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What is the Michigan Freedom of 

Information Act (FOIA?) 
 

The Michigan Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), 

Act 442 of 1976, regulates and sets requirements for 

the disclosure of public records by all public bodies 

in the state. In general, all records except those 

specifically cited as exemptions are covered by 

FOIA. The Act also sets fee guidelines for obtaining 

public records. You can view the FOI Act in its entirety at: 

http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-act-442-of-1976. 

 

Why are portions of the documents I 

received protected? 
 

These portions are exempt from disclosure by the 

provisions of FOIA and/or State or Federal statutes 

such as the Michigan Occupational Safety and 

Health Act, Act 154 of 1974, which can be viewed at: 

http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-Act-154-of-

1974 

Section 63 (1) and (2) pertains to the confidentiality of 

trade secrets and the identity of employee(s) exempt 

from disclosure. 

 

I was injured at work. Can I obtain a copy 

of my accident investigation? 

 

Yes, if the incident was investigated by MIOSHA. 

Employers are not required to report all accidents to 

MIOSHA. Employer responsibilities to report 

include: 

• Fatality: Reporting of an employee death 

resulting from a work-related incident or 

exposure; in general, from an accident or 

illness caused by or related to a workplace 

hazard is required within 8 hours of 

becoming aware of the incident. 

• Hospitalizations, amputations, and losses of 

an eye: Within 24 hours after the inpatient 

hospitalization of 1 or more employees or an 

employee’s amputation or an employee’s loss 

of an eye, as a result of a work-related 

incident, it must be reported. 

• Power Press Accidents: All point of 

operation injuries or injuries within the 

confines of the die to operators or other 

employees. 

 

Information needed in order to conduct a search for 

records on an accident investigation includes: 

• The complete employer name and address 

where the injured party was employed at the 

time of the incident; 

• Name of the injured party; 

• Date of incident; and 

• Brief description of the accident. 

 

I’m an employer – how do I get a copy of 

the MIOSHA inspection file for my 

workplace? 
 

Submit a written FOIA request to MIOSHA. Include 

the complete employer name and address of the 

records you are trying to seek and specific date(s) of 

the inspection. 

 

What must be done to file a FOIA request 

with MIOSHA? 
• A request must be made in writing to: 

  

http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-act-442-of-1976
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-Act-154-of-1974
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-Act-154-of-1974
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State of Michigan 

Department of Labor and Economic 

Opportunity 

c/o FOIA Coordinator 

530 W. Allegan St. 

P.O. Box 30649 

Lansing, MI 48909-8149 or 

 

  Fax #: (517) 284-7735 or 

 

  Email:  

MIOSHAFOIARequest@michigan.gov 

 

• A person may also ask to inspect, copy or 

receive a copy of a public record. 

 

How long will it take to process my 

request? 

 

MIOSHA will respond within 5 business days of 

receipt of the request or within 15 business days  

if an extension was claimed. (See FOIA, Act 442 of 

1976.) 

 

What is the standard fee for a FOIA 

request? 

• Duplication per page: $0.10 

• Labor (hourly rate): $35.85 

• Mailing cost:    Actual 

• Photo discs (each):  $1.00 

• Photo sheets (each): $1.00 

• Blue Prints:    $2.00 

 

Can MIOSHA fax me my requested 

documents, if any exist? 

 

No. MIOSHA will send them via the United States 

Postal Service. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do I need to send in a check for the fees 

when I submit my FOIA request? 

 

No. If documents exist, MIOSHA will send an 

invoice if the total cost is under $50.00. If over 

$50.00, MIOSHA will send you an estimate of the 

total cost and request a good faith deposit be made of 

half the total estimated cost before processing your 

request. Records will be released once all payments 

are received. 

 

How long are inspection files retained by 

MIOSHA? 

 

Normally, all inspection files for both safety and 

health will be retained for five years after they have 

been closed. An inspection file is closed when all 

violations have been abated and penalty has been 

paid in full and/or no further action is needed by the 

employer  
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