Skip to main content
MENU
Labor and Economic Opportunity

Work Share Program

  • Michigan’s Work Share program allows employers to restart their business and bring employees back from unemployment. Employers can bring employees back with reduced hours - while employees collect partial unemployment benefits to make up a portion of the lost wages. Employers can also retain their current workforce and are given the flexibility to choose which of their employees are part of a Work Share plan.

    Work Share Program Information

    Work Share Brochure

    Work Share Employee Guide

Work Share Video

COVID-19 Work Share Program Requirements

  • Notification of Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) ending:

    The Federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act, signed March 27, 2020, created three new federal programs for unemployed Americans as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. FPUC provided an additional $600 a week to existing benefit amounts for programs, including but not limited to Michigan unemployment benefits, Pandemic Unemployment Assistance, Trade Benefits, and Work Share benefits. The additional benefit payments are available from April 4, 2020 through July 25, 2020. 

    All FPUC benefit payments will end as a result of the CARES act effective the week ending July 25, 2020. If Congress extends these additional benefit payments, we will issue updated information. 

     

  • Work Share Under Executive Order 2020-76

    As a result of Governor Whitmer's Executive Order 2020-76, Michigan's Work Share program eligibility requirements have been expanded.

    • All liable employers can participate in the program.
    • If business demand is down, employers participating in workshare can preserve their workforce while reducing hours and wages by 10 - 60%.
    • Waived the length of time requirement that employers must be in business.
    • Waived the requirement that employers have a current or positive balance with UIA.
    • There is no minimum length of time that an individual must have worked for an employer to be included as part of a Work Share plan.
    • 100% of Work Share benefits, up to a maximum of 26 weeks per employee, will be federally funded for weeks ending Apr. 4, 2020 through Dec. 26, 2020.

    Work Share Requirements:

    • Employers are given flexibility to organize which employees are in a Work Share plan.
    • A plan must include a minimum of two employees and an employer can have multiple plans.
    • Plans may be approved for a period of up to 52 consecutive weeks.
    • Employee hours/wages may be reduced by a minimum of 10% up to a maximum 60%.
    • Part-time employees are eligible, but Work Share does not apply to seasonal, temporary, or intermittent employment.
    • Employer must obtain approval of any applicable collective bargaining unit representative.
    • Employers participating in Work Share cannot modify employees fringe benefits.

    Under the Federal CARES Act:

    • Employees that receive a percent of Michigan unemployment benefits (including Work Share) also receive an additional $600 federal payment in Pandemic Unemployment Compensation through the CARES Act through July 2020.

How It Works

Employer Webinars

  • Employers – Learn More About the Work Share program

    These informative webinars are for employers interested in the Work Share program, a program that allows businesses to restart their business and bring employees back from unemployment. Employers can bring employees back with reduced hours, while employees collect partial unemployment benefits to make up a portion of the lost wages. The presentation is about 35 minutes. If you have questions after viewing the recorded webinar, please join an employer Q & A session to have your questions answered by a Work Share team member.

    Work Share Webinar

    Full Employer Webinar Presentation (Power Point presentation)

    Work Share Toolkit

    Employer Q & A Sessions

Application Process

Work Share FAQ