
UIA Schedule A - Liability Questionnaire 
Issued under authority of the Michigan Employment Security Act of 1936, as amended, MCL 421.1 et seq. Filing is mandatory for all employers. You must 
complete all items on this form accurately and completely. Failure to do so may subject you to the penalties provided under the MES Act. 

 
UIA Account Number, if already assigned Federal Employer Identification No. (required) 

 
 
 

An employing unit becomes liable to pay Michigan unemployment taxes when the employing unit meets any of the following criteria: 
 

• Pays $1,000 or more in gross wages for covered employment in a calendar year. 
• Employs one or more employees in 20 different weeks within a calendar year. 
• Acquires all or part of an existing Michigan business. 
• Pays at least $1,000 in cash, not including room and board, for domestic service within a calendar quarter. 
• Pays at least $20,000 in cash, not including room and board, for agricultural service within a calendar quarter, OR 

Employs at least 10 agricultural workers in each of 20 different weeks in the current or preceding calendar year. 
• Elects coverage under the terms of the Michigan Employment Security (MES) Act. 
• Is subject to federal unemployment tax. 

 
When any one of the above criteria is met, you must submit Form 518, Registration for Michigan Taxes, and UIA Schedule A - 
Liability  Questionnaire and  UIA  Schedule  B  -  Successorship Questionnaire. You  must  also  begin  quarterly filing  of  Form  UIA 
1028, Employer's Quarterly W a g e / Tax Report. Unemployment taxes are due and payable beginning with the first calendar quarter 
in which you had payroll. Due dates for tax and wage reports are April 25, July 25, October 25 and January 25. 
Providing  inaccurate  or  incomplete  information  in  this  Registration,  or  UIA  Schedules  A  or  B,  will  be  evidence  of 
intentional  misrepresentation and  may subject  you  to  the  civil  and/or  criminal penalties  provided  in  Sections  54  and 
54b of the Michigan Employment Security (MES) Act. 

Month Day Year 
 

On what date did/will you first employ anyone in Michigan? 
 

Complete the appropriate sections below according to the type of employer being registered. 
SECTION 1 
EMPLOYERS OTHER THAN AGRICULTURAL OR DOMESTIC/HOUSEHOLD 
(See instructions to determine if applicable) 

If Agricultural, skip to Section 2.                If Domestic/Household,skip to Section 3. 
If you have had a gross payroll of $1,000 or more within a calendar year, 
enter the date it was reached or will be reached. 

 
If you have had 20 or more calendar weeks in which one or more persons 
performed services for you within a calendar year, enter the date the 20th 
week  was  reached  or  will  be  reached.  The  weeks  do  not  have  to  be 
consecutive nor the persons the same. 

 
 
 
 
Month Day Year 
 
 
 
Month Day Year 

 

If Employer is a NonProfit, a Governmental Agency / Indian Tribe/ Tribal Unit, a Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) Subjectivity, or is 
selecting Elective Coverage, then complete only one of the following four employer types below that best describes the business. 
1. NONPROFIT EMPLOYERS 

Nonprofit organizations finance their unemployment liability by either (1) paying unemployment taxes on the taxable wages of 
their employees (contributing) or (2) making a specific prior election to reimburse the UIA for any unemployment benefits paid to 
their  former  employees (reimbursing). A  nonprofit  organization that  does  not  elect  to  be  reimbursing will  be,  by default, 
contributing. 
To elect contributing status, check this box: and skip paragraphs A – D below. 
To elect reimbursing status, see paragraphs A – D. 
A.   Nonprofit employers electing reimbursing status must provide the UIA with a copy of the documentation from the Internal 

Revenue Service (IRS) granting 501(c)(3) status. 
 

Check this box if you elect to be a reimbursing employer. Attach a copy of your IRS 501(c)(3) documentation. 
Failure to check this box will result in the establishment of your liability as a contributing employer. 

B. If you are a nonprofit employer electing reimbursing status, enter $ 
the amount (or estimate) of your gross annual payroll 

C. Bonding   Requirements.      Section   13a   of   the   Michigan   Employment   Security   (MES)   Act   requires   that   nonprofit 
employers electing reimbursing status on or after December 21, 1989, and that have, or expect to have, a gross payroll of 
more  than  $100,000  during  any  calendar  year  must  notify  the  UIA  of  that  fact  immediately  and  must  provide  a surety 
bond,  irrevocable  letter  of  credit,  or  other  banking  device  approved  by  the  UIA,  in  an  amount  to  be  determined by  the 
UIA to secure the employer's obligations under the MES Act. If you exceed $100,000 in gross payroll in a later year, you 
are obligated to notify the UIA, and provide the bond at that time. 

D. If your organization is funded more than 50 percent by a grant, list the source and duration of the grant. 
Source Start Date End Date 



Michigan Unemployment Insurance Agency  
 

2. GOVERNMENTAL AGENCIES, INDIAN TRIBES AND TRIBAL UNITS 

Governmental entities generally reimburse unemployment insurance benefits paid to former employees on  a  dollar-for-dollar 
basis unless they elect to make quarterly "contribution" payments. 

 
A. If you are a governmental agency, or Indian tribe or tribal unit, 

identify the type (i.e., city, township, commission, authority, tribe, etc.) 
 
 

B. Enter your fiscal year beginning date 

 
 
 
Month Day 

 
 

C.  Check  this  box  if  you  elect  to  be  a   contributing  employer. Leaving  this  box  unchecked  will  result  in  the 
establishment of your liability as a reimbursing employer. 

D . Indian   tribes   and   tribal   units   are   subject   to   the   same   bonding requirements as nonprofit employers (see Line 1C, 
above).and must provide the amount (or estimate of their gross annual payroll here: 

 
 

3. FEDERAL UNEMPLOYMENT TAX ACT (FUTA) SUBJECTIVITY. Select this option ONLY if you are NOT liable for UIA taxes State 
under any of the other employer types. 

 
If you are already subject to FUTA, enter the state, other than Michigan, where you became liable 
Note: "Subject to FUTA" refers to filing Form 940 with the IRS. If you are required to file Form 940 (FUTA) with the IRS in 
other states, you are required to file and pay state unemployment taxes in Michigan. 

 
4. ELECTIVE COVERAGE. For employers who would not otherwise be liable for unemployment taxes, such as churches. 

 
Check this box if you  wish to elect coverage under the MES Act. Approval is subject to UIA review; some qualifiers 
apply. Your election, if granted, will apply to all your employees. Give your reason for electing coverage in the space 
provided below. If you are an individual owner or partnership electing to cover  family members,  specify their 
relationship to  the  owner  or  partners.  You may not elect coverage for your parents or spouse, nor for your child under the 
age of 18. Individual owners and partners cannot elect coverage for themselves. You may not  elect  coverage  for 
domestic  employment  below  the  statutory requirements stated  above.  Election of coverage remains in effect for a 
minimum of two calendar years. 

 
 

SECTION 2 
 

2. AGRICULTURAL EMPLOYERS ONLY 
A.  If  you  have  had  a  total  cash  payroll  of  $20,000  or  more  for  agricultural 

services  performed  within  a  calendar  quarter  in  either  the  current  or 
preceding calendar year, not including room and board, enter the date the 
$20,000 was reached or will be reached. 

 
B.  If  you  have  had  at  least  10  agricultural  workers  in  each  of  20  different 

weeks  in  the  current or  preceding calendar year, enter the  date  the  20th 
week was reached or will be reached.     The weeks do not have to be 
consecutive nor the persons the same. 

SECTION 3 
 

3. DOMESTIC/HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS ONLY 
A.  If  you  have  had  a  cash  payroll  of  $1,000  or  more  for  domestic services 

within a  calendar quarter in either the current or preceding calendar year, 
not including room and board, enter the date the $1,000 was reached or will 
be reached. 

SECTION 4 
ALL EMPLOYERS 

 

 
 
 
Month Day Year 
 
 
 
 
Month Day Year 
 
 
 
 
 
Month Day Year 

 

Print Name of Owner/Officer Signature of Owner/Officer 

Title Telephone Number Date

Print Name of Owner/Officer Signature of Owner/Officer 

Title Telephone Number Date

Attach this schedule to Form 518, Registration for Michigan Taxes and mail it to the Michigan Department of Treasury. 




