The Staff of Michigan's State Historic Preservation Office

Effective August 11, 2019, the State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) has been transferred from MSHDA to the Michigan Strategic Fund/Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC) as part of Executive Order 2019-13. The SHPO mailing address has changed. In addition, the main SHPO phone number and several direct staff phone numbers have changed. Numbers with an asterisk (*) beside them below indicate a new number. Please update your contact information for SHPO and staff accordingly.

All written correspondence must be sent to our current address, below, for fastest service. Anything sent to our prior address may be delayed or returned. Note that the new address does not include a P.O. Box.

State Historic Preservation Office
Michigan Economic Development Corporation
300 North Washington Square
Lansing, MI 48913

  • Staff are listed below according to their function/area of expertise.
  • Please note: the SHPO cannot offer monetary grants to individuals and non-profit organizations. Grant funds are ONLY available through the Certified Local Government Program.
  • When contacting SHPO staff via email, please include a content-specific message in the subject line.
  • Staff are typically available Monday through Friday during regular office hours (8:00-5:00 ET).
  • Research appointments must be scheduled in advance. Schedule a research appointment.



Brian D. Conway, State Historic Preservation Officer

Joelle Letts, Grants Manager & Budget Analyst

Nathan Nietering, Project and Website Coordinator

Identification and Designation

Katie Kolokithas, Survey Coordinator

Jessica Puff, Designation Graduate Student Assistant

Todd Walsh, National Register of Historic Places Coordinator


Debra Ball Johnson, Architect

Bryan Lijewski, Historical Architect

Robbert McKay, Historical Architect

Cultural Resource Management & Planning

Martha MacFarlane-Faes, Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer

Amy Arnold, Preservation Planner

Brian Grennell, Cultural Resource Management Specialist

Alan Higgins, Certified Local Government Coordinator

Luke Pickrahn, Section 106 Graduate Student Assistant

Denise Slate, MISHPO Graduate Student Assistant

Stacy Tchorzynski, Archaeologist

Diane Tuinstra, Historic Inventory and Record Coordinator

* Indicates new phone number.


The SHPO programs are funded, in part, with federal funds from the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior. However, the contents and opinions herein do not necessarily reflect the views or policies of the Department of the Interior, nor does the mention of trade names or commercial products constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Department of the Interior. Under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, as amended, the U.S. Department of the Interior prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color national origin, or disability or age in its federally assisted programs. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility as described above, or if you desire further information, please write to: Office for Equal Opportunity, National Park Service, 1 849 C Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20240.