
In 2019, Public Act 466 of 1988 was updated to state, “A 
privately owned cervid premises that is licensed as a full 
facility under the privately owned cervidae producers 
marketing act, 2000 PA 190, MCL 287.951 to 287.969, 
shall participate in the chronic wasting disease herd 
certification program.”
Herd Certification Program Requirements:
1. Fencing must be structurally sound, maintained

in good condition, sufficient construction to contain
the animals, and compliant with the Michigan
Department of Natural Resources’ fencing
requirements.

2. Every animal in the herd must be officially identified
with two animal identifications (IDs) before reaching
12 months of age or leaving the premises. One
of the IDs must be an official U.S. Department of
Agriculture (USDA) ID, and the other must be unique
to the herd. Both IDs must be reported on the annual
inventory.

3. Herd inventory records must be updated and
submitted to the Michigan Department of Agriculture
and Rural Development (MDARD) at least annually
for herd reconciliation.

4. Inspections are conducted annually, and physical
herd inventories are conducted at least every three
years.

5. A complete physical herd inventory for all animals
greater than 12 months of age must be performed
every three years by an accredited veterinarian or a
state/federal representative. Individual identification
numbers must be verified during the inventory.

6. Owners are responsible for assembling, handling,
and restraining animals for a physical herd inventory
or other inspections to allow an accredited
veterinarian or a state/federal representative to safely
read all animal identifications at least once every
three years. The owners are responsible
for any costs incurred to present the animals for
inspection and must agree that any liability or injury
to the animals during handling rests with the owner.

7. New animals may be introduced to the herd only
from other herds enrolled in the Chronic Wasting
Disease (CWD) Herd Certification Program (HCP).
Adding animals to the herd or the property without a
geographic separation of at least 30 feet between the
perimeter fencing of each herd, will cause the whole
herd to assume the status of lowest program status
animal in the herd.

8. Herds of different status may be on the same property
if they:

a. Are geographically separated by at least 30 feet
between the perimeter fence around
the separate herds, and this is verified by a state/
federal representative or an accredited
veterinarian.

b. There is no commingling of animals ever.
c. Herd records and inventories are maintained

separately.
d. Working facilities, water sources, equipment, and

land use are specific to only one of the herds on
the property.

9. If a herd receives animals from a herd of lower status,
the purchasing herd owner must notify MDARD within
five business days of the movement.

10. At the time of discovery, the herd owner must
immediately report to MDARD any animals that
escape, disappear, or are otherwise missing from the
premises.

11. The herd owner must immediately report all deaths of
farmed or captive cervids 12 months of age or older
(including animals that were hunted or slaughtered) to
MDARD.

12. Animal head submissions, carcasses, or lymph node
and obex samples of animals 12 months of age and
older that die or are killed for any reason must be
received at the Michigan State University Veterinary
Diagnostic Laboratory within seven days of death.

13. If samples were not submitted for an animal 12
months of age or older or were untestable the
consequences are:

a. Replace all non-tested animals with testable post-
mortem samples from an equal number of
animals of the same sex and species that resided
in the herd for at least as long as the untested
animal(s).

b. Reduce the herd status one level for each animal
that was not submitted for testing.

c. A combination of the two options above (i.e.,
replace some animals and reduce herd status by
the number animals that were not tested or
replaced).
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