Document Delivery Information for non-State Employees
How the Service Works:
Law firms and members of the public can order copies of materials from the State Law Library based on the fee schedule on this page. Requests are delivered by email or US Mail.
Turnaround time is generally 2 business days. Sorry, but we cannot do rush requests. Our primary focus is service to state government, and all other requests are processed as librarian and student availability permits.
Specific citations, such as bill numbers for analyses of particular Michigan public acts, greatly facilitate processing, as does a note on the subject of the document. We cannot do the research to determine which materials would be most relevant to your question, but encourage you to come in and make use of our collections.
Requests must be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org. Please include your name, your company's name, and contact and billing information, including street address, phone number and email.
Requests will be billed at the following rates regardless of the source of the material:
- 1-20 pages $15
- 21-50 pages $30
- 51-75 pages $40
- 76-100 pages $50
- 101-150 pages $65
- 151-200 pages $80
- 200 plus pages Add an additional $15 for every 1-50 page increment
Extra charges may be incurred for postage and handling or specific types of materials. Charges will be invoiced, but amounts over $100 must be prepaid. There are no refunds for materials sent.
FOR YOUR OWN INFORMATION SECURITY – DO NOT SEND CREDIT OR DEBIT CARD NUMBERS WITH YOUR REQUEST
In the interest of fair access to public documents, the State Law Library will provide free copies of Michigan Public and Local Acts. Up to ten (10) different public acts or 25 pages of a Michigan Compiled Laws compilation may be sent in electronic format per month. Citations to specific public acts must be supplied. Where applicable, links to material already available on the Internet will be provided in place of a scanned copy. Requests will be filled on the basis of staff availability, no rush orders accepted. Only State of Michigan statutory materials can be provided.
Researchers needing additional materials should visit the State Law Library from 10-5 M-F, or send a document delivery request to the Law Library at email@example.com. Regular document delivery fees will apply.
For certified copies of Michigan Public Acts, please contact the Office of the Great Seal. See their website for more information.
The State Law Library and Library of Michigan are open from 10am to 5pm Monday through Friday. Public wireless and a desk scanner are available (please bring a thumb drive).
* * * * *
For other sources of legal materials and government documents, see the Directory of Michigan Law Libraries. In addition, the Library of Michigan is continuing to add Michigan documents to the Governing Michigan website to increase free, online access to many of our most requested materials.