

# Michigan Department of Agriculture &

AH-047 (Rev 7/24)

Rural Development
P.O. Box 30776, Lansing, MI 48909-8276 • 800-292-3939
In accordance with 1937 PA 284, as amended.

# **Livestock Dealer License Application**

License Year Ending: September 30, 2025 Lic	cense No Longer Needed			
If Renewal, License No. of Establishment(s):				
<b>Business Information</b>				
Business Name:				
Business Address:				
City:	State:			
County:	Zip:			
Business Phone: () Business Fax: (_	)	Dlank Cases		
Business Email:		Blank Space For Official Use Only		
Mailing address (if different from above): Street or P.O. Box	:	i or omour occ omy		
City: State:	County:	Zip:		
Corporate/Owner Information				
Ownership Type: Corporation Sole Ownership	Partnership L.L.C. Of	her: Specify		
Corporation Name:				
Owner/President (CEO) Name:				
Street Address of Corporation or Owner:				
City: Sta				
Phone: ( Fax:()				
Emergency Contact: () Cell Phone: (		Federal/Tax ID #		
	o operate as all classes listed after that cl waived for honorably discharged veterans			
Class I (Livestock Auction) \$400	Class III (Dealer, Broker	Agent, Collection Point) <b>\$50</b>		
Class II (Buying Station) \$250	Class IV (Trucker) \$25			
**All four classific	cations are under AOBJ: 0217**			
Payment Method: Check/Money Order No	An	nount enclosed:		
Please make check/money order payable to the State of N				
Signature: Date:				
Please print your name here:				
Title:				

Application continues on page 2 of this form

Truck and Trailer Information (Truck information is not needed if livestock are hauled in a trailer, just trailer information.)					
Type (Truck or Trailer)	Make	VIN Number	License Plate Number	State	
Bonding Information for Class I and II Licenses: Must include a copy of current bond with MDARD as obligee.					
	nding Company:				
Bond Number: Amount of Bond:					

The following is to aid you in completing your Livestock Dealer Application with the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (MDARD). A Livestock Dealer Application is required for all individuals/businesses operating as a livestock auction, buying station, collection point, agent, broker, dealer, or hauler. While you complete your application, if you have any questions, please contact MDARD at 800-292-3939. Be sure to complete all areas, including page two of the application. Failure to adequately complete your application will result in a delay in processing. As a reminder, it is against the law to operate without a valid Livestock Dealer License, so please submit your completed application and supporting documents as quickly as possible.

# **Important Information:**

Livestock Dealer Licenses are valid October 1 through September 30 of the following year. Honorably discharged U.S. veterans looking to acquire a Class III or IV license may have their license fees waived by providing a copy of their DD 214 with their completed application.

For all renewal applications, please review the pre-filled Business Information and Corporate/Owner Information for accuracy and update incorrect information by crossing out the incorrect information and printing the correct information next to it. Class I and II must provide a copy of the current bond. If you are no longer in need of a Livestock Dealer License, please check the "License No Longer Needed" box at the top of the application, sign and date, and return to MDARD.

# **Completing the Livestock Dealer Application:**

- Livestock Dealer License Application:
  - License Year Ending: Pre-filled.
  - o **License No Longer Needed**: Not applicable for new license applications.
  - If Renewal, License No. of Establishment(s): Not applicable for new license applications (otherwise, pre-filled).

#### Business Information:

- o **Business Name**: Indicate the name of your livestock business.
- Business Address: This is the address (street address, city, state, ZIP, and county) where your business/livestock facility is located. If you operate a livestock business at a separate location, you must apply for that business license separately.
- Business Phone: Indicate the phone number, including the area code, of the business.
- o **Business Fax**: Indicate the fax number, including the area code, of the business.
- o **Business E-mail**: Please indicate the email address for the business.
- Mailing Address (if different from above): If the business' mail goes to an address other than the business address, please provide this complete address. MDARD will send all mailings, including licenses, renewals, memos, newsletters, and hearing notices to this address. If a mailing address is not indicated, all mailings will be sent to the business address.

# • Corporate/Owner Information:

- Ownership Type: Please mark the box indicating the type of ownership of the business.
  - <u>Corporation</u>: A group of persons authorized to act as an entity having privileges and liabilities distinct from those of its members.
  - Sole Ownership: Ownership of property by a single person or entity.
  - <u>Partnership</u>: An association of two or more partners in a business enterprise.
  - L.L.C.: A Limited Liability Company is a legal company that provides limited personal liability for business debts and claims. The owner is responsible for all taxes on their shares of the business income on their personal tax returns It is neither a corporation nor a partnership.
  - Other: A type of business not noted above. Please indicate the specific type of ownership (e.g., cooperative, non-profit, etc.)
- o **Corporation Name**: If the type of business is a corporation, please provide the name of the corporation. This may be the same as your Business Name.
- Owner/President (CEO) Name: Please indicate the name of whoever is ultimately responsible for the business and makes the business' major decisions.
- Complete Address of Corporation or Owner: Please indicate the address (street address, city, state, ZIP, and county) of the business' main office; if a corporation, the corporate office address. This may be the same as your Business Address.
- Phone: Indicate the phone number where the owner of the business (or, if a corporation, the corporate executive officer) may be contacted.
- Fax: Indicate the fax number where the owner of the business (or, if a corporation, the corporate executive officer) may be contacted.
- Email: Indicate the email address for the owner of the business (or, if a corporation, the corporate executive officer) may be contacted.
- Emergency Contact: Please indicate the phone number, preferably a 24-hour number, for the department to call in the event of an emergency.
- **Cell Phone**: Indicate the cell phone number of whoever is ultimately responsible for the business.
- Federal/Tax ID: Indicate your federal tax number, if applicable. If not applicable, then this may be left blank.

#### • License Fees:

- License Fees: Select the type of license desired (choose one). A Class I license allows you to conduct Class I, II, III, and IV activities; a Class II license allows you to conduct Class II, III, and IV activities; and a Class III license allows you to conduct Class III and IV activities. NOTE: Class III and IV license fees are waived for honorably discharged U.S. veterans if a copy of your DD 214 is submitted with the application.
  - <u>Class I (Livestock Auction)</u>: A livestock auction is where livestock are accepted on consignment and sold via the auction method. Livestock includes, but is not limited to, cattle, bison, swine, sheep, goats, horses,

- privately-owned cervids, poultry, ratites (e.g., ostriches and emus), camelids (e.g., llamas and alpacas), and aquaculture species.
- Class II (Buying Station): A buying station is any concentration point, other than a livestock auction, where livestock are congregated and purchased by the owner or agent of the facility for movement or sale.
- Class III (Dealer/Broker/Agent/Collection Point): A dealer or broker is any person, co-partnership, association, or corporation engaged in the business of buying, receiving, selling, exchanging, negotiating, or soliciting sale, resale, exchange, transportation, or transfer of any such animals. An agent is a person who buys, receives, sells, exchanges, negotiates, or solicits the sale, resale, exchange, or transfer of one or more animals for or on the behalf of another person. A collection point is a place where livestock are congregated, but not sold, for movement to another location.

### • Exemptions:

- Selling livestock that have been raised on your premises for longer than 21 days.
- Occasionally holding consignment sales sponsored by and conducted by a breed association, 4-H group, FFA group, or county/youth fair.
- Buying or receiving animals for the purposes of breeding, grazing, or feeding and only marketing them after 21 days of possession.
- Being a butcher, packer, or processor to whom animals are delivered exclusively for slaughter.
- Being the owner of a railroad or airline transporting animals interstate or intrastate.
- By dispersal sale, permanently discontinuing the business of farming, dairying, breeding, or feeding of animals.
- Class IV (Livestock Trucker): A livestock trucker is a person who engages in the business of transporting livestock not owned by the person, or the person's employer, from one premises to another.

#### • Exemptions:

- Only hauling livestock exclusively from another state directly to a federally inspected slaughter facility in Michigan.
- Hauling on an occasional basis for individuals participating in livestock exhibitions, fairs, trail rides, youth livestock events, or similar activities.
- Hauling on an incidental basis in connection with another business you operate, such as a veterinary practice or a stable, and does not involve the sale of livestock.
- Hauling livestock for another person fewer than six times in a 12-month period.

## • Payment Information:

- Payment Method: Indicate the check number and/or money order number.
   Please make all checks/money orders payable to: State of Michigan. If waiving
   Class III or IV licensing fees with the use of a DD 214, enter "DD 214 attached" (or "DD 214 on file" if previously submitted).
- Amount Enclosed: Indicate the total amount paid via check and/or money order. If waiving Class III or IV licensing fees with the use of a DD 214, enter "N/A." NOTE: If you received notice of a late fee, please ensure the total payment amount includes both the license fee and the late fee to avoid delays.
- o **Signature**: The individual completing the application must sign their name.
- Date: Indicate the date the application was signed.
- Please print your name here: The individual completing the application must print their name.
- Title: Indicate the title or position the individual completing the application has as it relates to the business (for example, Owner or CEO).

### • Truck and Trailer Information:

- Truck and Trailer Information: You must list all conveyances livestock will be loaded into for hauling in Michigan. A truck used to tow a livestock trailer does not need to be listed; only the trailer needs to be listed in that case.
  - <u>Type</u>: Indicate the category of vehicle.
  - Make: Please indicate the brand of vehicle (e.g., Chevy, Ford, etc.).
  - VIN Number: If present, indicate the vehicle identification number.
  - License Plate Number: Indicate the license plate number of the vehicle.
  - <u>State</u>: Indicate the state where the vehicle is licensed (e.g., state on license plate).

### Bonding Information for Class I and II Licenses:

- Bonding Information: A copy of the current bond designating MDARD as the obligee must be submitted with all Class I and Class II license applications.
  - Class I licensees registered with USDA Packers & Stockyards Division should submit their valid Clause 1 bond for selling on commission.
  - Class II licensees registered with USDA Packers & Stockyards Division should submit their valid Clause 2 bond for buying on commission.
- All Class I and Class II licensees must include the following bonding information on the application.
  - Name of Bonding Company: This is typically a bank or insurance company.
  - Bond Number: Please indicate the bond number, also known as the credit number.
  - Amount: Indicate the maximum amount for which the livestock business is bonded.