 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; Rescinded 1985 MR 4, Eff. May 10, 1985. 
 

R 436.1625 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; Rescinded 2022 MR 19, Eff. Oct 14, 2022 (Pursuant to PA 226 of 2022) 

 

R 436.1627 Rescinded. 
 
History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1954 ACS 81, Eff. Nov. 20, 1974; 1954 ACS 91, Eff. June 7, 1977; Rescinded 1954 ACS 97, Eff. Sept. 30, 1978; 1979 AC 
 

R 436.1629 Container deposit and refund. 

 
Rule 29. 
  

(1) A manufacturer, an outstate seller of beer, or a wholesaler of beer shall collect a container deposit 
of a minimum of $30.00 for all refillable containers of beer with a capacity of over 5 gallons.  The 
deposit collected by a wholesaler from a retail licensee for a  refillable  container of over 5 gallons 
shall be equal to the deposit collected by the manufacturer or outstate seller of beer from the 
wholesaler of beer. 

(2) A cash refund which equals the container deposit collected pursuant  to subrule (1) of this rule  for  
all  refillable  containers  of  beer  with  a capacity of over 5 gallons shall be made to  a  licensee  
who  has  made  the deposit and returned the containers for refund. 

History: 1979 AC; 2007 AACS; 2010 MR 8, Eff. Apr. 27, 2010. 
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R 436.1631 Reports of Michigan licensed brewers, Michigan licensed outstate sellers of 
beer, and Michigan licensed wholesalers. 

 
Rule 31. 
  

(1) Each sale or delivery of beer made by a Michigan licensed brewer or Michigan licensed outstate 
seller of beer to a Michigan licensed wholesaler of beer shall be accurately recorded on a sales 
invoice, a debit memo, or a credit memo.  A Michigan licensed brewer or a Michigan licensed 
outstate seller of beer shall furnish each Michigan licensed wholesaler of beer with 2 copies of each 
invoice at the time of each sale or delivery of beer. 

(2) When a billing error is discovered, a Michigan licensed brewer or a Michigan licensed outstate 
seller of beer shall immediately furnish the Michigan licensed wholesaler of beer who was 
incorrectly billed with 2 copies of either a debit memo or a credit memo to correct the billing error. 

(3) Each sales invoice shall have printed on it the name, address, and location of the Michigan licensed 
brewer or Michigan licensed outstate seller of beer issuing the invoice and shall also contain all of 
the following information: 

(a) The name and address of the Michigan licensed wholesaler of beer to whom the sale was 
made. 

(b) The date of sale and an identifying invoice number. 
(c) The quantity, brand name or brand code, container type, container size, unit price, and 

total cost of the beer sold. 
(d) The address to which the beer was delivered, if different than the address of the Michigan 

licensed wholesaler to whom the beer was sold. 
(4) Each debit memo and each credit memo shall have printed on it the name and address of the 

Michigan licensed brewer or Michigan licensed outstate seller of beer issuing the debit memo or 
credit memo and shall also contain all of the following information: 

(a) The name and address of the Michigan licensed wholesaler of beer. 
(b) The date on which the original sale occurred and the identifying number of the invoice 

being corrected. 
(c) The corrected quantity, brand, container type, container size, unit price, the net amount 

debited or credited, and the number of the invoice to which the debit or credit will be 
applied, if known. 

(d) The reason for the debit or credit. 
(5) Each Michigan licensed wholesaler of beer shall retain, on the licensed premises, 1 copy of each 

invoice, debit memo, and credit memo received from a Michigan licensed brewer or a Michigan 
licensed outstate seller of beer and shall forward to the Lansing office of the commission, 
postmarked not later than the fifteenth day of each month, 1 copy of each invoice, debit memo, or 
credit memo received during the previous calendar month.  As an alternative, the Michigan licensed 
wholesaler may submit to the Lansing office of the commission a computer generated report that 
contains all of the same information as the sales invoices, debit memos, and credit memos. 

(6) Each Michigan licensed brewer or Michigan licensed outstate seller of beer shall forward to the 
Lansing office of the commission, postmarked not later than the fifteenth day of each month, 1 copy 
of each invoice, debit memo, or credit memo for all sales, deliveries, and importations of beer in 
Michigan during the previous calendar month.  As an alternative, the Michigan licensed brewer or 
Michigan licensed outstate seller may submit to the Lansing office of the commission a computer 
generated report that contains all of the same information as the sales invoices, debit memos, and 
credit memos. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 
 

R 436.1632 Invoices and bills of lading. 

 
Rule 32.   
 
When transporting beer, a vehicle operator for a brewer, an outstate seller of beer, a licensed wholesaler 
of beer, or a common carrier shall have invoices or bills of lading in his or her possession for inspection by 
commission inspectors or auditors and law enforcement officers.  This rule shall not apply to a vehicle 
operator for a licensed wholesaler of beer while he or she is delivering to retail licensees. 

History:  1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989. 
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R 436.1633 Rescinded. 

 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1979; 1954 ACS 81, Eff. Nov. 20, 1974; 1979 AC; rescinded 2025 MR 3, Eff. Feb. 3, 2025. 

 

R 436.1635 Sale or delivery; restrictions; exception. 

 
Rule 35.   
 
A brewer or wholesaler shall not offer for sale or deliver beer to a retail licensee between 12 midnight on 
Saturday and 12 midnight on Sunday, except to a holder of a special license issued by the commission. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989. 
 

R 436.1641 Michigan licensed brewers' and Michigan licensed wholesalers' reports and 
records. 

 
Rule 41.   
 

(1) Each Michigan licensed brewer, Michigan licensed micro brewer, and Michigan licensed brewpub 
shall maintain records of its transactions, including the distribution of beer.  The records shall be 
maintained in order for 4 years, after which deletions may be made, but a 4-year record shall always 
be maintained. 

(2) Each Michigan licensed wholesaler shall maintain records of its transactions, including the 
distribution of beer.  The records shall be maintained for 4 years, after which deletions may be 
made, but a 4-year record shall always be maintained. 

(3) Each Michigan licensed brewer, Michigan licensed micro brewer, Michigan licensed brewpub, or 
Michigan licensed wholesaler shall maintain complete records of expenses and compensation of 
salespersons and representatives for 4 years. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 

 

R 436.1643 Rescinded. 

 
History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC; rescinded 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989. 
 

R 436.1645 Inspection and enforcement. 

 
Rule 45.   
 

(1) Upon order of the commission a commission representative or employee of the Michigan 
department of agriculture may inspect premises of an out-of-state manufacturer of beer which is 
sold or to be sold in this state. 

(2) The books, records and premises of all licensees shall be available to the commission 
representative at all reasonable times.  The licensee shall give any assistance and provide the 
facilities required for the inspection and analysis. 

(3) The commission may demand a sample of any beer, shipped into this state and offered for sale or 
sold, for analytical and inspection purposes. 

(4) The commission reserves the right to confiscate beer or other alcoholic beverages unless the 
beverage complies with these rules and the act.  The beer confiscated shall be subject to disposition 
by order of the commission. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1651 Prohibited acts. 

 
Rule 51.   
 

(1) A licensee shall not fail, neglect, or refuse to make a report required by these rules.  A licensee 
shall not refuse to permit commission representatives to examine any of the following: 

(a) The licensee’s books. 
(b) Federal tax stamps. 
(c) Records. 
(d) Invoices. 
(e) Other papers pertaining to the licensee’s books, federal tax stamps, records, or invoices. 



1600-6 

(f) Any stock of beer in the licensee’s possession or custody.  A licensee shall not make an 
incomplete, false, or fraudulent report or do anything to avoid a full disclosure of the amount 
of beer subject to tax. 

(2) A licensee shall not falsely label a container in which beer is placed for sale, use or give a false or 
fictitious name, use or give a false or fictitious address in an application or form required by these 
rules, or otherwise commit a fraud in an application, record, or report. 

(3) A licensee shall not engage in tied-in sales of beer, wine, beer and wine, or any alcoholic liquor 
with any non-alcoholic product sold by the licensee. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1979 AC;- 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.1659 Rescissions. 

 
Rule 59.   
 

(1) Rules entitled "Rules and Regulations Applying to the Manufacture and Sale of Beer and/or Malt 
Beverages as Applied to Licensed Manufacturers and Distributors," being R 436.150 to R 436.250 
of the Michigan Administrative Code, and appearing on pages 5320 to 5333 of the 1954 volume of 
the Code, page 129 of the 1955 Annual Supplement to the Code, and page 1525 of the 1960 
Annual Supplement to the Code, are rescinded. 

(2) Rules 36, 37, and 39 of the rules entitled "Rules and Regulations Governing the Relationship 
between Licensed Manufacturers, Wholesalers of Alcoholic Liquor, their Sales Representatives 
and Retail Licensees," being R 436.556, R 436.557, and R 436.559 of the Michigan Administrative 
Code, and appearing on pages 5387 and 5388 of the 1954 volume of the Code, are rescinded. 

(3) R 436.1627 of the Michigan Administrative Code, appearing on page 95 of Quarterly Supplement 
No. 91 to the Code, is rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 72, Eff. Aug. 2, 1972; 1954 ACS 97, Eff. Sept. 30, 1978; 1979 AC. 
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WINE 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 215(1) of 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1215(1) 
and Executive Reorganization Order No. 2011-4, MCL 445.2030) 
 

R 436.1701 Definitions 

 
Rule 1. 
 
The terms defined in R 436.1001 and the act have the same meanings when used in these rules. 

History:  1979 AC; 1980 AACS; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 
 

R 436.1702 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1979 AC; Rescinded 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 

 

R 436.1703 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1979 AC; Rescinded 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 
 

R 436.1704 Mixed spirit drink manufacturer. 

 
Rule 4. 
 
A mixed spirit drink manufacturer shall be treated as a wine maker under these rules except for 
manufacturing and labeling regulations pursuant to section 109(6) of the act, MCL 436.1109(6). 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1979 AC; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 

 

R 436.1705 Outstate sellers of wine. 

 
Rule 5.   
 

(1) A person shall be a holder of the required basic permit issued under the federal alcoholic 
administration act, 27 U.S.C. §201 et seq., before being issued an outstate seller of wine license, 
wine maker license, or small wine maker license. 

(2) The commission may issue an outstate seller of wine license to any of the following entities 
pursuant to these rules and the act: 

(a) A person who is located in the United States, who imports foreign wine, and who sells this 
foreign wine in this state. 

(b) A person who is located outside of this state, but in the United States, and who ships and 
sells bulk wine to licensed Michigan manufacturers for blending, rectifying, or nonbeverage 
purposes or who ships and sells bottled wine directly to a minister, priest, or rabbi for 
sacramental purposes. 

(c) A person who is located outside of this state, but in the United States, and who bottles wine 
manufactured by another person.  This person shall have a certificate or affidavit of identity 
from the manufacturer.  This licensed person shall be responsible for the quality of wine 
shipped into and sold in this state. 

(d) A manufacturer that is located outside of this state, but in the United States, and that 
produces and bottles its own wine. 

(e) A person who is located in the United States and who is designated by the manufacturer 
of wine as its sole and exclusive sales agent in the United States.  A person who is issued 
an outstate seller of wine license under the provisions of this subdivision shall be 
responsible for the quality of wine shipped into and sold in this state. 

(f) A person who is located in the United States and who purchases wine from a manufacturer 
of wine or brand owner located outside of this state, but in the United States, if the total 
amount of wine imported into this state that is manufactured by that outstate manufacturer 
of wine or brand owner is 150,000 liters or less per calendar year.  The outstate seller shall 
be responsible for the quality of wine shipped into and sold in this state.  A person who 
obtains an outstate seller of wine license pursuant to this subdivision, or who imports wine 
pursuant to this subdivision, and who holds a wholesale license shall pay cash at the time 
of purchase for importation. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1979 AC; 1979 ACS 11, Eff. June 30, 1982; 1990 MR 12, Eff. Jan. 4, 1991; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 
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R 436.1706 Rescinded. 
 
History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; rescinded 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 
 

R 436.1707 Federal standards of identity for wine. 

 
Rule 7.   
 
The standards of identity for the several classes and types of bottled wine shall be the federal standards of 
identity, published in title 27, part 4, subpart C, C.F.R., 1935, as amended, as of June 1, 1975, which are 
incorporated herein by reference.  The commission may by written order establish other standards of 
identity.  Copies of the federal regulations are on file and available to the public in the Lansing office of the 
commission at cost. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1954 ACS 85, Eff. Nov. 6, 1975; 1979 AC. 
 

R 436.1708 Manufacturing wine pursuant to federal wine regulations. 

 
Rule 8.   
 

(1) A manufacturer shall manufacture wine under the federal wine regulations published in 27 C.F.R. 
part 24, §§24.1 to 24.323 (2014) that are adopted in these rules by reference.  Copies of the 
adopted provisions may be obtained either from the Superintendent of Documents, United States 
Government Printing Office (GPO), Washington, DC 20402 or from the gpo website at 
https://bookstore.gpo.gov/ at a cost of $37.00 each as of the time of the adoption of these rules, or 
free of charge from the gpo website at https://www.gpo.gov/.  Copies of these provisions may also 
be obtained from the Liquor Control Commission, Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, 
525 W. Allegan, P.O. Box 30005, Lansing, Michigan 48909, at a cost of $43.00 each as of the time 
of adoption of these rules. 

(2) Substandard, imitation base, or nonstandard wine may be sold in this state by written order of the 
commission. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1954 ACS 85, Eff. Nov. 6, 1975; 1979 AC;- 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 
 

R 436.1711 Inspections. 

 
Rule 11.   
 
Upon order of the commission any commission representative or employee of the Michigan department of 
agriculture may inspect any premises of an out-of-state producer, manufacturer or bottler of wine which is 
sold or to be sold in this state. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1712 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1979 AC; Rescinded 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 

 

R 436.1714 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1979 AC;-Rescinded 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 
 

R 436.1716 Bottling. 

 
Rule 16.   
 

(1) Wine may be bottled or sold or both in Michigan in containers of any size permitted by the federal 
alcohol administration act and approved by written order of the commission. 

(2) For tax purposes a variance in content will be permitted within a fraction of a fluid ounce in bottles 
of champagne, carbonated or sparkling wines in order that a 26 ounce container may be registered 
as a 1/5 of a gallon or 25.6 ounce container, or a 13 ounce container may be registered as a 1/10 
of a gallon or 12.8 ounce container. 

(3) Imported wine may be delivered into this state and sold in containers of any size permitted by the 
federal alcohol administration act and approved by written order of the commission. 

(4) A Michigan manufacturer shall not bottle bulk domestic or imported wine for sale in any state without 
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a written order of approval from the commission. 
(5) A Michigan manufacturer shall not manufacture or bottle wine for any other manufacturer without 

a written order of approval from the commission. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1717 Restraining orders; record. 

 
Rule 17.     
 

(1) If wine has not been manufactured in accordance with R 436.1708, then the commission may issue 
a written order restraining a wine manufacturer from selling, offering for sale, using for blending 
purposes, or otherwise using the wine, whether it is in the finished state or in the course of 
manufacture.  The order shall remain in force until rescinded or otherwise disposed of by the 
commission. 

(2) A manufacturer shall keep a complete record, on forms prescribed by the commission, of all wines 
manufactured. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1979 AC; 1979 ACS 1, Eff. Jan. 1, 1980;- 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.1719 Requirements for sale of bottled wine. 

 
Rule 19. 
   

(1) Bottled wine shall not be offered for sale, kept for sale, sold, delivered, or otherwise introduced into 
this state unless all of the following provisions have been complied with: 

(a) The wine is bottled, packaged, marked, branded, and labeled under these rules. 
(b) The wine label truthfully describes the contents of the container pursuant to these rules 

and the federal wine regulations published in 27 C.F.R. part 4, subpart D, §§4.1 to 4.101 
(2014) that are adopted in these rules by reference. Copies of the adopted provisions may 
be obtained either from the Superintendent of Documents, United States Government 
Printing Office (GPO), Washington, DC 20402 or from the gpo website at 
http://bookstore.gpo.gov/ at a cost of $37.00 each as of the time of adoption of these rules, 
or free of charge from the gpo website at http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/. Copies of these 
provisions may also be obtained from the Liquor Control Commission, Department of 
Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, 525 W. Allegan, P.O. Box 30005, Lansing, Michigan 
48909, at a cost of $43.00 each as of the time of adoption of these rules. 

(c) The wine has received a registration number of approval from the commission. 
(2) Bottled wine shall not be shipped, delivered, or otherwise introduced into this state unless it is 

accompanied by an invoice, manifest, or other shipping document listing the quantity of bottled 
wine, by brand name and corresponding registration number of approval that is being shipped, 
delivered, or introduced into this state. The registration number of approval referenced in this 
subrule is not required to be on the invoice of a Michigan licensed direct shipper for wine shipped 
to a consumer in this state 21 years of age or older.  This does not relieve the Michigan licensed 
direct shipper from complying with the requirement to obtain a registration number of approval for 
any wine product shipped into this state. 

(3) A manufacturer, rectifier, or outstate seller of wine who is responsible for labeling shall furnish proof, 
upon request, that valid certificates of approval for the label have been obtained from, and are 
unrevoked under, the federal labeling requirements as published in 27 C.F.R. part 4, subpart D, 
§§4.1 to 4.80, of 1935, as amended.  If a certificate of label approval is not required by the United 
States alcohol and tobacco tax and trade bureau, the manufacturer, rectifier, or outstate seller of 
wine must submit an electronic copy of the label. 

(4) A shipment of bottled wine from a manufacturer or an outstate seller of wine shall be made only to 
a licensed wholesaler at the address of the licensed premises, except upon written order of the 
commission. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1954 ACS 85, Eff. Nov. 6, 1975; 1954 ACS 89, Eff. Oct. 2, 1976; 1979 AC;- 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000 ; 2011 MR 20, Eff. Oct. 
19, 2011; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 
 

 

 

 

http://bookstore.gpo.gov/
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/
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R 436.1720 Reports of Michigan licensed wine makers, Michigan licensed outstate 
sellers of wine, and Michigan licensed wholesalers. 

 
Rule 20. 
 

(1) Each sale or delivery of wine made by a Michigan licensed wine maker or Michigan licensed 
outstate seller of wine to a Michigan licensed wholesaler of wine shall be accurately recorded on a 
sales invoice, a debit memo, or a credit memo.  Each Michigan licensed wine maker and Michigan 
licensed outstate seller of wine shall furnish each Michigan licensed wholesaler of wine with 2 
copies of each invoice at the time of each sale or delivery of wine. 

(2) Each sales invoice shall have printed on it the name, address, and location of the Michigan licensed 
wine maker or Michigan licensed outstate seller of wine issuing the invoice and shall also contain 
all of the following information: 

(a) The name and address of the Michigan licensed wholesaler of wine to whom the sale was 
made. 

(b) The date of sale and an identifying invoice number. 
(c) The quantity, brand, container type, container size, unit price, and total cost of the wine 

sold. 
(d) An identifying designation for all wine over 16% alcohol by volume. 
(e) The address to which the wine was delivered, if different than the address of the licensed 

wholesaler to whom the wine was sold. 
(3) When a billing error is discovered, a Michigan licensed wine maker or Michigan licensed outstate 

seller of wine shall immediately furnish the Michigan licensed wholesaler of wine who was 
incorrectly billed with 2 copies of either a debit memo or a credit memo to correct the billing error. 

(4) Each debit memo and each credit memo shall have printed on it the name and address of the 
Michigan licensed wine maker or Michigan licensed outstate seller of wine issuing the debit memo 
or credit memo and shall also contain all of the following information:  

(a) The name and address of the Michigan licensed wholesaler of wine. 
(b) The date on which the original sale occurred and the identifying number of the invoice 

being corrected. 
(c) The corrected quantity, brand, container type, container size, unit price, the net amount 

debited or credited, and the number of the invoice to which the debit or credit will be 
applied, if known. 

(d) The reason for the debit or credit. 
(5) Each Michigan licensed wholesaler of wine shall retain on the licensed premises 1 copy of each 

invoice, debit memo, and credit memo received from a Michigan licensed wine maker or Michigan 
licensed outstate seller of wine and shall forward to the Lansing office of the commission, 
postmarked not later than the fifteenth day of each month, 1 copy of each invoice, debit memo, or 
credit memo received during the previous calendar month.  As an alternative the Michigan licensed 
wholesaler may submit to the Lansing office of the commission a computer generated report that 
contains all of the same information as the sales invoices, debit memos and credit memos. 

(6) Each Michigan licensed wine maker or Michigan licensed outstate seller of wine shall forward to 
the Lansing office of the commission, postmarked not later than the fifteenth day of each month, 1 
copy of each invoice, debit memo, or credit memo for all sales, deliveries, and importations of wine 
in Michigan during the previous calendar month.  As an alternative the Michigan licensed wine 
maker or Michigan licensed outstate seller of wine may submit to the Lansing office of the 
commission a computer generated report that contain all of the same information as the sales 
invoices, debit memos, and credit memos. 

History:  1954 ACS 89, Eff. Oct. 2, 1976; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017. 
 

R 436.1721 Requirements for sale of bulk wine. 

 
Rule 21.   
 

(1) A manufacturer or outstate seller of wine may sell bulk wine of any alcoholic content for blending 
purposes and nonbeverage purposes without an additional license. 

(2) Bulk wine shall not be offered for sale, kept for sale, sold, delivered or otherwise introduced into 
this state unless it is approved for sale by the commission and accompanied by a release form, a 
supply of which shall be furnished by the commission upon request.  The release shall be signed 
by an outstate seller of wine or an authorized agent of the outstate seller of wine. 

(3) When bulk wine is received by a consignee on a release issued by the commission, the consignee 
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shall immediately submit to the commission a copy of the invoice listing the shipment.  Upon request 
the consignee shall readily make available to a commission inspector a copy of the release, the bill 
of lading, and a copy of the vendor's invoice. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1954 ACS 89, Eff. Oct. 2, 1976; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1722 Transportation of wine. 

 
Rule 22.   
 

(1) When bottled wine is transported in interstate or intrastate commerce, a copy of the invoice or bill 
of lading shall accompany the wine and shall be available for inspection by commission 
representatives and law enforcement agencies. 

(2) A truck driver of a manufacturer or outstate seller of bottled wine shall have invoices and bills of 
lading available for inspection by commission representatives and law enforcement agencies. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1954 ACS 89, Eff. Oct. 2, 1976; 1979 AC; 1979 ACS 1, Eff. Jan. 1, 1980. 

 

R 436.1723 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1954 ACS 89, Eff. Oct. 2, 1976; 1979 AC; rescinded 1985 MR 4, Eff. May 10, 1985. 

 

R 436.1723a Barrel deposit and refund. 

 
Rule 23a.  
 

(1) A manufacturer, an outstate seller of wine, or a wholesaler of wine shall collect a barrel deposit of 
$10.00 for a barrel, 1/2 barrel, and 1/4 barrel of wine or mixed wine drink. 

(2) A cash refund of $10.00 for a barrel,1/ 2 barrel, and 1/4 barrel of wine or mixed wine drink shall be 
made to a licensee who has made the deposit and returned the barrels for refund.  

History:  1989 MR 1, Eff. Jan. 20, 1989. 
 

R 436.1724 Sacramental wine. 

 
Rule 24. 
  

(1) A manufacturer, outstate seller of wine, or wholesaler may sell wine to a church for use only in 
sacramental or religious rites. 

(2) A manufacturer, outstate seller of wine, or wholesaler who sells wine for sacramental or religious 
rites shall file a quarterly report with the commission on a form approved by the commission listing 
the amount of such sales.  The report shall be submitted to the commission by January 15, April 15, 
July 15, and October 15 of each year. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1954 ACS 89, Eff. Oct. 2, 1976; 1979 AC. 
 

R 436.1725 Excise tax on wine; reports. 

 
Rule 25. 
   

(1) Each wholesaler and wine maker licensed in this state that does not designate a wholesaler to pay 
the wine tax shall submit, to the commission, on forms acceptable to the commission and 
postmarked not later than the fifteenth day of each calendar quarter, a wine tax report of all wine 
sold in this state during the preceding calendar quarter and the payment of the required wine excise 
tax due pursuant to section 301 of the act, MCL 436.1301. 

(2) The wine excise tax report submitted pursuant to subrule (1) of this rule by a wholesaler or wine 
maker licensed in this state must include all of the following information: 

(a) The total sales of wine made into this state during the period covered by the report. 
(b) The total amount of the wine excise tax due. 
(c) The date that each shipment of wine was made. 
(d) The name and address of the retailer licensed in this state that received each shipment of 

wine. 
(e) The invoice number for each sale of wine. 
(f) The brand name, quantity and container size of each item of wine sold. 

(3) Each wine maker licensed in this state that designates a wholesaler to report and pay its wine taxes 
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shall notify the commission of its selection through electronic mail. Each wine maker licensed in 
this state that designates a wholesaler shall select a wholesaler or wholesalers sufficient to cover 
all the areas of the state where the wine maker's products are distributed. The commission and the 
wholesaler shall receive notification of the designation of a wholesaler to report and pay wine taxes 
not later than April 1. The selection of a wholesaler to report and pay wine taxes may be changed 
only by the wine maker licensed in this state by notification to the commission not later than April 
1. The change of designated wholesalers is effective May 1. A wine maker licensed in this state 
that does not properly designate a wholesaler and notify the commission of its selection shall be 
responsible for the submission of the wine tax reports and payment of the wine tax required under 
subrules (1) and (2) of this rule. 

(4) Each wine maker licensed in this state shall submit to the commission, on forms acceptable to the 
commission and postmarked not later than the fifteenth day of each calendar quarter, a wine tax 
report of all wine sold or consumed on the licensed premises of its manufacturing facility and tasting 
rooms during the preceding calendar quarter. Payment of the required wine excise tax due pursuant 
to section 301 of the act, MCL 436.1301, must accompany the report. 

History:  1954 ACS 89, Eff. Oct. 2, 1976; 1979 AC; 1989 MR 9, Eff. Oct. 4, 1989; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 16, 2017; 2025 MR 3, Eff. Feb. 3, 2025. 

 

R 436.1726 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 89, Eff. Oct. 2, 1976; 1979 AC; 1979 ACS 14, Eff. Apr. 7, 1983; Rescinded 2022 MR 19, Eff. Oct 14, 2022 (Pursuant to PA 226 of 2022) 

 

R 436.1727 Records. 

 
Rule 27.   
 

(1) The production and sales records of the manufacturer shall be maintained in order and available 
for inspection for the 4 most recent years. 

(2) A wholesaler of wine shall maintain records of its purchases and sales of alcoholic liquor.  The 
records shall be maintained and available for inspection for the 4 most recent years. 

(3) A manufacturer or wholesaler of wine shall maintain complete records of the expenses of their 
licensed salesmen and representatives and complete records of the total compensation paid to 
their licensed salesmen and representatives.  These records shall be maintained and available for 
inspection for the 4 most recent years. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1954 ACS 89, Eff. Oct. 2, 1976; 1979 AC. 
 

R 436.1728 Inspection; analysis; enforcement. 

 
Rule 28.   
 

(1) The books, records and premises of all licensees shall be available to the commission 
representative at all times.  The licensees shall give any assistance and provide the facilities 
required for the inspection and analysis. 

(2) The commission may demand a sample of any wine shipped into this state and offered for sale or 
sold for analytical and inspection purposes. 

(3) The commission reserves the right to confiscate wine or other alcoholic beverage unless the 
beverage complies with these rules and the act.  The wine confiscated shall be subject to 
disposition by order of the commission. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1731 Rescinded. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1979 AC;- Rescinded 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 
 

R 436.1735 Prohibited acts; penalties. 

 
Rule 35.   
 

(1) A licensee shall not fail, neglect, or refuse to submit a report required by these rules or submit a 
false or incomplete report required by these rules.  A licensee shall not refuse to permit a 
commission representative to examine the wine books, records, invoices, or other papers kept by 
the licensee in regard to the licensed business. 
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(2) A licensee shall not falsely label a container in which wine is placed for sale, use or give a false or 
fictitious address in an application or form required by these rules, or otherwise make a material 
misrepresentation in an application, record, or report. 

(3) A licensee shall not engage in tied-in sales of beer, wine, or beer and wine. 
(4) Bottled wine or wine containers shall not be returned to a wholesaler or manufacturer, except as 

provided by written order of the commission. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970; 1954 ACS 89, Eff. Oct. 2, 1976; 1979 AC; 1985 MR 4, Eff. May 10, 1985;- 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2017 MR 5, Eff. March 
16, 2017. 

 

R 436.1749 Rescissions. 

 
Rule 49.   
 
The following rules are rescinded: 

(a) Rule 19 of the rules entitled "Retail Licensees Selling Alcoholic Beverages for Consumption 
on the Premises," being R 436.19 of the Michigan Administrative Code, and appearing on 
page 5306 of the 1954 volume of the Code. 

(b) Rule 15 of the rules entitled "Retail Licensees Selling Beer and Wine for Consumption off 
the Premises," being R 436.65 of the Michigan Administrative Code, and appearing on 
page 5310 of the 1954 volume of the Code. 

(c) Rules entitled "Manufacture, Importation, Transportation, Standards of Identity and Quality, 
Labeling, Possession and Sale of Wines," being R 436.251 to R 436.422 of the Michigan 
Administrative Code, and appearing on pages 5333 to 5370 of the 1954 volume of the 
Code. 

History:  1954 ACS 64, Eff. Sept. 1, 1970, 1979 AC. 
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SPIRITS 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 215(1) and 301 of 1998 PA 58, MCL 
436.1215(1) and MCL 436.1201, and Executive Reorganization Order No. 2011-4, MCL 445.2030) 
 

R 436.1801 Definitions. 

 
Rule 1. 
 
The terms defined in the Michigan liquor control act and the commission rules have the same meaning 
when used in these rules. 

History:  1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 
 

R 436.1802  Authorized distribution agents; generally. 

 
Rule 2.  
    

(1) As used in this rule, “authorized distribution agent” means a person who has entered into a 
contractual relationship with 1 or more manufacturers or suppliers of spirits or with another 
authorized distribution agent for warehousing or distribution, or both, of spirits and who has been 
certified, in writing, by the commission, to act as the commission’s agent for the warehousing and 
distribution of spirits to retail licensees of the commission. 

(2) A person shall apply for certification as an authorized distribution agent to the commission in 
Lansing on forms, and in the manner, approved by the commission. 

(3) An applicant for certification as an authorized distribution agent shall provide both of the following 
to the commission: 

(a) A technical plan for the importation, transportation, warehousing, and delivery of spirits in 
this state. 

(b) Any information or documentation required by the commission relating to the honesty and 
integrity of any applicant or any principal in the corporation, company, association, limited 
liability company, or partnership applying for certification as an authorized distribution 
agent. 

(4) An authorized distribution agent or prospective authorized distribution agent shall maintain, and 
make available to the commission or its representative upon being given notice, any contract or 
written agreement or proposed contract or written agreement that the authorized distribution agent 
or prospective authorized distribution agent may have with a manufacturer, supplier of spirits, or 
other authorized distribution agent for the importation, warehousing, delivery, or sale of spirits in 
this state. 

(5) An authorized distribution agent shall maintain an adequate physical plant and proper equipment 
to perform the functions for which the authorized distribution agent is certified. 

(6) The commission may inspect, during normal business hours, any facility or equipment used in 
conjunction with the business of an authorized distribution agent or applicant for certification as an 
authorized distribution agent. 

(7) An authorized distribution agent or  prospective authorized distribution agent shall make available, 
for inspection by the commission and its representatives, all financial and accounting records 
pertinent to the operation of the authorized distribution agent or prospective authorized distribution 
agent. 

(8) An authorized distribution agent shall maintain, at its expense, insurance approved by the 
commission to protect against claims resulting from business operations or activities, including 
insurance on alcoholic beverages in storage or transit. 

(9) An authorized distribution agent shall obtain and maintain a  blanket bond payable to the state of 
Michigan in an amount equal to the risk of loss to the state as determined by the commission. 

(10) An authorized distribution agent shall not have a direct or indirect interest in a retail alcoholic 
beverage license issued by the state of Michigan as enumerated in section 537 of Act No.  58 of 
the Public Acts of 1998, as amended, being §436.1537 of the Michigan Compiled Laws. 

(11) An authorized distribution agent may not subcontract any of the business functions or activities 
specified in the agent’s contract or agreement with the manufacturer or supplier of spirits without 
the prior written consent of the commission and certification of the subcontractor as an authorized 
distribution agent of the commission. 

(12) The commission may rescind the certification of an authorized distribution agent who fails to comply 
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with any and all federal, state, or local codes, laws, ordinances, rules, or regulations applicable to 
the agent’s operations or fails to comply with Act No. 58 of the Public Acts of 1998, as amended, 
being §436.1101 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws, commission rules, certification 
requirements, or commission order, including an order that establishes further business operating 
procedures for authorized distribution agents. 

(13) Certification of an authorized distribution agent shall terminate automatically and without any act of 
the commission if the contract or agreement between the authorized distribution agent and the 
manufacturer or supplier of spirits or another authorized distribution agent expires or is terminated.  
Certification shall also terminate automatically upon modification of the system of warehousing and 
distribution of spirits by the legislature or the commission that eliminates the need for the authorized 
distribution agent certification. 

(14) The commission may, by order, establish further business operating procedures for authorized 
distribution agents relative to the wholesaling and distribution of spirits. 

History: 1996 MR 8, Eff. Sept. 11, 1996;- 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.1803 Building and health laws and ordinances. 

 
Rule 3.   
 
A manufacturer of spirits shall comply with all state and local building and health laws and ordinances. 

History:  1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1805 Equipment. 

 
Rule 5.  
 
A manufacturer of spirits shall possess the necessary equipment for a satisfactory operation which shall be 
maintained in good working order and in a sanitary condition.  The commission may establish specific 
equipment requirements by written order. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1807 Agricultural product compliance with law. 

 
Rule 7.   
 
Agriculture products processed by a manufacturer of spirits shall comply with state laws and rules of the 
department of agriculture. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1809 Sellers of alcohol. 

 
Rule 9.   
 

(1) A seller of alcohol license is required for the sale of alcohol in this state. 
(2) A seller of alcohol license shall be issued, pursuant to the act and commission rules, to the 

following: 
(a) A person who is the holder of the required basic permit issued under the federal alcohol 

administration act. 
(b) A person who has paid the annual license fee and furnished the surety bond set by written 

order of the commission. 
(3) A seller of alcohol licensee may sell an unlimited quantity of alcohol to the following: 

(a) A licensed distiller, rectifier or manufacturer of wine, for fortifying and blending purposes. 
(b) A licensed industrial manufacturer for use in manufacturing products for nonbeverage 

purposes. 
(4) A seller of alcohol licensee may sell a limited quantity of alcohol to persons holding a federal tax 

free alcohol permit, such quantity to be set by written order of the commission. 
(5) A shipment into this state from a seller of alcohol licensee shall have a release from the 

commission. 
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History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1811 Industrial manufacturers. 

 
Rule 11.   
 

(1) An industrial manufacturer license is required to secure alcohol and bulk alcoholic liquors for 
exclusive use in manufacturing products for non-beverage purposes. 

(2) An industrial manufacturer license shall be issued, pursuant to the act and commission rules, to 
the following: 

(a) A person who is the holder of the required basic permit issued under the federal alcohol 
administration act. 

(b) A person who has paid the annual license fee and furnished the surety bond set by written 
order of the commission. 

(3) An industrial manufacturer licensee shall buy alcohol only from the commission or from a licensee 
of the commission. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1813 Limited alcohol buyers. 

 
Rule 13.   
 

(1) A limited alcohol buyer license is required to secure alcohol for medicinal, mechanical, chemical or 
scientific purposes. 

(2) A limited alcohol buyer license shall be issued, pursuant to the act and commission rules, to a 
person who has paid the annual fee set by written order of the commission. 

(3) A limited alcohol buyer licensee shall buy alcohol only from the commission or from a licensee of 
the commission. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1815 Transportation. 

 
Rule 15.   
 
Railroads, steamship lines, express companies, and common carriers of other transporting companies are 
prohibited from accepting or delivering spirits to any person in this state except in accordance with the 
following: 

(a) A copy of a release approved by a representative of the commission shall accompany the 
bill of lading for shipments of spirits made to a person or licensee in this state. 

(b) A release is not required when bottled spirits are shipped with a bill of lading addressed to 
or in care of the commission. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1817 Warehouse receipts. 

 
Rule 17.   
 
A person shall not sell, offer for sale or in any manner assign or transfer in this state warehouse receipts 
for spirits, wherever the spirits are located, except as follows: 

(a) An isolated transaction in which a warehouse receipt for spirits is sold, offered for sale or 
delivered by a bona fide owner or pledgee thereof, such sale or offer for sale or delivery 
not being made in the course of repeated or successive transactions of a like character by 
the owner or pledgee, and the owner or pledgee not being a dealer or issuer or salesman 
of such warehouse receipts. 

(b) A sale of warehouse receipts for spirits by a manufacturer. 
(c) A sale made to a bank, trust company, insurance company, or broker or dealer in 

warehouse receipts for spirits. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 
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R 436.1819 Prohibited acts by licensees. 

 
Rule 19.   
 

(1) A licensee shall not fail, neglect or refuse to make a report required by these rules or refuse to 
permit commission representatives to examine his books, federal tax stamps, records, invoices or 
other papers pertaining thereto, or any stock of spirits in his possession or custody, or make an 
incomplete, false or fraudulent report or do anything to avoid a full disclosure of the amount of 
spirits subject to tax. 

(2) A licensee shall not falsely label a container in which spirits are placed for sale, or use or give a 
false or fictitious name, or use or give a false or fictitious address in an application or form required 
by these rules, or otherwise commit a fraud in an application, record or report. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1821 Damaged goods. 

 
Rule 21.   
 
No rebates, refunds or adjustments on broken containers, damaged goods, or for other reasons, shall be 
made by a licensee to any other licensee except by written order of the commission. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1823 Rescissions. 

 
Rule 23. 
 
The following rules are rescinded: 

(a) The rules entitled "Rules and Regulations Governing Vendors and Agents Engaged in the 
Promotion of the Sale of Distilled Spirits in the State of Michigan," being R 436.131 to R 
436.141 of the Michigan Administrative Code, and appearing on page 5319 of the 1954 
volume of the Code. 

(b) Rules entitled "Regulations for the Sale and Control of Alcohol, Spirits, Cologne Spirits, 
Whiskies, Brandies, High Wines, Low Wines for Beverage, Nonbeverage, Industrial, 
Medicinal, Chemical, Scientific and Tax Free Purposes," being R 436.431 to R 436.439 
and R 436.450 of the Michigan Administrative Code, and appearing on pages 5371 to 5375 
of the 1954 volume of the Code. 

(c) Rule 6 of the rules entitled "Wines," being R 436.1706 of the Michigan Administrative Code 
and appearing on page 5788 of the 1970-71 Annual Supplements to the Code. 

History:  1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1825 Adoption by reference of federal standards of identity for spirits. 

 
Rule 25.   
 
The federal standards of identity, published at 27 C.F.R. part 5, subpart C, §§5.21 to 5.23, of 1935, as 
amended, are adopted by reference in these rules as the standards of identity for the classes and types of 
bottled spirits. Copies of the adopted standards may be obtained either from the Superintendent of 
Documents, United States Government Printing Office (gpo), Washington, DC 20402 or from the gpo 
website at http://bookstore.gpo.gov at a cost of $37.00 each as of the time of adoption of these rules, or 
free of charge from the gpo website at http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr. Copies of these provisions may also 
be obtained from the Liquor Control Commission, Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, 
Secondary Complex, 7150 Harris Drive, P.O. Box 3005, Lansing, Michigan 48909, at a cost of $43.00 each 
as of the time of adoption of these rules. The commission may establish other standards by written order. 

History: 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2011 MR 20, Eff. Oct. 19, 2011. 
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R 436.1827 Adoption by reference of federal distilled spirit regulations. 

 
Rule 27.   
 
A manufacturer of spirits shall manufacture spirits under the federal distilled spirit regulations published at 
27 C.F.R. part 19, §§19.1 to 19.792, of 1935, as amended, which are adopted in these rules by reference.  
Copies of the adopted provisions may be obtained from the Superintendent of Documents, United States 
Government Printing Office, Washington, DC 20402, at a cost as of the time of adoption of these rules of 
$49.00.  Copies of these provisions may also be obtained from the Liquor Control Commission, Department 
of Consumer and Industry Services, Secondary Complex, 7150 Harris Drive, P.O. Box 30005, Lansing, 
Michigan 48909, at a cost as of the time of adoption of these rules of  $55.00 each. 

History: 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.1829 Labels and advertising. 

 
Rule 29.   
 
The sale of spirits is prohibited in this state unless all of the following provisions are complied with: 

(a) The spirit is packaged, marked, branded, and labeled in accordance with these rules. 
(b) The spirit label truthfully describes the contents of the container in accordance with these rules 

and the federal distilled spirit regulations published at 27 C.F.R. part 5, subpart C, of 1935, as 
amended, which are adopted by reference in R 436.1825. 

(c) A vendor of spirits shall furnish proof upon request that a valid certificate of approval for the 
label has been obtained and is unrevoked under the federal labeling requirements at 27 C.F.R. 
part 5, subpart C, of 1935, as amended, which are adopted by reference in R 436.1825. 

(d) The commission has issued a registration number of approval for the spirits. 

History: 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000; 2011 MR 20, Eff. Oct. 19, 2011. 
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VENDOR REPRESENTATIVE AND SALESMAN 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 215(1) of Act No. 58 of the Public Acts 
of 1998, being §436.1215(1) of the Michigan Compiled Laws) 
 

R 436.1851 Rescinded. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC; rescinded 1979 ACS 4, Eff. Feb. 3, 1981. 

 

R 436.1853 Licenses. 

 
Rule 53.   
 

(1) A vendor of spirits, manufacturer of beer, manufacturer of wine, outstate seller of beer, outstate 
seller of wine, or wholesaler shall not employ a person to sell, deliver, promote, or otherwise assist 
in the sale of, alcoholic liquor in this state unless the person is licensed by the commission as a 
vendor representative or salesperson and issued an identification card. 

(2) The commission shall set the license fee for a vendor representative or salesperson by written 
order.  A license is renewable on May 1, 1975, and every 3 years thereafter. 

(3) The commission shall set the license fee for a broker by written order.  A license fee for a broker 
shall be the same as for a salesperson license. 

(4) A person shall not sell alcoholic liquor to the commission unless represented by a licensed vendor 
representative. 

(5) A vendor representative shall obtain a separate license for each vendor of spirits represented. 
(6) A person shall be not less than 18 years of age before being issued a license. 
(7) This rule does not require a driver helper to be licensed as a salesperson if the driver helper is 

accompanied by a licensed salesperson and is assisting the licensed salesperson only in the 
delivery of alcoholic beverage product. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC; 1979 ACS 11, Eff. June 30, 1982;- 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.1855 Identification cards. 

 
Rule 55. 
   

(1) A vendor representative or salesman shall show his commission identification card upon request 
of a commission representative or law enforcement officer. 

(2) A vendor representative or salesman shall show his commission identification card upon request 
before offering for sale or selling alcoholic liquor to a retail licensee. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1857 Common carriers. 

 
Rule 57.   
 
A person employed by a common carrier is not required to be licensed under these rules. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1859 Prohibited acts. 

 
Rule 59.   
 

(1) A vendor representative, salesperson, or driver helper shall not do any of the following: 
(a) Grant, allow, pay, or rebate cash or any other thing of value to a licensee or an agent, clerk, 

or employee of a licensee, except upon written order of the commission. 
(b) Purchase or deliver spirits to retail licensees, except for a salesperson or driver helper who 

delivers spirits in the normal course of his or her duties for an authorized distribution agent. 
(c) Deliver beer or wine to retail licensees in vehicles not approved by the commission. 
(d) Be employed by a retail licensee on a paid or any other basis. 
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(e) Furnish entertainment or a gratuity of any kind to commission employees.  The word 
"entertainment" does not include normal business meals. 

(2) A licensee employed to deliver alcoholic liquor shall not consume alcoholic liquor while on duty or 
in the course of employment. 

(3) A vendor representative or salesperson shall not advise a licensee on commission rules or the 
liquor control code, being Act No. 58 of the Public Acts of 1998, as amended, being §436.1101 et 
seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC;- 2000 MR 3, Eff. March 20, 2000. 

 

R 436.1861 Promotions. 

 
Rule 61.   
 

(1) A brewer, a vendor of spirits, a wine maker, an outstate seller of beer, an outstate seller of wine, or 
a licensed wholesaler of beer or wine shall not do either of the following: 

(a) Participate in or conduct any event, contest, activity, or undertaking on the campus of any 
2- or 4-year college or university located in this state which is designed to promote the sale 
or consumption of any alcoholic liquor. 

(b) Participate in or conduct any event, contest, activity, or undertaking off the campus of any 
2- or 4-year college or university located in this state if the event, contest, activity, or 
undertaking is organized or sponsored by any student group which has a majority of 
members who are under the legal age for consumption of alcoholic liquor. 

(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of subrule (1) of this rule, a brewer, a vendor of spirits, a wine maker, 
an outstate seller of beer, an outstate seller of wine, or a licensed wholesaler of beer or wine may 
do any of the following: 

(a) Advertise in any newspaper or periodical published or circulated on the campus of a 2- or 
4-year college or university located in this state if such advertising is done in accordance 
with the provisions of R 436.1301 to R 436.1339. 

(b) Make a philanthropic gift to the governing body of a 2- or 4-year college or university 
located in this state if such gift does not include alcoholic liquor and is not contingent upon 
the promotion or advertising of any brand of alcoholic liquor. 

(c) Participate in a course offered by any 2- or 4-year college or university located in this state 
if the course is offered in an academic building of the 2- or 4-year college or university and 
is under the supervision of a faculty member. 

(d) Participate in, sponsor, contribute to, or promote any organization or program having as its 
purpose the dissemination of information concerning alcohol awareness or responsible 
consumption of alcoholic liquor or which is involved in either research or treatment related 
to the use or abuse of alcoholic liquor if such participation has the prior approval of both 
the commission and the governing body, or its designee, of the 2- or 4-year college or 
university located in this state at which the participation is to take place. 

(e) Provide financial assistance to a group or organization conducting an event, contest, 
activity, or undertaking held entirely or in part on the campus of any 2- or 4-year college or 
university located in this state if such financial assistance has the prior approval of both the 
commission and the governing body, or its designee, of the college or university on whose 
campus the event, contest, activity, or undertaking is to take place.  A group or organization 
which receives financial assistance may acknowledge the source of the financial 
assistance. 

(3) A brewer, a vendor of spirits, a wine maker, an outstate seller of beer, an outstate seller of wine, or 
a licensed wholesaler of beer or wine shall not hire, or cause to be hired, any person whose duty 
or responsibility it is to promote, market, or encourage the use, sale, or consumption of alcoholic 
liquor on the campus of, or by the students of, any 2- or 4-year college or university located in this 
state.  However, a brewer, a vendor of spirits, a wine maker, an outstate seller of beer, or an 
outstate seller of wine may hire a person, who shall be licensed by the commission, for the purpose 
of representing that brewer, vendor of spirits, wine maker, outstate seller of beer, or outstate seller 
of wine in its dealings with any group or organization affiliated with and recognized by a 2- or 4-
year college or university or with the governing body, or its designee, to make the arrangements 
necessary to accomplish those activities permitted by subrule (2) of this rule. 

(4) This rule shall not prohibit a licensed wholesaler of beer or wine from making a sale or delivery of 
beer or wine to a licensee located on the campus of a 2- or 4-year college or university. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC; 1985 MR 12, Eff. Jan. 1, 1986. 
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R 436.1863 Samples. 

 
Rule 63.   
 

(1) A sample of alcoholic liquor shall have affixed on a separate label or on the commercial label the 
word "Sample" at least 1/2 inch high. 

(2) Only 1 open sample bottle or can of alcoholic liquor may be given to a retail licensee for his personal 
sampling. 

(3) A vendor of spirits, manufacturer of beer, manufacturer of wine, outstate seller of wine, outstate 
seller of beer, vendor representative, salesman or other licensees shall not assist in the violation 
of the liquor control act or commission rules. 

History: 1954 ACS 83, Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1865 Expenses and expense records. 

 
Rule 65.   
 

(1) A vendor  representative  and  salesperson  of  a  vendor  of spirits, manufacturer of beer, 
manufacturer of wine, outstate seller of beer,  outstate seller of wine or wholesaler shall maintain 
an  accurate  record  of expenditures for each call on a retail  licensee.   These records shall be 
maintained for 4 years and be available for commission inspection. 

(2) (2)  A vendor  representative  or  salesperson  of  spirits  or  wine,  for promotional  purposes,  may  
purchase  1  drink  for  each  customer  of   an on-premises retail licensee only.  The drink purchased 
shall be of the  brand represented by the vendor representative or salesperson. 

(3) A vendor representative or salesperson of a manufacturer  of  beer,  a wholesaler of beer or an 
outstate seller of beer, for  promotional  purposes, may purchase 1 drink for each customer  of  an  
on-premises  retail  licensee subject to a total spending limit of $50.00 per day.   The drinks 
purchased shall be of the brand represented by the vendor representative or salesperson. 

(4) A vendor representative or salesperson of a manufacturer  of  beer,  a  wholesaler of beer or an 
outstate seller of beer shall not  purchase  drinks,  as described in subrule (3) of this rule, more 
than twice per  month  at  the same on-premises retail licensed location. 

(5) A licensee employed to deliver alcoholic  liquor  shall  not  purchase drinks of alcoholic liquors for 
a retail licensee while on  duty  or  in  the course of employment. 

  History: 1979 AC; 2010 MR 8, Eff. Apr. 22, 2010. 

 

R 436.1869 Rescissions. 

 
Rule 69.   
 
The rules of the commission entitled "Rules and Regulations Governing the Relationship between Licensed 
Manufacturers, Wholesalers of Alcoholic Liquors, their Sales Representatives and Retail Licensees," being 
R 436.521 to R 436.534, R 436.549 to R 436.555, R 436.558, R 436.560 and R 436.570 of the Michigan 
Administrative Code and appearing on pages 5383 to 5384 and 5386 to 5388 of the 1954 volume of the 
Code are rescinded. 

History: 1954 ACS 83; Eff. May 2, 1975; 1979 AC. 
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HEARING AND APPEAL PRACTICE 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 215(1) of 1998 PA 58, MCL 
436.1215(1),  section 230 of 1965 PA 380, MCL 16.330, and section 33 of 1969 PA 306, MCL 24.233) 
 

R 436.1901 Definitions. 

 
Rule 1. 
 

(1) As used in these rules: 
(a) “Act” means 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1101 et seq. 
(b) “Duly authorized agent” means a person designated by the chairperson pursuant to 

sections 903(3) and (4) of the act to hear violation cases. 
(2) The terms defined in the act and in the general rules of the commission have the same meaning 

when used in these rules. 

History: 1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC; 2004 MR 6, Eff. March 24, 2004. 

 

R 436.1903 Hearings; transcripts. 

 
Rule 3. 
 

(1) All hearings shall be open to the public. 
(2) A copy of the transcript of the testimony taken at a hearing before the commission shall be available 

upon written request to the commission and payment of the commission's prescribed fees which 
shall be set by written order of the commission. 

History: 1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1905 Violations; violation report; complaint; notice of hearing. 

 
Rule 5. 
  

(1) Alleged violations of the act or commission rules shall be stated on a violation report form and shall 
be submitted to the executive services division of the commission. 

(2) A complaint specifying the particular section of the act or commission rules allegedly violated by 
the licensee may be prepared for the licensing and enforcement division at the direction of an 
assistant attorney general. 

(3) Each complaint shall be assigned a number which shall be placed on all papers filed in the 
proceedings. 

(4) The complaint shall be served by the executive services division on the licensee in person or by 
mail to the licensed address not less than 20 days before the scheduled hearing date.  The licensed 
address shall be the address of the licensed establishment unless the licensee has submitted, in 
writing, to the commission, a different address for the receipt of mail.  The complaint shall advise 
the licensee of the licensee's right to request a copy of the violation report. 

(5) Notice of hearing on a complaint which indicates the date scheduled for the hearing shall be served 
by executive services division on the licensee at the address of the licensee as specified in subrule 
(4) of this rule not less than 10 days before the date of hearing. 

(6) The hearing notice shall advise the licensee of the licensee's right to be represented by an attorney 
at the hearing. 

(7) The complaint and notice of hearing on the complaint shall be substantially in accordance with 
forms prescribed by the commission. 

History: 1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC; 2004 MR 6, Eff. March 24, 2004. 
 

R 436.1907 Waiver of hearing; acknowledgment of violation. 

 
Rule 7.   
 

(1) A licensee who is cited in a complaint for an alleged violation of the act or commission rules may 
waive the right to a hearing on the complaint and acknowledge the violation or violations specified 
in the complaint. 
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(2) The waiver and acknowledgment constitute an authorization to the hearing commissioner or duly 
authorized agent to enter, without a hearing, an order which the hearing commissioner or duly 
authorized agent deems appropriate. 

(3) The waiver of the right to hearing and acknowledgment of the violation shall be on the reverse side 
of the complaint form and as prescribed by the commission.  The waiver and acknowledgment form 
shall provide that the licensee may explain, on a separate sheet of paper, any mitigating 
circumstances which the licensee believes should be considered in disposing of the violation. 

History: 1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC; 2004 MR 6, Eff. March 24, 2004. 

 

R 436.1909 Violation hearing. 

 
Rule 9.   
 

(1) A hearing commissioner or duly authorized agent designated by the chairperson shall conduct the 
violation hearing on the complaint.  Findings of fact, conclusions of law, and an order shall be 
mailed to the licensee and the licensee's attorney of record within 45 days after the completion of 
the hearing, except upon written order of the commission extending the time period. 

(2) In violation hearings where the licensee is not represented by an attorney-at-law, the hearing 
commissioner or duly authorized agent designated by the chairperson shall open the hearing by 
advising the licensee of both of the following rights: 

(a) The right to present evidence. 
(b) The right to cross-examine commission witnesses. 

History: 1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC; 1988 MR 1, Eff. Jan. 27, 1988. 

 

R 436.1910 Violation rehearing. 

 
Rule 10.   
 

(1) After a violation hearing, a licensee who alleges new evidence may request a rehearing before the 
hearing commissioner or duly authorized agent who issued the original order.  A request for a 
rehearing shall be submitted in writing to the commission in Lansing within 20 days after the date 
of the mailing of the original order. 

(2) If a request for a rehearing in a violation matter is granted by the hearing commissioner or duly 
authorized agent, then the licensee or the licensee's attorney of record shall be notified of the 
rehearing not less than 10 days before the date of the rehearing. 

History: 1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC; 2004 MR 6, Eff. March 24, 2004. 

 

R 436.1911 Costs. 

 
Rule 11.   
 
If the hearing commissioner renders a decision that a violation occurred, then the hearing  commissioner 
or duly authorized agent may assess actual costs of the proceeding against the licensee. 

History: 1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC; 2004 MR 6, Eff. March 24, 2004. 

 

R 436.1913 Personal appearance of licensee. 

 
Rule 13.   
 

(1) At least 1 of the following entities shall personally appear at a violation hearing, as applicable: 
(a) The individual licensee. 
(b) A co-licensee. 
(c) A partner of a partnership licensee. 
(d) An officer of a corporate licensee. 
(e) A member or manager of a limited liability company. 

(2) Subrule (1) of this rule may be waived by the hearing commissioner or duly authorized agent if a 
formal appearance has been filed by an attorney-at-law in good standing in this state. 

History: 1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC; 1994 MR 12, Eff. Dec. 16. 1995; 2004 MR 6, Eff. March 24, 2004. 
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R 436.1915 Failure to personally appear at violation hearings. 

 
Rule 15.   
 

(1) If a proper appearance by a licensee is not made at a scheduled violation hearing in accordance 
with R 436.1913 then the presiding hearing commissioner or duly authorized agent may do any of 
the following: 

(a) Grant an adjournment without testimony being taken. 
(b) Order testimony taken and then adjourn the proceedings until rescheduled. 
(c) Order the immediate suspension of the license until a proper appearance is made at a 

rescheduled hearing. 
(d) Issue a decision of default. 
(e) Proceed with the hearing and render a decision. 

(2) If an adjournment is granted after testimony is taken and the licensee, at a rescheduled hearing, 
desires to cross-examine the commission witnesses who have already testified, then the 
commission witnesses shall be produced by, and at the expense of, the licensee under the 
provisions of the commission rules. 

History: 1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC; 2004 MR 6, Eff. March 24, 2004. 
 

R 436.1917 Violation appeal hearings; appeal board. 

 
Rule 17.   
 

(1) A licensee aggrieved by an order of a hearing commissioner or duly authorized agent as a result 
of a complaint may request a violation appeal hearing which may be granted at the discretion of 
the appeal board. 

(2) The violation appeal board consists of the 3 administrative commissioners who shall conduct 
violation appeal hearings. 

(3) A request for a violation appeal hearing shall identify the date of the violation hearing, the order 
which was issued as a result of the violation hearing, and the licensee's reasons for requesting an 
appeal. 

(4) The request for a violation appeal hearing shall consist of 4 copies which shall be sent, by certified 
mail, to the Lansing office of the commission accompanied by a check or money order for $25.00 
within 20 days from the date of the mailing of the order from which the appeal is taken. 

(5) An appeal based on a claim of error shall specify all findings of fact and conclusions of law claimed 
to be erroneous, with a brief statement of the grounds for claiming error. 

(6) A request for a violation appeal hearing, which is sent to the commission after 20 days from the 
date of the mailing of the order from which the appeal is taken, may be granted by the commission 
if the delay is not due to the culpable negligence of the licensee appellant. 

(7) An answer to a request for an appeal from a violation may be prepared by an assistant attorney 
general before the date of the appeal hearing. 

History: 1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC; 2004 MR 6, Eff. March 24, 2004. 

 

R 436.1919 Appeal notice. 

 
Rule 19. 
 
If a request for a violation appeal hearing is granted, the appeal board shall notify the licensee, or the 
licensee's attorney of record, of the appeal hearing not less than 10 days prior to the date of the appeal 
hearing. 

History: 1954 ACS 90; Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC. 
 

R 436.1921 Violation appeal hearings; burden of proceeding. 

 
Rule 21. 
 

(1) Violation appeal hearings which are granted by the appeal board shall be limited to the official 
record of the original hearing. 
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(2) In violation appeal hearings, the licensee has the burden of proceeding with reasons and 
arguments for revision or reversal of the order of the hearing commissioner or duly authorized 
agent. 

History:  1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC; 2004 MR 6, Eff. March 24, 2004. 

 

R 436.1923 Violation appeal hearing decision. 

 
Rule 23.   
 

(1) The decision of the appeal board on a violation appeal hearing shall be mailed to the licensee and 
the licensee's attorney of record within 30 days after the hearing, except upon written order of the 
commission extending the time period. 

(2) The decision of the appeal board shall be in writing and shall do 1 of the following: 
(a) Affirm the order of the hearing commissioner or duly authorized agent. 
(b) Modify the order of the hearing commissioner or duly authorized agent. 
(c) Rescind the order of the hearing commissioner or duly authorized agent. 
(d) Remand the case back to the hearing commissioner or duly authorized agent who issued 

the original order. 

History:  1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC; 2004 MR 6, Eff. March 24, 2004. 

 

R 436.1925 Hearings on matters other than violations. 

 
Rule 25.   
 

(1) The commission, on its own motion, may order a hearing on a matter within its jurisdiction. 
(2) Applications for a license issued under the act or commission rules shall be reviewed by the 

administrative commissioners.  If a license application is denied, then the aggrieved license 
applicant may request an appeal hearing, and the commission shall grant the hearing.  The request 
shall be made to the Lansing office of the commission within 20 days from the date of the mailing 
of the decision of denial. 

(3) The chairperson may designate 1 or more commissioners to hear matters other than a violation of 
the act or commission rules. 

(4) In a hearing on matters other than a violation of the act or commission rules, the commission may 
determine which party has the burden of proceeding. 

History:  1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC; 2004 MR 6, Eff. March 24, 2004. 

 

R 436.1927 Filing of papers. 

 
Rule 27.   
 

(1) All documents and papers pertaining to a hearing or appeal hearing shall be filed at the Lansing 
office of the commission. 

(2) The presiding commissioner may allow papers to be filed at a hearing or appeal hearing. 

History:  1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1929 Subpoena. 

 
Rule 29.   
 

(1) On written application, the commission or the authorized agent of the commission shall issue a 
subpoena requiring the attendance of witnesses at the time and place of hearing or appeal hearing.  
Subpoena and witness fees shall be set by written order of the commission. 

(2) The application for subpoena shall indicate the name and address of the witness.  The person 
requesting the issuance of the subpoena is responsible for the service of the subpoena. 

History:  1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC. 
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R 436.1931 Postponements; continuances. 

 
Rule 31. 
 

(1) Requests for postponements shall be made in writing not less than 2 working days before the 
violation hearing or appeal hearing date unless waived by a commissioner or duly authorized agent.  
The written request may be granted by a commissioner or a duly authorized agent of the 
commission. 

(2) Requests for continuance for cause may be granted by the presiding commissioner or duly 
authorized agent at the hearing or appeal hearing. 

History:  1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC; 2004 MR 6, Eff. March 24, 2004. 

 

R 436.1933 Attorney at law. 

 
Rule 33.   
 
In addition to the appearance required by R 436.1913, a licensee or an aggrieved license applicant may be 
represented at a hearing by a licensed attorney at law in good standing in this state.  The attorney shall file 
a written appearance with the commission before or at the time of the hearing. 

History:  1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1935 Rescissions. 

 
Rule 35.   
 
The following rules are rescinded: 

(a) Rules entitled "Rules of Procedure on Appeal to the Appeal Board," being R 436.701 to R 
436.711 of the Michigan Administrative Code and appearing on pages 1526 and 1527 of 
the 1960 Annual Supplement to the Code. 

(b) Rules entitled "Rules of Practice and Hearing Procedure Upon Violations," being R 436.751 
to R 436.767 of the Michigan Administrative Code and appearing on pages 1527 to 1531 
of the 1960 Annual Supplement to the Code. 

History:  1954 ACS 90, Eff. Jan. 25, 1977; 1979 AC. 
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CHURCH OR SCHOOL HEARINGS 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by sections 215(1) and 503 of 1998 P.A. 58, MCL 
436.1215(1) and 436.1503, and section 33 of 1969 P.A. 306, MCL 24.233)) 
 

R 436.1951 "Act" defined. 

 
Rule 1.   
 
As used in these rules, "act" means 1998 P.A. 58, MCL 436.1101 et seq. 

History:  1979 AC; 2003 AACS 

Editor's Note: An obvious error in R 436.1951 was corrected at the request of the promulgating agency, pursuant to Section 56 of 1969 PA 306, as amended by 2000 PA 262, 

MCL 24.256. The rule containing the error was published in Annual Administrative Code Supplement, 2003. The memorandum requesting the correction was published in Michigan 
Register, 2003 MR 11. 
 

R 436.1953 Notice of application and proposed location. 

 
Rule 3.   
 
If the commission determines through investigation that the proposed location of an applicant is within 500 
feet of a church or school, as those terms are defined in section 107 or 111 of the act, MCL 436.1107 or 
436.1111, the representative of the church or the school shall be notified of the application and the proposed 
location if the applicant desires 1 of the following: 

(a) A new license to sell alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises or the transfer of location of 
an existing license to sell alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises. 

(b) A new specially designated distributor license or the transfer of location of an existing specially 
designated distributor license. 

(c) A new specially designated merchant license in conjunction with a license to sell alcoholic liquor 
for consumption on the premises or the transfer of location of an existing specially designated 
merchant license in conjunction with a license to sell alcoholic liquor for consumption on the 
premises. 

History:  1979 AC; 2003 AACS; 2025 MR 3, Eff. Feb. 3, 2025. 

Editor's Note: An obvious error in R 436.1953 was corrected at the request of the promulgating agency, pursuant to Section 56 of 1969 PA 306, as amended by 2000 PA 262, 
MCL 24.256. The rule containing the error was published in Annual Administrative Code Supplement, 2003. The memorandum requesting the correction was published in Michigan 
Register, 2003 MR 11. 

 

R 436.1955 Filing of objection; copy to applicant; scheduling hearing. 

 
Rule 5. 
 

(1) If the church or school objects to the issuance or transfer of location of the license, then the 
governing body of the church or school, by resolution, shall file the specific written objections with 
the Lansing office of the commission within 15 days of receipt of notification, unless granted 
additional time by the commission. 

(2) Upon receipt of the objections, the commission shall send a copy of the objections to the applicant. 
(3) The commission shall schedule a hearing pursuant to section 503 of the act within a reasonable 

period of time after receipt of the objections, unless the governing body of the church or school 
notifies the commission in writing that the objections have been resolved by the applicant and are 
being withdrawn. 

History:  1979 AC; 2003 AACS. 

 

R 436.1957 Notice of hearing; basis for conduct of hearing. 

 
Rule 7.   
 

(1) The governing body of the church or school and the applicant shall receive notice of the hearing 
not less than 7 days before it is held. 

(2) The hearing shall be conducted on the basis of the objections filed by the church or school. 

History:  1979 AC. 
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R 436.1959 Burden of proceeding, closing arguments. 

 
Rule 9. 
 

(1) The commission may, in its discretion, determine which party will have the burden of proceeding.  
The representative of the church or school may make the final argument. 

(2) The representative of the church or school shall be prepared to show that the church or school that 
is objecting meets the definition of the terms defined in section 107 or 111 of the act, MCL 436.1107 
or 436.1111. 

History: 179 AC; 2003 AACS; 2025 MR 3, Eff. Feb. 3, 2025. 

 
Editor's Note: An obvious error in R 436.1959 was corrected at the request of the promulgating agency, pursuant to Section 56 of 1969 PA 306, as amended by 2000 PA 262, 
MCL 24.256. The rule containing the error was published in Annual Administrative Code Supplement 2003. The memorandum requesting the correction was published in 
Michigan Register, 2015 MR 6.  
 

R 436.1961 Hearing; procedures; findings of fact and conclusions of law. 

 
Rule 11.   
 

(1) The hearing shall be conducted pursuant to the procedures established for a contested case in Act 
No. 306 of the Public Acts of 1969, as amended, being §24.201 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled 
Laws. 

(2) The commission shall make findings of fact and conclusions of law. 

History:  1954 ACS 87, Eff. Apr. 16, 1976; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1963 Granting of the waiver. 

 
Rule 13.   
 
The commission shall waive the provisions of section 503 of the act where the applicant shows by 
competent, material and substantial evidence that a waiver of section 503 would not adversely affect the 
operation of the church or school. 

History:  1954 ACS 87, Eff. Apr. 16, 1976; 1979 AC;-MR 10, Eff. May 30, 2003. 
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DECLARATORY RULINGS 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 7 of Act No. 8 of the Public Acts of the 
Extra Session of 1933 and section 63 of Act No. 306 of the Public Acts of 1969, being §§436.7 and 24.263 
of the Michigan Compiled Laws) 
 

R 436.1971 Request for declaratory ruling; form; contents. 

 
Rule 1.   
 

(1) An interested person, hereinafter called a petitioner, who requests a declaratory ruling as to the 
applicability to an actual state of facts of a statute, rule, or order administered, promulgated, or 
issued by the commission shall do so in writing to the Lansing office of the commission. 

(2) The written request shall contain the relevant and material facts, along with a reference to the 
statute, rule, or order applicable. 

History:  1954 ACS 91, Eff. May 13, 1977; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1973 Declaratory ruling; notice of issuance; request for information or arguments; 
hearing. 

 
Rule 3.   
 

(1) Upon receipt of a request for a declaratory ruling, the commission shall have 30 days within which 
to notify the petitioner if a declaratory ruling shall be issued. 

(2) If the commission grants the request for a declaratory ruling, the commission: 
(a) May request more information from the petitioner. 
(b) May request information from other interested parties. 
(c) May request information from experts outside the commission. 
(d) May request oral or written arguments from interested parties. 
(e) May hold a hearing upon proper notice to all interested parties. 
(f) Shall issue its declaratory ruling within 90 days after the receipt of the initial request. 

History:  1954 ACS 91, Eff. May 13, 1977; 1979 AC. 

 

R 436.1975 Denial of request for declaratory ruling; reasons. 

 
Rule 5.   
 
If a request for a declaratory ruling is denied, the commission shall issue a concise written statement of its 
principal reasons for denial within 30 days of the denial. 

History:  1954 ACS 91, Eff. May 13, 1977; 1979 AC. 
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FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by sections 215(1) and 803 of 1998 P.A. 58, MCL 
436.1215(1) and 436.1803) 
 

R 436.2001 "Securities" defined. 

 
Rule 1.   
 
As used in these rules, "securities" means any of the following: 

(a) Stocks or bonds registered by the securities and exchange commission or the office of 
financial and insurance services of the Michigan department of consumer and industry 
services which are offered for public sale in the state of Michigan and the values of which 
are regularly reported in a nationally recognized financial publication. 

(b) Obligations of the United States, including bonds, notes, and bills. 
(c) Obligations which are guaranteed fully as to principal and interest by the United States, 

except those requiring partial payment of principal. 
(d) General obligations of the state of Michigan. 
(e) Unlimited tax general obligation bonds of political subdivisions of the state which are 

payable directly from the levying of general ad valorem taxes without limitation as to rate 
or amount. 

(f) An irrevocable trust which contains a guaranteed minimum corpus of $50,000.00, which 
has as trustee a financial institution registered in this state, and which provides for the state 
of Michigan as first beneficiary and claimant of a distribution of up to $50,000.00 from the 
trust to satisfy judgments arising from liability under section 801 of 1998 P.A. 58, MCL 
436.1801. 

(g) An irrevocable letter of credit or a certificate of deposit issued by a bank, savings bank, 
savings and loan association, or credit union which is licensed to do business in this state 
and which is pledged to the state of Michigan as first claimant for distribution of up to 
$50,000.00 to satisfy judgments arising from liability under section 801 of 1998 P.A. 58, 
MCL 436,1801. 

History:  1988 MR 11, Eff. Dec. 1, 1988;--MR 10, Eff. May 30, 2003. 

 

R 436.2003 "Unencumbered securities" defined. 

 
Rule 3.  
 
As used in these rules, "unencumbered securities" means securities that are free and clear of all liens and 
obligations, including their use as collateral, and upon filing with the commission are without claims or 
liabilities to third parties. 

History:  1988 MR 11, Eff. Dec. 1, 1988. 

 

R 436.2005 Forms. 

 
Rule 5.   
 
Retail licensees shall submit proof of financial responsibility on forms provided or approved by the 
commission. 

History:  1988 MR 11, Eff. Dec. 1, 1988. 

 

R 436.2007 Unencumbered securities; maintenance of value. 

 
Rule 7.   
 

(1) Each retail licensee who provides to the commission cash or unencumbered securities as proof of 
financial responsibility shall maintain the value of the cash or unencumbered securities at not less 
than $50,000.00 during the entire period in which the license is in effect.  Securities shall not be 
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encumbered during any period in which they serve as proof of financial responsibility to the 
commission. 

(2) The value of unencumbered securities shall be determined by the current market price as reported 
at the time of filing and thereafter in a nationally recognized financial publication or other reliable 
source as determined by the commission. 

(3) If the market value of unencumbered securities provided to the commission as proof of financial 
responsibility falls below $50,000.00, the licensee shall immediately provide additional 
unencumbered securities or cash to the commission so as to restore, to not less than $50,000.00, 
the value of unencumbered securities and cash held by the commission.  Failure to provide 
additional unencumbered securities or cash immediately shall result in the license being suspended 
until such time as additional unencumbered securities or cash has been provided to the 
commission. 

History:  1988 MR 11, Eff. Dec. 1, 1988. 

 

R 436.2009 Interest and dividends on cash and securities. 

 
Rule 9.   
 
Each retail licensee who deposits cash shall be entitled to payment of interest at the rate of 1% below the 
average interest rate earned by the state treasurer on short-term investments for each complete month that 
the cash is held by the commission.  Interest payments shall be made quarterly.  Any dividends or interest 
paid upon unencumbered securities and received by the commission shall be immediately transmitted to 
the licensee or licensee's agent. 

History:  1988 MR 11, Eff. Dec. 1, 1988. 

 

R 436.2011 Cash or unencumbered securities; payment of judgments. 

 
Rule 11.   
 
Cash or unencumbered securities which have been provided to the commission as proof of financial 
responsibility shall not be paid or released by the commission to any claimant to satisfy a judgment pursuant 
to section 801 of 1998 P.A. 58, MCL 436.1801, unless the commission receives a court order requiring the 
payment or release. 

History:  1988 MR 11, Eff. Dec. 1, 1988;-MR 10, Eff. May 30, 2003. 

 

R 436.2013 Cash or unencumbered securities; release. 

 
Rule 13.   
 
When the commission releases all or any portion of cash or unencumbered securities to a claimant, the 
retail licensee shall immediately provide additional cash or unencumbered securities to the commission so 
as to restore, to not less than $50,000.00, the total value of cash and unencumbered securities.  If a licensee 
fails to provide additional cash or unencumbered securities, the license shall be suspended pursuant to the 
provisions of Act No. 306 of the Public Acts of 1969, as amended, being §24.201 et seq. of the Michigan 
Compiled Laws, until such time as additional cash or unencumbered securities have been provided to the 
commission. 

History:  1988 MR 11, Eff. Dec. 1, 1988. 
 

R 436.2015 Cash or unencumbered securities; request for return. 

 
Rule 15.   
 

(1) Cash or unencumbered securities provided to the commission as proof of financial responsibility 
shall not be returned to the retail licensee unless either of the following conditions applies: 

(a) Two years have transpired since the date the license was transferred, revoked, cancelled, 
suspended, or placed in escrow with the commission. 

(b) Two years have transpired since the date the licensee provided another acceptable form 
of proof of financial responsibility. 
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(2) Notwithstanding subrule (1) of this rule, the commission shall not return cash or unencumbered 
securities provided by a retail licensee as proof of financial responsibility during the pendancy of 
any civil suit against the licensee alleging liability pursuant to section 801 of 1998 P.A. 58, MCL 
436.1801, if the alleged liability occurred after April 1, 1988, but during the period in which the 
licensee had provided the cash or unencumbered securities as proof of financial responsibility.    

(3) The commission shall not return, to any retail licensee, cash or unencumbered securities provided 
as proof of financial responsibility unless the retail licensee first certifies to the commission, in 
writing, that a civil suit is not pending against the licensee alleging liability pursuant to section 801 
of 1998 P.A. 58, MCL 436.1801, during the period in which the licensee had provided the cash or 
unencumbered securities as proof of financial responsibility. 

History:  1988 MR 11, Eff. Dec. 1, 1988;-MR 10, Eff. May 30, 2003. 

 

R 436.2017 Failure to provide proof of financial responsibility. 

 
Rule 17.   
 
If at any time a retail licensee fails to maintain proof of financial responsibility as required by section 803 of 
1998 P.A. 58, MCL 436.1803, the license shall be immediately suspended pursuant to the provisions of 
1969 P.A. 306, MCL 24.201 et seq., until such time as the licensee provides to the commission proof of 
financial responsibility as required by section 803 of 1998 P.A. 58, MCL 436.1803. 

History:  1988 MR 11, Eff. Dec. 1, 1988;-MR 10, Eff. May 30, 2003. 

 

R 436.2019 Constant value bond; requirements. 

 
Rule 19.   
 

(1) A retail licensee who provides a constant value bond as proof of financial responsibility shall not 
cancel such bond, except upon 30 days' prior written notice to the commission.  Unless new proof 
of financial responsibility is obtained by the retail licensee and delivered to the commission before 
the expiration of the 30-day period, the license of that licensee shall be suspended until such time 
as another acceptable proof of financial responsibility is provided to the commission. 

(2) A surety company which has issued a constant value bond of not less than $50,000.00 as proof of 
financial responsibility shall notify the commission, in writing, not less than 30 days before 
termination or cancellation of the bond. 

History:  1988 MR 11, Eff. Dec. 1, 1988. 

 

R 436.2021 Failure to provide proof of financial responsibility; hearings; revocation.   

 
Rule 21.   
 
A retail license shall not be revoked or suspended without due process for failure to provide proof of financial 
responsibility, including an expedited hearing pursuant to the provisions to Act No. 306 of the Public Acts 
of 1969, as amended, being §24.201 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws.  A retail license shall not be 
revoked or suspended because of the licensee's failure to provide proof of financial responsibility, if the 
proof had been subsequently provided before the commission's final revocation or suspension order. 

History:  1988 MR 11, Eff. Dec. 1, 1988. 

 
 



2000-4 



A-1 

RELATED LAWS & ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
 

BEVERAGE CONTAINERS 
Initiated Law of 1976 
 

445.571 Definitions. 

 
Sec. 1.   
 
As used is this act: 

(a) “Beverage” means a soft drink, soda water, carbonated natural or mineral water, or other 
nonalcoholic carbonated drink; beer, ale, or other malt drink of whatever alcoholic content; or a 
mixed wine drink or a mixed spirit drink. 

(b) “Beverage container” means an airtight metal, glass, paper, or plastic container, or a container 
composed of a combination of these materials, which, at the time of sale, contains 1 gallon or less 
of a beverage. 

(c) “Empty returnable container” means a beverage container which contains nothing except the 
residue of its original contents. 

(d) “Returnable container” means a beverage container upon which a deposit of at least 10 cents has 
been paid, or is required to be paid upon the removal of the container from the sale or consumption 
area, and for which a refund of at least 10 cents in cash is payable by every dealer or distributor in 
this state of that beverage in beverage containers, as further provided in section 2. 

(e) “Nonreturnable container” means a beverage container upon which no deposit or a deposit of less 
than 10 cents has been paid, or is required to be paid upon the removal of the container from the 
sale or consumption area, or for which no cash refund or a refund of less than 10 cents is payable 
by a dealer or distributor in this state of that beverage in beverage containers, as further provided 
in section 2. 

(f) “Person” means an individual, partnership, corporation, association, or other legal entity. 
(g) “Dealer” means a person who sells or offers for sale to consumers within this state a beverage in 

a beverage container, including an operator of a vending machine containing a beverage in a 
beverage container. 

(h) “Operator of a vending machine” means equally its owner, the person who refills it, and the owner 
or lessee of the property upon which it is located. 

(i) “Distributor” means a person who sells beverages in beverage containers to a dealer within this 
state, and includes a manufacturer who engages in such sales. 

(j) “Manufacturer” means a person who bottles, cans, or otherwise places beverages in beverage 
containers for sale to distributors, dealers, or consumers. 

(k) “Within this state” means within the exterior limits of the state of Michigan, and includes the territory 
within these limits owned by or ceded to the United States of America. 

(l) “Commission” means the Michigan liquor control commission. 
(m) “Sale or consumption area” means the premises within the property of the dealer or of the dealer’s 

lessor where the sale is made, within which beverages in returnable containers may be consumed 
without payment of a deposit, and, upon removing a beverage container from which, the customer 
is required by the dealer to pay the deposit. 

(n) “Nonrefillable container” means a returnable container which is not intended to be refilled for sale 
by a manufacturer. 

(o) “Mixed wine drink” means a drink or similar product marketed as a wine cooler and containing less 
than 7% alcohol by volume, consisting of wine and plain, sparkling, or carbonated water and 
containing any 1 or more of the following: 
(i) Nonalcoholic beverages. 
(ii) Flavoring. 
(iii) Coloring materials. 
(iv) Fruit juices. 
(v) Fruit adjuncts. 
(vi) Sugar. 
(vii) Carbon dioxide. 
(viii) Preservatives. 
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(p) “Mixed spirit drink” means a drink containing 10% or less alcohol by volume consisting of distilled 
spirits mixed with nonalcoholic beverages or flavoring or coloring materials and which may also 
contain water, fruit juices, fruit adjuncts, sugar, carbon dioxide, or preservatives; or any spirits 
based beverage, regardless of the percent of alcohol by volume, that is manufactured for sale in a 
metal container. 

History: 1976, Initiated Law 1, Eff. Dec. 3, 1978; -- Am. 1982, Act 39, Imd. Eff. Mar. 16, 1982; -- Am. 1982, Act 266, Imd. Eff. Oct. 5, 1982; -- Am. 1986, Act 235, Eff. June 1, 

1989; -- Am. 1989, Act 93, Imd. Eff. June 20, 1989  
 
Popular Name: Bottle Bill 
 

445.571a "Container composed of a combination of these materials" defined. 

 
Sec. 1a.   
 
As used in section 1, “container composed of a combination of these materials” does not include a container 
that, when filled, is designed and intended to be frozen and is composed in whole or in part of aluminum 
and plastic or aluminum and paper in combination, if the aluminum content represents 20% or less of the 
unfilled container weight and the weight of the container materials represents 5% or less of the total weight 
of the filled container. 
 
History: Add. 2012, Act 213, Imd. Eff. June 27, 2012 
 

445.572 Nonreturnable containers; prohibitions; means for return and refund; 
regional redemption centers; acceptance of containers and payment of 
refunds; indicating refund value and name of State on container; exception; 
metal containers with detachable parts prohibited; deposit previously 
refunded; refund upon reuse; maximum daily refund; agreement on deposit; 
refund by manufacturer. 

 
Sec. 2.   
 

(1) A dealer within this state shall not sell, offer for sale, or give to a consumer a nonreturnable 
container or a beverage in a nonreturnable container. 

(2) A dealer who regularly sells beverages for consumption off the dealer’s premises shall provide on 
the premises, or within 100 yards of the premises on which the dealer sells or offers for sale a 
beverage in a returnable container, a convenient means whereby the containers of any kind, size, 
and brand sold or offered for sale by the dealer may be returned by, and the deposit refunded in 
cash to, a person whether or not the person is the original customer of that dealer, and whether or 
not the container was sold by that dealer. 

(3) Regional centers for redemption of returnable containers may be established, in addition to but not 
as substitutes for, the means established for refunds of deposits prescribed in subsection (2). 

(4) Except as provided in subsections (5) and (7), a dealer shall accept from a person an empty 
returnable container of any kind, size, and brand sold or offered for sale by that dealer and pay to 
that person its full refund value in cash. 

(5) A dealer who does not require a deposit on a returnable container when the contents are consumed 
in the dealer’s sale or consumption area is not required to pay a refund for accepting that empty 
container. 

(6) Except as provided in subsection (7), a distributor shall accept from a dealer an empty returnable 
container of any kind, size, and brand sold or offered for sale by that distributor and pay to the 
dealer its full refund value in cash. 

(7) Each beverage container sold or offered for sale by a dealer within this state shall clearly indicate 
by embossing or by a stamp, a label, or other method securely affixed to the beverage container, 
the refund value of the container and the name of this state.  A dealer or distributor may, but is not 
required to, refuse to accept from a person an empty returnable container which does not state on 
the container the refund value of the container and the name of this state.  This subsection does 
not apply to a refillable container having a refund value of not less than 10 cents, having a brand 
name permanently marked on it, and having a securely affixed method of indicating that it is a 
returnable container. 

(8) A dealer within this state shall not sell, offer for sale, or give to consumers a metal beverage 
container, any part of which becomes detached when opened. 
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(9) A person, dealer, distributor, or manufacturer shall not return an empty returnable container to a 
dealer for a refund of the deposit if a dealer has already refunded the deposit on that returnable 
container.  This subsection does not prohibit a dealer from refunding the deposit on an empty 
returnable container each time the returnable container is sanitized by the manufacturer and reused 
as a beverage container. 

(10) A dealer may accept, but is not required to accept, from a person, empty returnable containers for 
a refund in excess of $25.00 on any given day. 

(11) A manufacturer licensed by the commission shall not require a distributor licensed by the 
commission to pay a deposit to the manufacturer on a nonrefillable container.  However, a 
manufacturer licensed by the commission and a distributor licensed by the commission may enter 
into an agreement providing that either or both may originate a deposit or any portion of a deposit 
on a nonrefillable container if the agreement is entered into freely and without coercion. 

(12) A manufacturer shall refund the deposit paid on any container returned by a distributor for which a 
deposit has been paid by a distributor to the manufacturer. 

(13) Subsections (4), (6), and (7) apply only to a returnable container that was originally sold in this state 
as a filled returnable container. 

History: 1976, Initiated Law, Eff. Dec. 3, 1978; - Am. 1977, Act 270, Eff. Mar. 30, 1978; - Am. 1982, Act 39, Imd. Eff. Mar. 16, 1982; - Am. 1982, Act 266, Imd. Eff. Oct. 5, 1982; 

- Am. 1986, Act 235, Eff. June 1, 1989;-Am. 1998, Act 473, Eff. Apr. 1, 1999. 
 

445.572a Designated metal, glass, or plastic containers; sale or offer of sale of certain 
beverages; requirements; violations; definitions. 

 
Sec. 2a. 
 

(1) Except as provided in subsection (2), beginning 90 days after the effective date of the amendatory 
act that added this section, a manufacturer of nonalcoholic beverages shall not sell, offer for sale, 
or give a nonalcoholic beverage to a consumer, dealer, or distributor in this state in a 12-ounce 
metal beverage container that is not a designated metal container if either of the following is met: 

(a) Sales of that brand of beverage in 12-ounce metal beverage containers in this state in the 
preceding calendar year were at least 500,000 cases, as determined by the department of 
treasury. 

(b) Sales of that brand of beverage in 12-ounce metal beverage containers in this state in the 
preceding calendar year were fewer than 500,000 cases, and 12-ounce metal beverage 
containers of that brand of beverage were overredeemed by more than 600,000 containers 
in the preceding calendar year, as determined by the department of treasury. 

(2) Beginning 90 days after the effective date of the amendatory act that added this section, a 
manufacturer of nonalcoholic beverages shall not sell, offer for sale, or give a nonalcoholic 
beverage to a consumer, dealer, or distributor in the Upper Peninsula in a 12-ounce metal beverage 
container that is not a designated metal container if either of the following is met: 

(a) Sales of that brand of beverage in 12-ounce metal beverage containers in the Upper 
Peninsula were at least 500,000 cases, as determined by the department of treasury. 

(b) Sales of that brand of beverage in 12-ounce metal beverage containers in the Upper 
Peninsula in the preceding calendar year were fewer than 500,000 cases, and 12-ounce 
metal beverage containers of that brand of beverage were overredeemed in the Upper 
Peninsula by more than 600,000 containers in the preceding calendar year, as determined 
by the department of treasury. 

(3) Except as provided in subsection (4), beginning 450 days after the effective date of the amendatory 
act that added this section, a manufacturer of nonalcoholic beverages shall not sell, offer for sale, 
or give a nonalcoholic beverage to a consumer, dealer, or distributor in this state in a 12-ounce 
glass beverage container that is not a designated glass container if either of the following is met: 

(a) Sales of that brand of beverage in 12-ounce glass beverage containers in this state in the 
preceding calendar year were at least 500,000 cases, as determined by the department of 
treasury. 

(b) Sales of that brand of beverage in 12-ounce glass beverage containers in this state in the 
preceding calendar year were fewer than 500,000 cases, and 12-ounce glass beverage 
containers of that brand of beverage were overredeemed by more than 600,000 containers 
in the preceding calendar year, as determined by the department of treasury. 

(4) Beginning 450 days after the effective date of the amendatory act that added this section, a 
manufacturer of nonalcoholic beverages shall not sell, offer for sale, or give a nonalcoholic 
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beverage to a consumer, dealer, or distributor in the Upper Peninsula in a 12-ounce glass beverage 
container that is not a designated glass container if either of the following is met: 

(a) Sales of that brand of beverage in 12-ounce glass beverage containers in the Upper 
Peninsula were at least 500,000 cases, as determined by the department of treasury. 

(b) Sales of that brand of beverage in 12-ounce glass beverage containers in the Upper 
Peninsula in the preceding calendar year were fewer than 500,000 cases, and 12-ounce 
glass beverage containers of that brand of beverage were overredeemed in the Upper 
Peninsula by more than 600,000 containers in the preceding calendar year, as determined 
by the department of treasury. 

(5) Except as provided in subsection (6), beginning 450 days after the effective date of the amendatory 
act that added this section, a manufacturer of nonalcoholic beverages shall not sell, offer for sale, 
or give a nonalcoholic beverage to a consumer, dealer, or distributor in this state in a 20-ounce 
plastic beverage container that is not a designated plastic container if either of the following is met: 

(a) Sales of that brand of beverage in 20-ounce plastic beverage containers in this state in the 
preceding calendar year were at least 500,000 cases, as determined by the department of 
treasury. 

(b) Sales of that brand of beverage in 20-ounce plastic beverage containers in this state in the 
preceding calendar year were fewer than 500,000 cases, and 20-ounce plastic beverage 
containers of that brand of beverage were overredeemed by more than 600,000 containers 
in the preceding calendar year, as determined by the department of treasury. 

(6) Beginning 450 days after the effective date of the amendatory act that added this section, a 
manufacturer of nonalcoholic beverages shall not sell, offer for sale, or give a nonalcoholic 
beverage to a consumer, dealer, or distributor in the Upper Peninsula in a 20-ounce plastic 
beverage container that is not a designated plastic container if either of the following is met: 

(a) Sales of that brand of beverage in 20-ounce plastic beverage containers in the Upper 
Peninsula were at least 500,000 cases, as determined by the department of treasury. 

(b) Sales of that brand of beverage in 20-ounce plastic beverage containers in the Upper 
Peninsula in the preceding calendar year were fewer than 500,000 cases, and 20-ounce 
plastic beverage containers of that brand of beverage were overredeemed in the Upper 
Peninsula by more than 600,000 containers in the preceding calendar year, as determined 
by the department of treasury. 

(7) Beginning 90 days after the effective date of the amendatory act that added this section, a 
manufacturer of alcoholic beverages shall not sell, offer for sale, or give an alcoholic beverage to 
a consumer, dealer, or distributor in this state in a 12-ounce metal beverage container that is not a 
designated metal container if either of the following is met: 

(a) Sales of that brand of beverage in this state in the preceding calendar year were at least 
500,000 case equivalents, as determined by the department of treasury. 

(b) Sales of that brand of beverage in this state in the preceding calendar year were fewer 
than 500,000 case equivalents, and beverage containers of that brand of beverage were 
overredeemed by more than 600,000 containers in the preceding calendar year, as 
determined by the department of treasury. 

(8) Beginning 450 days after the effective date of the amendatory act that added this section, a 
manufacturer of alcoholic beverages shall not sell, offer for sale, or give an alcoholic beverage to 
a consumer, dealer, or distributor in this state in a 12-ounce glass beverage container that is not a 
designated glass container if either of the following is met: 

(a) Sales of that brand of beverage in this state in the preceding calendar year were at least 
500,000 case equivalents, as determined by the department of treasury. 

(b) Sales of that brand of beverage in this state in the preceding calendar year were fewer 
than 500,000 case equivalents, and beverage containers of that brand of beverage were 
overredeemed by more than 600,000 containers in the preceding calendar year, as 
determined by the department of treasury. 

(9) Beginning 450 days after the effective date of the amendatory act that added this section, a 
manufacturer of alcoholic beverages shall not sell, offer for sale, or give an alcoholic beverage to 
a consumer, dealer, or distributor in this state in a 20-ounce plastic beverage container that is not 
a designated plastic container if either of the following is met: 

(a) Sales of that brand of beverage in this state in the preceding calendar year were at least 
500,000 case equivalents, as determined by the department of treasury. 

(b) Sales of that brand of beverage in this state in the preceding calendar year were fewer 
than 500,000 case equivalents, and beverage containers of that brand of beverage were 
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overredeemed by more than 600,000 containers in the preceding calendar year, as 
determined by the department of treasury. 

(10) A symbol, mark, or other distinguishing characteristic that is placed on a designated metal 
container, designated glass container, or designated plastic container by a manufacturer to allow 
a reverse vending machine to determine if that container is a returnable container must be unique 
to this state, or used only in this state and 1 or more other states that have laws substantially similar 
to this act. 

(11) A person that violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not 
more than 180 days or a fine of not more than $2,000.00, or both. Section 4 does not apply to a 
violation described in this subsection. 

(12) As used in this section: 
(a) "Alcoholic beverage" means beer, ale, any other malt drink of whatever alcoholic content, 

a mixed wine drink, or a mixed spirit drink. 
(b) "Brand" means any word, name, group of letters, symbol, or trademark, or any combination 

of them, adopted and used by a manufacturer to identify a specific flavor or type of 
beverage and to distinguish that flavor or type of beverage from another beverage 
produced or marketed by that manufacturer or another manufacturer. 

(c) "Designated glass container" means a 12-ounce glass beverage container that contains a 
symbol, mark, or other distinguishing characteristic that allows a reverse vending machine 
to determine if the beverage container is or is not a returnable container. 

(d) "Designated metal container" means a 12-ounce metal beverage container that contains a 
symbol, mark, or other distinguishing characteristic that allows a reverse vending machine 
to determine if the beverage container is or is not a returnable container. 

(e) "Designated plastic container" means a 20-ounce plastic beverage container that contains 
a symbol, mark, or other distinguishing characteristic that allows a reverse vending 
machine to determine if the beverage container is or is not a returnable container. 

(f) "Glass beverage container" means a beverage container composed primarily of glass. 
(g) "Metal beverage container" means a beverage container composed primarily of metal. 
(h) "Nonalcoholic beverage" means a soft drink, soda water, carbonated natural or mineral 

water, or other nonalcoholic carbonated drink. 
(i) "Plastic beverage container" means a beverage container composed primarily of plastic. 
(j) "Reverse vending machine" means a device designed to properly identify and process 

empty beverage containers and provide a means for a deposit refund on returnable 
containers. 

 
History: Add. 2008, Act 389, Eff. Dec. 1, 2009  

Compiler's Notes: Enacting section 1 of Act 389 of 2008 provides: "Enacting section 1. This amendatory act takes effect on the date that deposits into the beverage container 
redemption antifraud fund created in the beverage container redemption antifraud act from money appropriated by the legislature equal or exceed $1,000,000.00." 
 

445.573 Certification of beverage containers. 

 
Sec. 3. 
 

(1) To promote the use in this state of reusable beverage containers of uniform design, and to facilitate 
the return of containers to manufacturers for reuse as a beverage container, the commission shall 
certify beverage containers which satisfy the requirements of this section. 

(2) A beverage container shall be certified if: 
(a) It is reusable as a beverage container by more than 1 manufacturer in the ordinary course 

of business. 
(b) More than 1 manufacturer will in the ordinary course of business accept the beverage 

container for reuse as a beverage container and pay the refund value of the container. 
(3) The commission shall not certify more than 1 beverage container of a particular manufacturer in 

each size classification. The commission shall by rule establish appropriate size classifications in 
accordance with the purposes set forth in subsection (1), each of which shall include a size range 
of at least 3 liquid ounces. 

(4) A beverage container shall not be certified under this section: 
(a) If by reason of its shape or design, or by reason of words or symbols permanently inscribed 

thereon, whether by engraving, embossing, painting, or other permanent method, it is 
reusable as a beverage container in the ordinary course of business only by a manufacturer 
of a beverage sold under a specific brand name. 
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(b) If the commission finds that its use by more than 1 manufacturer is not of sufficient volume 
to promote the purposes set forth in subsection (1). 

(5) Unless an application for certification under this section is denied by the commission within 60 days 
after the application is filed, the beverage container shall be deemed certified. 

(6) The commission may at any time review certification of a beverage container. If, upon the review, 
after written notice and hearing afforded to the person who filed the original application for 
certification of the beverage container under this section, the commission determines that the 
beverage container is no longer qualified for certification, it shall withdraw certification. Withdrawal 
of certification shall be effective on a date specified by the commission, but not less than 30 days 
after written notice to the person who filed the original application for certification of the beverage 
container under this section, and to the manufacturer referred to in subsection (2). 

History: 1976, Initiated Law 1, Eff. Dec. 3, 1978  

Admin Rule: R 445.1 et seq. of the Michigan Administrative Code. 

 

445.573a Report; filing; form and contents. 

 
Sec. 3a.   
 

(1) Not later than March 1, 1991 and not later than March 1 of each year thereafter, a distributor or 
manufacturer who originates a deposit on a beverage container shall file a report with the 
department of treasury containing the information required by subsection (2). 

(2) The report required to be filed pursuant to subsection (1) shall indicate for the period of January 1, 
1990 to December 31, 1990, and for the time period of January 1 to December 31 of each year 
thereafter, the dollar value of both the total deposits collected by the distributor or manufacturer on 
beverage containers sold within this state and total refunds made upon beverage containers 
redeemed by the distributor or manufacturer within this state. 

(3) The reports required to be filed pursuant to subsection (1) shall be similar to the following and 
contain the following information: 

 
REPORT 
DEPOSITS ORIGINATED AND REFUNDS GRANTED ON BEVERAGE CONTAINERS 
Reporting Period:__________ 
Company Name: __________________________________________________________________ 
Company Address: ________________________________________________________________ 
Number and Street 
___________________________ 
City, State, Zip 
$_____________________________-$_____________________________=$ 
_______________________ 
     (Value of Deposits Originated)                 (Value of Refunds Made)                             (Difference) 
$_____________________________-
$_____________________________=$______________________  
             (Difference)     (Overredemption credit, (Amount owed to if applicable) department of treasury) 

The undersigned states that the above information is true and accurate. 
________________________________________ 
Signature - Owner or President        
________________________________________ 
Date                            

History: Add. 1989, Act 148, Eff. July 27, 1989.
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445.573b Unclaimed bottle deposits; audit, assessment, and collection by department 
of treasury; payment by under redeemer; over redemption credit; applying 
credit against prior years; definitions; report. 

 
Sec. 3b. 
  

(1) The department of treasury may audit, assess, and collect the amount of money reflecting 
unclaimed bottle deposits owed to this state, and enforce the obligation to pay the amount of money 
reflecting unclaimed bottle deposits owed to this state, in the same manner as revenues and 
according to the provisions of 1941 PA 122, MCL 205.1 to 205.31. 

(2) Not later than March 1, 1991 and not later than March 1 of each year thereafter, an underredeemer 
shall pay to the department of treasury that amount of money by which its annual total value of 
deposits exceeds its annual total value of refunds made on redeemed beverage containers, subject 
to the overredemption credit contained in this section. 

(3) After March 1, 1991, an underredeemer who becomes an overredeemer in a subsequent year may 
credit the value of the overredemption in order to reduce the amount of money owed to the 
department of treasury under this section in 1 or more subsequent years as a result of that person 
again becoming an underredeemer.  The value of the overredemption may be carried forward for 
not more than 3 years or until the credit granted in this section is completely depleted, whichever 
occurs first. 

(4) A manufacturer who no longer originates deposits may carry the value of an overredemption back 
for prior years in order to utilize its credit, and reduce the amount of underredemption owed to the 
department of treasury under this section on a 1-time basis only.  Utilization of this 1-time credit 
may be applied against underredemption amounts owed for reporting years commencing in 1990. 

(5) As used in this section: 
(a) “Overredeemer” means a distributor or manufacturer whose annual total value of deposits 

collected on beverage containers sold within this state is less than the annual total value 
of refunds made upon beverage containers redeemed within this state. 

(b) “Underredeemer” means a distributor or manufacturer whose annual total value of deposits 
collected on beverage containers sold within this state exceeds annual total value of 
refunds made upon beverage containers redeemed within this state. 

(6) In addition to the report prescribed in section 3a, if an underredeemer purchases empty returnable 
containers from an overredeemer, that purchase shall be reported by the underredeemer as a 
“refund made” and shall be reported by the overredeemer as a “deposit originated” in the report 
prescribed by section 3a.  The report made by an underredeemer shall include the name and 
address of each overredeemer and the refund value of the empty returnable beverage containers 
purchased from each overredeemer.  The report made by an overredeemer shall include the name 
and address of each underredeemer who purchased the returnable containers from that 
overredeemer and the refund value of the empty returnable beverage containers sold.  The total 
consideration paid by an underredeemer to an overredeemer as authorized by this subsection shall 
equal the redemption value of the container. 

(7) A purchase or sale made under subsection (6) during January of each year shall be included in the 
report for the previous calendar year only. 

History: Add. 1989, Act 148, Eff. July 27, 1989;-Am. 1996, Act 384, Imd. Eff. July 23, 1996;-Am. 1998, Act 473, Eff. Apr. 1, 1999. 

 

445.573c Bottle deposit fund; creation; administration; deposits; annual 
disbursement; report of information; rules. 

 
Sec. 3c. 
 

(1) There is created in the department of treasury a bottle deposit fund which is a revolving fund 
administered by the department of treasury.  The money in the bottle deposit fund shall not revert 
to the general fund. 

(2) The amount paid to the department of treasury by underredeemers shall be deposited by the 
department of treasury in the bottle deposit fund created in subsection (1) for annual disbursement 
by the department of treasury in the following manner: 

(a) Seventy-five percent to the cleanup and redevelopment trust fund created in section 3e.  
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(b) Twenty-five percent to dealers to be apportioned to each dealer on the basis of the number 
of empty returnable containers handled by a dealer as determined by the department of 
treasury. 

(3) Not later than June 1 of each year, the department of treasury shall publish and make available to 
the public information related to section 3b(1) and send a report of that information to the legislature. 

(4) The department of treasury may promulgate rules to implement sections 3a to 3d pursuant to the 
administrative procedures act of 1969, Act No. 306 of the Public Acts of 1969, being sections 
24.201 to 24.328 of the Michigan Compiled Laws, if the department of treasury determines that 
rules are needed to properly implement and administer sections 3a to 3d. 

History: Add. 1989, Act 148, Eff. July 27, 1989;-Am. 1996, Act 73, Eff. Feb. 26, 1996;-Am. 1996, Act 384, Imd. Eff. July 23, 1996. 

 

445.573d Unclaimed deposits. 

 
Sec. 3d.   
 
Unclaimed deposits on returnable containers are considered to be the property of the person purchasing 
the returnable container and are not the property of the distributor or manufacturer who originated the 
deposit. 

History: Add. 1989, Act 148, Eff. July 27, 1989. 
 

445.573e Cleanup and redevelopment fund. 

 
Sec. 3e  
 

(1) The cleanup and redevelopment trust fund is created within the state treasury. 
(2) The state treasurer may receive money or other assets from any source for deposit into the trust 

fund.  The state treasurer shall direct the investment of the trust fund.  The state treasurer shall 
credit to the trust fund interest and earnings from fund investments. 

(3) Money in the trust fund at the close of the fiscal year shall remain in the trust fund and shall not 
lapse to the general fund. 

(4) The state treasurer shall annually disburse the following amounts from the trust fund: 
(a) For each of the state fiscal years 1996-1997, 1997-1998, and 1998-1999, up to 

$15,000,000.00 each year of money in the trust fund to the cleanup and redevelopment 
fund created in section 20108 of part 201 (environmental remediation) of the natural 
resources and environmental protection act, Act No. 451 of the Public Acts of 1994, being 
section 324.20108 of the Michigan Compiled Laws. 

(b) In addition to the disbursements under subdivision (a), each state fiscal year, 80% of the 
revenues received by the trust fund from disbursements under section 3c to the cleanup 
and redevelopment fund and 10% to the community pollution prevention fund created in 
section 3f. 

(5) All money in the trust fund that is not disbursed pursuant to subsection (4) shall remain in the trust 
fund until the trust fund reaches an accumulated principal of $200,000,000.00.  After the trust fund 
reaches an accumulated principal of $200,000,000.00, interest and earnings of the trust fund only 
shall be expended, upon appropriation, for the purposes specified in section 20113(4) of part 201 
(environmental remediation) of the natural resources and environmental protection act, Act No. 451 
of the Public Acts of 1994, being section 324.20113 of the Michigan Compiled Laws. 

(6) As used in this section, “trust fund” means the cleanup and redevelopment trust fund created in 
subsection (1). 

History: Add. 1996, Act 384, July 23, 1996. 

 

445.573f Community pollution prevention fund. 

 
Sec. 3f.  
 

(1) The community pollution prevention fund is created within the state treasury. 
(2) The state treasurer may receive money or other assets from any source for deposit into the 

community pollution prevention fund.  The state treasurer shall direct the investment of the 
community pollution prevention fund.  The state treasurer shall credit to the community pollution 
prevention fund interest and earnings from fund investments. 
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(3) Money in the community pollution prevention fund at the close of the fiscal year shall remain in the 
community pollution prevention fund and shall not lapse to the general fund. 

(4) The department of environmental quality shall expend interest and earnings of the community 
pollution prevention fund only, upon appropriation, for grants for the purpose of preventing pollution, 
with an emphasis on the prevention of groundwater contamination and resulting risks to the public 
health, ecological risks, and public and private cleanup costs.  The department of environmental 
quality shall enter into contractual agreements with grant recipients, who shall include county 
governments, local health departments, municipalities, and regional planning agencies.  Activities 
to be performed by grant recipients and program objectives and deliverables shall be specified in 
the contractual agreements.  Grant recipients shall provide a financial match of not less than 25% 
nor more than 50%.  Not more than $100,000.00 may be granted in any fiscal year to a single 
recipient.  Eligible pollution prevention activities include all of the following: 

(a) Drinking water wellhead protection, including the delineation of wellhead protection areas 
and implementation of wellhead protection plans pursuant to the safe drinking water act, 
Act No. 399 of the Public Acts of 1976, being sections 325.1001 to 325.1023 of the 
Michigan Compiled Laws. 

(b) The review of pollution incident prevention plans prepared by, and the inspection of, 
facilities whose storage or handling of hazardous materials may pose a risk to the 
groundwater. 

(c) The identification and plugging of abandoned wells other than oil and gas wells. 
(d) Programs to educate the general public and businesses that use or handle hazardous 

materials on pollution prevention methods, technologies, and processes, with an emphasis 
on the direct reduction of toxic material releases or disposal at the source. 

(5) The department of environmental quality shall annually prepare a report summarizing the grants 
made under this section, contractual commitments made and achieved, and a preliminary 
evaluation of the effectiveness of this section not later than September 30, 1997, and September 
30 of each year thereafter, and shall provide a copy of this report to the chairs of the house and 
senate appropriations subcommittees for the department of environmental quality. 

History: Add. 1996, Act 384, Imd. Eff. July 23, 1996. 
 

445.574 Violation; penalty; separate offense. 

 
Sec. 4.   
 
Except as provided in sections 4a and 4b, a person, dealer, distributor, or manufacturer who violates this 
act is subject to a fine of not less than $100.00 or more than $1,000.00 and is liable for the costs of 
prosecution.  Each day a violation occurs, a separate offense is committed. 

History: 1976, Initiated Law, Eff. Dec. 3, 1978; - Am. 1982, Act 39, Imd. Eff. Mar. 16, 1982;-Am. 1998, Act 473, Eff. Apr. 1, 1999. 

 

445.574a Prohibited return to dealer, distributor, or manufacturer; violation; penalty; 
exceptions; restitution; action brought by attorney general or county 
prosecutor. 

 
Sec. 4a.    
 

(1) A person shall not return or attempt to return to a dealer for a refund 1 or more of the following: 
(a) A beverage container that the person knows or should know was not purchased in this 

state as a filled returnable container. 
(b) A beverage container that the person knows or should know did not have a deposit paid 

for it at the time of purchase. 
(2) A person who violates subsection (1) is subject to 1 of the following: 

(a) If the person returns 25 or more but not more than 100 nonreturnable containers, the 
person may be ordered to pay a civil fine of not more than $100.00. 

(b) If the person returns more than 100 but fewer than 10,000 nonreturnable containers, or 
violates subdivision (a) for a second or subsequent time, the person is guilty of a 
misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more 
than $1,000.00, or both. 

(c) If the person returns more than 100 but fewer than 10,000 nonreturnable containers for a 
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second or subsequent time, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by 
imprisonment for not more than 1 year or a fine of not more than $2,000.00, or both. 

(d) If the person returns 10,000 or more nonreturnable containers, the person is guilty of a 
felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 5 years or a fine of not more than 
$5,000.00, or both. 

(3) A dealer shall not knowingly accept from and pay a deposit to a person for a nonreturnable 
container or knowingly deliver a nonreturnable container to a distributor for a refund. A dealer that 
violates this subsection is subject to 1 of the following: 

(a) If the dealer knowingly accepts from and pays a deposit on 25 or more but not more than 
100 nonreturnable containers to a person, or knowingly delivers 25 or more but not more 
than 100 nonreturnable containers to a distributor for a refund, the dealer may be ordered 
to pay a civil fine of not more than $100.00. 

(b) If the dealer knowingly accepts from and pays a deposit on more than 100 but fewer than 
10,000 nonreturnable containers to a person, or knowingly delivers more than 100 but 
fewer than 10,000 nonreturnable containers to a distributor for a refund, the dealer is guilty 
of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not 
more than $1,000.00, or both. 

(c) If the dealer knowingly accepts from and pays a deposit on more than 100 but fewer than 
10,000 nonreturnable containers to a person, or knowingly delivers more than 100 but 
fewer than 10,000 nonreturnable containers to a distributor for a refund, for a second or 
subsequent time, the dealer is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not 
more than 1 year or a fine of not more than $2,000.00, or both. 

(d) If the dealer knowingly accepts from and pays a deposit on 10,000 or more nonreturnable 
containers to a person, or knowingly delivers 10,000 or more nonreturnable containers to 
a distributor for a refund, the dealer is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not 
more than 5 years or a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both. 

(4) A distributor shall not knowingly accept from and pay a deposit to a dealer for a nonreturnable 
container or knowingly deliver a nonreturnable container to a manufacturer for a refund. A 
distributor that violates this subsection is subject to 1 of the following: 

(a) If the distributor knowingly accepts from and pays a deposit on 25 or more but not more 
than 100 nonreturnable containers to a dealer, or knowingly delivers 25 or more but not 
more than 100 nonreturnable containers to a manufacturer for a refund, the distributor may 
be ordered to pay a civil fine of not more than $100.00. 

(b) If the distributor knowingly accepts from and pays a deposit on more than 100 but fewer 
than 10,000 nonreturnable containers to a dealer, or knowingly delivers more than 100 but 
fewer than 10,000 nonreturnable containers to a manufacturer for a refund, the distributor 
is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine 
of not more than $1,000.00, or both. 

(c) If the distributor knowingly accepts from and pays a deposit on more than 100 but fewer 
than 10,000 nonreturnable containers to a dealer, or knowingly delivers more than 100 but 
fewer than 10,000 nonreturnable containers to a manufacturer for a refund, for a second 
or subsequent time, the distributor is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment 
for not more than 1 year or a fine of not more than $2,000.00, or both. 

(d) If the distributor knowingly accepts from and pays a deposit on 10,000 or more 
nonreturnable containers to a dealer, or knowingly delivers 10,000 or more nonreturnable 
containers to a manufacturer for a refund, the distributor is guilty of a felony punishable by 
imprisonment for not more than 5 years or a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both. 

(5) A dealer or distributor does not violate subsection (3) or (4) if all of the following conditions are met:  
(a) An employee of the dealer or distributor commits an act that violates subsection (3) or (4).  
(b) At the time the employee commits the act that violates subsection (3) or (4), the dealer or 

distributor had in force a written policy prohibiting its employees from knowingly redeeming 
nonreturnable containers.  

(c) The dealer or distributor did not or should not have known of the employee's act in violation 
of subsection (3) or (4).  

(6) In addition to the penalty described in this section, the court shall order a person found guilty of a 
misdemeanor or felony under this section to pay restitution equal to the amount of loss caused by 
the violation. 
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(7) The attorney general or a county prosecutor may bring an action to recover a civil fine under this 
section. A civil fine imposed under this section is payable to this state and shall be credited to the 
general fund. 

History: Added 1998, Act 473, Eff. Apr. 1, 1999;-Am. 2008, Act 384, Eff. March 31, 2009.  

 

445.574b Posting notice on dealer’s premises; failure to comply; penalty. 

 
Sec. 4b.   
 

(1) In that portion of the dealer’s premises where returnable containers are redeemed, a dealer shall 
post a notice that says substantially the following: “A person who returns out-of-state nonreturnable 
containers for a refund is subject to penalties of up to 5 years in jail, a fine of $5,000.00, and 
restitution.”   

(2) A dealer who fails to comply with this section is subject to a fine of not more than $50.00. 

History: Added 1998, Act 473, Eff. Apr. 1, 1999-Am. 2008, Act 385, Eff. March 31, 2009. 

 

445.575 Repeal of 445.191. 

 
Sec. 5.   
 
Act No. 142 of the Public Acts of 1971, being section 445.191 of the Compiled Laws of 1970, is repealed. 

History: 1976, Initiated Law, Eff. Dec. 3, 1978 

 

445.576 Effective date. 

 
Sec. 6.   
 
This act shall take effect two years after it becomes law. 

History: 1976, Initiated Law, Eff. Dec. 3, 1978 
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SIZE CLASSIFICATION RULES 
 
(By authority conferred on the liquor control commission by section 3 of the Initiated Law of 1976, being 
§445.573 of the Michigan Compiled Laws) 
 

R 445.1 Definitions. 

 
Rule 1.   
 

(1) As used in these rules "act" means the Initiated Law of 1976, being §445.571 et seq. of the Michigan 
Compiled Laws. 

(2) The terms defined in the act have the same meaning when used in these rules, unless otherwise 
indicated. 

History:  1954 ACS 97, Eff. Dec. 8, 1978; 1979 AC. 

 

R 445.3 Size classifications. 

 
Rule 3.   
 

(1) The commission may certify beverage containers for beverages other than beer, ale, or other malt 
drink of whatever alcoholic content. 

(2) The commission may certify beverage containers in 1 of the following size classifications:  7 oz.; 
12 oz.; 16 oz.; 32 oz.; 64 oz.; 128 oz.; 2 liters. 

(3) Additional size classifications may be certified if the beverage container is in compliance with 
section 2(7) and section 3(2), (3), and (4) of the act. 

History:  1954 ACS 97, Eff. Dec. 8, 1978; 1979 AC. 

 



B-1 

BEVERAGE CONTAINER REDEMPTION ANTIFRAUD ACT 
Act 388 of 2008 
 
AN ACT to provide state payments to reverse vending machine manufacturers for the cost of retrofitting 
certain reverse vending machines; to provide money to certain dealers for the purchase of certain new 
reverse vending machines; to create the beverage container redemption antifraud fund; and to provide for 
the powers and duties of certain state governmental officers and entities. 

History: 2008, Act 388, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2008. 

 

445.631  Short title. 

 
Sec. 1.  
 
This act shall be known and may be cited as the "beverage container redemption antifraud act". 

History: 2008, Act 388, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2008. 

 

445.633  Definitions. 

 
Sec. 3.  
 
As used in this act: 

(a) "Beverage container law" means 1976 IL 1, MCL 445.571 to 445.576. 
(b) "Dealer" means that term as defined in section 1 of the beverage container law, MCL 445.571. 
(c) "Department" means the department of treasury. 
(d) "Designated glass container", "designated metal container", and "designated plastic container" 

mean those terms as defined in the reverse vending machine antifraud act. 
(e) "Fund" means the beverage container redemption antifraud fund created in section 7. 
(f) "Install vision technology" means to equip an existing, new, or replacement reverse vending 

machine with vision technology for designated metal, plastic, or glass containers, including all 
reasonable and necessary technology, equipment, hardware, software, and labor, and 1 year of 
service directly related to the vision technology by the reverse vending machine vendor. 

(g) "Overredeemer" means that term as defined in section 3b of the beverage container law, MCL 
445.573b. 

(h) "Retrofit" means to install vision technology for designated metal, plastic, or glass beverage 
containers in an existing, new, or replacement reverse vending machine. 

(i) "Reverse vending machine" means that term as defined in the reverse vending machine antifraud 
act. 

(j) "Reverse vending machine manufacturer" means that term as defined in the reverse vending 
machine antifraud act. 

(k) "Vision technology" means that term as defined in the reverse vending machine antifraud act. 

History: 2008, Act 388, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2008. 

 

445.635  Retrofit of reverse vending machines; payment to reverse vending machine 
manufacturers; application for payment; acceptance as full payment; proof 
of completion; conditions for requiring installation or retrofitting of reverse 
vending machines. 

 
Sec. 5. 
  

(1) The department shall pay reverse vending machine manufacturers to retrofit reverse vending 
machines to comply with the reverse vending machine antifraud act. 

(2) A reverse vending machine manufacturer that has agreed to retrofit a dealer's reverse vending 
machines to comply with the reverse vending machine antifraud act shall submit a written 
application to the department for payment to retrofit the dealer's reverse vending machines. All of 
the following apply to the application for payment described in this subsection: 

(a) The department shall prescribe the form of the application. 
(b) A reverse vending machine manufacturer may only submit an application for retrofitting a 
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dealer's reverse vending machines and receive payment under this act if the dealer is 
required to retrofit those reverse vending machines under the reverse vending machine 
antifraud act. 

(c) An application submitted to the department shall include all of the following: 
(i) Contact information for the reverse vending machine manufacturer, the number of 

reverse vending machines to be retrofitted by the manufacturer, the serial numbers 
of those machines, where those machines are located, the name and contact 
information of the dealer that owns or leases those machines, a copy of the 
dealer's purchase order for the retrofitting of those machines, the street address 
and county where those machines will be in operation after they are retrofitted, and 
any other information required by the department. 

(ii) The total cost of retrofitting each reverse vending machine described in the 
application to install vision technology. 

(iii) The signature of a designated agent of the reverse vending machine manufacturer, 
certifying that all of the contents of the application are correct. 

(iv) The signature of a designated agent of the dealer whose reverse vending 
machines are to be retrofitted by the reverse vending machine manufacturer, 
certifying that all of the contents of the application are correct. 

(d) A reverse vending machine manufacturer shall submit a separate application for each 
location where a dealer operates reverse vending machines. 

(3) A reverse vending machine manufacturer that receives payment under this act for retrofitting a 
reverse vending machine manufacturer shall accept that payment as full payment for the retrofitting 
of that machine. 

(4) When a reverse vending machine manufacturer completes the retrofitting of the reverse vending 
machine at a dealer's location, the reverse vending machine manufacturer shall submit proof to the 
department, in a form and manner prescribed by the department and signed by a designated agent 
of the dealer, that the retrofitting is complete. 

(5) The department shall not require that a dealer or reverse vending machine manufacturer retrofit a 
reverse vending machine to meet the dealer requirements imposed in section 7(1) or 9(1) of the 
reverse vending machine antifraud act unless the department first establishes under this act that 
the dealer must install or retrofit the reverse vending machines at a retail location in order to meet 
the requirements of section 7(1) or 9(1) of the reverse vending machine antifraud act and makes 
money available for that retrofit under this act. 

History: 2008, Act 388, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2008. 

 

445.636  Establishment of new retail store in county bordering another state or in 
Lower Peninsula contiguous with county bordering another state; 
installation of vision technology; requirements. 

 
Sec. 6.  
 

(1) If a dealer establishes a new retail store in a county of this state that borders another state, or in a 
county in the Lower Peninsula that is contiguous with a county of this state that borders another 
state, and acquires new reverse vending machines for use in that store, the department shall pay 
the reverse vending machine manufacturer to install vision technology in those new reverse 
vending machines that meets the requirements of the reverse vending machine antifraud act. 

(2) All of the following apply if a dealer purchases new reverse vending machines from a reverse 
vending machine manufacturer for use in a new retail store in a county described in subsection (1): 

(a) The reverse vending machine manufacturer shall submit an application for payment in the 
form prescribed by the department. The reverse vending machine manufacturer shall 
include with the application a copy of the dealer's purchase order for the new reverse 
vending machines. 

(b) A reverse vending machine manufacturer may not apply money received under this 
subsection to the purchase price of a new reverse vending machine that does not meet the 
requirements of the reverse vending machine antifraud act. 

(c) The dealer shall operate the new reverse vending machine at the retail store for which it 
was acquired.  However, if the dealer ceases retail sale of beverages in beverage 
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containers at that new store, the dealer may move that reverse vending machine to another 
location and operate the reverse vending machine at that different location. 

(d) The amount of a payment to a reverse vending machine manufacturer under this section 
shall not exceed that part of the price of the new reverse vending machine attributable to 
the cost of installation of the machine's vision technology or $5,000.00, whichever is less. 
The reverse vending machine manufacturer must reduce the purchase price of the new 
reverse vending machine to the dealer by the amount of any payment to the reverse 
vending machine manufacturer under this subdivision. 

History: 2008, Act 388, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2008. 

 

445.637  Beverage container redemption antifraud fund; creation; payments; 
allocations; report. 

 
Sec. 7.  
 

(1) The beverage container redemption antifraud fund is created in the state treasury. All of the 
following apply to the fund: 
(b) The state treasurer may receive money appropriated to the fund or money or other assets from 

any other source for deposit into the fund. The state treasurer shall direct the investment of the 
fund. The state treasurer shall credit to the fund interest and earnings from fund investments. 

(c) Money in the fund at the close of the fiscal year shall remain in the fund and shall not lapse to 
the general fund. 

(d) The department is the administrator of the fund for auditing purposes. 
(e) The department shall expend money from the fund, upon appropriation, only for the purposes 

of this act and the reverse vending machine antifraud act, including, but not limited to, 
administration of those acts.  However, the department may not use more than $100,000.00 
from the fund in any state fiscal year for administration of this act and the reverse vending 
machine antifraud act. 

(2) At any time after it begins to receive reports described in section 13, but not later than 30 days after 
receiving all of the reports described in section 13, the department shall immediately begin to 
arrange with reverse vending machine manufacturers for the retrofitting of reverse vending 
machines under section 5 that are located in counties that border another state and in counties in 
the Lower Peninsula that are contiguous with a county of this state that borders another state. The 
department shall also arrange for payments from the fund on behalf of dealers eligible under section 
6 for the acquisition of new reverse vending machines for use in those counties. 

(3) In allocating money from the fund for purposes of subsection (2), the department shall do all of the 
following: 

(a) Subject to subdivision (b), give priority to retrofitting reverse vending machines under 
section 5 located in the counties described in subsection (2), or for the acquisition of new 
reverse vending machines under section 6 for use in those counties, that it determines 
have the greatest potential benefit for reducing the redemption of nonreturnable containers. 

(b) Allocate at least 50% of the money in the fund to retrofitting reverse vending machines 
located in counties that border another state under section 5 or for the acquisition of new 
reverse vending machines under section 6 for use in counties that border another state. 

(4) Beginning 1 year after the effective date of this act, the department by September 1 of each year 
shall report to the legislature on the progress it has made in reducing the redemption of 
nonreturnable containers, including the total number of distributors who were overreedemers in the 
immediately preceding calendar year, before trading, as well as the average amount of 
overredemption. 

History: 2008, Act 388, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2008. 

 

445.639  Payment amount; purchase or lease. 

 
Sec. 9.  
 

(1) The amount of payment a reverse vending machine manufacturer may receive under section 7 for 
retrofitting a single reverse vending machine under section 5 is the total cost of retrofitting that 
reverse vending machine or $5,000.00, whichever is less. 
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(2) A dealer that operates a reverse vending machine at a location in a county of this state that borders 
another state, or in a county in the Lower Peninsula that is contiguous with a county of this state 
that borders another state, may elect to purchase or lease a new reverse vending machine that 
meets the requirements of the reverse vending machine antifraud act to replace that existing 
reverse vending machine rather than have that existing reverse vending machine retrofitted under 
section 5. All of the following apply if a dealer purchases or leases a new reverse vending machine 
from a reverse vending machine manufacturer under this subsection: 

(a) The reverse vending machine manufacturer shall submit an application for payment in the 
form prescribed by the department. The reverse vending machine manufacturer shall 
include with the application a copy of the dealer's purchase order for the new reverse 
vending machine. 

(b) A reverse vending machine manufacturer may not apply money received under this 
subsection to the purchase price of a new reverse vending machine that does not meet the 
requirements of the reverse vending machine antifraud act. 

(c) The dealer shall operate the new reverse vending machine at the same location as the 
reverse vending machine it replaces. However, if the dealer ceases retail sale of beverages 
in beverage containers at that location, the dealer may move that reverse vending machine 
to another location and operate the reverse vending machine at that different location. 

(d) The amount of a payment to a reverse vending machine manufacturer under this section 
shall not exceed that part of the price of the new reverse vending machine attributable to 
the cost of installation of the machine's vision technology or $5,000.00, whichever is less. 
The reverse vending machine manufacturer must reduce the purchase price of the new 
reverse vending machine to the dealer by the amount of any payment to the reverse 
vending machine manufacturer under this subdivision. 

(e) The reverse vending machine manufacturer may not apply for or receive payment under 
this act for retrofitting a reverse vending machine if the reverse vending machine 
manufacturer received money for a new reverse vending machine to replace that existing 
reverse vending machine under this subsection. 

(f) For purposes of this act, the department shall consider the replacement of a reverse 
vending machine with a new reverse vending machine under this section as a retrofitting 
of a reverse vending machine. 

History: 2008, Act 388, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2008. 

 

445.641  Distribution of money left in fund. 

 
Sec. 11.  
 
If the department determines that it has paid the reverse vending machine manufacturers for retrofitting all 
of the reverse vending machines located in the counties described in section 7(2), and for the acquisition 
of any new reverse vending machines under section 6 for use in those counties for which it has received 
applications for payment, and the total of those payments is less than the amount in the fund, the 
department shall distribute the money remaining in the fund to dealers for the purchase of new reverse 
vending machines. All of the following apply to a payment of money under this section: 

(a) A dealer requesting money under this section shall submit an application for payment, in 
the form prescribed by the department. 

(b) A dealer shall only use money received under this section to purchase a new reverse 
vending machine that meets the requirement of the reverse vending machine antifraud act 
and that the dealer will operate that reverse vending machine at a location in this state. 

(c) The amount of a payment to a dealer under this section shall not exceed that part of the 
price of the new reverse vending machine attributable to the cost of installation of the 
machine's vision technology, as determined by the department. 

(d) The department shall disburse money from the fund under this section in the order in which 
it receives applications for payment under this section. 

History: 2008, Act 388, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2008. 
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445.643  Report. 

 
Sec. 13.  
 

(1) No later than 60 days after the effective date of this act, each dealer that operates reverse vending 
machines that are located in any county of this state that borders another state, or any county in 
the Lower Peninsula that is contiguous with a county of this state that borders another state, shall 
submit a report to the department. 

(2) The report described in subsection (1) shall contain all of the following information: 
(a) Contact information for the dealer. 
(b) The street address and county of each location in the counties described in subsection (1) 

where the dealer uses reverse vending machines. 
(c) The number of reverse vending machines used by the dealer at each location described in 

subdivision (b) and the type of beverage containers each of those reverse vending 
machines accepts. 

(d) The number of beverage containers sold and the number of beverage containers 
redeemed by the dealer under the beverage container law in the preceding calendar year 
at each of the locations described in subdivision (b). 

(3) The department shall prescribe the form of the report described in subsection (1). 

 History: Added 2008, Act 388, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2008. 
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REVERSE VENDING MACHINE ANTIFRAUD ACT 
Act 387 of 2008 
 
AN ACT to provide standards for reverse vending machines; to prohibit the use, replacement, leasing, 
transfer, and sales of certain designs of reverse vending machines; to prescribe penalties; and to provide 
for the powers and duties of certain state and local governmental officers and entities. 

History: 2008, Act 387, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2008. 

 

 

445.651 Short title. 

 
Sec. 1.  
 
This act shall be known and may be cited as the "reverse vending machine antifraud act". 

History: 2008, Act 387, Eff. Dec. 1, 2009 

Compiler's note: "Enacting section 1. This act takes effect on the date that deposits into the beverage container redemption antifraud fund created in the beverage container 

redemption antifraud act from money appropriated by the legislature equal or exceed $1,000,000.00." 

 

445.653 Definitions. 

 
Sec. 3. 
 
As used in this act: 

(a) "Beverage container" means that term as defined in section 1 of the beverage container 
law, MCL 445.571. 

(b) "Beverage container law" means 1976 IL 1, MCL 445.571 to 445.576. 
(c) "Brand" means any word, name, group of letters, symbol, or trademark, or any combination 

of them, adopted and used by a manufacturer to identify a specific flavor or type of 
beverage and to distinguish that flavor or type of beverage from another beverage 
produced or marketed by that manufacturer or another manufacturer. 

(d) "Dealer" means that term as defined in section 1 of the beverage container law, MCL 
445.571. 

(e) "Department" means the department of treasury. 
(f) "Designated glass container" means a 12-ounce glass beverage container that contains a 

symbol, mark, or other distinguishing characteristic that allows a reverse vending machine 
to determine if the beverage container is or is not a returnable container. 

(g) "Designated metal container" means a 12-ounce metal beverage container that contains a 
symbol, mark, or other distinguishing characteristic that allows a reverse vending machine 
to determine if the beverage container is or is not a returnable container. 

(h) "Designated plastic container" means a 20-ounce plastic beverage container that contains 
a symbol, mark, or other distinguishing characteristic that allows a reverse vending 
machine to determine if the beverage container is or is not a returnable container. 

(i) "Distributor" means that term as defined in section 1 of the beverage container law, MCL 
445.571. 

(j) "Glass beverage container" means a beverage container composed primarily of glass. 
(k) "Install" or "installation" means to equip an existing, new, or replacement reverse vending 

machine with vision technology for designated metal, plastic, or glass containers, including 
all reasonable and necessary technology, equipment, hardware, software, and labor and 
including 1 year of service by the reverse vending machine vendor. 

(l) "Law enforcement agency" means the attorney general or a law enforcement agency as 
defined in section 2804 of the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.2804. 

(m) "Lease" does not include to renew or extend an existing lease for an existing reverse 
vending machine at the same location. 

(n) "Manufacturer" means that term as defined in section 1 of the beverage container law, MCL 
445.571. 

(o) "Metal beverage container" means a beverage container composed primarily of metal. 
(p) "Nonreturnable container" means that term as defined in section 1 of the beverage 

container law, MCL 445.571. 
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(q) "Person" means an individual, partnership, corporation, association, limited liability 
company, governmental entity, or other legal entity. The term includes a dealer, distributor, 
or manufacturer. 

(r) "Plastic beverage container" means a beverage container composed primarily of plastic. 
(s) "Returnable container" means that term as defined in section 1 of the beverage container 

law, MCL 445.571. 
(t) "Reverse vending machine" means a device designed to properly identify and process 

empty beverage containers and provide a means for a deposit refund on returnable 
containers. 

(u) "Reverse vending machine manufacturer" means a person that engages in any of the 
following and the representatives of that person: 
(i) Designing or manufacturing a reverse vending machine. 
(ii) Selling or leasing a reverse vending machine to a dealer in this state.  
(iii) Servicing or replacing a reverse vending machine of a dealer in this state. 

(v) "Update" means to install vision technology for designated metal, plastic, or glass beverage 
containers in an existing, new, or replacement reverse vending machine. 

(w) "Vision technology" means a camera or other scanning device that allows a reverse 
vending machine to determine if beverage containers are returnable containers based on 
symbols, marks, or other distinguishing characteristics on the beverage containers. 

History: 2008, Act 387, Eff. Dec. 1, 2009 

Compiler's note: "Enacting section 1. This act takes effect on the date that deposits into the beverage container redemption antifraud fund created in the beverage container 

redemption antifraud act from money appropriated by the legislature equal or exceed $1,000,000.00." 

 

445.655 Installation of vision technology. 

 
Sec. 5.  
 
Not later than 450 days after the effective date of this act, a reverse vending machine manufacturer shall 
begin installing vision technology into a sufficient sample of reverse vending machines that process glass 
beverage containers and plastic beverage containers and conducting testing of that vision technology in a 
commercial environment or other testing environment that is substantially similar to a commercial 
environment. 

History: 2008, Act 387, Eff. Dec. 1, 2009 

Compiler's note: "Enacting section 1. This act takes effect on the date that deposits into the beverage container redemption antifraud fund created in the beverage container 

redemption antifraud act from money appropriated by the legislature equal or exceed $1,000,000.00." 

 

445.657 Reverse vending machine used in county that borders another state or 
county in Lower Peninsula contiguous with county that borders another 
state; processing metal beverage containers; requirements; extension of 
date. 

 
Sec. 7.  
 

(1) Subject to subsection (2), beginning 360 days after the effective date of this act, a reverse vending 
machine manufacturer shall not lease, sell, or otherwise transfer a reverse vending machine that 
processes metal beverage containers for use in any county of this state that borders another state, 
or any county in the Lower Peninsula that is contiguous with a county of this state that borders 
another state, and a dealer shall not use a reverse vending machine that processes metal beverage 
containers in any of those counties, if the reverse vending machine does not meet the following 
standards: 

(a) It identifies at least 85% of appropriately marked and legible designated metal containers 
that are or are not nonreturnable containers, and authorizes or provides a refund only for 
those containers identified as returnable containers or refuses to provide or authorize a 
refund for those containers identified as nonreturnable containers.  

(b) It maintains accurate data concerning the number of beverage containers accepted by that 
reverse vending machine, categorized according to the distributor of those beverage 
containers. 

(2) If a reverse vending machine manufacturer demonstrates to the department's satisfaction that 
material and technical issues prevent the reverse vending machine manufacturer from meeting the 
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requirements of subsection (1) by the date described in that subsection, the department may grant 
an extension of that date of not more than 180 days. 

History: 2008, Act 387, Eff. Dec. 1, 2009 

Compiler's note: "Enacting section 1. This act takes effect on the date that deposits into the beverage container redemption antifraud fund created in the beverage container 

redemption antifraud act from money appropriated by the legislature equal or exceed $1,000,000.00." 

 

445.659 Reverse vending machine used in county that borders another state or 
county in Lower Peninsula contiguous with county that borders another 
state; processing glass or plastic beverage containers; requirements; 
extension of date. 

 
Sec 9. 
 

(1) Subject to subsection (2), beginning 720 days after the effective date of this act, a reverse vending 
machine manufacturer shall not lease, sell, or otherwise transfer a reverse vending machine that 
processes glass beverage containers or plastic beverage containers for use in any county of this 
state that borders another state, or any county in the Lower Peninsula that is contiguous with a 
county of this state that borders another state, and a dealer shall not use a reverse vending machine 
that processes glass beverage containers or plastic beverage containers in any of those counties, 
if the reverse vending machine does not meet the following standards: 

(a) It identifies at least 85% of appropriately marked and legible designated glass containers 
and designated plastic containers that are or are not nonreturnable containers, and 
authorizes or provides a refund only for those containers identified as returnable containers 
or refuses to provide or authorize a refund for those containers identified as nonreturnable 
containers. 

(b) It maintains accurate data concerning the number of beverage containers accepted by that 
reverse vending machine, categorized according to the distributor of those beverage 
containers. 

(2) If a reverse vending machine manufacturer demonstrates to the department's satisfaction that 
material and technical issues prevent the reverse vending machine manufacturer from meeting the 
requirements of subsection (1) by the date described in that subsection, the department may grant 
an extension of that date of not more than 180 days. The department may grant a second extension 
of not more than an additional 180 days, but only if the department determines that the reverse 
vending machine manufacturer gave its best effort to meeting the requirements of subsection (1) 
before the end of the first extension. 

History: 2008, Act 387, Eff. Dec. 1, 2009 

Compiler's note: "Enacting section 1. This act takes effect on the date that deposits into the beverage container redemption antifraud fund created in the beverage container 

redemption antifraud act from money appropriated by the legislature equal or exceed $1,000,000.00." 

 

445.661 Change, alteration, or modification; prohibitions. 

 
Sec. 11.  
 
A person shall not change, alter, or modify a reverse vending machine used or intended for use in this state 
in a manner designed to prevent the reverse vending machine from meeting the standards described in 
section 7(1) or 9(1). A person shall not assist another person's efforts to change, alter, or modify a reverse 
vending machine used or intended for use in this state in a manner designed to prevent the reverse vending 
machine from meeting the standards described in section 7(1) or 9(1). 

History: 2008, Act 387, Eff. Dec. 1, 2009 

Compiler's note: "Enacting section 1. This act takes effect on the date that deposits into the beverage container redemption antifraud fund created in the beverage container 

redemption antifraud act from money appropriated by the legislature equal or exceed $1,000,000.00." 
 

445.663 Fraudulent change, alteration, or modification; data; retention; availability 
for inspection. 

 
Sec. 13.  
 

(1) A person shall not fraudulently change, alter, or modify data described in section 7(1) or 9(1) or 
assist another person's efforts to fraudulently change, alter, or modify data described in section 
7(1) or 9(1). 
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(2) Each dealer shall retain the data described in sections 7(1) and 9(1) for at least 2 years, shall make 
any of that data concerning brands distributed by a distributor that provides a refund to the dealer 
under section 2(6) of the beverage container law, MCL 445.572, available for inspection by that 
distributor, and shall provide copies of that data to that distributor on request. 

History: 2008, Act 387, Eff. Dec. 1, 2009 

Compiler's note: "Enacting section 1. This act takes effect on the date that deposits into the beverage container redemption antifraud fund created in the beverage container 
redemption antifraud act from money appropriated by the legislature equal or exceed $1,000,000.00." 

 

445.665 Inspection; investigation of complaint; notice of violation; installation or 
update to comply with requirements. 

 
Sec. 15.  
 

(1) Each dealer shall allow the department and any law enforcement agency to inspect the dealer's 
reverse vending machines and the data described in sections 7(1) and 9(1) for the purpose of 
enforcing this act. 

(2) If the department receives a complaint of a violation of this act, the department shall investigate to 
determine if a violation of this act has occurred. 

(3) If the department determines or discovers that a violation of this act has occurred, the department 
shall notify the appropriate law enforcement agency of the violation. 

(4) The department shall not require that a dealer or reverse vending machine manufacturer install or 
update a reverse vending machine to meet the requirements of section 7(1) or 9(1) unless the 
department first establishes under the beverage container redemption antifraud act that the dealer 
must install or retrofit the reverse vending machines at a retail location in order to meet the 
requirements of section 7(1) or 9(1) and makes money available for that installation or update under 
the beverage container redemption antifraud act. 

History: 2008, Act 387, Eff. Dec. 1, 2009 

Compiler's note: "Enacting section 1. This act takes effect on the date that deposits into the beverage container redemption antifraud fund created in the beverage container 
redemption antifraud act from money appropriated by the legislature equal or exceed $1,000,000.00." 

 

445.667 Violations; penalties; restitution. 

 
Sec. 17.  
 

(1) A person who violates section 11 or 13(1) is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not 
more than 2 years or a fine of not more than $10,000.00, or both. 

(2) Except as provided in subsection (1), and subject to subsections (3) and (4), a person that violates 
this act is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 90 days or a fine 
of not more than $5,000.00, or both. 

(3) A dealer or reverse vending machine manufacturer is not considered in violation of section 7(1) or 
9(1) if the department has not made money available to the reverse vending machine manufacturer 
under the beverage container redemption antifraud act to update the dealer's reverse vending 
machines. 

(4) A dealer is not considered in violation of the requirements imposed on a dealer in section 7(1) or 
9(1) if the dealer is using the reverse vending machines of a reverse vending machine manufacturer 
and the reverse vending machines of that reverse vending machine manufacturer cannot be 
retrofitted due to the lack of technology to meet the standards described in subdivisions (a) and (b) 
of section 7(1) or 9(1). 

(5) In addition to the penalty imposed under subsection (1) or (2), a court shall order a person convicted 
of a violation of this act to make restitution to this state and to any dealer or distributor for any loss 
caused by the violation. 

History: 2008, Act 387, Eff. Dec. 1, 2009 

Compiler's note: "Enacting section 1. This act takes effect on the date that deposits into the beverage container redemption antifraud fund created in the beverage container 
redemption antifraud act from money appropriated by the legislature equal or exceed $1,000,000.00." 
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445.669 Report. 

 
Sec. 19.  
 
Within 4 years after the effective date of this act, the department shall provide a written report to the 
governor, the speaker of the house of representatives, and the senate majority leader. The report shall 
include a status report concerning the implementation of this act and the beverage container redemption 
antifraud act, the department's analysis of the effectiveness of these acts in reducing the redemption of 
nonreturnable containers in this state, the department's recommendation concerning whether the 
requirements of sections 7(1) and 9(1) should be extended to apply to reverse vending machines located 
in areas of the state not included in those sections, and any other recommendations the department may 
have for changes to these acts or other legislative action to reduce the redemption of nonreturnable 
containers in this state. 

History: 2008, Act 387, Eff. Dec. 1, 2009 

Compiler's note: "Enacting section 1. This act takes effect on the date that deposits into the beverage container redemption antifraud fund created in the beverage container 
redemption antifraud act from money appropriated by the legislature equal or exceed $1,000,000.00." 
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YOUTH EMPLOYMENT STANDARDS ACT 
Act 90 of 1978 
 
AN ACT to provide for the legal employment and protection of minors; to provide for the issuance and 
revocation of work permits; to provide for the regulation of hours and conditions of employment of minors; 
to prescribe powers and duties of the departments of labor and education; to provide for the enforcement 
of this act; to prescribe penalties; and to repeal certain acts and parts of acts. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 
 

409.101 Short title. 

 
Sec. 1.   
 
This act shall be known and may be cited as the “youth employment standards act”. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 

 

Compiler's note: For creation of bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation within department of consumer and industry services; transfer of powers and duties of 
bureau of worker's compensation and unemployment agency to bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation; transfer of powers and duties of director of bureau of 
worker's compensation and director of unemployment agency to director of bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation; and, transfer of powers and duties of wage and 
hour division of worker's compensation board of magistrates to bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation, see E.R.O. No. 2002-1, compiled at MCL 445.2004 of the 
Michigan Compiled Laws .For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, 
compiled at MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau 
of worker's and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, 
compiled at MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. 
No. 2011-4, compiled at MCL 445.2030. 

 

409.102 Definitions. 

 
Sec. 2. 
 
As used in this act: 

(a) “Employ” means engage, permit, or allow to work. 
(b) “Employer” means a person, firm, or corporation that employs a minor, and includes the state or a 

political subdivision of the state, an agency or instrumentality of the state, and an agent of an 
employer. 

(c) “Issuing officer” means the chief administrator of a school district, intermediate school district, public 
school academy, or nonpublic school, or a person authorized by that chief administrator in writing 
to act on his or her behalf. 

(d) “Minor” means a person under 18 years of age. 
(e) “Rule” means a rule promulgated pursuant to the administrative procedures act of 1969, Act No. 

306 of the Public Acts of 1969, being sections 24.201 to 24.328 of the Michigan Compiled Laws. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978;--Am. 1996, Act 438, Imd. Eff. Dec. 18, 1996. 

 
Compiler's note: For creation of bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation within department of consumer and industry services; transfer of powers and duties of 
bureau of worker's compensation and unemployment agency to bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation; transfer of powers and duties of director of bureau of 
worker's compensation and director of unemployment agency to director of bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation; and, transfer of powers and duties of wage and 
hour division of worker's compensation board of magistrates to bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation, see E.R.O. No.2002-1, compiled at MCL 445.2004 of the 
Michigan Compiled Laws. For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, 
compiled at MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau 
of worker's and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, 
compiled at MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. 
No. 2011-4, compiled at MCL 445.2030. 

 

409.103 Employment of minor; prohibited occupations; minimum age; exceptions 
and limitations. 

 
Sec. 3.   
 

(1) A minor shall not be employed in, about, or in connection with an occupation that is hazardous or 
injurious to the minor's health or personal well-being or that is contrary to standards established 
under this act, unless a deviation is granted under section 20. 

(2) The minimum age for employment of minors is 14 years, subject to the following exceptions and 
limitations: 

(a) A minor at least 11 years of age and less than 14 years of age may be employed as a 
youth athletic program referee or umpire for an age bracket younger than his or her own 
age if an adult representing the athletic program is on the premises at which the athletic 
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program event is occurring and a person responsible for the athletic program possesses a 
written acknowledgment of the minor's parent or guardian consenting to the minor's 
employment as a referee or umpire.  A minor 11 years of age or older may be employed 
as a golf caddy.  

(b) A minor 13 years of age or older may be employed in farming operations as described in 
section 4(3). 

(c) A minor 11 years of age or older may be employed as a bridge caddy at any event 
sanctioned by the American contract bridge league or other national bridge league 
association. 

(d) A minor 13 years of age or older may be employed to perform services which entail setting 
traps for formal or informal trap, skeet, and sporting clays shooting events. 

History: 1978; Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978; - Am. 1987, Act 71, Imd. Eff. June 29, 1987; - Am. 1997, Act 132, Eff. Nov. 14, 1997. 

 
Compiler's note: For creation of bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation within department of consumer and industry services; transfer of powers and duties of 
bureau of worker's compensation and unemployment agency to bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation; transfer of powers and duties of director of bureau of 
worker's compensation and director of unemployment agency to director of bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation; and, transfer of powers and duties of wage and 
hour division of worker's compensation board of magistrates to bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation, see E.R.O. No. 2002-1, compiled at MCL 445.2004 of the 
Michigan Compiled Laws. For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, 
compiled at MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau 
of worker's and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, 
compiled at MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. 
No. 2011-4, compiled at MCL 445.2030. 
 
 

409.104 Employment of minor; copy of work permit or temporary permit required; 
issuance and filing of work permit; duration of temporary permit; oath; return 
of permit; exception to work permit requirement; evidence of age; exception 
in subsection (3) inapplicable to other provisions. 

 
Sec. 4 
 

(1)  Except as provided in subsection (3), a minor shall not be employed in an occupation regulated 
by this act until the person proposing to employ the minor procures from the minor and keeps on 
file at  the place of employment a copy of the work permit or a temporary permit. The work permit 
shall be issued by the issuing officer of the school district, intermediate school district, public 
school academy, or nonpublic school at which the minor is enrolled, and a copy of the work 
permit shall be placed in the minor's permanent school file for as long as the minor is employed. 
A temporary permit is valid for 10 days from the date of issue. A work permit may be issued by 
the school district in which the minor's place of employment is located, or by the public school 
academy or nonpublic school nearest that place of employment. An issuing officer may 
administer oaths in relation to work permits. 

(2) Immediately after the termination of the minor's employment, the employer shall return the permit 
the issuing officer.  

(3) The work permit requirement of subsection (1) does not apply to any of the following: 
(a)  A minor 13 years of age or older who is employed in farming operations involving detasseling, 

roguing, hoeing, or any similar act involved in the production of seed. This exception applies 
only when a minor is employed during school vacation periods or when the minor is not 
regularly enrolled in school. An employer shall keep on file at the place of employment 
evidence of the age of any minor employed under this work permit exception. Evidence of the 
age of the minor shall be established as provided in section 5(b). 

(b) A minor who is performing work as an unpaid volunteer for an organization that is recognized 
as tax-exempt under, or whose purposes, structure, or activities are exclusively those that are 
described in, section 501(c)(3) of the internal revenue code, 26 USC 501(c)(3). 

(c) A minor who is performing work as an unpaid volunteer for a fair or exhibition operated and 
managed under 1929 PA 11, MCL 46.151 to 46.153, or held by an agricultural or horticultural 
society under 1855 PA 80, MCL 453.231 to 453.240. 

(4)  A work permit exception in subsection (3) does not provide an exemption from any other 
provision of this act. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978; - Am. 1987, Act 71, Imd. Eff. June 29, 1987;--Am. 1996, Act 438, Imd. Eff. Dec. 18, 1996;--Am. 2010, Act 221, Imd. Eff. Dec. 9, 2010;--
Am. 2011, Act 80, Imd. Eff. July 12, 2011. 
 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. Rendered Wednesday, March 9, 2016.  For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department 
of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, compiled at MCL 445.2030. 
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409.105 Work permit; application; examination, approval, and filing of papers. 

 
Sec. 5. 
 
An issuing officer shall issue a work permit only upon application in person by the minor desiring 
employment and after having examined, approved, and filed the following papers: 

(a) A statement of intention to employ, signed by the prospective employer or by a person authorized 
by the prospective employer, setting forth the general nature of the occupation in which the 
employer intends to employ the minor, the hours during which the minor will be employed, the 
wages to be paid and other information the department of education, in cooperation with the 
department of labor, requires. 

(b) Evidence showing that the minor is of the age required by this act. Proof of age shall be established 
by one of the following: 
(i) A certified copy of the birth record or any other proof of age showing the place and date of birth. 
(ii) A certified copy of valid operator's license issued by this state clearly showing date of birth. 
(iii) The school record or the school census record. 
(iv) The sworn statement of the minor's parent or guardian, together with a corroborating statement 

of a physician. 
(v) If documentary proof as described in subparagraphs (i) to (iv) is not obtainable, the issuing 

officer may accept other documentation as established by department of education rules. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 

 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030.    
     

409.106 Work permit; form; color; contents; rules. 

 
Sec. 6. 
 

(1) Work permits shall be issued in the form prescribed by the department of education in cooperation 
with the department of labor and in accordance with instructions so prescribed. The color of work 
permits for minors under 16 years of age shall be distinct from that for minors 16 years of age and 
over. Work permits shall state the name and address of the minor, the date of birth, the occupation 
and industry in which the minor is employed, the employer's name and address, and other 
information required by the department of education. 

(2) The department of education shall promulgate rules prescribing standards for the issuance of work 
permits, which shall include the following factors: 

(a) Evidence of age. 
(b) Standards of work as established by the department of labor and federal regulation. 
(c) Statutory requirements. 

(3) A fee shall not be charged for a work permit or other record required by this act. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978.  

Compiler's Notes: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 

MCL 445.2011.For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030. 
 

Administrative rules: R 340.186 et seq.; R 408.201 et seq.; R 409.1 et seq.; and R 423.401 et seq. of the Michigan Administrative Code.       

 

409.107 Revocation of permit; factors; record of refusal, suspension, or revocation; 
informing minor of appeal process. 

 
Sec. 7. 
 

(1) The issuing officer may revoke a permit based solely on the following factors: 
(a) Poor school attendance, characterized by repeated erratic or unexcused absences, which 

results in consistent performance of school work at a level lower than that which preceded 
the minor's employment. The work permit shall be revoked only after the permit has been 
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suspended. The suspension shall take place upon notice to the minor and the employer, 
and an opportunity to correct the deficiency is afforded. The suspension shall not exceed 
30 days after date of notification. 

(b) The minor's employment is in violation of federal or state law or of a regulation or rule 
promulgated under federal or state law, and the issuing officer is informed of the violation 
by the department of labor. 

(2) The issuing officer shall keep a record of each refusal, suspension, or revocation and the reasons 
for the action. Upon revocation, the minor shall be informed of the appeal process and shall be 
given instructions as to the initiation of an appeal. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 

Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 

MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-

4, compiled at MCL 445.2030. 

 

409.108 Failure or refusal to issue work permit; appeal; procedure. 

 
Sec. 8.   
 
The failure or refusal of the issuing officer to issue a work permit may be appealed in accordance with Act 
No. 306 of the Public Acts of 1969, as amended, by the minor or by the parent or guardian of the minor 
applying therefor, or by the person or agency to whom custody of the minor has been awarded. An appeal 
may be taken in the same manner from the revocation of a permit. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 

Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030. 

 

409.109 Work permit as evidence of age. 

 
Sec. 9.  
 
A work permit issued in accordance with this act shall be conclusive evidence of the age of the minor for 
whom issued in a proceeding involving the employment of the minor under this act. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 
 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030. 

 

409.110 Minor under 16 years; days and hours of employment. 

 
Sec. 10.  
 
A minor under 16 years shall not be employed in an occupation subject to this act for more than 6 days in 
1 week, nor for a period longer than a weekly average of 8 hours per day or 48 hours in 1 week, nor more 
than 10 hours in 1 day. The minor shall not be employed between the hours of 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. A minor 
who is a student in school shall not be employed more than a combined school and work week of 48 hours 
during the period when school is in session. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 
 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030.
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409.111 Minor 16 years or older; days and hours of employment; definitions. 

 
Sec. 11. 
 

(1) Except as provided in subsection (3), a minor 16 years of age or older shall not be employed in an 
occupation subject to this act for more than any of the following periods: 

(a) Six days in 1 week. 
(b) An average of 8 hours pay day in 1 week. 
(c) Ten hours in 1 day. 
(d) Subject to subdivision (e), 48 hours in 1 week. 
(e) If the minor is a student in school and school is in session, 24 hours in 1 week.  

(2) Except as provided in subsection (3), a person shall not employ a minor 16 years of age or older 
between 10:30 p.m. and 6 a.m. However, except as provided in subsection (3), a person may 
employ a minor 16 years of age or older who is a student in school until 11:30 p.m. on any of the 
following days: 

(a) On Fridays and Saturdays. 
(b) During school vacation periods. 
(c) During periods when the minor is not regularly enrolled in school. 

(3) A person may employ a minor 16 years of age or older in farming operations involved in the 
production of seed or in agricultural processing for a period greater than the periods described 
in subsections (1) and (2) if all of the following conditions are met: 

(a) If the minor is a student in school, the period greater than the periods described in 
subsections (1) and (2) occurs when school is not in session. 

(b) The minor is employed for not more than 11 hours in 1 day. 
(c) The minor is employed for not more than 62 hours in any week.  However, the employer 

shall not require the minor to work more than 48 hours during any week without the 
consent of the minor  

(d) The minor is not employed between 2 a.m. and 5:30 a.m. 
(e) The agricultural processing employer maintains on file a written acknowledgment of the 

minor's parent or guardian consenting to the period of employment authorized under this 
subsection. 

(4) As used in this section: 
(a) "Agricultural processing" means the cleaning, sorting, or packaging of fruits or    vegetables. 
(b)"Farming operations involved in the production of seed" means farming activities and      

research involved in the production of seed, including plant detasseling, hand- 
pollination, roguing, or hoeing, and any other similar farming activity required for 
commercial seed production. 

 
History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978; Am. 1995, Act 251, Eff. Mar. 28, 1996; Am. 1996, Act 499, Imd. Eff. Jan. 9, 1997;  Am. 2000, Act 418, Imd. Eff. Jan. 8, 2001;-Am. 
2011, Act 197, Imd. Eff. Oct. 18, 2011. 
 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011.  For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030.      

     

409.112 Meals and rest period. 

 
Sec. 12.  
 
A minor shall not be employed for more than 5 hours continuously without an interval of at least 30 minutes 
for a meal and rest period. An interval of less than 30 minutes shall not be considered to interrupt a 
continuous period of work. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 
 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030.
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409.112a Employment of minor in occupation involving a cash transaction after 
sunset or 8 p.m. at fixed location; condition. 

 
Sec. 12a. 
 
A minor who would otherwise be permitted under this act to be employed in an occupation subject to this 
act shall not be employed in an occupation that involves a cash transaction subject to this act after sunset 
or 8 p.m., whichever is the earlier, at a fixed location unless an employer or other employee 18 years of 
age or older is present at the fixed location during those hours. 

History: Add. 1980, Act 436, Eff. Mar. 31, 1981. 

 

Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030. 

 

409.113 Posting copy of 409.110, 409.111, and 409.112; time record. 

 
Sec. 13. 
 

(1) Each employer shall keep posted conspicuously in or about the premises at which a minor is 
employed, a printed copy of sections 10, 11, and 12 as furnished by the department. 

(2) Each employer shall keep in or about the premises at which a minor is employed, an adequate time 
record which shall state the number of hours worked by the minor each day of the week together 
with starting and ending times and other information the department of labor requires. The employer 
shall keep the record on file for not less than 1 year. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 

 

Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030. 
 

409.114 Employment of minor in performance by performing arts organization; 
approval. 

 
Sec. 14.  
 
This act shall not prevent a minor from being employed in a performance by any performing arts 
organization if a letter of approval is obtained from the department of labor by the representative of the arts 
organization. Approval shall be issued only if the department of labor determines that the employment is 
not detrimental to the health or personal well-being of the minor, that the minor is adequately supervised, 
and that the minor's education is not neglected. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 

 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of 
worker's and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, 
compiled at MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. 
No. 2011-4, compiled at MCL 445.2030.    
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409.114a Performing in or being subject to child abusive commercial activity. 

 
Sec. 14a. 
 
Except as provided in section 14, a minor shall not perform in or be a subject of a child abusive commercial 
activity as defined in section 145c of Act No. 328 of the Public Acts of 1931, being section 750.145c of the 
Michigan Compiled Laws. 

History: Add. 1978, Act 228, Imd. Eff. June 14, 1978. 

 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030. 

 

409.115 Employment of minor in establishment manufacturing, distributing, or 
selling alcoholic beverages. 

 
Sec. 15. 
 

(1) A work permit must not be issued authorizing the employment of a minor 16 years of age or older 
in, about, or in connection with that part of an establishment where alcoholic beverages are distilled, 
rectified, compounded, brewed, manufactured, bottled, consumed, sold at retail, or sold for 
consumption on the premises unless the sale of food or other goods constitutes at least 50% of the 
total gross receipts. 

(2) This act does not prohibit the issuance of work permits for 14- and 15-year-olds to be employed in 
establishments where alcoholic beverages are sold at retail, if the sale of food or other goods 
constitutes at least 50% of the total gross receipts of the establishment. Minors 14 and 15 years of 
age must not be employed in, about, or in connection with that part of the establishment where 
alcoholic beverages are consumed or sold for consumption on the premises. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. – Am. Act 123, Imd. Eff. June 20, 2022. 

 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030. 
 

409.116  Exemption; minor 16 years of age completing requirements for graduation; 
minor 17 years of age passing general educational development test; duty 
of employer. 

 
Sec. 16. 
 

(1) This act does not apply to or prohibit the employment of a minor 16 years of age or older who has 
completed the requirements for graduation from high school or obtained a high school 
equivalency certificate. An employer, before employing the minor, shall obtain and keep on file 
a certification from the school the minor attended certifying that the minor has completed the 
requirements for graduation or a copy of the high school equivalency certificate. 

(2) This act shall not apply to or prohibit the employment of a minor 17 years of age or older who has 
successfully passed the general educational development test. An employer, before employing the 
minor, shall obtain and keep on file proof of the minor's successful completion. 
 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978;--Am. 2014, Act 144, Imd. Eff. June 3, 2014. 

 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003- 1, compiled 
at MCL 445.2011.  For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services,  transferred to the 
bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 
2003-1, compiled at MCL 445.2011.For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of 
education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, compiled at MCL 445.2030. 
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409.117 Exemption; emancipated minor; duty of employer. 

 
Sec. 17.  
 
This act shall not apply to nor prohibit the employment of an emancipated minor, as defined by section 4 of 
Act No. 293 of the Public Acts of 1968, as amended, being section 722.4 of the Michigan Compiled Laws. 
An employer, before employing the minor, shall obtain and keep on file proof of the minor's emancipated 
status. 
 
History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 
 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030.409.118 Exemption; minor 14 years of age employed under agreement or contract between employer and governing body of school district, public 
school academy, or nonpublic school. 

 

409.118  Exemption; minor 14 years of age employed under agreement or contract 
between employer and governing body of school district, public school 
academy, or nonpublic school. 

 
Sec. 18.  
 
This act does not apply to or prohibit the employment of a student minor 14 years of age or older by an 
employer if a written agreement or contract is entered into between the employer and the governing body 
of the school district, public school academy, or nonpublic school at which the minor is enrolled. The 
employment shall not be in violation of a federal statute or regulation and a signed copy of the agreement 
shall be on file in the place of employment before the minor begins employment. 
 
History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978; -- Am. 1996, Act 438, Imd. Eff. Dec. 18, 1996. 
 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030. 

 

409.118a  Act inapplicable to minor as ice hockey player for junior hockey team. 

 
Sec. 18a. 
 
This act does not apply to a minor in his or her capacity as an ice hockey player for a junior ice hockey 
team that is a member of a regional, national, or international junior ice hockey league. 
 
History: Add. 2017, Act 244, Eff. Mar. 21, 2018  

 

409.119 Exemptions generally; hours of work. 

 
Sec. 19. 
 

(1) This act shall not apply to or prohibit a minor from engaging in any of the following activities: 
(a) Domestic work or chores in connection with a private residence. 
(b) Soliciting, distributing, selling, or offering for sale newspapers, magazines, periodicals, 

political, or advertising matter. 
(c) Shoe shining. 
(d) Services performed as a member of a recognized youth oriented organization that is 

engaged in citizenship training and character building, if the services are not intended to 
replace employees in occupations for which workers are ordinarily paid. 

(e) Employment in a business owned and operated by the parent or guardian of the minor. For 
the purposes of this subdivision, a business is considered to be owned by the parent or 
guardian of the minor if the parent or guardian is either the sole owner, partner, or 
stockholder in the business and a business is considered to be operated by the parent or 
guardian of the minor if he or she devotes substantially all of his or her working hours to 
the operation of the business.

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/mileg.aspx?page=PABillSearch&paYear=2017&paNumber=244
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(f) Farm work if the employment is not in violation of a standard established by the department 
of labor and economic growth. Farm work means the work activity designated in sector 11 
- agriculture, forestry, fishing, and hunting, of the North American industry classification 
system - United States, 1997, published by the office of management and budget. Farm 
work includes any practices performed on a farm as an incident to or in conjunction with 
farming operations, including preparation for market and delivery to storage, market, or 
carriers for transport to market. 

(g) Employment by a school, academy, or college in which the minor is enrolled if the minor is 
14 years old or older. 

(h) Nonhazardous construction work or operations performed as an unpaid volunteer, if the 
construction work or operations are performed under adult supervision for a charitable 
housing organization. As used in this subdivision: 

(i) “Charitable housing organization” means a nonprofit charitable organization the 
primary purpose of which is the construction or renovation of residential housing 
for low-income individuals. 

(ii) “Family income” and “statewide median gross income” mean those terms as 
defined in section 11 of the state housing development authority act of 1966, 1966 
PA 346, MCL 125.1411. 

(iii) “Low-income person” means a person with a family income of not more than 60% 
of the statewide median gross income. 

(iv) “Nonhazardous construction work or operations” means construction work or 
operations that are performed at a construction site of a new or renovated single 
family home and do not involve the use of power tools, woodworking machinery, 
or hazardous substances or other activities that would constitute a great risk of 
serious injury. Activities that would constitute a great risk of serious injury include, 
but are not limited to, all of the following: 

  (A) Excavation. 
(B) Highway, bridge, or street construction. 
(C) Wrecking. 
(D) Demolition. 
(E) New commercial or new multiple residential construction. 

(2) If a minor is required by law to attend school, the work may only be performed outside of school 
hours, unless the minor is enrolled and employed under a work-related educational program. 

 
History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978; -- Am. 2003, Act 288, Imd. Eff. Jan. 8, 2004. 
 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030. 

 

409.120 Rules; deviations. 

 
Sec. 20. 
 

(1) The department of labor shall promulgate rules prescribing standards not inconsistent with this act 
as to the working conditions, safety, health and personal well-being of minors in various types of 
employment. 

(2) Deviations from established standards or from hours by employment shall be granted by the 
director of labor when it is determined to be in the best interests of the minor and the community. 
The procedures for applying and issuing deviations shall be prescribed by the department of labor. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 

 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030. 
 
Administrative rules: R 408.6202 et seq. of the Michigan Administrative Code. 
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409.121 Enforcement and prosecution of act; right of entry and inspection. 

 
Sec. 21.  
 
The department of labor shall enforce this act and assist in the prosecution of this act. The department shall 
have the authority to enter and inspect any place where a minor may be employed and to have access to 
work permits, age certificates, or other proof of age and time records of the employer, and other records 
which may aid in the enforcement of this act. 

History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 

Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011. For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030. 

 

409.122 Violation as misdemeanor or felony; penalties. 

 
Sec. 22. 
 

(1)  Except as provided in subsection (2) or (3), a person who employs a minor in violation of this act, 
violates this act or a rule promulgated under this act, or obstructs the department of labor in the 
enforcement of this act is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 
year, or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both. 

(2) A person who employs, permits, or suffers a minor in violation of section 12a is guilty of a 
misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or a fine of not more than 
2,000.00, or both. A person who commits a second offense under section 12a is guilty of a 
misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or a fine of not more than  
$5,000.00, or both. A person who commits a third or subsequent violation of section 12a is guilty 
of a felony, punishable by imprisonment for not more than 10 years, or a fine of not more than 
$10,000.00, or both. 

(3)  A person who employs, permits, or suffers a minor to be employed or to work in violation of section 
14a is guilty of a felony, punishable by imprisonment for not more than 20 years, or a fine of not 
more than $20,000.00, or both. 

 
History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978; -- Am. 1978, Act 228, Imd. Eff. June 14, 1978; -- Am. 1980, Act 436, Eff. Mar. 31, 1981. 
 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011.  For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the bureau of worker's 
and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled at 
MCL 445.2011.  For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, 
compiled at MCL 445.2030. 

 

409.123 Repeal of MCL 409.1 to 409.30 and 380.1597 

 
Sec. 23. 
 

(1) Act No. 157 of the Public Acts of 1947, as amended, being sections 409.1 to 409.30 of the Compiled 
Laws of 1970, is repealed. 

(2) Section 1597 of Act No. 451 of the Public Acts of 1976, being section 380.1597 of the Compiled 
Laws is repealed. 

 
History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 
 
Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled 
at MCL 445.2011.  For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the 
bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 
2003-1, compiled at MCL 445.2011.  For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of 
education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, compiled at MCL 445.2030. 
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409.124 Effective date.  

 

Sec. 24. 
 
This act shall take effect June 1, 1978. 
 
History: 1978, Act 90, Eff. June 1, 1978. 
 

Compiler's note: For creation of the new wage and hour division as a type II agency within the department of labor and economic growth, see E.R.O. No. 2003-1, compiled 
at MCL 445.2011.  For transfer of powers and duties of the former wage and hour division of the department of consumer and industry services, transferred to the 
bureau of worker's and unemployment compensation, to the new wage and hour division within the department of labor and economic growth by type II transfer, see E.R.O. No. 
2003-1, compiled at MCL 445.2011.  For transfer of powers and duties of wage hour division relative from department of licensing and regulation to department of 
education, see E.R.O. No. 2011-4, compiled at MCL 445.2030.
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THE MICHIGAN PENAL CODE (EXCERPTS) 
Act 328 of 1931 
 
AN ACT to revise, consolidate, codify and add to the statutes relating to crimes; to define crimes and 
prescribe the penalties therefor; to provide for the competency of evidence at the trial of persons accused 
of crime; to provide immunity from prosecution for certain witnesses appearing at such trials; and to repeal 
certain acts and parts of acts inconsistent with or contravening any of the provisions of this act. 

History: 1931, Act 328, Eff. Sept. 18, 1931. 

 

CHAPTER IV 
ADULTERATING AND MISBRANDING 
 

750.28 Cereal beverage with alcoholic content; furnishing to minors, penalty. 

 
Sec. 28.   
 
Any person who shall sell, give or furnish to a minor, except upon authority of and pursuant to a 
prescription of a duly licensed physician, any cereal beverage of any alcoholic content under the name of 
“near beer”, or “brew”, or “bru”, or any other name which is capable of conveying the impression to the 
purchaser that the beverage has an alcoholic content, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. 

History: Add. 1957, Act 283, Eff. Sept. 27, 1957. 

Cited in other sections: Section 750.28 is cited in MCL 722.53. 

 

CHAPTER XX 
CHILDREN 
 

750.141 Presence of minor under 17 in places where liquor is sold, given away, or 
furnished; attendance of minors at dances. 

 
Sec. 141.   
 
A minor child under 17 years of age shall not be permitted to remain in a dance hall, saloon, barroom or 
any place where spirituous or intoxicating liquor, wine or beer, or any beverage, liquor or liquors containing 
spirituous or intoxicating liquor, beer or malt liquor is sold, given away or furnished for a beverage, unless 
the minor is accompanied by parent or guardian.  A proprietor, keeper or manager of any such place who 
permits a minor child to remain in any such place, and a person who encourages or induces in any way the 
minor child to enter the place or to remain therein shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor. This section 
shall not prevent a township, village or city from establishing, by ordinance, regulations more stringent than 
the provisions of this act relative to the attendance of a minor at theaters, movie houses, bowling or billiard 
halls and dance halls.  This section shall not prevent a township, village or city from establishing, by 
ordinance, regulations permitting the attendance of minor children at dances where no spirituous or 
intoxicating liquor, beer or malt liquor is sold, given away or consumed in the dance area. 

History: 1931, Act 328, Eff. Sept. 18, 1931; - CL 1948, 750.141; - Am. 1959, Act 254, Eff. Mar. 19, 1960; - Am. 1966, Act 166, Imd. Eff. July 1, 1966; - Am. 1972, Act 32, Imd. 

Eff. Feb. 19, 1972. 

Cited in other sections: Section 750.141 is cited in MCL 722.53. 

Former law: See section 3 of Chapter XXX of Part II of Act 319 of 1927, being CL 1929, § 7631; section 2 of Act 260 of 1881, being How., § 1999; CL 1897, § 5554; CL 1915, § 
7223; CL 1929, § 12799; Act 236 of 1905; and Act 55 of 1907. 
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CHAPTER XXVA 
CRIMINAL ENTERPRISES 
 

750.159g “Racketeering” defined. 

 
Sec. 159g.  
 
As used in this chapter, "racketeering" means committing, attempting to commit, conspiring to commit, or 
aiding or abetting, soliciting, coercing, or intimidating a person to commit an offense for financial gain by 
obtaining money, property, or any other thing of value, involving any of the following: 

(a) A felony violation of section 8 of the tobacco products tax act, 1993 PA 327, MCL 
205.428, concerning tobacco product taxes, or section 9 of former 1947 PA 265, 
concerning cigarette taxes. 

(b) A violation of section 11151(3) of the natural resources and environmental protection act, 
1994 PA 451, MCL 324.11151, or section 48(3) of former 1979 PA 64, concerning 
felonious disposal of hazardous waste. 

(c) A felony violation of part 74 of the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.7401 to 
333.7461, concerning controlled substances. 

(d) A felony violation of section 7340, 7340c, or 17766c of the public health code, 1978 PA 
368, MCL 333.7340, 333.7340c, and 333.17766c, concerning ephedrine or 
pseudoephedrine. 

(e) A felony violation of section 60 of the social welfare act, 1939 PA 280, MCL 400.60, 
concerning welfare fraud. 

(f) A violation of section 4, 5, or 7 of the medicaid false claim act, 1977 PA 72, MCL 400.604, 
400.605, and 400.607, concerning Medicaid fraud. 

(g) A felony violation of section 18 of the Michigan gaming control and revenue act, 1996 IL 
1, MCL 432.218, concerning the business of gaming. 

(h) A felony violation of section 909(4) of the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 
58, MCL 436.1909, concerning the illegal sale, delivery, or importation of spirits. 

(i) A violation of section 508 of the uniform securities act (2002), 2008 PA 551, MCL 
451.2508, concerning fraud. 

(j) A violation of section 5 or 7 of 1978 PA 33, MCL 722.675 and 722.677, concerning the 
display or dissemination of obscene matter to minors. 

(k) A violation of section 49, concerning animal fighting. 
(l) A felony violation of section 72, 73, 74, 75, or 77, concerning arson. 
(m) A violation of section 93, 94, 95, or 96, concerning bank bonds, bills, notes, and property. 
(n) A violation of section 110 or 110a, concerning breaking and entering or home invasion. 
(o) A violation of section 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, or 124, concerning bribery. 
(p) A violation of section 120a, concerning jury tampering. 
(q) A violation of section 145c, concerning child sexually abusive activity or material. 
(r) A violation of section 145d, concerning internet or computer crimes. 
(s) A felony violation of section 157n, 157p, 157q, 157r, 157s, 157t, or 157u, concerning 

credit cards or financial transaction devices. 
(t) A felony violation of section 174, 175, 176, 180, 181, or 182, concerning embezzlement. 
(u) A felony violation of chapter XXXIII, concerning explosives and bombs. 
(v) A violation of section 213, concerning extortion. 
(w) A felony violation of section 218, concerning false pretenses. 
(x) A felony violation of section 223(2), 224(1)(a), (b), or (c), 224b, 224c, 224e(1), 226, 227, 

234a, 234b, or 237a, concerning firearms or dangerous weapons. 
(y) A felony violation of chapter XLI, concerning forgery and counterfeiting. 
(z) A violation of section 271, 272, 273, or 274, concerning securities fraud. 
(aa) A violation of section 300a, concerning food stamps or coupons or access devices. 
(bb) A violation of section 301, 302, 303, 304, 305, 305a, or 313, concerning gambling. 
(cc) A violation of section 316 or 317, concerning murder. 
(dd) A violation of section 330, 331, or 332, concerning horse racing. 
(ee) A violation of section 349, 349a, or 350, concerning kidnapping. 
(ff) A felony violation of chapter LII, concerning larceny. 
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(gg) A violation of section 411k, concerning money laundering. 
(hh) A violation of section 422, 423, 424, or 425, concerning perjury or subornation of perjury. 
(ii) A violation of section 452, 455, 457, 458, or 459, concerning prostitution. 
(jj) A violation of chapter LXVIIA, concerning human trafficking. 
(kk) A violation of section 529, 529a, 530, or 531, concerning robbery. 
(ll) A felony violation of section 535 or 535a, concerning stolen, embezzled, or converted 

property. 
(mm) A violation of chapter LXXXIII-A, concerning terrorism. 
(nn) A violation of section 5 of 1984 PA 343, MCL 752.365, concerning obscenity. 
(oo) A felony violation of the identity theft protection act, 2004 PA 452, MCL 445.61 to 

445.79d. 
(pp) An offense committed within this state or another state that constitutes racketeering 

activity as defined in 18 USC 1961(1). 
(qq) An offense committed within this state or another state in violation of a law of the United 

States that is substantially similar to a violation listed in subdivisions (a) through (pp). 
(rr) An offense committed in another state in violation of a statute of that state that is 

substantially similar to a violation listed in subdivisions (a) through (pp). 
 
History: Add. 1995, Act 187, Eff. Apr. 1, 1996 ;-- Am. 1997, Act 75, Imd. Eff. July 17, 1997 ;-- Am. 2002, Act 124, Eff. Apr. 22, 2002 ;-- Am. 2009, Act 82, Imd. Eff. Aug. 31, 2009 
;-- Am. 2010, Act 176, Imd. Eff. Sept. 30, 2010 ;-- Am. 2010, Act 362, Eff. Apr. 1, 2011 ;-- Am. 2012, Act 172, Imd. Eff. June 19, 2012 ;-- Am. 2012, Act 351, Imd. Eff. Dec. 13, 
2012 ;-- Am. 2014, Act 300, Eff. Jan. 1, 2015 ;-- Am. 2019, Act 174, Eff. Mar. 19, 2020 

 
 

CHAPTER XLIV 
GAMBLING 
 

750.303a Applicability of chapter; recreational card playing conducted at senior 
citizen housing facility. 

 
Sec. 303a.   
 
This chapter does not apply to recreational card playing conducted at a senior citizen housing facility not 
licensed by the liquor control commission by a senior citizens club or a group of residents of a senior citizen 
housing facility that consists of at least 15 members who are 60 years of age or older under all of the 
following circumstances: 

(a) The card playing is conducted solely for the amusement and recreation of the members 
and guests of the club or group and is not conducted for fund-raising.  The number of 
guests participating in the card playing shall not exceed the number of club or group 
members participating in the card playing. 

(b) Only bona fide members and employees of the club or group participate in the conduct of 
the activity. 

(c) The card playing is conducted after 9 a.m. and before midnight. 
(d) The participating cardplayers bet not more than 25 cents per bet. 
(e) The winnings from 1 hand of cards do not exceed $5.00. 
(f) Except for winnings, revenue generated from the activity is used for reasonable expenses 

incurred in conducting the card playing, and no person is compensated for participating in 
the conduct of the card playing. 

History: Added 1996, Act 539, Eff. Jan. 14, 1997. 

 

750.310a Applicability of chapter; bowling game or bowling card game. 

 
Sec. 310a.   
 

(1) Subject to subsection (3), this chapter does not apply to a bowling game or a bowling card game 
conducted in a bowling center to which all of the following apply: 

(a) The total amount of the participation fee per person per game does not exceed $5.00. 
(b) The total prize payout per league per game does not exceed $1,000.00 and is comprised 

only of participation fees. 
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(2) This section applies only to a game that is sponsored solely by 1 league and whose participants 
are members of the same league. 

(3) The bowling center in which the bowling game or bowling card game is conducted shall not receive 
a percentage of the participation fees or prize money from bowling games or bowling card games 
for which a stake or prize is awarded. 

(4) As used in this section: 
(a) “Bowling center” means a bowling alley with a minimum of 5 lanes. 
(b) “Bowling card game” means a card game held in conjunction with a bowling game, the 

results of which depend on the outcome of the bowling game.  Bowling card game does 
not include any of the following: 

(i) A mechanical or electronic simulation of a bowling card game. 
(ii) Roulette, beano, cards unless used in a bowling card game, dice, wheels of 

fortune, video poker, slot machines, or other similar games in which winning 
depends primarily upon fortuitous or accidental circumstances beyond the control 
of the player. 

(iii) A game that includes a mechanical or physical device that directly or indirectly 
impairs or thwarts the skill of the player. 

(c) “Bowling game” means not more than 3 sets of 10 frames of bowling.  Bowling game does 
not include any of the following: 

(i) A mechanical or electronic simulation of a bowling game. 
(ii) Roulette, beano, cards unless used in a bowling card game, dice, wheels of 

fortune, video poker, slot machines, or other similar games in which winning 
depends primarily upon fortuitous or accidental circumstances beyond the control 
of the player. 

(iii) A game that includes a mechanical or physical device which directly or indirectly 
impairs or thwarts the skill of the player. 

(d) “Participation fee” means a fee that is charged by the league to a participant in a game for 
which a stake or prize is awarded. 

History: Added 1996, Act 539, Eff. Jan. 14, 1997;-Am. 1998, Act 338, Eff. Sept. 30, 1998. 

 

750.310b Applicability of chapter; redemption game. 

 
Sec. 310b.   
 

(1) This chapter does not apply to a redemption game if all of the following conditions are met: 
(a) The outcome of the game is determined through the application of an element of skill by 

the player. 
(b) The award of the prize is based upon the player's achieving the object of the game or 

otherwise upon the player's score. 
(c) Only noncash prizes, toys, novelties, or coupons or other representations of value 

redeemable for noncash prizes, toys, or novelties are awarded. A gift card may be awarded 
under this subdivision if all of the following apply: 

(i) The gift card is usable only at a retailer or an affiliated group of retailers. 
(ii) The gift card is issued in a specified amount. 
(iii) The gift card is redeemable only for goods and services available from the retailer 

or retailers and not for cash. 
(iv) Information on the gift card may not be altered with the use of a personal 

identification number. 
(d) The wholesale value of a prize, toy, or novelty awarded for the successful single play of a 

game is not more than $3.75. 
(e) The redemption value of coupons or other representations of value awarded for the 

successful single play of a game does not exceed 15 times the amount charged for a single 
play of the game or a $3.75-per-play average, whichever is less. However, players may 
accumulate coupons or other representations of value for redemption for noncash prizes, 
toys, or novelties of a greater value up to, but not exceeding, $500.00 wholesale value. 

(2) As used in this section, "redemption game" means a single player or multiplayer mechanical, 
electronic, or manual amusement device involving a game, the object of which is throwing, rolling, 
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bowling, shooting, placing, propelling, or stopping a ball or other object into, upon, or against a hole 
or other target. Redemption game does not include either of the following: 

(a) A game such as roulette, beano, cards, dice, wheel of fortune, video poker, a slot machine, 
or another game in which winning depends primarily upon fortuitous or accidental 
circumstances beyond the control of the player. 

(b) A game that includes a mechanical or physical device that directly or indirectly impairs or 
thwarts the skill of the player. 

History: Add. 1996, Act 539, Imd. Eff. Jan. 14, 1997; -- Am. 2010, Act 219, Imd. Eff. Dec. 9, 2010 
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THE MICHIGAN VEHICLE CODE (EXCERPTS) 
 
AN ACT to amend 1949 PA 300, entitled “An act to provide for the registration, titling, sale, transfer, and 
regulation of certain vehicles operated upon the public highways of this state or any other place open to the 
general public or generally accessible to motor vehicles and distressed vehicles; to provide for the licensing 
of dealers; to provide for the examination, licensing, and control of operators and chauffeurs; to provide for 
the giving of proof of financial responsibility and security by owners and operators of vehicles; to provide 
for the imposition, levy, and collection of specific taxes on vehicles, and the levy and collection of sales and 
use taxes, license fees, and permit fees; to provide for the regulation and use of streets and highways; to 
create certain funds; to provide penalties and sanctions for a violation of this act; to provide for civil liability 
of owners and operators of vehicles and service of process on residents and nonresidents; to provide for 
the levy of certain assessments; to provide for the enforcement of this act; to provide for the creation of and 
to prescribe the powers and duties of certain state and local agencies; to repeal all other acts or parts of 
acts inconsistent with this act or contrary to this act; and to repeal certain parts of this act on a specific 
date.” 
 

257.7b  “Commercial quadricycle” defined. 

 
Sec. 7b. 
 
"Commercial quadricycle" means a vehicle that satisfies all of the following: 

(a) The vehicle has fully operative pedals for propulsion entirely by human power. 
(b) The vehicle has at least 4 wheels and is operated in a manner similar to a bicycle. 
(c) The vehicle has at least 6 seats for passengers. 
(d) The vehicle is designed to be occupied by a driver and powered either by passengers 

providing pedal power to the drive train of the vehicle or by a motor capable of propelling 
the vehicle in the absence of human power. 

(e) The vehicle is used for commercial purposes. 
(f) The vehicle is operated by the owner of the vehicle or an employee of the owner of the 

vehicle. 
 
History: Add. 2015, Act 127, Imd. Eff. July 15, 2015 
 
 

257.33 “Motor vehicle” defined. 

 
Sec. 33.   
 
"Motor vehicle" means every vehicle that is self-propelled, but for purposes of chapter 4, motor vehicle does 
not include industrial equipment such as a forklift, a front-end loader, or other construction equipment that 
is not subject to registration under this act. Motor vehicle does not include a power-driven mobility device 
when that power-driven mobility device is being used by an individual with a mobility disability. Motor vehicle 
does not include an electric patrol vehicle being operated in compliance with the electric patrol vehicle act, 
1997 PA 55, MCL 257.1571 to 257.1577. Motor vehicle does not include an electric personal assistive 
mobility device. Motor vehicle does not include an electric carriage. Motor vehicle does not include a 
commercial quadricycle. Motor vehicle does not include an electric bicycle. Motor vehicle does not include 
an electric skateboard. 
 
History: 1949, Act 300, Eff. Sept. 23, 1949 ;-- Am. 1993, Act 300, Eff. Jan. 1, 1994 ;-- Am. 1995, Act 140, Imd. Eff. July 10, 1995 ;-- Am. 1997, Act 56, Imd. Eff. July 1, 1997 ;-- 
Am. 2002, Act 494, Imd. Eff. July 3, 2002 ;-- Am. 2013, Act 36, Imd. Eff. May 21, 2013 ;-- Am. 2015, Act 127, Imd. Eff. July 15, 2015 ;-- Am. 2017, Act 139, Eff. Jan. 28, 2018 ;-- 
Am. 2018, Act 204, Eff. Sept. 18, 2018 ;-- Am. 2018, Act 391, Eff. Mar. 19, 2019 

 

257.319  Mandatory suspension of license; record of conviction for certain crimes; 
waiver; restricted license; prior convictions; violations arising out of same 
transaction. 

 
Sec. 319. 
 

(1) The secretary of state shall immediately suspend an individual's license as provided in this section 
on receiving a record of the individual’s conviction for a crime described in this section, whether the 
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conviction is under a law of this state, a local ordinance that substantially corresponds to a law of 
this state, a law of another state that substantially corresponds to a law of this state, or, beginning 
October 31, 2010, a law of the United States that substantially corresponds to a law of this state. 

(2) The secretary of state shall suspend the individual’s license for 1 year for any of the following 
crimes: 

(a) Fraudulently altering or forging documents pertaining to motor vehicles in violation of 
section 257. 

(b) A violation of section 413 of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.413. 
(c) A felony in which a motor vehicle was used. As used in this section, "felony in which a 

motor vehicle was used" means a felony during the commission of which the individual 
convicted operated a motor vehicle and while operating the vehicle presented real or 
potential harm to individuals or property and 1 or more of the following circumstances 
existed: 

(i) The vehicle was used as an instrument of the felony. 
(ii) The vehicle was used to transport a victim of the felony. 
(iii) The vehicle was used to flee the scene of the felony. 
(iv) The vehicle was necessary for the commission of the felony. 

(d) A violation of section 602a(2) or (3) or section 479a(2) or (3) of the Michigan penal code, 
1931 PA 328, MCL 750.479a. 

(e) Beginning October 31, 2010, a violation of section 601d. 
(3) The secretary of state shall suspend the individual’s license for 90 days for any of the following 

crimes: 
(a) Failing to stop and disclose identity at the scene of an accident resulting in injury in violation 

of section 617a. 
(b) A violation of section 601b(2), section 601c(1), section 653a(3), section 626 before October 

31, 2010, or, beginning October 31, 2010, section 626(2). 
(c) Malicious destruction resulting from the operation of a vehicle under section 382(1)(b), (c), 

or (d) of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.382. 
(4) The secretary of state shall suspend the individual’s license for 30 days for malicious destruction 

resulting from the operation of a vehicle under section 382(1)(a) of the Michigan penal code, 1931 
PA 328, MCL 750.382. 

(5) For perjury or making a false certification to the secretary of state under any law requiring the 
registration of a motor vehicle or regulating the operation of a vehicle on a highway, or for conduct 
prohibited under section 324(1) or a local ordinance that substantially corresponds to section 
324(1), the secretary of state shall suspend the individual’s license as follows: 

(a) If the individual has no prior conviction for an offense described in this subsection within 7 
years, for 90 days. 

(b) If the individuals has 1 or more prior convictions for an offense described in this subsection 
within 7 years, for 1 year. 

(6) For a violation of section 414 of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.414, the secretary 
of state shall suspend the individual’s license as follows: 

(a) If the individual has no prior conviction for that offense within 7 years, for 90 days. 
(b) If the individual has 1 or more prior convictions for that offense within 7 years, for 1 year. 

(7) For a violation of section 624a or 624b, the secretary of state shall suspend the individual’s license 
as follows: 

(a) If the individual has 1 prior conviction for an offense described in section 624a or 624b, for 
90 days. The secretary of state may issue the individual a restricted license after the first 
30 days of suspension. 

(b) If the individual has 2 or more prior convictions for an offense described in section 624a or 
624b, for 1 year. The secretary of state may issue the individual a restricted license after 
the first 60 days of suspension. 

(8) The secretary of state shall suspend the individual’s license for a violation of section 625 or 625m 
as follows: 

(a) For 180 days for a violation of section 625(1) or (8) before October 31, 2010 or, beginning 
October 31, 2010, section 625(1)(a) or (b) or (8) if the individual has no prior convictions 
within 7 years. The secretary of state may issue the individual a restricted license during a 
specified portion of the suspension, except that the secretary of state shall not issue a 
restricted license during the first 30 days of suspension. 

(b) For 90 days for a violation of section 625(3) if the individual has no prior convictions within 
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7 years. However, if the individual is convicted of a violation of section 625(3), for operating 
a vehicle when, due to the consumption of a controlled substance or a combination of 
alcoholic liquor and a controlled substance, the individual’s ability to operate the vehicle 
was visibly impaired, the secretary of state shall suspend the individual’s license under this 
subdivision for 180 days. The secretary of state may issue the individual a restricted license 
during all or a specified portion of the suspension. 

(c) For 30 days for a violation of section 625(6) if the individual has no prior convictions within 
7 years. The secretary of state may issue the individual a restricted license during all or a 
specified portion of the suspension. 

(d) For 90 days for a violation of section 625(6) if the individual has 1 or more prior convictions 
for that offense within 7 years. 

(e) For 180 days for a violation of section 625(7) if the individual has no prior convictions within 
7 years. The secretary of state may issue the individual a restricted license after the first 
90 days of suspension. 

(f) For 90 days for a violation of section 625m if the individual has no prior convictions within 
7 years. The secretary of state may issue the individual a restricted license during all or a 
specified portion of the suspension. 

(g) Beginning October 31, 2010, for 1 year for a violation of section 625(1)(c) if the individual 
has no prior convictions within 7 years or not more than 2 convictions within 10 years. The 
secretary of state may issue the individual a restricted license, except that the secretary of 
state shall not issue a restricted license during the first 45 days of suspension. 

(h) Beginning October 31, 2010, the department shall order an individual convicted of violating 
section 625(1)(c) not to operate a motor vehicle under a restricted license issued under 
subdivision (g) unless the vehicle is equipped with an ignition interlock device approved, 
certified, and installed as required under sections 625k and 625l. The ignition interlock 
device may be removed after the interlock device provider provides the department with 
verification that the individual has operated the vehicle with no instances of reaching or 
exceeding a blood alcohol level of 0.025 grams per 210 liters of breath. This subdivision 
does not prohibit the removal of the ignition interlock device for any of the following: 

(i) A start-up test failure that occurs within the first 2 months after installation of the 
device. As used in this subdivision, "start-up test failure" means that the ignition 
interlock device has prevented the motor vehicle from being started. Multiple 
unsuccessful attempts at 1 time to start the vehicle are treated as 1 start-up test 
failure only under this subparagraph. 

(ii) A start-up test failure occurring more than 2 months after installation of the device, 
if not more than 15 minutes after detecting the start-up test failure the individual 
delivers a breath sample that the ignition interlock device analyzes as having an 
alcohol level of less than 0.025 grams per 210 liters of breath. 

(iii) A retest prompted by the device, if not more than 5 minutes after detecting the 
retest failure the individual delivers a breath sample that the ignition interlock 
device analyzes as having an alcohol level of less than 0.025 grams per 210 liters 
of breath. 

(i) Beginning October 31, 2010, if an individual violates the conditions of the restricted license 
issued under subdivision (g) or operates or attempts to operate a motor vehicle with a blood 
alcohol level of 0.025 grams per 210 liters of breath, the secretary of state shall impose an 
additional like period of suspension and restriction as prescribed under subdivision (g). 
This subdivision does not require an additional like period of suspension and restriction for 
any of the following: 

(i) A start-up test failure within the first 2 months after installation of the ignition 
interlock device. As used in this subdivision, "start-up test failure" means that the 
ignition interlock device has prevented the motor vehicle from being started. 
Multiple unsuccessful attempts at 1 time to start the vehicle are treated as 1 start-
up test failure only under this subparagraph. 

(ii) A start-up test failure occurring more than 2 months after installation of the device, 
if not more than 15 minutes after detecting the start-up test failure the individual 
delivers a breath sample that the ignition interlock device analyzes as having an 
alcohol level of less than 0.025 grams per 210 liters of breath. 

(iii) Any retest prompted by the device, if not more than 5 minutes after detecting the 
retest failure the individual delivers a breath sample that the ignition interlock 
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device analyzes as having an alcohol level of less than 0.025 grams per 210 liters 
of breath. 

(9) For a violation of section 367c of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.367c, the 
secretary of state shall suspend the individual’s license as follows: 

(a) If the individual has no prior conviction for an offense described in this subsection within 7 
years, for 6 months. 

(b) If the individual has 1 or more convictions for an offense described in this subsection within 
7 years, for 1 year. 

(10) For a violation of section 315(4), the secretary of state may suspend the individual’s license for 6 
months. 

(11) Except as provided in subsection (13), a suspension under this section must be imposed 
notwithstanding a court order unless the court order complies with section 323. 

(12) If the secretary of state receives records of more than 1 conviction of an individual that results from 
the same incident, a suspension must be imposed only for the violation to which the longest period 
of suspension applies under this section. 

(13) The secretary of state may waive a restriction, suspension, or revocation of an individual’s license 
imposed under this act if the individual submits proof that a court in another state revoked, 
suspended, or restricted his or her license for a period equal to or greater than the period of a 
restriction, suspension, or revocation prescribed under this act for the violation and that the 
revocation, suspension, or restriction was served for the violation, or may grant a restricted license. 

(14) The secretary of state shall not issue a restricted license to an individual whose license is 
suspended under this section unless a restricted license is authorized under this section and the 
individual is otherwise eligible for a license. 

(15) The secretary of state shall not issue a restricted license to an individual under subsection (8) that 
would permit the individual to operate a commercial motor vehicle. 

(16) Except as provided in subsection (17), a restricted license issued under this section must permit 
the individual to whom it is issued to take any driving skills test required by the secretary of state 
and to operate a vehicle under 1 or more of the following circumstances: 

(a) In the course of the individual’s employment or occupation. 
(b) To and from any combination of the following: 

(i) The individual’s residence. 
(ii) The individual’s work location. 
(iii) An alcohol or drug education or treatment program as ordered by the court. 
(iv) The court probation department. 
(v) A court-ordered community service program. 
(vi) An educational institution at which the individual is enrolled as a student. 
(vii) A place of regularly occurring medical treatment for a serious condition for the 

individual or a member of the individual’s household or immediate family. 
(viii) An ignition interlock service provider as required. 

(17) While driving with a restricted license, the individual shall carry proof of his or her destination and 
the hours of any employment, class, or other reason for traveling and shall display that proof upon 
a peace officer's request. 

(18) Subject to subsection (20), as used in subsection (8), "prior conviction" means a conviction for any 
of the following, whether under a law of this state, a local ordinance that substantially corresponds 
to a law of this state, or a law of another state that substantially corresponds to a law of this state: 

(a) Except as provided in subsection (19), a violation or attempted violation of any of the 
following: 

(i) Section 625, except a violation of section 625(2), or a violation of any prior 
enactment of section 625 in which the defendant operated a vehicle while under 
the influence of intoxicating or alcoholic liquor or a controlled substance, or a 
combination of intoxicating or alcoholic liquor and a controlled substance, or while 
visibly impaired, or with an unlawful bodily alcohol content. 

(ii) Section 625m. 
(iii) Former section 625b. 

(b) Negligent homicide, manslaughter, or murder that results from the operation of a vehicle 
or an attempt to commit any of those crimes. 

(c) Beginning October 31, 2010, a violation of section 601d or section 626(3) or (4). 
(19) Except for purposes of the suspensions described in subsection (8)(c) and (d), only 1 violation or 

attempted violation of section 625(6), a local ordinance that substantially corresponds to section 
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625(6), or a law of another state that substantially corresponds to section 625(6) may be used as 
a prior conviction. 

(20) If 2 or more convictions described in subsection (18) are convictions for violations arising out of the 
same transaction, only 1 conviction must be used to determine whether the individual has a prior 
conviction. 

(21) Any period of suspension or restriction required under this section is not subject to appeal to the 
secretary of state. 

History: 1949, Act 300, Eff. Sept. 23, 1949 ;-- Am. 1951, Act 270, Eff. Sept. 28, 1951 ;-- Am. 1967, Act 226, Eff. Nov. 2, 1967 ;-- Am. 1976, Act 285, Eff. Apr. 1, 1977 ;-- Am. 1980, 
Act 398, Eff. Mar. 31, 1981 ;-- Am. 1980, Act 518, Eff. Mar. 31, 1981 ;-- Am. 1981, Act 159, Eff. Mar. 31, 1982 ;-- Am. 1981, Act 222, Imd. Eff. Jan. 5, 1982 ;-- Am. 1982, Act 64, 
Eff. Mar. 30, 1983 ;-- Am. 1982, Act 310, Eff. Mar. 30, 1983 ;-- Am. 1986, Act 177, Imd. Eff. July 7, 1986 ;-- Am. 1988, Act 205, Eff. July 1, 1988 ;-- Am. 1988, Act 406, Eff. Mar. 
30, 1989 ;-- Am. 1991, Act 93, Eff. Jan. 1, 1992 ;-- Am. 1993, Act 359, Eff. Sept. 1, 1994 ;-- Am. 1994, Act 211, Eff. Nov. 1, 1994 ;-- Am. 1994, Act 449, Eff. May 1, 1995 ;-- Am. 
1996, Act 493, Eff. Apr. 1, 1997 ;-- Am. 1996, Act 587, Eff. June 1, 1997 ;-- Am. 1998, Act 347, Eff. Oct. 1, 1999 ;-- Am. 1999, Act 118, Eff. Apr. 1, 2000 ;-- Am. 1999, Act 267, 
Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 1999 ;-- Am. 2000, Act 152, Imd. Eff. June 12, 2000 ;-- Am. 2000, Act 460, Eff. Mar. 28, 2001 ;-- Am. 2001, Act 103, Eff. Oct. 1, 2001 ;-- Am. 2001, Act 134, Eff. 
Feb. 1, 2002 ;-- Am. 2001, Act 159, Eff. Feb. 1, 2002 ;-- Am. 2002, Act 422, Eff. Oct. 1, 2002 ;-- Am. 2002, Act 534, Eff. Oct. 1, 2002 ;-- Am. 2003, Act 61, Eff. Sept. 30, 2003 ;-- 
Am. 2004, Act 362, Imd. Eff. Oct. 4, 2004 ;-- Am. 2008, Act 462, Eff. Oct. 31, 2010 ;-- Am. 2008, Act 463, Eff. Oct. 31, 2010 ;-- Am. 2010, Act 155, Eff. Jan. 1, 2011 ;-- Am. 2010, 
Act 267, Eff. June 30, 2011 ;-- Am. 2012, Act 306, Imd. Eff. Oct. 1, 2012 ;-- Am. 2015, Act 11, Eff. July 8, 2015 ;-- Am. 2016, Act 32, Eff. June 6, 2016 ;-- Am. 2016, Act 358, Eff. 
Jan. 1, 2018;-- Am. 2020, Act 376, Eff. Oct. 1, 2021 

Compiler's Notes: Section 2 of Act 310 of 1982 provides: “All proceedings pending and all rights and liabilities existing, acquired, or incurred at the time this amendatory act takes 
effect are saved and may be consummated according to the law in force when they are commenced. This amendatory act shall not be construed to affect any prosecution pending 
or initiated before the effective date of this amendatory act, or initiated after the effective date of this amendatory act for an offense committed before that effective date.”Section 
2 of Act 205 of 1988 provides: “This amendatory act shall take effect July 1, 1988 and apply to violations which occur on or after that date.”Enacting section 1 of Act 32 of 2016 
provides:"Enacting section 1. R 257.1005 and R 257.1006 of the Michigan Administrative Code are rescinded." 

 

257.518a  Commercial quadricycle; liability insurance; minimum limit. 

 
Sec. 518a. 
 
The owner of a commercial quadricycle shall furnish bodily injury and property damage liability insurance 
with a minimum combined single limit of $2,000,000.00 for all persons injured or for property damage.                                                                                                                                                                                     
 
History: Add. 2015, Act 126, Imd. Eff. July 15, 2015 
 

257.624a  Transportation or possession of alcoholic liquor in open or uncapped 
container open or upon which seal broken; violation as misdemeanor; 
exception; subsections (1) and (2) inapplicable to passenger in commercial 
quadricycle; definitions. 

 
Sec. 624a.   
 

(1) Except as provided in subsections (2) and (5), a person who is an operator or occupant shall not 
transport or possess alcoholic liquor in a container that is open or uncapped or upon which the seal 
is broken within the passenger area of a vehicle upon a highway, or within the passenger area of 
a moving vehicle in any place open to the general public or generally accessible to motor vehicles, 
including an area designated for the parking of vehicles, in this state. 

(2) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (5), a person may transport or possess alcoholic liquor 
in a container that is open or uncapped or upon which the seal is broken within the passenger area 
of a vehicle upon a highway or other place open to the general public or generally accessible to 
motor vehicles, including an area designated for the parking of vehicles in this state, if the vehicle 
does not have a trunk or compartment separate from the passenger area, and the container is in a 
locked glove compartment, behind the last upright seat, or in an area not normally occupied by the 
operator or a passenger. 

(3) A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor. As part of the sentence, the person 
may be ordered to perform community service and undergo substance abuse screening and 
assessment at his or her own expense as described in section 703(1) of the Michigan liquor control 
code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1703. A court shall not accept a plea of guilty or nolo 
contendere for a violation of this section from a person charged solely with a violation of section 
625(6). 

(4) This section does not apply to a passenger in a chartered vehicle authorized to operate by the state 
transportation department. 

(5) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, unless prohibited by local ordinance, subsections 
(1) and (2) do not apply to a passenger in a commercial quadricycle. A passenger in a commercial 
quadricycle shall not transport or possess alcoholic liquor other than beer, wine, spirits, or a mixed 
spirits drink. 

(6) As used in this section: 
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(a) "Glove compartment" means a recess with a hinged and locking door in the dashboard of 
a motor vehicle. 

(b) "Passenger area" means the area designed to seat the operator and passengers of a motor 
vehicle while it is in operation and any area that is readily accessible to the operator or a 
passenger while in his or her seating position, including the glove compartment. 

History: Add. 1991, Act 98, Eff. Jan. 1, 1992 ;-- Am. 1994, Act 211, Eff. Nov. 1, 1994 ;-- Am. 1996, Act 493, Eff. Apr. 1, 1997 ;-- Am. 1998, Act 349, Eff. Oct. 1, 1999 ;-- Am. 
2012, Act 306, Imd. Eff. Oct. 1, 2012; -- Am. 2015, Act 126, Imd. Eff. July 15, 2015 

257.624b Transport or possession of alcoholic liquor by person less than 21 years of 
age. 

 
Sec. 624b.   
 

(1) A person less than 21 years of age shall not knowingly transport or possess alcoholic liquor in a 
motor vehicle as an operator or occupant unless the person is employed by a licensee under the 
Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1101 to 436.2303, a common carrier 
designated by the liquor control commission under the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 
PA 58, MCL 436.1101 to 436.2303, the liquor control commission, or an agent of the liquor control 
commission and is transporting or having the alcoholic liquor in a motor vehicle under the person's 
control during regular working hours and in the course of the person's employment. This section 
does not prevent a person less than 21 years of age from knowingly transporting alcoholic liquor in 
a motor vehicle if a person at least 21 years of age is present inside the motor vehicle. A person 
who violates this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor. As part of the sentence, the person may 
be ordered to perform community service and undergo substance abuse screening and 
assessment at his or her own expense as described in section 703(1) of the Michigan liquor control 
code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1703. 

(2) Within 30 days after the conviction for a violation of subsection (1) by the operator of a motor 
vehicle, which conviction has become final, the arresting law enforcement officer or the officer's 
superior may make a complaint before the court from which the warrant was issued. The complaint 
shall be under oath and shall describe the motor vehicle in which alcoholic liquor was possessed 
or transported by the operator, who is less than 21 years of age, in committing the violation and 
requesting that the motor vehicle be impounded as provided in this section. Upon the filing of the 
complaint, the court shall issue to the owner of the motor vehicle an order to show cause why the 
motor vehicle should not be impounded. The order to show cause shall fix a date and time for a 
hearing, which shall not be less than 10 days after the issuance of the order. The order shall be 
served by delivering a true copy to the owner not less than 3 full days before the date of hearing 
or, if the owner cannot be located, by sending a true copy by certified mail to the last known address 
of the owner. If the owner is a nonresident of the state, service may be made upon the secretary of 
state as provided in section 403. 

(3) If the court determines upon the hearing of the order to show cause, from competent and relevant 
evidence, that at the time of the commission of the violation the motor vehicle was being driven by 
the person less than 21 years of age with the express or implied consent or knowledge of the owner 
in violation of subsection (1), and that the use of the motor vehicle is not needed by the owner in 
the direct pursuit of the owner's employment or the actual operation of the owner's business, the 
court may authorize the impounding of the vehicle for a period of not less than 15 days or more 
than 30 days. The court's order authorizing the impounding of the vehicle shall authorize a law 
enforcement officer to take possession without other process of the motor vehicle wherever located 
and to store the vehicle in a public or private garage at the expense and risk of the owner of the 
vehicle. The owner of the vehicle may appeal the order to the circuit court and the provisions 
governing the taking of appeals from judgments for damages apply to the appeal. This section does 
not prevent a bona fide lienholder from exercising rights under a lien. 

(4) A person who knowingly transfers title to a motor vehicle for the purpose of avoiding this section is 
guilty of a misdemeanor. 

(5) A law enforcement agency, upon determining that a person less than 18 years of age allegedly 
violated this section, shall notify the parent or parents, custodian, or guardian of the person as to 
the nature of the violation if the name of a parent, guardian, or custodian is reasonably 
ascertainable by the law enforcement agency. The notice required by this subsection shall be made 
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not later than 48 hours after the law enforcement agency determines that the person who allegedly 
violated this section is less than 18 years of age and may be made in person, by telephone, or by 
first-class mail. 

 
History: Added 1996, Act 493, Eff. Apr. 1, 1997;-Am. 1998, Act 349, Eff. Oct. 1, 1999; Am. 2003, Act 61, Eff. Sept 30, 2003. 

 

257.625p  Operation of commercial quadricycle by person with certain alcohol content; 
prohibition; violation as misdemeanor; penalty. 

 
Sec. 625p. 
 

(1) A person, whether licensed or not, who has an alcohol content of greater than 0.00 grams per 100 
milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine shall not operate a commercial 
quadricycle within this state.  

(2) A person who is convicted of a violation of this section or a local ordinance substantially 
corresponding to this section is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by 1 of the following: 

(a) If the person has an alcohol content of at least 0.04 grams per 100 milliliters of blood, per 
210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine, imprisonment for not more than 93 days or 
a fine of not more than $300.00, or both, together with costs of the prosecution. 

(b) If the person has an alcohol content of greater than 0.00 grams, but less than 0.04 grams, 
per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine, a fine of not 
more than $300.00, together with costs of the prosecution. 

 
History: Add. 2015, Act 126, Imd. Eff. July 15, 2015 
 

257.657  Rights and duties of persons riding bicycle, electric personal assistive 
mobility device, moped, low-speed vehicle, or commercial quadricycle. 

 
Sec. 657.                                                        
 
Each person riding a bicycle, electric bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility device, electric skateboard, 
or moped or operating a low-speed vehicle or commercial quadricycle upon a roadway has all of the rights 
and is subject to all of the duties applicable to the driver of a vehicle under this chapter, except for special 
regulations in this article and except for the provisions of this chapter that by their nature do not apply. 
 
History: 1949, Act 300, Eff. Sept. 23, 1949; -- Am. 1976, Act 439, Imd. Eff. Jan. 13, 1977; -- Am. 2000, Act 82, Eff. July 1, 2000; -- Am. 2002, Act 494, Imd. Eff. July 3, 2002; -- 
Am. 2015, Act 126, Imd. Eff. July 15, 2015;-- Am. 2017, Act 139, Eff. Jan. 28, 2018 ;-- Am. 2018, Act 204, Eff. Sept. 18, 2018 
 

257.660  Electric personal assistive mobility device, low-speed vehicle, or moped; 
operation; limitations; applicability to police officer; regulation by local 
government; prohibitions; regulation by department of natural resources. 

 
Sec. 660. 
 

(1) A person operating an electric personal assistive mobility device, low-speed vehicle, electric 
skateboard, or moped upon a roadway shall ride as near to the right side of the roadway as 
practicable and shall exercise due care when passing a standing vehicle or one proceeding in the 
same direction. A motorcycle is entitled to full use of a lane, and a motor vehicle shall not be driven 
in such a manner as to deprive a motorcycle of the full use of a lane. This subsection does not 
apply to motorcycles operated 2 abreast in a single lane. 

(2) A person riding an electric personal assistive mobility device, motorcycle, electric skateboard, or 
moped upon a roadway shall not ride more than 2 abreast except on a path or part of a roadway 
set aside for the exclusive use of those vehicles. 

(3) Where a usable and designated path for bicycles is provided adjacent to a highway or street, a 
person operating an electric personal assistive mobility device or electric skateboard may, by local 
ordinance, be required to use that path. 

(4) A person operating a motorcycle, moped, low-speed vehicle, electric personal assistive mobility 
device, or electric skateboard shall not pass between lines of traffic, but may pass on the left of 
traffic moving in his or her direction in the case of a 2-way street or on the left or right of traffic in 
the case of a 1-way street, in an unoccupied lane. 
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(5) A person operating an electric personal assistive mobility device or electric skateboard on a 
sidewalk constructed for the use of pedestrians shall yield the right-of-way to a pedestrian and shall 
give an audible signal before overtaking and passing the pedestrian. 

(6) A moped, low-speed vehicle, or commercial quadricycle shall not be operated on a sidewalk 
constructed for the use of pedestrians. 

(7) A low-speed vehicle or commercial quadricycle shall be operated at a speed of not more than 25 
miles per hour. A low-speed vehicle shall not be operated on a highway or street with a speed limit 
of more than 35 miles per hour except for the purpose of crossing that highway or street. A 
commercial quadricycle shall not be operated on a highway or street with a speed limit of more 
than 45 miles per hour except for the purpose of crossing that highway or street. An individual shall 
not operate a commercial quadricycle that is equipped with a motor unless he or she has a valid 
operator's license issued under this act. The state transportation department may prohibit the 
operation of a low-speed vehicle or commercial quadricycle on any highway or street under its 
jurisdiction if it determines that the prohibition is necessary in the interest of public safety. 

(8) This section does not apply to a police officer in the performance of his or her official duties. 
(9) An electric personal assistive mobility device shall be operated at a speed of not more than 15 

miles per hour and shall not be operated on a highway or street with a speed limit of more than 25 
miles per hour except to cross that highway or street. 

(10) An electric skateboard shall be operated at a speed of not more than 25 miles per hour. An electric 
skateboard that does not have handlebars shall not be operated on a highway or street with a 
speed limit of more than 25 miles per hour except to cross that highway or street, and an electric 
skateboard equipped with handlebars shall not be operated on a highway or street with a speed 
limit of more than 45 miles per hour except to cross that highway or street. 

(11) The governing body of a county, a city, a village, an entity created under the urban cooperation act 
of 1967, 1967 (Ex Sess) PA 7, MCL 124.501 to 124.512, or a township may, by ordinance based 
on the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens, regulate the operation of electric personal assistive 
mobility devices, electric skateboards, or commercial quadricycles on sidewalks, highways or 
streets, or crosswalks. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, a governing body of a 
county, city, village, entity created under the urban cooperation act of 1967, 1967 (Ex Sess) PA 7, 
MCL 124.501 to 124.512, or township may prohibit the operation of electric personal assistive 
mobility devices, electric skateboards or commercial quadricycles in an area open to pedestrian 
traffic adjacent to a waterfront or on a trail under its jurisdiction or in a downtown or central business 
district. Signs indicating the regulation shall be conspicuously posted in the area where the use of 
an electric personal assistive mobility device, electric skateboard, or commercial quadricycle is 
regulated. 

(12) Operation of an electric personal assistive mobility device or electric skateboard is prohibited in a 
special charter city and a state park under the jurisdiction of the Mackinac Island State Park 
commission. 

(13) Operation of an electric personal assistive mobility device or electric skateboard may be prohibited 
in a historic district. 

(14) The department of natural resources may by order regulate the use of electric personal assistive 
mobility devices or electric skateboards on all lands under its control. 

 
History: 1949, Act 300, Eff. Sept. 23, 1949 ;-- Am. 1966, Act 207, Eff. Mar. 10, 1967 ;-- Am. 1969, Act 134, Eff. June 1, 1970 ;-- Am. 1975, Act 209, Imd. Eff. Aug. 25, 1975 ;-- 
Am. 1975, Act 273, Eff. Mar. 31, 1976 ;-- Am. 1976, Act 439, Imd. Eff. Jan. 13, 1977 ;-- Am. 1994, Act 348, Eff. Mar. 30, 1995 ;-- Am. 2000, Act 82, Eff. July 1, 2000 ;-- Am. 2002, 
Act 494, Imd. Eff. July 3, 2002 ;-- Am. 2006, Act 339, Imd. Eff. Aug. 15, 2006 ;-- Am. 2015, Act 126, Imd. Eff. July 15, 2015 ;-- Am. 2018, Act 204, Eff. Sept. 18, 2018 ;-- Am. 2018, 
Act 394, Eff. Mar. 19, 2019  
 
Compiler's Notes: For transfer of powers and duties of department of natural resources to department of natural resources and environment, and abolishment of department of 
natural resources, see E.R.O. No. 2009-31, compiled at MCL 324.99919.For transfer of powers and duties of department of natural resources and environment to department of 
natural resources, see E.R.O. No. 2011-1, compiled at MCL 324.99921. 
 

257.662  Bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility device, or commercial 
quadricycle; equipment; violation as civil infraction. 

 
Sec. 662. 
 

(1) A bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility device, electric skateboard, or commercial quadricycle 
being operated on a roadway between 1/2 hour after sunset and 1/2 hour before sunrise shall be 
equipped with a lamp on the front that emits a white light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet 
to the front and with a red reflector on the rear that shall be visible from all distances from 100 feet 
to 600 feet to the rear when directly in front of lawful lower beams of head lamps on a motor vehicle. 
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A lamp emitting a red light visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear may be used in addition to 
the red reflector. 

(2) A bicycle shall be equipped with a brake that enables the operator to make the braked wheels skid 
on dry, level, clean pavement. 

(3) An electric personal assistive mobility device, electric skateboard, or commercial quadricycle shall 
enable the operator to bring it to a controlled stop. 

(4) A person shall not sell, offer for sale, or deliver for sale in this state a bicycle or a pedal for use on 
a bicycle, either of which was manufactured after January 1, 1976, unless it is equipped with a type 
of reflex reflector located on the front and rear surfaces of the pedal. The reflector elements may 
be either integral with the construction of the pedal or mechanically attached, but shall be 
sufficiently recessed from the edge of the pedal, or of the reflector housing, to prevent contact of 
the reflector element with a flat surface placed in contact with the edge of the pedal. The pedal 
reflectors shall be visible from the front and rear of the bicycle during the nighttime from a distance 
of 200 feet when directly exposed to the lower beam head lamps of a motor vehicle. 

(5) A person shall not sell, offer for sale, or deliver for sale in this state a bicycle manufactured after 
January 1, 1976 or an electric personal assistive mobility device unless it is equipped with either 
tires that have reflective sidewalls or with wide-angle prismatic spoke reflectors. If the bicycle or 
the electric personal assistive mobility device is manufactured with reflective sidewalls, the 
reflective portion of the sidewall shall form a continuous circle on the sidewall, and may not be 
removed from the tire without removal of tire material. If the bicycle is equipped with wide-angle 
prismatic spoke reflectors, the reflectors of the front wheel shall be essentially colorless or amber, 
and the reflectors on the rear wheel shall be essentially colorless or red. Reflective sidewalls or 
spoke reflectors shall cause the bicycle to be visible from all distances from 100 feet to 600 feet 
when viewed under lawful low beam motor vehicle head lamps under normal atmospheric 
conditions. 

(6) A person who violates subsection (1) or (2) is responsible for a civil infraction. 

History: 1949, Act 300, Eff. Sept. 23, 1949 ;-- Am. 1975, Act 209, Imd. Eff. Aug. 25, 1975 ;-- Am. 1978, Act 510, Eff. Aug. 1, 1979 ;-- Am. 2000, Act 131, Imd. Eff. June 1, 2000 

;-- Am. 2002, Act 494, Imd. Eff. July 3, 2002 ;-- Am. 2015, Act 126, Imd. Eff. July 15, 2015 ;-- Am. 2018, Act 204, Eff. Sept. 18, 2018 

257.901  Violation as misdemeanor; penalty; civil infraction. 

 
Sec. 901. 
 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (3), it is a misdemeanor for a person to violate this act, 
unless that violation is by this act or other law of this state declared to be a felony or a civil infraction. 

(2) Unless another penalty is provided in this act or by the laws of this state, a person convicted of a 
misdemeanor for the violation of this act shall be punished by a fine of not more than $100.00, or 
by imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or both. 

(3) Except as otherwise provided in this act, a violation of this act by the owner of a commercial 
quadricycle arising out of the ownership or operation of the commercial quadricycle is a civil 
infraction. 

 
History: 1949, Act 300, Eff. Sept. 23, 1949 ;-- Am. 1969, Act 240, Eff. Mar. 20, 1970 ;-- Am. 1978, Act 510, Eff. Aug. 1, 1979 ;-- Am. 2015, Act 126, Imd. Eff. July 15, 2015 
 

257.907  Civil infraction; payment of civil fine and costs; limitation; program of 
treatment, education, or rehabilitation; sanctions; schedule of civil fines, 
costs, and assessments; recommended range of civil fines and costs; 
certification of repair of defective equipment; collection of civil fines or 
costs; noncompliance with order or judgment; waiver of fine, cost, and 
assessment; civil infraction arising out of ownership or operation of 
commercial quadricycle; "moving violation" defined. 

 
Sec. 907. 
 

(1) A violation of this act, or a local ordinance substantially corresponding to a provision of this act, that 
is designated a civil infraction shall not be considered a lesser included offense of a criminal 
offense. 

(2) If a person is determined under sections 741 to 750 to be responsible or responsible "with 
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explanation" for a civil infraction under this act or a local ordinance substantially corresponding to 
a provision of this act, the judge or district court magistrate may order the person to pay a civil fine 
of not more than $100.00 and costs as provided in subsection (4). However, if the civil infraction 
was a moving violation that resulted in an at-fault collision with another vehicle, a person, or any 
other object, the civil fine ordered under this section shall be increased by $25.00 but the total civil 
fine shall not exceed $100.00. However, for a violation of section 602b, the person shall be ordered 
to pay costs as provided in subsection (4) and a civil fine of $100.00 for a first offense and $200.00 
for a second or subsequent offense. For a violation of section 674(1)(s) or a local ordinance 
substantially corresponding to section 674(1)(s), the person shall be ordered to pay costs as 
provided in subsection (4) and a civil fine of not less than $100.00 or more than $250.00. For a 
violation of section 676c, the person shall be ordered to pay costs as provided in subsection (4) 
and a civil fine of $1,000.00. For a violation of section 328, the civil fine ordered under this 
subsection shall be not more than $50.00. For a violation of section 710d, the civil fine ordered 
under this subsection shall not exceed $10.00, subject to subsection (12). For a violation of section 
710e, the civil fine and court costs ordered under this subsection shall be $25.00. For a violation of 
section 682 or a local ordinance substantially corresponding to section 682, the person shall be 
ordered to pay costs as provided in subsection (4) and a civil fine of not less than $100.00 or more 
than $500.00. For a violation of section 240, the civil fine ordered under this subsection shall be 
$15.00. For a violation of section 252a(1), the civil fine ordered under this subsection shall be 
$50.00. For a violation of section 676a(3), the civil fine ordered under this section shall be not more 
than $10.00. For a first violation of section 319f(1), the civil fine ordered under this section shall be 
not less than $2,500.00 or more than $2,750.00; for a second or subsequent violation, the civil fine 
shall be not less than $5,000.00 or more than $5,500.00. For a violation of section 319g(1)(a), the 
civil fine ordered under this section shall be not more than $10,000.00. For a violation of section 
319g(1)(g), the civil fine ordered under this section shall be not less than $2,750.00 or more than 
$25,000.00. Permission may be granted for payment of a civil fine and costs to be made within a 
specified period of time or in specified installments, but unless permission is included in the order 
or judgment, the civil fine and costs shall be payable immediately. 

(3) Except as provided in this subsection, if a person is determined to be responsible or responsible 
"with explanation" for a civil infraction under this act or a local ordinance substantially corresponding 
to a provision of this act while driving a commercial motor vehicle, he or she shall be ordered to 
pay costs as provided in subsection (4) and a civil fine of not more than $250.00.  

(4) If a civil fine is ordered under subsection (2) or (3), the judge or district court magistrate shall 
summarily tax and determine the costs of the action, which are not limited to the costs taxable in 
ordinary civil actions, and may include all expenses, direct and indirect, to which the plaintiff has 
been put in connection with the civil infraction, up to the entry of judgment. Costs shall not be 
ordered in excess of $100.00. A civil fine ordered under subsection (2) or (3) shall not be waived 
unless costs ordered under this subsection are waived. Except as otherwise provided by law, costs 
are payable to the general fund of the plaintiff. 

(5) In addition to a civil fine and costs ordered under subsection (2) or (3) and subsection (4) and the 
justice system assessment ordered under subsection (13), the judge or district court magistrate 
may order the person to attend and complete a program of treatment, education, or rehabilitation. 

(6) A district court magistrate shall impose the sanctions permitted under subsections (2), (3), and (5) 
only to the extent expressly authorized by the chief judge or only judge of the district court district. 

(7) Each district of the district court and each municipal court may establish a schedule of civil fines, 
costs, and assessments to be imposed for civil infractions that occur within the respective district 
or city. If a schedule is established, it shall be prominently posted and readily available for public 
inspection. A schedule need not include all violations that are designated by law or ordinance as 
civil infractions. A schedule may exclude cases on the basis of a defendant's prior record of civil 
infractions or traffic offenses, or a combination of civil infractions and traffic offenses. 

(8) The state court administrator shall annually publish and distribute to each district and court a 
recommended range of civil fines and costs for first-time civil infractions. This recommendation is 
not binding upon the courts having jurisdiction over civil infractions but is intended to act as a 
normative guide for judges and district court magistrates and a basis for public evaluation of 
disparities in the imposition of civil fines and costs throughout the state. 

(9) If a person has received a civil infraction citation for defective safety equipment on a vehicle under 
section 683, the court shall waive a civil fine, costs, and assessments upon receipt of certification 
by a law enforcement agency that repair of the defective equipment was made before the 
appearance date on the citation. 
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(10) A default in the payment of a civil fine or costs ordered under subsection (2), (3), or (4) or a justice 
system assessment ordered under subsection (13), or an installment of the fine, costs, or 
assessment, may be collected by a means authorized for the enforcement of a judgment under 
chapter 40 of the revised judicature act of 1961, 1961 PA 236, MCL 600.4001 to 600.4065, or under 
chapter 60 of the revised judicature act of 1961, 1961 PA 236, MCL 600.6001 to 600.6098. 

(11) If a person fails to comply with an order or judgment issued under this section within the time 
prescribed by the court, the driver's license of that person shall be suspended under section 321a 
until full compliance with that order or judgment occurs. In addition to this suspension, the court 
may also proceed under section 908. 

(12) The court may waive any civil fine, cost, or assessment against a person who received a civil 
infraction citation for a violation of section 710d if the person, before the appearance date on the 
citation, supplies the court with evidence of acquisition, purchase, or rental of a child seating system 
meeting the requirements of section 710d. 

(13) In addition to any civil fines or costs ordered to be paid under this section, the judge or district court 
magistrate shall order the defendant to pay a justice system assessment of $40.00 for each civil 
infraction determination, except for a parking violation or a violation for which the total fine and 
costs imposed are $10.00 or less. Upon payment of the assessment, the clerk of the court shall 
transmit the assessment collected to the state treasury to be deposited into the justice system fund 
created in section 181 of the revised judicature act of 1961, 1961 PA 236, MCL 600.181. An 
assessment levied under this subsection is not a civil fine for purposes of section 909. 

(14) If a person has received a citation for a violation of section 223, the court shall waive any civil fine, 
costs, and assessment, upon receipt of certification by a law enforcement agency that the person, 
before the appearance date on the citation, produced a valid registration certificate that was valid 
on the date the violation of section 223 occurred. 

(15) If a person has received a citation for a violation of section 328(1) for failing to produce a certificate 
of insurance under section 328(2), the court may waive the fee described in section 328(3)(c) and 
shall waive any fine, costs, and any other fee or assessment otherwise authorized under this act 
upon receipt of verification by the court that the person, before the appearance date on the citation, 
produced valid proof of insurance that was in effect at the time the violation of section 328(1) 
occurred. Insurance obtained subsequent to the time of the violation does not make the person 
eligible for a waiver under this subsection. 

(16) If a person is determined to be responsible or responsible "with explanation" for a civil infraction 
under this act or a local ordinance substantially corresponding to a provision of this act and the civil 
infraction arises out of the ownership or operation of a commercial quadricycle, he or she shall be 
ordered to pay costs as provided in subsection (4) and a civil fine of not more than $500.00. 

(17) As used in this section, "moving violation" means an act or omission prohibited under this act or a 
local ordinance substantially corresponding to this act that involves the operation of a motor vehicle 
and for which a fine may be assessed. 

 
History: Add. 1978, Act 510, Eff. Aug. 1, 1979; -- Am. 1980, Act 459, Imd. Eff. Jan. 15, 1981; -- Am. 1981, Act 117, Eff. Mar. 31, 1982; -- Am. 1982, Act 51, Eff. Mar. 30, 1983; -
- Am. 1982, Act 301, Imd. Eff. Oct. 12, 1982 ;-- Am. 1984, Act 30, Eff. Apr. 28, 1984 ;-- Am. 1984, Act 364, Eff. Mar. 29, 1985 ;-- Am. 1985, Act 1, Eff. July 1, 1985 ;-- Am. 1988, 
Act 346, Eff. Jan. 1, 1989 ;-- Am. 1989, Act 89, Eff. Sept. 19, 1989 ;-- Am. 1995, Act 287, Imd. Eff. Jan. 9, 1996; -- Am. 1998, Act 103, Eff. Aug. 15, 1998; -- Am. 2001, Act 214, 
Imd. Eff. Dec. 27, 2001 ;-- Am. 2002, Act 534, Eff. Oct. 1, 2002 ;-- Am. 2003, Act 34, Eff. Oct. 1, 2003 ;-- Am. 2003, Act 73, Eff. Oct. 1, 2003 ;-- Am. 2004, Act 52, Eff. May 1, 
2004 ;-- Am. 2004, Act 62, Eff. May 3, 2004 ;-- Am. 2004, Act 493, Eff. Oct. 1, 2005 ;-- Am. 2005, Act 1, Imd. Eff. Mar. 24, 2005; -- Am. 2006, Act 298, Imd. Eff. July 20, 2006; -- 
Am. 2008, Act 463, Eff. Oct. 31, 2010; -- Am. 2010, Act 59, Eff. July 1, 2010; -- Am. 2011, Act 159, Imd. Eff. Sept. 30, 2011; -- Am. 2013, Act 35, Eff. Aug. 20, 2013; -- Am. 
2014, Act 303, Eff. Jan. 7, 2015; -- Am. 2015, Act 126, Imd. Eff. July 15, 2015 
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ELLIOT-LARSON-CIVIL RIGHTS ACT (EXCERPTS) 
Act 453 of 1976 
 
AN ACT to amend sections 301 and 303 of Act No. 453 of the Public Acts of 1976, entitled as amended 
“An act to define civil rights; to prohibit discriminatory practices, policies, and customs in the exercise of 
those rights based upon religion, race, color, national origin, age, sex, height, weight, or marital status; to 
preserve the confidentiality of records regarding arrest, detention, or other disposition in which a conviction 
does not result; to prescribe the powers and duties of the civil rights commission and the department of civil 
rights; to provide remedies and penalties; and to repeal certain  acts and parts of acts,” being sections 
37.2301 and 37.2303 of the Michigan Compiled Laws; and to add sections 302a and 304. 
 

37.2301  Definitions. 

 
Sec. 301.   
 
As used in this article: 

(a) “Place of public accommodation” means a business, or an educational, refreshment, 
entertainment, recreation, health, or transportation facility, or institution of any kind, 
whether licensed or not, whose goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages, or 
accommodations are extended, offered, sold, or otherwise made available to the public. 
Place of public accommodation also includes the facilities of the following private clubs: 

(i) A country club or golf club. 
(ii) A boating or yachting club. 
(iii) A sports or athletic club. 
(iv) A dining club, except a dining club that in good faith limits its membership to the 

members of a particular religion for the purpose of furthering the teachings or 
principles of that religion and not for the purpose of excluding individuals of a 
particular gender, race, or color. 

(b) “Public service” means a public facility, department, agency, board, or commission, owned, 
operated, or managed by or on behalf of the state, a political subdivision, or an agency 
thereof or a tax exempt private agency established to provide service to the public, except 
that public service does not include a state or county correctional facility with respect to 
actions and decisions regarding an individual serving a sentence of imprisonment. 

History: 1976, Act 453, Eff. Mar. 31, 1977; -- Am. 1992, Act 70, Imd. Eff. May 29, 1992; -- Am. 1999, Act 202, Eff. Mar. 10, 2000  

Compiler's Notes: Enacting section 1 of Act 202 of 1999 provides: “Enacting section 1. This amendatory act is curative and intended to correct any misinterpretation of 
legislative intent in the court of appeals decision Neal v Department of Corrections, 232 Mich App 730 (1998). This legislation further expresses the original intent of the 
legislature that an individual serving a sentence of imprisonment in a state or county correctional facility is not within the purview of this act. ” 

 

37.2302   Public accommodations or services; prohibited practices. 

 
Sec. 302.   
 
Except where permitted by law, a person shall not: 

(b) Deny an individual the full and equal enjoyment of the goods, services, facilities, privileges, 
advantages, or accommodations of a place of public accommodation or public service 
because of religion, race, color, national origin, age, sex, or marital status. 

(c) Print, circulate, post, mail, or otherwise cause to be published a statement, advertisement, 
notice, or sign which indicates that the full and equal enjoyment of the goods, services, 
facilities, privileges, advantages, or accommodations of a place of public accommodation 
or public service will be refused, withheld from, or denied an individual because of religion, 
race, color, national origin, age, sex, or marital status, or that an individual's patronage of 
or presence at a place of public accommodation is objectionable, unwelcome, 
unacceptable, or undesirable because of religion, race, color, national origin, age, sex, or 
marital status. 

History: 1976, Act 453, Eff. Mar. 31, 1977  

Constitutionality: The goal of the Civil Rights Act was to broaden the scope of equal protection rather than the standard of equal protection developed by the courts in the course 

of interpreting the equal protection provisions of United States and Michigan Constitutions. Civil Rights Department v Waterford, 425 Mich 173; 387 NW2d 821 (1986).



 

G-2 

37.2302a   Applicability to private club. 

 
Sec. 302a.   
 

(1) This section applies to a private club that is defined as a place of public accommodation pursuant 
to section 301(a). 

(2) If a private club allows use of its facilities by 1 or more adults per membership, the use must be 
equally available to all adults entitled to use the facilities under the membership.  All classes of 
membership shall be available without regard to race, color, gender, religion, marital status, or 
national origin.  Memberships that permit use during restricted times may be allowed only if the 
restricted times apply to all adults using that membership. 

(3) A private club that has food or beverage facilities or services shall allow equal access to those 
facilities and services for all adults in all membership categories at all times.  This subsection shall 
not require service or access to facilities to persons that would violate any law or ordinance 
regarding sale, consumption, or regulation of alcoholic beverages. 

(4) This section does not prohibit a private club from sponsoring or permitting sports schools or leagues 
for children less than 18 years of age that are limited by age or to members of 1 sex, if comparable 
and equally convenient access to the club’s facilities is made available to both sexes and if these 
activities are not used as a subterfuge to evade the purposes of this article. 

History: Added 1992, Act 70, Eff. May 28, 1992. 

 

37.2303   Exemptions. 

 
Sec. 303.   
 
This article shall not apply to a private club, or other establishment not in fact open to the public, except to 
the extent that the goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages, or accommodations of the private club 
or establishment are made available to the customers or patrons of another establishment that is a place 
of public accommodation or is licensed by the state under Act No. 8 of the Public Acts of the Extra Session 
of 1933, being sections 436.1 through 436.58 of the Michigan Compiled Laws.  This section shall not apply 
to a private club that is otherwise defined as a place of public accommodation in this article. 
 
History: Added 1976, Act 453, Eff. Jan. 13, 1977;-Am. 1992, Act 70, Eff. May 28, 1992. 

 

37.2304   Violation. 

 
Sec. 304.   
 
Within 30 days after a determination by the commission that a place of public accommodation that holds a 
license issued by the liquor control commission under the Michigan liquor control act, Act No. 8 of the Public 
Acts of the Extra Session of 1933, being sections 436.1 to 436.58 of the Michigan Compiled Laws, has 
violated this article, the commission shall certify that determination to and shall file a complaint alleging a 
violation of Act No. 8 of the Public Acts of the Extra Session of 1933 with the liquor control commission. 

History: Added 1992, Act 70, Eff. May 28, 1992. 
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PUBLIC HEALTH CODE (EXCERPTS) 
Act 368 of 1978 
 

AN ACT to protect and promote the public health; to codify, revise, consolidate, classify, and add to the 
laws relating to public health; to provide for the prevention and control of diseases and disabilities; to provide 
for the classification, administration, regulation, financing, and maintenance of personal, environmental, 
and other health services and activities; to create or continue, and prescribe the powers and duties of, 
departments, boards, commissions, councils, committees, task forces, and other agencies; to prescribe the 
powers and duties of governmental entities and officials; to regulate occupations, facilities, and agencies 
affecting the public health; to regulate health maintenance organizations and certain third party 
administrators and insurers; to provide for the imposition of a regulatory fee; to provide for the levy of taxes 
against certain health facilities or agencies; to promote the efficient and economical delivery of health care 
services, to provide for the appropriate utilization of health care facilities and services, and to provide for 
the closure of hospitals or consolidation of hospitals or services; to provide for the collection and use of 
data and information; to provide for the transfer of property; to provide certain immunity from liability; to 
regulate and prohibit the sale and offering for sale of drug paraphernalia under certain circumstances; to 
provide for the implementation of federal law; to provide for penalties and remedies; to provide for sanctions 
for violations of this act and local ordinances; to provide for an appropriation and supplements; to repeal 
certain acts and parts of acts; to repeal certain parts of this act; and to repeal certain parts of this act on 
specific dates. 
 

333.12521 Definitions used in MCL 333.12521 to 333.12534. 

 
Sec. 12521. 
 
As used in sections 12521 to 12534: 

(a) "Department" means the department of environment, Great Lakes, and energy. 
(b) "Person" means that term as defined in section 1106 or a governmental entity. 
(c) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (d), "public swimming pool" means an artificial body of 

water for a qualified premises that is used collectively by a number of individuals primarily for the 
purpose of swimming, wading, recreation, or instruction and includes related equipment, structures, 
areas, and enclosures intended for the use of individuals using or operating the swimming pool, 
including, but not limited to, equipment, dressing, locker, shower, and toilet rooms. 

(d) Public swimming pool does not include a pool or portable pool located on the same premises with 
a 1-, 2-, 3-, or 4-family dwelling and for the benefit of the occupants and their guests, a natural 
bathing area such as a stream, lake, river, or man-made lake or pond that uses water from natural 
sources and has an inflow and outflow of natural water, an exhibitor's swimming pool built as a 
model at the site of the seller and in which swimming by the public is not permitted, or a pool serving 
not more than 4 hotel, motel, apartment, condominium, or similar units. 

(e) "Qualified premises" includes, but is not limited to, a park, school, motel, camp, resort, apartment, 
club, hotel, mobile home park, subdivision, and waterpark. 

 

History: 1978, Act 368, Eff. Sept. 30, 1978 ;-- Am. 2004, Act 408, Imd. Eff. Nov. 29, 2004 ;-- Am. 2022, Act 99, Imd. Eff. June 14, 2022. 

 

333.12526 Examination of plans and specifications; determination; issuance of permit; 
notice of deficiencies; resubmission of documents; duration of permit; 
written approval of change. 

 
Sec. 12526 
 

(1) The department shall examine the plans and specifications and, subject to section 12526a, 
determine whether the swimming pool facilities, if constructed in accordance with the plans and 
specifications, are or would be sufficient and adequate to protect the public health and safety. If the 
plans and specifications are approved, the department shall issue a permit for construction. If the 
plans and specifications are not approved, the department shall notify the applicant or the 
applicant's representative of the deficiencies. The applicant may have the plans and specifications 
amended to remedy the deficiencies and resubmit the documents, without additional fee, for further 
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consideration. 
(2) A construction permit is valid for not more than 2 years after the date of issuance unless a written 

time extension is granted by the department. 
(3) Each public swimming pool must be constructed or modified in accordance with the approved plans 

and specifications unless written approval of a change is granted by the department. 
 

History: 1978, Act 368, Eff. Sept. 30, 1978 ;-- Am. 2022, Act 99, Imd. Eff. June 14, 2022. 

 

333.12526a Preparation or consumption of food or beverages within swimming pool 
enclosure; requirements; use of plastic or nonbreakable material; 
definitions. 

 
Sec. 12526a. 
 

(1) Subject to section 548 of the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1548, 
and the food law, 2000 PA 92, MCL 289.1101 to 289.8111, a person engaged in the operation of 
a public swimming pool shall not allow the preparation of food or beverages in the swimming pool 
enclosure, or consumption of food or beverages in the water of a public swimming pool, unless all 
of the following are met: 
(a) The department has determined under section 12526 that the plans and specifications for the 

public swimming pool meet all of the following requirements: 
(i) The materials used to construct the area within the swimming pool water that is used for 

serving, preparing, or consuming food or beverages are made of a material that is 
nonabsorbent, is easily cleanable, and can be regularly sanitized. 

(ii) The area within the swimming pool water that is used for serving, preparing, or 
consuming food or beverages is constructed in a manner that has no sharp edges, has 
no open cracks, and has sealed joints. 

(iii) Areas within the swimming pool water where there is ice, food, equipment, and any other 
item that is stored or used in the preparation of food or beverages are physically 
separated by a service counter or other structure or material in a manner that protects the 
ice, food, equipment, or other item from splash or spillage of swimming pool water. 

(iv) The swimming pool water is equipped with heightened disinfection and filtration 
standards and maintains increased disinfectant residuals. 

(v) The swimming pool water is monitored with an electronic chemical control monitoring 
system. 

(b) The water temperature of the public swimming pool is maintained at 104 degrees Fahrenheit 
or less. 

(c) The free disinfectant residual levels in the swimming pool water are tested poolside at least 4 
times per day when the public swimming pool is open for use. 

(d) Lifeguard service is provided in the swimming pool enclosure when the public swimming pool 
is open for use. 

(e) An individual who holds a certification as a certified pool operator, or an equivalent 
certification as determined by the department, is readily available when the public swimming 
pool is open for use to test the swimming pool water and to operate the water treatment 
equipment of the public swimming pool. 

(f) The public swimming pool does not contain a slide, diving board, starting block, spray 
feature, or similar addition in the area of the public swimming pool permitted for the sale and 
consumption of alcoholic liquor under section 548 of the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 
1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1548. However, the public swimming pool may have a waterfall, or 
another decorative feature, that is not intended for interaction or contact with an individual 
using the public swimming pool in the area of the public swimming pool permitted for the sale 
and consumption of alcoholic liquor under section 548 of the Michigan liquor control code of 
1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1548. 

(2) A person engaged in the operation of a public swimming pool that allows for the consumption of 
food or beverages in the public swimming pool under this section shall ensure that food and 
beverages are served in a container made of plastic or another nonbreakable material and that is 
designed to reduce the chances of spilling the food or beverage in the swimming pool water. 

(3) As used in this section: 
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(a) "Alcoholic liquor" means that term as defined in section 105 of the Michigan liquor control 
code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1105. 

(b) "Beverages" means alcoholic liquor and nonalcoholic beverages. 
(c) "Heightened disinfection and filtration standards" means all of the following: 

(i) A regenerative media filter system or an equivalent filter system. If the swimming pool 
uses a sand-type filter or a cartridge-type filter, a filter system is considered equivalent 
under this subparagraph if it requires a reduction in the max flow rate per square foot of 
filter area. 

(ii) An accelerated water turnover rate of once every 4 hours or less when the public 
swimming pool is open for use. 

(iii) An ultraviolet light secondary disinfection system or an equivalent secondary disinfection 
system. 

(iv) Increased inlets to prevent impaired circulation and to increase water circulation due to 
potential obstructions. 

(v) Increased number of skimmers or surge weirs to ensure effective surface water 
skimming. 

(d) "Swimming pool enclosure" means the area containing 1 public swimming pool or, if the area 
contains 2 or more public swimming pools, the area containing all of the public swimming 
pools, which area is surrounded by an uninterrupted constructed feature or obstacle that 
meets all of the following requirements: 
(i) It is used to surround and secure the area. 
(ii) It is intended to deter or effectively prevent unpermitted, uncontrolled, and unfettered 

access to the area. 
(iii) It is designed to resist climbing and to prevent passage through and under it. 

 
History: Add. 2022, Act 99, Imd. Eff. June 14, 2022. 
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INDEX TO LIQUOR CONTROL CODE, RELATED ACTS AND ADMINISTRATIVE 
RULES OF THE COMMISSION 
If the section cited for a particular entry is preceded by the letter “R”, that section will be found in the Administrative Rules of this book; 
if not, it will be found in the Code. 

 
A 
 
A-Hotel, 436.1405, 436.2013, 436.2021 
Accosting and soliciting, R436.1011 
Accounts, examination, 436.1217 
Acknowledgement of violation, R436.1907 
Act,  
    Compliance required, 436.1901 
    Construction, 436.1925 
    Defined, R436.1001, R436.1901 
Actions and proceedings: 
    Church or school hearings, 
       R436.1951-R436.1963 
    Civil liability of Commission members, 
       436.1225 
    Commencement to enforce liability, 
       436.1805 
    Dram Shop Act, 436.1801, et seq. 
    Hearings and appeal practice rules, 
       R436.1901-R436.1935 
    Injury to person or property, 
       436.1801, et seq. 
    Liability insurance, 436.1803, 
       R436.2001, et seq. 
    Minors and intoxicated persons, 436.1801 
    Taxes, interest and penalties, recovery, 
       436.1911 
    Violation hearings, 436.1903, R436.1909 
Acts, prohibited, R436.1651, R436.1735, 
    R436.1819, R436.1859 
ADA (see Authorized Distribution Agent) 
Add partners, 436.1529 
Add space, to licensed premises, R436.1023; 

    Inspection fees, 436.1529 
Additional bar, R436.1023; 
    Inspection fee, 436.1529 
Administration, 
   Control authority, 436.1209-436.1219 
   Power and duties, 436.1209-436.1213 
Administrative fine, 436.1905 
Adulterated and misbranded liquors, 
   436.2005 
Advertising, R436.1303-R436.1339 
    Approval, R436.1309 
    Alcoholic content of beer, R436.1611 
    Beer, R436.1303, R436.1313, R436.1331 
    Brand promotion, R436.1317, R436.1333 
    Calendars and matchbooks, R436.1325 
    College promotions, R436.1861 
    Consideration, R436.1315 
    Contests, R436.1321 
    Cooperative,436.1610d, R436.1001 
    Dispenser signs, R436.1331 
    Displays, R436.1001, R436.1329 
    Gambling devices, R436.1321 
    Gifts of things of value, R436.1325 

    Inside signs and displays, 436.1610a, 
       R436.1313 
    Matchbooks, R436.1325 
    Minors, reference to, R436.1311 – Rescinded  
    Newspapers, programs, R436.1309,  
      R436.1861 
    Novelty items, R436.1321 
    Political, R436.1335 
    Prices, R436.1333 – Rescinded 3/20/2000 

    Production literature, R436.1321 
    Prohibited, R436.1311 - Rescinded 2/26/16 
    Recipe literature, R436.1321 
    Retail advertising space, R436.1315 
    Secondary value or use, 436.1909, R436.1321 
    Social media, R436.1610  
    Space, R436.1315 
    Spirits, R436.1307, R436.1321 
    Sports/entertainment venue, R436.1313 
    Tap markers, R436.1331, R436.1611 
    Team sponsorship, R436.1323 
    Temporary bin display, R436.1001,  
       R436.1329 
    Window display and signs, R436.1315 
    Wine, R436.1305 
Advise licensee on commission order or  
    MLCC Code by vendor rep. prohibited,   
    R436.1859 
Affidavits,  
    Corporate, 436.1529, R436.1109 
    Inability to serve, 436.1805 
“After Hours” permit, R436.1403, R436.1437 
Age for sale or consumption, 
    Consumption by underage person,    
       436.1703, R436.1009 
    Employment of underage persons, 
       436.1707 
    Sale or delivery by underage persons, 
       436.1203, 436.1707, R436.1011, R436.1527 
    Sale or furnishing to underage persons, 
       436.1701, 436.1801 
Agent of Commission, inspection and 
    search authority, 436.1217 
Agreements, 
    Between supplier and wholesaler, 
       436.1305, 436.1401 
    To transfer license, R436.1119 
    Participating, R436.1041, R436.1117 
Agriculture Department, 
    Grape & Wine Industry Council, 436.1303 
    Licensing land under control of, 436.1501 
Aid and assistance to licensee, 
    By another licensee or vendor, 436.1609, 
       R436.1035 
    By manufacturer, warehouseman or 
       wholesaler, 436.1609 
    By salesman or vendor representative, 
       R436.1303, et seq., R436.1859 
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    Cooperative advertising, 436.1610d 
    Financial interest, 436.1603 
    Providing furniture, fixtures and 
       dispensing equipment, 436.1609e,  
       436.1610c 
    Refunding amount of price reductions, 
       436.1609 
Air bases, armories, naval installations and  
    state military reservations, 
       Regulation of use of liquor, 436.2001 
       Right by rule to sell at discount, 436.1233 
       Sale or delivery by wholesaler, 436.1607 

Aircraft,  
    Classes of vendors, 436.1537 
    License fees, 436.1525, 436.1543 
    Minimum qualifications, R436.1147 
Airport, 
    City, village or township owned, 436.1515 
    County owned, 436.1515, 436.1531 
    Publicly owned, 436.1507 
    State owned, 436.1505 
Alcohol, 
    Compliance with law to sell, 436.1901 
    Content, 
       Beer (.05%+), 436.1105 
       Mixed Spirit Drink (.05% to 10%/13.5%) 436.1109 
       Mixed wine drink (.05% to 7%), 436.1109 
       Sacramental wine (.05% to 24%), 436.1111 
       Spirits, 436.1111 
       Wine (.05% to 21%), 436.1113 

    Defined, 436.1105 
    Exceptions, 436.1207 
    Homemade, 436.1207 
    Powdered, 436.1914a 
    Use in manufacturing, 436.1207 
Alcohol vapor devices, 436.1914 
Alcoholic liquor, 
    Adulterated, 436.2005, 750.28 
    Allowed in buses and limousines, open 
       beverages within, 436.1915, 257.624a 
    Analysis of by commission, R436.1027, 
       R436.1043, R436.1645, R436.1728 
    Approval for sale by commission required, 
       R436.1043 
    Auctions, Special Licensee, 436.1527 
    Beer,  
       Advertisement, R436.1303        
       Give-away, R436.1613 
    Below cost at retail, R436.1055 
    Bottles refilled prohibited, 436.2005 
    Ceramic commemorative bottles, 436.1921     

    Certain direct sales, 436.2013 
    College campus, deliver to, R436.1011 
    Confiscation of, R436.1027 
    Consumption, 
       As cause of death, 436.1701 
       By intoxicated person, 436.1707 
       By minors, 436.1703, 436.1707 
       On property controlled by off-premises 
         licensee, R436.1523 
    Consumption on highways, parks, etc., 
       436.1915 

    Contamination of, refund, R436.1531     
    Contests,  
       as prize or in connection to, R436.1019,  
          R436.1435 
       sale, use or consumption, R436.1435 
    Contraband, 436.2007 
    County option, 436.2107 
    Damage, R436.1027, R436.1633 
    Defined, 436.1105, Vehicle Code 257.1d 
    Delivery by person licensed by 
       commission, 436.1203, R436.1515, 
       R436.1853 
    Delivery restrictions, R436.1635 
    Delivery to college campus, R436.1011 
    Delivery, transportation into state,  
       436.1203, R436.1057, R436.1632 
    Dispenser sign, matching, R436.1331  
    Display, R436.1509 
    Disposition of, by insolvent licensee,  
       436.2009 
    Direct shipment, 436.1203 
    Employment of minor in estab., 409.115 
    Enforcement, 436.1201 
    Excluded from security agreement or 
       financing statement, R436.1119 
    Furnishing to intoxicated person, 
       R436.1005 
    Gifts, 436.1207, 436.1603, 436.2025,  
       R436.1613, R436.1865 
    Giving away, 436.2013, 436.2025,  
       436.2113, 436.2114, R436.1055 
    Gross profit on sale of, 436.1233 
    Home-made, 436.1207 
    Hotel, A & B, 436.2021, 436.2025 
    Importation, for personal use, 436.1203,  
       436.1231, R436.1722 
    Importation, in accordance with Act only,  
       436.1201 
    Impoundment, R436.1027 
    In confectionary, Food Law of 2000; 
       289.1105 
    Industrial, 436.1207 
    Intoxicated person consuming, 436.1707 
    Local ordinance to prohibit sale, 436.2109 
    Marihuana infused, 436.1914b 
    Minimum pricing, 436.1229, R436.1055 
    Minor consuming, 436.1707 
    Misbranded, 436.2005, 750.28 
    Non-licensee trafficking in, 436.1901 
    Open containers, 257.624a MI Vehicle Code 

    Open within passenger compartment, 
       257.624a 
    Possession by minor, 436.1703 
       Prize of, 436.2015, R436.1019, R436.1435 

    Prohibited sales, 436.1901, 436.1913, 
       436.2113 
    Purchase by minor, 436.1703 
    Purchase of spirits, less than $10,000 per 
       year by SDD, R436.1133 
    Purchase only from authorized source, 
      436.1203, 436.1901  
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       Special licensee, R436.582 
    Purchase, spirits, by commission only,  
       436.1203 
    Raffle of, unopened, 436.2015 
    Refunds, R436.1423, R436.1531,  
        R436.1735 
    Removal from premises, 436.2021 
    Representative stock (SDD), R436.1507 
    Sale and delivery by off-premises licensee, 
       R436.1515, R436.1527 
    Sale below cost, 436.2025, R436.1055 
    Sale by electronic means, 436.1203 
    Sale, delivery or importation, 436.1203 
    Sale of alcohol, license required,  
       R436.1809 
    Sale of spirits at uniform price, 436.1229,  
       436.1233, R436.1529 
    Sale and delivery, R436.1515 
    Sale below cost prohibited, R436.1055 
    Sale or delivery by Commission, 436.1203 

    Sale or service to intoxicated person,  
       436.1707 
    Sale to licensed truck driver salesman,  
       R436.1021     
    Sale, right and duty to control, 436.1201 
   Samples, 436.2025, 436.2027, R436.1421,  
       R436.1511, R436.1513, R436.1863 

    Sampling and tastings, 436.2025, 436.2027 
    Secured asset, excluded as, R436.1119 
    Seizure of, 436.1907 
    Sell, furnish to minor, 436.1905 
    Solicitation, R436.1417, R436.1423, 
       R436.1519 
    Spirits, 
       Advertisement, R436.1307 
       Less than minimum retail selling price, 
         hotel, 436.1229 
    Spoiled, refund, R436.1531 
    Storage, off premise, R436.1025 
    Refill, 436.2005 
    Return of, R436.1531 
    Transportation through Michigan, bill of  
       lading required, R436.1632, R436.1722 
       Transportation and possession by minor, 
       436.1703, R436.1009, R436.1011; 
       and employee under 21, 257.624b 
   Transportation in passenger compartment, 
       436.1915, 257.624a 

    Transportation, possession, sale on military 
       bases, 436.2001 

    Two-for-one pricing, 436.2014, R436.1438 
    Unauthorized purchase, 436.1203, 
       436.1901 
    Unlicensed premises, at, 436.1913 
    Unlimited quantity for one price, 
       436.2014, R436.1438 
    Vapor device, 436.1914 
    Vending machine, 436.1552 
    Wine, Advertisement, R436.1305 
“Alcohol-to-Go”, 436.1537a 
Alteration of documents, labels or stamps,  

    436.1919, R436.1651, R436.1735,    
    R436.1819 
Amusement places, consumption,  
    436.1915 
Annexation of territory to city, license 
    continuance, 436.2103 
Annoying of customers and employees,  
    R436.1011 
Appeal and review,  
    Administrative decisions, 436.1209 
    Beer manufacturer within state,  
       discrimination by foreign state,  
       436.1409 
    Board, 436.1209 
    Impounding of motor vehicle, 436.1701     
    License, revocation or suspension, 
       436.1903 
    Violation appeal hearing, R436.1917, 
       R436.1923 
Appearance ticket, 436.1705 
Application forms, R 436.1103 
Appointments, 
    Commission, 436.1209  
    Grape & Wine Industry Council, 436.1303 

Approved type business, R436.1129,  
    R436.1135 
Armed Forces, 436.2001 
Armories, air bases, naval installations and 
  state military reservations, 436.2001 
    Tax credit, 436.1219 
Assessment and demand, 436.1911 
Assistance to vendors prohibited, 436.1603,  
    436.1609, R436.1035 
Attempted purchase of alcoholic liquor by  
    minor, 436.1701, 436.1703 
Auction, special license, 436.1527 
Automatic Teller Machine, 436.2024 
Auditorium license, 436.1509 
Authority to detain, 436.1705 
Authorized Distribution Agent, 436.1105,  
    436.1205, R436.1802 
 
B 
 
B-Hotel, 436.1405, 436.1505, 436.1511, 
    436.2021, 436.2013 
Ballots, 
    Local option, 436.2111, 436.2113, 
       436.2101, 436.2103, 436.2107 
    Local ordinance to prohibit sale, 436.2109 
    Referendum on Sunday sales, 436.2111 
    Sunday sale of spirits, 436.2113 
Bankruptcy, 
    Insured, liability of insurer, 436.1803 
    License, seizure, 436.2009 
    Trustee, deposition of liquor seized by,  
       436.2009 
Banquet facility, 436.1522, 
    Church/school check, 436.1503  
Bar, 
    Additional, R436.1023 
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    Defined, 436.1105 
    Device, in-room, 436.1552 
Barware and barware retailer, 436.1609 
Barrel 
   Defined, 436.1409 
   Deposit and refund, R436.1629,  
       R436.1723a 
    Number imported into state, R436.1609 
Beer, 
    Advertising, R436.1303-R436.1333 
    Agricultural product compliance law,  
       R436.1607 
    Barrel deposit, R436.1629 
    Barrel size, 436.1409 
    Brewer, 436.1105 
    Classes of vendors, 436.1537 
    Collection of tax on, 436.1409 
    Consumption on premises, R436.1511,   
       R436.1613 
    Defined, 436.1105 
    Definitions, applicability, R436.1601 
    Deliveries, R436.1011, R436.1515,  
       R436.1635, R436.1861 
    Driver, R436.1853 
    Equipment, R436.1605 
    Exception from requirement of sale or  
       delivery by commission, 436.1203 
    Excise tax, 436.1409, R436.1621 
    Exclusive sales territory, 436.1401 
    Exports, discrimination against beer 
       manufacturers, 436.1409 
    Failure to pay taxes, 436.1911 
    Free to patrons from, 
       Manufacturer (yes), R436.1613 
       Wholesaler (no), R436.1613 
    Gifts of, 436.2025, R436.1613 
    Growlers, 436.1537 
    Import for personal use, 436.1203 
    Industry, 436.1403     
    Inspection and enforcement, R436.1645 
    Invoices, bill of lading, R436.1631 
    Keg, labels and advertising, R436.1611 
    License fees, 436.1525 
    Manufacture and warehouse licenses,  
       436.1109, 436.1113, 436.1525 
    Marihuana infused, 436.1914b 
    Master distributor, 436.1401 
    Open containers on SDM premises, 
       R436.1511 
    Out of state shipments, 436.1409 
    Outstate seller, R436.1609 (see also 
      separate listing “Outstate seller of beer”) 
    Penalty for failure to pay tax on, 436.1911 
    Price schedules, “Post and Hold”, 436.1609a 
    Quantity discounts, 436.1609a 
    Refunds, 436.1409, R436.1629, R436.1633 

    Reports, manufacturers and wholesalers,  
       R436.1641 
    Samples, R436.1421, R436.1511,  
       R436.1513, R436.1863 
    Samplings and tastings, 436.2027 

    Supplier/wholesaler agreement, 436.1401 
    Tap markers, R436.1611 
    Taproom, manufacturer’s, R436.1613 
    Tax credit, refund, 436.1409 
    Tax exempt, 436.1409 
    Tax rate, 436.1409 
    Tied in sales, 436.1525, R436.1651, 
       R436.1735 
    Warehouse license, 436.1525, R436.1113 
Beverage container deposit law, 445.571, 
    et seq. 
Bids for tax sale of property, 436.1911 
Bill of lading, R436.1632 
“Blind Pig” prohibited, 436.1913 
Boats,  
    Classes of vendors, 436.1537 
    License fees, 436.1525, 436.1543 
    Qualifications for licensing, R436.1145 
Body piercing prohibited, influence of  
    alcoholic liquor, 722.4, 333.13102 
Bona fide picture ID (see “Diligent Inquiry”) 
Bonds, 
    Constant value, R436.2019 
    Liability insurance in lieu of, 436.1803 
    Registered, R436.2001 
    Requirements, 436.1501, 436.1803 
Books and records, 
    Examination of, 436.1217 
    Grape & Wine Industry Council, 436.1303 
    Manufacturers and wholesalers,  
       R436.1641, R436.1727 
    Necessity for licensee to maintain,  
       R436.1007 
    Salesman and vendor rep., R436.1865 
Bottle and can openers, R436.1523 
Bottle deposit, 445.571, et seq. 
    Fail to post notice, 445.574b 
Bottle, ceramic commemorative, 436.1921 
Bowling establishments, R436.1429 
Brands, 
    Advertising, 436.1609 
    Commission to satisfy public demand for,  
       436.1231 
    Defined, 436.1105 
    Forging and altering marks and labels,  
       436.1919 
    Promotion, 436.1609, R436.1317 
    Service required when ordered, 
       R436.1331, R436.1431 
Brandy, 
    Defined, 436.1105 
    Manufacturers, defined, 436.1109 
Brewer, 
    Agricultural product, R436.1607 
    As Specially Designated Merchant,  
       436.1607 
    Condominiums, 436.1605 
    Defined, 436.1105 
    Eligible brewer, defined, 436.1409 
    Equipment, R436.1605 
    Excise tax, R436.1621 



 

Index - 5 

    Interest in real property of another  
       vendor, 436.1605 
    Not licensed as microbrewer, 436.1411 
   Qualifications to hold SDM, 436.1607 

Brewery, hospitality room, 436.1607,  
    436.2025, R436.1613 
Brewpub, 436.1105, 436.1405, 436.1407,  
    436.1537, 436.1603 
Bridge Card (prohibit use), 436.2024 
Broken spirit containers, rebates prohibited,  
    R436.1423, R436.1821 
Buildings and land, power of commission to  
    lease and occupy, 436.1231 
Building codes, compliance with,  
    R436.1003, R436.1803 
Bulk wine, sales, R436.1721 
Buses, w/valid MDOT decal, open alcoholic  
    liquor allowed, 436.1915, 257.624a 
Business manager, 436.1211 
Business practices, responsible, 436.1815 
 
C  
 
Cancellation, 
    Insurance, 436.1803, 436.1807, 436.1813 
    Resort area licenses, 436.1531 
Canvass of returns, local option, 436.2101, 
    et seq. 
Capacity, seating, of on-premises 
    establishment, R436.1405 
Capital investment, Resort Class C, 436.1531 

Carryout sales of alcoholic liquor sold by on-   
    premises licensee, 436.1537a 
Cash, 
    And credit sales of alcohol, 436.2013,  
       436.2025, R436.1055 
    Defined, 436.1107 
    Payment of judgments, R436.2011 
    Release, R436.2013 
    Sales, 436.2013 
Catering, 436.1547, R436.1515 
Census, 436.1531, R436.1141 
Cereal beverage, 750.28 
Certificates, 
    Liability insurance policy, 436.1803 
    Of Occupancy, R436.1105 
    Official acts, 436.1217 
Certification of compliance, 436.1517,  
    436.1517a 
Certified mail, notice, impounding of motor  
    vehicle, 436.1703 
Certiorari,  
    Appeal final determination of 
      Commission, 436.1903 
    Beer, discrimination against beer 
      manufacture within state, 436.1409 
Change in nature of business by off-premise  
    licensee, R436.1129, R436.1135, R436.1517 
Chairperson, Commission, 436.1209 
Children under 17 inside licensed on- 
    premises estab., 750.141 

Charitable institutions, price for sale,  
    436.1233 
Christmas, hours, 436.2113, R436.1403 
Church,  
    And school hearings, R436.1951- 
       R436.1963 
    Defined, 436.1107 
    Hearings, R436.1951-R436.1963 
    Method of measurement, 436.1503 
    Proximity of licensee to church, 436.1503 
    Transfer location farther from, 436.1503 
    Waiver, 436.1503 
Cigarettes, illegal sales, 205.426, et seq.,  
    205.427, et seq., R436.1011 
    Selling separately, 722.642a  
Civic center, auditorium, license, 436.1509 
Civil liability of Commission, 436.1225 
Civil liability of vendor, 436.1917 
Civil Rights Act, 
    Elliot-Larson, 37.2301, 37.2303 
Class C license, 436.2105 
    Bond, 436.1803 
    Brewpub, 436.1405 
    Children inside, 436.1707, 750.141  
    Defined, 436.1107 
    Discount to, 436.1233 
    Golf courses, 436.1515 
    Hours of operation, exceptions,  
       R436.1403 
    License fees, 436.1525 
    Limitation, 436.1521 
    Local approval, 436.1501 
    Local objection to renewal, 436.1501 
    Nine liters of spirits per month from SDD,  
       436.1205 
    Outdoor service area, R436.1419 
    Quota, 436.1505 
    Removing alcoholic liquor from, 436.2021 
    Resort, 436.1531 
    Sales, 436.1537 
    University, 436.1531, 436.2113 
    Vendor, 436.1537 
Classes of vendors and what they may sell,  
    436.1537 
Clothing changes by entertainers, R436.1413 

Club, 
    Annual filing, 436.1532 
    Add bar permit not required, R436.1023 
    Affairs and management of, 436.1532  
    Annual filing, 436.1532 
    Bond, 436.1803 
    Cash sale, 
       exception, 436.2013 
       to bona-fide members only, 436.1532,  
          436.1537 
    Children inside, R436.1009, 750.141 
    Conduct of affairs and management,  
       436.1532 
    Defined, 436.1107 
    Discriminatory practices prohibited,  
    37.2302a 
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    Hall rental, licensed premises, R436.1023       
    Hours of operation, exceptions,  
       R436.1403  
    Issuance of license, 436.1532 
    Law enforcement membership, 436.1523 
    License, 436.1107, 436.1525, R436.1127 
    Issuance, 436.1532 
    License fees, 436.1525 
    List of members annually submitted to  
       commission, 436.1532 
    Members, 436.1525, 436.1532, 436.1533,  
       436.1537  
    Outdoor service area, R436.1419 
    Public notice of intent, 436.1532 
    Qualifications for license, R436.1127 
    Raffle, prizes, 436.2015 
    Record keeping, R436.1007, R436.1127 
    Removing alcoholic liquor from, 436.2021 
    Self-supporting without sale of alcoholic  
       beverages, 436.1532 
    Special license, 436.1525, 436.1527,  
       436.572, 436.579 
“Cocktails-to-Go”, 436.1537a 
Codes and ordinances, R436.1003,  
    R436.1105 
Coerce, 436.1305, 436.1403 
Colleges and universities, 
    Conference center, licenses, 436.1513 
 Hospitality Program, licenses, 436.1513a 
     Delivery to customer, R436.1011 
    Licenses and permits, 436.1531 
    Promotions, R436.1861 
Commemorative ceramic bottle, 436.1921 
Commercial purpose, tastings, 436.2027 
Commission, 
    Appeal body, 436.1209 
    Appointment, 436.1209, 436.1903 
    Assistants and employees, 436.1213 
    Authority to revoke or suspend license,  
       436.1903 
    Bonds of members and employees,  
       436.1213 
    Branch (district) offices, 436.1219 
    Brands, requirement to satisfy public  
       demand for, 436.1231 
    Buildings and land, power to lease and  
       occupy, 436.1231 
    Business manager, 436.1211 
    Chairperson, 436.1209 
    Civil liability of members, 436.1225 
    Compensation of, 436.1209 
    Defined, 436.1107 
    Disposition of funds received, 436.1221 
    Examination of, and fees for, witnesses,  
       436.1217 
    Examination of books, records and  
       papers, 436.1217 
    Failure to obey order of, R436.1029 
    Handling of liquor, 436.1231 
    Handling of money, 436.1221 
    Hearing commissioners, 436.1209 

    Hearing officer, 436.1903 
    Inspections, 436.1217 
    Interest of members or employees,  
       436.1223 
    Investigations, 436.1217 
    Investigator powers to detain, 436.1705 
    Liability of members or employees,  
       436.1225 
    Licensing, 436.1209 
    Membership, 436.1209 
    Offices, branch/district, 436.1219 
    Orders for special liquor, profit, 436.1231 
    Organization, 436.1209 
    Private orders of foreign goods, 436.1231 
    Profit to, 436.1233 
    Public hearings for complaints, 436.1215 
    Purchases of warehouse, 436.1231 
    Quorum, 436.1209 
    Records, 436.1215 
    Removal of members from office,  
       436.1209 
    Revolving funds, 436.1221 
    Rules and regulations, 436.1215 
    Rules, power to make, 436.1215, 
       436.2303 
    Seal, 436.1217 
    Search of licensed premises, 436.1217 
 Seizures, 436.1217 
    State liquor store, 436.1229 
    Subpoenas, 436.1217, 436.1525 
    Term, 436.1209 
    Vacancies, 436.1209 
    Wholesale purchase and sale, 436.1231,  
       436.1233 
    Witnesses, 436.1217 
Common carriers, R436.1857 
Compensation and salaries,  
    Assistants and employees, 436.1213 
    Commission members, 436.1209 
    Employees of on-premises licensee,  
       436.1815 
Completed application for license, 436.1525 
Compliance with Act required, 436.1901 
Computer, defined; also network,  
    program and system, 436.1203 
    Internet gambling, 750.145d, R436.1011,  
       R436.1013 
Concession stands, 436.1525 
Concessionaire, 
    Agreement, food operation, R436.1433 
    Municipal civic center or auditorium,  
       436.1509, R436.1105 
    Municipally owned facility, R436.1105 of  
       amusement, 436.1915 
Concessionaire license, 436.1509, R436.1105 
Conditional License, 436.1525 

Conduct of licensees, R436.1011 
Confiscation of alcoholic liquor, R436.1027 
Conflict of interest, 436.1223 
Connection between licensed and 
    unlicensed premises, R436.1039 
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Consideration, unlicensed premises, 436.1913  
Consumer, 436.1203 
Consumption of alcoholic liquor, 
    By intoxicated person, 436.1707 
    By minors, 436.1703, 436.1707 
    On property, 
       controlled by off-premises licensee,  
          R436.1523 
       public highways, parks, and places,  
          436.1915  
       school, 436.1904 
Construction of Act, 436.1925 
Container,  
    Beverage, 445.571, et seq. 
    Bottle deposits, 445.573b 
    Broken or defective, R436.1519 
    Certification of beverage, 445.573 
    Nonreturnable, 445.572 
    Prohibited returns, 445.574a 
Contempt, 436.1217 
Contests, 436.1916, R436.1019, 
    R436.1321, R436.1435, R436.1861 
    With alcoholic liquor, R436.1435 
Contraband, forfeiture, 436.1235 
Control and regulation by Commission,  
    436.1201 
Controlled substance, R436.1011 
Convention facility development fund,  
    436.2207 
Conviction of crime, R436.1011, R436.1105 
Cooperation with law enforcement officers  
    and commission investigators required,  
    R436.1011 
Cooperative advertising, 
    Defined, 436.1610d, R436.1001 
    Prohibitions and allowances, 436.1610d 
Corporate vendor license,  
    Classes, 436.1537 
    Notification of change in offices or  
       Articles, R436.1051 
    Qualifications, 436.1601, R436.1105,  
       R436.1109, R436.1115 
    Transfer of stock or membership interest,  
       436.1529 
    Transfer of stock or membership interest  
       pending violation, R436.1049 
Corporation, notice of change, R436.1051 
Corrective action, 436.1701 
Counterfeiting documents, labels or stamps,  
     436.1919 
County option, form of ballot, 436.2107 
Craft Beverage Council, 436.1303, 436.1303a 
Credit sales, 436.2013 
Crime, R436.1011 
Criminal liability of vendor, 436.1917 
Customary goods and services, 436.1541,  
    R436.1129, R436.1135 
 
D 
 
Damaged alcoholic liquor, R436.1027,  

    R436.1531, R436.1633, R436.1821 
Damages, injury to persons or property,  
    436.1801, et seq. 
Dance permit, 436.1916, R436.1407, R436.1415 
Dance floor requirements, R436.1415 
Days and hours of sale by licensees,  
    436.2113, R436.1405, R436.1503 
Death of licensee, operation of  
    establishment, 436.1501 
Declaratory rulings, R436.1971-R436.1975 
Decoy operation, 436.1701, 436.1801,  
    436.1901 
Defenses,  
    Hearing for suspension or revocation of  
       license, 436.1903 
    Sales to minors, 436.1701, 436.1801 
Definitions, 
    A-Hotel, 436.1107 
    Act, R436.1001, R436.1901, R436.1951 
    Administrator, 436.1906 
    Agreement, 436.1305, 436.1403 
    Alcohol, 436.1105 
    Alcohol vapor device, 436.1105 
    Alcoholic liquor, 436.1105, 
       257.1d MI Vehicle Code 
    Alternating proprietorship, 436.1105 
    Ancillary business, 436.1305, 436.1403 
    Any bodily alcohol content, 436.1703 
    Authorized distribution agent, 436.1105 
    B-Hotel, 436.1107 
    Bar, 436.1105 
    Barrel, 436.1409 
    Beer, 436.1105 
    Bottle, 436.1105 
    Brand, 436.1105 
    Brand extension, 436.1105 
    Brandy, 436.1105 
    Brandy manufacturer, 436.1105 
    Brewer, 436.1105 
    Brewpub, 436.1105 
    Broker, R436.1001 
    Case, of alcoholic liquor, 436.1205 
    Cash, 436.1107 
    Church, 436.1107 
    City, 436.1521a 
    Class C license, 436.1107 
    Class G-1 license, 436.1107 
    Class G-2 license, 436.1107 
    Class A hotel, 436.1107 
    Class B hotel, 436.1107 
    Club, 436.1107 
    Co-licensee, R436.1001 
    College, 436.1513 
    Completed application, 436.1525 
    Computer, 436.1203 
    Computer network, 436.1203 
    Computer program, 436.1203 
    Computer system, 436.1203 
    Commission, 436.1107 
    Computer, 436.1203  
    Conference center, 436.1513    
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    Consideration, 436.1913 
    Cooperative advertising, R436.1001 
    Corrective action, 436.1701 
    Department store, R436.1001 
    Designated member, 436.1305, 436.1403 
    Development district, 436.1521 
    Device, electronic, 436.1203 
    Diligent inquiry, 436.1203, 436.1701 
    Distiller, 436.1107 
    Drive-in or drive-through, R436.1001 
    Drive-up or walk-up window, R436.1001 
    Driver helper, R436.1001 
    Duly authorized agent, R436.1901 
    Eligible brewer, 436.1409 
    Escrowed license, 436.1521a 
    Established merchant, R436.1001 
    Financial records, 436.1107 
    Good faith, 436.1305, 436.1403 
    Hearings & appeals, R436.1901 
    Hospitality program, 436.1514 
    Hotel, 436.1107 
    Instructor, 436.1906 
    Law enforcement personnel, 436.1523 
    License, 436.1107 
    Licensee, R436.1001 
    Licensed premises, R436.1001 
    Licensee, R436.1001 
    Limited Production Manufacturer, 436.1504 
    Major thoroughfare, R436.1001 
    Manufacture, 436.1109 
    Manufacturer, 436.1109 
    Manufacturing premises, 436.1109 
    Marinas, 436.1539 
    Master distributor, 436.1305, 436.1403 
    Micro brewer, 436.1109 
    Minimum retail selling price, 436.1229 
    Minor, 436.1109 
    Mixed spirit drink, 436.1109 
    Mixed spirit drink manufacturer, 436.1109 
    Mixed wine drink, 436.1109 
    Motor sports entertainment complex,  
       436.1518 
    Motor sports event, 436.1518 
    Neighborhood shopping center, 
       R436.1001 
    Nudity, 436.1916 
    Off-premises licensee, R436.1001 
    On-premises licensee, R436.1001 
    Outstate seller of beer, 436.1109,  
       R436.1001 
    Outstate seller of mixed spirit drink,  
       436.1109 
    Outstate seller of wine, 436.1109 
    Permit, R436.1001 
    Person, 436.1111 
    Primary source of supply, 436.1111 
    Prior conviction, 436.1904 
    Privately held corporation, R436.1001 
    Professional account, 436.1111 
    Prohibited sale, 436.1906 
    Public room, R436.1001 

    Reasonable qualifications, 436.1305,  
       436.1403 
    Redemption game, 750.310b 
    Release, R436.1001     
    Residence, 436.1111 
    Restaurant, 436.1111 
    Retail selling price, 436.1229 
    Retailer, 436.1111 
    Retaliatory action, 436.1305, 436.1403 
    Sacramental wine, 436.1111 
    Sale, 436.1111 
    Salesperson, R436.1001 
    Sales territory, 436.1305, 436.1403 
    Sample of alcoholic liquor, R436.1001 
    Sanctioned body, 436.1518 
    School, 436.1111, 436.1904 
    School property, 436.1904 
    Server training program, 436.1906 
    Shiner, 436.1111 
    Small Distiller, 436.1111 
    Small Wine Maker, 436.1111 
    Special license, 436.1111, R436.572 
    Specially Designated Distributor, 436.1111 
    Specially Designated Merchant, 436.1111 
    Spirits, 436.1111 
    Sports/entertainment venue, R436.1001 
    State liquor store, 436.1111 
    Successor, 436.1305, 436.1403 
    Supplier, 436.1305, 436.1403 
    Supplier of spirits, 436.1111 
    Tasting room, 436.1113, 436.1113a 
    Tavern, 436.1113 
    Temporary bin display, R436.1001 
    Third party facilitator service, 436.1203 
    Topless activity, 436.1916 
    Transfer of wholesaler’s business,  
       436.1305, 436.1403 
    University, 436.1513 
    Vapor device, 436.1105 
    Vehicle, 436.1113 
    Vendor, 436.1113, 436.1537 
    Vendor of spirits, R436.1001 
    Vendor representative, R436.1001 
    Warehouse, 436.1113 
    Warehouser, 436.1113 
    Wholesaler, 436.1113 
    Wine, 436.1113 
    Wine maker, 436.1113 
Delivery, 
    By salesperson and vendor representative,  

       R436.1515, R436.1859 
    Of seized alcoholic liquor, 436.2009 
    On Sunday, R436.1635 
    To customer of campus, R436.1011 
    To minor prohibited, R436.1527 
    To retail customer by whlser, mfgr of  
       beer/wine, OSSB, OSSW; R436.1515 
    To retail customer by off-premises  
       licensee, 436.1203, 436.1707,  
       R436.1011, R436.1527, 257.624b,  
    To wholesaler, R436.1617, R436.1719 
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Denial of application for license, grounds,  
    R436.1105 
Deposit,  
    Kegs, R436.1629 
    Refusal to refund, 445.572 
    Returnable containers, 445.572 
Depositions, 436.1217 
Diligent inquiry, 436.1203, 436.1801,  
    Due Diligence, 436.1701 
Dining car,  
    Fee, 436.1525 
    Vendor, 436.1537 
Direct connection, R436.1039 
Direct shipper, 436.1203, 436.1537 
    Enforcement revolving fund, 436.1543 
    Limits of shipment, 436.1203 
    Package requirements, 436.1203 
Discounts to licensee, 436.1233 
Discretionary issuance of licenses, 436.1501 
Discrimination against Michigan  
    manufacturers forbidden, 436.1201 
Discrimination, foreign state, beer  
    manufacturer within state, 436.1409 
Dishonored payment, checks, 436.1903b,     
    R436.1059 
Dispensing,  
    Equipment, R436.1331 
    Machine, 436.1552 
Display bin, temporary, 436.1610b, R436.1001,  
    R436.1329 
    Brand logoed merchandise, 436.1609 
Display of licenses and permits required,  
    R436.1015 
Distributor, specially designated, 436.1111,  
    436.1533, 436.1537, R436.1135 
Dividends and interest on cash and  
    securities, R436.2009 
Documents, forging, altering, counterfeiting,  
    436.1919 
Down payment required, R436.1121 
Draft beer equipment, 436.1552, R436.1427 
Dram Shop Act, 
    Abatement and revival of actions,  
       wrongful death, 436.1801 
    Bond of licensees, 436.1803 
    Cancellation of insurance, 436.1803,  
       436.1807, 436.1813 
    Financial responsibility, R436.2001- 
       R436.2021 
    Judgments and decrees, injury to person  
       or property, 436.1809 
    Liability, 436.1801 
    Liability insurance, 436.1803, 436.1811 
    Mandatory suspension or revocation,  
       436.1903 
    Proof of financial responsibility, 436.1905 
    Rebuttal presumption, 436.1801 
    Responsible business practices, 436.1815 

    Right of action, 436.1801 
    Service of process, 436.1805 
Dressing rooms for entertainers, R436.1413 

Drinking contests prohibited, R436.1019,  
    R436.1435 
Drinks, removal from premises, 436.2021 
Drive-in, drive-through, drive-up,  
    R436.1001, R436.1129, R436.1135 
Drop partner, 436.1529 
Drop space from licensed premises,  
    R436.1023 
    inspection fees, 436.1529 
Due diligence, exercise of, 436.1701  
Duty of Commission to control, 436.1201 
 
E  
 
Economic development factors, 436.1531 
Elections days, sales, 436.2113 
Elections,  
    Approval, implementation procedure,  
       436.2105 
    Consumption on premises, 436.2101, 
       et seq. 
    Local option, 436.2101, et seq. 
    Local ordinance to prohibit sales, 436.2109 
    Sunday sale, beer and wine, 436.2111 
    Sunday sale, spirits, 436.2113, 436.2115  
Electronic means to sell, deliver or import,  
    436.1203 
Eligibility of, 
    Law enforcement officer or spouse, 
       436.1523 
    SDM/SDD distributor, 436.1533, 
       436.1607 
Employee compensation, 436.1815 
Employees, 
    Commission, 436.1209 
    Compensation on commission basis,  
       436.1815 
    Intoxicated, 436.1707 
    Mingling with customers, R436.1417 
    Responsibility of licensee for acts of,  
       436.1917, R436.1011 
    Sales to, by wholesaler, 436.1607 
    Soliciting drinks, R436.1417 
Employment of minors, 436.1707, 409.101  
    et seq., 409.115 
Empty returnable containers, 445.571, et seq. 

Enforcement of Act, 
    Commission inspector, 436.1201 
    Conductor of trains, 462.253     
    Peace officer or law enforcement officer,  
       436.1201, 436.1701, 436.1801, 436.1905 

Enhancement fee, license renewal, 
    436.1543 
Entertainers, less than 18, R436.1009 
Entertainment and entertainers, 436.1916,  
    R436.1409, R436.1411, R436.1413 
Entertainment permit, 436.1916, R436.1407 
Equipment, 
    Cleaning, R436.1427 
    Furnishing to retailers 436.1609 
Escrow license, R436.1047, R436.1107 
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Established merchant, 436.1229,  
    Applicability, R436.1135 
Evidence, certified copies, orders and records,    
    436.1217 
    Establishment of relationship, injury to  
       person or property, 436.1801 
    Majority and identity of minor, 436.1903   
    Possession in motor vehicle by minor,  
       436.1701, R436.1527, 257.624b 
    Seizure of, R436.1027 
Examine books and records, 436.1217 
Excise tax, 
    Beer, 436.1409, R436.1621 

Convention facility development fund,                  
436.2207 

   General fund, 436.2201 
   Liquor purchase revolving fund, 436.2205 
    School aid fund, 436.2203 
Exclusive sales territory,  
    Beer, 436.1401 
    Mixed spirit drink, 436.1307 
    Mixed wine drink, 436.1307 
    Wine, 436.1401 
Executors and administrators, 
    Operation of business on death or  
       licensee, 436.1501 
    Service of process, 436.1805 
    Wrongful death action, survival, 436.1801 
Exceptions, fruit juices, preparations,  
    436.1207 
Exceptions to Act, 436.1207 
Excessive use of alcohol, crime, R436.1011 
Exemplary damages, 
    Failure of insurer to pay judgment and  
       costs, 436.1809 
    Injury to person or property, 436.1801 
Expiration of licenses, 436.1501, 
    R436.1107, R436.1853 
Exports, beer, 436.1409 
Extended hours, 436.1916 
 
F  
 
Farmer’s market permit, 436.1415 
Facsimile transmissions, R436.1062 
Fail to appear at violation hearing,  
    R436.1915  
Fail to comply with Commission Order,  
    R436.1029 
Fail to cooperate with Commission inspector  
   or law enforcement officer, R436.1101 
Fail to make required records available for  
    inspection, 436.1217 
Fail to pay tax, 436.1911 
Fail to provide evidence of financial  
    responsibility, R436.2017 
Fairgrounds, 436.1519 
False and fraudulent statements to  
    Commission, 436.1813, 436.2003 
False identification by minors, 436.1701,  
    436.1703, 436.1903 

False statement, 436.1813, 436.2003 
Farm mutual cooperative wineries,  
    incorporation, 436.1301 
Federal distilled spirit regulations,  
    R436.1827 
Federal malt beverage regulations, 
    436.1405 
Federal standards of identity, spirits,  
    R436.1825 
Fees, 
    For appeal, 436.1903 
    Inspection, 436.1529 
    License, 436.1525 
    Retailer’s license fees, disbursement to  
       police department, 436.1543 
    Subpoena, R436.1929 
    Sunday sales, 436.2115 
    Transfer, 436.1529 
    Warrant for tax sale, 436.1911 
    Witness, 436.1217 
Felony, 436.1701, 436.1909, 436.1919,  
    409.122, R436.1011, R436.1105 
Fiduciaries, 436.1501 
Fighting on licensed premises prohibited,  
    R436.1011 
Finances, adequate and verifiable,  
    R436.1105 
Financial interest in business of vendor,  
    436.1603 
Financial investment, R436.1105, 
    R436.1121 
Financial responsibility, 436.1803,  
    R436.2001-R436.2021    
Fines and penalties,  
    Against licensee, 436.1903, 436.1909 
    Forgery, documents, labels, 436.1919 
    Up to $1,000, 436.1903, 436.1801 
Fingerprints, R436.1113, R436.1115 
Firearms, illegal use of, R436.1011 
Five-hundred-foot rule, waiver, 436.1503 
Five-year probation, R436.1149 
Flavoring extracts, manufacture and sale,  
    436.1207 
Food, 
    Adulterated with alcohol, 436.2005; 
       289.1105a Food Law of 2000 
    Concession, R436.1433 
    Minimum sales with Resort Class C,  
       R436.1123    
    Requiring purchase of, forbidden,  
       436.2021 
    Service by other than licensee, R436.1433 

    Unlicensed places, 436.1913 
Food Assistance Program Benefits Violation, 
 436.1903a 
Foreign states, beer manufacturing within   
    state, 436.1409 
Forfeiture, 
    Contraband, 436.1235, 436.2007 
    Privileges on revocation of license,  
       436.1907 
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Forgery, documents, labels or stamps,  
    436.1919 
Forms, 
    Application for license, R436.1103 
    Application for special license, R436.575 
    Bond of licensees, 436.1803 
    Financial responsibility, R436.2005 
    Local option ballot, 436.2101, 436.2107 
    Sunday sale beer and wine ballot, 436.2111 
    Violation report, R436.1905 
Franchise agreements between wholesaler 
    and supplier, 436.1401, 436.1305 
Fraud, 
    Documents, labels or stamps, 436.1919 
    Liability insurance, cancellation, 436.1813 
Fraudulent identification, 436.1703 
Fraudulent statements, 436.2003 
Frequent or loiter on licensed premises,   
    intoxicated person, 436.1707 
Fruit and agricultural products, R436.1712 
Fruit juices, preparation and other  
    exceptions, 436.1207 
Fuel pumps, 436.1539, 436.1541 
Full service kitchen, R436.1123, R436.1437 
Fund-raising activity, 436.2015 
Funds,  
    Credit to general fund, 436.1221 
    Enforcement fund (55%), 436.1543 
    Grape and wine industry council,  
       436.1303 
    Payment to State treasurer, 436.1221 
    Revolving fund, 436.1221 
Furnishing alcoholic liquor to minor by non- 
    licensee, 436.1905, 750.28 
Furnishing unlicensed drinking premises for  
    consideration prohibited, 436.1913 
 
G  
 
G-1 license, 436.1107, 436.1531, 436.1537 
G-2 license, 436.1107, 436.1531, 436.1537 
Gambling and gambling devices, 436.1901,  
    R436.1321, 750.303a 
       Bowling w/ cash prize, 750.310a 
       Internet, illegal, 436.1901, 750.145d,  
          R436.1011, MI Gaming Control Act          
       Redemption game, 750.310b 
Gasoline pumps, 436.1541, R436.1129,  
    R436.1135 
General fund, 
    Fines and penalties, 436.1903, 436.1221 
    Retailer’s license fee, 436.1543 
    Tax on spirits, deposit to credit of,  
       436.2201 
Gifts of alcoholic liquor, 436.1603,  
    436.2025, R436.1613, R436.1865 
Gifts to vendors, 436.1609, R436.1035 
Give away alcoholic liquor, 436.2025,  
    436.2113 
Glassware, sterilization, 436.2017,  
    R436.1427 

Good cause, R436.1041, R436.1062,  
    R436.1135 
Goods and services, customary, R436.1129,  
    R436.1135 
Grape and Wine Industry Council, see Craft  
    Beverage Council 
Gross profit, 436.1233 
Grounds for denial, R436.1105 
Growlers, 436.1537 
 
H  
 
Handling of money, 436.1221 
“Happy Hour,” R436.1438 
Hardship, transfer of license, 436.1501,  
    R436.1149 
Health ordinances, compliance necessary, 
    R436.1003, R436.1702 
Hearing, “penalty”, 436.1903 
Hearings and appeals, 436.1903, 
    Acknowledgment, R436.1907 
    Adjournment, R436.1915 
    Appeals, R436.1917, R436.1919,  
       R436.1921, R436.1923 
    Appearance of licensee, R436.1913 
    Attorney,  
       Appearance, R436.1913 
       At law, R436.1933 
       Right to retain, R436.1905 
    Burden of proceeding, R436.1921 
    Complaints, R436.1905 
    Conclusions of law, R436.1909 
    Continuance, R436.1931 
    Costs, R436.1911 
    Decisions of violation appeal board,  
       R436.1923 
    Default, decision of, R436.1915 
    Definitions, decisions of,. R436.1915 
    Denial of license, right to appeal,  R436.1925 
    Failure to appear at violation hearing,  
       R436.1915 
    Failure to provide financial responsibility,  
       R436.2021 
    Fees, R436.1929 
    Filing of papers, R436.1927 
    Findings of fact, R436.1909 
    Matters other than violations, R436.1925 
    Notice of hearing, R436.1905 
    On matters other than violations,  
       R436.1925  
    Papers, filing of, R436.1927 
    Penalty, 436.1903 
    Personal appearance of licensee,  
       R436.1913 
    Postponements, R436.1931 
    Rehearing, R436.1910 
    Request for appeal, R436.1917 
    Subpoena, R436.1929 
    Suspension of revocation, 436.1903 
    Testimony, transcript of, R436.1903 
    Transcripts, R436.1903 
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    Violation appeal hearing, R436.1917 
       Burden of proceedings, R436.1921 
       Decisions, R436.1923 
       Notice, R436.1919 
    Violation hearing, R436.1909 
    Violation hearings, fail to appear,         
        R436.1915 
    Violation rehearing, R436.1910 
    Violation report, licensee’s right to copy  
       of, R436.1905   
    Violations, R436.1905 
    Waiver of appearance by licensee,  
       R436.1913 
    Waiver of hearing and acknowledgment,  
       R436.1907 
    Witness fees, R436.1929 
Hearings, semiannual public, 436.1215 
Highways, consumption on, forbidden,  
    436.1915 
Hinder and obstruct, R436.1011 
Holidays, power of local legislative body to  
    prohibit sale on, 436.2113 
Home wine tastings for commercial  
    purposes, 436.2027 
Hospitals, 436.1233 
    Sale or delivery by wholesaler, 436.1607 
    Special permit, R436.1251 
Hotels,  
    Applications for license, 436.1501 
    Bond, 436.1803 
    Brewpub, 436.1405 
    Cash sales, exceptions, 436.2013 
    Classes of vendors, 436.1537 
    Consumption in bedrooms and suites,  
       R436.1033 
    Consumption on premises, 436.2101, 
       et seq. 
    Defined, 436.1107 
    Fees, 436.1525 
    Hours of operation, exceptions,  
       R436.1403 
    Local approval, 436.1501 
    Local objection to renewal, 436.1501 
    Local revocation, 436.1501 
    Mackinac Island State Park, license,  
       436.1511 
    Minimum bedrooms, R436.1123 
    Operated/owned by University, 436.1514 
    Reclassification to Class C, 436.1531 
    Resort, 436.1531, R436.1123 
    Sales, 
       Guest rooms, 436.2019 
       Off-premises consumption, 436.1229 
       Retail, 436.1501 
    Specially designated distributor, 436.1229  
Hours and days of operation, 
    Extended hours, 436.1916 
    Off-premises, R436.1503 
    On-premises licensees, 436.2113,  
       436.2114, 436.2115, R436.1403, 
       R436.1437 

    SDD and SDM, 436.2113, R436.1503 
    Special license, R436.579 
    Special purpose permit, R436.1437 
    Tap room, R436.1613 
    Wine tasting room, 436.1603 
 
I  
 
Identification, 436.1701, 436.1703,  
    436.1801, 436.1903 
Identification verification service, 436.1203 
Illegal acts, 
    By licensee, R436.1011 
    On licensed premises, R436.1011 
Impersonate Commission employee or  
    investigator, or law enforcement officer,     
    R436.1011 
Importation of alcoholic liquor, 436.1203,  
    436.1231, R436.1722 
Impoundment,  
    Alcoholic liquor, R436.1027 
    Motor vehicle, 436.1701 
Incorporate, 436.1529 
Independent personal representative,  
    436.1501 
Indian reservations, 436.1531, 436.1611 
Industrial accounts, exceptions to cash sales,  

    436.2013 
Industrial alcohol, 436.1207 
Industrial manufacturer, R436.1811 
Injury to person or property, 436.1801 
In-room bar device, 436.1552 
Insolvent licensee, disposition of liquors 
    owned by, 436.2009 
Inspection fees, 436.1529 
Inspections and search, 436.1217, 
    R436.1645, R436.1711, R436.1728 
Inspector of Commission, powers, 436.1201, 
    436.1217 
Instructor, server training program, defined,  
    436.1906, R436.1060 
Insurance, 436.1801 
    Cancellation of, 436.1803, 436.1807,  
       436.1813 
    Conditions, 436.1811 
    Coverage, 436.1811 
    False statement, 436.1813 
    Liability insurance, 436.1501, 436.1803, 
       et seq. 
    Lieu of bond, 436.1803 
    Payment of judgment, 436.1809 
    Policy, 436.1811 
    Proof of financial responsibility, 436.1803,  
       R436.2001-R436.2021 
Interest and dividend on cash and securities,  
    R436.2009 
Interest in business of vendor, 436.1603,  
    R436.1041 
Interlocking director, and stock ownership,  
    436.1603 
International sporting event license,  
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    436.1517 
Internet, electronic, sales, 436.1203 
Intoxicated person, 436.1703, 
    Chemical breath analysis, PBT, 436.1701 
    Consuming alcoholic liquor by, 436.1707     
    Furnishing alcoholic liquor to, 436.1707 
    Loitering on licensed premises,  
       436.1707, 436.1906  
    Right of action for damage, injury or  
Intoxicated Person  
    death, 436.1801 
    Sales to, 436.1707, 436.1801, 436.2025 
    Visibly, 436.1801 
Inventory, 
    As security, R436.1119 
    SDD/SDM, 436.1541, R436.1129,  
       R436.1135 
    Tax, 436.2201 
Investigations, 436.1211, 436.1217, 
    436.1523, 436.1529, R436.1103 
Investment trust of liquor license stock  
    forbidden, 436.1603 
  
J  
 
Joint Off-Premises Tasting Room license,  
    436.1536 
Judgment debtor, license holder, seizures,  
    436.2009 
 
K 
 
Keg deposit, R436.1629 
Kitchen, full service, R436.1123, R436.1437 
 
L  
 
Labels,  
    Beer, R436.1611 
    Forging, altering, counterfeiting,  
       436.1919, R436.1651, R436.1735 
    Wine, R436.1719 
Land, state owned, 436.1519 
Landlord, 436.1603 
Law enforcement officers, 
    Disbursement from retailers’ license fees,  
       436.1543  
    Duty to enforce Act, 436.1201 
    Impounding of motor vehicles, 436.1701 
    Ineligibility as licensee, 436.1523 
    Inspections, 436.1217, R436.1011 
    Process, return, inability to serve,  
       436.1805 
    Railroad conductor, 462.253 
    Subpoenas, service, 436.1217 
    Tax sale, 436.1911 
Leases, 436.1231, 
    Business of vendor, financial interest,  
       436.1603, 436.1605 
    Licensed premises, 436.1605, R436.1023 
    Participating agreement, R436.1041,  

       R436.1117 
    Unlicensed, consumption of alcohol,  
       436.1913 
Liability insurance, 436.1501, 436.1803,  
    436.1811 
Liability of Commission and members,  
    436.1225 
Liability of vendor, 436.1917 
Liberal construction of Act, 436.1925 
License, 
    Aircraft, 436.1543, R436.1147 
    Airport, 436.1501, 436.1505, 436.1507,  
       436.1515, 436.1525 
    Application, grounds for denial,  
       R436.1105 
    Application to sell near church/school,  
       436.1503 
    As contract to be signed, 436.1501 
    Bonds, 436.1501, 436.1803 
    Census quota, 436.1531, R436.1141 
    Change in status, 436.1529 
    Civic centers and auditoriums, 436.1509 
    Civil defense volunteer police officer,  
       436.1523 
    Class C, 436.1521 
    Classes of vendors, 436.1537 
    Clubs, 436.1107, 436.1525, 436.1532,  
       R436.1127, 37.2302a 
    Colleges, 436.1513 
    Conference center, 436.1513 
    Contract, 436.1501 
    Corporation, R436.1109 
    County airports, 436.1515, 436.1531 
    Definition, 436.1107 
    Destroyed or lost, R436.1053 
    Dining cars, 436.1537 
    Discretion of Commission, 436.1501 
    Display prominently required, R436.1015 
    Eligibility of law enforcement, 436.1523 
    Escrow, R436.1047, R436.1107 
    Exceptions to 500-foot rule, 436.1503 
    Expiration date, 436.1501, R436.1107,  
       R436.1853 
    Fees, 436.1501, 436.1525, 436.1529, 
       Disposition, 436.1543 
       Transfer and inspection, 436.1529 
    Five-hundred foot rule, 436.1503,  
       436.1531 
    Forfeiture of privileges upon revocation, 
       436.1907  
    Funding sources for on-premises,  
       R436.1121  
    G-1, 436.1107, 436.1537 
    G-2, 436.1107 , 436.1537 
    Golf course, 436.1515 
    Granting or renewal, conditions, 436.1801 
    Hardship transfer, R436.1149 
    Hotels, 436.1107, 436.1529 
    Inspection fee, 436.1529, 436.1543 
    Insurance, 436.1501, 436.1803, 436.1811 
    Issuance, 436.1501  
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       After revocation, 436.1907 
    International sporting event, 436.1517 
    Law enforcement officer, interest in,  
       436.1523 
    Limited alcohol buyer, R436.1813 
    Limited liability company, R436.1110 
    Location transfer, 436.1503, R436.1023,  
       R436.1129, R436.1133, R436.1143 
    Mackinac Island State Park, 436.1511 
    Manufacturer of medicinal, toilet or   
       flavoring solutions, 436.1207 
    Marinas, 436.1539 
    Motor sports, 
       Event, 436.1518 
       License, 436.1537 
    Municipal civic centers and auditoriums,  
       436.1509 
    Municipal golf course, 436.1515 
    Municipally owned facility, 436.1515,  
       R436.1105 
    National sporting event, 436.1517 
    Ninety-day issue or renew, 436.1525 

 Nonpublic continuing care retirement center, 
436.1545 

    Objections to renewals, 436.1501 
    Obtaining for use and benefit of another,  
       R436.1041 
    Partnership, R436.1111 
    Proof of loss, destruction, R436.1053 
    Public, 436.1531, 436.1531a, 37.2301 
    Publicly owned airports, 436.1507 
    Pullman cars, 436.1543 
    Qualifications, 436.1535, 436.1601,  
       R436.1103-R436.1149 
    Quota requirements, retail license,  
       436.1531, 436.1533, R436.1141, 
    Reclassification, 436.1531 
    Remove from escrow, R436.1049 
    Renewal, R436.1107 
       Enhancement fee, 436.1543 
    Renewal, approval of local legislative  
       body, 436.1501 
    Request of local legislative body to  
       revoke, 436.1501 
    Required to sell alcoholic liquor, 436.1203 
    Residency requirements, 436.1535,  
       436.1601 
    Resort areas, 436.1501, 436.1531 
    Resort, 436.1531, R436.1123, R436.1125 
    Retail, defined, 436.1537; R436.1115,  
       R436.1117 
    Return for escrow, R436.1047 
    Revocation or suspension, 436.1501,  
       436.1903, 436.1905, 436.1907 
    Revocation, effect on new application,  
       436.1907 
    Revocation, request of local government  
       for, 436.1501 
    Seller of alcohol, required, 436.1203,  
       R436.1809 
    Signatures, 436.1501, R436.1015 

    Special census, 436.1531, R436.1141 
    Special, R436.1062, R436.572, et seq. 
    Special Purpose, 436.1531 
    Specially Designated Distributor (SDD),  
       436.1111, R436.1103, et seq., 
       R436.1501, et seq. 
       Approved type business, R436.1135 
       Prohibited issuance or transfer,  
          R436.1133 
    Specially Designated Merchant (SDM),  
       436.1111, R436.1103, et seq., 
       R436.1501, et seq. 
       Approved type business, R436.1129 
    Sports/entertainment venue, R436.1123 
    State-owned airport, 436.1505 
    State-owned land, 436.1519 
    Surrender of, 436.1515 
    Suspension, 436.1903, 436.1905,  
       R436.1031 
          Transfer, 
          Approval by Commission, 436.1501,  
          436.1529, R436.1023 
       Fee, 436.1529 
       Of corporate stock, 436.1529, 
         436.1601, R436.1115 
       Of location, R436.1023, R436.1129, 
         R436.1133, R436.1143 
       Of license/ownership, 436.1501 
          436.1529, R436.1023 
       Of membership interest, 436.1529 
       Pending violation, R436.1049 
       Within 500-foot of church/school, 
         436.1503 
    Types of alcoholic liquor allowed to sell, 
       436.1537 
    University, 436.1513 
    Vendor representative, R436.1853 
    Veterans of armed forces, 436.1531 
    Waiver of 500-foot rule, 436.1503 
    Watercraft, 436.1543, R436.1145 
    Wholesale, 436.1601, R436.1113 
    Wine maker, 436.1537 
License fee enhancement, 436.1543 
Licensed establishments/premises, 
    Add or drop space, R436.1023 
    Bowling, R436.1429 
    Defined, R436.1001 
    Illegal acts upon, R436.1011 
    Inspections and search of, 436.1217 
    Leasing of, R436.1023 
    Movie theaters, R436.1429 
    Operation by administrator, receiver,  
       trustee, 436.1501 
    Pinball machines on, 436.2023 
    Presence of minor under 17 years of age,  
       750.141 
    Redefining, R436.1023 
    Seating capacity, R436.1405 
    Used by non-licensee for food operation,  
       R436.1433 
    Civil liability of, 436.1801, et seq. 
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    Compliance with state and local  
       ordinances, R436.1003   
    Criminal prosecution of, 436.1903 
    Deceased, 436.1501 
    Defined, R436.1001 
    Financial responsibility, R436.2001- 
       R436.2021 
    Fines, 436.1903 
    Illegal act of, R436.1011 
    Interest in certain business prohibited,  
       436.1603 
    Intoxicated on licensed premises,  
       436.1707 
    Responsibility for acts of employees,  
       436.1917 
Licensing qualifications, 436.1601,  
       R436.1103- R436.1149 
    Agreements, restrictions, R436.1119 
    Aircraft license, R436.1147 
    Application, R436.1103, R436.1105 
    Applications, grounds for denial,  
       R436.1105 
    Application limitation, SDD, R436.1142 
    Approved businesses, SDM, R436.1129;  
       SDD, R436.1135 
    Club, requirements, 436.1107, R436.1127 
    Corporate requirements, 436.1601,  
       R436.1109, R436.1115 
    Corporate stock transfer,  
       Retail license, 436.1529, R436.1115 
       Wholesale license, 436.1529, R436.1113 

    Escrow license, R436.1107 
    Extension of time for renewal, R436.1107 
    Financial requirements, on-premise  
       license, R436.1121 
    Gasoline, motor vehicle fuel pumps,  
       436.1541, R436.1129, R436.1135 
    Hardship transfer, R436.1149 
    Industrial manufacturer, R436.1811 
    Initial minimum purchase, SDD,  
       R436.1139 
    Inspection and search, 436.1217,  
       R436.1819 
    Inventory as security, R436.1119 
    Limited alcohol buyer, R436.1813 
    Limited Production Manufacturer, 436.1504 
    Major thoroughfare, exception, SDD,  
       R436.1001, R436.1133 
    Marina, 436.1539 
    Membership interest transfer, retail  
       license, 436.1529, R436.1115     
    Minimum down payment, on-premises,  
       R436.1121 
    Neighborhood shopping center, exception,  

       SDD, R436.1001, R436.1133 
    Non-Approved business, 
       SDD, R436.1135; SDM, R436.1129 

    On-premise license, requirements,  
        R436.1121 
    Outstate seller of beer, R436.1609 
    Outstate seller of wine, R436.1705 

    Participating agreement, R436.1041,  
       R436.1117  
    Partnership requirements, R436.1111,  
       R436.1115 
    Photographs, R436.1137 
    Population quota, SDD, R436.1135,  
       R436.1141 
    Purchase agreement restrictions,  
       R436.1119, R436.1121 
    Renewal of license, R436.1107 
    Resort license, 
       Limitation on issuance, 436.1531,  
          R436.1125 
       Minimum qualifications, R436.1123 
    Retail license, minimum qualifications,  
       R436.1115 
    SDD, limitations on issuance or transfer,  
       R436.1135 
    SDD, prohibited issuance or transfer,  
       R436.1133 
    SDM, limitations on issuance or transfer,  
       R436.1129 
    Salesperson, 436.1502, R436.1853 
    Sellers of alcohol, R436.1809 
    Transfer of location, SDD, R436.1143 
    Vendor representative., R436.1853 
    Waiver of limitation on issuance and  
       transfer, SDD, R436.1135; SDM,    
       R436.1129 
    Waiver of population quota, SDD,  
        R436.1135, R436.1141 
    Watercraft license, R436.1145 
    Wholesale license, minimum  
       qualifications, 436.1601, R436.1113 
Liens and encumbrances, motor vehicle,  
    436.1701 
Limited alcohol buyers, R436.1813 
Limited liability company, minimum  
    qualifications, R436.1113, R436.1115 
Limited partnership, 
    Agreement, R436.1111 
    Qualifications, 436.1601 
    Signatures, R436.1111 
    Transfer interest, 436.1529, 436.1601 
Limited Production Manufacturer, 436.1504 
Limousines, w/valid MDOT decal, open  
    alcoholic liquor allowed, 436.1915,  
    257.624a 
Liquor analysis, R436.1041 
Liquor liability insurance, 436.1803 
Liquor Tax, 436.1201, 436.1203, 436.1205,  
    436.1207 
Living quarters permit, R436.1039 
Loans, manufacturer, etc., 436.1603,  
    436.1609 
Local approval, local option, 436.1501,  
    436.1531, 436.1536 
    Consumption on premises, 436.2101, et. seq.  
    Sale of alcoholic beverages, 436.2109 
    Sunday sales of beer and wine, 436.2111 
    Sunday sales of spirits, 436.2113 
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Local Governmental Unit, 436.1915 
Local legislative body, request to revoke  
    license, 436.1501 
Location, transfer of, 436.1503, R436.1023 
Loitering, 436.1707 
Lunch counters, R436.1509 
 
M  
 
Mackinac Island, 436.1511 
Major thoroughfare, defined, R436.1001 
Manufacture and sale of alcoholic liquor  
    permitted, 436.1201, 436.2107 
Manufacture of medicinal, toilet or flavoring  
    solutions, 436.1207 
Manufacture, sale without license, 436.1901 
Manufacturer, 
    Advertising, R436.1303-R436-1339 
    Aiding of vendors prohibited, 436.1609 
    Beer, 436.1105 
    Brand promotion, R436.1317 
    Brandy, 436.1105 
    Brewer, 436.1105 
    College promotions, R436.1861 
    Defined, 436.1109 
    Fee, 436.1525 
    Gifts of alcoholic liquor permitted by,  
       436.2025, R436.1613 
    Industrial, R436.1811 
    Interest in business of vendor prohibited,  
       436.1603, 436.1605 
    Records, R436.1727 
    Residency of stockholders, 436.1501 
    Sales and transportation, R436.1615 
    Small wine maker, 436.1111 
    Wine maker, 436.1113 
Manufacturers and wholesalers,  
    Agreements, 436.1305, 436.1401 
    Displays, advertisement, R436.1329 
    Price schedules, “Post and Hold”, 436.1609a        
    Quantity discounts, 436.1609a 
    Reports and records, R436.1641 
    Sales and transportation by, R436.1615 
    Sales territory, 
       Beer, 436.1401; Wine, 436.1307 
Marihuana infused alcoholic liquor, 436.1914b 
Marina, 436.1539 
Measurements, 
    Church and school, 436.1503 
    SDD, R436.1133, R436.1141 
Medicinal preparations, 436.1207 
Membership fees, see Club, G-1 and G-2 
Merchant, specially designated, 436.1111,  
    436.1533, 436.1537, R436.1129 
Michigan State Fairgrounds, 436.1501 
Michigan State Police, report by  
    Commission, 436.1701 
Microbrewer, 436.1109, 436.1411, 
    436.1537, R436.1613 
Mingling by employees, R436.1417 
Military establishments, 436.1219, 436.1233, 

    436.1501, 436.1531, R436.1251 

Minimum, 
    Food sales, Resort, R436.1123 
    Inventory, approved, 436.1541 
    Pricing, below cost, 436.1229, R436.1055  
    Purchase of spirits (SDD), R436.1133,  
       R436.1139 
Minors, 
    Action for injury, 436.1801 
    Consumption and possession by,  
       436.1703, 436.1707 
    Documentary evidence, majority and  
       identity, 436.1701 
    Employment of, 436.1707, 409.103, 
       et seq. 
    Furnishing cereal beverage to, 750.28 
    Inside licensed establishment, under 17  
       years of age, 750.141 
    Motor vehicle operator’s license, identity  
       of, 436.1903, 436.1701 
    Notification of parents, 436.1703 
    Possessing, 436.1701, 436.1703, 
       436.1707, 436.1801 
         Transporting by employee under 21,  
          Motor Veh. Code 257.624b 
       Witness and detain, 436.1705 
    Presence in licensed estab., 750.141 
    Proof of majority age, 436.1903 
    Sale and furnish to, 436.1701, 436.1801 
    Signs prohibiting sale, display, 436.1701 
    Use of fraudulent identification, 436.1703 
    Youth Employment Standards Act,  
       409.101, et. seq. 
Misbranded liquors, 436.2005, R436.1027 
Misdemeanor, 436.1701, 436.1703, 436.1909, 
   256.624a, 409.122, R436.1011, R436.1105 

Molesting of customers or employees,  
    R436.1011 
Moral character, R436.1113, R436.1115 
Mortgages, business of vendor, interest of  
    manufacturer, etc., 436.1603, 436.1605 
Motor Sports, 436.1537 
Motor Sports (Entertainment) Complex,  
    436.1518 
Motor vehicle fuel pumps, 436.1539,  
    436.1541, R436.1129, R436.1135 
Motor vehicle operator’s license, identity of  
    minor, 436.1903, 436.1701 
Motor vehicles,  
    Impounding, 436.1701 
    Minors, possession or transportation,  
    436.1701, 436.1703, 436.1801, Motor     
    Veh. Code 257.624b        
    Transfer of title to avoid impounding,  
       436.1701 
Municipal civil centers and auditoriums,  
    licenses, 436.1509 
Municipal election day, sales, 436.2113 
Municipally owned facility, licensing,  
    R436.1105 
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N 
 
Narcotics, paraphernalia, R436.1011 
National Guard, regulations on sale, etc.,  
    436.2001 
National Sporting Event license, 436.1517 
Natural Resources Dept., 436.1519 
Nature of business, off-premises, R436.1517 

Naval installations, air bases, armories, and  
    state military reservations, 436.2001 
Neighborhood shopping center, 436.1541,   
    R436.1001,  R436.1133 
“Near beer,” 436.1105, 750.28 
New Year’s hours, R436.1403 
Nine liter per month limit of spirits,  
    purchased from SDD by on-premises  
    licensee, 436.1205 
No (valid) liquor license, 
    Compliance required, 436.1901 
    Unlicensed establishment, 436.1913 
Nolo Contendere, plea, R436.1011,  
    R436.1105 
Non-profit charitable organization, 436.1527 
Non-renewals, sale of alcoholic liquor,  
    436.1901, 436.1913 
Non-sufficient funds checks issued to  
    commission, R436.1059 
Nontransferable licenses, 436.1501,  
    436.1505, 436.1507, 436.1509, 436.1511,  
    436.1515, 436.1531 
Notice, 
    Cancellation of insurance, 436.1803,  
       436.1807, 436.1813 
    Club, public notice of intent, 436.1107 
    Hearing, R436.1905 
    Revocation or suspension of license,  
       436.1903 
Novelty items, R436.1321 
Nudity, 
    Defined, 436.1916 
    Prohibited, R436.1409 
    Topless activity, 436.1916 
 
O  
 
Oaths or affirmations, authority to  
    administer, 436.1217 
Objection to renewal, 436.1501 
Offices, branch, 436.1219 
Off-Premises rules, R436.1501-R436.1531 
    Consumption of alcoholic liquor, 
       Exception, R436.1511 
       On adjacent property, R436.1523 
    Open containers of alcoholic liquor  
       prohibited, exceptions, R436.1511 
Off-premises storage of alcoholic liquor,  
    R436.1025 
Off-Premises Tasting Room License, 436.1536 
On-line ordering system, 436.1206 
On-Premises, 
    Brand promotions, R436.1321, 

       Commission Order dated 10-27-99 
    Concealed weapons of patrons, 28.425.o 
    Food operation, R436.1433 
    Outdoor service, requirements, R436.1419 

    Requirements, R436.1121 
    Rules, R436.1401-R436.1438 
    Samples, R436.1421 
    Swimming Pools, 436.1548, 333.12521,  
        333.12526, 333.12526a 
On-Premises Public Swimming Pool Permit,      
    436.1548 
On-Premises Tasting Room Permit, 436.1536 
“One-Day” license, R436.571-R436.581; see  
    Special License 
Open container on SDD/SDM premises,  
    R436.1511 
Options, local option, consumption on  
    licensed premises, 436.2101, et. seq.  
Orders of Commission, compliance,  
    R436.1029 
Ordinance prohibiting retail sale of alcoholic  
    liquor, 436.2109 
Ordinances, state and local, R436.1003,  
    R436.1409, R436.1803 
Outdoor service, 
    Off-premises licensee, R436.1011,  
       R436.1521 
    On-premises licensee, R436.1011,  
       R436.1419 
    Temporary, annual limit, R436.1419  
Outstate Self-Distributor (OSSD), 436.1203 
Outstate seller of beer (OSSB), R436.1609, 
    Advertising, R436.1301-R436.1339 
    Beer rules, R436.1601-R436.1659 
    College promotions, R436.1861 
    Defined, 436.1109 
    Displays, advertisement, R436.1329 
    Excise tax, R436.1621 
    Exclusive sales territory, 436.1401 
    Fee, 436.1525 
    Interest in business of vendor prohibited,  
       436.1603 
    Invoices and bills of lading, R436.1631 
    Qualifications, R436.1609 
    Sales and shipments by, R436.1617 
    Samples and tastings, 436.2025, 436.2027 

    Tax rate, 436.1409 
Outstate seller of wine (OSSW), R436.1705 
    Advertising, R436.1301-R436.1339 
    Bulk sales, R436.1721 
    College promotions, R436.1861 
    Defined, 436.1109 
    Displays, advertisement, R436.1329 
    Fee, 436.1525 
    Interest in business of vendor prohibited,  
       436.1603     
    Qualifications, R436.1609 
    Sale of sacramental wine, 436.1111,  
       436.1301 
    Sales territory, 436.1307 
    Sales to wholesaler, invoices, R436.1720 
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    Samplings and tastings, 436.1537,  
       436.2025, 436.2027 
    Tax rate, 436.1301 
    Wine rules, R436.1701-R436.1749 
Overcrowding, R436.1405 
 
P  
 
Parking lots, controlled by off-premises  
    licensee, R436.1523 
Parks, consumption, 436.1915 
Participating agreement, R436.1041,  
    R436.1117 
Partner’s fee, add, 436.1529 
Partnership qualifications, licensee,  
    436.1601, R436.1105, R436.1111 
Passenger terminal complex, 436.1507 
Patent or proprietary medicines, 436.1207 
PBT, 436.1703, 436.2025 
Penalties (fines, suspension, revocation),  
    436.1903 (limit), 436.1909, 436.1911 
Permit: 
    “After hours,” R436.1403, R436.1437 
    Dance, 436.1916, R436.1407, R436.1415 
    Dance-Entertainment, combined,  
       436.1916, R436.1407 
    Defined, R436.1001 
    Direct connection, R436.1039 
    Display to public, R436.1015     
    Entertainment, 436.1916, R436.1407 
    Escrow, return, R436.1047     
    Extended hours, 436.1916, R436.1407     
    Living quarters, R436.1039 
    On-Premises Public Swimming Pool, 
       436.1548 
    On-Premises Tasting Room, 436.1536 
    Participation, R436.1041 
    Revocation or suspension, grounds,  
       436.1501, R436.1061 
    Social District, 436.1551 
    Specific purpose, R436.1403, R436.1437 
    Sunday Sales, 436.2115 
    Temporary, R436.1407 
    Topless activity, 436.1916 
Person, defined, 436.1111 
Personal consumption, 436.1203 
Personal injuries, action for damages,  
    436.1801, et seq.  
Personal representative, 436.1501 
Petitions, 436.2101a 
Physical plant, R436.1105 
Pinball machines, 436.2023 
Photographs of establishment (SDD),  
    R436.1137 
Police, ineligibility for liquor license,  
    436.1523 
Police powers, 436.1201, 436.1217 
Population criteria, 
    A-Hotel, 436.1107 
    B-Hotel, 436.1107 
    Civic center, 436.1509 

    Class C- 436.1515, 436.1521, 436.1531,  
       436.1533 
    Club, 436.1531 
    Development district, 436.1521 
    Golf course, Class C & tavern, 436.1515 
    Local legislative body, on-premises,  
       436.1501 
    Motor vehicle fuel pumps, 436.1539,  
       436.1541 
    On Premises, 436.1521a 
    Public on-premises licenses, 436.1521a 
    Resort, 436.1531 
    SDD/SDM, 436.1533 
    State liquor stores, 436.1227 
    Tavern, 436.1521, 436.1531, 436.1533 
Population requirements, 
    Motor vehicle fuel pumps, 436.1541 
    On-Premise license, 436.1531 
    SDD license, R436.1141 
Possession of alcoholic liquor by minor,  
    436.1707, R436.1009; 
    Michigan Constitution, Article IV. 
Possession, transportation of alcoholic  
    liquor in motor vehicle by minor,    
    436.1701, 436.1703, 436.1801; 
    and Motor Vehicle Code 257.624b 
Posting, 
    Liquor license and permits, prominently  
       displayed, R436.1015 
    Price list, 436.2011 
    Sign, prohibited sales to minors, 436.1701 
Powdered Alcohol, 436.1914a 
Power of police officer or commission 
  investigator witnessing violation, 436.1705 
Premiums to vendor by manufacturer, etc.,  
    436.1609 
Pre-ordered quantity, delivery by off- 
    premises licensee, 436.1203, R436.1011,  
    R436.1527 
Presque Isle Harbor Marina, 436.1511 
Prevention of crime, 436.1201 
Price list, on-premises licensee, 436.2011   
Prices, 
    Advertising, R436.1333 
    Minimum shelf price, R436.1055, 
       R436.1529 
    Reductions, 436.1609a 
    Reductions to SDD, 436.1609 
    Schedule of beer, 436.1609a 
    Schedule of mixed spirit drink, 436.1609a 
    Schedule of wine, 436.1609a 
    Set by Commission, 436.1229, R436.1529 

Primary election day, sales, 436.2113 
Primary source of supply, 436.1111 
Private manufacture of wine or cider,  
    436.1207 
Private order of foreign goods, 436.1231 
Private function, 436.2014 
Privately held corporation, defined,  
    R436.1001  
    Notifying Commission of certain changes,  
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Privately held corporation  
       436.1529, R436.1051 
Prize, 
    $250 value per day limit, R436.1435  
    Alcoholic liquor prohibited, R436.1019 
    Alcoholic liquor approved, unopened,  
       436.2015 
    Cash, 750.310a 
Production of documents, 436.1217 
Professional account, 436.1111 
Profits, gross profit on sale, 436.1231,  
    436.1233 
Prohibited conduct by licensee, R436.1011 
Prohibited sales to unlicensed drinking  
    establishments, 436.1901    
Prohibited transfer, 436.1501 
Promotions, 436.1609, R436.1861  
      Commission order dtd 10-27-99 
    Brand, R436.1317, R436.1333 
    Brand logoed merchandise, 436.1609,      
       R436.1321,  
    By non-licensee on licensed premises,  
       R436.1435 
    By salesperson, 436.1609, R436.1861 
    College campus, R436.1861 
Prostitution, R436.1011 
Public, 
    Accommodations, 37.2301 
    Notice of intent for clubs, 436.1107 
    Parks and places of amusement,   
       consumption of liquor, 436.1915 
    Rooms, R436.1001, R436.1405 
Punitive damages, 
    Failure to pay judgment and costs,  
       436.1809 
    Injury to person or property, 436.1801 
Publicly owned area, 436.1915 
 
Q  
 
Qualifications, residency, 436.1601 
Quantity discounts prohibited, 
    Beer, 436.1609a 
    Wine, 436.1609a 
Quota, 
    On-Premise licenses, 436.1531 
    Resort licenses, 436.1531 
    SDD licenses, R436.1141 
 
R  
 
Raffle, prize, alcoholic liquor, 436.2015 
Rebates,  
    Beer tax, 436.1409 
    Prohibited, 436.1609, R436.1035,  
       R436.1821 
    Tax refund, 436.1219 
Receiver, operation of licensed  
    establishment, 436.1501 
Reclassification, 436.1531 
Records, business, 

    Inspection of, 436.1217 
    Maintenance of, R436.1007 
    Manufacturers and wholesalers,  
       R436.1641, R436.1727 
    Salesman and vendors reps., 436.1609b,     
      R436.1865 
    Vendor representative, 436.1609b, R436.1865 
    Warehouse, 436.1923 
Records, Commission access, 436.1217 
Re-corking and BYO wine, 436.2021 
Redefining licensed premises, R436.1023 
Redemption game, 750.310b 
Redevelopment project area, commercial  
    investment, 436.1521a 
Referendum, 
    Manufacture or sale of alcoholic liquor in  
       counties, 436.2107 
    Sale for consumption on premises,  
       436.2101, 436.2103, 436.2105 
    Sale of alcoholic beverages, 436.2109 
    Sale of beer and wine on Sunday, 436.2111 

    Sale of spirits on Sunday, 436.2113 
Refilling bottles, 436.2005 
Refunds, 
    Beer tax, 436.1219, 436.1409 
    Broken or defective spirit containers,  
       R436.1519 
    Damaged goods,  
       Beer, R436.1633        
       Spirits, R436.1821 
    Price reduction by manufacturer of spirits,  
       436.1609 
    Refund or replacement by supplier or  
       wholesaler, 436.1609c 
    Spirits, R436.1821 
Release, 
    Defined, R436.1001 
    Spirits, R436.1815 
Removal of alcoholic liquor from on- 
    premise establishment, 436.2021,  
       R436.1419 
Renewal of license, 436.1501, R436.1107 
Renewal fees, use, 436.1543 
Rental halls, 436.1913, R436.1023 
Reports, 
    Brewers, Outstate seller of beer,  
       R436.1631  
    Manufacturers, wholesalers, outstate  
       sellers, R436.1641, R436.1725 
    Resort area licenses, 436.1531 
    Revolving fund, 436.1221 
    Winery grapes, 436.1301 
Representative stock of spirits sold by SDD  
    required, R436.1507 
Reservations, 
    Indian, 436.1607 
    Military, 436.2001 
Residence, 
    Defined, 436.1111 
    Qualifications, 436.1601 
Resort economic development license,  
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    R436.1123 
Resort licenses, 436.1501, 436.1531,  
    R436.1123 
    Limitation, 436.1531, R436.1125 
    Minimum qualifications, R436.1123 
    Proximity to church or school, 436.1503 
    SDD and half-mile exception, 436.1531 
Restaurants, 
    Consumption on premises, 436.2101, 
       et seq. 
    Food operation, R436.1433 
    Full service, R436.1123 
    Specific purpose permit, R436.1437 
    Unlicensed premises, consumption of  
       alcoholic liquor prohibited, 436.1913 
Restroom requirements, R436.1425 
Retail advertising space, R436.1315 
Retail distributors, license, 436.1229 
Retail license, R436.1115 – R436.1119     
Retail prices, 436.1233, R436.1055 
Retailer, 
    Defined, 436.1111 
    Fees returned to local governmental unit,  
       436.1543 
    Liability insurance, 436.1803 
    Termination or cancellation of insurance,  
       436.1803, 436.1807, 436.1813 
Return of alcoholic liquor product,  
    R436.1531  
    By delivery person, 436.1203 
    Spirits excluded, R436.1519  
Return of spirits, 436.1907, R436.1821 
Return of wine, R436.1531, R436.1633,  
    R436.1735 
Revenue,  
    Credit to general fund, 436.1221 
    Disposition, 436.2201 
    License fee enhancement, 436.1543 
    License fees, disposition, 436.1543 
Revocation of license, 436.1903, 436.1907 
    At request of local government, 436.1501 
Revocation of permit, 436.1501, R436.1061 
Revolving fund, 436.1221 
Right of action, 436.1801 
Rules, 
    Advertising, R436.1303-R436.1339 
    Beer, R436.1601-R436.1659 
    Church or school hearings, R436.1951- 
       R436.1963 
    Declaratory rulings, R436.1971-R436.1975 

    General, R436.1001-R436.1063 
    Hearing and appeal practice, R436.1901- 
       R436.1935 
    Licensing qualifications, R436.1103- 
       R436.1151 
    Off-Premise, R436.1501-R436.1531 
    On-Premise, R436.1401-R436.1438 
    Promulgate, 436.2303 
    Size classification, R445.3 
    Special licenses, R436.571-R436.581 
    Special permits for hospitals and  

       institutions, R436.1251 
    Spirits, R436.1801-R436.1823 
    Vendor representative and salesman,  
       R436.1851-R436.1869 
    Wine, R436.1701-R436.1749 
 
S  
 
Sacramental wines,  
    Consume by minor, 436.1703 
    Defined, 436.1111 
    Non-taxable, 436.1301 
    Report of sales, R436.1724 
    Sale by outstate seller of wine, 436.1109 
    Sale by wholesaler, 436.1113 
    Sale directly to church by wholesaler or  
       outstate seller, 436.1301, 436.1607 
Sale, 
    Alcohol, retail, type of license, 436.1203  
    And delivery, R436.1515 
    Authorized alcoholic liquor only, 436.1901 
    Bar device, in-room, R436.1045 
    Below cost, prohibited, 436.2025,  
       R436.1055 
    Brand names, R436.1431 
    By bottle in on-premises estab. to patron: 
       Intox. patron, 436.1707 
       No return/refund to licensee, 436.1203,  
          R436.1033 
       No removal from premises, 436.2021 
       No return of non-consumed alcohol,  
          436.1203 
    By collector, 436.1921 
    By Commission or licensee, 436.1203 
    By person under 18 years, 436.1707 
    By various classes, 436.1537 
    Cash, 436.2013, 436.2025, R436.1055 
    Ceramic commemorative bottle  
       containing alcoholic liquor, 436.1921 
    Clubs, to members only, 436.1532,  
       436.1537, R436.1525 
    Credit, 436.2013, 436.2025, R436.1055 
    Defined, 436.1111 
    Delivery, R436.1515, R436.1527 
    Discounts to licensees, 436.1233 
    Election day, 436.2113 
    Electronic, 436.1203 
    Exclusive territory for, 436.1307, 436.1401 

    Food, 436.2021 
    For consumption on premises, 436.2101,  
      436.2103 
       Property adjacent to licensed premises,  
       R436.1523 
Hospitals, charitable institutions, military  
    establishments, 436.1233 
    Hotel rooms, 436.2019, R436.1045 
    In original packaging, spirits, 436.1111 
    Internet, 436.1203 
    Intoxicated persons, 436.1707, 436.1801,  
       436.2025  
    Limited to alcoholic liquor purchased  
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       from Commission or licensee of   
       commission, 436.1901 
    Members only by club, to, 436.1532,  
       436.1537, R436.1525 
    Minimum retail price, 436.1229 
    Minor, to, 436.1701, 436.1703, 436.1707,  
       436.1801, 436.1903, 436.1905,  
       R436.1527, Michigan  
       Constitution, Article IV 
    Off licensed premises, R436.1011 
    Prohibited sales, 436.1901, 436.2113,  
       R436.1017  
       While license suspended, R436.1031 
    Removal from premises, 436.2021,  
       R436.1419, R436.1521 
    Restrictions, sale or delivery, 
       Brewers and wholesaler, R436.1635 
    Retailers, 436.1537 
    Second party for minor, to, 436.1906 
    Spirits, consumption on premises,  
       436.2101, 436.2103, 436.2105,  
       R436.1511, R436.1513 
    Sunday, 436.2111, 436.2113, 436.2114,  
       436.2115, R436.1403, R436.1503 
    Three times w/in 24-month period,  
       436.1903  
    Truck driver salesman, R436.1021 
 Two drinks for one price, 436.2014 
    Uniform price, off premises, R436.1529  
    Unlicensed premises, 436.1913  
    Unlimited quantity, 436.2014, R436.1438     
    Without liquor license, 436.1203,  
       436.1901, 436.1909 
Salesperson, 
    Accreditation program, 436.1502 
    College promotion, R436.1861 
    Defined, R436.1001 
    Expense records, R436.1865 
    Identification card, R436.1855 
    Licenses required, 436.1502, R436.1853 
    Licensing of, 436.1503, R436.1853 
    Prohibited acts, R436.1859 
    Promotions by, R436.1861 
    Samples, R436.1001, R436.1863 
Sales territory, 
    Beer, 436.1401 
    Temporary service interruption, 436.1305,  
       R436.1401 
    Wine, 436.1307 
Sample, R436.1863 
Sample of alcoholic liquor, 
    Consumption limited, R436.1511 
    Defined, R436.1001 
    Description and limitation, R436.1863 
    Purchased by salesman, R436.1865 
    Removal, R436.1421, R436.1513 
    Sale or giving away prohibited, R436.1421 

    Samplings and tastings, 436.2025,  
       436.2027 
       Commercial purposes, home party,  
          436.2027; 436.1537 

Sanitation, 
    Draft beer equipment, R436.1427 
    Restrooms, R436.1425 
    Sterilization of glassware, 436.2017 
    Utensil cleaning, R436.1427 
School, 
    Alcoholic liquor in proximity, 436.1904 
    Defined, 436.1111 
    Hearing rules, R436.1951-R436.1963 
    Measurement, 436.1503 
    Proximity to licensee, 436.1503 
    Transfer location farther from, 436.1503 
    Waiver, 436.1503 
School Aid Fund, 436.2203 
Scope of Act, 436.1201 
SDD (see Specially Designated Distributor) 
SDM (see Specially Designated Merchant) 

Seals, 436.1217 
Searches and seizures, 436.1217 
    Alcoholic liquor, 436.1907, R436.1027 
    Evidence, 436.1217 
    Judgment against licensee, 436.2009 
    License, revocation, 436.1907 
    Warrants, 436.1235 
Seating capacity, sign and measurements,  
    R436.1405 
       Resort Class C, 436.1531, R436.1123 
       Secondary location permit, 4361541  
Second-party, sale to for minor, 436.1701, 
    436.1906 
Security agreement, exclude alcoholic liquor, 

    R436.1119 
Self-distribution to retailer, 
    Beer, 436.1203a 
    Mixed Spirit Drink, 436.1203b 
    Spirits, 436.1203 
    Wine, 436.1111 
Self-incorporate, 436.1529 
Seized alcoholic liquor, 
    Commission payment for, 436.1235  
    Delivery, 436.2009     
Sellers of alcohol, R436.1809 
Server training program, 436.1501,  
    436.1906, R436.1060, R436.1533 
    Supervisory personnel, per shift,  
       436.1501, R436.1060 
Service of process, 436.1805 
Serving brand names as ordered, R436.1431 

Sexual activities prohibited, R436.1411 
Shipping alcoholic liquor into state,  
    436.1203, R436.1057 
Shipping, direct, package requirements, 
    436.1203 
Short title of Act, 436.1101 
Showing of good-cause, R436.1041 
Signatures, 436.1501, R436.1111 
Signs, 
    Advertising, 436.1610a, R436.1313 
    Dispenser, R436.1331 
    Sale to minor prohibited, 436.1701 
    Seating capacity, R436.1405 
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Size classification, R445.3 
Small winemaker, defined, 436.1111 
    Social media, R436.1610 
Social districts, 436.1551 
Soliciting, 
    Drinks, by customers, R436.1417 
    Drinks, by employees, R436.1417 
    For prostitution, R436.1011 
    Rebates for broken spirit containers,  
       R436.1423, R436.1519 
Special census, 436.1531 
Special license,  
    Auction, 436.1527 
    Beer festival, 436.1526 
    Defined, 436.1111, 436.1537, R436.572 
    Dispensing equipment, 436.1610c 
    Fees, 436.1525, R436.573 
    Non-profit organization, 436.1527,  
       R436.574 
    Number permitted, R436.581 
    Qualifications, R436.574 
    Rules governing, R436.571-R436.581 
    Spirits tasting, 436.2028 
    State owned land, 436.1519 
    Vendor, 436.1537 
    Wine auction, 436.1527 
Special Orders, 436.1231 
Special permit, hospitals and institutions,  
    R436.1251 
Special purpose licenses, 436.1531 
Specially designated distributor (SDD),  
    Additional license, 436.1531 
    Advertising on premises, R436.1321 
    Application, limitation, R436.1142 
    Approved type business, R436.1135 
       Change nature of business, R436.1517 
    Bond, 436.1803 
    Church/School, 436.1503 
    Consumption on premises, R436.1511 
    Defined, 436.1111, 436.1229 
    Delivery to customer, R436.1515 
    Discounts to, 436.1233 
    Drive-up window, R436.1135 
    Electronic means, orders, 436.1203 
    Eligibility for license, 436.1533, 436.1607 
    Exclusions, 436.1607 
    Fees, 436.1525 
    Fuel pumps, motor, 436.1541 
    Hardship transfer, 436.1501, R436.1149 
    Hours and days of operation, R436.1503 
    Initial minimum purchase, R436.1139 
    Licensing of, 436.1229, 436.1541,  
       R436.1133, R436.1135 
    Limitation on applications, R436.1142 
    Limitations on issuance and transfer,  
       436.1541, R436.1135 
    Minimum, 
       Purchase of spirits, initial, 436.1139,  
          R436.1507 
       Shelf price, 436.1229, 436.1233,  
          R436.1529 

    On-premises, in conjunction to, 436.1533     
    Open containers on premises, R436.1511 
    Photographs, R436.1137 
    Population requirement, R436.1141 
    Prohibited issuance or transfer, 436.1501,  
       R436.1133 
    Quota, 436.1533, R436.1141 
    Quota, waiver, 436.1533, R436.1135 
    Refund for broken or defective containers,  
       R436.1519 
    Representative stock of spirits required,  
       R436.1507 
    Resort, 436.1531 
    Sample bottles and cans, R436.1511,  
       R436.1513 
    Samplings and tastings, 436.2025,  
       436.2027, R436.1511 
    Transfer of, 
       Governmental unit, R436.1135 
       Location, 436.1503, R436.1023,  
          R436.1143 
    Vendor, 436.1537 
    Waiver of population quota, 436.1533,  
       R436.1135, R436.1141 
    Waiver of transfer prohibition, R436.1141,  
       R436.1501 
Specially designated merchant (SDM), 
    Additional license, 436.1531 
    Approved type business, 436.1533,  
       R436.1129 
       Change nature of business, R436.1517 
    Bond, 436.1803 
    Conjunction with on-premises licensee, in,  
       436.1533 
    Consumption on premises, R436.1511 
    Defined, 436.1111 
    Delivery to customer, R436.1515  
       By salesperson and vendor rep,  
          R436.1515, R436.1859 
       On Sunday, R436.1635 
       Outdoor Service, R436.1011, R436.1521  
       To customer of campus, R436.1011 
       To minor prohibited, R436.1527 
       To retail customer by whlser, mfgr of  
          beer/wine, OSSB, OSSW; R436.1515 
       To retail customer by off-premises  
          licensee, 436.1203, 436.1707,  
          R436.1011, R436.1527, 257.624b,  
       To wholesaler, R436.1617, R436.1719 
       Transporting by employee under 21,  
          Motor Veh. Code 257.624b  
        Drive-up window, R436.1129 
    Eligibility for license, 436.1533, 436.1607 
    Exclusions, 436.1607  
    Fees, 436.1525 
    Fuel pumps, motor, 436.1541 
    Hours and days of operation, R436.1503 
    Licensing of, 436.1533, 436.1541,  
       R436.1129 
    Limitations on issuance or transfer,  
       436.1541, R436.1129 
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    On-premises, in conjunction to, 436.1533 
    Open containers on premises, R436.1511 
    Prohibited sale on Sunday, 436.2111 
    Quota, 436.1533 
    Returns by customer, R436.1531 
    Sale to, 
       Non-members by club prohibited,  
          R436.1525    
       Special licensee, R436.582     
    Sample bottles and cans, R436.1511,  
       R436.1513 
    Secondary location permit 
    Vendor, 436.1537    
    Waivers of limitations on issuance and  
       transfer, R436.1129 
Specific purpose permit, R436.1403,  
    R436.1437 
Specific Tax (see “Excise tax”) 
Spirits, 
    Additional tax, 436.2201, 436.2203,  
       436.2205, 436.2207 
    Advertising, R436.1307, R436.1321 
    Agricultural product, R436.1808 
    Bill of lading, R436.1815 
    Common carrier, R436.1815 
    Consume on premises, 436.2101,  
       436.2103, 436.2105 
    Damaged goods, R436.1531, R436.1821 
    Defined, 436.1111 
    Disposition, 436.2115 
    Equipment, R436.1805 
    Federal Alcohol Administration Act,  
       R436.1809, R436.1811 
    Import for personal use, 436.1203 
    Industrial manufacturers, R436.1811 
    Labeling, R436.1829 
    Limited alcohol buyers, R436.1813 
    Marihuana infused, 436.1914b 
    Markup, 436.1233 
    Price set by Commission, 436.1229,  
       436.1233 
    Product compliance with law, R436.1807 
    Purchase and importation by  
       Commission, 436.1203 
    Purchase by hospitals and institutions,  
       R436.1251 
    Purchase less than $10,000 from  
       commission per year, R436.1133 
    Purchase of by licensees from ADA,  
       436.1205     
    Rebates and refunds, R436.1821 
    Release, R436.1815 
    Returns by customer, R436.1531 
    Sale on Christmas, legal holiday, election  
       day, 436.2113 
    Sale on Sundays, 436.2113, 436.2115 
    Samplings and tastings, 436.2025,  
       436.2027, R436.1511 
    Sell in original packaging, 436.1111 
    Special Order, 436.1231 
    Transport of, R436.1815 

    Transporting companies, R436.1815 
    Vendor representatives, R436.1815- 
       R436.1869 
    Warehouse receipts, R436.1817 
Sports/entertainment venue, R436.1123 
Stamps, forging, altering, counterfeiting,  
    436.1919 
State fairgrounds, license, 436.1519 
State military reservations, 436.2001 
State-aid school fund, 436.2203 
State-owned lands, license, 436.1519 
Sterilization of glassware, 436.2017 
Stock and stockholders, 
    Age of stockholders, R436.1105  
    Corporate vendor, qualifications, 
       436.1601 
    Interlocking stock ownership, 436.1603 
    Requirements for licensing, R436.1109- 
       R436.1115 
   Transfer of stock shares, 436.1529,  
       R436.1113, R436.1115 
    Transfer of stock shares, violation  
       pending, R436.1049 
Storage of alcoholic liquor, R436.1025 
Subpoena, 436.1217, R436.1929 
Substance abuse, 436.1703 
Sunday sale, 
    Additional license fee, 436.2115 
    Beer and wine prohibited, 436.2111 
    Off-premises hours, 436.2114, R436.1503 
    On-premises hours, 436.2114, R436.1403 
    Permit, 436.2114, 436.2115, R436.1503 
    Resolution, 436.2113 
    Spirit sales and consumption, 436.2113 
Suspension of license, 436.1903, 
    R436.1031, R436.2017 
Suspension or revocation,  
    Authorized Distr. Agent, 436.1205 
    Grounds, R436.1061 
    Mandatory, 436.1903 
    Operator’s or chauffeur’s license, 436.1703 

    Permit or privilege granted by  
       Commission, R436.1017, R436.1061 
Swimming Pools, 
     On-Premises Public Swimming Pool Permit,  
         436.1548 
     Public Health Code Requirements,  
         333.12521, 333.12526, 333.12526a 
 
T  
 
Tastings and samples, 436.1536, 436.1537,  
    436.2025, 436.2027, R436.1511 
Tasting rooms, 436.1536 
Tattoos prohibited, under influence of  
    alcoholic liquor, 722.4, 333.13102 
Tavern, 
    Bond, 436.1803 
    Brewpub, 436.1405 
    Concessionaire, 436.1501     
    Defined, 436.1113 
    Fees, 436.1525 
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    Golf courses, 436.1515 
    Limitations, 436.1521 
    Local approval, 436.1501 
    Objection to renewal and revocation,  
       436.1501 
    State fairgrounds, 436.1501 
    University, 436.1531 
    Vendor, 436.1537 
Tax, 436.1301, 
    Assessments, 436.1911 
    Credit, 436.1611 
    Debts (liability of applicant), 436.1501 
    Sale, 436.1911 
Taxation, 
    Beer, 436.1409, R436.1621 
    Credit, 436.1219 
    Exemption, 436.1409 
    Failure to pay, 436.1911 
    Inventory, 436.2201 
    Retail selling of spirits, 436.2201,  
       436.2203, 436.2205 
    Spirits, 436.2201, 436.2203, 436.2205,  
       436.2207 
    Wine, 436.1301, R436.1714, R436.1716,  
       R436.1717, R436.1725 
Television transmission, public broadcast  
    from federally licensed, R436.1409,  
    R436.1411 
Temporary bin display, 436.1610b, R436.1001,  
    R436.1329 
Temporary dance permit, R436.1407 
Temporary entertainment permit,  
    R436.1407 
Temporary outdoor service permit,  
    R436.1419 
Temporary service interruption, 
    By beer wholesaler, 436.1401 
    By wine wholesaler, 436.1305 
Temporary specific purpose permits,  
    R436.1437 
Ten-percent, 
    Minimum down payment for on-premises  
       license, R436.1121 
    Or more of corporate stock ownership,  
       436.1529, R436.1113, R436.1115 
    Or more of membership interest,    
       436.1529, R436.1113, R436.1115 
Three-for-one sale of alcoholic liquor,  
    436.2014 
Three-year prohibition on transfer, 436.1501 
Third party facilitator service, 436.1203 
Topless activity permit, 436.1916 
Tort action, liability insurance, 436.1803 
Tourism and convention facility promotion  
    tax, 436.2207 
Tourist accommodations, resort areas,  
    436.1531, R436.1123 
Tournaments, R436.1435 
Township, local option, 436.2101, et seq.  
Traffic in alcoholic liquor by licensee only,     
    436.1901 

Trains, 
    Classes of vendors, 436.1537 
    License fee, 436.1525 
    Pullman cars, 436.1543 
    Qualifications, R436.1147 
Transaction by electronic means  
     (requirements), 436.1203 
Transfer of license or interest, 436.1529 
    During pending violation, R436.1049 
    Retail license, R436.1115 
    Wholesale license, R436.1113 
Transfer of interest, 436.1529, R436.1041 
Transfer of license, 436.1501 et seq.,   
    436.1515, 436.1529, R436.1023 
    Applicant qualifications, R436.1105 
    Corporation, 436.1529 
    Grounds for denial, R436.1105 
    Licensing qualifications, R436.1103- 
       R436.1151 
    Pending violation, R436.1049 
Transfer of location, 436.1531, R436.1023,  
    R436.1135 
Transfer of ownership with Commission  
    approval, 436.1529 
Transfer of ownership of SDD License via 
inter\intra county transfer, 436.1531 
Transportation of alcoholic liquor, 
    Beer shipped to wholesaler, R436.1617 
    Common carrier, R436.1857 
    In motor vehicle by minor, 436.1701,  
       257.624a, 257.624b Motor Vehicle Code 

    In passenger compartment of vehicle,  
       436.2009 
    Into state, 436.1203, R436.1057 
    Of spirits by railroads and common  
       carriers, etc., R436.1815 
    Of wine by railroads and common  
       carriers, R436.1722 
    Open container of alcoholic liquor in  
       motor vehicle, 257.624a 
Truck driver salesman, R436.1021 
Trustee, appointment to operate licensee’s  
    establishment, 436.1501 
“Twenty-four hour” license (special license),  
    436.1111, 436.1525, 436.1526, 436.1527,  
    436.2028 R436.571-R436.581 
Two-year stop on issuance of license,  
    revocation, 436.1907 
 
U  
 
Undercover operation, 436.1701, 436.1703, 
436.1905 
Uniform prices, spirits, retail, 436.1233 
University, 436.1513, 436.1531 
Unlicensed person, 436.1909 
Unlicensed places, 
    Prohibited, consideration, 436.1913 
    Sale to, by licensee, R436.1017 
Unlimited number of drinks for one price,  
    436.2014 
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Upper Peninsula State Fairgrounds,  
    436.1501  
Use and benefit of license by person not  
    licensed, 436.1529, R436.1041 
Utensil cleaning, R436.1427 
 
V 
 
Value added packaging, 436.2029 
Vapor device, alcohol, 436.1105, 436.1914 
Vehicle, 
    Defined, 436.1113 
    See “Transportation” 
Vending machines, 436.1552 
Vendor (and of spirits),  
    Aid and assistance, 436.1609, R436.1035 
    Authorized to conduct business in  
        Michigan, 436.1535, 436.1601 
    Classes of, 436.1537 
    Corporate, 436.1601 
    Defined, 436.1113, R436.1001 
    Interest in business of, 436.1603 
    Liability of, 436.1917 
    Payments from Commission, to, 436.1205 
    Qualifications, 436.1601, R436.1103- 
       R436.1151 
    Residence requirements, 436.1601 
    Responsible, 436.1906  
    Sale, serve or furnish alcoholic liquor to  
       intoxicated person, 436.1707 
    Samplings and tastings, 436.2025,  
       436.2027 
Vendor representative (see also “Sales  
    person”), defined, R436.1001 
    Advising licensee on Liquor Code or  
       Regulations prohibited, R436.1859 
    Common carrier employee, R436.1857 
    Identification card, R436.1855 
    Licenses, R436.1853 
Veterans, licenses, 436.1531 
Vinegar, 436.1207 
Violation of Act, 
    Discrimination between slight and  
       serious, 436.1909 
    Failure to pay tax, 436.1911 
    Fines, 436.1903 
    Hearings for, R436.1901-R436.1935 
    Mandatory suspension or revocation,  
       436.1903 
    Penalties, 436.1909 
    Principal’s or master’s liability, 436.1917 
    Suspension or revocation of license for,  
       436.1903 
Violation, report, R436.1905 
Violation resolution,  
    Beer Industry, 436.1403 
    Wine Industry, 436.1305 
W  
 
Waivers, 
    Appearance of licensee at hearing,  

       R436.1913 
    Church or school, 500’ rule, 436.1503,  
       R436.1963 
    Down-payment requirement for on- 
       premises applicant, R436.1121 
    Hardship transfer, 436.1501, R436.1149 
    Hearing, R436.1907, R436.1909,  
       R436.1910 
    Liquor liability/financial responsibility,  
       436.1803 
    Motor vehicle fuel pumps, 436.1541 
    Non-approved business, SDD, R436.1135 
    Non-approved business, SDM, R436.1129 

    Population quota, SDD, R436.1135,  
       R436.1141, R436.1501 
    Proof of financial responsibility, 436.1803 
    Server training requirements, 436.1501 
Warehouse, 
    Defined, 436.1113 
    License fees, 436.1525 
    Receipts, 436.1923, R436.1817 
Warehouseman, 
    Aid to or interest in vendor’s business,       
       436.1609, 436.1603 
    Defined, 436.1113 
    Reports and records, R436.1641 
    Sales and transportation by, R436.1615 
Warrants, 
    Search, 436.1235 
    Tax sale, 436.1911 
Washing of drinking containers, R436.1427 
Watercraft,  
    Class of vendor, 436.1537 
    License fees, 436.1525, 436.1543 
    Minimum qualifications, R436.1145 
Wholesalers, 
    Advertising, R436.1303-R436.1339 
    Agreements with suppliers, 436.1305,  
       436.1401     
    Aid to vendor, 436.1609 
    Beer rules, R436.1609-R436.1659 
    Beer tax, 436.1409 
    Brand promotion, R436.1317 
    Defined, 436.1113 
    Delivery to consumers prohibited,  
       436.1607 
    Exclusive sales territory, 436.1401 
    Financial interest in vendor’s business,  
       436.1603 
    Inspections, R436.1728 
    Interest in business of other vendor,  
       436.1603 
    License fees, 436.1525 
     Minimum qualifications, 436.1525 
    Price schedules, “Post and Hold”, 436.1609a     
    Qualifications, 436.1601 
    Quantity discounts, 436.1609a 

    Refunds of excise tax, beer, 436.1219 
    Reports and records, R436.1641,  
       R436.1725 
    Residency requirements, 436.1601 
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    Restocking fee, R436.1633     
    Return of wine, R436.1735 
    Right to sell, 436.1305 
    Sale of sacramental wine, 436.1301,  
       436.1607 
    Sale to employees, 436.1607 
    Sales territory, wine, 436.1307 
    Wine rules, R436.1701-R436.1749 
Wine, 
    Advertising, R436.1305 
    Analysis, R436.1728 
    Barrel deposit, R436.1723a 
    Bottled wine, invoice, R436.1720 
    Bottling, R436.1716 
    Building and health laws, manufacturing,  
       R436.1702 
    Bulk wine, R436.1705, R436.1721 
    Case, 436.1205 
    Confiscation, R436.1728 
    Direct shipping, 436.1203 
       Limitations to quantity shipped,  
          436.1203 
       Package requirements, 436.1203 
    Equipment of manufacturer, R436.1703 
    Exception from requirement of sale or  
       delivery by Commission, 436.1301 
    Failure to pay tax, 436.1911 
    Federal standards for identity, R436.1707 
    Fee, 436.1525 
    Fruit and agricultural products, 436.1301,  
       R436.1712 
    Grape and Wine Industry Council,  
       436.1303 
    Homemade, 436.1207 
    Import for personal use, 436.1203,  
       R436.1720 
    Inspection of books and records, 
       436.1217, R436.1727, R436.1728 
    Inspection of bills of lading, invoices,  
       R436.1722 
    Inspection of premises, R436.1711,  
       R436.1728 
    Invoices for bottled wine, R436.1720 
    Labels, R436.1719 
    Losses, R436.1717 
    Maker fee, 436.1525 
    Manufacturer regulations, R436.1708 
    Marihuana infused, 436.1914b 
    Master distributor, 436.1305 
    Monthly reports, R436.1725 
    Out-state sellers, R436.1705 
    Personal use, delivery into state,  
       436.1203, R436.1720 
    Price schedules, “Post and Hold”, 436.1609a 
    Quarterly report, R436.1728 
    Quantity discounts prohibited, 436.1609a 
    Reception room, manufacturer, R436.1731 

    Records, R436.1727, R436.1728,  
       R436.1735 
    Re-corking and removal from on-premises  
       establishment by consumer, 436.2021 

    Release, defined, R436.1001 
    Reports, 436.1301, R436.1725, R436.1735 

    Returns, R436.1633, R436.1735 
    Sacramental, 436.1301, R436.1724 
    Sale, bottled wine, requirements,  
       R436.1719 
    Sales, restrained by commission,  
       R436.1717 
    Sales territory, 436.1305, 436.1307 
    Samples, R436.1421, R436.1511,  
       R436.1513, R436.1728, R436.1863 
    Samplings and tastings, 436.2025,  
       436.2027 
    Supplier and wholesaler agreements,        
       436.1305 
    Tastings, commercial purpose at private  
       residence, 436.2027 

 Auction, wine 436.2031 
 Tastings, wine, 436.1537, 436.2027 

    Tax credit, 436.1219 
    Tax rate, 436.1301 
    Tax when made from Michigan grapes or  
       fruit, 436.1301, R436.1714 
    Tied-in sale, R436.1735 
    Transportation, R436.1722 
Wine industry, 436.1305, 436.1303 
Wine-maker, 436.1537 
    Defined, 436.1113 
    Fee, 436.1525 
    Samplings and tastings, 436.1537,     
       436.2025, 436.2027 
    Small, 436.1111 
Wine-tastings, 436.1203, 436.1913, 
    436.2025, 436.2027, 436.1537 
Witnesses, 436.1217, R436.1929 
Work permit, minors, 409.105, 409.106 
 
X, Y, Z  
 
Youth Employment Standards Act, 
    Definitions, 409.102 
    Deviations, 409.120 
    Exemptions, 409.116-409.123 
    Minimum age, 409.103, 409.110, 409.111,            
       409.116 
    Penalties, 409.122 
    Prohibited employment, 409.112-409.115 
    Work permit, 409.104, 409.109 
 Zones, renewal of licenses, 436.1501 
 Zoning ordinances, R436.1003 



 

 

 
  



 

 

 


