Skip to main content
Labor and Economic Opportunity

Macomb, Oakland residents now qualify for federal disaster unemployment benefits due to June storms; filing deadline extended for residents of Wayne, Washtenaw counties

September 30, 2021

Lansing, MI - The Michigan Unemployment Insurance Agency announced today that residents of Macomb and Oakland counties are now eligible for federal Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) benefits if their work was affected by severe storms and flooding which hit southeast Michigan in late June.

Residents of Oakland and Macomb counties whose employment or self-employment was lost or interrupted due to heavy rains and subsequent flooding between on June 25 and 26 can now apply for DUA through the Unemployment Insurance Agency. Applications must be filed by November 12, 2021.

The two counties were added to the major disaster declaration approved by President Joe Biden on July 15 for Wayne and Washtenaw counties. The deadline for residents of Wayne and Washtenaw counties to apply for DUA has been extended to November 12.

To be eligible for DUA benefits under Presidential Disaster Declaration FEMA-# 4607 DR, individuals must meet all of the following criteria:

  • Apply for regular unemployment insurance benefits.
  • Not qualify for regular unemployment insurance benefits from any state.
  • Be an unemployed or self-unemployed worker whose unemployment was caused as a direct result of the major disaster declared by the president.
  • Be a U.S. national or a qualified alien.
  • Worked in or was self-employed in, or was scheduled to begin work or self-employment in, Macomb or Oakland counties.
  • Establish that the work or self-employment that can no longer be performed was a primary source of income.

Other individuals who are eligible to apply for DUA must meet one or more of these criteria:

  • Can no longer work or perform services because of physical damage or destruction to the place of employment as a direct result of this disaster.
  • Cannot perform work or self-employment because of an injury caused as a direct result of this disaster.
  • Became the breadwinner or major support of a household because of the death of the head of the household as a direct result of this disaster.
  • Cannot work or perform self-employment due to closure of a facility by the federal government as a direct result of this disaster.

Individuals will need their Social Security number and the name and address of their last employer or prospective employer to file for DUA.

Applicants also must provide proof that they were employed or self-employed or were scheduled to begin (or resume) a job or self-employment when the disaster occurred. Proof of employment can be submitted at the time of filing or within 21 days of filing a claim. A copy of the most recent federal income tax forms or check stubs may also be required (self-employed individuals should also provide Schedules SE and Schedule C or Schedule F.)

Individuals can generally receive up to 26 weeks of benefits as long as his/her unemployment continues to be a result of the disaster. Eligibility will be determined on a week-to-week basis.

To file a claim, download a paper application at