2018 Governor's Service Awards

Evelyn Brown with award

The Michigan Community Service Commission is excited to host the 2018 Governor’s Service Awards.

The Governor’s Service Awards are given annually by the governor to individuals, organizations and businesses to acknowledge their commitment to serving their communities through volunteerism. This event is hosted by the Michigan Community Service Commission. The celebration will be held on June 5 in Lansing.

“These awards serve as a unique opportunity to highlight Michiganders helping Michiganders,” Gov. Rick Snyder said. “We want to hold up Michigan’s best volunteers and show them off as role models for others."

The nominations deadline expired on Feb. 16, 2018.


In 2018, awards will be presented in 10 categories which reflect the diverse nature of volunteers throughout the state. The categories are:



A.  Individual Awards  

1.  Governor George Romney Lifetime Achievement Award

  • An individual who demonstrates a lifelong commitment to community involvement and volunteer service.
  • This individual has taken their volunteer service to the highest level and has shown a tremendous passion for helping others.
  • He/she is highly regarded for making a tremendous impact in their community or the state.

2.  Lifetime Humanitarian Award

  • An individual or family that has demonstrated a lifetime of outstanding civic and charitable responsibility to a community or organization.
  • This individual or family is a role-model and exhibits selfless commitment to the community and tireless actions which may include significant monetary contributions, serving on community board(s), and/or leading major community projects.

3. Senior Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Individuals 65 or older who are taking action to make their community a better place.
  • These individual share their many years of experience and are role models for others to serve and volunteer.

4.  Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Individuals over the age of 25 who strive to improve the lives of people in their community or state.
  • These individuals make impact through volunteering in various capacities with nonprofits and organizations, showing a commitment to strengthening communities.

5. Youth Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Individuals age 25 and younger who work hard to make an impact in their community through volunteerism.
  • These individuals create solutions to make lives better and demonstrate the spirit of being change makers. 

6.  Mentor of the Year - Youth Support Award

  • Individuals who mentor youth or support youth development. 
  • These individuals tirelessly offer guidance, support, and encouragement to cultivate the positive and healthy development of an individual or group of youth. 

B. Organization and Business Awards

1.  Outstanding Volunteer Organization Award

  • Service Club, nonprofit, faith-based, veteran, disaster preparedness, or other organization that makes a demonstrated difference in their community or the state by inspiring people to volunteer.

2.  Education Service Leader Award

  • Schools, Colleges/Universities, or other organizations that support youth to engage in service and volunteerism
  • These organizations assist youth in making a difference both on campus and in their communities.

3.  Outstanding National Service Program Award

  • AmeriCorps State, AmeriCorps VISTA, AmeriCorps National, Senior Companions, Foster Grandparents and RSVP programs that successfully make an impact in communities and successfully support their service members.

4.  Corporate Community Leader (100+ employees) Award and Small Business Community Leader (<100 employees) Award

  • Corporations/Businesses that are committed to all levels of volunteerism and service in their communities and/or the state.
  • This commitment could include supporting employees to volunteer, developing formal volunteer programs, or providing monetary contributions and in-kind gifts.




  • All nominations go through an extensive review process that involves a volunteer Peer Review Panel.
  • The Michigan Community Service Commission Board of Commissioners and the Office of the Governor make the final selections.
  • Up to five awards will be made in each category, except for the Governor George Romney Award, for which there is only one awardee.
  • Awardees and their nominators will be notified during April 2018 if they have been selected as a Governor’s Service Award Recipient.
  • The honoree or an agreed upon representative needs to be present to receive the award.

 For additional information or questions, please contact the MCSC at 517-335-4295 or gsa@michigan.gov.