Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
MICHIGAN – PLUMBING LICENSING GUIDE
1. HOW THE PROFESSION IS ORGANIZED IN MICHIGAN
This guide looks at things you, as a plumber who has gained experience in a foreign country, must do to become eligible for examination as a plumber in Michigan. It also includes background and tips on the plumbing profession to give you an idea of the opportunities available in this field in Michigan.
REGULATION OF PLUMBERS IN MICHIGAN:
The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory affairs ( LARA), Bureau of Construction Codes (BCC), regulates the licensing of plumbers in Michigan. In order to install plumbing in Michigan, a person must be a licensed plumber or a registered plumbing apprentice.
The BCC reviews the credentials of, conducts examinations for, and licenses the following types of plumbers:
This guide will focus on the requirements of journey plumbers and master plumbers.
As of May 2013, according to the U.S Bureau of Labor Statistics, the mean hourly wage for plumbers in Michigan is $25.83, with a mean annual wage of $53,720. Employment opportunities as a licensed plumber are available in the residential, commercial, and industrial environments. Plumbers work indoors and outdoors in nearly every type of facility.
JOB PROSPECTS AND OUTLOOK (source: U.S Bureau of Labor Statistics):
Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters
$49,140 per year $23.62 per hour
High school diploma or equivalent
21% (Faster than average)
Nationally, employment of plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters is projected to grow 21 percent from 2012 to 2022, faster than the average for all occupations. Construction of buildings and the need for new septic systems should drive demand for these workers. Overall job opportunities are expected to be good as some employers continue to report difficulty finding qualified workers.
2. ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSING
The state of Michigan does not reciprocate with any other state or country for plumbing licensing. As a result, you are required to pass an examination to receive a license to perform plumbing work in Michigan.
The process for obtaining a journey or master plumber license in Michigan is as follows:
4. TIME AND COSTS
The application fee for either the journey or master exam is $100.00. Once the candidate passes the exam, the initial fee for the journey license is $40.00, which is renewed annually at a cost of $40.00. The initial fee for the master’s license is $300.00, which is renewed every 3 years at a cost of $300.00.
Each licensed journey or master plumber is required to complete an approved 5-hour code update course within one year after the adoption of a new edition of the Michigan Plumbing Code. Licensees will be notified by the plumbing division when this course must be taken. The Bureau of Construction codes does not regulate the cost of the code update course. The approved instructors set the cost of their approved course.
5. OTHER CAREERS AND CREDENTIALS
A licensed journey or master plumber with a minimum of two years’ experience may qualify for employment as a registered code official per the Building Officials and Inspectors Registration Act, 1986 PA 54.
6. BEYOND LICENSING
Journey licenses expire April 30 of each calendar year. Master licenses expire on April 30 every three years. The division will send each licensee a renewal form approximately three months before the license expires. The licensee must sign the renewal form and return it with the required renewal fee prior to the expiration of the license.
The licensee must also have completed the 5-hour approved code update course within one year of the adoption of a new edition of the Michigan Plumbing Code.
7. IMPORTANT LINKS
If any of the documents you wish to submit with your application are written in any other language than English, please provide an official notarized English translation of the documents.
Please submit your application for examination as soon as possible prior to your requested examination date. The Plumbing Division will review your application prior to scheduling you for your appearance before the State Plumbing Board. It is very important to fill out the examination form accurately and completely. Missing information will delay the review of your application.
Please contact the Bureau of Construction Codes, Plumbing Division, for any questions you may have regarding any step of the application process. We can be reached at 517-241-9330 or firstname.lastname@example.org . We will be happy to answer any questions you may have.