The Staff of Michigan's State Historic Preservation Office

Effective August 11, 2019, the State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) has been transferred from MSHDA to the Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC) as part of Executive Order 2019-13. The SHPO mailing address has changed. In addition, the main SHPO phone number and several direct staff phone numbers have changed. Numbers with an asterisk (*) beside them below indicate a new number. Please update your contact information for SHPO and staff accordingly.

All written correspondence must be sent to our current address, below, for fastest service. Anything sent to our prior address may be delayed. Note that the new address does not include a P.O. Box.

State Historic Preservation Office
Michigan Economic Development Corporation
300 North Washington Square
Lansing, MI 48913
517-335-9840*

  • Staff are listed below according to their function/area of expertise.
  • Please note: the SHPO cannot offer monetary grants to individuals and non-profit organizations. Grant funds are ONLY available through the Certified Local Government Program.
  • When contacting SHPO staff via email, please include a content-specific message in the subject line.
  • Staff are typically available Monday through Friday during regular office hours (8:00-5:00 ET).
  • It is strongly recommended that researchers make an appointment before coming in to use materials. Schedule a research appointment.

 

Administration

Brian D. Conway, State Historic Preservation Officer
conwayb1@michigan.gov
517-335-9840*

Joelle Letts, Grants Manager & Budget Analyst
lettsj1@michigan.gov
517-335-9849*

Nathan Nietering, Project and Website Coordinator
nieteringn1@michigan.gov
517-241-0504

Identification and Designation

Katie Kolokithas, Survey Coordinator
kolokithask1@michigan.gov
517-241-6062

Jessica Puff, Designation Graduate Student Assistant
puffj1@michigan.gov

Todd Walsh, National Register of Historic Places Coordinator
walsht@michigan.gov
517-335-9854*

Incentives

Debra Ball Johnson, Architect
johnsond70@michigan.gov
517-241-0242

Bryan Lijewski, Historical Architect
lijewskib@michigan.gov
517-335-9839*

Robbert McKay, Historical Architect
mckayr@michigan.gov
517-335-2727

Cultural Resource Management & Planning

Martha MacFarlane-Faes, Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer
faesm@michigan.gov
517-335-2720

Amy Arnold, Preservation Planner
arnolda@michigan.gov
517-335-2729

Brian Grennell, Cultural Resource Management Specialist
grennellb@michigan.gov
517-335-2721

Alan Higgins, Certified Local Government Coordinator
higginsS3@michigan.gov
517-335-2719

Luke Pickrahn, Section 106 Graduate Student Assistant
pickrahnl@michigan.gov

Denise Slate, MISHPO Graduate Student Assistant
slated1@michigan.gov

Stacy Tchorzynski, Archaeologist
tchorzynskis@michigan.gov
517-335-9914*

Diane Tuinstra, Historic Inventory and Record Coordinator
tuinstrad@michigan.gov
517-335-2723

Jessica Yann, Archaeology Graduate Student Assistant
yannj@michigan.gov
517-335-9919*

* Indicates new phone number.

 

The SHPO programs are funded, in part, with federal funds from the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior. However, the contents and opinions herein do not necessarily reflect the views or policies of the Department of the Interior, nor does the mention of trade names or commercial products constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Department of the Interior. Under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, as amended, the U.S. Department of the Interior prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color national origin, or disability or age in its federally assisted programs. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility as described above, or if you desire further information, please write to: Office for Equal Opportunity, National Park Service, 1 849 C Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20240.