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Introduction

The purpose of this toolkit is to explain when an employing unit becomes a liable employer
under the Michigan Employment Security (MES) Act to pay unemployment taxes in Michigan
and how to register. The toolkit will highlight the following topics:

Employing Unit.

Employer Defined.

Employer and Employment Types.
Common Exempt Employing Units.
Employing Unit Registration.
Information Needed to Register.
Registering Online.

Employer Notification.

oNoNoNoNONONONO)

Employing Unit

Before a business or an individual is determined by the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) to be liable,
the UIA refers to the business or the individual as an employing unit.

Employer Defined

To become a liable employer, UIA uses the following requirements in Section 41 of the MES Act to determine if
the employing unit is an Employer and then notifies the new employer for the decision.
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41(1)

:

g The employing unit meets either payroll or employment criteria A
> Payroll - The employing unit pays $1000; or more in wages within a
calendar year.
> Employment - the employing unit has at least one worker in 20 different
weeks in a calendar year.
J

41(2)

(=)

The employer/employing unit acquires existing Michigan business
> Employing unit that acquires the organization, trade, or business, or 75% or
more of the assets of another organization.

> Employing unit that becomes a transferee of business by any other means
other than in the ordinary course of trade from an employer, if there is
substantially common ownership, management, or control.

h
'dI

(4)

A

h
'dI

\ J
N
Employer after total transfer of business
The employer is assigned clean-up account if filing last payroll after total
transfer of business.
\ J
N
The employing unit elects to become an employer
The employing unit elects to pay unemployment insurance tax. For instance, a
church organization that is exempt under the Act. This must be effective in the
current year.
\ J
[ N

The agricultural employing unit meets either payroll or employment criteria
> Payroll - Having total of cash payroll of $20,000 within a calendar quarter.

> Employment - Having at least 10 agricultural workers in each of 20
different weeks in a calendar year.

(6)

TT YT Y

A

\ J
N
The household employing unit meets payroll criteria
> Employing unit meets payroll criteria for domestic services.
» The employer pays total cash of $1,000 in a calendar quarter.
J

41(7)

T

FUTA Subjectivity
The employer is filing Federal Unemployment Tax Act with IRS in other states.
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Employer Acquisition (Business Transfer)

This type of acquisition can either be mandatory or a voluntary transfer resulting in transfer of experience
(the tax rate history), which can be total, partial, or no transfer, from the existing business.

Forms of Acquisition

Sale of business.

Transfer in the form of acquiring the use of Michigan assets like lease.
Incorporating an existing business.

Merger of existing entities.

Reorganization.

00000

Mandatory Transfer

O The employing unit acquires 75% or more assets and there is no common ownership interest
between the entities.

O Transfer involving common ownership interest between the entities. The percentage of assets does
not matter in this type of acquisition.

Mandatory transfer may result in rating transfer:
(O Total Rating - 100% assets and/or payroll acquisition of the business or
O Partial Rating - less than 100% assets and/or payroll acquisition of the business.

Form 1184, Employer’s Report on Partial Transfer of Business, is needed if the acquisition is less than 100%.
Information provided by the employer will assist in determining what percentage of the former owner
experience to transfer.

Voluntary Transfer

Voluntary transfer is always a partial transfer of experience.

(O The employing unit acquires less than 75% assets of an existing Michigan business.

O Form 1184-1, Report and Agreement on Partial Transfer of Business Certification, is required to
secure consent from both parties involved in this type of sale to determine what percentage of the
former owner’s rating history to be transferred. Assigning a portion of the former’s owner rate history
will require submitting the Form 1184-1 with the registration documents either 518 or Standalone
Schedule B Form if notifying UIA for the first time about the acquisition.



https://www.michigan.gov/leo/-/media/Project/Websites/leo/Documents/UIA/Employer-Forms/UIA-1184.pdf?rev=8f42bd9b8f8f4857ac110b991e6b9edb
https://www.michigan.gov/leo/-/media/Project/Websites/leo/Documents/UIA/Employer-Forms/UIA-1184-1.pdf?rev=b84dfb4c7c8e4debbddba807fc58d51f
https://www.michigan.gov/leo/-/media/Project/Websites/leo/Documents/UIA/Employer-Forms/Stand--alone-UIA-Schedule-B.pdf?rev=f5dc9dbfbba24630abfb63cfcf5a9425
https://www.michigan.gov/leo/-/media/Project/Websites/leo/Documents/UIA/Employer-Forms/Stand--alone-UIA-Schedule-B.pdf?rev=f5dc9dbfbba24630abfb63cfcf5a9425
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Tax Debt Transfer or Assessment Under Section
15(g) of (MES) Act

Outstanding taxes due (contributions) on the predecessor account is transferred or assessed to the
successor employer who then becomes liable for the unpaid taxes and interest but -

O Employing unit must acquire the organization, trade, business, or 75% or more of Michigan business.
O Determined as successor under Section 41(2) by UIA.

O Both parties remain responsible until the debt is paid.

Exception to Transfer the Debt

Amount due from the seller is more than the amount of liability. The employer needs to provide
independent valuation of the business at the time of the transfer.

Other Responsibilities

If the previous employer failed to file any quarterly tax reports, the successor will be taxed at a higher
tax rate.

O Either the purchaser or seller may request from UIA, in writing, not less than 10 days before the
transfer of business, Form UIA 1395, Clearance of Account, to find out any amounts owed to UIA.

O By law, the seller must provide the buyer with certain unemployment insurance information at least
two days before an offer to purchase is accepted on Form UIA 1027, Business Transferor’s Notice to
Transferee of Unemployment Tax Liability and Rate, covering:

@ Seller unemployment tax rate.
@ Outstanding liabilities.
@ Details about jobless benefit payments and taxes.

@ Employees laid off in the year before the sale.

@ Names of all current employees.



https://www.michigan.gov/leo/-/media/Project/Websites/leo/Documents/UIA/Employer-Forms/UIA-1027.pdf?rev=f144b999f5b74bf2a4309fedf5f5bca6
https://www.michigan.gov/leo/-/media/Project/Websites/leo/Documents/UIA/Employer-Forms/UIA-1027.pdf?rev=f144b999f5b74bf2a4309fedf5f5bca6
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Employer and Employment Types

Section 14 of the Michigan Employment Security (MES) Act authorizes the UIA to determine whether an
employing unit qualifies as a Michigan Employer to file and pay UIA quarterly taxes and whether the services
performed are employment as an employee or independent contractor.

Limitation to Issue Determination

Michigan law specifies how far back UIA shall issue determination or redetermination.
O Inthe absence of fraud, the requirement is current year plus prior 3 years.

O Therequirement shall be 6 years if fraud is determined.

Employer Types

Employing units that are determined as Michigan employers can either be contributing or reimbursing.

Employer

Contributing Employer

Most employers are contributing employers and the taxes they pay to UIA are called Contributions.
Report - Required to file quarterly taxes.
Payment - Quarterly taxes due to be paid are based on tax rate assigned up to the taxable wage base limit.

Tax Rate - Assigned annually based on employer’s history of payroll, taxes paid, and benefit payments made
to former employees.

The following employing units fall under contributing employers:
O For-profit employing units by default.

O Non-profit employing units by default but may elect as reimbursing employer.
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Client Level Reporting and Power of Attorney (POA)

If an employer signs up with a Professional Employer Organization (PEO), the PEO is required to file the report
under the employer’s (client) Ul account if already assigned. This is called “Client Level Reporting (CLR)” which
went into effect on January 1, 2014. If there is no account in existence upon signing up with the PEO, then
the employer must register to obtain an Employee Account Number to allow the PEO to comply with CLR.

In order to be able to file a report on behalf of any client, the PEO or POA must first create a Michigan Web
Account Manager (MiWAM) account (sign up as service provider) if it does not have an account. Then, log
into the MiWAM account to add POA authorization/MiWAM permissions to gain access.

Multiple Establishments

Ul considers an employing unit within this state maintaining 2 or more separate establishments under the
provision of the Section 40 of MES Act as a single employing unit if commonly owned, managed, and/or
controlled and are engaged in the same or similar business activity. A single employer account number

is allowed.

Reimbursing Employer

A reimbursing employer is a liable employer that pays UIA, dollar-for-dollar, the amount the UIA paid in
benefits in that calendar quarter (including the state portion of Extended Benefits) to its former workers
who receive unemployment benefits based on wages paid to the worker by the reimbursing employer.

Report — Required to file quarterly wage/tax reports.

Payment - Receive Form UIA 1763, Reimbursing Employer Billing For Benefit Charges, from UIA when
unemployment benefits are paid to former employees.

Billing cycles
O Annually - Governmental and Indian tribes/tribal units.
O AQuarterly - Non-profit.

Tax Rate — Not assigned.

Employing Units That Fall Under Reimbursing Employers

O Governmental entity (city, county township, school district) is a reimbursing employer by default.
O Indian tribes and tribal unit.

O Non-profit entity electing reimbursing status.

501(c)3 Requirement

Copy of IRS 501(c)3 letter is required if a non-profit is electing as reimbursing status.


https://miwam.unemployment.state.mi.us/EmpMiWAM/_/#2
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Out-of-State Governmental Entities

O Must provide UIA with documentation of affiliation to a Michigan-based governmental to be treated
as a governmental reimbursing employer.

O If not, must provide a 501(c)3 to be treated as a non-profit reimbursing employer.

O Assigned contributing status, if unable to obtain affiliation with any governmental entity in Michigan
or 501(c)3.

Bond/Letter of Credit

The following reimbursing employers are subject to security requirements if their annual gross pay equals
or exceeds $100,000. The requirement is 4% of taxable payroll.

O Non-profit.
O Indian tribes/tribal units.

O Governmental (out-of-state).

How to Calculate Required Security Amount

The annual gross payroll for the 12-month period ending on June 30 of the year before security is required
(July 1 through June 30) which represents the Third and Fourth quarters of the prior year along with the
First and Second quarters of the current year multiplied by 4%.

Group Accounts

The law permits non-profit employers that elect to be reimbursing employers to form or be part of a group
account for the purpose of sharing the cost of benefits paid to the former employees. The UIA must be
notified that a reimbursing employer wishes to join a group.
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Employment Types

Workers are classified as either an employee or independent contractor.

Employment

Covered Contract
(Employee) (Contractor)

Covered Employment

Employer with workers classified as employees is termed Covered employment. Most employers consider
their workers as employees but there are many cases where employing units and employers misclassify
them as contractors. UIA relies on IRS 20 factors to determine the employment type when in dispute.

Contract Employment

Employers with workers classified as independent contractors is termed Contract employment. Some
services performed by a worker will fit into contract employment. The decision to determine who is a
contractor rests with UIA by relying on IRS 20 factors whenever a worker is misclassified as a contractor.

Corporate Officer Wages

For UIA purposes, services performed by a corporate officer are subject to UIA tax reporting and are not
exempt. If the corporate officer is performing any services for his or her business entity, then the wages from
the services are taxable for UIA purposes. If the employing unit does not have an Employer Account Number
(EAN), then UIA registration is required.

Seasonal Employment

Michigan law allows an employer to apply for seasonal designation if they operate during not more than
26 weeks (182 days) within any 52- week period but Ul Form 1155, Designation as Seasonal Employer,
must be received 20 days before the beginning of the seasonal period. Once the seasonal designation
request is approved, it denies unemployment benefits to the seasonal workers if the employer has given
those workers a reasonable assurance of returning to work the next season.

O Construction industry is exempt by law.

O Any seasonal business or employer must still file quarterly wage/tax report.


https://www.michigan.gov/leo/-/media/Project/Websites/leo/Documents/UIA/Employer-Forms/UIA-1155.pdf?rev=aaad7e6d55f34b3c82e4fb0dab88c5fc
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Common Exempt Employing Units

The following employing units are not considered employers for UIA purposes if operating without employees:
O Limited Liability Company (LLC).

O Sole Proprietorship.

O Partnership.

Employing Unit Registration

Employing units must properly notify the UIA of their existence in business so the UIA can make an official
determination as to whether it is a liable employer.

It is recommended to use the online portal to register for an EAN.

Online Registration

Michigan Business Tax Registration, Online & Form 518

UIA offers an online process to register for and receive your EAN. The online registration eliminates the need to
complete and mail in Form 518, Michigan Business Tax Registration booklet. It will also result in the assignment
of a MiWAM account, with immediate limited access, being automatically created instead of going through
different steps to create and gain access if completing paper application.

O Begin Online Registration.

O Download the State of Michigan Form 518, Michigan Business Tax Registration booklet.


https://miwam.unemployment.state.mi.us/mip/ereg//_/
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/taxes/518_10-17_605471_7.pdf
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Information Needed to Begin Your Registration

@ A Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN).

The owner, corporate officer, partner or member’s date of birth, Social Security Number (SSN) and
corresponding address.

The Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) assigned by the Internal Revenue Services (IRS) for
an entity owned by a foreign individual.
@ For new employer, make sure you know:
O Date of first employment (hiring date).
O When you met the payroll requirement (liability threshold).
If you have changed the entity type of your existing business (e.g., from sole proprietor to partnership,

or incorporating a sole proprietorship or partnership) or acquired all or any part of the assets,
organization, trade, or business of an existing business having employees in Michigan, then you need:

O EAN and FEIN of the business being acquired.

O Date of the acquisition.

O Percentage of assets acquired.

O Percentage of organization (employees) acquired.

O Verify if the former owner has multiple locations relating to the EAN of your acquisition.

Registering Online

Where do you go to Register?

There are multiple ways to start the online registration:

@ Go to Michigan.gov/UIA

O Under Services, Employer Services
O Click on Register a Business.

O C(lick Start eRegistration tab to complete the 12 steps, then submit.

O Under Employers, click on Employer homepage, under Register for Michigan Taxes
O Click on Employer Registration.
O C(lick Start eRegistration tab to complete the 12 Steps, then submit.

@ Go to MiWAM Employer Registration
O Click Start eRegistration tab to complete the 12 Steps, then submit.


https://www.michigan.gov/leo/bureaus-agencies/uia
https://miwam.unemployment.state.mi.us/mip/ereg//
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Confirmation Number

O Received after completing and submission of the on-line application.
O Received if saving the online application to complete later.

Completed application with future liability date can be updated but user has 90 days from when the
application was initially submitted.

You can receive your UIA EAN in less than 3 days if your liability date is prior or current date.

How Do You Update, Track or Complete Saved Application?

Enter valid FEIN and confirmation number at Start eRegistration page.

Department of Labor and Economic Dpportunity

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

= MiIWAM Employer Registration

#} eRegistration

Click the Start eRegistration button to begin the eRegistration process.

= If you have saved an application to finish at a later time, it will appear in the Requests list below.

« Completed applications as well as partially completed applications will be available in the Requests list for 90 days from the day your application
was submitted.

= |f your Request states 'RESUME' then the application was saved but NOT submitied. To continue your application press the RESUME link to view
the incomplete application. To edit the application, select the 'Change’ link on the left side of the screen to continue the application

» |fyour Request states "VIEW' then your application was submitted. Please return in 2-3 business days to check the status of your application.

Requests

View/Edit FEIN Ul Account # Ul Status Treasury Status Date

O EANwill display if there is no pending issue with the application.
O The employer has 90 days from when the application is saved or submitted to make changes.
O To update or complete Saved application.

O Click Resume or View just below View/Edit.

O Click View Submission.

O Click Change tab and then select applicable step to continue or update.

O Resubmit the application when done.
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Employer Notification

Upon receipt of registration documents, Ul will determine whether the employing unit is a liable employer
under MES Act and then issue Form 1183, Notice of Determination of Employer Status. A contributing employer
will also be issued Form UIA 1771, Tax Rate Determination. The employer is now required to file quarterly tax
report(s) after Form 1183 is issued.

If employing unit becomes an employer, then they are liable for the entire year. For instance, agricultural or
household employing unit becomes liable employer during the Third quarter of the year, the employer must
still file all prior quarterly wage/tax reports (First and Second quarters) in the same calendar year if wages
were paid.

Michigan Web Account Manager (MiWAM)

For employers that registered through the online portal and after the Employer Account is automatically
assigned without staff intervention:

O Online account called MiWAM is created.
O UIA Form 1023, Authorization Code, is mailed.
O Temporary (limited) access is also granted only for 10 days to allow Wage/Tax report to be filed.

O Must enter Authorization Code upon receipt to gain permanent access.

Exceptions where MiWAM account is not added:

O Online registration becomes an exception requiring staff to complete the registration process to obtain
an EAN, for instance if there is already an existing closed employer account on record.

O Paper registration is completed by staff to obtain an EAN.
O Email for the new online application is already in use.

The employer is encouraged to create a MiWAM account (sign up as an employer) even if they have a third
party (payroll company) to file and/or pay their quarterly Wage/Tax Report. The employer is solely responsible
for any missing report or unpaid taxes.

Missing Reports and Non-Liable (NL) Employer

For employers that fail to comply and file the required wage/tax report may result in Ul changing the
employer status to NL. The employer is encouraged to file quarterly wage/tax reports when EAN is assigned
and avoid going through another registration process if UIA changes the account status to NL.



https://miwam.unemployment.state.mi.us/EmpMiWAM/_/#2
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The 12-Steps of eRegistration

® STEP 1

Click Select Registration
Reasons to begin Step 1.

= eRegistration

&} eRegistration * New Regisiration

1. Steps 0 of 12 completed 2 Certify and Submit Appiication

Steps 0 of 12 completed

step 1: ( Select Regjstration ﬁeasons

—LEGEND

® Ciick to view more information
" The Step is Complete

! The Step Contains Errors

Required figlds designated
by:

e
= Atriangle in the top left
corner
« Afooltip that says required
Required fields, left blank,
will block the availability of
future steps.
l Hep ey
Select Registration Reasons 9 ?» x
Select the reason for

your registration.

Note: Ifyou get an error
message by selecting
“Reinstated an Existing
Account’; you need to select
another reason to continue.
This happens when the

UIA already has closed

the employer account

and the account has been
terminated over 1 year or is
active (if you already have
an active account, it will
generate an error).

Click OK to continue.

& stz 1 compLETED

e-Registration for Michigan Taxes - Select Reasons

IMPORTANT INFORMATION: Please read the following information pertaining to the new tax law.

Corporate Income Tax:

On May 25, 2011, Governor Rick Snyder signed Public Act 38 of 2011, officially enacting the Corporate Income Tax (CIT), effective January 1, 2012,
The Corporate Income Tax will replace the Michigan Business Tax (MBT), which expires December 31, 2011

Beginning January 1, 2012, an entity that files federal income tax as a C Corporation must register for Corporate Income Tax if it has annual gross receipis, apportioned or allocated fo
Michigan, greater than $350,000.

Financial institutions and insurance companies must register for CIT regardless of their level of gross receipts.

The Gorporate Income Tax Act (GITA] imposes a 6% business income tax, except that jes and financial instituf

pay special taxes

To obtain more information on the Corporate Income Tax, please go to www michigan gov/ireasury.

Check merboxes that best describe the reasons for this application. o
Note: multiple boxes can be selected.

u Started a New Business

D Reinstated an Existing Account(s)

|:| Hired Employee / Hired Michigan Resident ”
|| incorporated / Purchased an Existing Business

|:| Acquired / Transferred All / Part of a Business

D Added a New Location(s)

|:| PEQ: Client Level Reporting

|:| Report Wages After Total Transfer / Sale of Business
[ other (expiain)
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& STEP 2

Click Answer Liability

QueStions for MiChigan ¥ eRegistration » New Registration
Unemployment Taxes to

begin Step 2. 2. Certify and Submit Application

Steps 1 of 12 completed

—LEGEND

v Step 1:  Select Registration Reasons
Regi: if a

Step 2:  Answer %‘a i

® Click to view mere information

ot > + The Step is Complete

! The Step Contains Errors

/ Question for Michigan Unemployme

Required fields designated
o3| by

+ Atriangle in the top left
corner

= Atooltip that says required
Required fields, left blank,

will block the availability of
future steps.

Cancel

" " Liability Question for Michigan Unemployment Taxes
Answer “Yes” if you i 2 i
arereg istering for a Liability Question for Michigan Unemployment Taxes
Instructions: It is important to read the entire page to determine if you must register for Michigan Unemployment Taxes
UIA Employer Account
- If you are registering a new business and you meet one of the criteria listed below, check "Yes' and continue.
N um ber, - If you changed the entity type of your existing business (.g. from sole proprietor to partnership, or incorporating a sole proprietorship or partnership) you must obtain a new

UIA Account Number. Check "Yes' and continue.
« If you have a UIA Account Number and you are acquiring/purchasing all or part of another business, check 'No' and continue.

Note:

NOTE: Liability to pay Michigan Unemployment Taxes only occurs when an employing unit meets any of the following criteria: o
- Pays $1,000 or more in gross wages for covered employment in @ calendar year.
. YOU must answer Yes - Has one or more employees in 20 different weeks within a calendar year.
. « Acquires all or part of an existing Michigan business. You must also complete Schedule B - Successorship (Steps 11 & 12) Questionnaire.
lfyou are a Corporate - Pays at least 31,000 cash, not including room and board. for domestic (housenold) service within a calendar quarter.
- Pays at least 520,000 cash, not including room and board, for agricultural service within a calendar quarter, OR employs at least 10 @
ofﬁcer and are the agricultural workers in each of 20 different weeks in the current or previous calendar year.
I I f th + Elects coverage under the terms of the MES Act. @
- Is subject to federal unemployment tax
only empiloyee o e PR, [i}
bUSlneSS. ‘When any one of the above criteria is met, you must complete Schedule A - Liability Questionnaire (Step 10).
o, If it is subsequently discovered that information has been omitted at the time of completing this registration form, it will be presumed that you intentionally
« You must answer NO if concealed information, for which you may be subject to the civil and/or criminal penalties provided in Sections 54 and 64b of the Michigan Employment

Security (MES) Act.

you are a sole proprietor,

H ‘You must also begin filing Employer's Quarterly Wage/Tax Report. Unemployment taxes are due and payable beginning with the first calendar quarter in which you had payroll
partnership, oran LLC Kepin s 35t e A 25 S0 25, L 25,05 40 5
wi th no employees Oth er Are you registering for a UIA Employer Account Number? Required

than yourself.

Receive Your UIA Correspondence Electronically

CI 1 Ck OK tO Contl nue. @ heck this box if you would like to receive UIA correspondence electronically. 9

& step2 compLETED
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® STEP3

Click Federal Employer

Identification Number to
begin Step 3.

#} eReqistration » 'New Regisiration

1. Steps 2 of 12 completed 2 Certify and Submit Application

Steps 2 of 12 completed

—LEGEND

+/ Step1:  Select Registration Reasons
Resprtion Jienane: ® Click to view more information
v Step2:  Answer Liability Question for Michigan Unemployment Taxes « The Step is Complete

! Tne Step Contains Errors
< Step 3:  Federal EmmyerEIUenliﬁcation Number > = R

Required fields designated
by:

e

* Atriangle in the top left
comer

= Atooltip that says required
Required fields, left blank,

will block the availability of
future steps.

Cancel

and click OK to continue.
Treasury 518 e-Registration for Michigan Taxes - FEIN

0 STEP 3 COMPLETED Please enter the Federal Employer ldentification Mumber (FEIN) of the business reqgistering with the

Michigan Department of Treasury and/or the Unemployment Insurance Agency. If you do not have your
Federal Employer Identification Number, click here to obtain one from the IRS Website.

9 Federal Employer Identification Number: | Reguired
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& STEP 4

Information to begin
Step 4.

A} eRegistration » New Registration

1. Steps 3 of 12 completed 2. Cerlify and Submit Application

Steps 3 of 12 completed

—LEGEND

+/ Step1:  Select Registration Reasons
Hiegpesrsion, Nossoo: ® Ciick to view more information

s Step2:  Answer Liability Question for Michigan Unemployment Taxes « The Step is Complete

! The Step Contains Errors

+ Step3:  Federal Employer Identification Number
FEIN: Required fields designated
Step4:  Enter Busine

Beaued |y

« Atriangle in the top left
corner

« Atooltip that says required

Required fields, left blank,
will block the availability of
future steps.

Cancel Next Step »

. B Inf i
Enter the Required Leas R e a9 : &
information. Treasury 518 e-Registration for Michigan Taxes - Business Information FEIN:
Company Name or Owner's Full Hame (include. if applicable, Corp, Business Name. Assumed Mame or DBA (as registered with the ﬂ
. Be sure to use Inc, PG, LC, LLC, LLF, el county)
company name if Corp et
Business Email Address: p Business Fax: Business Phone Country Business Telephone:
InC, PC LC, LLC or LLP. Required _ usa ~ Requi | | Required
Business Ownership Type: Are you incorporated?
» Besureto use MRequired = <] [ne v
individual name if Are you incarporating an existing business? Purchasing an existing business?
sole proprietor or S X it
partnership.
NAICS Required MAICS Search o
« Ownership type.
. . VWhat products, if any, do you sell (sold to final consumer)?
+ Contact information.
° N um ber Of Iocations' ﬂ Mumber of Business Locations in MI .F-:eclu.lre: |
. . . Are you a Seasonal Employer? ﬂ
O Ser\"ce prOVIder Infol Regquired ~ | In what monih does the business open? 0 Close? (i}
if a pplica ble. Operating as an Employee Leasing Company? Employee Leasing License Number:
Required w
Click OK to continue. Dyt e Pyl SENVCET.

| Required ~

Authorized represeniative (Power of Atforney}
have manage access rights fo the account

formation can be added o the business account by using Michigan Treasury Omilime (MTO) if you
MTO at mito._treasury. michigan.gov for more information

& step 4 compLETED

Information about Powaer of Atftornay (POA) for Unemployment Insurance Agency Only: If you have a payroll service provider they will need
to add the WA account number assigned for this business utilizing the Update Client Level Reporting task from their MIWAM account in order to
be recognized as an suthonzed representative with POA/MIWAM suthorizations for the business being registered.

Cancel
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& STEP 5

If you indicated the = eRegistration
bUSineSS' Organization &} eRegistration * New Regisiration

type is a corporation,

Click Enter Corporate 2. Cerfify and Submit Application

Information to begin

Step 5 Steps 4 of 12 completed
& [~ LEGEND
. Step1:  Select Registration Reasons

NOte' Corporate Bempeirtion laoo; ® Click to view more information
ﬁeld is not required if +/ Step2:  Answer Liability Question for Michigan Unemployment Taxes + The Step is Complete
incorporated outside of + Step3:  Federal Employer Identification Number ! The step Contains Errors

< o FEIN: Required fields designated
Michigan. <+ Step4:  Enter Business Information L == by

Legal Name: » Atriangle in the top left
If you indicated any other eh 5. Enter Corporate Informatio coimer
b . . . h « Atooltip that says required
USIneSS organlzatlon Required fields, left blank

type, Skl p to Step 6. 'T.\:Iltl[i::;o:tl;;rr availability of

] newsien>

Enter the Required Corporate Information 0 > x

information and click OK

to continue. Treasury 518 e-Registration for Michigan Taxes - Corporate Information
State of | -  Required v

& stepscompLeTep S o eorerEen

B R ired
Date of Incorporation: EqLIred

Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) Corporate ID Numbe;.ﬂ

If you do not have a Corporate ID Mumber, did you apply for one?
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& STEP6

Click Enter Officer

Information to begin £} eRegistration > New Registration

Step 6.
1. Steps 5 of 12 completed 2. Certify and Submit Application

Steps 5 of 12 completed

~LEGEND

+ Step1:  Select Registration Reasons

Registration Reason: ® click to view more information

+ Step2:  Answer Liability Question for Michigan Unemployment Taxes +/ The Step is Complete

¥ The Step Contains Ermors
" Step3: Federal Employer Identification Number > P
FEIN: Required figlds designated
Bt |

+/ Step4:  Enter Business Information
Lagal Name: » Atriangle in the top lefi

+ Step5:  Enter Corporate Information cormer
| ARA Gorporate

D Number: = Atooltip that says required
Step6:  Enter Officer Information Required figlds, left blank,

j will block the availability of
future steps.

Next Step »

Complete all information Owner/Partner/Officer Address 0 * x
for each owner, partner
or corporate officer and
click OK to continue.

+ New Record

Officer 1

Employer e-Registration - Officer Information

Complete all information for each owner, pariner or corporate officer. Do not include sharehelders who are not officers.
If the Business Type is 'Parinership’, information is required for at least two Pariners.

& step6 compLETED

Address
Address Line 1 Reguired
Address Line 2
Unit Type v.g Unit
Country Usa wv| ciy |Reguired
State / Province g jied v| zIP/Postal Required
First Name_ Middle Name
Required
Last Name E“" ail Address
Required
Telephone Country Telephone # Date of Birth Business Title
Usa W Required Reguired Reguired L
§u'ci_al Security Number Taxpayer Identification Number ﬁ Drivers License / State ID

Reguired Required
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& STEP 7

<J TABLE OF CONTENTS I 1 9

Click Enter Location = eRegistration

Information to begin

£} eRegistration > New Registration

Step 7.

1. Sleps 6 of 12 completed 2. Certify and Submit Application

Steps 6 of 12 completed

r~LEGEND
+/ Step1:  Select Registration Reasons
Regetrufion Redson: ® Ciick to view mere information
+/ Step2:  Answer Liability Question for Michigan Unemployment Taxes ' The Step is Complete

+/ Step3:  Federal Empioyer Identification Number
FEIN:

v Step4:  Enter Business Information
Legal Name:

+/ Step5:  Enter Corporate Information
LARA Corporate ID Number:

+ Step6:  Enter Officer Information

The Step Coniains Errors

Required fields designated

Fepet | -

+ Afriangle in the top left
corner

» Atooltip that says required
Required fields, left blank,

will block the availability of
future steps.

_

Check the Iocation bOX Business And Location Address o 7 =
if your business is not Location Information

Iocated in the State of @heck this box if your business address is not in the State of Michigan.

Michigan. Enter the Legal Adaress

employer address’ Address Line 1 Fm

Address Line 2

Note: Do not add an i e %| o
employee’s address as Country usa

£

City | Required

Reguired

a phySiCGI address if the State / Province | MICHIGAN v | zIPiPostal
business is not located in e ]
Michigan.

Address Line 1

click OK to Continue' Address Line 2
Unit Type ~| i
Country usa ~| i

ZIP I Postal

<

0 STEP 7 COMPLETED State / Province | MICHIGAN

Do not enter an employee’s Michigan home address if they are working from a home office unless the employee is

the owner or an officer of the business.

(Leave blank. if same as Legal)
Address Line 1

Address Line 2

Unit Type - Unit
Country UsAa w City
State ! Province MICHIGAN R ZIP [ Postal
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& STEP 8

Click Add Additional M

Locations to begin Step 8 4 eRegistration > New Registration
if you have other physical
locations beyond those 2. Ceriify and Submit Application

identified in Step 7.
Steps 7 of 12 completed
If you do not have o rLEGEND
v Step 1: Select Registration Reasons
a dd |t|ona I physlca I Reqsimton Resmie 9 Click to view more information
~ Step 2: Answer Liability Question for Michigan Unemployment Taxes " -
A a A o The Step is Complete
locations in Michigan, :
e « The Step Contains Errors
H v Step 3: Federal Employer Identification Number
CheCk the box to Sklp to FEIN: Required fields designated
Feaed|| [y -
Step 9. ~ Step4: Enter Business Information by:
Legal Name: = Atriangle in the top left
~ Step 5: Enter Corporate Information COmer.
LARA Corporate ID Number: = Atooltip that says required
~ Step 6: Enter Officer Information Required fields, left blank,
will block the availability of
v Step 7: Enter Location Information future steps.
Legal Address:
Step 8:

@

Complete for additional Additional Mi Locations 0 2 x
Michigan locations* and
check the checkbox if it
should be a chargeable

Location 1 B Add Location

Additional Michigan Locations

location.
Location Name Reguired
Note: This Step will only @check this box if you would like for this location to be a chargeable location
display ifyou lndlcatg —
more than one location Address
under Step 4 Address Line 1 Required
Address Line 2 .
Click OK to Continue. Unit Type % N
Country usa w City | Reguired
State f Province MICHIGANM v ZIPfPostal | Reguired
& step s compLeTED .

P Remove this Location e Copy row B Add Location

Cancel

*An employer can have multiple locations. The employer can request that benefit charges are broken down by

location which is called a chargeable location. The Agency will furnish at least quarterly, to each employer, a statement
summarizing the total of the benefits charged against the employer’s account during the period. If the employer requests,
the summary can be broken down by places of employment.
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& STEP9

Click Enter Tax = eRegistration

Information to begin 4} eRegistration »  New Regisiration

Step 9.
Steps 8 of 12 completed 2. Certify and Submit Application

Steps 7 of 12 completed

—LEGEND

~ Step 1: Select Registration Reasons

Registration Reason: ® Ciick to view more information
~ Step 2: Answer Liability Question for Michigan Unemployment Taxes « The Step is Complete
~ Step 3: Federal Employer Identification Number ! The Step Gomalns Exrors

FEIN: Required fields designated
+ Step4: Enter Business Information SN

Legal Name: = Atriangle in the top left
~' Step5: Enter Corporate Information el

LARA Corporate ID Number: * Atooltip that says required
+~/ Step6:  Enter Officer Information Required fields, left blank,

1 Officer Has Been Entered will block the availability of
v

Step7:  Enter Location Information future steps.

Legal Address:

v Step 8: Add Additional MI Locations

Step 9: Enter Tax InIﬂrma[ion
Save Draft Cancel

_

Next Step »

Enter the month your tax Tax Information e ? x

year ends. Treasury 518 e-Registration for Michigan Taxes - Tax Information

For SUW (Sales Use ﬂ Enter the month your tax year ends (numeric). GGQUB
’ ’

Withholding)* taxes, the @ SALES TAX

taX year Wi" be the same Are you registering for Sales Tax? Reguired o

as the calendar year

. ) @ USE TAX

(endlng in December)' Are you registering for Use Tax? ’m ~

For CIT (Corporate §» EMPLOYER AND RETIREMENT WITHHOLDING

Income TaX)** taX, the Are you registering for Employer and Refirement Withholding? .'.r-:eq ired v

tax year WI" be the ﬂ ANNUAL GROSS RECEIPT 5 (CIT)

same as your ﬁscal year Are the Annual Gross Receipts over $350,0007 .'.r-:equ.l'rec ~

(ending in the month you

. . FLOW-THROUGH WITHHOLDING
indicate here). tod

Are you registering for Flow Through Withholding? Reguired L

 MOTOR FUEL

Are you registering for Motor Fuel? Reguired |

© IFTA Tax

Are you registering for IFTA Tax? Reguired L

ﬂ TOBACCO TAX

Are you registering for Tobacco Tax? Reguired |

*Line items 2, 3, 4
**Line item 5
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& STEP9

If your business will be Tax Information 0 ? x
responsible for sales tax,
select Yes to register and
enter the date the sales ﬂ Enter the month your tax year ends (numeric). iz
tax liability will begin
(MM/DD/YYYY). @ SALES TAX )

Are you registering for Sales Tax? fes o

Treasury 518 e-Registration for Michigan Taxes - Tax Information

Select the amount of
sales tax you think you
will owe per month.

Sales Tax Liability Begin Date: .ﬂ 1-Aug-2020 =

Estimated monthly payment for Sales Tax: ﬂ

fi i ically ( ] 7
These thresholds Will you be making payments electronically (EFT/ACH)?
translate to your initial © use Tax
filing frequency (how s s

Are you registering for Use Tax?

often you need to report
and pay this tax to ) EMPLOYER AND RETIREMENT WITHHOLDING
Treasury)' Are you registering for Employer and Refirement Withholding? | Required b

ﬂ ANNUAL GROSS RECEIPTS (CIT)

Are the Annual Gross Receipis over 3350 0007 Required W

ﬁ FLOW-THROUGH WITHHOLDING

Are you registering for Flow Through Withhelding? Required

a

» MOTOR FUEL

Are you registering for Metor Fuel? Regquired ~
€ IFTA Tax
Are you registering for IFTA Tax? Reqguired b

ﬂ TOBACCO TAX

Are you registering for Tobacco Tax?

OK Cancel
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& STEP9

SUW taxes are reported Tax Information 0 7 x

on a combined return.
Treasury 518 e-Registration for Michigan Taxes - Tax Information

If your business will be
responsible for use tax
on sales and rentals and/ © SALES TAX
or withholding tax, you

9 Enter the month your tax year ends (numeric). 12

. A Are you registering for Sales Tax? Va5 W
will register and select R
. Sales Tax Liability Begin Date: 01-Aug-2020
estimated monthly tax o .
due thTEShO|dS. Estimated monthly payment for Sales Tax:

Will you be making payments elecironically (EFT/ACH)? Va5 w

If you select different
thresholds for the 6 USE1AK )

SUW taxes, the hig hest Are you registering for Use Tax? Yes ~
estimated threshold you Use Tax Liability Begin Date: 01-Aug-2020
select will dictate the Estimated monthly payment for Use Tax: p
initial filing frequency for
all registered SUW

Will you be making payments electronically (EFT/ACH)? fes W

tax types. ) EMPLOYER AND RETIREMENT WITHHOLDING
Are you registenng tor Employer and Retirement Withholding? Yes W
Employer and Refirement Withholding Liability Begin Date: 01-Aug-2020
Eslimated monthly payment for Income Tax:
Will you be making payments electronically (EFT/ACH)? Yes W

9 ANNUAL GROSS RECEIPTS (CIT)

Are the Annual Gress Receipis over 3350, 0007 LT
ﬂ FLOW-THROUGH WITHHOLDING

Are you registering for Flow Through Withholding? Reguired ~
§» MOTOR FUEL

Are you registering for Motor Fusl? Required w
 IFTA Tax

Are you registering for IFTA Tax? Reguired ~
ﬂ TOBACCO TAX

Are you registering for Tobacco Tax? Required '
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& STEP9

as a C-Corporation Treasury 518 e-Registration for Michigan Taxes - Tax Information

federally and you
anticipate apportioned
gross receipts exceeding

ﬂ' Enter the month your tax year ends (numeric). 12

P sALES TAX
$350,000 by the end of -
. Are you registering for Sales Tax? Yes w
the tax year, register for
Sales Tax Liability Begin Date: 01-Aug-2020
CIT tax.
Estimated monthly payment for Sales Tax: ﬂ Over 5300 W
Will you be making payments electronically (EFT/ACH)? Yes
 Use TAX
Are you registering for Use Tax? Yes ~
Use Tax Liability Begin Date: .01-Aug-21320
Estimated monthly payment for Use Tax: ﬂ Up to 5300 i
Will you be making payments electronically (EFT/ACH)? Yes |

ﬂ EMPLOYER AND RETIREMENT WITHHOLDING

Are you registering for Employer and Retirement Withholding? Yes W
Employer and Retirement Withholding Liability Eegin Date: 01-Aug-2020
Estimated monthly payment for Income Tax: Up to 565 W
Will you be making payments electronically (EFT/ACH)? Yes
@UAL GROSS RECEIPTS (CIT) >

Are the Annual Gross Receipis over 33500007 ‘fes W
Annual Gross Receipts over 5350 000 Begin Date: . 15-Dec-2020
Will you be making payments electronically (EFT/ACH)? ‘fes W .

ﬂ FLOW-THROUGH WITHHOLDING

Are you registering for Flow Through Withholding? HNo w

P MOTOR FUEL

Are you registering for Motor Fuel? Reqguirsd

@
£

€ IFTA Tax

Are you registering for IFTA Tax?

ﬂ TOBACCO TAX

Are you registering for Tobacco Tax?
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& STEP9

Flow-through
withholding tax is no
longer an active tax
in Michigan and

will automatically
populate “No”.

Select the appropriate
registration status

for Motor Fuel, IFTA
(International Fuel Tax
Agreement), and
Tobacco taxes.

Click OK to continue.

& step 9 compLETED

<J TABLE OF CONTENTS

Tax Information 0 7 %

Treasury 518 e-Registration for Michigan Taxes - Tax Information

” Enter the month your tax year ends (numeric).

12

D sALES TAX

Are you registering for Sales Tax? | Wes W

Sales Tax Liability Begin Date: | 01-Aug-2020

Estimated monthly payment for Sales Tax: 9 | Cver 3300 .

Will you be making payments electronically (EFT/ACH)? | es W
P USE TAX

Are you registering for Use Tax? | ves

Use Tax Liability Begin Date: .Cl‘l-.ﬂug-Zﬂ?D

Estimated monthly payment for Use Tax: p Up to 5300

Will you be making payments electronically (EFT/ACH)? | Wes
p EMPLOYER AND RETIREMENT WITHHOLDING

Are you registering for Employer and Retirement Withholding? | Wes W

Employer and Retirement Withholding Liability Begin Date: 01-Aug-2020

Estimated monthly payment for Income Tax: | Up to 3685 W

Will you be making payments elecironically (EFT/ACH)? | ves W
p ANNUAL GROSS RECEIPTS (CIT)

Are the Annual Gross Receipts over 5350 0007 Yes W

Annual Gross Receipls over 3350, 000 Begin Date: 15-Dec-2020 o

Will you be making payments elecironically (EFT/ACH)? | Wes W

FLOW-THROUGH WITHHOLDING
Are you registering for Flow Through Withhelding? Ho v
Are you registering for Motor Fuel? | Ho W
Q IFTA Tax )
Are you registering for IFTA Tax? No W
i TOBACCO TAX
Are you registering for Tobacco Tax? | HNo w

25
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® STEP 10

Click Schedule A -

Liability Questionnaire to 4 eRegitration * New Regisirion
begin Step 10.

. 2. Cerlify and Submii Application
Based on previous

responses, this step may Steps 9 of 12 completed
be grayed out if it does

~LEGEND

Step6:  Enter Officer Information Required fields, left blank

will block the availability of
future steps.

+~/ Step1: Select Registration Reasons
not apply. If so, proceed ;
pp y. ! p Rogisiraion Raason: ® Ciick to view more information
to Step 1 1 . +/ Step2:  Answer Liability Question for Michigan Unemployment Taxes + The Step is Complete
¥ The Step Contains Errors
+/ Step3: Federal Employer Identification Number = B
FEIN: Required fields designated
= . Begured | -
+/ Step4: Enter Business Information
Legal Name: = Atriangle in the top left
«+/ Step5: Enter Corporate Information Lormer
LARA Corporate ID Number: « Atooltip that says required
e
<

Step7:  Enter Location Information

Legal Address:

pd

Step 8:  Add Additional Ml Locations
1 have no additional MI locations {Go to Step 9)

aY

Step 9:  Enter Tax Information

tep 10:  Schedule A ]F ability Questionnaire

Next Step »
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& STEP 10

Enter the date you first Schedule A 0 ? x
employed someonein o ] ]
i Schedule A - Liability Questionnaire
Michigan.
On what date did/will you first employ anyone in Michigan? Reguired

Select Whether you area Choose the ifem which best describes your business Reguired v
regular (1), agricultural
(2), or household (3) AELTHREL:
employer and the Select an employer type (if applicable). b
corres Ondin date ou If you have had a gross payroll of 31,000 or more within a calendar year, enter the date it o — =

P . 9 y was reached or will be reached. ey
met or will meet the
Ilablllty reqUIrement as If you have had 20 or more calendar weeks in which one or mors persons performed | 5o, ey
an emp|oyer. services for you within a calendar year, give the date the 20th week was reached or will be

reached. The weeks do not have to be consecufive nor the persons the same.

Note:

» You must provide
only one (1) payroll
requirement, either
when you reached If you have acquired a business, the “Date You First Employ Anyone in
$1,000 or 20 weeks of Michigan” and the “Date You Have Reached the Payroll Requirement” must
employment. be the same as the “Date You Acquired the Assets, Organization, Trade, or

Business” on Schedule B.
» Do not select Employer

Type FUTA Subjectivity
or Elective Coverage if
you have already met
the liability requirement.

« A governmental entity or
non-profit organization
must identify in the
employer type drop box
whether you intend to
be a contributing or
reimbursing employer.

Click OK to continue.
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& STEP 10

+ Enter the date you first
employed someone in
Michigan.

» Choose applicable
business description
(section 1-3).

» Enter the date you met
or will meet the payroll
requirement.

If you selected Nonprofit
Employers, this is how
the screen will appear.

Provide the requested
information.

+ Annual gross payroll.

+ If funded by grant,
then provide source,
start, and end date.

Note: All non-profit
employers who elect
reimbursing status with
gross payroll of more than
$100,000, are required

to provide Surety Bond,
Irrevocable letter of credit
or other banking device
approved by UIA.

Click OK to continue.

& srep 10 compLETED
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Schedule A O o0 e o ?

eRegistration 20f2 &2

Schedule A - Liability Questionnaire

On what date did/will you first employ anyone in Michigan? ] 01-Nov-201

Choose the item which best describes your business Section 1 - Employers other than agricultural or domestic/h¢

SECTION 1. Employers Other Than Agricultural or Domestic/Household

Select an employer type (if applicable). 1. Nonprofit Employers
If you have had a gross payroll of $1,000 or more within a calendar year, enter the date it

was reached or will be reached. 29-Dec-2017

If you have had 20 or more calendar weeks in which one or more persons performed
services for you within a calendar year, give the date the 20th week was reached or will be
reached. The weeks do not have to be consecutive nor the persons the same.

Nonprofit Employers

All non-profit employers who elect REIMBURSING status must provide the UIA a copy of the documentation,
from the IRS granting 501(c)(3) status.

Check this box, if you elect to be a REIMBURSING employer and submit a copy of your 501(c)(3) determination. You
may submit by mail, fax, or electronically through email. Instructions on submitting your 501(c)(3) are available upon
complstion of e-Registration. FAILURE TO CHECK THIS BOX WILL RESULT IN THE ESTABLISHMENT OF YOUR
LIABILITY AS A CONTRIBUTING EMPLOYER.

Bonding Requirements

The MES Act, Section 13(a) requires that non-profit employers who elect reimbursing status on or after December 21, 1989,
and who have, or expect to have, a gross payroll of more than $100,000 during any calendar year, are to provide a surety
Bond, irrevocable letter of credit or other banking device approved by the UIA, in an amount {o be determined by the UlA to
secure the employer's obligations under the MES Act_ If you reach the $100,000 figure in a later year, you are obligated to
notify the UIA, and provide the bond at that time

Please provide amount (or estimate) of your gross annual payroll. 15,000.00

Is your organization funded more than 50 percent by a grant? No

Source:

Start Date: End Date:
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® STEP 11

B - Successorship
Questionnaire: Part 1 to
begin Step 11.

A} eRegistration > New Registration

0 of 12 completed 2. Certify and Submit Application

Steps 10 of 12 completed

—LEGEND

+/ Step1:  Select Registration Reasons

Hogiiaton Heason: # Ciick to view more information
+/ Step2z:  Answer Liability Question for Michigan Unemployment Taxes + The Step is Complate
" Siep3: Federal Employer Identification Number ! The:Siee Contins B

FEIN: Required fields designated
«/ Step4:  Enter Business Information el by

p

Legal Name: = Atriangle in the top left
+ Step5:  Enter Corporate Information amer

LARA Corporate ID Number: = Atooltip that says required
+/ Step6:  Enter Officer Information Required fields, left blank

will block the availability of

+/ Step7:  Enter Locaton Intormation fuime oS

Legal Address:
+/ Step8:  Add Additional MI Locations

1 have no additional Mi locations (Go to Step 9) v}

«

Step9:  Enter Tax Information

+/ Step10: Schedule A - Liability Questionnaire

Emplovacds

Schedule B - Successorship Quesli@

Next Step »
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& STEP 11

Select the correct Schedule B - Successorship Questionnaire: Part 1 0 * x

response for each line ] o
Schedule B - Successorship Questionnaire

item agd ?nter hOW You must complete all the items in this application accurately and completely. Failure to do so will be evidence of
man usinesses. intentional misrepresentation and may subject you to the civil and/or criminal penalties provided in Sections 54 and 54b
y of the Michigan Employment Security (MES) Act.

Successorzship Reporting Requirement:

Note: Ifyou made If you have acquired any part of the Michigan assets, trade or business of another employer, by purchase, rental, lease, inheritance,
. . e merger, foreclosure, bankruptcy, gift or any other form of fransfer, you must provide the following information. If you made multiple
multlple achISltlonS, acquisitions, you must provide the following information. If you made multiple acquisitions, you must complete a separate UIA

o o Schedule B for each Acguisition. If you made no acquisifions. you are still required to answer the following questions.
you will be required to

If subseguent o completing this registration form, you transfer the assels (by sale or fransfer), or business {producis/services), in

Complete a Separate whale or in part, to a new or previously existing business in Michigan, you must notify this Agency immediately by completing and
submitting an additional Schedule B.
Schedule B for each -
acquisition under
Step 12.
Federal Employer ldentification Mumber (FEIN):
Click OK to continue. ; .
1. In the past 6 years, have you formed, acquired or merged with a business by any means? | Required v |
0 If yes, how many businesses have you formed, acquired or merged with by any means? [ 0
2. At the current fime, are you forming or acquiring a business by any means? :-_F\GQ”'FE'E‘ e
If yes, how many businesses are you forming or acquiring by any means? 0
3. At the current fime, are you incorporating an existing business entity? | Requirsd W
If yes, how many businesses are you incorporating from an existing business entity? 0
4. At the current time, are you merging, by any means, with one or more business entities? Required v
If yes, how many businesses are you merging, by any means? .
5. Are you intending to form a business at a future time, by any means? | Reguired w

ancel
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& STEP 12

Click Schedule

B - Successorship 2% cRegisalion > |New Regiskin
Questionnaire: Part 2 to

begin Step 12. 1 Steps 11 of 12 completed 2. Cerlify and Submit Application
Based on previous Steps 11 of 12 completed

responses, this step may
be grayed out if it does
not apply. If so, proceed
to Next Step.

~LEGEND

Step1:  Select Registration Reasons

Registration Reason: o Click to view more information

Step2:  Answer Liability Question for Michigan Unemployment Taxes + The Stepis Complete
! Tne step Contains Errors
Step3:  Federal Employer Identification Number = d
FEIN: Required fields designated
by

]

Step4:  Enter Business Information
Legal Name: . = Afriangle in the top left

Step5:  Enter Corporate Information cormer

LARA Corporate ID Number: = Atooltip that says required

Step6:  Enter Officer Information Required fields, left blank,
will block the availability of
future sieps.

ST N S S Y

Step7:  Enter Location Information
Legal Address.

+/ Step8:  Add Additional Mi Locations
I have no additional Mi locations (Go to Step 9)

v g Step9:  Enter Tax Information

F Step10: Schedule A - Liability Questionnaire
Empigyer Type:

+/ Step11: Schedule B - Successorship Questionnaire: Part 1

Sstep 12: Schedule B - Successorship Quesl@

Next Step »
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& STEP 12

Enter former owner
account and acquisition
information.

Enter:

« Name, address,
contact, Employer
Account Number (EAN)
or Federal Employer
Identification Number
(FEIN).

 Percentage of sale of
the assets, payroll,
business and trade.

» Acquisition date and
amount (indicate if
there is substantial
owner interest
between the parties.)

Click OK to continue.

& s7ep 12 compLETED
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Schedule B

Schedule B - Successorship Questionnaire

PART 1: QUESTIONS ABOUT PRIOR OR CURRENT BUSINESS FORMATIONS, ACQUISITIONS OR MERGERS
For the following business formation, acquisition or merger type, the employer must indicate the pertinent business name, address and UIA
Account Number in the space provided

Former Qwner's Ul Acct# ﬂ | :ﬂequ.-re::l | Former Owner's FEIN: ﬂ Required
r | | Required :
Corporate Name or DBA: q

Former Cwner's Name: " Format: 9999999 999

| Required

Address

Address line 1 "-.-'faqr..'lrsc I
Addressline 2 |

Country [usa v | UnitType: | | unit | |
City: Required State: :F.;eawred | 2p: [Required i

a. If you formed a new business, what assels did you acquire from the previously existing business? (check all that apply)

'DLand 'DFurnilurefFixlures Dlnvenlow DGuodwill 'DTrade 'DNune
'DBuwlding 'DEquiprnent DAcwunls Payable 1 |Employees 'DCustumer Accounts

b. If you purchased, acquired or merged with an existing business by any means (including lease), what assets did you acquire? (check all that
apply)

'DLand 'DFurnilufeFFixtures |3In\«'enlon.I DGuodwill 'DTrade 'DNone
'\jBuwlding '|3Equipmen1 ]:lAccUunis Payable DErﬂpluyaes 'iqustumel Accounts

c. What was the business activity of the previous business?

[equired

PART 2: ACQUISITION INFORMATION
Please respond to the following guestions as they apply to the business identified in Part 1 on this form.

Percent? Dale Acquired:
[ Required v | 0

1. Did you acquire all, part or none of the agsets of the former business listed in PART 17 ﬂ
Percent? Date Acquired

2. Did you acquire all, part, or none of the or ization{employ payroll/p nnel) of the former  p Wl
business listed in PART 17 Required ~ | o
3. Did you acquire all or part of the employees/payrollipersennel of any former business by leasing [
any of those employeesipayrolipersonnel? [If yes, you must submit a copy of the lease agreement] | Regquired v |

4. Did you acquire all, part, or none of the trade( ts) of the former b listed in _ Percent? pale Acquired.

PART 17

| Required v | L]

- Percent? Date Acquired:

5. Did you acquire all. part, or none of the Michi vices) of the former

business listed in PART 17 “.Eeaul'red v 0

6. Was the Michigan business listed in PART 1 above being operated at the time of acquisition? If no, I no, enter dale ceased
enter the dafe it ceased operation. | Reguired v

| Required v |

7. Are you ing the

you acquired?

&. Is your Michigan business subsiantially owned or controlled in any way by the same inferests that -
owned or trolled the ization, busil or assefs of a former business? | Reguired

_ lf yes, enter balance owed:

!’ Required + | 0
Whole dollars amount only (5):

9. Did you hold any secured interestin any of the Michigan assets acquired?

10. What was the reasenable value of the Michigan organization, trade. business or assets acquired? L a.00]

P Delete this Record & Copy row B Add a Record P
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¢ CERTIFY AND SUBMIT APPLICATION

Click Next Step.

A} eregistration » New Registration

1. Steps 12 of 12 comple! 2. Certify and Submit Application

Steps 12 of 12 completed

r—LEGEND

+/ Step1:  Select Registration Reasons

Regisbabon fieasomn: ® Click to view mers information
+f Step2:  Answer Liability Question for Michigan Unemployment Taxes + The Step is Complate

! The step Contains E

" Step3: Federal Employer Identification Number H e Step Contains Errors

FEIN: & Required fields designated

» . e |y

+~/ Step4:  Enter Business Information i

Lagal Name: = Afriangle in the top lefi
+ Step5:  Enter Corporate Information comar

LARA Corporate ID Number: | = Atooltip that says required
" Step 6: Enter Officer Information Required fields, left blank,

will block the availability of

+ Step7:  Enter Location Information futuje sieps.

Legal Address:
+/ Step8:  Add Additional MI Locations

I have no additional Mi locations (Go to Step 9) a
v Step9:  Enter Tax Information
+/ Step10: Schedule A - Liability Questionnaire

Employer Type:
</ Step1t: Schedule B - Successorship Questionnaire: Part 1
N Step 12: Schedule B - Successorship Questionnaire: Part 2

Complete the

certification section
and click Submit.

£} eRegistration * New Regisiration

1. Steps 12 of 12 completed 2. Certify and Submit Application

Certify and Submit Application

Applicant must read the following statement carefully before clicking Submit button:

| hereby cerify that, under penalty of perjury, all of the information submitied in this application is true and complete. | am aware that submitting false information or omitfing pertinent
or material information in connection with this application is grounds for rejection of my tax registration forms and may subject me fo civil or criminal penalfies.

First Name: Middle Name: Last Name Business Title: GCompany Name: Telephone #

|

Click the Submit button to submit your application for e-Registration. Once you click the Submit butfon, you cannot medify your request
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> CONFIRMATION NUMBER

You will receive a = eRegistration

confirmation number,
indicating your

ﬂeﬂegisiraﬁon % Mew Registration * Confirmation

registration application & confirmation
was Successfu"y Confirmation - Please Print this Page for your Records
Submitted IMPORTANT INFORMATION: Please read the following information pertaining to a new tax law.

Michigan Tax Change Information
On May 25, 2011. Govem or Rlck Sn\rder signed legislation enacling into law the Michigan Corporate Income Tax (CIT}. The CIT took effect January
Exit MiWAM. 1. 2012, and replaced the Michigan B Tax (MBET), except for cerfain businesses that wish to retain cerain cerificated credits.

Michigan's Corporate Income Tax (CIT) imposes a 6 percent income tax on entities that are treated as C Corporations for federal income tax
purposes. Insurance companies and financial insfitufions pay special taxes.

REGISTRATION To obtain more information on the Michigan Corporate Income Tax, please go to www.michigan.gov/treasury

SUBMITTED Thank you for submitting your e-Registration for Michigan Taxes!

Please return to e-Registrafion in 2-3 business days fo check the status of your application. Use the following information below fo locate and frack
your registration status:

= FI +
<:. Eonﬂrmaﬁon 10: 1-086—8?4-EED

Information from the Department of Treasury:

‘Your application for Michigan Business Taxes will be electronically sent to the Depariment of Treasury.
If the status of your application is 'Submitied’, the Depariment of Treasury has received and is processing your applicafion.

If the status of your registration is ‘Completed’. your application was successfully processed and you are regisfered with the Depariment of Treasury.
If you checked the Sales Tax box on your application, your criginal Sales Tax License will amive within 7 days. If you do not receive this information
within this period, please contact our Registration unit at (517) 636-5925.

dd 1o

is for an t or ofher rep ive, complete and submit Form 151(Power of Attorney) fo Treasury

I your mailing
If you are using a payroll service you will need to complete and submit Form 3683,
Please write your FEIN Account Number on the documentation.

Please mail them to:
Registration Unit

Michigan Dept. of Treasury
PO Box 30477

Lansing, MI 43308

Printable View

> PROCESSING AND DELIVERY INFORMATION

Wait until the $1,000 liability date you referenced in Step 10 is reached; the e-registration application will not
be processed until this time.

Form 1183 - Confirmation of Status and Form 1771 - Tax Rate Determination will be sent to the business’
mailing address or the email address (depending on the election made in Step 2) the next business day.

MiWAM email sent and Form 1023 - Authorization Code for Master Access will be sent via mail the next
business day.



STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY
UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE AGENCY

UIA is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids, services and
other reasonable accommodations are available upon request toindividuals
with disabilities. TTY services are available at 1-866-366-0004.

4/2022


https://www.michigan.gov/leo/0,5863,7-336-94422_97241---,00.html
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