Filing a Minimum Wage or Overtime Complaint

Contact: Wage and Hour Division 517-284-7800

Michigan Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act, Public Act 337 of 2018, as amended.

MICHIGAN MINIMUM HOURLY WAGE  RATE 

 

 Effective Date

 Minimum Hourly
Wage Rate
 

 Tipped Employee
Minimum Hourly

Wage Rate

 85% Minimum Hourly
Wage Rate
 

  January 1, 2018

 $9.25 

$3.52

$7.86

March 29, 2019 $9.45 $3.59 $8.03
January 1, 2020* $9.65 $3.67 $8.20
January 1, 2021* $9.87 $3.75 $8.39

 

*An increase in the minimum hourly wage rate as prescribed in subsection (1) does not take effect if the unemployment rate for this state, as determined by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, United States Department of Labor, is 8.5% or greater for the calendar year preceding the calendar year of the prescribed increase. An increase in the minimum hourly wage rate as prescribed in subsection (1) that does not take effect pursuant to this subsection takes effect in the first calendar year following a calendar year for which the unemployment rate for this state, as determined by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, United States Department of Labor, is less than 8.5%.

Minors 16-17 years of age may be paid 85% of the minimum hourly wage rate.  Beginning March 29, 2019, tipped employees may be paid a minimum hourly wage rate of 38% of the minimum hourly wage rate, provided tips are received, as documented through a signed, dated tip statement, which combined with the hourly wage paid, equals or exceeds the minimum hourly wage rate.

An employee who believes that his or her employer has violated the Michigan Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act,  Public Act 337 of 2018, as amended, may file a complaint with the Wage and Hour Division. A complaint alleging a violation of the Michigan Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act must be filed within 3 years of the date of the alleged violation.  To file a complaint, fill out the Wage and Benefit Complaint Form and provide relevant information (pay statements, record of hours worked) to support your claim.  There is no charge for filing a complaint.

 

The time required to complete an investigation depends upon the number of cases under investigation, the complexity of the claim, and cooperation of the employer and employee. Employers are required to provide records and other relevant information. Employees may be asked to assist in the resolution of their claims by providing personal copies of, hours worked, pay statements, or sales if commissions are claimed, and other relevant information.

The Wage and Hour Division does not guarantee payment of minimum wages and overtime wages earned. Collection depends upon the employer's financial ability to pay, business closure, bankruptcy filing, or location of money and assets.



Related Documents
WHD-9430 Wage and Benefit Complaint Form PDF icon
WHD-943S Reclamacion De Salario De empleo (Spanish version of State of Michigan Employment Wage Complaint Form Revised) PDF icon
WHD-9802 Act 138 Brochure Workforce Opportunity Wage Act - Michigan Minimum Wage and Overtime PDF icon
WHD9802 Overview of Minimum wage and overtime law_Arabic PDF icon
WHD9802 Un Repaso de la Ley del Salario Mínimo y Horas Extras de Overview of wage and overtime law Spanish Language PDF icon