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Michigan Speed Measurement Standards 
 
The following standards for operators and instructors were formally adopted by the full 
Commission on Law Enforcement Standards at the December 9, 2009 meeting. The 
standards take effect January 1, 2010. 
 
1.  Speed Measurement Operators Must…. 
 

• Be licensed as a law enforcement officer in the state of Michigan. 
• Satisfactorily complete a 24-hour speed measurement class, which includes a 

written examination and a demonstration of performance. 
• Maintain 100 hours of speed measurement enforcement per year (records to be 

maintained by the agency). 
• Recertify as a speed measurement operator once every five years through updates, 

testing, or demonstrated proficiency. 
 
 
 
 
2.  For the Speed Measurement Operator Course (24-hour), Participants Must….. 
 

♦  Participate in a classroom facilitated discussion regarding the importance of 
speed measurement enforcement. 

♦  Identify the common features of a radar speed measurement device. 
♦  Describe the scientific principles of radar speed measurement. 
♦  Properly prepare for speed measurement enforcement. 
♦  Operate a radar speed measurement device. 
♦  Describe the scientific principles of lidar speed measurement. 
♦  Operate a lidar speed measurement device. 
♦  Demonstrate an understanding of speed measurement legal considerations. 
♦  Prepare for court hearings. 
♦  Demonstrate an understanding of speed measurement enforcement by 

satisfactorily completing a written examination. 
♦  Demonstrate the ability to operate a radar and lidar device accurately under 

controlled field conditions. 
 

3.  Speed Measurement Instructors Must…. 
 

• Function as a speed measurement operator for a minimum of two years. 
• Satisfactorily complete a general instructor school (minimum 24 hours) OR 

possess demonstrable prior work experience in teaching or classroom instruction. 
• Satisfactorily complete a 16-hour speed measurement instructor class. 
• Recertify as an instructor once every five years through updates, testing, or 

demonstrated proficiency. 
 
 



 

4.  Equipment Procurement and Specifications 
 

• Each law enforcement agency shall determine the type and model that best fits its 
needs. Consideration should be given to device performance, size and mounting, 
optional features and functions, compatibility with existing speed measurement 
equipment, agency policies and procedures, and potential maintenance costs. 

• Although the courts in Michigan rule on the admissibility of evidence, MCOLES 
supports the use of speed measurement devices that comply with the International 
Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) Consumer Product List (CPL). 

• Equipment procured by agencies shall be electronically pre-tested by the 
manufacturer before they are put into use in Michigan.  Proof of compliance is 
demonstrated by being placed on the consumer product list. 

• The State of Michigan's Department of Management and Budget (DMB) 
maintains an open bid contract for new speed measurement equipment, which 
may be used by agencies. 

• It is not necessary to have the devices periodically recertified because a 
properly trained operator will be able to determine when a specific device is 
malfunctioning. 

 
Speedometer Calibration 
 
Patrol vehicle speedometers must be independently calibrated for accuracy at the time of 
purchase and prior to initial speed measurement enforcement.  Thereafter, the 
speedometer should be re-calibrated if the patrol vehicle undergoes any of the following: 
a) transmission repair, b) major body repair, c) tire-size changes, or c) wheel-size 
changes.  The following calibration methods are suggested: 
 
Time-Distance techniques 
Dynamometer 
Fifth-Wheel 
Lidar device 
GPS 
 
A copy of the initial speedometer calibration and any re-calibration should be kept on file 
with the agency. 


