Labor and Economic Opportunity
Transcript Requests/Education Verifications
Effective Monday, October 4, 2021, Proprietary Postsecondary Schools (PSS) has partnered with DiplomaSender to fulfill transcript requests/education verifications for closed, private schools. Please visit DiplomaSender.com to submit your request and make your payment on-line. This self-service website is available 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. You may also reach a DiplomaSender specialist Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Central Time at 855-313-5799.
Annual Distance Education Authorization Renewals
Effective Monday, October 4, 2021, the distance education authorization renewal period for 2021-2022 is open. PSS is excited to share this process has now been fully automated. Please visit https://jobs.mitalent.org/signin to complete your annual renewal. Additional instructions are available in the MiPSS (Distance Education Authorization) License Renewal User Guide.
PSS has statutory powers, duties, functions and responsibilities regarding the establishment and approval of non-public institutions incorporating private colleges and universities in accordance with Public Act 327 of 1931, Educational Corporations-Private College or University, Michigan General Corporation Act, MCL 450.170 to 450.177.
The Higher Education Authorization and Distance Education Reciprocal Exchange Act (2015 PA 45).
This act authorizes the Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity to enter into reciprocal distance learning compacts; ensure that distance learning providers meet standards of practice; set annual fees; protect student records; and establish a student complaint system. In-state schools that choose to participate as part of a national reciprocity agreement are authorized to provide distance education in other member states. Out-of-state schools located in states that are not a member of a national reciprocity agreement may seek authorization under this act to provide distance education to Michigan residents. To be eligible to apply and participate, a school must be degree granting and accredited.
Non-degree granting proprietary or trade schools, with no physical presence in Michigan, providing distance education to Michigan residents need to be licensed under the Proprietary Schools Act, Public Act 148 of 1943.
Schools that provide training in a specific trade, occupation or vocation are required to be licensed by the PSS, in accordance with Proprietary Schools Act, Public Act 148 of 1943. Students attending these schools do not receive a degree but may earn a certificate of completion.
If you already have an account and need to login to the new system, please visit: https://jobs.mitalent.org/signin
If you need to create an account, please visit: https://jobs.mitalent.org/MITC/Admin/License/Apply
Additional instructions are available in the MiPSS (Proprietary School) Renewal User Guide or in the MiPSS (Proprietary School) Create a New Account User Guide.
This form has been deleted. To obtain a transcript request/education verification, visit DiplomaSender.com.
Note related to transcript requests/education verifications: PSS does not regulate the cosmetology profession. Inquiries regarding verification requests for school hours completed at a licensed cosmetology school, should be directed to the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA), Bureau of Professional Licensing (BPL) by visiting their website at www.michigan.gov/bpl. (info for Proprietary School, linked to transcript request above)
Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity's Office of Employment & Training
201 N. Washington Square
Lansing, Michigan 48913
Phone: 517-335-4000 Fax: 517-241-9846
All postsecondary school inquiries should be directed to: PSS@michigan.gov.
Please include your school name and license number in your inquiry.