Michigan Tribal Historic Preservation Officers and Tribal Cultural Representatives

In accordance with the National Historic Preservation Act (NHPA), a Tribal Historic Preservation Officer (THPO) is the designated tribal preservation official of a federally recognized Indian Tribe. A THPO is responsible for the administration of any or all of the functions of a State Historic Preservation Officer (SHPO) with respect to tribal land.  The Michigan SHPO works closely with THPOs from each recognized tribe in the state.

THPO and Tribal Cultural representatives for Michigan's twelve federally-recognized tribes are listed below.
Updated July 29, 2019

Bay Mills Indian Community
Paula Carrick, THPO
12140 West Lakeshore Dr. Brimley, MI 49715
906-248-8458
paulacarrick@baymills.org

Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa & Chippewa Indians
Cindy Winslow, Museum Director
Eyaawing Museum & Cultural Center
2605 North West Bay Shore Dr. Suttons Bay, MI 49682
231-534-7764
cindy.winslow@gtbindians.com

Hannahville Indian Community
Earl Meshigaud
N-14911 Hannahville B1 Rd. Wilson, MI 49896
906-466-2932
earlmeshigaud@hannahville.org

Keweenaw Bay Indian Community of the Lake Superior Band of Chippewa Indians
Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., THPO
16429 Bear Town Rd. Baraga, MI 49908
906-353-6623 x 4178
gloonsfoot@kbic-nsn.gov

Lac Vieux Desert Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians
Daisy McGeshick, THPO
P.O. Box 249 Watersmeet, MI 49969
906-358-0137
daisy.mcgeshick@lvdtribal.com

Little River Band of Ottawa Indians
Jonnie J. Sam, Director
2608 Government Center Dr. Manistee, MI 49660
231-398-6893
jsam@lrboi.com

Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians
Melissa Wiatrolik, THPO
7500 Odawa Cir. Harbor Springs, MI 49740
231-242-1408
MWiatrolik@LTBBODAWA-NSN.GOV

Match-E-Be-Nash-She-Wish (Gun Lake) Band of Pottawatomi Indians
Lakota Pochedley, THPO
Gun Lake Tribe Administration
2872 Mission Dr. Shelbyville, MI 49344
269-397-1780
Lakota.Pochedley@glt-nsn.gov

Nottawaseppi Huron Band of the Potawatomi
Douglas Taylor, THPO
1485 Mno-Bmadzewen Way Fulton, MI 49052
269-729-5151
Douglas.Taylor@nhbpi.com

Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians
Matthew J.N. Bussler, THPO
Department of Language and Culture
59291 Indian Lake Road/P.O. Box 180 Dowagiac, MI 49047
269-462-4316
Matthew.Bussler@pokagonband-nsn.gov   

Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan
Sarah Jones, THPO
Ziibiwing Center of Anishinabe Culture & Lifeways
6650 East Broadway Mt. Pleasant, MI 48858
989-775-4751
SJones@sagchip.org

Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians
Colleen Medicine, Cultural Repatriation Specialist
523 Ashmun St. Sault Ste Marie, MI 49783
231-534-7764
CMedicine1@saulttribe.net

 

Additionally, the following websites contain pertinent information about federally-recognized tribes in Michigan and historic preservation responsibilities as they relate to tribal lands: